DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/6/2025 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu (US 20180102672 A1) in view of Greene (US 20160360597 A1)
With regards to claim 1. Qiu disclose(s):
An adaptive light fixture (figs 2-5), comprising:
a first illumination source (220) and a second illumination source (224);
one or more sensors (“current sensing” [0028]);
an internal battery (214);
and a control circuit (see 240, 218, 222, 226, 232, s1-s3) electrically connected to the first illumination source (220), the second illumination source (224), an internal battery (214), and the one or more sensors (“current sensing” [0028]), wherein the control circuit includes:
a primary circuit (218) that controls the first illumination source (220) when the adaptive light fixture is in a first operating mode (mode without power interruption [0029-0030]), wherein the primary circuit is electrically connected to an external power source (see 218 indirectly coupled to 260);
and a secondary circuit (222) that controls at least the second illumination source (224) when the adaptive light fixture is in a second operating mode (mode with power interruption [0029-0030]), wherein the internal battery is electrically connected to the secondary circuit when the adaptive light fixture is in the second operating mode ([0030]);
wherein the first operating mode is entered when the external power
Qiu does not disclose(s):
wherein the connection to the external power source is controlled by an external power switch that is in electrical communication with the control circuit,
wherein the first operating mode is entered when the external power switch is in an "on" position and wherein the second operating mode is entered when the external power switch is in an "off" position.
Greene teaches:
wherein the connection to the external power source is controlled by an external power switch (202; fig 5),
wherein the first operating mode is entered when the external power switch is in an "on" position and wherein the second operating mode is entered when the external power switch is in an "off" position [0044].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Qiu by implementing the connection to the external power source is controlled by an external power switch as disclosed by Greene in order to control the status of a power supply as taught/suggested by Greene ([0044]).
With regards to claim 2. Qiu as modified disclose(s):
The adaptive light fixture of claim 1,
wherein one or more of the sensors is a motion detector.
Qiu as modified does not disclose(s):
wherein one or more of the sensors is a motion detector.
Greene teaches:
wherein one or more of the sensors is a motion detector [0042].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Qiu by implementing the one or more of the sensors is a motion detector as disclosed by Greene in order to provide illumination while detecting motion as taught/suggested by Greene ([0042]).
With regards to claim 4. Qiu as modified disclose(s):
The adaptive light fixture of claim 1,
Qiu further disclose(s):
wherein the first illumination source and the second illumination source are different types of light sources (see different types of color temperature [0032]).
With regards to claim 5. Qiu as modified disclose(s):
The adaptive light fixture of claim 1,
Qiu further disclose(s):
wherein the first illumination source is brighter than the second illumination source (see [0033] for variable brightness which involves illumination being brighter).
With regards to claim 6. Qiu as modified disclose(s):
The adaptive light fixture of claim 1,
Qiu further disclose(s):
wherein the first illumination source is powered by the external power source in the first operating mode and the second illumination source is powered by the internal battery in the second operating mode [0029-0030].
Claim(s) 8, 9, and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu (US 20180102672 A1) in view of Greene (US 20160360597 A1) and Deaton (US 9839088 B1).
With regards to claim 8. Qiu disclose(s):
An adaptive light fixture (figs 2-5) comprising:
one or more illumination sources (220, 224);
a control circuit (see 240, 218, 222, 226, 232, s1-s3) electrically connected to the one or more illumination sources (220, 224, wiring for an external power source (260), an internal power source (214),
a primary circuit (218) that controls one or more of the illumination sources (220) when the adaptive light fixture is in a first operating mode (mode without power interruption [0029-0030]), wherein the primary circuit is connected to the external power source (see 218 indirectly coupled to 260);
and a secondary circuit (222) that controls one or more of the illumination sources (224) when the adaptive light fixture is in a second operating mode (mode with power interruption [0029-0030]), wherein the internal power source is electrically connected to the secondary circuit when the adaptive light fixture is in the second operating mode ([0030]).
