DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show reference numerals 616, 618, 620 as described in the specification in paragraphs 0166-0169. Paragraph 0178 recites battery 20; however, the drawing does not show battery 20. Paragraph 0180 recites “starter 722”, “circuit board 722A”; however, the drawings fail to show these reference numerals. Paragraphs 0186-0187 recite “port 726”; however, the drawings fail to show these reference numerals. Paragraph 0200 recites “heat sinks 724”; however, figure 17 does not show t reference numeral 724. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph 0153, line 10 delete “302a-302b” and replace it with –402a-402b--. Paragraph 0158, line 10 delete “524” and replace it with --526--. Paragraph 0160, line 2 delete “claim” and replace it with –clamp--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 6, line 3 delete “an” and replace it with –a--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 17-20, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumgartner et al. (US 9,728,824) (“Baumgartner”) in view of ZHU (US 2021/0040940).
With respect to claim 1, Baumgartner discloses a portable jump starter and air compressor device comprising: one or more rechargeable batteries including: a plurality of first rechargeable battery cells on a first side of the one or more rechargeable batteries; a plurality of second rechargeable battery cells on a second side of the one or more rechargeable batteries (figure 4 discloses a plurality of rechargeable battery cells 34 provided on a first and a second side of rechargeable battery 10); a plurality of first heat sinks connected to one or more of the plurality of first rechargeable battery cells, the plurality of first heat sinks maintaining contact with the one or more first rechargeable battery cells during an expansion of the first rechargeable battery cells (figure 4 discloses a plurality of first heat sinks 14a providing in contact with battery cells on the left side); a plurality of second heat sinks connected to one or more of the plurality of second rechargeable battery cells, the plurality of second heat sinks maintaining contact with the one or more second rechargeable battery cells during an expansion of the second rechargeable battery cells (figure 4 discloses a plurality of second heat sinks 14a provided in contact with second battery cells provided on the right side of the battery pack); and an enclosure surrounding the first rechargeable battery cells, the second rechargeable battery cells, the plurality of first heat sinks, and the plurality of second heat sinks (figure 1 discloses that the rechargeable battery 10 comprises battery housing 16).
Baumgartner; however, does not expressly disclose a jump starter connected to and powered by the one or more rechargeable batteries; and an air compressor including an electrical motor connected to and powered by the one or more rechargeable batteries.
ZHU discloses a portable pump and power device constructed with a power bank, a jump start clamps and an air pump comprising an electric motor, abstract.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify Baumgartner and include the battery assembly of Baumgartner in a portable power device that comprises a jump starter and air compressor including an electric motor, for the purpose of providing a battery for a power device that is able to dissipate heat from the block and protect the rechargeable battery cells from mechanical effects, for example (col. 2, lines 22-36).
With respect to claim 2, Baumgartner in view of ZHU disclose the portable jump starter and air compressor device of claim 1, further comprising thermal paste between the plurality of first rechargeable battery cells and the plurality of first heat sinks and thermal paste between the plurality of second rechargeable battery cells and the plurality of second heat sinks. Col. 4, lines 18-52 discloses that the heat sinks comprise thermoplastic elastomer, adhesive gluing component.
With respect to claim 3, Baumgartner in view of ZHU disclose the portable jump starter and air compressor device of claim 1, further comprising one or more first air gaps between the plurality of first heat sinks and one or more second air gaps between the plurality of second heat sinks. Figure 4 discloses providing air gaps between the plurality of first and second heat sinks 14a.
With respect to claim 4, Baumgartner in view of ZHU disclose the portable jump starter and air compressor of claim 3, further comprising one or more first insulating spacers separating the plurality of first heat sinks and one or more second insulating spacers separating the plurality of second heat sinks. Figures 3, 5 discloses providing heat radiation elements/insulating spacers 18 between the heat sinks 14.
With respect to claims 5, 18, Baumgartner in view of ZHU disclose the portable jump starter and air compressor device of one of the claims, wherein each of the plurality of first heat sinks comprise: a first upper heat sink extending along a top surface and a first portion of a side surface of one of the plurality of first battery cells; and a first lower heat sink extending along a bottom surface and a second portion of the side surface of the one of the plurality of first battery cells. Figures 4 and 5 discloses a first upper and a first lower heat sinks 14a extending a top surface on a side surface of the heat sinks 14a, provided on the left side of rechargeable battery 10.
With respect to claims 6, 19, Baumgartner in view of ZHU disclose the portable jump starter and air compressor device of one of the claims, wherein each of the plurality of second heat sinks comprise: a second upper heat sink extending along an top surface and a first portion of a side surface of one of the plurality of second battery cells; and a second lower heat sink extending along a bottom surface and a second portion of the side surface of the one of the plurality of second battery cells. Figures 4 and 5 discloses a second upper and a second lower heat sinks 14a extending a top surface on a side surface of the heat sinks 14a, provided on the right side of rechargeable battery 10.
