DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (2023/0230552) in view of Katsu (2010/0066713).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a display device comprising: a display panel (152; Fig 1A); a backlight panel (154; Fig 1A) comprising light emitting diodes (LEDs) which are configured to emit lights (para [0030] The backlight panel 154 of the display device 101 may include a plurality of Light Emitting Diodes (LEDs). ; para [0032] In the backlight panel 154, a plurality of LEDs may be disposed to emit light toward the display panel 152), the LEDs comprising a first LED (282; Fig 2) and a second LED (284; Fig 2); pixel control circuitry (231-1, 232-1… Fig 2; 231…236; Fig 4) connected to cathodes of the LEDs (Fig 2; para [0042] A first node 231-1 of the first pixel controlling unit 231 may be commonly connected to cathodes of the LEDs 282, 284, and 286 arranged along the first direction.); and power circuitry (220; Fig 2; Fig 4) connected to power lines (para [0045] a power signal to power lines (e.g., the first power line 220-1, the second power line 220-2, and the third power line 220-3)) respectively connected to anodes of the LEDs (para [0045] The power lines may be connected to anodes of different LEDs.), wherein the power circuitry is configured to: apply a first voltage for driving the first LED to a first power line connected to the first LED among the power lines (para [0067] For example, moments at which the power driving unit 220 sequentially activates power lines connected to each of the ends P1, P2, P3, and P4 may be adjusted by a signal 430 transmitted from the timing controlling unit 210 to the power driving unit 220. For example, within a first time section, or time period, in which the power driving unit 220 activates the first power line extending from the end P1, the timing controlling unit 210 may transmit the intensity of LEDs connected to the first power line to each of the pixel controlling units 231, 232, 233, 234, 235, and 236, using signals 410 (to source driving unit 250) and 420 (to gate driving unit 260). 520; Fig 5), and apply a second voltage for driving the second LED to a second power line connected to the second LED among the power lines (para [0067] For example, moments at which the power driving unit 220 sequentially activates power lines connected to each of the ends P1, P2, P3, and P4 may be adjusted by a signal 430 transmitted from the timing controlling unit 210 to the power driving unit 220. For example, within a first time section, or time period, in which the power driving unit 220 activates the first power line extending from the end P1, the timing controlling unit 210 may transmit the intensity of LEDs connected to the first power line to each of the pixel controlling units 231, 232, 233, 234, 235, and 236, using signals 410 (to source driving unit 250) and 420 (to gate driving unit 260). P2 or P3; Fig 5), and wherein the second voltage is different from the first voltage (Fig 5 shows during the time section 561 voltage is provided to P1 and during the same time section voltage applied to P2, or P3 is different than that applied to P1. Furthermore, first voltage applied to P1 during the time section 561 and second voltage applied to P2 or P3 during the time period 562 or 563; are different from each other with respect to timing) (Note: claim as presented recites “different” which under BRI can be construed as different with respect to timing or magnitude. Thus claim as presented to broader in scope and clearly reads on Fig 5 as explained above.).
Lee fails to teach, light emitting diodes (LEDs) which are configured to emit lights with different colors; as claimed.
Katsu teaches an image display device comprising: a display panel (2; Fig 1) and a backlight panel (2; Fig 1) comprising light emitting diodes (LEDs) which are configured to emit lights with different colors (para [0032] The backlight device 1 employs an additive-color-mixing method in which an illumination light Lout as being a specific color light (in this case, a white light) is obtained by mixing a plurality of color lights (in this case, a red light, a green light and a blue light), and includes a light source (a light source 10 which will be described later) including a plurality of red LEDs 1R, a plurality of green LEDs 1G, and a plurality of blue LEDs 1B.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Lee with the teaching of Katsu, because this will provide image display device capable of improving display quality by reducing luminance non-uniformity, chromaticity non-uniformity (Katsu: para [0010]).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches the display device as explained for claim 1 above.
Lee fails to teach, wherein the LEDs further comprise a third LED, wherein the first LED is configured to emit a light with a red color, wherein the second LED is configured to emit a light with a blue color, and wherein the third LED is configured to emit a light with a green color; as claimed.
