DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on May 09, 2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 09, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were filed on May 09, 2025. These drawings are accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ITOU (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0265914 A1) in view of Tran et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0140428 A1).
In re claim 1, ITOU discloses a semiconductor integrated circuit (Figs. 6a), comprising:
high-side transistor which is a PM OS transistor (MH1, MH2); and
an overcurrent detection circuit (150_1, 150_2) configured to compare a current flowing through the high-side transistor with a threshold current (Para. 0090-0096), wherein the overcurrent detection circuit includes:
a voltage-current conversion circuit configured to convert a reference voltage into a reference current;
replica transistor (152) which is a PMOS transistor provided on a path of the reference current output by the voltage-current conversion circuit and including a source (154a) connected to a source of the high-side transistor (Para. 0090-0096); and
a comparator (156) configured to compare a drain voltage of the high-side transistor with a drain voltage of the replica transistor (Para. 0090-0096), and wherein the voltage-current conversion circuit includes:
an input terminal configured to receive the reference voltage (Para. 0090-0096).
ITOU fails to disclose an N M OS transistor which is a native transistor; a first resistor connected between a source of the N M OS transistor and a ground; and a voltage divider circuit including a second resistor and a third resistor connected in series between the input terminal and the ground, and supplying a voltage, which is obtained by dividing the reference voltage, to a gate of the N M OS transistor.
Tran teaches (Fig. 9) a bandgap reference generator, comprising an N M OS transistor (912) which is a native transistor; a first resistor (931) connected between a source of the N M OS transistor and a ground; and a voltage divider circuit (942-943) including a second resistor and a third resistor connected in series between the input terminal and the ground, and supplying a voltage, which is obtained by dividing the reference voltage, to a gate of the N M OS transistor (Para. 0064-0068).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of ITOU to include is a native transistor; a first resistor connected between a source of the N M OS transistor and a ground; and a voltage divider circuit including a second resistor and a third resistor connected in series between the input terminal and the ground, and supplying a voltage, which is obtained by dividing the reference voltage, to a gate of the N M OS transistor, as disclosed in Tran to provide constant voltages and currents over temperature ranges (Para. 0002).
In re claim 6, ITOU discloses wherein the high-side transistor is a switching element of a DC/DC converter (Figs 6A-6B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding to claim 2, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest “wherein the replica transistor includes a plurality of PM OS transistors stacked vertically” in combination with other limitations of the claim.
Regarding to claim 3, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest “wherein the overcurrent detection circuit further includes a first switch connected between a drain of the high-side transistor and the source of the high-side transistor” in combination with other limitations of the claim.
Regarding to claim 4, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest “wherein the voltage divider circuit further includes a second switch connected in series with the second resistor and the third resistor.” in combination with other limitations of the claim.
Regarding to claim 5, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest “wherein the voltage-current conversion circuit further includes a third switch connected in series with the replica transistor” in combination with other limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
/RAFAEL O DE LEON DOMENECH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838