DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of Patent 12338802. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both recite the underlined components of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8,10-18,22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 20030173085 to Vinegar in view of US Publication 20200386212 to Atisele.
As to claim 1, Vinegar discloses A method for extracting fuel from a geologic formation comprising: heating a target volume in the geologic formation to generate the fuel via thermal conversion of a precursor material thereby also heating a part of the geologic formation (Abs, Fig 114, Par 1375-1377); extracting the generated fuel from the geologic formation (1502,1502A); recovering heat from the geologic formation (Fig 275, Par 1884-1888); and using the recovered heat for one or more of: heating the target volume, heating a different target volume, extracting the fuel, recovering the heat from the geologic formation, processing the extracted fuel, and converting the recovered heat into another form of storable energy (Par 1884-1888).
While Vinegar discloses how steam is produced in the underground reservoir for heat recovery and how it is used across a heat exchanger 2858 and how it can be used to expand across a turbine for power 1798, it doesn’t go into much detail regarding this.
Arisele discloses how underground heat can be transferred through a heat exchanger to expand steam across a turbine
Talks about heat exchanger 2858 to expand a working fluid across a turbine (124; Fig 1) to power a generator for electricity.
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Vinegar to include how the heat exchanger powers a Rankine cycle to power a turbine for electricity, and for the turbine 1798 to power electricity using the teachings of Arisele so as to scavenge power from underground heat for electrical production and use elsewhere on the grid.
As to claim 2, Vinegar discloses wherein recovering the heat from the geologic formation comprises extracting one or more of: warm water or steam from the geologic formation (Par 1884-1888; water to steam turbine)(Arisele: Par 0019); or wherein recovering the heat from the geologic formation comprises pumping (Arisele: 114) a working fluid through subsurface heat exchange tubing arranged in thermal contact with a part of the geologic formation.
As to claim 3, Vinegar discloses generating electricity from the extracted warm water or steam or from the working fluid (Arisele: 126,128).
As to claim 4, Vinegar discloses heating the target volume comprises one or more of: electromagnetic heating, thermoelectric heating, steam heating, and combustion heating (Steam: Par 1375-1377; Thermoelectric:Par 0006; Combustion Par 0010; Electromagnetic Induction Heating: Par 1123).
As to claim 5, Vinegar discloses the precursor material comprises one or more of solid organic matter, and liquid crude oil (Abs).
As to claim 6, Vinegar discloses the heat is recovered using a geothermal energy harvesting system comprising an electricity generator operably coupled to a turbine (Arisele: 126,124).
As to claim 7, Vinegar discloses the generated fuel comprises one or more of: liquid crude oil, natural gas, and hydrogen gas (Par 0002).
As to claim 8, Vinegar discloses injecting a support material into the target volume (Par 1933-1936; alt working fluid Par 1884-1888).
As to claim 10, Vinegar discloses the support material comprises a catalyst increasing the reaction rate of a chemical reaction involved in the generation of the extracted fuel (Par 0598, 1933-1936).
As to claim 11, Vinegar discloses wherein recovering heat from the geologic formation comprises recovering heat from the extracted fuel via a heat exchanger (2858)( Arisele:116).
As to claim 12, Vinegar discloses A system for extracting fuel from a geologic formation comprising: heating a target volume in the geologic formation to generate the fuel via thermal conversion of a precursor material thereby also heating a part of the geologic formation (Abs, Fig 114, Par 1375-1377); extracting the generated fuel from the geologic formation (1502,1502A); recovering heat from the geologic formation (Fig 275, Par 1884-1888); and using the recovered heat for one or more of: heating the target volume, heating a different target volume, extracting the fuel, recovering the heat from the geologic formation, processing the extracted fuel, and converting the recovered heat into another form of storable energy (Par 1884-1888).
While Vinegar discloses how steam is produced in the underground reservoir for heat recovery and how it is used across a heat exchanger 2858 and how it can be used to expand across a turbine for power 1798, it doesn’t go into much detail regarding this.
Arisele discloses how underground heat can be transferred through a heat exchanger to expand steam across a turbine
Talks about heat exchanger 2858 to expand a working fluid across a turbine (124; Fig 1) to power a generator for electricity.
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Vinegar to include how the heat exchanger powers a Rankine cycle to power a turbine for electricity, and for the turbine 1798 to power electricity using the teachings of Arisele so as to scavenge power from underground heat for electrical production and use elsewhere on the grid.
As to claim 13, Vinegar discloses wherein recovering the heat from the geologic formation comprises extracting one or more of: warm water or steam from the geologic formation (Par 1884-1888; water to steam turbine)(Arisele: Par 0019)
As to claim 14, Vinegar discloses or wherein recovering the heat from the geologic formation comprises pumping (Arisele: 114) a working fluid through subsurface heat exchange tubing arranged in thermal contact with a part of the geologic formation (Arisele : 108).
As to claim 15, Vinegar discloses the geothermal energy harvesting system comprises an electricity generator operably connected to a turbine and configured for generating electricity from the extracted heat (Arisele: 126,124).