Katsu teaches the display device, wherein the LEDs further comprise a third LED (para [0032] a plurality of green LEDs 1G; Fig 1), wherein the first LED is configured to emit a light with a red color (para [0032] a plurality of red LEDs 1R; Fig 1), wherein the second LED is configured to emit a light with a blue color (para [0032] a plurality of blue LEDs 1B; Fig 1), and wherein the third LED is configured to emit a light with a green color (para [0032] a plurality of green LEDs 1G; Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Lee with the teaching of Katsu, because this will provide image display device capable of improving display quality by reducing luminance non-uniformity, chromaticity non-uniformity (Katsu: para [0010]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the power circuitry is further configured to: apply, in a first time section (561; Fig 5), the first voltage to the first power line, and apply, in a second time section (562; Fig 5) that is different from the first time section, the second voltage to the second power line (para [0074] Referring to the graph 510 of FIG. 5, a signal transmitted by the timing control unit to the power driving unit may have a voltage and/or a current that periodically changes at a predetermined period. In each of the time sections 561, 562, 563, and 564 within the cycle 560 distinguished by the signal of graph 510, different LEDs on the backlight panel may be activated. For example, the pixel controlling unit connected to four LEDs may sequentially activate the four LEDs in each of the time sections 561, 562, 563, and 564. In the above example, in each of the time sections 561, 562, 563, and 564, the pixel controlling unit may maintain the intensity of any one of the four LEDs as an intensity corresponding to the pulse-width of the pulse signal received from the source driving unit. In the above example, in each of the time sections 561, 562, 563, and 564, the pixel controlling unit may maintain a color of any one of the four LEDs as a color corresponding to the amplitude of the pulse signal received from the source driving unit).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein the pixel control circuitry is further configured to maintain, in at least a portion of the first time section, a current of the first LED (para [0068] The pixel controlling units 231, 232, 233, 234, 235, and 236 may maintain the intensity of the LEDs connected to the first power line during the first time section as the intensity indicated by the pulse-width and/or amplitude of the pulse signal received through the source line.).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches the display device of claim 5, wherein the pixel control circuitry is further configured to maintain the current of the first LED to maintain, in at least the portion of the first time section, intensity of the first LED as intensity associated with a frame image displayed through the display panel (Fig 5; para [0073] Cycle 560 of FIG. 5 illustrates a time section in which the power driving unit activates all of a plurality of power lines based on a preset period. The duration of the cycle 560 may be less than the duration of a frame in which the display panel (e.g., the display panel 152 of FIGS. 1A and 1B) disposed on the backlight panel displays a single video. In an embodiment, the duration of the cycle 560 may be set to a relatively short duration less than the duration of the frame to prevent flickering by the backlight panel. For example, when the frame rate of the display panel is 120 fps, the duration of the frame may be 1/120≈8.33 ms, and the duration of the cycle 560 may be 8.33 ms× 1/100=83.3 μs, which is shorter than the duration of the frame. Para [0075] Based on the input intensities of the LEDs, the pixel controlling unit may maintain the intensity of the LED connected to the activated power line during a preset duration (e.g., the duration of each of the time sections 561, 562, 563, and 564).).
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the pixel control circuitry is connected to the cathodes of the LEDs through a control line (Fig 2; para [0042] A first node 231-1 of the first pixel controlling unit 231 may be commonly connected to cathodes of the LEDs 282, 284, and 286 arranged along the first direction. Para [0052] Each of the pixel controlling units 231, 232, 233, 234, 235, and 236 may be connected to one or more corresponding LEDs through control lines extending from the first node.).
