DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
1. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: --if the user operation for selecting any one of one or more selected candidate images displayed by the display apparatus in the display instruction step-- should be changed to “if the user operation for selecting any one of one or more selected candidate images displayed by the display apparatus in the display instruction step was made”. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,915,482. When claims in the pending application are broader than the ones in the patent, the broad claims in the pending application are rejected under obviousness type double patenting over previously patented narrow claims, In re Van Ornum and Stang, 214 USPQ 761.
Limitations of the present invention and corresponding U.S. Patent No. 11,915,482 are listed in the following table.
Instant Application: 19/203,527
U.S. Patent No. 11,915,482
1. A terminal apparatus comprising a processor configured to execute: an image data receiving step for receiving moving image data transmitted in real time from a communication partner apparatus; a display instructing step for displaying a moving image represented by the moving image data received in the image data receiving step on the display apparatus; an operation receiving step for receive a user operation on an image being displayed on a display apparatus; a selected image acquiring step for acquiring image identification data for identifying a selected image among a plurality of images constituting the moving image represented by the moving image data received in the image data receiving step; and a transmitting step for transmitting the image identification data acquired in the selected image acquiring step, or image data representing the image identified by the image identification data to the communication partner apparatus, wherein the processor configured to execute, in the selected image acquiring step, acquiring image identification data for identifying an image that was displayed by the display apparatus when a user operation on moving image displayed by the display apparatus was received in the operation receiving step, as image identification data of a selected image or image identification data of a selected candidate image, if the image identification data of a selected candidate image has been acquired in the selected image acquiring step, displaying the image identified by the image identification data on the display apparatus as a selected candidate image in the display instructing step, and if the user operation for selecting any one of one or more selected candidate images displayed by the display apparatus in the display instructing step, acquiring the image identification data of the selected image as selected image identification data in the selected image acquiring step.
1. A terminal apparatus comprising a processor configured to execute: an image data receiving step for receiving moving image data transmitted in real time from a communication partner apparatus; a storing step for storing at least a portion of moving image data received in the image data receiving step, the portion corresponding to a most recent past predetermined amount; an operation receiving step for receive a user operation on an image being displayed on a display apparatus; a display instructing step for displaying a moving image represented by moving image data received in the image data receiving step on the display apparatus in real time, and displaying, on the display apparatus, one or more images designated by a user operation received in the operation receiving step among images constituting a past moving image represented by moving image data stored in the storing step, a selected image acquiring step for acquiring image identification data for identifying a selected image among a plurality of images constituting a moving image represented by moving image data received in the image data receiving step; and a transmitting step for transmitting image identification data acquired in the selected image acquiring step, or image data representing the image identified by the image identification data to the communication partner apparatus, wherein the processor configured to execute, in the selected image acquiring step, acquiring image identification data for identifying an image that was displayed by the display apparatus when a user operation on moving image displayed by the display apparatus was received in the operation receiving step, as image identification data of a selected image or image identification data of a selected candidate image, and in the selected image acquiring step, acquiring image identification data for identifying an image that was designated by a user operation received in the operation receiving step, the user operation being made for selecting an image from among one or more images designated by a user operation and displayed by the display apparatus, as image identification data of a selected image or image identification data of a selected candidate image.
2. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor configured to execute, if image identification data of a selected candidate image was acquired in the selected image acquiring step, displaying an image identified by the image identification data on the display apparatus as a selected candidate image in the display instructing step, and if a user operation for selecting an image from among one or more candidate images displayed by the display apparatus was made in the operation receiving step, acquiring image identification data of the selected image as selected image identification data in the selected image acquiring step.
2. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor configured to execute, a storing step for storing at least a portion of the moving image data received in the image data receiving step, the portion corresponding to a most recent past predetermined amount, in the display instructing step, displaying the moving image represented by the moving image data received in the image data receiving step on the display apparatus in real time, and displaying, on the display apparatus, an image designated by an operation received in the operation receiving step among images constituting a past moving image represented by the moving image data stored in the storing step, and if the user operation for selecting the image designated by an operation has been received in the operation receiving step, the image being displayed by the display apparatus, acquiring the image identification data of the selected image as image identification data of a selected image or image identification data of a selected candidate image in the selected image acquiring step.