As to claim 16, Vinegar discloses the heating system comprises one or more of: an electromagnetic heating, thermoelectric heating, steam heating, and combustion heating (Steam: Par 1375-1377; Thermoelectric:Par 0006; Combustion Par 0010; Electromagnetic Induction Heating: Par 1123
As to claim 17, Vinegar discloses the precursor material comprises one or more of solid organic matter, and liquid crude oil (Abs).
As to claim 18, Vinegar discloses the generated fuel comprises one or more of: liquid crude oil, natural gas, and hydrogen gas (Par 0002).
As to claim 22, Vinegar discloses comprising a carbon dioxide separator for separating carbon dioxide from the generated fuel (Par 1375).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 20030173085 to Vinegar as applied to Claim 1 above in view of US Patent 7980312 to Hill.
As to claim 8, Vinegar (in a narrower interpretation) does not expressly disclose injecting a support material into the target volume to improve electromagnetic radiation reception or a catalyst to improve reaction rate.
Hill discloses how electromagnetic radiation can be added to existing heat methods, and how a support either catalyst or electromagnetic radiation enhancer can be injected into the system to enhance overall component recovery (Col 11, Line 39-43; Col 33, Line 63-Col 34, Line 19; Fig 17g).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Vinegar to a support for either improving an added electromagnetic radiation reaction or as a catalyst using the teachings of Hill to improve overall heat and reactivity of the subterranean system to more effectively produce the desired reactive constituent.
As to claim 9, Vinegar discloses the support material comprises a material that enhances absorption of electromagnetic radiation (Hill: (Col 11, Line 39-43; Col 33, Line 63-Col 34, Line 19; Fig 17g).
As to claim 10, Vinegar discloses the support material comprises a catalyst increasing the reaction rate of a chemical reaction involved in the generation of the extracted fuel (Hill: (Col 11, Line 39-43; Col 33, Line 63-Col 34, Line 19; Fig 17g).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 20030173085 to Vinegar as applied to Claim 1 above in view of US Patent 7866388 to Bravo.
As to claim 19, Vinegar does not expressly disclose comprising a cooler, operably connected to the fuel extractor, the cooler configured for cooling the extracted fuel.
Bravo discloses a cooler, operably connected to the fuel extractor, the cooler configured for cooling the extracted fuel (212 to 214 to 232 to 242; Col 35, Line 22-38).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Vinegar to include a cooler, operably connected to the fuel extractor, the cooler configured for cooling the extracted fuel using the teachings of Bravo so as to assist in separating out the various component streams to utilize the desired Hydrogen gas stream for use.
As to claim 20, Vinegar discloses a compressor (Bravo: 232), operably connected to the fuel extractor (212), the compressor configured for compressing the extracted fuel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-11, 17-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Randolph (US 2014/0130498 A1).
As to Claim 12, Randolph discloses a system (Figure 2 or Figure 3) for extracting fuel [26] from a geologic formation [1, 8, 9] comprising: a heating system (see [6]) configured for heating a target volume (see [2]) in the geologic formation [1, 8, 9] to generate the fuel [26] via thermal conversion of a precursor material [2] thereby also heating a part [1] of the geologic formation [1, 8, 9]; a fuel extractor (paragraph 0089: “a pump or compressor (not shown) at the surface, e.g., essentially immediately downstream of the production well 28, and upstream of the energy recovery system”) configured for extracting the generated fuel [26] from the target volume (see [2]); and a geothermal energy harvesting system [66 or 76] configured for recovering heat (in heat exchanger [62]) from the heated geologic formation [1], and for providing the recovered heat for usage in one or more of: heating the target volume, heating a different target volume [64], extracting the fuel, recovering the heat from the geologic formation, processing of the extracted fuel, and converting the recovered heat into a storable form of energy [90] (paragraphs 0054-0057, 0072-0074, 0080, 0083, 0088-0089, 0101-0103, 0105-0108, and Figures 2-3).
As to Claim 13, Randolph discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the geothermal energy harvesting system [66 or 76] is configured for recovering the heat from the geologic formation [1, 8, 9] by extracting one or more of: warm water (paragraphs 0083 and 0086: “water-containing working fluid”) or steam from the geologic formation [1, 8, 9] (paragraphs 0061, 0083, 0086, and Figures 2-3).
As to Claim 14, Randolph discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the geothermal energy harvesting system [66 or 76] comprises a pump (paragraph 0072: “[a] pump (not shown) can optionally be included downstream of the cooling unit 22 either before the CO2 working fluid 12 enters the injection well 14 or within the injection well 14”) for pumping a working fluid [12] through subsurface heat exchange tubing [14] arranged in thermal contact with a part of the geologic formation [1, 8, 9] (paragraphs 0054, 0072, and Figures 2-3).
As to Claim 15, Randolph discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the geothermal energy harvesting system [76] comprises an electricity generator [88] operably connected to a turbine [84] and configured for generating electricity [90] from the extracted heat (see heat exchanger [62]) (paragraphs 0101, 0103, and Figure 3).
