DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
This is a first action on the merits based on Applicant’s claims submitted 5/09/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/01/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Applicant is respectfully reminded of the duty to disclose 37 C.F.R. 1.56 all pertinent information and material pertaining to the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention, by continuing to submitting in a timely manner PTO-1449, Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) with the filing of applicant’s application or thereafter.
Specification
The specification filed on 5/09/2025 has been reviewed and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 112
Claims 2-5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2, the limitation reading “wherein the one or more code review features comprise…” lacks proper antecedent basis. Claim 2 depends on claim 1. Claim 1 recites the following: “obtaining feature data that comprises at least one of: (1) one or more code review features…(2) one or more process tracking features….; or (3) one or more text mining features…”. Since claim language only requires “at least one of”, in the instance that “(1) one or more code review features” is not applied to the invention, then claim 2 lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3, the limitation reading “wherein the one or more process tracking features comprise…” lacks proper antecedent basis. Claim 3 depends on claim 1. Claim 1 recites the following: “obtaining feature data that comprises at least one of: (1) one or more code review features…(2) one or more process tracking features….; or (3) one or more text mining features…”. Since claim language only requires “at least one of”, in the instance that “(2) one or more process tracking features” is not applied to the invention, then claim 3 lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4, the limitation reading “wherein the predetermined set of source code elements comprise…” lacks proper antecedent basis. Claim 4 depends on claim 1. Claim 1 recites the following: “obtaining feature data that comprises at least one of: (1) one or more code review features…(2) one or more process tracking features….; or (3) one or more text mining features…”. Since claim language only requires “at least one of”, in the instance that “(3) one or more text mining features” is not applied to the invention, then claim 4 lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5, the limitation reading “wherein the one or more text mining features comprise…” lacks proper antecedent basis. Claim 5 depends on claim 1. Claim 1 recites the following: “obtaining feature data that comprises at least one of: (1) one or more code review features…(2) one or more process tracking features….; or (3) one or more text mining features…”. Since claim language only requires “at least one of”, in the instance that “(3) one or more text mining features” is not applied to the invention, then claim 5 lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 16-18, 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woulfe (US 2020/0341755 A1) in view of Kim et al. (NPL: “Classifying software changes: Clean or buggy?”, hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, Woulfe teaches:
1. A computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving an updated snapshot of a source code file (par 26; i.e. changed code) that comprises a change to an existing snapshot of the source code file maintained at a code repository for a software project (par 25-26, i.e. a pull request [which notifies of changes made to the source code -- see par [0015] and [0023]] associated with the source code is extracted);
obtaining feature data (par 26, i.e. feature extraction) that comprises at least one of:
(1) one or more code review features that characterize interactions between (a) a developer of the updated snapshot and (b) one or more reviewers of the updated snapshot (par 26; i.e. code feature extraction and peer feature extraction, see also par 27);
(2) one or more process tracking features that characterize historical changes to the source code file (par 26; i.e. token sequence 126 contains the context of the changed code and lines of source code preceding the change and succeeding the change); or
(3) one or more text mining features that characterize semantic similarities between (a) source code elements extracted by parsing the updated snapshot and (b) a predetermined set of source code elements (par 65; i.e. features represent context of the changed source code include code fragments and they also include “method, class, interface, and/or namespace”);
Even though Woulfe processes the feature data for identification of approved reviewers, Kim further teaches:
processing the feature data using a machine learning model to generate a classification output that classifies the updated snapshot into one of a plurality of categories (Kim: page 184, Section 2.5 Summary: “Bug-introducing changes allow us to label changes as buggy or clean”); and
performing, based on the classification output, an action with respect to the updated snapshot (Kim: page 193, Section 8.1 Potential Applications of Change Classification: “The classifier identifies buggy changes during commits of changes to an SCM system and notifies developers of the results.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to implement a classification output that classifies the updated snapshot into categories and performing an action based on the classification, as taught by Kim, to Woulfe’s invention. The motivation to do so would have been since bug prediction in the commit checker is immediate, which makes it easy for developers to inspect the change just made (Kim, page 193, Section 8.1 Potential Applications of Change Classification, ‘A commit checker’).
Regarding claim 2, same rationale for combination of Woulfe and Kim, which combined in claim 1, applies here as it encompasses same subject matter. Therefore, the combination of Woulfe and Kim teach:
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more code review features comprise at least one of:(1) a feature that measures a length of time elapsed between an initial creation of the updated snapshot and a final submission of the updated snapshot;(2) a feature that indicates a day of week when the updated snapshot is submitted;(3) a feature that indicates an hour of day when the updated snapshot is submitted; or (4) a feature that indicates how the updated snapshot is approved prior being submitted (Kim: page 187, Section 4.3.1 Feature Extraction from Change Metadata: “eight features from change metadata: author, commit hour (0, 1, 2, ..., 23), commit day (Sunday, Monday, ..., Saturday), cumulative change count, cumula tive bug count, length of change log, changed LOC (added delta LOC + deleted delta LOC), and new revision source code LOC. In other research, cumulative bug and change counts are commonly used as bug predictors”).
