DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation of “a computer readable memory” in line 1, change to - - a non-transitory computer readable memory - - . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the method" in line 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feki et al. (US 2018/0138754).
Regarding claim 1, Feki teaches a method for managing communication availability by an ambient internet of things (A-loT) device (101a-c, fig. 2), the method (fig. 4) comprising: upon determination that a transaction is required (“is activation requested in the interval [0, T]”), checking energy storage levels of the A-loT device (step 401) and energy storage levels required to perform the transaction with a reader (steps 403 and 405); upon determination that there is insufficient energy storage levels to perform the transaction, sending an indication to the reader (step 407); and upon determination that there is sufficient energy storage levels to perform the transaction, proceeding with the transaction with the reader (complete the activity). See [0042]-[0050] and [0056]-[0057]).
Regarding claim 2, Feki further teaches wherein prior to sending the indication, determining that there is sufficient energy to send the indication ([0044]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 3, Feki further teaches wherein the indication is indicative of an out of power message (“is energy enough to get to the end of the interval T” and step 407, fig. 4 and [0057]).
Regarding claim 5, Feki further teaches monitoring energy storage levels ([0045] and [0057]).
Regarding claim 7, Feki further teaches wherein determination that a transaction is required includes receiving a transaction request for a downlink communication (“is activation requested in the interval [0, T], fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, the claim is a corresponding apparatus claim and recites similar subject matter as in claim 1. Therefore, similar rationale is applied as for claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9, Feki further teaches wherein prior to sending the indication, the machine executable instructions when executed by the processor further configure the apparatus to determine that there is sufficient energy to send the indication ([0044]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 10, Feki further teaches wherein the indication is indicative of an out of power message (“is energy enough to get to the end of the interval T” and step 407, fig. 4 and [0057]).
Regarding claim 12, Feki further teaches wherein the machine executable instructions when executed by the processor further configure the apparatus to monitor energy storage levels ([0045] and [0057]).
Regarding claim 14, Feki further teaches wherein determination that a transaction is required includes receiving a transaction request for a downlink communication (“is activation requested in the interval [0, T], fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, the claim is a corresponding computer program product claim and recites similar subject matter as in claim 1. Therefore, similar rationale is applied as for claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feki in view of Maniyar (US 2019/0121416).
Regarding claims 4, 6, 11 and 13, Feki teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above except for the indication is indicative of one or more of a request to pause the transaction, a request to save a state of the transaction and a request to continue the transaction at a future time.
However, Maniyar teaches electronic device battery monitoring for transaction comprising an indication, wherein the indication is indicative of one or more of a request to pause the transaction, a request to save a state of the transaction and a request to continue the transaction at a future time (figs. 3, 6, [0045] and [0067]).
In view of Maniyar’ s teaching, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Feki by incorporating the teaching as taught by Maniyar so that the transaction can be continued at a later time or future time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
References: Gupta et al. (US 12,457,630); Yang et al. (WO 2025/171732A1); Kim et al. (US 2022/0159671); Honore (US 2015/0363617) and Diorio (US 8,390,431) are cited because they are related to wireless communication device for managing power storage level.
/TUYEN K VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876