Detailed Action
This office action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 4/17/26.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Applicant's election of Group I, claims 1-13, in the reply filed on 4/6/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP 818.03(a)).
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from consideration being drawn to the non-elected invention.
As a result, claims 1-13 are being examined in this Office Action.
Priority
The applicant claims benefit as follows:
Objections
Claims 4 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 is objected to because of informal language. Claim 4 recites that “the sulfonyl group comprises at least one of a nitrogen-containing heterocycle, a benzene ring, a carbon chain, or a nitrogen-containing carbon chain.” This wording is chemically inaccurate because the sulfonyl group is –SO₂– and does not contain the listed organic moieties. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of informal chemical formula formatting and unclear wording. Claim 13 recites that “the material of the perovskite light-absorbing layer comprises Cs(0–0.05)FA(0.8–0.95)MA(0–0.10)PbI(2.0–2.7)Br(0.3–1.0).” The chemical formula should be presented in standard chemical notation, with clear formatting. In addition, because claim 13 depends from a precursor claim, the claim should clarify if the mixed halide perovskite precursor solution is for forming a perovskite light-absorbing layer comprising the recited perovskite material. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 6, and 8–11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is indefinite because the claim recites that the “electron-donating group” comprises at least one of –F, –CF₃, –Cl, –O, and the two nitrogen-containing groups. However, the specification defines an “electron-donating group” as a group that increases electron cloud density on the benzene ring after substituting for hydrogen. However at least –CF₃, –F, and –Cl are commonly understood as electron-withdrawing substituents. Thus, it is unclear what is encompassed by applicant’s claimed “electron-donating group”, since it seems like not only does it encompass groups that donate electron density, but also encompasses groups that are electron-withdrawing. Therefore, the metes and bounds of claim 3 are unclear.
Claims 3, 6, and 8–11 are indefinite because the recited chemical groups and chemical structures are chemically incomplete and unclear. In claim 3, the recited –O group does not clearly identify a complete oxygen-containing substituent, because oxygen generally requires two bonds, or a double bond, to satisfy ordinary valence requirements. Claim 3 also recites charged nitrogen-containing groups that do not clearly show sufficient bonding or substituent attachment to define complete charged nitrogen species.
Additionally, claim 6 recites drawn nitrogen-containing heterocycles in which positively charged nitrogen atoms appear to have only three bonds, and claim 8 recites a drawn nitrogen-containing carbon chain in which a positively charged nitrogen appears to have only one depicted bond.
Claims 9–11 also recite drawn chemical structures having oxygen and/or nitrogen atoms that do not clearly show sufficient bonding, charge state, or attachment to satisfy ordinary valence/octet requirements.
Claims 3, 6 and 8–11 are indefinite because the drawn chemical structures and/or chemical fragments do not clearly identify the points of attachment of the drawn structures to the remaining portion of the organic additive. In particular, it is unclear whether the single lines extending from the drawn structures represent methyl substituents, bonds, or points of attachments. Because the claims do not clearly define how the recited fragments are connected within the complete organic additive, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably certain of the scope of claims 6 and 8–11.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably certain of the scope of claims 3, 6, and 8–11. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 103
Rejection I
Claims 1–2, 4–8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. (CN 115633531, pub date Jan. 20, 2023, in applicant’s IDS filed 5/9/25) (also see the English Translation).