As to Claim 17, Randolph discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the precursor material [2] comprises one or more of: solid organic material, natural gas (paragraph 0054: “[t]he native fluid 2 can include a solution comprising methane (CH4) 4”), and liquid crude oil (oil/EOR field) (paragraphs 0028, 0054, 0080, and 0088).
As to Claim 18, Randolph discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the generated fuel [26] comprises one or more of: liquid crude oil (paragraph 0108: “[t]he final production fluid 108 can also include other compounds, such as oil”), natural gas [4] (see paragraph 0027), and hydrogen gas (paragraphs 0027, 0074, 0083, and 0108).
As to Claim 19, Randolph discloses the system of claim 12, further comprising a cooler [62], operably connected to the fuel extractor (paragraph 0089: “a pump or compressor (not shown) at the surface, e.g., essentially immediately downstream of the production well 28, and upstream of the energy recovery system”), the cooler [62] configured for cooling the extracted fuel [26] (paragraphs 0089, 0101-0102, 0106, and Figures 2-3; wherein the heat exchanger [62] heats the secondary working fluid [64] and thus cools the production fluid [26]).
As to Claim 20, Randolph discloses the system of claim 12, further comprising a compressor (paragraph 0089: “a…compressor can be added to the system essentially immediately upstream of the injection well 14 before reinjection the CO2 into the reservoir 1”), operably connected to the fuel extractor extractor (paragraph 0089: “a pump or compressor (not shown) at the surface, e.g., essentially immediately downstream of the production well 28, and upstream of the energy recovery system”), the compressor configured for compressing the extracted fuel [26] (paragraph 0089 and Figures 2-3).
As to Claim 22, Randolph discloses the system of claim 12, further comprising a carbon dioxide separator (paragraph 0107: “CO2 capture system”) for separating carbon dioxide (CO2) from the generated fuel [26] (paragraph 0107 and Figures 2-3; also see paragraph 0093 and CO2 capture system [58] in Figure 1).
As to Claim 1, Randolph discloses heating a target volume in the geologic formation to generate the fuel via thermal conversion of a precursor material thereby also heating a part of the geologic formation; extracting the generated fuel from the geologic formation; recovering heat from the geologic formation; and using the recovered heat for one or more of: heating the target volume, heating a different target volume, extracting the fuel, recovering the heat from the geologic formation, processing the extracted fuel, and converting the recovered heat into another form of storable energy (as cited and rejected with the System of claim 12 above).
As to Claim 2, Randolph discloses wherein recovering the heat from the geologic formation comprises extracting one or more of: warm water or steam from the geologic formation; or wherein recovering the heat from the geologic formation comprises pumping a working fluid through subsurface heat exchange tubing arranged in thermal contact with a part of the geologic formation (as cited and rejected with the System of claim 13,14 above).
As to Claim 3, Randolph discloses generating electricity from the extracted warm water or steam or from the working fluid (as cited and rejected with the System of claim 13,14,15 above).
As to Claim 5, Randolph discloses the precursor material comprises one or more of solid organic matter, and liquid crude oil (as cited and rejected with the System of claim 17 above).
As to Claim 6, Randolph discloses the heat is recovered using a geothermal energy harvesting system comprising an electricity generator operably coupled to a turbine (as cited and rejected with the System of claim 15 above).
As to Claim 7, Randolph discloses the generated fuel comprises one or more of: liquid crude oil, natural gas, and hydrogen gas (as cited and rejected with the System of claim 18 above).
As to Claim 8, Randolph discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: injecting a support material [12] into the target volume (see [2]) (paragraphs 0054-0055 and Figures 2-3).
As to Claim 10, Randolph discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the support material [12] comprises a catalyst (CO2) increasing the reaction rate of a chemical reaction (paragraph 0074: “[t]he CO2 working fluid 12 can cause at least a portion of the methane 4 within the reservoir 1 to come out of solution from within the native fluid 2”) involved in the generation of the extracted fuel [26] (paragraphs 0004, 0027, and 0074).
As to Claim 11, Randolph discloses the method of claim 1, wherein recovering heat from the geologic formation [1, 8, 9] comprises recovering heat from the extracted fuel [26] via a heat exchanger [62] (paragraphs 0101-0102, 0106, and Figures 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Randolph as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Symington et al. (US 2008/0173443 A1; hereinafter Symington).
As to Claim 16, Randolph does not disclose the heating system comprising one or more of: an electromagnetic heating system, a thermoelectric heating system, a steam heating system, and a combustion heating system. Symington, however, teaches a similar heating system, wherein the heating system comprises one or more of: an electromagnetic heating system (paragraph 0017: “electromagnetic heating of the formation”), a thermoelectric heating system, a steam heating system, and a combustion heating system (paragraph 0016: “in situ combustion of oil in an adjacent reservoir”) (paragraphs 0004, 0016, 0017, and 0020-0021). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Randolph’s heating system to include one or more of an electromagnetic heating system and a combustion heating system because Symington teaches that these known heating systems heat geological formations to generate a production fluid. This amounts to a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
As to Claim 4, the system of claim 16 would inherently perform the method of claim 4.
Conclusion
/JESSE S BOGUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746