Claim Status
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Einarsson (US 11,546,306) in view of Graves (US 8,589,176) in view of Ouimet (US 10,482,327) in view of Bodamer (US 10,860,184) in view of Persson (US 10,771,521) in view of Donovitz (US 2020/0275163) in view of Giger (S 2020/0169589) in view of Kulick (US 2017/0269802) in view of Bachtiger (US 2013/0138438).
Hereafter, above references will be entered as combination A.
receiving a media request from a client device,
Einarsson claim 1, receiving at the media server a request from a client device to transmit the media content item via a communications interface, the media content item comprising video data, the media content item being associated with a plurality of streaming formats; constructing at the media server the requested media content item in a designated streaming format by creating a particular media content item representation,
the media request including an identification of one or more recipients that include a recipient,
Einarsson discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Graves discloses:
Graves claim 37. The method defined in claim 1, wherein the at least one delivery feature includes identification of a final recipient to which the communication request is delivered.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Graves for the purpose of processing a communication request destined for an intended recipient, see abstract.
and a selection of a media overlay from among a plurality of media overlays,
Einarsson discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Ouimet discloses:
Ouimet col 16 line 50 – col 17 line 5 (86) The feature selection module 706 selects one or more real-world features captured by an image to be used as a basis for selecting media overlays for the image. For example, in instances where an image includes a relatively high number of real-world features, the feature selection module 706 selects a subset of the real-world features to be used as a basis for selecting media overlays for the image. The feature selection module 706 selects the subset of real-world features based on one or more factors, such as the size of the real-world features, the location of the real world features within the image, a distinctiveness or commonness level of the real-world features, etc. For example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features that are relatively larger or that take up a larger portion of the image, which may indicate that the real-world feature is a focal point of the image. As another example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features located near the center of the image, which may indicate that the real-world feature is a focal point of the image. As another example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features that are relatively more unique (e.g., distinct) and less commonly captured in images. Conversely, the feature selection module 706 may select real-world features that are common.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Ouimet for the purpose of noting instances where an image includes a relatively high number of real-world features such that the feature selection module 706 selects a subset of the real-world features to be used as a basis for selecting media overlays for the image.
the identification of the recipient including a user identifier,
Graves claim 37. The method defined in claim 1, wherein the at least one delivery feature includes identification of a final recipient to which the communication request is delivered.
and the media overlay comprising a set of media attributes;
Ouimet col 16 line 50 – col 17 line 5 (86) The feature selection module 706 selects one or more real-world features captured by an image to be used as a basis for selecting media overlays for the image. For example, in instances where an image includes a relatively high number of real-world features, the feature selection module 706 selects a subset of the real-world features to be used as a basis for selecting media overlays for the image. The feature selection module 706 selects the subset of real-world features based on one or more factors, such as the size of the real-world features, the location of the real world features within the image, a distinctiveness or commonness level of the real-world features, etc. For example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features that are relatively larger or that take up a larger portion of the image, which may indicate that the real-world feature is a focal point of the image. As another example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features located near the center of the image, which may indicate that the real-world feature is a focal point of the image. As another example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features that are relatively more unique (e.g., distinct) and less commonly captured in images. Conversely, the feature selection module 706 may select real-world features that are common.
provisioning a folder associated with the media request at the client device, responsive to receiving the media request;
Einarsson discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Bodamer discloses:
Bodamer col 7 lines 1-12, In one embodiment, when a user adds a digital media item to a shared album, a reference to the digital media item is associated with the shared album. This may occur automatically in response to the user capturing the digital media item when the sharing group is currently selected by the user on the device that captured the digital media item. In one embodiment, the digital media item is also stored in association with the user that added the digital media item, such as by storing the digital media item in a folder corresponding to the user, or by storing a reference to the digital media item in association with the user.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Bodamer for the purpose of allowing an authorized user to share digital media items with authorized users, see column 1 lines 30-35.
receiving a response from the recipient of the media request,
Einarsson discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Persson discloses:
Persson col 4 lines 45-55, Client devices 102, the media content server 104, and media presentation systems 108 may be communicably coupled in a variety of ways. In some implementations, a client device 102-1 sends a media control request (e.g., request to play a particular music track) to a media content server 104 via a network 112. In response to receiving the media control requests, the media content server 104 transmits, and the media presentation system 108 receives, a first data stream for the requested media item via the network 112.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Persson for the purpose of receiving a media from a remote server, a first data stream for a first media item, and plays the first media item.
