DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“signal processing and image generation module” in claims 1, 9;
“vertical-axis driving module” in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goto et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20130365587).
As to claim 21, Goto teaches an optical detecting method for semiconductor substrates (paragraph 0001 “The present invention relates to a surface treatment status monitoring device for measuring, in process and substantially in real time, the depth or level difference of small holes, such as TSVs (=Through-silicon Vias), formed in a semiconductor substrate”), comprising:
providing excitation light (Figure 1, paragraph 0037 “measurement light emitted from this light source 10”) and directing the excitation light onto a designated region from a front side of a sample (Figure 2a the downward-arrowed lines, paragraph 0037 “The measurement light outputted from the end of optical fiber 23 is radiated onto the specimen 50 via collimator lens 24.”), thereby generating a forward excitation signal of the designated region (Figure 2a, paragraph 0038 “reflected light 62 from the top surface of resist layer 53”);
providing an interface configured to reflect the excitation light, forming backward excitation light returning to the designated region, thereby generating a backward excitation signal of the designated region (Figure 2b, paragraph 0038 “reflected light 61 from the bottom surface of one or multiple trench holes 52” also “reflected light 63 from the top surface of substrate 51” and these lights go through the surface region);
receiving the forward excitation signal and backward excitation signal (Figure 1, paragraph 0039 “light of multiple wavelengths is detected simultaneously by an array detector 32 of CCD line sensors or the like”) and converting the forward excitation signal and backward excitation signal into electrical signals (Figure 1, paragraph 0039 “A detection signal corresponding to each wavelength of the array detector 32 is inputted into data processing unit 40.” and as paragraph 0040 indicates that data processing unit 40 is a computer, it is inherent that the optical signal is converted into an electrical one); and
generating an image of the designated region based on the electrical signals (Figure 1, paragraph 0039 “The computed results are presented to the observer by unit of display unit 45.”).
As to claim 22, Goto teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 21, in addition the excitation light and the backward excitation light are coaxial (Figure 1, the downward measurement light and reflected light go through the same coupler 22, paragraph 0038 “These reflected lights 61 through 63 or 64 through 65 return back through the collimating lens 24 in the opposite direction to light irradiation and enter the optical fiber 23.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto in view of Vaupel et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20190033054).
As to claim 23, Goto teaches an optical detecting method for semiconductor substrates (paragraph 0001 “The present invention relates to a surface treatment status monitoring device for measuring, in process and substantially in real time, the depth or level difference of small holes, such as TSVs (=Through-silicon Vias), formed in a semiconductor substrate”), comprising:
providing excitation light (Figure 1, paragraph 0037 “measurement light emitted from this light source 10”) and directing the excitation light onto a designated region from a front side of a sample (Figure 2a, the downward-arrowed lines, paragraph 0037 “The measurement light outputted from the end of optical fiber 23 is radiated onto the specimen 50 via collimator lens 24.”), thereby generating a forward excitation signal of the designated region (Figure 2a, paragraph 0038 “reflected light 62 from the top surface of resist layer 53”);
providing an interface configured to reflect the excitation light, forming backward excitation light returning to the designated region, thereby generating a backward excitation signal of the designated region (Figure 2b, paragraph 0038 “reflected light 61 from the bottom surface of one or multiple trench holes 52” & “reflected light 63 from the top surface of substrate 51” and these lights go through the surface region);
receiving the forward excitation signal and backward excitation signal (Figure 1, paragraph 0039 “light of multiple wavelengths is detected simultaneously by an array detector 32 of CCD line sensors or the like”) and converting the forward excitation signal and backward excitation signal into electrical signals (Figure 1, paragraph 0039 “A detection signal corresponding to each wavelength of the array detector 32 is inputted into data processing unit 40.” and as paragraph 0040 indicates that element 40 is a computer, it is inherent that the optical signal is converted into an electrical one); and
generating an image of the designated region based on the electrical signals (Figure 1, paragraph 0039 “The computed results are presented to the observer by unit of display unit 45.”).
