DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kolbe, EP 310903 as evidenced by Bench Chem, Methodologic and Application, Bismuth Oxide as Anode Material.
Regarding claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-12, 14-16-17, 19-20, Kolbe discloses a conveyor belt comprising a polymeric material [jacket] with elastic properties and an embedded tension member in the form of ropes [plurality]running parallel in the longitudinal direction of the conveyor belt wherein the ropes are made of steel [0001]. Reference claim 1 discloses that the tensioned member is formed of steel and an adhesive mixture including at least one corrosion reducing substance. Paragraph 0006 discloses an adhesive mixture based on one elastomer [compressible jacket] such as thermoplastic elastomer such as polyurethane. Paragraph 0007 discloses that the adhesive mixture includes a corrosion reducing substance, bismuth oxide. Reference claim 2 discloses that the corrosion reducing substance is present in the amount of 0.1 to 10 wt%. Bench Chem, Methodologic and Application, bismuth Oxide as Anode Material provides evidence that bismuth oxide is an anodic material.
Regarding claim 5, the claim depends on claim 1 which recites that the corrosion inhibiting substance can be anodic, cathodic or organic material. Kolbe discloses an anodic material bismuth oxide which satisfies the limitations of claim 5.
Regarding claim 9, Kolbe discloses a belt. A belt has a rectangular cross-section.
Regarding claim 13, the claim depends on claim 12 which recites that the corrosion inhibiting substance can be anodic, cathodic or organic material. Kolbe discloses an anodic material bismuth oxide which satisfies the limitations of claim 13.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,358,203. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite
A load-bearing elevator suspension member, comprising: a plurality of tension members; and a compressible jacket at least partially encasing the plurality of tension members, the jacket including a jacket base material mixed with a corrosion inhibitor, wherein the corrosion inhibitor establishes a corrosion-inhibiting coating on the tension members, and wherein the corrosion inhibitor comprises at least one of sulfur, tryptamine, caffeine, vanillin, thymol, or carvacrol as per present claims 1 and 18 and patented reference claim 1.
A load-bearing elevator suspension member wherein the plurality of tension members are uncoated prior to being encased within the compressible jacket as per present claim 1 and patented reference claim 1.
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786