the response including media content generated based on the set of media attributes of the media overlay identified by the selection;
Ouimet col 16 line 50 – col 17 line 5 (86) The feature selection module 706 selects one or more real-world features captured by an image to be used as a basis for selecting media overlays for the image. For example, in instances where an image includes a relatively high number of real-world features, the feature selection module 706 selects a subset of the real-world features to be used as a basis for selecting media overlays for the image. The feature selection module 706 selects the subset of real-world features based on one or more factors, such as the size of the real-world features, the location of the real world features within the image, a distinctiveness or commonness level of the real-world features, etc. For example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features that are relatively larger or that take up a larger portion of the image, which may indicate that the real-world feature is a focal point of the image. As another example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features located near the center of the image, which may indicate that the real-world feature is a focal point of the image. As another example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features that are relatively more unique (e.g., distinct) and less commonly captured in images. Conversely, the feature selection module 706 may select real-world features that are common.
adding the media content to the folder associated with the media request at the client device, the folder comprising a plurality of media content included within responses to the media request;
Bodamer col 7 lines 1-12, In one embodiment, when a user adds a digital media item to a shared album, a reference to the digital media item is associated with the shared album. This may occur automatically in response to the user capturing the digital media item when the sharing group is currently selected by the user on the device that captured the digital media item. In one embodiment, the digital media item is also stored in association with the user that added the digital media item, such as by storing the digital media item in a folder corresponding to the user, or by storing a reference to the digital media item in association with the user.
causing display of the plurality of media content included within responses to the media request;
Einarsson discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Danovitz discloses:
Danovitz [0092] Display screen 502A, shown at a particular display position indicated by play position indicator 508, generally displays media content items as requested by the user. For example, media content items displayed on display screen 502A may be displayed in response to a user providing input to play particular media content items stored on media device 500 or accessible to media device 500 from a network DVR or other remote source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Danovitz for the purpose of sharing multimedia content identified by users among media devices and media device users.
receiving a selection of a piece of media content from the plurality of media content;
Danovitz [0092] Display screen 502A, shown at a particular display position indicated by play position indicator 508, generally displays media content items as requested by the user. For example, media content items displayed on display screen 502A may be displayed in response to a user providing input to play particular media content items stored on media device 500 or accessible to media device 500 from a network DVR or other remote source.
generating a user interface creating a composite media content, the composite media content comprising a selection of an image, a text input, and the piece of media content; and
Einarsson discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Giger discloses:
Giger [0075] The method 500 continues at operation 540 and the media module 280 requests the media content in response to the user selecting the synthetic representation. In one example, the user selects a text overlay representing an image and the media module 280 requests the image in response to the user selecting the text overlay. In another example embodiment, in response to the user selecting the synthetic representation a second time, the media module 280 follows a link associated with the media content.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Giger for the purpose of managing data transmission over a network connection to limit bandwidth usage, see [0002].
adding the composite media content to a message and distributing the message to a plurality of users.
Einarsson discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Kulick discloses:
Kulick [0077] In some implementations the media selection system 130 identifies one or more additional actions associated with selected media. The additional actions may be presented in combination with the selected media to enable a user to which the selected media is provided to engage in the one or more additional actions. For example, an additional action may be to share one or more of the selected media. For example, a user may be presented with an option to share one or more of the selected media via e-mail, text, social networking, and/or other communications medium. Sharing of the selected media may include sharing a link to the selected media and/or sharing the selected media itself (e.g., attaching a photo to an e-mail).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Kulick for the purpose of presenting a user with an option to share one or more of the selected media via e-mail, text, social networking, and/or other communications medium.
Kulick does not disclose distributing the message to a plurality of users.
However, Bachtiger discloses
Bachtiger [0022] According to certain preferred embodiments, the present invention generally utilizes systems for recording, indexing, transcribing, and sharing media files among a plurality of users. As used herein, the term "media file(s)" refers to audio files, video files, voice recordings, streamed media content, and combinations of the foregoing. Referring to FIG. 1, the systems generally comprise a server 2 that is configured to receive, index, and store a plurality of media files, which are received by the server 2 from a plurality of sources, within at least one database 4 in communication with the server 2. The invention provides that the database 4 may reside within the server 2 or, alternatively, may exist outside of the server 4 while being in communication therewith via a network connection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Bachtiger for the purpose of and sharing media files among a plurality of users.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination A in view of Allen (US 2018/0113587).
Combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the user identifier includes a graphical avatar. However, Allen discloses:
Allen [0062] A history of media content items may be stored in any desired format and in any desired manner. In one exemplary embodiment, the media content items store an identifier for the media overlay and an identifier for the user's avatar, rather than a copy of the rendered media content item with the media overlay applied. Upon retrieval (414) the system looks up the media overlay and avatar information and generates the combined media content item/media overlay combination on demand. Among other things, this helps save memory on the user's device as well as on servers and databases that may store the information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify combination A to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Allen for the purpose improving the functionality of electronic messaging and imaging software and systems by generating and displaying media overlays with avatars of different users, see abstract.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination A in view of Fein (US 2009/0100013).
Combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose adding the composite media to a story associated with the client device. However, Fein discloses:
Fein [0020] For further convenience, the media compiler 105 allows searching at any website or database, which includes audio, visual, or audiovisual materials. The media compiler 105 also can use keywords and audiovisual identification systems to locate the best results for each search request made by a user. That is, embodiments create a "siftware" experience for the user. A "siftware" experience allows a user to sift through descriptions of audio and video clips and save the portions or all of the same. In this way, the media compiler 105 allows the user to create a media story line by adding digital data media 135, which may include an image, audio, and/or video from one or more sources (e.g., a computer or database) to create a media presentation.
user's device as well as on servers and databases that may store the information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify combination A to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Fein for the purpose of user's device as well as on servers and databases that may store the information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify combination A to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Fein for the purpose of allowing a user to sift through descriptions of audio and video clips and save the portions or all of the same. In this way, the media compiler 105 allows the user to create a media story line by adding digital data media 135, which may include an image, audio, and/or video from one or more sources (e.g., a computer or database) to create a media presentation, see [0020]
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination A in view of Robinson (US 2013/0268842).
Combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose displaying a collection of media content and receiving a user input to select media content from the collection of media content. However, Robinson discloses:
Robinson claim 11. The method of claim 1, further comprising displaying a graphical overlay on the display screen during display of the media content, wherein the selectable display region includes a portion of the display screen where the graphical overlay is being displayed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify combination A to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Robinson for the purpose of displaying a graphical overlay on the display screen during display of the media content.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination A in view of Fein
Combination A in view of Fein discloses generating composite media based on the user input.
Fein [0020] For further convenience, the media compiler 105 allows searching at any website or database, which includes audio, visual, or audiovisual materials. The media compiler 105 also can use keywords and audiovisual identification systems to locate the best results for each search request made by a user. That is, embodiments create a "siftware" experience for the user. A "siftware" experience allows a user to sift through descriptions of audio and video clips and save the portions or all of the same. In this way, the media compiler 105 allows the user to create a media story line by adding digital data media 135, which may include an image, audio, and/or video from one or more sources (e.g., a computer or database) to create a media presentation.
user's device as well as on servers and databases that may store the information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify combination A to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Fein for the purpose of user's device as well as on servers and databases that may store the information.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination A
Combination A discloses: wherein the response from the recipient of the media request includes a text string entered via a text input field.
Bodamer col 7 lines 1-12, In one embodiment, when a user adds a digital media item to a shared album, a reference to the digital media item is associated with the shared album. This may occur automatically in response to the user capturing the digital media item when the sharing group is currently selected by the user on the device that captured the digital media item. In one embodiment, the digital media item is also stored in association with the user that added the digital media item, such as by storing the digital media item in a folder corresponding to the user, or by storing a reference to the digital media item in association with the user.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination A
Combination A discloses adding the text string to the folder associated with the media request.
Bodamer col 7 lines 1-12, In one embodiment, when a user adds a digital media item to a shared album, a reference to the digital media item is associated with the shared album. This may occur automatically in response to the user capturing the digital media item when the sharing group is currently selected by the user on the device that captured the digital media item. In one embodiment, the digital media item is also stored in association with the user that added the digital media item, such as by storing the digital media item in a folder corresponding to the user, or by storing a reference to the digital media item in association with the user.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination A.
a memory; and
at least one hardware processor coupled to the memory and comprising
instructions that causes the system to perform operations comprising:
Einarsson [87] [88]
receiving a media request from a client device,
Einarsson claim 1, receiving at the media server a request from a client device to transmit the media content item via a communications interface, the media content item comprising video data, the media content item being associated with a plurality of streaming formats; constructing at the media server the requested media content item in a designated streaming format by creating a particular media content item representation,
the media request including an identification of one or more recipients that include a recipient,
Einarsson discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Graves discloses:
Graves claim 37. The method defined in claim 1, wherein the at least one delivery feature includes identification of a final recipient to which the communication request is delivered.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Graves for the purpose of processing a communication request destined for an intended recipient, see abstract.