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the LEDs comprise a plurality of sets of LEDs (Fig 2; Fig 4) including a set of the LEDs () which are connected to the pixel control circuitry, wherein the display device further comprises a set of pixel control circuitry (231,232,233,234,235,236; Fig 4) including the pixel control circuitry, and wherein the pixel control circuitry of the set of pixel control circuitry are respectively connected to the plurality of sets of the LEDs (Fig 4; para [0063] Referring to FIG. 4, a plurality of LEDs disposed on a backlight panel 154 in a first direction and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction are illustrated. Each of the pixel controlling units 231, 232, 233, 234, 235, and 236 included in the backlight panel 154 may be connected to LEDs arranged in a line along the first direction among the plurality of LEDs. An example in which each of the six pixel controlling units 231, 232, 233, 234, 235, and 236 is connected to four LEDs is illustrated, but the embodiment is not limited thereto. The first pixel controlling unit 231 may be connected to cathodes of LEDs arranged in a line along a first direction through a first node. As the pixel controlling units 231, 232, 233, 234, 235, and 236 are separated from each other in the second direction, LEDs connected to each of the pixel controlling units 231, 232, 233, 234, 235, and 236 may also be separated in parallel in the second direction.).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches a display device comprising: a display panel (152; Fig 1A); a backlight panel (154; Fig 1A) comprising a plurality of backlight pixels respectively comprising light emitting diodes (LEDs) configured to emit lights (para [0030] The backlight panel 154 of the display device 101 may include a plurality of Light Emitting Diodes (LEDs). ; para [0032] In the backlight panel 154, a plurality of LEDs may be disposed to emit light toward the display panel 152);a set of pixel control circuitry (231-1, 232-1… Fig 2; 231…236; Fig 4) respectively connected to the plurality of backlight pixels (Fig 2; Fig 4); and power circuitry (220; Fig 2; Fig 4) connected to a plurality of power lines (para [0045] a power signal to power lines (e.g., the first power line 220-1, the second power line 220-2, and the third power line 220-3); para [0065] Referring to FIG. 4, the backlight panel 154 may include a plurality of power lines extending, from the ends P1, P2, P3, and P4 of the power driving unit 220), wherein the plurality of power lines comprise: a first power line (220-1; Fig 2; P1; Fig 4) connected to a first group of LEDs (282+292; Fig 2; all LED connected to P1; Fig 4) having a first color among the LEDs of the plurality of backlight pixels (Fig 2; Fig 4; para [0097] For example, the first intensity of the first LED controlled by the pixel controlling unit in the first time section may be associated with at least one of intensity or color of portions of the video displayed corresponding to the first LED); and a second power line (220-3; Fig 2; P3; Fig 4) connected to a second group of LEDs (286+296; Fig 2; all LED connected to P3; Fig 4) having a second color among the LEDs of the plurality of backlight pixels (Fig 2; Fig 4; para [0097]), and wherein the power circuitry is configured to: apply a first voltage to each of the LEDs of the first group of LEDs through the first power line (para [0067] For example, moments at which the power driving unit 220 sequentially activates power lines connected to each of the ends P1, P2, P3, and P4 may be adjusted by a signal 430 transmitted from the timing controlling unit 210 to the power driving unit 220. For example, within a first time section, or time period, in which the power driving unit 220 activates the first power line extending from the end P1, the timing controlling unit 210 may transmit the intensity of LEDs connected to the first power line to each of the pixel controlling units 231, 232, 233, 234, 235, and 236, using signals 410 (to source driving unit 250) and 420 (to gate driving unit 260). 520; Fig 5), and apply a second voltage to each of the LEDs of the second group of the LEDs through the second power line (para [0067] For example, moments at which the power driving unit 220 sequentially activates power lines connected to each of the ends P1, P2, P3, and P4 may be adjusted by a signal 430 transmitted from the timing controlling unit 210 to the power driving unit 220. For example, within a first time section, or time period, in which the power driving unit 220 activates the first power line extending from the end P1, the timing controlling unit 210 may transmit the intensity of LEDs connected to the first power line to each of the pixel controlling units 231, 232, 233, 234, 235, and 236, using signals 410 (to source driving unit 250) and 420 (to gate driving unit 260). P2 or P3; Fig 5), and wherein the second voltage is different from the first voltage (Fig 5 shows during the time section 561 voltage is provided to P1 and during the same time section voltage applied to P2, or P3 is different than that applied to P1 .Furthermore, first voltage applied to P1 during the time section 561 and second voltage applied to P2 or P3 during the time period 562 or 563; are different from each other with respect to timing) (Note: claim as presented recites “different” which under BRI can be construed as different with respect to timing or magnitude. Thus claim as presented to broader in scope and clearly reads on Fig 5 as explained above.).
Lee fails to teach, light emitting diodes (LEDs) which are configured to emit lights with different colors; as claimed.
Katsu teaches an image display device comprising: a display panel (2; Fig 1) and a backlight panel (2; Fig 1) comprising light emitting diodes (LEDs) which are configured to emit lights with different colors (para [0032] The backlight device 1 employs an additive-color-mixing method in which an illumination light Lout as being a specific color light (in this case, a white light) is obtained by mixing a plurality of color lights (in this case, a red light, a green light and a blue light), and includes a light source (a light source 10 which will be described later) including a plurality of red LEDs 1R, a plurality of green LEDs 1G, and a plurality of blue LEDs 1B.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Lee with the teaching of Katsu, because this will provide image display device capable of improving display quality by reducing luminance non-uniformity, chromaticity non-uniformity (Katsu: para [0010]).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches the display device as explained for claim 9 above.