Qiu does not disclose(s):
Greene teaches:
wherein the connection to the external power source is controlled by an external power switch that is in electrical communication with the control circuit (202; fig 5; [0044]),
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Qiu by implementing the connection to the external power source is controlled by an external power switch as disclosed by Greene in order to control the status of a power supply as taught/suggested by Greene ([0044]).
Qiu as modified does not disclose(s):
a motion sensor and a light sensor;
Deaton teaches:
a motion sensor and a light sensor (see124, 122; fig 6);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Qiu by implementing the motion sensor and a light sensor as disclosed by Deaton in order to trigger security modes and place a light fixture in high/low intensity mode as taught/suggested by Deaton ([lines 36-67 in col 2]).
With regards to claim 9. Qiu as modified disclose(s):
The adaptive light fixture of claim 8,
Deaton further discloses:
wherein the motion sensor is an infrared sensor ([lines 25-31 in col 15]).
With regards to claim 11. Qiu as modified disclose(s):
The adaptive light fixture of claim 8,
Qiu further disclose(s):
wherein a first illumination source of the one or more illumination sources is a different type of illumination source than a second illumination source of the one or more illumination sources (see different types of color temperature [0032]).
With regards to claim 12. Qiu as modified disclose(s):
The adaptive light fixture of claim 11
Qiu further disclose(s):
further comprising a bank of LEDs as the first illumination source (220) and a plurality of separate LEDs as the second illumination source (224).
With regards to claim 13. Qiu disclose(s):
A method for controlling function of a light fixture (figs 2-5)comprising:
extinguishing, in response to an input received from an external power source
wherein prior to receiving the input, the first illumination source of the light fixture is connected to a primary electrical supply (260) controlled through the external power source
activating, in response to receiving the first signal and one or more of the second signals, an electrical connection between a second illumination source (224) and the internal rechargeable battery (214) of the light fixture [0030];
and illuminating, in response to activating the electrical connection, a second illumination source of the light fixture [0030].
Qiu does not disclose(s):
extinguishing, in response to an input received from an external light switch
receiving, from a light sensor at a control circuit of the light fixture, a first signal that indicates that a brightness measure in an illumination area of the light fixture has fallen below a threshold light level;
receiving, from a motion sensor electrically connected to the control circuit of the light fixture, one or more second signals that indicates movement of an entity in the illumination area of the light fixture;
Greene teaches:
extinguishing, in response to an input received from an external light switch (202; fig 5 [0044]),
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Qiu by implementing the extinguishing, in response to an input received from an external light switch as disclosed by Greene in order to control the status of a power supply as taught/suggested by Greene ([0044]).
Qiu as modified does not disclose(s):
receiving, from a light sensor at a control circuit of the light fixture, a first signal that indicates that a brightness measure in an illumination area of the light fixture has fallen below a threshold light level;
receiving, from a motion sensor electrically connected to the control circuit of the light fixture, one or more second signals that indicates movement of an entity in the illumination area of the light fixture;
Deaton teaches:
receiving, from a light sensor (124; fig 6) at a control circuit of the light fixture, a first signal that indicates that a brightness measure in an illumination area of the light fixture has fallen below a threshold light level [lines 45-56 in col 19];
receiving, from a motion sensor (122) electrically connected to the control circuit of the light fixture, one or more second signals that indicates movement of an entity in the illumination area of the light fixture [lines 46-55 in col 14];
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Qiu by implementing the motion sensor and a light sensor as disclosed by Deaton in order to trigger security modes and place a light fixture in high/low intensity mode as taught/suggested by Deaton ([lines 36-67 in col 2]).
With regards to claim 14. Qiu as modified disclose(s):
The method of claim 13,
Qiu further disclose(s):
wherein the second illumination source emits light at a lower intensity than the first illumination source (see [0033] for variable brightness which involves illumination being brighter).
