DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the first and second curvilinear sealing surfaces are toroidal where such interference occurs” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Elder et al. (US 2014/0084582 hereinafter “Elder”).
In regards to claim 1, Elder discloses a sealing system comprising:
a first tubular member (101) having a first thread set (105) and a first curvilinear sealing surface (152); and
a second tubular member (102) having a second thread set (107) and a second curvilinear sealing surface(162); wherein:
the first tubular member and the second tubular member are configured to connect when the first thread set engages with the second thread set (shown in fig. 1);
the first and second curvilinear sealing surfaces are configured to interfere at an interference region when the first and second tubular members connect (shown in fig. 1);
both the first and second curvilinear sealing surfaces are toroidal where such interference occurs (see paragraph [0066]).
In regards to claim 2, Elder further discloses a first relief recess (at 212) disposed on the first tubular member between the first thread set and the first curvilinear sealing surface.
In regards to claim 3, Elder further discloses a second relief recess (at 212) disposed on the second tubular member between the second thread set and the second curvilinear sealing surface.
In regards to claim 5, Elder further discloses the first and second curvilinear sealing surfaces are symmetrical when the first and second tubular members connect (shown in fig. 2).
In regards to claim 6, Elder further discloses the first and second curvilinear sealing surfaces are asymmetrical when the first and second tubular members connect (shown in fig. 2 about the longitudinal axis).
In regards to claim 7, Elder further discloses the interference region forms an annular seal between the first and second tubular members, wherein the sealing system is configured such that an axis of the annular seal may change without forming discontinuities in the annular seal (fig. 2 shows this capability).
In regards to claims 8 and 16, Elder further discloses the first tubular member comprises a pin member including a pin nose (top in fig. 1); and the first curvilinear sealing surface is located between the first thread set and the pin nose (shown in fig. 1).
In regards to claims 9 and 17, Elder further discloses the first curvilinear sealing surface is the only curvilinear sealing surface disposed on the first tubular member (shown in fig. 1).
In regards to claims 10 and 18, Elder further discloses the first thread set and the second thread set comprise wedge threads (see fig. 1 and paragraph [0058]).
In regards to claim 11, Elder discloses a method comprising:
moving a first tubular member (101) relative to a second tubular member (102), such that a pin end of the first tubular member enters and axially overlaps with a box end of the second tubular member (shown in fig. 1);
rotating the first tubular member relative to the second tubular member, such that a first threading on the first tubular member engages with a second threading on the second tubular member (shown in fig. 1) and
connecting the first tubular member to the second tubular member, such that a first curvilinear sealing surface (152) on the first tubular member contacts a second curvilinear sealing surface (162) on the second tubular member; wherein:
the first and second curvilinear sealing surfaces interfere at an interference region when the first and second tubular members connect; and
both the first and second curvilinear sealing surfaces are toroidal where such interference occurs (see paragraph [0066]).
In regards to claim 12, Elder further discloses rotating the first tubular member relative to the second tubular member comprises displacing lubricant between the pin end and the box end into a first recess (212) on the first tubular member between the first threading and the first curvilinear sealing surface (see paragraph [0078]).
In regards to claim 13, Elder further discloses rotating the first tubular member relative to the second tubular member comprises displacing lubricant between the pin end and the box end into a second recess (212) on the second tubular member between the second threading and the second curvilinear sealing surface (see paragraph [0078]).
In regards to claim 14, Elder further discloses the contact force comprises a compressional force between the first and second curvilinear sealing surfaces (shown in fig. 2).
In regards to claim 15, Elder further discloses the contact force comprises a radial force extending along an annular dimension between the first and second tubular members to form an annular seal (shown in fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elder as applied to claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 4, Elder discloses the system of claim 1 and further discloses the sealing surfaces comprising a curve radius of between 10 mm to 100 mm (.39 to 3.9 inches). Elder does not expressly disclose the radius being .5 to 50 inches. However, it is noted that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, while Elder does not expressly disclose the curve radius being .5 to 50 inches; the curve radius may be determined through the use of routine experimentation during the engineering design process to optimize the functionality of the device, suited to the intended use and desired parameters.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Elder to have the curve radius be .5 to 50 inches, as the curve radius may be optimized to the desired operational parameters through the use of routine experimentation. A person of ordinary skill in the art undertaking such experimentation would have had a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Conclusion
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679 03/24/2026