and a selection of a media overlay from among a plurality of media overlays,
Einarsson discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Ouimet discloses:
Ouimet col 16 line 50 – col 17 line 5 (86) The feature selection module 706 selects one or more real-world features captured by an image to be used as a basis for selecting media overlays for the image. For example, in instances where an image includes a relatively high number of real-world features, the feature selection module 706 selects a subset of the real-world features to be used as a basis for selecting media overlays for the image. The feature selection module 706 selects the subset of real-world features based on one or more factors, such as the size of the real-world features, the location of the real world features within the image, a distinctiveness or commonness level of the real-world features, etc. For example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features that are relatively larger or that take up a larger portion of the image, which may indicate that the real-world feature is a focal point of the image. As another example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features located near the center of the image, which may indicate that the real-world feature is a focal point of the image. As another example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features that are relatively more unique (e.g., distinct) and less commonly captured in images. Conversely, the feature selection module 706 may select real-world features that are common.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Ouimet for the purpose of noting instances where an image includes a relatively high number of real-world features such that the feature selection module 706 selects a subset of the real-world features to be used as a basis for selecting media overlays for the image.
the identification of the recipient including a user identifier,
Graves claim 37. The method defined in claim 1, wherein the at least one delivery feature includes identification of a final recipient to which the communication request is delivered.
and the media overlay comprising a set of media attributes;
Ouimet col 16 line 50 – col 17 line 5 (86) The feature selection module 706 selects one or more real-world features captured by an image to be used as a basis for selecting media overlays for the image. For example, in instances where an image includes a relatively high number of real-world features, the feature selection module 706 selects a subset of the real-world features to be used as a basis for selecting media overlays for the image. The feature selection module 706 selects the subset of real-world features based on one or more factors, such as the size of the real-world features, the location of the real world features within the image, a distinctiveness or commonness level of the real-world features, etc. For example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features that are relatively larger or that take up a larger portion of the image, which may indicate that the real-world feature is a focal point of the image. As another example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features located near the center of the image, which may indicate that the real-world feature is a focal point of the image. As another example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features that are relatively more unique (e.g., distinct) and less commonly captured in images. Conversely, the feature selection module 706 may select real-world features that are common.
provisioning a folder associated with the media request at the client device, responsive to receiving the media request;
Einarsson discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Bodamer discloses:
Bodamer col 7 lines 1-12, In one embodiment, when a user adds a digital media item to a shared album, a reference to the digital media item is associated with the shared album. This may occur automatically in response to the user capturing the digital media item when the sharing group is currently selected by the user on the device that captured the digital media item. In one embodiment, the digital media item is also stored in association with the user that added the digital media item, such as by storing the digital media item in a folder corresponding to the user, or by storing a reference to the digital media item in association with the user.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Bodamer for the purpose of allowing an authorized user to share digital media items with authorized users, see column 1 lines 30-35.
receiving a response from the recipient of the media request,
Einarsson discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Persson discloses:
Persson col 4 lines 45-55, Client devices 102, the media content server 104, and media presentation systems 108 may be communicably coupled in a variety of ways. In some implementations, a client device 102-1 sends a media control request (e.g., request to play a particular music track) to a media content server 104 via a network 112. In response to receiving the media control requests, the media content server 104 transmits, and the media presentation system 108 receives, a first data stream for the requested media item via the network 112.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Persson for the purpose of receiving a media from a remote server, a first data stream for a first media item, and plays the first media item.
the response including media content generated based on the set of media attributes of the media overlay identified by the selection;
Ouimet col 16 line 50 – col 17 line 5 (86) The feature selection module 706 selects one or more real-world features captured by an image to be used as a basis for selecting media overlays for the image. For example, in instances where an image includes a relatively high number of real-world features, the feature selection module 706 selects a subset of the real-world features to be used as a basis for selecting media overlays for the image. The feature selection module 706 selects the subset of real-world features based on one or more factors, such as the size of the real-world features, the location of the real world features within the image, a distinctiveness or commonness level of the real-world features, etc. For example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features that are relatively larger or that take up a larger portion of the image, which may indicate that the real-world feature is a focal point of the image. As another example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features located near the center of the image, which may indicate that the real-world feature is a focal point of the image. As another example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features that are relatively more unique (e.g., distinct) and less commonly captured in images. Conversely, the feature selection module 706 may select real-world features that are common.
adding the media content to the folder associated with the media request at the client device, the folder comprising a plurality of media content included within responses to the media request;
Bodamer col 7 lines 1-12, In one embodiment, when a user adds a digital media item to a shared album, a reference to the digital media item is associated with the shared album. This may occur automatically in response to the user capturing the digital media item when the sharing group is currently selected by the user on the device that captured the digital media item. In one embodiment, the digital media item is also stored in association with the user that added the digital media item, such as by storing the digital media item in a folder corresponding to the user, or by storing a reference to the digital media item in association with the user.
