DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 17, 18 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 10, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dreyer et al. (US 2017/0158945).
With respect to independent claim 1, Dreyer et al. discloses a method for removing materials from an apparatus surface comprising:
contacting an aqueous dissolver solution comprising a dissolver having the formular [C]+[A] – with the apparatus surface having a metal containing scale comprising lead, lead sulphide, lead oxide, or a combination thereof; and
maintaining contact between the aqueous dissolver solution and the metal containing scale for a duration selected to remove at least a portion of the scale, wherein [C]+ comprises aluminum ions, and wherein [A] – comprises nitrate ions ([0065]).
With respect to dependent claim 3, Dreyer et al. discloses wherein the dissolver comprises aluminum nitrate ([0065]).
With respect to dependent claim 4, Dreyer et al. discloses wherein the dissolver is present at a concentration as claimed ([0065]).
With respect to dependent claim 5, Dreyer et al. discloses wherein the aqueous dissolver solution further comprises an activator ([0081], wherein the aqueous dissolver further comprises an accelerated release polyphosphate glass).
With respect to dependent claim 7, Dreyer et al. discloses wherein the activator is present at a concentration as claimed ([0083]).
With respect to dependent claim 10, Dreyer et al. discloses wherein contacting the aqueous dissolver solution with the apparatus surface comprises immersing the apparatus in the aqueous dissolver solution ([0004]; [0112]; [0118]-[0119]).
With respect to dependent claim 14, Dreyer et al. discloses wherein the contacting comprises contacting at a temperature in the range as claimed ([0115]) in the presence of an activator ([0081]).
With respect to dependent claim 16, Dreyer et al. discloses wherein the contacting the aqueous dissolver solution with the apparatus comprises contacting for one or more periods of time for a total time as claimed ([0073], by slow release thereof over a time period that include a time within the range as claimed; [0112]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dreyer et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2018/0340113 – cited previously).
Dreyer et al. discloses the method with respect to claim 1, as set forth above, wherein scale can form on surfaces of conduits throughout the system ([0004]; [0007]). The reference, however, fails to disclose the specific material of such surfaces and therefore fails to disclose one as claimed. Chen et al. teaches sulfide deposition in oilfield applications and the removal thereof, wherein such scale forms on carbon steel tubing which is used in such applications ([0002]-[0003]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try removing the method of Dreyer et al. with a well system that includes carbon steel as such a material is known in the art to be used in oilfield applications and susceptible to scaling by sulfide scales.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dreyer et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okocha et al. (US 2018/0105732).
With respect to dependent claim 19, Dreyer et al. discloses the method as set forth above wherein the composition may be combined with further components or additives, such as biocides, stabilizers, corrosion inhibitors and scale inhibitors ([0087]). The reference, however, is silent to the inclusion of a hydrogen sulfide scavenger. Okocha et al. teaches scale inhibition compositions useful in oilfield applications wherein such further include a hydrogen sulfide scavenger therein ([0046]) for the purpose of scavenging any residual hydrogen sulfide that is generated ([0113]). Since Dreyer et al. discloses wherein additives may further be included in the composition for use in the method disclosed therein and Okocha et al. teaches similar methods wherein a hydrogen sulphide scavenger is further included therewith, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try a hydrogen sulphide scavenger in the method of Dreyer et al. in order to yield the predictable result of providing further scavenging of any generated hydrogen sulphide therewith.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) as set forth in the previous office action have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of Applicant’s amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of further consideration of Applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 9701558 discloses treatment of water containing hydrogen sulfide with aluminum nitrate.
US 12195669 discloses removal of hydrogen sulfide with a triple metal hydroxide material that includes aluminum nitrate.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Angela M DiTrani Leff/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
ADL
10/30/26