DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noe (DE 102017125294) in view of Gert (De 102006029139).
Regarding claim 1, Noe discloses a method (Fig. 1-5) for determining a property of a strip-shaped material (flatness errors) comprising: passing the strip shaped material (metal strip) over a measuring roller having: a measuring roller body (1) with a circumferential surface, at least one recess (5) in the measuring roller body, at least one beam (4) disposed in the recess and extending along a longitudinal axis (vertical axis passing through each 4s – shown in Fig. 1), and a force sensor (7) arranged in the recess where the beam is supported within the recess on the force sensor; and where the measuring roller body extends along an axis of rotation (R) and the longitudinal axis of the beam is not parallel (see Fig. 1) to the axis of rotation of the measuring roller body and the longitudinal axis of the beam does not extend in a plane (shown below) perpendicular to the axis of rotation of the measuring roller body.
Noe fails to disclose where the position of a strip edge of the strip-shaped material is determined relative to a reference point or a reference line or a reference plane when the strip-shaped material is passed over the measuring roller.
Gert teaches a similar method for determining a position (“a measuring device for determining the strip edge position”) of a strip edge of a strip-shaped material (1) relative to a reference point or a reference line (horizontal line in the width direction) or a reference plane when the strip-shaped material is passed over the measuring roller using a force sensor (9, 109).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of Noe to determine the position of the strip edge of the strip-shaped material relative to a reference point/line/plane as taught by Gert in order to identify the extent of strip coverage of the measuring region and allow partial coverage to be taken into account when evaluating tensile stress near the strip edge (“From the thus determined Location of the band edge determines if a sensor is in the longitudinal direction seen the pulley only partially covered by the tape is. The determined by a partially covered sensor measurement will be corrected.”, Gert).
Regarding claim 2, modified Noe discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the strip-shaped material is formed of a metal strip (metal strip).
Regarding claim 3, modified Noe discloses the method of claim 1, comprising arranging on the measuring roller a first force sensor in the recess and a second force sensor arranged in the recess, where the beam is supported within the recess on the first force sensor and on the second force sensor. (see Fig. 2: two 7s on the beam 4 in the recess)
Regarding claim 4, modified Noe discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising forming a layer coating (13) over the recess.
Regarding claim 5, modified Noe discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the measuring roller body comprises a sheath (10).
Regarding claim 6, Noe discloses a method (Fig. 1-5) for longitudinal axis of the beam is not in a plane (shown above) perpendicular to the axis of rotation (R) of the measuring roller body, where the strip-shaped material is guided over the measuring roller such that a strip edge (strip is rolled within the width of the roller, if not, the strip will deform to the shape of the roller. Therefore, the strip edge reaches a position on top of the roller) of the strip-shaped material reaches a position once during one revolution of the measuring roller, which position is above the bar as seen in the radial direction of the measuring roller body, generating a measurement signal by the force sensor,
Noe fails to disclose where the position of a strip edge of the strip-shaped material is determined relative to a reference point or a reference line or a reference plane when the strip-shaped material is passed over the measuring roller.
Gert teaches a similar method for determining a position (“a measuring device for determining the strip edge position”) of a strip edge of a strip-shaped material (1) relative to a reference point or a reference line (horizontal line in the width direction) or a reference plane when the strip-shaped material is passed over the measuring roller using a force sensor (9, 109); wherein the strip-shaped material is guided over the measuring roller such that a strip edge (strip edge) of the strip-shaped material reaches a position once during one revolution of the measuring roller (edge of the strip is on the roller and the sensors senses the edge of the strip), which position is above the bar as seen in the radial direction of the measuring roller body, generating a measurement signal by the force sensor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of Noe to determine the position of the strip edge of the strip-shaped material relative to a reference point/line/plane as taught by Gert in order to identify the extent of strip coverage of the measuring region and allow partial coverage to be taken into account when evaluating tensile stress near the strip edge (“From the thus determined Location of the band edge determines if a sensor is in the longitudinal direction seen the pulley only partially covered by the tape is. The determined by a partially covered sensor measurement will be corrected.”, Gert).
Regarding claim 7, modified Noe discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the strip-shaped material is formed of a metal strip (metal strip).
Regarding claim 8, modified Noe discloses the method of claim 6, comprising arranging on the measuring roller a first force sensor in the recess and a second force sensor arranged in the recess, where the beam is supported within the recess on the first force sensor and on the second force sensor. (see Fig. 2: two 7s on the beam 4 in the recess)
Regarding claim 9, modified Noe discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising forming a layer coating (13) over the recess.
Regarding claim 10, modified Noe discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the measuring roller body comprises a sheath (10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20090320616, US 20050183497 teach similar method comprising the measuring roller with beams and recesses and force sensors.
Us 20030115947 teaches measuring position of the strip edge using force sensors.
/BOBBY YEONJIN KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3725