causing display of the plurality of media content included within responses to the media request;
Einarsson discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Danovitz discloses:
Danovitz [0092] Display screen 502A, shown at a particular display position indicated by play position indicator 508, generally displays media content items as requested by the user. For example, media content items displayed on display screen 502A may be displayed in response to a user providing input to play particular media content items stored on media device 500 or accessible to media device 500 from a network DVR or other remote source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Danovitz for the purpose of sharing multimedia content identified by users among media devices and media device users.
receiving a selection of a piece of media content from the plurality of media content;
Danovitz [0092] Display screen 502A, shown at a particular display position indicated by play position indicator 508, generally displays media content items as requested by the user. For example, media content items displayed on display screen 502A may be displayed in response to a user providing input to play particular media content items stored on media device 500 or accessible to media device 500 from a network DVR or other remote source.
generating a user interface creating a composite media content, the composite media content comprising a selection of an image, a text input, and the piece of media content; and
Einarsson discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Giger discloses:
Giger [0075] The method 500 continues at operation 540 and the media module 280 requests the media content in response to the user selecting the synthetic representation. In one example, the user selects a text overlay representing an image and the media module 280 requests the image in response to the user selecting the text overlay. In another example embodiment, in response to the user selecting the synthetic representation a second time, the media module 280 follows a link associated with the media content.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Giger for the purpose of managing data transmission over a network connection to limit bandwidth usage, see [0002].
adding the composite media content to a message and distributing the message to a plurality of users.
Einarsson discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Kulick discloses:
Kulick [0077] In some implementations the media selection system 130 identifies one or more additional actions associated with selected media. The additional actions may be presented in combination with the selected media to enable a user to which the selected media is provided to engage in the one or more additional actions. For example, an additional action may be to share one or more of the selected media. For example, a user may be presented with an option to share one or more of the selected media via e-mail, text, social networking, and/or other communications medium. Sharing of the selected media may include sharing a link to the selected media and/or sharing the selected media itself (e.g., attaching a photo to an e-mail).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Kulick for the purpose of presenting a user with an option to share one or more of the selected media via e-mail, text, social networking, and/or other communications medium.
Kulick does not disclose distributing the message to a plurality of users.
However, Bachtiger discloses
Bachtiger [0022] According to certain preferred embodiments, the present invention generally utilizes systems for recording, indexing, transcribing, and sharing media files among a plurality of users. As used herein, the term "media file(s)" refers to audio files, video files, voice recordings, streamed media content, and combinations of the foregoing. Referring to FIG. 1, the systems generally comprise a server 2 that is configured to receive, index, and store a plurality of media files, which are received by the server 2 from a plurality of sources, within at least one database 4 in communication with the server 2. The invention provides that the database 4 may reside within the server 2 or, alternatively, may exist outside of the server 4 while being in communication therewith via a network connection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Bachtiger for the purpose of and sharing media files among a plurality of users.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination A in view of Allen (US 2018/0113587).
Combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the user identifier includes a graphical avatar. However, Allen discloses:
Allen [0062] A history of media content items may be stored in any desired format and in any desired manner. In one exemplary embodiment, the media content items store an identifier for the media overlay and an identifier for the user's avatar, rather than a copy of the rendered media content item with the media overlay applied. Upon retrieval (414) the system looks up the media overlay and avatar information and generates the combined media content item/media overlay combination on demand. Among other things, this helps save memory on the user's device as well as on servers and databases that may store the information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify combination A to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Allen for the purpose improving the functionality of electronic messaging and imaging software and systems by generating and displaying media overlays with avatars of different users, see abstract.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination A in view of Fein (US 2009/0100013).
Combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose adding the composite media to a story associated with the client device. However, Fein discloses:
Fein [0020] For further convenience, the media compiler 105 allows searching at any website or database, which includes audio, visual, or audiovisual materials. The media compiler 105 also can use keywords and audiovisual identification systems to locate the best results for each search request made by a user. That is, embodiments create a "siftware" experience for the user. A "siftware" experience allows a user to sift through descriptions of audio and video clips and save the portions or all of the same. In this way, the media compiler 105 allows the user to create a media story line by adding digital data media 135, which may include an image, audio, and/or video from one or more sources (e.g., a computer or database) to create a media presentation.
user's device as well as on servers and databases that may store the information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify combination A to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Fein for the purpose of user's device as well as on servers and databases that may store the information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify combination A to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Fein for the purpose of allowing a user to sift through descriptions of audio and video clips and save the portions or all of the same. In this way, the media compiler 105 allows the user to create a media story line by adding digital data media 135, which may include an image, audio, and/or video from one or more sources (e.g., a computer or database) to create a media presentation, see [0020]
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination A in view of Robinson (US 2013/0268842).
Combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose displaying a collection of media content and receiving a user input to select media content from the collection of media content. However, Robinson discloses:
Robinson claim 11. The method of claim 1, further comprising displaying a graphical overlay on the display screen during display of the media content, wherein the selectable display region includes a portion of the display screen where the graphical overlay is being displayed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify combination A to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Robinson for the purpose of displaying a graphical overlay on the display screen during display of the media content.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination A in view of Fein
Combination A in view of Fein discloses generating composite media based on the user input.
Fein [0020] For further convenience, the media compiler 105 allows searching at any website or database, which includes audio, visual, or audiovisual materials. The media compiler 105 also can use keywords and audiovisual identification systems to locate the best results for each search request made by a user. That is, embodiments create a "siftware" experience for the user. A "siftware" experience allows a user to sift through descriptions of audio and video clips and save the portions or all of the same. In this way, the media compiler 105 allows the user to create a media story line by adding digital data media 135, which may include an image, audio, and/or video from one or more sources (e.g., a computer or database) to create a media presentation.
user's device as well as on servers and databases that may store the information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify combination A to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Fein for the purpose of user's device as well as on servers and databases that may store the information.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination A
Combination A discloses: wherein the response from the recipient of the media request includes a text string entered via a text input field.
Bodamer col 7 lines 1-12, In one embodiment, when a user adds a digital media item to a shared album, a reference to the digital media item is associated with the shared album. This may occur automatically in response to the user capturing the digital media item when the sharing group is currently selected by the user on the device that captured the digital media item. In one embodiment, the digital media item is also stored in association with the user that added the digital media item, such as by storing the digital media item in a folder corresponding to the user, or by storing a reference to the digital media item in association with the user.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination A
Combination A discloses adding the text string to the folder associated with the media request.
Bodamer col 7 lines 1-12, In one embodiment, when a user adds a digital media item to a shared album, a reference to the digital media item is associated with the shared album. This may occur automatically in response to the user capturing the digital media item when the sharing group is currently selected by the user on the device that captured the digital media item. In one embodiment, the digital media item is also stored in association with the user that added the digital media item, such as by storing the digital media item in a folder corresponding to the user, or by storing a reference to the digital media item in association with the user.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination A.
receiving a media request from a client device,
Einarsson claim 1, receiving at the media server a request from a client device to transmit the media content item via a communications interface, the media content item comprising video data, the media content item being associated with a plurality of streaming formats; constructing at the media server the requested media content item in a designated streaming format by creating a particular media content item representation,
the media request including an identification of one or more recipients that include a recipient,
Einarsson discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Graves discloses:
Graves claim 37. The method defined in claim 1, wherein the at least one delivery feature includes identification of a final recipient to which the communication request is delivered.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Graves for the purpose of processing a communication request destined for an intended recipient, see abstract.
and a selection of a media overlay from among a plurality of media overlays,
Einarsson discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Ouimet discloses:
Ouimet col 16 line 50 – col 17 line 5 (86) The feature selection module 706 selects one or more real-world features captured by an image to be used as a basis for selecting media overlays for the image. For example, in instances where an image includes a relatively high number of real-world features, the feature selection module 706 selects a subset of the real-world features to be used as a basis for selecting media overlays for the image. The feature selection module 706 selects the subset of real-world features based on one or more factors, such as the size of the real-world features, the location of the real world features within the image, a distinctiveness or commonness level of the real-world features, etc. For example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features that are relatively larger or that take up a larger portion of the image, which may indicate that the real-world feature is a focal point of the image. As another example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features located near the center of the image, which may indicate that the real-world feature is a focal point of the image. As another example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features that are relatively more unique (e.g., distinct) and less commonly captured in images. Conversely, the feature selection module 706 may select real-world features that are common.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Ouimet for the purpose of noting instances where an image includes a relatively high number of real-world features such that the feature selection module 706 selects a subset of the real-world features to be used as a basis for selecting media overlays for the image.
the identification of the recipient including a user identifier,
TWO Graves claim 37. The method defined in claim 1, wherein the at least one delivery feature includes identification of a final recipient to which the communication request is delivered.