1. A terminal apparatus comprising a processor configured to execute: an image data receiving step for receiving moving image data transmitted in real time from a communication partner apparatus; a storing step for storing at least a portion of moving image data received in the image data receiving step, the portion corresponding to a most recent past predetermined amount; an operation receiving step for receive a user operation on an image being displayed on a display apparatus; a display instructing step for displaying a moving image represented by moving image data received in the image data receiving step on the display apparatus in real time, and displaying, on the display apparatus, one or more images designated by a user operation received in the operation receiving step among images constituting a past moving image represented by moving image data stored in the storing step, a selected image acquiring step for acquiring image identification data for identifying a selected image among a plurality of images constituting a moving image represented by moving image data received in the image data receiving step; and a transmitting step for transmitting image identification data acquired in the selected image acquiring step, or image data representing the image identified by the image identification data to the communication partner apparatus, wherein the processor configured to execute, in the selected image acquiring step, acquiring image identification data for identifying an image that was displayed by the display apparatus when a user operation on moving image displayed by the display apparatus was received in the operation receiving step, as image identification data of a selected image or image identification data of a selected candidate image, and in the selected image acquiring step, acquiring image identification data for identifying an image that was designated by a user operation received in the operation receiving step, the user operation being made for selecting an image from among one or more images designated by a user operation and displayed by the display apparatus, as image identification data of a selected image or image identification data of a selected candidate image.
2. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor configured to execute, if image identification data of a selected candidate image was acquired in the selected image acquiring step, displaying an image identified by the image identification data on the display apparatus as a selected candidate image in the display instructing step, and if a user operation for selecting an image from among one or more candidate images displayed by the display apparatus was made in the operation receiving step, acquiring image identification data of the selected image as selected image identification data in the selected image acquiring step.
3. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor configured to execute, if image identification data of a selected candidate image was acquired in the selected image acquiring step, displaying an image identified by the image identification data on the display apparatus as a selected candidate image in the display instructing step, and if a user operation for selecting an image from among one or more candidate images displayed by the display apparatus was made in the operation receiving step, acquiring image identification data of the selected image as selected image identification data in the selected image acquiring step.
1. A terminal apparatus comprising a processor configured to execute: an image data receiving step for receiving moving image data transmitted in real time from a communication partner apparatus; a storing step for storing at least a portion of moving image data received in the image data receiving step, the portion corresponding to a most recent past predetermined amount; an operation receiving step for receive a user operation on an image being displayed on a display apparatus; a display instructing step for displaying a moving image represented by moving image data received in the image data receiving step on the display apparatus in real time, and displaying, on the display apparatus, one or more images designated by a user operation received in the operation receiving step among images constituting a past moving image represented by moving image data stored in the storing step, a selected image acquiring step for acquiring image identification data for identifying a selected image among a plurality of images constituting a moving image represented by moving image data received in the image data receiving step; and a transmitting step for transmitting image identification data acquired in the selected image acquiring step, or image data representing the image identified by the image identification data to the communication partner apparatus, wherein the processor configured to execute, in the selected image acquiring step, acquiring image identification data for identifying an image that was displayed by the display apparatus when a user operation on moving image displayed by the display apparatus was received in the operation receiving step, as image identification data of a selected image or image identification data of a selected candidate image, and in the selected image acquiring step, acquiring image identification data for identifying an image that was designated by a user operation received in the operation receiving step, the user operation being made for selecting an image from among one or more images designated by a user operation and displayed by the display apparatus, as image identification data of a selected image or image identification data of a selected candidate image.
4. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor configured to execute, in the operation receiving step, receiving a user operation for designating any region included in the selected image identified by the image identification data acquired in the selected image acquiring step, and in the transmitting step, transmitting region data indicating the region designated by the user to the communication partner apparatus.
3. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor configured to execute, in the operation receiving step, receiving a user operation for designating any region included in the selected image identified by the image identification data acquired in the selected image acquiring step, and in the transmitting step, transmitting region data indicating the region designated by the user to the communication partner apparatus.
5. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor configured to execute, an image recognizing step for recognizing an object appearing in the selected image identified by the image identification data acquired in the selected image acquiring step, and in the display instructing step, displaying on the display apparatus, an image obtained by adding a display object indicating a result of recognition performed in the image recognizing step to a selected image identified by image identification data acquired in the selected image acquiring step.
4. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor configured to execute, an image recognizing step for recognizing an object appearing in the selected image identified by the image identification data acquired in the selected image acquiring step, and in the display instructing step, displaying on the display apparatus, an image obtained by adding a display object indicating a result of recognition performed in the image recognizing step to a selected image identified by image identification data acquired in the selected image acquiring step.
6. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor configured to execute, in the display instructing step, displaying a virtual operation button on the display apparatus, and if a user operation on the virtual operation button was received in the operation receiving step, transmitting message identification data for identifying a message corresponding to the virtual operation button or message data indicating the message, to the communication partner apparatus, in the transmitting step.
5. The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor configured to execute, in the display instructing step, displaying a virtual operation button on the display apparatus, and if a user operation on the virtual operation button was received in the operation receiving step, transmitting message identification data for identifying a message corresponding to the virtual operation button or message data indicating the message, to the communication partner apparatus, in the transmitting step.
7. The terminal apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the processor configured to execute, if a user operation of associating an image selected by the user with the virtual operation button was received in the operation receiving step, transmitting message identification data for identifying a message corresponding to the virtual operation button or message data indicating the message, in association with image identification data acquired in the selected image acquiring step or image data representing the image identified by the image identification data, to the communication partner apparatus, in the transmitting step.
6. The terminal apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the processor configured to execute, if a user operation of associating an image selected by the user with the virtual operation button was received in the operation receiving step, transmitting message identification data for identifying a message corresponding to the virtual operation button or message data indicating the message, in association with image identification data acquired in the selected image acquiring step or image data representing the image identified by the image identification data, to the communication partner apparatus, in the transmitting step.
8. The terminal apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the message data is text data indicating a sentence written in a language used by a user of the communication partner apparatus or voice data representing a sound of uttering the sentence.
7. The terminal apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the message data is text data indicating a sentence written in a language used by a user of the communication partner apparatus or voice data representing a sound of uttering the sentence.
9. The terminal apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the message data is data indicating a state of the user.
8. The terminal apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the message data is data indicating a state of the user.
10. The terminal apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the message data is operation instruction data for instructing a physical operation to the communication partner apparatus.
9. The terminal apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the message data is operation instruction data for instructing a physical operation to the communication partner apparatus
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites the limitation " display apparatus" in lin3 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masaru JP 2001346191 A (hereinafter Masaru) in view of Taylor et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0152764 (hereinafter Taylor).
Regarding claim 1, Masaru discloses a terminal (from page 3, see Terminal device 102 such as a personal digital assistant (PDA) or a mobile phone) apparatus comprising a processor configured to execute:
an image data receiving step for receiving moving image data transmitted in real time from a communication partner apparatus (from abstract, see The photographing staff uses a photographing camera 104 to capture video images and audio data of the relay place according to the request contents transmitted by means of the electronic mail. A terminal 103 connected to the camera 104 divides the received signal into video and audio data, converts respectively them into digital data, applies compression processing to the converted data and transmits the result to the server 105. The server 105 transmits the data received from the terminal 103 to the terminal 102 to which the data are to be transmitted so as to conduct individual relaying);
a display instructing step for displaying a moving image represented by the moving image data received in the image data receiving step on the display apparatus (from page 11, see As a result, an image captured by the camera 104 is displayed on the window 501 in real time).
Although Masaru discloses when a request or an instruction to be transmitted to the photographing staff is input in the box 503 and a “send” button 504 is clicked, the terminal device 102 transmits the request content input in the box 503 to the server 105 as data. The server 105 that has received the data transmits the received data by e-mail to the photographing staff corresponding to the relay page. As a result, the request contents from the applicant are promptly transmitted to the photographing staff (see page 7), Masaru does not clearly teach:
an operation receiving step for receive a user operation on an image being displayed on a display apparatus;
a selected image acquiring step for acquiring image identification data for identifying a selected image among a plurality of images constituting the moving image represented by the moving image data received in the image data receiving step; and a
transmitting step for transmitting the image identification data acquired in the selected image acquiring step, or image data representing the image identified by the image identification data to the communication partner apparatus;
wherein the processor configured to execute, in the selected image acquiring step, acquiring image identification data for identifying an image that was displayed by the display apparatus when a user operation on moving image displayed by the display apparatus was received in the operation receiving step, as image identification data of a selected image or image identification data of a selected candidate image,
if the image identification data of a selected candidate image has been acquired in the selected image acquiring step, displaying the image identified by the image identification data on the display apparatus as a selected candidate image in the display instructing step, and
if the user operation for selecting any one of one or more selected candidate images displayed by the display apparatus in the display instructing step, acquiring the image identification data of the selected image as selected image identification data in the selected image acquiring step.