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Pan teaches a method for preparing a solar cell by doping sulfonyl molecules in a perovskite phase. Pan teaches that, when preparing a perovskite light absorption layer, 1.6–6.4% of sulfonyl micromolecules are added into a perovskite precursor solution. Pan further teaches a general sulfonyl molecule structure of R1–SO2–R2 (also see structure below), wherein S represents a sulfonyl group and R1 and R2 represent two organic functional groups attached to the sulfonyl group. Thus, Pan teaches a perovskite precursor solution and an organic additive comprising a sulfonyl group added to the perovskite precursor solution, as required by claim 1. (Pan, English translation: claims 1–2; pages 2-3 and 6 and Pan CN patent, claim 1)
Pan teaches specific sulfonyl small molecules including 3-(phenylsulfonyl)furan, 4-(phenylsulfonyl)oxazole, 3-(phenylsulfonyl)thiophene, 4-(phenylsulfonyl)thiazole, 1-(phenylsulfonyl)-1H-pyrrole, 1-(phenylsulfonyl)-1H-pyrazole, 2-(phenylsulfonyl)pyrimidine, 2,2′-sulfonyldipyrimidine, 2-(pyrimidylsulfonyl)thiazole, 2-(furanylsulfonyl)pyrimidine, 4-(pyrimidylsulfonyl)oxazole, 4-(pyrimidylsulfonyl)thiazole, 2-((1H-pyrrolyl)sulfonyl)pyrimidine, and 2-((1H-pyrazolyl)sulfonyl)pyrimidine. These compounds teach organic additives comprising sulfonyl groups linked to organic functional groups including benzene rings, nitrogen-containing heterocycles, carbon chains, and nitrogen-containing carbon chains, as required by claims 2 and 4–8 to the extent these claims are understandable. (Pan, English translation: claim 2; pages 3 and 6)
Pan teaches that the perovskite absorption layer is an organic metal halide perovskite having formula ABX3, wherein A is at least one of methylamine, formamidine, and cesium; B is lead, tin, or a lead-tin mixture; and X is halogen comprising one or more of bromine, iodine, and chlorine. Pan further teaches preparing a perovskite precursor solution, adding sulfonyl micromolecules at 1.6–6.4%, stirring, filtering, and preparing the filtrate into the perovskite light absorption layer by spin coating. Pan also exemplifies a mixed-cation and mixed-halide perovskite precursor solution containing CsI, MABr, PbBr2, PbI2, FAI, and PSP, with final PSP concentration of 3.6%. (Pan, English translation: claims 8 and 10; pages 4, 6 and 8)
Pan teaches that introducing the sulfonyl micromolecules reduces deep-level defect density in the perovskite film, improves carrier transmission between the perovskite light absorption layer and the hole transport layer, improves carrier extraction capacity, and provides improved photoelectric conversion efficiency and stability. Thus, Pan teaches the same purpose and result as the instant application, namely use of a sulfonyl-containing organic additive in a perovskite precursor/light absorption layer system to improve the quality and performance of the perovskite layer. (Pan, English translation: pages 2-4 and 12)
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.012)
Pan is deficient in the sense that it does not exemplify each of applicant’s preferred organic additive structures. However, Pan cures this deficiency by teaching a broad genus of sulfonyl molecules having functional groups attached to the sulfonyl group, including phenylsulfonyl, heteroarylsulfonyl, pyrimidylsulfonyl, pyrrolylsulfonyl, pyrazolylsulfonyl, thiazole, oxazole, furan, thiophene, pyrrole, pyrazole, and pyrimidine-containing sulfonyl small molecules, for the same perovskite additive purpose.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize Pan’s sulfonyl molecules as the organic additive in a mixed halide perovskite precursor solution, because Pan expressly teaches adding sulfonyl micromolecules into a perovskite precursor solution to prepare a perovskite light absorption layer, and teaches that the sulfonyl micromolecules reduce defects, improve carrier transport/extraction, and improve photoelectric conversion efficiency and stability.
With regard to claims 4–8, Pan’s sulfonyl molecules contain the same types of organic moieties recited by applicant, including benzene rings, nitrogen-containing heterocycles, carbon chains, and nitrogen-containing carbon chains.
Pan expressly teaches phenylsulfonyl compounds and heterocyclic sulfonyl compounds, including pyrrole, pyrazole, pyrimidine, thiazole, oxazole, furan, and thiophene derivatives. Thus, it would be obvious to select Pan’s known sulfonyl small molecules having these organic moieties for use as the claimed organic additive, since Pan teaches that such sulfonyl molecules are suitable additives for perovskite precursor solutions and provide the desired defect reduction and performance improvement.
With regard to claim 12, Pan teaches adding the sulfonyl micromolecule at a concentration of 1.6–6.4%, which is within applicant’s claimed range of 0.1%–10%. Therefore, Pan teaches the claimed amount range.
Furthermore, Pan already provides the same effect desired by applicant, namely improving perovskite film quality and device performance by adding a sulfonyl-containing organic additive into the perovskite precursor solution. Applicant’s comparative testing is against a no-additive comparative example, not against Pan’s closest sulfonyl-additive teachings. Therefore, the use of sulfonyl small molecule additives in the claimed perovskite precursor would have been obvious because the prior art provides the same purpose and expected result.
Rejection II
Claims 3 and 9–11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. (CN 115633531, pub date Jan. 20, 2023, in applicant’s IDS filed 5/9/25, also see the English Translation), in view of Tian et al. (“All-in-one additive enables defect passivated, crystallization modulated and moisture resisted perovskite films toward efficient solar cells,” Chemical Engineering Journal 452, 139345, available online Sept. 22, 2022; also see the Supplementary Material).
