DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the application filed on May 9, 2025 where Claims 1 – 20, of which Claims 1, 8, and 16 are in independent form, are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on May 9, 2025 and May 21, 2026 were filed before the mailing date of the current action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1 – 14 and 16 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,299,175. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 1 and 8 of the patent anticipate the limitations of Claim 1 of the current application. Claims 2 – 7 of the patent have nearly identical subject matter to Claims 2 – 7 of the current application and are, therefore, also anticipated. Likewise, Claims 9, 16, and 17 of the patent anticipate the limitations of Claims 8 and 16 of the pending application. Claims 10 – 15 of the patent have nearly identical subject matter to Claims 9 – 14 of the current application and are, therefore, also anticipated. Claims 18 – 20 of the patent have nearly identical subject matter to Claims 17 – 20 of the current application and are, therefore, also anticipated
101 Analysis
2. Claims 1, 8, and 16 recite(s) a system and method for providing payment options for purchasing items on a merchant website based on the user’s profile. The claimed process of Claims 1 and 16 can be construed as being methods of organizing human activity, such as entering into commercial transactions, where payments can be made to the merchant in installments based on the credit worthiness of the purchaser. This type of transaction is a well-known commercial transaction prior to the invention of the internet utilized in the purchase of homes or cars where the purchaser cannot or does not want to make the entire payment immediately. The claim limitations are drafted as more generalized computer-based website interactions in the claims, but are more readily recognized as a method or organizing human activity based on the dependent claims. Claim 8 merely implements the claimed method on computers. Therefore, the claims fail Step 2A, Prong One of the 2019 PEG (“Patent Eligibility Guidance”).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the components or limitations, such as a user device, webserver, webpage, instructions, selectable graphical components, merely apply the abstract idea on a computer system. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Furthermore, the components or limitations generally link the used of the abstract idea within a webpage without any specifics on how the user interface is actually modified (e.g., specific code to modify the merchant webpage), how the interactive graphical elements are generated, or of any meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a technical environment See MPEP 2106.05(e) and 2106.05(h). Therefore, the claims fail Step 2A, Prong Two of the 2019 PEG.
Claims 1, 8, and 16 are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more and are rejected under 35 USC 101.
3. Regarding Claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 17, and 18, the claims merely describe the type of communication used between the webserver and the first server which merely implement known internet based communications. MPEP 2106.05(h).
4. Regarding Claims 4, 5, 11, 12, 19, and 20, the claims merely describe the use of a user profile to determine which installment options are available. This merely can be a user’s credit score (e.g., FICO), which is information typically used to purchase homes/cars, and using this information to determine what types of payment options are available can be steps in the commercial transaction described as the abstract idea above.
5. Regarding Claims 6 and 13, the claims merely describe a type of user identifier which is information typically used to purchase items, and is a type of data used in the commercial transaction described as the abstract idea above.
6. Regarding Claims 7 and 14, the claims merely describe the execution of the purchase using the selected payment option on a merchant webpage. The claims generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (e.g., internet merchants). MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 5, 7 – 13, and 15 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 10,417,706 (hereinafter “Simon”).
7. Regarding Claims 1, 8, and 16, Simon discloses of system [Fig. 1 and 4] comprising:
one or more processors of one or more servers [Fig. 4; Col. 16, line 53 – Col. 17, line 49]; and
a computer-readable, non-transitory storage medium comprising instructions that when executed by the one or more processors [Fig. 4; Col. 16, line 53 – Col. 17, line 49], cause the one or more processors to execute a method comprising:
in response at least in part to receiving an input from a user device on a first webpage [Fig. 2A, 2B; Col. 12, lines 31-40; placing item in shopping cart], transmitting, by a webserver hosting the first webpage to a first server, a request to display at least one interactive graphical element corresponding to an alternative execution option on the first webpage [Figs. 2G, 2I, and 2J; Col. 12, line 9 – Col. 13, line 14; request by user for an installment payment method via merchant site], whereby the first server:
identifies an existing profile of a user associated with the user device based on a unique identifier inputted by the user device at the first webpage and without receiving personally identifiable information from the webserver [Figs. 2A-2J; Col. 13, line 50–60; unique identifier associated with user is sent as a cookie and used by the loan provider server for the installment payment option information], and
determines an attribute of the alternative execution option for the user based on the existing profile and without receiving personally identifiable information from the user device [Figs. 2A-2J; Col. 13, line 15 – Col. 14, line 19; unique identifier associated with user is sent as a cookie and used by the loan provider server for the installment payment option information];
receiving, by the webserver from the first server, instructions to insert the at least one interactive graphical element comprising the alternative execution option on the first webpage, the at least one interactive graphical element having a visual characteristic of the first webpage [Figs. 2G, 2I, and 2J; Col. 13, line 15 – Col. 14, line 19, Col. 14, line 55 – Col. 15, line 46; installment payment option information generated by the loan service provider server provided through the merchant site]; and
revising, by the webserver, the first webpage to include the at least one interactive graphical component, the at least one graphical element configured to receive a selection by the user, whereby responsive to selection of the at least one interactive graphical element on the first webpage [Figs. 2A-2J; Col. 14, line 55 – Col. 15, line 46; installment payment option information generated by the loan service provider server provided through the merchant site], the first server transmits an instruction to a second server to execute the installment option [Fig. 2H; Col. 12, lines 31-40, Col. 14, line 64 – Col. 15, line 11; purchase concluded based on the user selecting desired payment option; Col. 9. Lines 49-63].