Lee fails to teach wherein the LEDs of each of the plurality of backlight pixels comprise: a first LED configured to emit a light with a red color; a second LED configured to emit a light with a blue color; and a third LED configured to emit a light with a green color; as claimed.
Katsu teaches the display device, wherein the LEDs of each of the plurality of backlight pixels comprise: a first LED configured to emit a light with a red color; a second LED configured to emit a light with a blue color; and a third LED configured to emit a light with a green color (para [0032] The backlight device 1 employs an additive-color-mixing method in which an illumination light Lout as being a specific color light (in this case, a white light) is obtained by mixing a plurality of color lights (in this case, a red light, a green light and a blue light), and includes a light source (a light source 10 which will be described later) including a plurality of red LEDs 1R, a plurality of green LEDs 1G, and a plurality of blue LEDs 1B.; Fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Lee with the teaching of Katsu, because this will provide image display device capable of improving display quality by reducing luminance non-uniformity, chromaticity non-uniformity (Katsu: para [0010]).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches the display device as explained for claim 10 above.
Lee fails to teach, wherein the first group of the LEDs is configured to emit the light with the red color, and wherein the second group of the LEDs is configured to emit the light with the blue color; as claimed.
Katsu teaches the display device, wherein the first group of the LEDs is configured to emit the light with the red color (1R; Fig 5), and wherein the second group of the LEDs is configured to emit the light with the blue color (1B; Fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Lee with the teaching of Katsu, because this will provide image display device capable of improving display quality by reducing luminance non-uniformity, chromaticity non-uniformity (Katsu: para [0010]).
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches the display device of claim 9, wherein the power circuitry is further configured to: apply, in a first time section (561; Fig 5), the first voltage to the first power line, and apply, in a second time section (563; Fig 5) that is different from the first time section, the second voltage to the second power line (para [0074] Referring to the graph 510 of FIG. 5, a signal transmitted by the timing control unit to the power driving unit may have a voltage and/or a current that periodically changes at a predetermined period. In each of the time sections 561, 562, 563, and 564 within the cycle 560 distinguished by the signal of graph 510, different LEDs on the backlight panel may be activated. For example, the pixel controlling unit connected to four LEDs may sequentially activate the four LEDs in each of the time sections 561, 562, 563, and 564. In the above example, in each of the time sections 561, 562, 563, and 564, the pixel controlling unit may maintain the intensity of any one of the four LEDs as an intensity corresponding to the pulse-width of the pulse signal received from the source driving unit. In the above example, in each of the time sections 561, 562, 563, and 564, the pixel controlling unit may maintain a color of any one of the four LEDs as a color corresponding to the amplitude of the pulse signal received from the source driving unit).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches the display device of claim 12, wherein each pixel control circuitry is further configured to maintain, in at least a portion of the first time section, a current of the each of the LEDs of the first group of LEDs (para [0068] The pixel controlling units 231, 232, 233, 234, 235, and 236 may maintain the intensity of the LEDs connected to the first power line during the first time section as the intensity indicated by the pulse-width and/or amplitude of the pulse signal received through the source line.).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches the display device of claim 12, wherein the plurality of power lines further comprise a third power line (220-2; Fig 2; P2; Fig 4) connected to a third group of LEDs (284+294; Fig 2; all LED connected to P2; Fig 4) having a third color among the LEDs of the plurality of backlight pixels (Fig 2; Fig 4; para [0097] For example, the first intensity of the first LED controlled by the pixel controlling unit in the first time section may be associated with at least one of intensity or color of portions of the video displayed corresponding to the first LED), and wherein the power circuitry is further configured to apply, in a third time section (562; Fig 5) that is different from the first time section and the second time section (Fig 5), a third voltage to the third power line (Fig 5; para [0075] Based on the input intensities of the LEDs, the pixel controlling unit may maintain the intensity of the LED connected to the activated power line during a preset duration (e.g., the duration of each of the time sections 561, 562, 563, and 564)), and wherein the third voltage is different from the first voltage and the second voltage (Fig 5 shows during the time section 562 voltage is provided to P2 and during the same time section voltage applied to P1, or P3 is different than that applied to P2).