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Pan teaches the primary perovskite precursor/additive system as discussed above. Pan teaches adding sulfonyl micromolecules into a perovskite precursor solution, wherein the sulfonyl micromolecules have a general R1–SO2–R2 structure and wherein R1 and R2 are organic functional groups attached to the sulfonyl group. Pan further teaches that such sulfonyl small molecules reduce perovskite film defects and improve device performance. (Pan, English translation: claims 1–2; pages 2-4 and 6)
Tian teaches an all-in-one organic small molecule additive, 2-[N,N-bi(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)amino]pyridine (2-BTFSIP) (see structure below), introduced into perovskite films/precursor processing for perovskite solar cells. Tian teaches that 2-BTFSIP includes sulfonyl groups, pyridine nitrogen, and trifluoromethyl groups (–CF3). Tian further teaches that the sulfonyl group and pyridine nitrogen cooperatively passivate deep-level traps, including Pb0 clusters and under-coordinated Pb2+ ions, while the trifluoromethyl group suppresses evaporation of organic cations and improves hydrophobicity of the perovskite films. (Tian: Abstract; pages 1–2; Tian supplementary material: Fig. S1(c))
Tian teaches that 2-BTFSIP contains the functional groups relied on for passivation and crystallization control, including sulfonyl oxygen atoms, pyridine nitrogen, sulfonimide nitrogen, and trifluoromethyl groups. Tian further teaches that the sulfonyl groups and pyridine nitrogen interact with Pb2+ ions, while the –CF3 groups interact with MA+ ions through hydrogen bonding. Tian teaches that introducing 2-BTFSIP reduces defect densities, suppresses non-radiative recombination, regulates crystallization, increases perovskite grain size, improves PCE, and improves storage, moisture, light, and thermal stability. (Tian: Abstract; pages 2–9; Figs. 1–6; Tian supplementary material: Fig. S1(c))
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.012)
Pan is deficient in the sense that it does not expressly exemplify applicant’s claim 3 functional groups, including –F, –CF3, –Cl, –O, and charged nitrogen-containing groups, nor does Pan expressly exemplify each drawn structure recited in claims 9–11.
However, Tian cures this deficiency by teaching a closely related sulfonyl-containing organic additive having sulfonyl oxygen atoms, a nitrogen-containing heterocycle, sulfonimide nitrogen, and –CF3 groups, and teaches that these functional groups provide the same passivation, crystallization, stability, and device-performance benefits sought by applicant.
Tian is deficient in the sense that it does not expressly teach applicant’s exact drawn structures of claims 9–11.
However, Tian teaches a structurally related sulfonyl-containing organic additive having the same relevant functional group types, including sulfonyl oxygen atoms, pyridine nitrogen, sulfonimide nitrogen, aromatic nitrogen heterocycle, and trifluoromethyl groups, for use in perovskite solar cells for the same purpose of passivating defects, controlling crystallization, improving film quality, and improving device stability/performance.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize Tian’s functional-group design, including sulfonyl oxygen atoms, pyridine nitrogen, sulfonimide nitrogen, and –CF3 groups, in Pan’s sulfonyl-additive perovskite precursor system, because Pan teaches the core use of sulfonyl small molecules in perovskite precursor solutions and Tian teaches that the same types of sulfonyl, nitrogen-containing, and fluorinated functional groups provide defect passivation, crystallization modulation, hydrophobicity, and improved perovskite solar cell efficiency/stability.
With regard to claim 3, Tian teaches –CF3 groups and fluorine-containing functionality in 2-BTFSIP, as well as sulfonyl oxygen and nitrogen-containing functional groups. Tian teaches that the –CF3 groups interact with MA+ ions by hydrogen bonding, suppress cation evaporation, improve hydrophobicity, and enhance stability, while the sulfonyl groups and pyridine nitrogen passivate Pb defects. Thus, it would have been obvious to include the claimed functional-group types in Pan’s sulfonyl additive to achieve the predictable benefits of defect passivation, crystallization control, hydrophobicity, and improved stability.
With regard to claims 9–11, to the extent the claims are understandable in view of the 112(b) rejection, Pan and Tian teach the same class of sulfonyl-containing organic additives having sulfonyl groups, sulfonyl oxygen atoms, nitrogen-containing organic structures, nitrogen-containing heterocycles, aromatic structures, and fluorinated substituents for use in perovskite solar cell precursor/photoelectric conversion layer systems.
Since the prior art teaches structurally related sulfonyl-containing additives for the same perovskite solar cell purpose, it would have been obvious to use such structurally similar sulfonyl organic additives absent evidence of criticality or unexpected results for the particular drawn structures.