and the media overlay comprising a set of media attributes;
Ouimet col 16 line 50 – col 17 line 5 (86) The feature selection module 706 selects one or more real-world features captured by an image to be used as a basis for selecting media overlays for the image. For example, in instances where an image includes a relatively high number of real-world features, the feature selection module 706 selects a subset of the real-world features to be used as a basis for selecting media overlays for the image. The feature selection module 706 selects the subset of real-world features based on one or more factors, such as the size of the real-world features, the location of the real world features within the image, a distinctiveness or commonness level of the real-world features, etc. For example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features that are relatively larger or that take up a larger portion of the image, which may indicate that the real-world feature is a focal point of the image. As another example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features located near the center of the image, which may indicate that the real-world feature is a focal point of the image. As another example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features that are relatively more unique (e.g., distinct) and less commonly captured in images. Conversely, the feature selection module 706 may select real-world features that are common.
provisioning a folder associated with the media request at the client device, responsive to receiving the media request;
Einarsson discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Bodamer discloses:
Bodamer col 7 lines 1-12, In one embodiment, when a user adds a digital media item to a shared album, a reference to the digital media item is associated with the shared album. This may occur automatically in response to the user capturing the digital media item when the sharing group is currently selected by the user on the device that captured the digital media item. In one embodiment, the digital media item is also stored in association with the user that added the digital media item, such as by storing the digital media item in a folder corresponding to the user, or by storing a reference to the digital media item in association with the user.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Bodamer for the purpose of allowing an authorized user to share digital media items with authorized users, see column 1 lines 30-35.
receiving a response from the recipient of the media request,
Einarsson discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Persson discloses:
Persson col 4 lines 45-55, Client devices 102, the media content server 104, and media presentation systems 108 may be communicably coupled in a variety of ways. In some implementations, a client device 102-1 sends a media control request (e.g., request to play a particular music track) to a media content server 104 via a network 112. In response to receiving the media control requests, the media content server 104 transmits, and the media presentation system 108 receives, a first data stream for the requested media item via the network 112.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Persson for the purpose of receiving a media from a remote server, a first data stream for a first media item, and plays the first media item.
the response including media content generated based on the set of media attributes of the media overlay identified by the selection;
Ouimet col 16 line 50 – col 17 line 5 (86) The feature selection module 706 selects one or more real-world features captured by an image to be used as a basis for selecting media overlays for the image. For example, in instances where an image includes a relatively high number of real-world features, the feature selection module 706 selects a subset of the real-world features to be used as a basis for selecting media overlays for the image. The feature selection module 706 selects the subset of real-world features based on one or more factors, such as the size of the real-world features, the location of the real world features within the image, a distinctiveness or commonness level of the real-world features, etc. For example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features that are relatively larger or that take up a larger portion of the image, which may indicate that the real-world feature is a focal point of the image. As another example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features located near the center of the image, which may indicate that the real-world feature is a focal point of the image. As another example, the feature selection module 706 selects real-world features that are relatively more unique (e.g., distinct) and less commonly captured in images. Conversely, the feature selection module 706 may select real-world features that are common.
adding the media content to the folder associated with the media request at the client device, the folder comprising a plurality of media content included within responses to the media request;
Bodamer col 7 lines 1-12, In one embodiment, when a user adds a digital media item to a shared album, a reference to the digital media item is associated with the shared album. This may occur automatically in response to the user capturing the digital media item when the sharing group is currently selected by the user on the device that captured the digital media item. In one embodiment, the digital media item is also stored in association with the user that added the digital media item, such as by storing the digital media item in a folder corresponding to the user, or by storing a reference to the digital media item in association with the user.
causing display of the plurality of media content included within responses to the media request;
Einarsson discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Danovitz discloses:
Danovitz [0092] Display screen 502A, shown at a particular display position indicated by play position indicator 508, generally displays media content items as requested by the user. For example, media content items displayed on display screen 502A may be displayed in response to a user providing input to play particular media content items stored on media device 500 or accessible to media device 500 from a network DVR or other remote source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Danovitz for the purpose of sharing multimedia content identified by users among media devices and media device users.
receiving a selection of a piece of media content from the plurality of media content;
Danovitz [0092] Display screen 502A, shown at a particular display position indicated by play position indicator 508, generally displays media content items as requested by the user. For example, media content items displayed on display screen 502A may be displayed in response to a user providing input to play particular media content items stored on media device 500 or accessible to media device 500 from a network DVR or other remote source.
generating a user interface creating a composite media content, the composite media content comprising a selection of an image, a text input, and the piece of media content; and
Einarsson discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Giger discloses:
Giger [0075] The method 500 continues at operation 540 and the media module 280 requests the media content in response to the user selecting the synthetic representation. In one example, the user selects a text overlay representing an image and the media module 280 requests the image in response to the user selecting the text overlay. In another example embodiment, in response to the user selecting the synthetic representation a second time, the media module 280 follows a link associated with the media content.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Giger for the purpose of managing data transmission over a network connection to limit bandwidth usage, see [0002].
adding the composite media content to a message and distributing the message to a plurality of users.