Goto does not teach controlling one or a combination of the excitation light and associated optical components, and the sample, to move along a vertical axis, thereby generating the forward excitation signal and backward excitation signal of the designated region, layer- by-layer. However, it is known in the art as taught by Vaupel. Vaupel teaches layer measurement (Abstract “A confocal microscope for determination of a layer thickness”) that controls one or a combination of the excitation light and associated optical components, and the sample, to move along a vertical axis (Figure 1, paragraph 0082 “focus adjusting device 19 is provided for adjusting a focus of the illumination light along the optical axis 16, i.e., in a height direction/z direction/light propagation direction”, and elements 17 “optical components”, 18 “objective” and 20 “specimen” are all connected adjusting element 19), thereby generating the forward excitation signal and backward excitation signal of the designated region, layer- by-layer (Figure 2, paragraph 0083 “a diaphragm/pinhole 15 may be arranged in a plane conjugated with the specimen plane. In this way, substantially only specimen light from the focus plane is allowed to pass the pinhole 15, whereas specimen light from other height layers is substantially blocked.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to be controlling one or a combination of the excitation light and associated optical components, and the sample, to move along a vertical axis, thereby generating the forward excitation signal and backward excitation signal of the designated region, layer-by-layer, in order to better examine only a desired layer at a time.
As to claim 24, Goto in view of Vaupel teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 23, in addition Goto teaches the excitation light and the backward excitation light are coaxial (Figure 1, the downward measurement light and reflected light go through the same coupler 22, paragraph 0038 “These reflected lights 61 through 63 or 64 through 65 return back through the collimating lens 24 in the opposite direction to light irradiation and enter the optical fiber 23.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As to claim 1, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious an optical detecting system for semiconductor substrates comprising a light source module configured to provide an excitation light, wherein the excitation light is incident from a front side of the sample into an interior portion of a micro-hole having a high aspect ratio feature, thereby generating a forward excitation signal; an interface configured to reflect the excitation light incident into the micro-hole, forming a backward excitation light returning from a back side of the sample into the interior of the micro-hole, thereby generating a backward excitation signal, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
As to claim 9, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious an optical detecting system for semiconductor substrates comprising a light source module configured to provide an excitation light, wherein the excitation light is incident from a front side of the sample into an interior of a micro-hole having a high aspect ratio feature, thereby generating a forward excitation signal; an interface configured to reflect the excitation light incident into the micro-hole, forming a backward excitation light returning into the interior of the micro-hole, thereby generating a backward excitation signal, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
As to claim 17, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious an optical detecting method for semiconductor substrates comprising providing an excitation light and directing the excitation light from a front side of a sample into an interior of a micro-hole having a high aspect ratio feature, thereby generating a forward excitation signal; providing an interface configured to reflect the excitation light incident into the micro-hole, forming backward excitation light returning into the interior of the micro- hole, thereby generating a backward excitation signal, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
As to claim 19, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious an optical detecting method for semiconductor substrates comprising providing an excitation light and directing the excitation light from a front side of a sample into an interior portion of a micro-hole having a high aspect ratio feature, thereby generating a forward excitation signal; providing an interface configured to reflect the excitation light incident into the micro-hole, forming backward excitation light returning into the interior portion of the micro-hole, thereby generating a backward excitation signal, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Claims 2-8, 10-16, 18, 20 are allowed because of their dependence on an allowed claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pan (US 20250172384) and Jin (KR 2014030381) reflect light from the surface & bottom of a hole and use interference to determine the depth (Figures 1 and 2 respectively), but do not have the light reflect off the back side of the substrate and return through the hole. Jin (US 20130206992) has light reflect from the back & front sides of the substrate and the bottom of the hole (Figure 6), but there is no light going through the hole from either direction. Liu (CN 111006608) has lights on both sides of the substrate and obtains signals from all of them (Figure 1), but has no interface structure to reflect light from the front sources (3 & 4) back to the detector 1, and the back-side lights (5 & 6) don't create forward excitation light that is directed to the front side of the sample, and it would not be obvious to modify or combine these references to obtain the applicant’s invention.
/J.C.U/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 /MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877