Furthermore, Tian provides the same effect desired by applicant, namely functional-group design of a sulfonyl-containing organic additive to passivate defects, control crystallization, reduce non-radiative recombination, increase grain size, improve PCE, and improve perovskite device stability. Therefore, the modification of Pan’s sulfonyl additive system with Tian’s functional-group design would have been obvious because the prior art provides the same purpose and expected result.
Rejection III
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. (CN 115633531, pub date Jan. 20, 2023, in applicant’s IDS filed 5/9/25, also see the English Translation), in view of Du et al. (“Impact of Precursor Concentration on Perovskite Crystallization for Efficient Wide-Bandgap Solar Cells,” Materials 2022, 15, 3185, pub date Apr. 28, 2022).
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Pan teaches a mixed cation and mixed halide perovskite precursor solution for forming a perovskite light absorption layer. Specifically, Pan teaches that the perovskite absorption layer may have formula ABX3, wherein A is at least one of methylamine, formamidine, and cesium; B is lead, tin, or a lead-tin mixture; and X is halogen comprising one or more of bromine, iodine, and chlorine. Pan further exemplifies a precursor solution containing CsI, MABr, PbBr2, PbI2, FAI, and PSP and describes the perovskite composition as (FAPbI3)0.925(MAPbBr3)0.05(CsPbI3)0.025. (Pan: claim 8; pages 4, 6 and 8)
Du teaches wide-bandgap perovskite solar cells based on the perovskite composition Cs0.05FA0.8MA0.15Pb(I0.84Br0.16)3, and teaches preparing perovskite precursor solutions from PbI2, PbBr2, FAI, MABr, and CsI in DMF/DMSO. Du teaches that the precursor concentration was controlled from 0.8 M to 2.3 M, and that optimization of the precursor concentration improved crystallization and provided a champion PCE of 21.13% at 2.0 M precursor concentration. (Du: Abstract; pages 1–2, Materials and Methods) -
Du’s composition Cs0.05FA0.8MA0.15Pb(I0.84Br0.16)3 corresponds to approximately Cs0.05FA0.8MA0.15PbI2.52Br0.48, thereby teaching a Cs/FA/MA/Pb/I/Br mixed cation and mixed halide wide-bandgap perovskite composition having iodine and bromine amounts within applicant’s claimed iodine and bromine ranges. Du further teaches that Br-containing wide-bandgap perovskites have challenges including poor crystal quality, trap states, and open-circuit voltage loss, and that additives into the precursor and optimization of film/crystallization conditions were known ways to improve wide-bandgap perovskite films. (Du: Abstract; pages 1–2)
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.012)
Pan is deficient in the sense that Pan does not expressly exemplify applicant’s exact claim 13 formula Cs(0–0.05)FA(0.8–0.95)MA(0–0.10)PbI(2.0–2.7)Br(0.3–1.0), because Pan’s Example 2 has a lower bromine amount than applicant’s claimed bromine range.
However, Du cures the bromine deficiency by teaching a Br-containing wide-bandgap composition corresponding to approximately PbI2.52Br0.48, which falls within applicant’s claimed PbI2.0–2.7Br0.3–1.0 range.
Du is deficient in the sense that Du’s specific composition Cs0.05FA0.8MA0.15Pb(I0.84Br0.16)3 uses MA0.15, which is slightly above applicant’s claimed MA range of 0–0.10.
However, Pan cures this deficiency by teaching a lower MA content of 0.05 in a Cs/FA/MA/Pb/I/Br perovskite precursor solution.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust Pan’s mixed cation and mixed halide perovskite precursor composition to include Du’s Br-rich wide-bandgap iodide/bromide ratio, because Pan already teaches a Cs/FA/MA/Pb/I/Br perovskite precursor solution with a sulfonyl additive, and Du teaches that Br-containing wide-bandgap Cs/FA/MA/Pb/I/Br perovskite compositions are useful for high-performance perovskite solar cells.
Thus, it would have been obvious to optimize the relative amounts of Cs, FA, MA, I, and Br in Pan’s known mixed cation and mixed halide perovskite precursor solution, because both Pan and Du teach the same type of perovskite light absorption layer prepared from PbI2, PbBr2, FAI, MABr, and CsI precursor components.
Du further teaches that Br-containing wide-bandgap perovskites require control of crystallization and film quality, and Pan teaches that sulfonyl small molecule additives are added to the precursor solution to reduce defects and improve device performance. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to combine Pan’s sulfonyl additive teaching with Du’s Br-rich wide-bandgap perovskite composition with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Jennifer Cho Sawyer
Patent Examiner
Art Unit: 1691
/RENEE CLAYTOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1691