All the same, Taylor discloses:
an operation receiving step for receive a user operation on an image being displayed on a display apparatus (from paragraph 0073, see Beginning with box 603, the content access application 263 receives a user selection of a selectable item component rendered in an interactive shopping interface. For instance, the user may select an image of an item or may click a button associated with an item (e.g., labeled “shop now”). Alternatively, the selectable item component may correspond to a selectable graphical overlay as in FIG. 3D);
a selected image acquiring step for acquiring image identification data for identifying a selected image among a plurality of images constituting the moving image represented by the moving image data received in the image data receiving step (from paragraph 0069, see In box 521, the content access application 263 obtains item information corresponding to items featured in the video segment 242. For example, the video segment manifest 239 may include segment metadata 245 that indicates the featured items. Alternatively, a separate channel may transmit the featured items from the media server 227 to the content access application 263 via a push or pull arrangement); and a
transmitting step for transmitting the image identification data acquired in the selected image acquiring step, or image data representing the image identified by the image identification data to the communication partner apparatus (from paragraph 0020, see initiating an order or purchase of the item);
wherein the processor configured to execute, in the selected image acquiring step, acquiring image identification data for identifying an image that was displayed by the display apparatus when a user operation on moving image displayed by the display apparatus was received in the operation receiving step, as image identification data of a selected image or image identification data of a selected candidate image (from paragraph 0031, see The interactive shopping interface application 221 is executed to generate an interactive shopping interface to accompany a live video stream. To this end, the interactive shopping interface application 221 may determine items featured in the live video stream and then generate various metadata to be sent to the client devices 206. The metadata instructs the client devices 206 to render user interface components that facilitate an interactive shopping experience. The interactive shopping interface application 221 may also be configured to provide chat functionality that enables communication among multiple viewers of the live video stream),
if the image identification data of a selected candidate image has been acquired in the selected image acquiring step, displaying the image identified by the image identification data on the display apparatus as a selected candidate image in the display instructing step (from paragraph 0022, see where selection of a component of the item information may result in adding the item to a shopping cart,), and
if the user operation for selecting any one of one or more selected candidate images displayed by the display apparatus in the display instructing step, acquiring the image identification data of the selected image as selected image identification data in the selected image acquiring step (from paragraph 0083, see In box 715, the media server 227 receives data indicating a user selection of the selectable graphical overlay from the client device 206. In box 718, the media server 227 determines an interactive function associated with the user selection. In this regard, the media server 227 may identify a selected version of the item, where multiple versions of the item may be selected. The interactive function may correspond to adding the item to a shopping list or cart, initiating an order of the item through the electronic commerce system 230 (FIG. 2), viewing the item detail page for the item, casting a vote with respect to the item, or other functions. In box 721, the media server 227 performs the interactive function. Thereafter, the process proceeds to completion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Masaru wherein:
an operation receiving step for receive a user operation on an image being displayed on a display apparatus;
a selected image acquiring step for acquiring image identification data for identifying a selected image among a plurality of images constituting the moving image represented by the moving image data received in the image data receiving step; and a
transmitting step for transmitting the image identification data acquired in the selected image acquiring step, or image data representing the image identified by the image identification data to the communication partner apparatus;
wherein the processor configured to execute, in the selected image acquiring step, acquiring image identification data for identifying an image that was displayed by the display apparatus when a user operation on moving image displayed by the display apparatus was received in the operation receiving step, as image identification data of a selected image or image identification data of a selected candidate image,
if the image identification data of a selected candidate image has been acquired in the selected image acquiring step, displaying the image identified by the image identification data on the display apparatus as a selected candidate image in the display instructing step, and
if the user operation for selecting any one of one or more selected candidate images displayed by the display apparatus in the display instructing step, acquiring the image identification data of the selected image as selected image identification data in the selected image acquiring step.
This modification would have improved the convenience of Masaru by providing an interactive shopping interface as suggested by Taylor.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Masaru and Taylor discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor configured to execute, if image identification data of a selected candidate image was acquired in the selected image acquiring step, displaying an image identified by the image identification data on the display apparatus as a selected candidate image in the display instructing step, and if a user operation for selecting an image from among one or more candidate images displayed by the display apparatus was made in the operation receiving step, acquiring image identification data of the selected image as selected image identification data in the selected image acquiring step (from paragraph 0042 of Taylor, see While the live video stream 103 is being streamed to the client device 206 by the media server 227, information indicating the featured or discussed items is also sent to the client device 206 by the media server 227, either through a push or pull arrangement. The content access application 263 is configured to render an interactive shopping interface that presents information about the currently featured items. The interactive shopping interface may include selectable item components, corresponding to the items, that perform an interactive function or action, such as adding the item to a shopping list or cart via the electronic commerce system 230, initiating an order of an item via the electronic commerce system 230, causing an item detail page to be rendered, casting a vote in regard to an item, and so on. The content access application 263 is configured to maintain synchronization of the items shown in the interactive shopping interface with respect to the progress of the live video stream 103).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Masaru and Taylor discloses wherein the processor configured to execute, an image recognizing step for recognizing an object appearing in the selected image identified by the image identification data acquired in the selected image acquiring step, and in the display instructing step, displaying on the display apparatus, an image obtained by adding a display object indicating a result of recognition performed in the image recognizing step to a selected image identified by image identification data acquired in the selected image acquiring step (from paragraph 0084 of Taylor, see Alternatively, an automated image recognition system may recognize the item within the live video stream 103 and extract an approximate graphical position. Where the featured item has multiple versions or variants, the interactive shopping interface application 221 may identify the particular version being discussed in the live video stream 103).
