DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (CN111798572) in view of Kunigita (US 20200175748 A1), Pedrotti (US 20160171770 A1) and Graham (US 20220222724 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yu teaches A simulation system for causing a display device to display an image of a virtual space viewed from a viewpoint in the virtual space (Summary of the Invention, pg 1: “scanning devices in the machine room and the machine room to obtain three-dimensional data, and constructing a virtual machine room simulation model according to the three-dimensional data; obtaining device data of a device in a computer room, and storing the device data in a virtual machine room simulation model; acquiring real-time video information in a machine room and importing the real-time video information into a virtual machine room simulation model for dynamic display in a video streaming manner”),
the simulation system comprising:
a space information obtainer configured to obtain inner space information representing an inner space of a building (Summary of the Invention, pg 1: “scanning devices in the machine room and the machine room to obtain three-dimensional data, and constructing a virtual machine room simulation model according to the three-dimensional data”);
a facility information obtainer configured to obtain facility information representing each of a plurality of facilities arranged in the inner space (Summary of the Invention, pg 1: “scanning devices in the machine room and the machine room to obtain three-dimensional data”; Summary of the Invention, pg 2: “Further, the step of acquiring the location of the inspection device according to the real-time video information and displaying the device and device data corresponding to the location of the simulation model of the virtual machine room specifically includes: obtaining a location of the inspection device according to the real-time video information; and highlighting the 3D model and device data of the corresponding location device”); and
a display processor configured to generate, in the virtual space, based on the inner space information and the facility information, a three-dimensional representation of the inner space of the building in which the plurality of facilities are arranged (Summary of the Invention, pg 1: “scanning devices in the machine room and the machine room to obtain three-dimensional data”; Summary of the Invention: “a display module, configured to obtain the location of the inspection device according to the real-time video information and display the device and the device data corresponding to the location of the virtual machine room simulation model” ; Detailed Description of the Embodiments, pg 2: “Specifically, the device data of the machine room is gradually displayed according to the inspection route of the inspection device. Further, as a preferred embodiment of the method, the virtual machine room simulation model includes a machine room 3D model and a device 3D model, and the device 3D model is placed at a corresponding position of the machine room 3D model according to the real position”. Notes: a processor is inherent to displaying visual elements, such as those corresponding with a virtual simulation model), and
cause the display device to display the three-dimensional representation as an image viewed from the viewpoint (Summary of the Invention, pg 2: “displaying the device and device data corresponding to the location of the simulation model of the virtual machine room specifically includes: obtaining a location of the inspection device according to the real-time video information; and highlighting the 3D model and device data of the corresponding location device”),
wherein the plurality of facilities comprises a facility selected as a target facility (Description of the Embodiments, pg 2:“The virtualization simulation system may implement virtual simulation of various devices in a machine room… implements a graphical query for the IT device”. Notes: a graphical query for a device reads on selecting a facility as a target facility, where the broadest reasonable interpretation of a facility is an object that performs a task), and one of the ceiling surface or the floor surface is a placement surface on which the target facility is placed (Detailed Description of the Embodiments, pg 2: “The virtualization simulation system may implement virtual simulation of various devices in a machine room, and implement visual virtual management, including virtual assets such as an air conditioner, a cabinet, a power distribution cabinet, a UPS and other independent devices, a PC server, a switch, a router, and the like, and virtual assets such as a virtual machine, and all devices remain consistent with a real model factory. The system performs multi-layer presentation on the asset, locates layer-by-layer to a floor, a machine room, a region, a module, a cabinet and IT facility, intuitively presents the object and location attributes of the information, and implements a graphical query for the IT device”),
wherein the display processor is configured to perform a plan view display process for causing the display device to display a three-dimensional image of the target facility placed on the placement surface (Detailed Description of the Embodiments, pg 2: “The virtualization simulation system may implement virtual simulation of various devices in a machine room, and implement visual virtual management, including virtual assets such as an air conditioner, a cabinet, a power distribution cabinet, a UPS and other independent devices, a PC server, a switch, a router, and the like…The system performs multi-layer presentation on the asset, locates layer-by-layer to a floor”; Summary of the Invention, pg 2: “displaying the device and device data corresponding to the location of the simulation model of the virtual machine room specifically includes: obtaining a location of the inspection device according to the real-time video information; and highlighting the 3D model and device data of the corresponding location device”).
Yu does not teach a movable viewpoint.