With respect to claim 7, Baumgartner in view of ZHU disclose the portable jump starter and air compressor device of claim 1, further comprising: a first foam layer or thermal pad between one or more of the first heat sinks and the enclosure; and a second foam layer or thermal pad between one or more of the second heat sinks and the enclosure. Col. 8, lines 13-39 discloses providing sealing arrangements 70 and 72 providing thermal/sealing capabilities.
With respect to claim 17, Baumgartner discloses a device comprising: one or more rechargeable batteries including: a plurality of first rechargeable battery cells on a first side of the one or more rechargeable batteries; a plurality of second rechargeable battery cells on a second side of the one or more rechargeable batteries; a plurality of first heat sinks connected to one or more of the plurality of first rechargeable battery cells, the plurality of first heat sinks maintaining contact with the one or more first rechargeable battery cells during an expansion of the first rechargeable battery cells; a plurality of second heat sinks connected to one or more of the plurality of second rechargeable battery cells, the plurality of second heat sinks maintaining contact with the one or more second rechargeable battery cells during an expansion of the second rechargeable battery cells; and an enclosure surrounding the first rechargeable battery cells, the second rechargeable battery cells, the plurality of first heat sinks, and the plurality of second heat sinks;
Baumgartner; however, does not expressly disclose an air compressor including an electrical motor connected to and powered by the one or more rechargeable batteries.
ZHU discloses a portable pump and power device constructed with a power bank, an air pump comprising an electric motor, abstract.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify Baumgartner and include the battery assembly of Baumgartner in a portable power device that comprises a jump starter and air compressor including an electric motor, for the purpose of providing a battery for a power device that is able to dissipate heat from the block and protect the rechargeable battery cells from mechanical effects, for example (col. 2, lines 22-36).
With respect to claim 20, Baumgartner in view of ZHU disclose the device of claim 17, further comprising a jump starter connected to and powered by the one or more rechargeable batteries. ZHU discloses that the portable power device comprises jump start clamps.
With respect to claim 24, Baumgartner the device of claim 21; except for, further comprising an air compressor including an electrical motor connected to and powered by the one or more rechargeable batteries.
ZHU discloses a portable pump and power device constructed with a power bank, an air pump comprising an electric motor, abstract.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify Baumgartner and include the battery assembly of Baumgartner in a portable power device that comprises a jump starter and air compressor including an electric motor, for the purpose of providing a battery for a power device that is able to dissipate heat from the block and protect the rechargeable battery cells from mechanical effects, for example (col. 2, lines 22-36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-15, 21-23, 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baumgartner et al. (US 9,728,824) (“Baumgartner”).
With respect to claim 9, Baumgartner discloses a rechargeable battery comprising: a plurality of first rechargeable battery cells on a first side of the rechargeable battery; a plurality of second rechargeable battery cells on a second side of the rechargeable battery (figure 4 discloses a plurality of rechargeable battery cells 34 provided on a first and a second side of rechargeable battery 10); a plurality of first heat sinks connected to one or more of the plurality of first rechargeable battery cells, the plurality of first heat sinks maintaining contact with the one or more first rechargeable battery cells during an expansion of the first rechargeable battery cells (figure 4 discloses a plurality of first heat sinks 14a providing in contact with battery cells on the left side); a plurality of second heat sinks connected to one or more of the plurality of second rechargeable battery cells, the plurality of second heat sinks maintaining contact with the one or more second rechargeable battery cells during an expansion of the second rechargeable battery cells (figure 4 discloses a plurality of second heat sinks 14a provided in contact with second battery cells provided on the right side of the battery pack); and an enclosure surrounding the first rechargeable battery cells, the second rechargeable battery cells, the first heat sink, and the second heat sink (figure 1 discloses that the rechargeable battery 10 comprises battery housing 16).
With respect to claim 10, Baumgartner discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 9, further comprising thermal paste between the plurality of first rechargeable battery cells and the plurality of first heat sinks and thermal paste between the plurality of second rechargeable battery cells and the plurality of second heat sinks. Col. 4, lines 18-52 discloses that the heat sinks comprise thermoplastic elastomer, adhesive gluing component.
With respect to claim 11, Baumgartner discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 9, further comprising one or more first air gaps between the plurality of first heat sinks and one or more second air gaps between the plurality of second heat sinks. Figure 4 discloses providing air gaps between the plurality of first and second heat sinks 14a.
With respect to claims 12, Baumgartner discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 11, further comprising one or more first insulating spacers separating the plurality of first heat sinks and one or more second insulating spacers separating the plurality of second heat sinks. Figures 3, 5 discloses providing heat radiation elements/insulating spacers 18 between the heat sinks 14.
