DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention (e.g. mold base), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/24/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the radial undulations comprising at least one facet must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 3 currently states “the radial undulations comprise at least one facet”. Facets are defined as “a small plane surface”. Claim 3 depends from claim 1, which states the undulations comprise “a concave face and a convex face” which implies that the undulations are curved, i.e. do not have planar surfaces. Further Applicant’s specification seems to imply that these two embodiments are mutually exclusive (Paragraphs [0081] and [0082]). Based on this lack of clarity, claims 3-5 are unable to be examined further such that prior art is able to be applied.
Claim 6 currently states “a mean radius of curvature of the concavities of the undulations is less than or equal to a mean radius of curvature of the convexities of the undulations” and claim 7 currently states “the mean radius of curvature of the concavities and/or of the convexities of the undulations is not constant along a radius of the base, from the central zone toward the seat”. With the mean radius not being constant, it is unclear where the measurements are being taken. It is further unclear if the mean radius of curvature for the concave/convex portions change at the same rate or different rates. The drawings do not point out these different radius portions. Based on this lack of clarity, claims 6 and 7 are unable to be examined further such that prior art is able to be applied.
Claim 10 currently states “the depth of an undulation in the seating plane is between 0.2 and 0.45 times the height of the arch.” The seating plane appears to be a flat, horizontal plane that the container rests on. It’s unclear how a “depth of an undulation” can be measured “in the seating plane” when the plane is located below the “undulations”. Based on this lack of clarity, claim 10 is unable to be further examined such that prior art is able to be applied.
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the seating plane" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 currently states “a width of the seat is between 0.1 and 2 mm.” It is unclear where this width is being taken.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lynn et al. (US 5603423) (hereinafter Lynn).
Regarding Claim 1
Lynn teaches a container made from plastic (below – Fig. 1, 2, and 5), the container comprising: a body (12) comprising a shoulder (11) and a neck (shown between 15 and 16) at an upper end; and a base (13) extending from a lower end of the body, the base comprising at least one peripheral heel (shown at 27) defining a seat (22), and an arch (20) that extends from a central zone (e.g. the top ~10% of the arch, shown at 29) to said heel, said heel rising up a connecting wall (shown at 12 – Fig. 5) connecting with a wall of the body of the container, wherein said base comprises a plurality of radial undulations (23/26) extending from at least the central zone to the vicinity of the seat, wherein an undulation comprises a concave face (26) and a convex face (23) facing outward, a depth of said undulations increasing from the central zone to the vicinity of the seat, wherein the depth is a distance between the peak of a convexity and the trough of a concavity, as can be seen in Fig. 5 below (Col. 5, Ln. 1-63).
Regarding Claim 2
Lynn teaches the radial undulations (23/26) have continuity of tangency, inasmuch as Applicant shows.
Regarding Claim 8
Lynn teaches the base comprises between three and fifteen (e.g. 10) radial undulations (23/26), as can be seen in Fig. 2 above.
Regarding Claim 11
Lynn teaches the depth of an undulation in the central zone (e.g. the top 10% of the arch) is between 0.03 and 0.15 times the height of the arch (in that the undulations appear to extend from the top of the arch), as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 12
Lynn teaches said undulations extend beyond the seat, as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 13
Lynn teaches an outer radius of curvature of the heel (@ 38 [.558”]) is between 0.7 and 0.2 times the seat diameter (@ 40 [2.8”]), wherein the outer radius of curvatures is between the seat and the connecting wall (Col. 7, Ln. 43 – Col. 8, Ln. 41).
Regarding Claim 14
Lynn teaches an inner radius of curvature of the heel (@ 30 [.446”]) is between 0.6 and 1.4 times the outer radius of curvature of said heel (@ 38 [.558”]), wherein the inner radius of curvature is between the distal end of the convex face of the undulations and the seat (Col. 7, Ln. 43 – Col. 8, Ln. 41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynn as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 9
Lynn teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as shown above. Lynn further teaches a height of the arch (@24 [.375”]) is 0.13 times a diameter of the seat (@40 [2.8”]), wherein the height is the distance separating the seat from an upper end of the arch. Lynn does not teach a height of the arch is between 0.15 and 0.35 times a diameter of the seat.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to slightly increase the height of the arch, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). As such, the claim of the height of the arch being between 0.15 and 0.35 times a diameter of the seat does not provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record.
Regarding Claim 15
Lynn teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as shown above. Lynn does not specifically teach a width of the seat is between 0.1 and 2 mm. However, based on the outer radius of the curvature of the heel shown being 0.558” (14.17mm), it would appear obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a width of the seat, taken horizontally, is more than capable of being between 0.1 and 2 mm (towards the lowermost end of the seat). As such, the claim of the width of the seat being between 0.1 and 2 mm does not provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Further pertinent prior art includes but is not limited to that which is listed in the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/LAURA E. PARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733