Claim(s) 1-4, 11-14, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAMEI et al. Pub. No.: US 2016/0198194 Al, “GAMEI”, in view of SHARMAN ET AL: "AHG 5 and 18: Profiles for Range Extensions",14. JCT-VC MEETING; 25-7-2013 - 2-8-2013; VIENNA; (JOINT COLLABORATIVE TEAM ON VIDEO CODING OF ISO/IEC JTC1/SC29/ WG11 AND ITU-T SG.16 ); URL: HTTP://WFTP3.ITU.INT/AV-ARCH/JCTVC-SITE/,,no. JCTVC-N0191, 16 July 2013 (2013-07-16), XP030114682, “SHARMAN” (IDS)
Regarding claim 1, GAMEI discloses a method for decoding video data values (GAMEI, abstract), the method comprising: the first extended precision functionality being related (GAMEI, ¶ 108) to a transform processing (GAMEI, ¶ 114).
It is noted that GAMEI is silent about selectively decoding, by a processing circuity, control flags in a hierarchy of control flags, the hierarchy of control flags comprising a first control flag and second control flag, the second control flag being an extended precision flag; and decoding, by the processing circuity, dependent upon whether the first control flag is set, the extended precision flag and video data values, wherein the extended precision flag and video data values were encoded according to a first extended precision functionality and a second extended precision functionality as claimed.
However, SHARMAN discloses electively decoding, by a processing circuity, control flags in a hierarchy of control flags, the hierarchy of control flags comprising a first control flag (SHARMAN, pg. ) and second control flag, the second control flag being an extended precision flag (
note here, 2^6 =64, compared to SHARMAN, pg. 14, Appendix A); and decoding, by the processing circuity, dependent upon whether the first control flag is set, the extended precision flag (SHARMAN, pg. 8, sect. 5.2) and video data values, wherein the extended precision flag and video data values were encoded according to a first extended precision functionality (see citation above, and SHARMAN, pg. 9, sect. 5.2) and a second extended precision functionality (as cited above, i.e. dynamic range extention SHARMAN, pg. 9, sect. 5.2)
Both GAMEI and SHARMAN teach systems with video compression by matrix operation, and those systems are comparable to that of the instant application. Because the two cited references are analogous to the instant application, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to include in the GAMEI disclosure, DCT matrix, as taught by SHARMAN. Such inclusion would have increased the usefulness of the system by improving interoperability standpoint, and would have been consistent with the rationale of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results to show a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP 2143(I)(A)) under KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 2, GAMEI/SHARMAN, for the same motivation for combination, further discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the first control flag is related to an extended operation of the encoder (SHARMAN, pg. 9, sect. 5.2).
Regarding claim 3, GAMEI/SHARMAN, for the same motivation for combination, further discloses the method of Claim 2, wherein the first control flag is set to indicate an operation in excess of a 10 bit operation (as cited above, i.e. SHARMAN, pg. 15).
Regarding claim 4, GAMEI/SHARMAN, for the same motivation for combination, further discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the second extended precision functionality are related to an alternate value decoding functionality (See, SHARMAN, pg. 13, section. 5. see instant application, i.e. para. 118“The overall high bit depth control flag allows other functionality relating to high bit depth (for example with video data greater than 10 bits) operation (such as, at least in principle, a higher precision quantiser or an alternate coefficient coder for transform or non-transform blocks) to be switched on or off and so provides a mechanism for coding and enabling future encoding tool modifications.”).
Regarding claim 11, GAMEI/SHARMAN, for the same motivation for combination, discloses a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising executable computer code components which, when executed on a computer, cause a computer to perform the method according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, GAMEI/SHARMAN, for the same motivation for combination, discloses a data decoding apparatus for decoding video data values, the apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to: selectively decode control flags in a hierarchy of control flags, the hierarchy of control flags comprising a first control flag and second control flag, the second control flag being an extended precision flag (see rejection of claim 1); and decode, dependent upon whether the first control flag is set, the extended precision flag and a video data values, wherein the extended precision flag and video data values were encoded according to a first extended precision functionality and a second extended precision functionality, the first extended precision functionality being related to a transform processing (see rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, GAMEI/SHARMAN, for the same motivation for combination, further discloses the apparatus of Claim 12, wherein the first control flag is set to indicate an extended operation in excess of a 10 bit operation (as cited above, i.e. SHARMAN, pg. 15).
Regarding claim 14, GAMEI/SHARMAN, for the same motivation for combination, further discloses the apparatus of Claim 12, wherein the second extended precision functionality is related to an alternate value decoding functionality (See, SHARMAN, pg. 13, section. 5. see instant application, i.e. para. 118“The overall high bit depth control flag allows other functionality relating to high bit depth (for example with video data greater than 10 bits) operation (such as, at least in principle, a higher precision quantiser or an alternate coefficient coder for transform or non-transform blocks) to be switched on or off and so provides a mechanism for coding and enabling future encoding tool modifications.”).
Regarding claim 19, GAMEI/SHARMAN, for the same motivation for combination, discloses a video data capture, transmission, display and/or storage apparatus comprising the apparatus of claim 12 (see rejection of claim 12).
Regarding claim 20, GAMEI/SHARMAN, for the same motivation for combination, discloses a method of encoding video data values, the method comprising: selectively encoding, by a processing circuity (see GAMEI, abstract), control flags in a hierarchy of control flags, the hierarchy comprising a first control flag and second control flag, the second control flag being an extended precision flag; and encoding, by the processing circuity, dependent on whether the first control flag is set, the extended precision flag and video data values, wherein the encoding of the extended precision flag and video data values is performed according to a first extended precision functionality and a second extended precision functionality, the first extended precision functionality being related to a transform processing (see rejection of claim 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20220303542 A1 IMAGE DECODING METHOD FOR CODING CHROMA QUANTIZATION PARAMETER DATA, AND DEVICE FOR SAME
US 11122290 B2 Inter prediction method and apparatus in video coding system
US 20210218996 A1 METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR PROCESSING VIDEO SIGNAL BY USING APPROXIMATION TRANSFORM ON BASIS OF PREPROCESSING/POSTPROCESSING MATRIX
US 20210211729 A1 METHOD FOR ENCODING/DECODING VIDEO SIGNALS AND APPARATUS THEREFOR
US 20210144376 A1 IMAGE PROCESSING APPARATUS AND METHOD
US 20210014534 A1 METHOD AND DEVICE FOR PROCESSING VIDEO SIGNAL BY USING REDUCED SECONDARY TRANSFORM
US 20200374531 A1 METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR VIDEO CODING
US 20200177901 A1 VIDEO DECODING METHOD AND APPARATUS USING MULTI-CORE TRANSFORM, AND VIDEO ENCODING METHOD AND APPARATUS USING MULTI-CORE TRANSFORM
US 20200177921 A1 METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR CONFIGURING TRANSFORM FOR VIDEO COMPRESSION
US 20200068195 A1 FREQUENCY DOMAIN FILTERING METHOD IN IMAGE CODING SYSTEM, AND DEVICE THEREFOR
US 20190387241 A1 METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR PROCESSING VIDEO SIGNALS USING REDUCED TRANSFORM
US 20190349587 A1 IMAGE PROCESSING METHOD, AND DEVICE FOR SAME
US 20180332289 A1 Method for encoding or decoding video data, involves generating current coefficient block according to current block, vertical and horizontal transform at encoder side or recovering current block according to current coefficient block.
/FRANK F HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485