Regarding claim 3, same rationale for combination of Woulfe and Kim, which combined in claim 1, applies here as it encompasses same subject matter. Therefore, the combination of Woulfe and Kim teach:
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more process tracking features comprise at least one of: (1) a feature that measures a change in a volume of the source code file between a current time period and a previous time period; (2) a feature that measures a change in a number of snapshots of a particular category that have been submitted between the current time period and the previous time period; or (3) a feature that measures a change in a number of snapshots of a particular category that have been incorporated into the software project between the current time period and the previous time period (Kim: page 184, Section 3 Overview of the Change Classification Approach, Creating a corpus (Point number 4) “Features are extracted from all changes, both buggy and clean. Features include all terms in the complete source code, the lines modified in each change (delta), and change metadata such as author and change time.”).
Regarding claim 4, same rationale for combination of Woulfe and Kim, which combined in claim 1, applies here as it encompasses same subject matter. Therefore, the combination of Woulfe and Kim teach:
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the predetermined set of source code elements comprise one or more of: arithmetic operators, comparison operators, conditional operators, loop operators, assignment operators, logical operators, or memory access operators (Kim: page 184, Section 2.5 Summary ‘Uses Features from the source code’: “Change classification uses every term in the source code, that is, every variable, method call, operator, constant, comment text, and more, as features to train our change classification models.”).
Regarding claim 5, same rationale for combination of Woulfe and Kim, which combined in claim 1, applies here as it encompasses same subject matter. Therefore, the combination of Woulfe and Kim teach:
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more text mining features comprise, for each predetermined set of source code elements: a feature that represents a ratio between (i) a number of source code elements in the predetermined set that have been extracted from the updated snapshot and (ii) a total number of source code elements in all of the predetermined sets of source code elements (Kim: page 184, Section 3 Overview of the Change Classificaiton Approach, Creating a corpus (Point number 4) “Features are extracted from all changes, both buggy and clean. Features include all terms in the complete source code, the lines modified in each change (delta), and change metadata such as author and change time.”).
Regarding claim 6, same rationale for combination of Woulfe and Kim, which combined in claim 1, applies here as it encompasses same subject matter. Therefore, the combination of Woulfe and Kim teach:
6. The method of claim 1, wherein processing the feature data using the machine learning model to generate the classification output comprises: selecting the machine learning model from a plurality of machine learning models (Kim: page 184 Section 2.5 Summary, (under ‘Users features from the source code) “change classification models”) that comprise two or more of: machine learning model is one of: a decision tree model, a random forest model, a support vector machine model, a logistic regression mode, or a naive Bayes model (Kim: page 184 Section 3 Overview of the Change Classification Approach, (point number 5) “use of SVM”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Woulfe and Kim teach:
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the feature data further comprises profile features that characterize the developer or the one or more reviewers of the updated snapshot (Woulfe: par 27; i.e. features are related to the developer and the reviewers), the profile features comprising one or more of:(1) a feature that characterizes a trustworthiness of the developer; or (2) a feature that characterizes a trustworthiness of each of the or more reviewers (Woulfe: par 31: “The probabilities 222 are ranked and the recommended peers are associated with the top k probabilities”, see also par 48).
Regarding claim 9, same rationale for combination of Woulfe and Kim, which combined in claim 1, applies here as it encompasses same subject matter. Therefore, the combination of Woulfe and Kim teach:
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the feature data further comprises change complexity features that characterize a complexity of the change included in the updated snapshot (Kim: page 183, left column, first paragraph “complexity metrics”), the change complexity features comprising at least one of:(1) a feature that defines a total number of lines of source code added by the change to the existing snapshot of the source code file; or (2) a feature that defines a total number of lines of source code deleted by the change from the existing snapshot of the source code file (Kim: page 183, left column, third paragraph “the number of lines of added code”).
Regarding claim 10, same rationale for combination of Woulfe and Kim, which combined in claim 1, applies here as it encompasses same subject matter. Therefore, the combination of Woulfe and Kim teach:
10. The method of claim 1, wherein the feature data further comprises patch set complexity features that characterize a patch set complexity of the updated snapshot (Kim: page 188, Section 5.3 “good data set is derived by tracing bug fix changes back to bug-introducing changes. The set of bug-introducing (buggy) changes represents those bugs in the code that had sufficiently observable impacts to warrant their repair.”), the patch set complexity features comprising at least one of:(1) a feature that defines a total number of patch sets generated for the updated snapshot, each patch set generated as a result of a reviewing process;(2) a feature that defines a total number of line source code that are being added to the updated snapshot by the patch sets generated for the updated snapshot;(3) a feature that defines a total number of line source code that are being deleted from the updated snapshot by the patch sets generated for the updated snapshot; or (4) a feature that represents an average volume of edits to the updated snapshot across the patch sets (Kim: par 189: “the number of correctly classified changes over the total number of changes. This is a good overall measure of the predictive performance of change classification.”).