However, Kunigita teaches a movable viewpoint (Paragraph [0027]: “Before receiving provision of the service, the user systems 3 each install a viewer application for reproducing the content data. When the user systems 3 each download the content data from the server system 4 via the network 2, the viewer application constructs a virtual space based on the content data, moves characters in the virtual space on the basis of operation information from the users, and renders the virtual space according to the positions and attitudes (line-of-sight directions) of user characters. Accordingly, through the user characters, the users can freely move in the virtual space and can see an image from free viewpoints”).
Yu and Kunigita are considered analogous in the art with respect to viewing virtual constructed spaces. A common motivation in the art is to enable a user to more comprehensively view a virtual space, which is commonly achieved through a movable viewpoint, as is evident in Kunigita.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the viewpoint of a simulated virtual space of Yu with the movable viewpoint of a virtual space of Kunigita; Doing so would yield the predictable result of enabling multiple viewpoints of the simulated virtual space of Yu.
Yu as modified does not explicitly teach that the inner space comprises a ceiling surface and a floor surface, and that one of the ceiling surface or floor surface is facing a placement surface.
However, Pedrotti teaches an inner space comprising a ceiling surface and a floor surface (Paragraph [0074]: “FIG. 10 shows a representation of a user 1002 in a virtual space. (As the display is usually presented from the user's point of view, the user 1002 does not see himself or herself, but is shown here for illustrative purposes only.) As above, the processor instructs the HMD display to show the user a virtual world, as illustrated here a room including a back wall 1004, side walls 1006, ceiling 1008 and floor 1010”) and
One of the ceiling surface or floor surface is a facing surface (Paragraph [0074]: “FIG. 10 shows a representation of a user 1002 in a virtual space. (As the display is usually presented from the user's point of view, the user 1002 does not see himself or herself, but is shown here for illustrative purposes only.) As above, the processor instructs the HMD display to show the user a virtual world, as illustrated here a room including a back wall 1004, side walls 1006, ceiling 1008 and floor 1010”. Notes: In having both a ceiling and a floor, the ceiling surface is necessarily a facing surface of the floor surface (where the floor surface is a placing surface) and vice versa).
Yu as modified teaches a placing surface being the floor; hence, given an inner space with a ceiling and a floor, where the floor is a placing surface such as that of Yu as modified, the ceiling would inherently be a facing surface to a placement surface.
Yu as modified and Pedrotti are considered analogous in the art with respect to the display of a virtual space (room). A common motivation in the art is to accurately represent a space, such as room, which is commonly achieved by establishing representative boundaries such as walls, a floor, and ceiling, as is evident in Pedrotti. Furthermore, it would be appreciated by one in the art that Yu as modified, in using 3D data to construct a room, implicitly has a ceiling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display of a virtual simulation room of Yu as modified with the display of a virtual room with both a floor and ceiling of Pedrotti; Doing so would yield the predictable result of accurately representing a room in virtual space.
Yu as modified does not teach to display, on a projection plane that is at least one of the placement surface or the facing surface, a plan view of the target facility represented in two dimensions at a position of the target facility projected onto the projection plane.
However, Graham teaches to display, on a projection plane that is at least one of the placement surface or the facing surface, a plan view of the target facility represented in two dimensions at a position of the target facility projected onto the projection plane (Paragraph [0010]: “In certain illustrative embodiments, the augmented reality image or the virtual reality image comprises a two-dimensional (2D) floor plan, a 2D wall plan, a 2D ceiling plan, a three-dimensional (3D) floor plan, a 3D wall image, a 3D ceiling image, or a 3D environment image. The augmented reality (AR) image or the virtual reality (VR) image can contain QR codes allowing the user to interact with the AR image or the VR image in real time”. Notes: a floor plan (or ceiling plan) describes the position of relevant facilities (such as walls, objects, etc.) projected in 2D onto a plane representative of the boundaries of a 3D space).
Yu as modified and Graham are considered analogous in the art with respect to the display of a virtual room. A common motivation in the art is to effectively plan and map out object locations within a 3D enclosed space, which is commonly achieved through floor (or ceiling) plans, as is evident in Graham.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display of a virtual simulation room of Yu as modified with the use of a floor/ceiling plan for a 3D space of Graham; Doing so would yield the predictable result of mapping out objects within an enclosed 3D space.
Regarding Claim 3, The simulation system according to Claim 1 is rejected over Yu as modified.