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches the display device of claim 9, wherein each pixel control circuitry of the set of pixel control circuitry is connected to cathodes of the LEDs of a corresponding backlight pixel through a control line (Fig 2; para [0042] A first node 231-1 of the first pixel controlling unit 231 may be commonly connected to cathodes of the LEDs 282, 284, and 286 arranged along the first direction. Para [0052] Each of the pixel controlling units 231, 232, 233, 234, 235, and 236 may be connected to one or more corresponding LEDs through control lines extending from the first node.).
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches a method of a display device (152; Fig 1A), wherein the display device comprises a backlight panel (154; Fig 1A) comprising light emitting diodes (LEDs) which are configured to emit lights (para [0030] The backlight panel 154 of the display device 101 may include a plurality of Light Emitting Diodes (LEDs). ; para [0032] In the backlight panel 154, a plurality of LEDs may be disposed to emit light toward the display panel 152), pixel control circuitry (231-1, 232-1… Fig 2; 231…236; Fig 4) connected to cathodes of the LEDs (Fig 2; para [0042] A first node 231-1 of the first pixel controlling unit 231 may be commonly connected to cathodes of the LEDs 282, 284, and 286 arranged along the first direction.), and power circuitry (220; Fig 2; Fig 4) connected to power lines (para [0045] a power signal to power lines (e.g., the first power line 220-1, the second power line 220-2, and the third power line 220-3; Fig 4)) respectively connected to anodes of the LEDs (para [0045] The power lines may be connected to anodes of different LEDs.), the method comprising: controlling the power circuitry to apply a first voltage for driving a first LED among the LEDs, to a first power line connected to the first LED among the power lines (para [0067] For example, moments at which the power driving unit 220 sequentially activates power lines connected to each of the ends P1, P2, P3, and P4 may be adjusted by a signal 430 transmitted from the timing controlling unit 210 to the power driving unit 220. For example, within a first time section, or time period, in which the power driving unit 220 activates the first power line extending from the end P1, the timing controlling unit 210 may transmit the intensity of LEDs connected to the first power line to each of the pixel controlling units 231, 232, 233, 234, 235, and 236, using signals 410 (to source driving unit 250) and 420 (to gate driving unit 260). 520; Fig 5); and controlling the power circuitry to apply a second voltage for driving a second LED among the LEDs, to a second power line connected to the second LED among the power lines (para [0067] For example, moments at which the power driving unit 220 sequentially activates power lines connected to each of the ends P1, P2, P3, and P4 may be adjusted by a signal 430 transmitted from the timing controlling unit 210 to the power driving unit 220. For example, within a first time section, or time period, in which the power driving unit 220 activates the first power line extending from the end P1, the timing controlling unit 210 may transmit the intensity of LEDs connected to the first power line to each of the pixel controlling units 231, 232, 233, 234, 235, and 236, using signals 410 (to source driving unit 250) and 420 (to gate driving unit 260). P2 or P3; Fig 5), wherein the second voltage is different from the first voltage (Fig 5 shows during the time section 561 voltage is provided to P1 and during the same time section voltage applied to P2, or P3 is different than that applied to P1. Furthermore, first voltage applied to P1 during the time section 561 and second voltage applied to P2 or P3 during the time period 562 or 563; are different from each other with respect to timing) (Note: claim as presented recites “different” which under BRI can be construed as different with respect to timing or magnitude. Thus claim as presented to broader in scope and clearly reads on Fig 5 as explained above.).
Lee fails to teach, light emitting diodes (LEDs) which are configured to emit lights with different colors; as claimed.
Katsu teaches a method of a display device (2; Fig 1) wherein the display device comprises a backlight panel (2; Fig 1) comprising light emitting diodes (LEDs) which are configured to emit lights with different colors (para [0032] The backlight device 1 employs an additive-color-mixing method in which an illumination light Lout as being a specific color light (in this case, a white light) is obtained by mixing a plurality of color lights (in this case, a red light, a green light and a blue light), and includes a light source (a light source 10 which will be described later) including a plurality of red LEDs 1R, a plurality of green LEDs 1G, and a plurality of blue LEDs 1B.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Lee with the teaching of Katsu, because this will provide image display device capable of improving display quality by reducing luminance non-uniformity, chromaticity non-uniformity (Katsu: para [0010]).
Regarding claim 17, Lee teaches the method as explained for claim 16 above.