Regarding claim 6, Masaru discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor configured to execute, in the display instructing step, displaying a virtual operation button on the display apparatus, and if a user operation on the virtual operation button was received in the operation receiving step, transmitting message identification data for identifying a message corresponding to the virtual operation button or message data indicating the message, to the communication partner apparatus, in the transmitting step (from page 7, see when a request or an instruction to be transmitted to the photographing staff is input in the box 503 and a “send” button 504 is clicked, the terminal device 102 transmits the request content input in the box 503 to the server 105 as data. The server 105 that has received the data transmits the received data by e-mail to the photographing staff corresponding to the relay page. As a result, the request contents from the applicant are promptly transmitted to the photographing staff).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Masaru and Taylor discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the processor configured to execute, if a user operation of associating an image selected by the user with the virtual operation button was received in the operation receiving step, transmitting message identification data for identifying a message corresponding to the virtual operation button or message data indicating the message, in association with image identification data acquired in the selected image acquiring step or image data representing the image identified by the image identification data, to the communication partner apparatus, in the transmitting step (from paragraph 0050 of Taylor, see In one scenario, a client device 206 may correspond to a fixed microphone client device 206 that continuously listens for wake words or other predefined verbal content. A user may say something relevant to the current live video stream 103, which may be recognized through a voice recognition system and then transmitted to a show producer. The show producer may then choose to feature the comment via the chat interface 306. In some cases, the sentiment of the user may be determined using voice recognition in connection with a fixed microphone client device 206 and tallied to provide to the producer or other end users via the chat interface 306 the general feeling of users towards currently featured items. For example, statistics may be gathered and presented as to whether users are feeling positive or negative towards a product currently being discussed in the live video stream 103).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Masaru and Taylor discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the message data is text data indicating a sentence written in a language used by a user of the communication partner apparatus or voice data representing a sound of uttering the sentence (from paragraph 0050 of Taylor, see In one scenario, a client device 206 may correspond to a fixed microphone client device 206 that continuously listens for wake words or other predefined verbal content. A user may say something relevant to the current live video stream 103, which may be recognized through a voice recognition system and then transmitted to a show producer. The show producer may then choose to feature the comment via the chat interface 306. In some cases, the sentiment of the user may be determined using voice recognition in connection with a fixed microphone client device 206 and tallied to provide to the producer or other end users via the chat interface 306 the general feeling of users towards currently featured items. For example, statistics may be gathered and presented as to whether users are feeling positive or negative towards a product currently being discussed in the live video stream 103).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Masaru and Taylor discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the message data is data indicating a state of the user (from paragraph 0050 of Taylor, see In one scenario, a client device 206 may correspond to a fixed microphone client device 206 that continuously listens for wake words or other predefined verbal content. A user may say something relevant to the current live video stream 103, which may be recognized through a voice recognition system and then transmitted to a show producer. The show producer may then choose to feature the comment via the chat interface 306. In some cases, the sentiment of the user may be determined using voice recognition in connection with a fixed microphone client device 206 and tallied to provide to the producer or other end users via the chat interface 306 the general feeling of users towards currently featured items. For example, statistics may be gathered and presented as to whether users are feeling positive or negative towards a product currently being discussed in the live video stream 103).
Regarding claim 10, Masaru discloses the terminal apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the message data is operation instruction data for instructing a physical operation to the communication partner apparatus (from page 7, see When the applicant instructs the purchase of a product or the like as the request content, the photographing staff purchases the product according to the instruction. The purchase is made, for example, by the camera 104).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 2 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-2600.
Olisa Anwah
Patent Examiner
September 22, 2026
/OLISA ANWAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692