Einarsson discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose above limitation. However, Kulick discloses:
Kulick [0077] In some implementations the media selection system 130 identifies one or more additional actions associated with selected media. The additional actions may be presented in combination with the selected media to enable a user to which the selected media is provided to engage in the one or more additional actions. For example, an additional action may be to share one or more of the selected media. For example, a user may be presented with an option to share one or more of the selected media via e-mail, text, social networking, and/or other communications medium. Sharing of the selected media may include sharing a link to the selected media and/or sharing the selected media itself (e.g., attaching a photo to an e-mail).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Kulick for the purpose of presenting a user with an option to share one or more of the selected media via e-mail, text, social networking, and/or other communications medium.
Kulick does not disclose distributing the message to a plurality of users.
However, Bachtiger discloses
Bachtiger [0022] According to certain preferred embodiments, the present invention generally utilizes systems for recording, indexing, transcribing, and sharing media files among a plurality of users. As used herein, the term "media file(s)" refers to audio files, video files, voice recordings, streamed media content, and combinations of the foregoing. Referring to FIG. 1, the systems generally comprise a server 2 that is configured to receive, index, and store a plurality of media files, which are received by the server 2 from a plurality of sources, within at least one database 4 in communication with the server 2. The invention provides that the database 4 may reside within the server 2 or, alternatively, may exist outside of the server 4 while being in communication therewith via a network connection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Einarsson to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Bachtiger for the purpose of and sharing media files among a plurality of users.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination A in view of Allen (US 2018/0113587).
Combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the user identifier includes a graphical avatar. However, Allen discloses:
Allen [0062] A history of media content items may be stored in any desired format and in any desired manner. In one exemplary embodiment, the media content items store an identifier for the media overlay and an identifier for the user's avatar, rather than a copy of the rendered media content item with the media overlay applied. Upon retrieval (414) the system looks up the media overlay and avatar information and generates the combined media content item/media overlay combination on demand. Among other things, this helps save memory on the user's device as well as on servers and databases that may store the information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify combination A to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Allen for the purpose improving the functionality of electronic messaging and imaging software and systems by generating and displaying media overlays with avatars of different users, see abstract.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination A in view of Fein (US 2009/0100013).
Combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose adding the composite media to a story associated with the client device. However, Fein discloses:
Fein [0020] For further convenience, the media compiler 105 allows searching at any website or database, which includes audio, visual, or audiovisual materials. The media compiler 105 also can use keywords and audiovisual identification systems to locate the best results for each search request made by a user. That is, embodiments create a "siftware" experience for the user. A "siftware" experience allows a user to sift through descriptions of audio and video clips and save the portions or all of the same. In this way, the media compiler 105 allows the user to create a media story line by adding digital data media 135, which may include an image, audio, and/or video from one or more sources (e.g., a computer or database) to create a media presentation.
user's device as well as on servers and databases that may store the information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify combination A to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Fein for the purpose of user's device as well as on servers and databases that may store the information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify combination A to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Fein for the purpose of allowing a user to sift through descriptions of audio and video clips and save the portions or all of the same. In this way, the media compiler 105 allows the user to create a media story line by adding digital data media 135, which may include an image, audio, and/or video from one or more sources (e.g., a computer or database) to create a media presentation, see [0020]
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination A in view of Robinson (US 2013/0268842).
Combination A discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose displaying a collection of media content and receiving a user input to select media content from the collection of media content. However, Robinson discloses:
Robinson claim 11. The method of claim 1, further comprising displaying a graphical overlay on the display screen during display of the media content, wherein the selectable display region includes a portion of the display screen where the graphical overlay is being displayed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify combination A to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Robinson for the purpose of displaying a graphical overlay on the display screen during display of the media content.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination A in view of Fein
Combination A in view of Fein discloses generating composite media based on the user input.
Fein [0020] For further convenience, the media compiler 105 allows searching at any website or database, which includes audio, visual, or audiovisual materials. The media compiler 105 also can use keywords and audiovisual identification systems to locate the best results for each search request made by a user. That is, embodiments create a "siftware" experience for the user. A "siftware" experience allows a user to sift through descriptions of audio and video clips and save the portions or all of the same. In this way, the media compiler 105 allows the user to create a media story line by adding digital data media 135, which may include an image, audio, and/or video from one or more sources (e.g., a computer or database) to create a media presentation.
user's device as well as on servers and databases that may store the information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify combination A to obtain above limitation based of the teachings of Fein for the purpose of user's device as well as on servers and databases that may store the information.
/ETIENNE P LEROUX/Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2161