With regards to claim 15. Qiu as modified disclose(s):
The method of claim 13,
Greene further discloses:
wherein the input received from a user is a manipulation of the external light switch into an "off" position [0042].
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu (US 20180102672 A1) in view of Greene (US 20160360597 A1) and Deaton (US 9839088 B1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Richardson (US 20250022277 A1)
With regards to claim 18. Qiu as modified disclose(s):
The method of claim 13
Qiu as modified does not disclose(s):
further comprising extinguishing the second illumination source in response to ceasing receiving one or more of the second signals.
Richardson teaches
further comprising extinguishing the second illumination source in response to ceasing receiving one or more of the second signals [0203].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Qiu by implementing the extinguishing the second illumination source in response to ceasing receiving one or more of the second signals as disclosed by Richardson in order to save energy as taught/suggested by Richardson ([0203]).
With regards to claim 19. Qiu as modified disclose(s):
The method of claim 18,
Richardson further discloses:
wherein extinguishing the second illumination source further comprises ceasing receiving one or more of the second signals for a threshold period of time [0203].
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu (US 20180102672 A1) in view of Greene (US 20160360597 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Camden (US 20190250201 A1).
With regards to claim 3. Qiu as modified disclose(s):
The adaptive light fixture of claim 1,
Qiu as modified does not disclose(s):
wherein one or more of the sensors is a photodiode.
Camden teaches:
wherein one or more of the sensors is a photodiode (see fig 2a; [0041]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Qiu by implementing the e one or more of the sensors is a photodiode as disclosed by Camden in order to sense infrared light to detect vacancy of a space as taught/suggested by Camden ([0015]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu (US 20180102672 A1) in view of Greene (US 20160360597 A1) and Deaton (US 9839088 B1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Camden (US 20190250201 A1)
With regards to claim 10. Qiu as modified disclose(s):
The adaptive light fixture of claim 8,
Qiu as modified does not disclose(s):
wherein the light sensor is a photodiode.
Camden teaches:
wherein the light sensor is a photodiode (see fig 2a; [0041]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Qiu by implementing the light sensor is a photodiode as disclosed by Camden in order to sense infrared light to detect vacancy of a space as taught/suggested by Camden ([0015]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu (US 20180102672 A1) in view of Greene (US 20160360597 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gauna (US 20050259416 A1).
With regards to claim 7. Qiu as modified disclose(s):
The adaptive light fixture of claim 1,
Qiu as modified does not disclose(s):
wherein the first illumination source is an incandescent light source and the second illumination source is at least one LED.
Gauna teaches:
wherein the first illumination source is an incandescent light source (14; fig 1) and the second illumination source is at least one LED (12 [0028]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Qiu by implementing the first illumination source is an incandescent light source and the second illumination source is at least one LED as disclosed by Gauna in order to illuminate a space when environmental conditions are dark while allowing independent operation of illumination of the space responding to occupancy to save energy as taught/suggested by Gauna ([0030-0031]).
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu (US 20180102672 A1) in view of Greene (US 20160360597 A1) and Deaton (US 9839088 B1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Gauna (US 20050259416 A1)
With regards to claim 16. Qiu as modified disclose(s):
The method of claim 13,
Qiu as modified does not disclose(s):
wherein the internal rechargeable battery is charged while the first illumination source is illuminated.
Gauna teaches:
wherein the internal rechargeable battery (814; fig 8) is charged while the first illumination source is illuminated ([0052]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Qiu by implementing the internal rechargeable battery is charged while the first illumination source is illuminated as disclosed by Gauna in order to have an alternate power source while AC power is not available as taught/suggested by Gauna ([0052]).
With regards to claim 17. Qiu as modified disclose(s):
The method of claim 16,
Gauna further disclose(s):
wherein the input received from the user (806; fig 8) causes the first illumination source of the light fixture to be extinguished while maintaining an electrical current flow from the external power source to charge the internal battery ([0014, 0052]).
Conclusion
/RENAN LUQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845