Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/09/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration as file 06/06/2025 is noted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jo US 2009/0155724 (Provided by Applicant; Hereinafter Jo).
Regarding claim 1, Jo teaches a method for manufacturing a metal structure designed to put a plurality of electronic devices in electric contact (Figs. 1, 4, 5), the method comprising steps of:
a) arranging a planar lower support (Fig. 1, item 210; Fig. 4, S1; Fig. 5(a), item 1);
b) depositing a first photoresist layer (Fig. 4, S1; Fig. 5(a)) on said lower support (Fig. 4, S1; Fig. 5(a));
c) etching said first photoresist layer (Fig. 4, S2; Fig. 5(a)) to form at least one first through opening in said first photoresist layer (Fig. 4, S2; Fig. 5(a));
d) filling said at least one first through opening (Fig. 4, S3; Fig. 5(c)) with a conductive material to form at least one first conductive segment (Fig. 4, S3; Fig. 5(c)), which develops along a growth direction (Fig. 4, S3; Fig. 5(c));
e) depositing a first metallic primary layer (Fig. 4, S10; Fig. 5(h), item 5, seed layer) on said first photoresist layer (Fig. 4, S10; Fig. 5(h), item 5, seed layer);
f) depositing a second photoresist layer (Fig. 4, S13; Fig. 5(k), (PR)) on said first metallic primary layer (Fig. 4, S13; Fig. 5(k), (PR));
g) etching said second photoresist layer (Fig. 5(k), (PR)) and said first metallic primary layer to form at least one second through opening in said first photoresist layer (Fig. 5(k), (PR)) and in said first metallic primary layer (Fig. 5(k), (PR)), at least partially in line with said first through opening (Fig. 5(k), (PR));
h) filling said at least one second through opening (Fig. 5(k)(i)) with a conductive material to form at least one second conductive segment (Fig. 5(k)(i));
i) repeating steps e, f, g, and h up to reach a desired number of conductive segments (Fig. 4, S13) which are contiguous to each other so as to define said metal structure (Fig. 4, S13); and
j) removing the photoresist layers (Fig. 4, S14) and the metallic primary layers (Fig. 4, S14) so as to release the metal structure (Fig. 4, S14).
Regarding claim 4, Jo further teaches the method for manufacturing a metal structure according to claim 1, wherein the step of forming said at least one through opening ([0003]), that is repeated for each photoresist layer, is performed according to a lithographic process ([0003]).
Regarding claim 5, Jo further teaches the method for manufacturing a metal structure according to claim 1, wherein the step of forming said at least one through opening (Fig. 5(c); [0026]), that is repeated for each metallic primary layer, is performed according to an etching technique (Fig. 5(c); [0026]).
Regarding claim 6, Jo further teaches the method for manufacturing a metal structure, according to claim 1, wherein the step of filling said at least one through opening with a conductive material (Fig. 5(c); [0026]), that is repeated for each photoresist layer and/or for each metallic primary layer (Fig. 5(c); [0026]), is performed through galvanic growth or cathode sputtering or thermal evaporation or other deposition techniques (Fig. 5(c); [0026]).
Regarding claim 7, Jo further teaches the method for manufacturing a metal structure, according to claim 1, wherein each different photoresist layer is a positive photoresist layer or a negative photoresist layer (Figs. 4, 5; discloses a negative photoresist layer).
Regarding claim 8, Jo further teaches the method for manufacturing a metal structure, according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the conductive segments is misaligned with respect to the immediately preceding and/or immediately following conductive segment along said growth direction (Fig. 3; 10th step).
Regarding claim 9, Jo further teaches the method for manufacturing a metal structure, according to claim 1, comprising a further step of removing the lower support (Figs. 4, 5).
Regarding claim 10, Jo further teaches the method for manufacturing a metal structure, according to claim 1, wherein, before the step of depositing a metallic primary layer, a mechanical and/or chemical planarization step is performed on the deposition surface of said metallic primary layer (Figs. 4, 5).
Regarding claim 11, Jo further teaches the method for manufacturing a metal structure, according to claim 1, wherein the deposition of the metallic support layer occurs through sputtering, thermal evaporation, or other deposition techniques (Fig. 5(h); [0026]; “laminating”).
Regarding claim 13, Jo teaches a metal structure (Figs. 3-5), which can be used in the electronic field (Figs. 3-5), designed to put at least one termination of a first device (Figs. 3-5) in contact with at least one termination of a second device (Figs. 3-5), being manufactured by a method according to claim 1 (See Rejection of Claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo in view of Huang et al. US 2017/0170099 (Provided by Applicant; Hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 2, Jo teaches the method for manufacturing a metal structure according to claim 1, but not specifically wherein said lower support comprises at least one substrate and at least one metallic primary base layer above said substrate.
However, Huang does teach wherein said lower support comprises at least one substrate and at least one metallic primary base layer above said substrate (Fig. 1A; [0029]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method for fabricating probe needle tip of probe card of Jo by implementing the teachings of Huang regarding wherein said lower support comprises at least one substrate and at least one metallic primary base layer above said substrate; so that it “effectively increases a transmission speed of a signal” (See Huang; Abstract).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Jo and Huang teaches the method for manufacturing a metal structure according to claim 2, wherein Huang further teaches wherein said lower support further comprises a dielectric sacrificial layer interposed between said at least one substrate and at least one metallic primary base layer (Fig. 1A; [0029]).
Regarding claim 12, Jo teaches the method for manufacturing a metal structure, according to claim 11, but not specifically wherein said metallic primary layers are made of identical materials.
However, Huang teaches wherein said metallic primary layers are made of identical materials (Fig. 1A; [0029]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method for fabricating probe needle tip of probe card of Jo by implementing the teachings of Huang regarding wherein said metallic primary layers are made of identical materials; so that it “effectively increases a transmission speed of a signal” (See Huang; Abstract).
Regarding claim 14, Jo teaches the method for manufacturing a metal structure, according to claim 11, but not specifically wherein said metallic primary layers are made of identical materials.
However, Huang does teach wherein said metallic primary layers are made of identical materials (Fig. 1A; [0029]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method for fabricating probe needle tip of probe card of Jo by implementing the teachings of Huang regarding wherein said metallic primary layers are made of identical materials; so that it “effectively increases a transmission speed of a signal” (See Huang; Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Koo US 2015/0293149 - A test probe for testing a chip package s provided, wherein the test probe comprises a test probe body comprising a conductive material; and a probe tip arranged on an end of the test probe body and comprising carbon nano tubes.
Haga US 2005/0088193 - A method of manufacturing a protruding-volute contact for attaining electrical continuity with an electrode of electronic equipment or inspection equipment, the method comprising the steps of forming a plastic mold (resist structure) with a metal mold; forming a layer consisting of metallic material on the plastic mold (resist structure) by means of electroforming; and performing convex formation of a metal microstructure made from the layer consisting of metallic material so as to form a spiral spring that protrudes volutedly outward.
Grube et al. US 2007/0126443 - A method of designing and manufacturing a probe card assembly includes prefabricating one or more elements of the probe card assembly to one or more predefined designs. Thereafter, design data regarding a newly designed semiconductor device is received along with data describing the tester and testing algorithms to be used to test the semiconductor device. Using the received data, one or more of the prefabricated elements is selected. Again using the received data, one or more of the selected prefabricated elements is customized.
/RAUL J RIOS RUSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858