With respect to claim 13, Baumgartner discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of first heat sinks comprise: a first upper heat sink extending along an top surface and a first portion of a side surface of one of the plurality of first battery cells; and a first lower heat sink extending along a bottom surface and a second portion of the side surface of the one of the plurality of first battery cells. Figures 4 and 5 discloses a first upper and a first lower heat sinks 14a extending a top surface on a side surface of the heat sinks 14a, provided on the left side of rechargeable battery 10.
With respect to claim 14, Baumgartner discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 13, wherein each of the plurality of second heat sinks comprise: a second upper heat sink extending along a top surface and a first portion of a side surface of one of the plurality of second battery cells; and a second lower heat sink extending along a bottom surface and a second portion of the side surface of the one of the plurality of second battery cells. Figures 4 and 5 discloses a second upper and a second lower heat sinks 14a extending a top surface on a side surface of the heat sinks 14a, provided on the right side of rechargeable battery 10.
With respect to claim 15, Baumgartner discloses the rechargeable battery of claim 9, further comprising: a first foam layer or thermal pad between one or more of the first heat sinks and the enclosure; and a second foam layer or thermal pad between one or more of the second heat sinks and the enclosure. Col. 8, lines 13-39 discloses providing sealing arrangements 70 and 72 providing thermal/sealing capabilities.
With respect to claim 21, Baumgartner discloses a device comprising one or more rechargeable batteries, the one or more rechargeable batteries including: a plurality of rechargeable battery cells (rechargeable battery 10 comprises plurality of battery cells 34); a plurality of heat sinks connected to one or more of the rechargeable battery cells, the plurality of heat sinks maintaining contact with the one or more rechargeable battery cells during an expansion of the rechargeable battery cells (figures 4 and 5 discloses a plurality of heat sinks 14a connected to battery cells 34), two or more of the plurality of heat sinks separated by an air gap (figure 4 discloses providing air gaps between the plurality of first and second heat sinks 14a.); and an enclosure surrounding the plurality of rechargeable battery cells and the plurality of heat sinks (figure 1 discloses that the rechargeable battery 10 comprises battery housing 16).
With respect to claim 22, Baumgartner discloses the device of claim 21, wherein the plurality of rechargeable battery cells include one or more first rechargeable battery cells on a first side of the one or more rechargeable batteries and one or more second rechargeable battery cells on a second side of the one or more rechargeable batteries. Figure 4 discloses a plurality of battery cells provided on the left side and a plurality of battery cells provided on the right side.
With respect to claim 23, Baumgartner discloses the device of claim 21, wherein the plurality of rechargeable battery cells forms a stacked layer. Figures 3 and 4 disclose that the plurality of battery cells from a stacked layer.
With respect to claim 25, Baumgartner discloses the device of claim 21, further comprising one or more insulating spacers between the plurality of heat sinks. Figures 3, 5 discloses providing heat radiation elements/insulating spacers 18 between the heat sinks 14.
With respect to claim 26, Baumgartner discloses the device of claim 21, wherein each of the plurality of heat sinks comprise: an upper heat sink extending along a top surface and a first portion of a side surface of one of the plurality of rechargeable battery cells; and a lower heat sink extending along a bottom surface and a second portion of the side surface of the one of the plurality of rechargeable battery cells. Figures 4 and 5 discloses a first upper and a first lower heat sinks 14a extending a top surface on a side surface of the heat sinks 14a.
With respect to claim 27, Baumgartner discloses the device of claim 21, further comprising a foam layer or thermal pad between one or more of the heat sinks and the enclosure. Col. 8, lines 13-39 discloses providing sealing arrangements 70 and 72 providing thermal/sealing capabilities.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 is allowable over the prior art of record, because the prior art of record does not disclose wherein one or more of the first heat sinks include a first hinge and one or more of the second heat sinks include a second hinge, wherein the one or more first heat sinks are configured to pivot about the first hinge during the expansion of the first rechargeable battery cells and wherein the one or more second heat sinks are configured to pivot about the second hinge during the expansion of the second rechargeable battery cells.
Claim 16 is allowable over the prior art of record, because the prior art of record does not disclose wherein one or more of the first heat sinks include a first hinge and one or more of the second heat sinks include a second hinge, wherein the one or more first heat sinks are configured to pivot about the first hinge during the expansion of the first rechargeable battery cells and wherein the one or more second heat sinks are configured to pivot about the second hinge during the expansion of the second rechargeable battery cells.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Palanchon et al. (US 2011/0189525) discloses a heat exchanger for a battery unit, comprising a plurality of battery cells 16 formed in a stack configuration and a heat sink/exchanger 18 provided between the battery cells.
/CARLOS AMAYA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836