8. Regarding Claims 2, 9, and 17, Simon discloses the limitations of Claims 1, 8, and 16. Simon further discloses that the first server uses a pluggable component to
communicate with the webserver [Fig. 1, item 110, 114; Col. 5, line 43 – Col. 6, line 2, Col. 6, lines 43-65; application interface can be an embedded program or embedded component].
9. Regarding Claims 3, 10, and 18, Simon discloses the limitations of Claims 1, 8, and 16. Simon further discloses that the first server uses an application programming
interface to communicate with the webserver [Fig. 1, item 110, 114; Col. 5, line 43 – Col. 6, line 2, Col. 6, lines 43-65; application interface].
10. Regarding Claims 4, 11, and 19, Simon discloses the limitations of Claims 1, 8, and 16. Simon further discloses that the attribute of the alternative execution option
corresponds to at least one of a monthly amount, a number of installments, or an interest rate [Figs. 2A-2J; Col. 14, line 55 – Col. 15, line 46; installment payment option information].
11. Regarding Claims 5, 12, and 20, Simon discloses the limitations of Claims 1, 8, and 16. Simon further discloses that the first server, at least partially, calculates the attribute of the alternative execution option using data associated with the user [Figs. 2G, 2I, and 2J; Col. 13, line 15 – Col. 14, line 19, Col. 14, line 55 – Col. 15, line 46; installment payment option information generated by the loan service provider server based on user’s loan application information].
12. Regarding Claims 7 and 14, Simon discloses the limitations of Claims 1 and 8. Simon further discloses that the first webpage is a checkout page of a merchant
associated with the webserver.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon, in view of PGPub. 2019/0236577 (hereinafter “Schmid”).
13. Regarding Claims 6 and 13, Simon discloses the limitations of Claims 1 and 8 above. Simon further discloses that the unique identifier can substitute for sensitive data such as credit card numbers to identify transactions [Col. 3, lines 57-62]. Simon, however, does not specifically describe the use of a credit card number.
Schmid discloses a system and method for providing customers with flexible payment plans [Abstract]. Schmid further discloses that the installment plans can be associated with the customer’s credit card account [Para. 0024]. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the teachings of Schmid with Simon since both systems provide interactive payment options for users purchasing items on websites. The combination would enable the installment options to charge the customer’s credit card directly without accessing the customer’s bank account. This would enable a merchant to efficiently manage thousands of customer payment plans through a merchant portal to keeps the business efficient and grow in scale [Schmid; Para. 0028].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon, in view of PGPub. 2015/0278946 (hereinafter “Don”).
14. Regarding Claim 15, Simon discloses the limitations of Claim 8. Simon further discloses that payments from the user can be made vial automatic clearing house payment method [Col. 9. Lines 49-63]. Simon, however, does not disclose of transmitting, by the second server, a monetary amount to an account of a merchant associated with the webserver.
Don discloses a system and method for payment processing [Abstract]. Don further discloses that any consumer payments will be assigned to the merchant’s account [Fig. 20; Para. 0251]. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the teachings of Don with Simon since both systems provide payment options for users purchasing items on websites. The combination enables the transfer of the funds for the transactions to the merchant from the credit provider. The motivation to do so is to provide the funds to the merchant to complete the transaction and send the purchased items to the user (obvious to one skilled in the art).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. PGPub. 2021/0012417; PGPub. 2020/0264766.
Contacts
/TAE K KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496