Lee fails to teach, wherein the first LED is configured to emit a light with a red color, wherein the second LED is configured to emit a light with a blue color, and wherein a third LED among the LEDs is configured to emit a light with a green color.; as claimed.
Katsu teaches the method, wherein the first LED is configured to emit a light with a red color (para [0032] a plurality of red LEDs 1R; Fig 1), wherein the second LED is configured to emit a light with a blue color (para [0032] a plurality of blue LEDs 1B; Fig 1), and wherein the third LED is configured to emit a light with a green color (para [0032] a plurality of green LEDs 1G; Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Lee with the teaching of Katsu, because this will provide image display device capable of improving display quality by reducing luminance non-uniformity, chromaticity non-uniformity (Katsu: para [0010]).
Regarding claim 19, Lee teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the controlling the power circuitry comprises: controlling the power circuitry to apply, in a first time section (561; Fig 5), the first voltage to the first power line, and controlling the power circuitry to apply, in a second time section that is different from the first time section, the second voltage to the second power line (para [0074] Referring to the graph 510 of FIG. 5, a signal transmitted by the timing control unit to the power driving unit may have a voltage and/or a current that periodically changes at a predetermined period. In each of the time sections 561, 562, 563, and 564 within the cycle 560 distinguished by the signal of graph 510, different LEDs on the backlight panel may be activated. For example, the pixel controlling unit connected to four LEDs may sequentially activate the four LEDs in each of the time sections 561, 562, 563, and 564. In the above example, in each of the time sections 561, 562, 563, and 564, the pixel controlling unit may maintain the intensity of any one of the four LEDs as an intensity corresponding to the pulse-width of the pulse signal received from the source driving unit. In the above example, in each of the time sections 561, 562, 563, and 564, the pixel controlling unit may maintain a color of any one of the four LEDs as a color corresponding to the amplitude of the pulse signal received from the source driving unit).
Regarding claim 20, Lee teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the pixel control circuitry is configured to maintain a current of the first LED in at least portion of the first time section (para [0068] The pixel controlling units 231, 232, 233, 234, 235, and 236 may maintain the intensity of the LEDs connected to the first power line during the first time section as the intensity indicated by the pulse-width and/or amplitude of the pulse signal received through the source line.).
Claim(s) 3 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (2023/0230552) in view of Katsu (2010/0066713) as applied to claim 2 and 17 above, and further in view of Jung et al. (2021/0043616).
Regarding claim 3, Lee and Katsu teaches the display device as explained for claim 2 above.
Lee and Katsu fails to teach, wherein the second voltage is greater than the first voltage; as claimed.
Jung teaches a display apparatus comprising: plurality of LED’s (para [0026] the plurality of LEDs may include a red LED, a green LED and a blue LED,); and applying first and second voltage to plurality of LED’s (para [0026]); wherein the second voltage is greater than the first voltage (para [0026] The power voltage may include a first power voltage and a second power voltage that is lower than the first power voltage, the plurality of LEDs may include a red LED, a green LED and a blue LED, the first power voltage may be provided to the anode of the green LED and the anode of the blue LED, and the second power voltage may be provided to the anode of the red LED. Para [0153] An operating voltage of the LED may be determined by the color emitted by a corresponding LED. In general, an operating voltage of the red LED is the lowest, an operating voltage of the yellow LED and the green LED are slightly higher than the operating voltage of the red LED, and an operating voltage of the blue LED is the highest.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Lee and Katsu with the teaching of Jung, because it is well known in the art that operating voltages of the LED is dependent on the color, thus applying the voltages as taught by Jung would yield predictable results of driving each of the LED to emit respective colors.
Regarding claim 18, which is a method claim and is similar in scope to claim 3. Thus claim 18 is rejected same as claim 3, as explained above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Remarks on page .9 lines 5-9 regarding prior art Lee are not persuasive. Specifically claim as originally presented recites “wherein the second voltage is different from the first voltage”; which is broader in scope and does not recite in which aspect the second voltage and the first voltage are different. Thus, in absence of such limitations, given the BRI, prior art of record Lee as explained in the office action above with respect to Fig 5, clearly teaches the claim limitations. Further remarks on page 9, lines 10-18 with respect to Katsu are not persuasive because of the same reasons as provided with respect to prior art Lee above. Remarks on page 10 with respect to claim 9 and 16 are not persuasive for the same reasons as provided for claim 1 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PREMAL R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624