Yu as modified teaches the simulation system according to Claim 1, further comprising:
an input receiver configured to receive an input from a user, and wherein the display processor causes the display device to display a selection input image through which a selection of a facility from the plurality of the facilities is received, and defines the facility selected through the input receiver as the target facility (Yu, Description of the Embodiments, pg 2: “The virtualization simulation system may implement virtual simulation of various devices in a machine room…The system performs multi-layer presentation on the asset, locates layer-by-layer to a floor, a machine room, a region, a module, a cabinet and IT facility, intuitively presents the object and location attributes of the information, and implements a graphical query for the IT device”. Notes: a graphical query for a device reads on selecting a facility as a target facility, where the broadest reasonable interpretation of a facility is an object that performs a task. A graphical query is a visual interface used for querying. The process of querying inherently requires a facility designated through input as being the target facility).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (CN111798572) in view of Kunigita (US 20200175748 A1), Pedrotti (US 20160171770 A1) and Graham (US 20220222724 A1), and in further view of Bilinski (US 20190139306 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, the simulation system according to Claim 1 is rejected over Yu as modified.
Yu as modified teaches the simulation system according to Claim 1, wherein:
The plan view comprises information indicating a design drawing of the target facility (Graham, Paragraph [0010]: “In certain illustrative embodiments, the augmented reality image or the virtual reality image comprises a two-dimensional (2D) floor plan, a 2D wall plan, a 2D ceiling plan, a three-dimensional (3D) floor plan, a 3D wall image, a 3D ceiling image, or a 3D environment image. The augmented reality (AR) image or the virtual reality (VR) image can contain QR codes allowing the user to interact with the AR image or the VR image in real time”).
Yu as modified does not teach that in the plan view display process, the display processor uses a mirror-inverted image of the design drawing to generate the plan view for the projection plane being the ceiling surface, and uses an uninverted image of the design drawing to generate the plan view for the projection plane being the floor surface.
However, Bilinski teaches that in a plan view display process, the display processor uses a mirror-inverted image of the design drawing to generate the plan view for the projection plane being the ceiling surface, and uses an uninverted image of the design drawing to generate the plan view for the projection plane being the floor surface (Paragraph [0023]: “As can be seen in FIG. 5, method 10 allows for quick comparison between 2D drawings and 3D point cloud data, which was not readily possible before. Since this form of 3D data is “raw” scan data, it makes 3D documentation from that pipeline more useful earlier in the pipeline. The 3D/2D hybrid environment can be created by placing the 2D drawings on any appropriate 2D surface within the 3D environment. Natural examples would be floors, walls, and ceilings of a 3D environment, which correspond to floor plans, side views, and reflected ceiling plans respectively”. Notes: reflected ceiling plan reads on mirror-inverted design drawing; floor plan reads on uninverted design drawing. Projection plane is noted to be the plane in which a design drawing plan (floor, ceiling) is intended to be displayed on).
Yu as modified and Bilinski are considered analogous in the art with respect to the display of a design drawing such as floor or ceiling plan. A common motivation in the art is to intuitively display a design drawing plan such that it matches an orientation of the surface it is depicting; this is commonly achieved by inverting a plan in a case where a perspective changes, such as a ceiling plan, as is evident in Bilinski.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display of a plan view of Yu as modified with the appropriate inversion of a plan depending on the surface being projected on of Bilinski; Doing so would yield the predictable result of orienting a plan view for a surface effectively.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (CN111798572) in view of Kunigita (US 20200175748 A1), Pedrotti (US 20160171770 A1) and Graham (US 20220222724 A1), and in further view of Caldan Conveyor (3D animation: P&F400 power & free overhead conveyor system, 2014).
Regarding Claim 4, the system according to Claim 1 is rejected over Yu as modified.
Yu as modified does not teach that the target facility is a ceiling transporter hung from the ceiling surface to transport a target object above the floor surface, the placement surface is the ceiling surface, the facing surface is the floor surface, and the projection plane comprises at least the facing surface.
However, Caldan Conveyor teaches a ceiling transporter hung from the ceiling surface to transport a target object above the floor surface, the placement surface is the ceiling surface, the facing surface is the floor surface, and the projection plane comprises at least the facing surface (timestamp 1:40:
. Notes: facility outlines are projected on the floor (projection surface), where the floor is the facing surface. The transporter is hung, hence the structure it is hanging from is the ceiling surface. The projection plane comprises at least the facing surface inherently, as is demonstrated in the screenshot at 1:40).
Yu as modified and Caldan Conveyor are considered analogous in the art with respect to the design and display of facilities in a simulation space. A common motivation in the art is to more effectively utilize space; this is commonly achieved via suspended or ceiling transporters, as is evident in Caldan Conveyor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the simulation space with facilities of Yu as modified with the simulation space with ceiling transporter facilities of Caldan Conveyor; Doing so would yield the predictable result of a simulation of effective space use in a given 3D space.
Conclusion
/RAYMOND CHUN LAM LI/Examiner, Art Unit 2614
/KENT W CHANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2614