Regarding claim 11, same rationale for combination of Woulfe and Kim, which combined in claim 1, applies here as it encompasses same subject matter. Therefore, the combination of Woulfe and Kim teach:
11. The method of claim 1, wherein the feature data further comprises vulnerability history features that characterize vulnerability history of the source code file for the software project, wherein the vulnerability history features comprise a vulnerability history score of each of a plurality of source code files maintained at the code repository for the software project, and wherein the vulnerability history score of each of the plurality of source code files is dependent on number of snapshots of the source code file that have predetermined categories (Kim: page 186, right column, second paragraph: “Once a commit has been determined to contain a fix, it is possible to work backward in the revision history to determine the initial bug-introducing change. … The annotate function computes, for each line in the source code, the most recent revision in which the line was changed and the developer who made the change. The discovered origins are identified as bug-introducing changes.”).
Regarding claim 12, same rationale for combination of Woulfe and Kim, which combined in claim 1, applies here as it encompasses same subject matter. Therefore, the combination of Woulfe and Kim teach:
12. The method of claim 1, wherein performing, based on the classification output, the action with respect to the updated snapshot: when the updated snapshot is classified as a vulnerability fixing snapshot, incorporating the updated snapshot into the software project (Kim: page 187, left column, second paragraph: “a bug repair is split across multiple commits, with each commit modifying a separate section of the code (code sections are disjoint). Each separate change is tracked back to its initial bug-introducing change…”).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Woulfe and Kim teach:
16. The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a training dataset based on a list of source code changes and, for each source code change, a corresponding ground truth category, wherein the training dataset comprises a plurality of training inputs, each training input comprising features associated with each source code change in the list; and training the machine learning model on the training dataset to determine trained values of parameters of the machine learning model (Kim: page 184, Section 3 Overview of the Change Classification Approach, right column, (point number 4) “Features include all terms in the complete source code, the lines modified in each change (delta), and change metadata such as author and change time. Complexity metrics, if available, are computed at this step.”, and (point number 5) “Using the corpus, a classification model is trained”).
Regarding claim 17, the claims are set forth and rejected as it has been discussed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, the claims are set forth and rejected as it has been discussed in claim 12.
Regarding claim 20, the claims are set forth and rejected as it has been discussed in claim 1.
Claims 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woulfe (US 2020/0341755 A1) in view of Kim et al. (NPL: “Classifying software changes: Clean or buggy?”, hereinafter “Kim”) in further view of Jorgensen (NPL: “Putting it all in the trunk: Incremental software development in the FreeBSD open source project.”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Woulfe and Kim does not teach yet Jorgensen suggests:
13. The method of claim 12, wherein incorporating the updated snapshot into the software project comprises: bypassing security review of the updated snapshot prior to incorporating the updated snapshot into the software project (Jorgensen: page 328, fig. 1 “skipping review of a trivial bugfix”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have allowed a bypassing of review of the updated snapshot, as taught by Jorgansen, to the invention of Woulfe and Kim. The motivation to do so would have been in order to allow for exceptions of trivial bugfixes (Jorgensen: page 328).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 14-15, 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
Prior art of record teaches the following:
Woulfe (US 2020/0341755 A1) teaches deep learning model is trained on historical pull requests to automatically identify appropriate reviewers to review source code from one or more source code repositories. The model is trained on features that are based on past pull requests from the source code repositories and that represent the context of the syntactic representation of the changed code. The model learns patterns found in the changed source code and of the past peers associated with the changed source code to relate certain source code fragments with certain peers. The model generates probabilities based on the learned patterns which are used to identify appropriate reviewers more suitable to review the source code.
Kim et al. (NPL: Classifying Software Changes: Clean or Buggy?) teaches a new technique for predicting latent software bugs, called change classification. Change classification uses a machine learning classifier to determine whether a new software change is more similar to prior buggy changes or clean changes. In this manner, change classification predicts the existence of bugs in software changes. The classifier is trained using features (in the machine learning sense) extracted from the revision history of a software project stored in its software configuration management repository. The trained classifier can classify changes as buggy or clean, with a 78 percent accuracy and a 60 percent buggy change recall on average. Change classification has several desirable qualities: 1) The prediction granularity is small (a change to a single file), 2) predictions do not require semantic information about the source code, 3) the technique works for a broad array of project types and programming languages, and 4) predictions can be made immediately upon the completion of a change. Contributions of this paper include a description of the change classification approach, techniques for extracting features from the source code and change histories, a characterization of the performance of change classification across 12 open source projects, and an evaluation of the predictive power of different groups of features.
Jorgensen (NPL: Putting it all in the trunk: incremental software development in the FreeBSD open source project) teaches software development in the FreeBSD project is incremental in the sense that a stream of contributions, including bugfixes and minor and major new features, go into a single branch in the repository, the development branch (or ‘trunk’),and are required to preserve the software in a working state. This creates a succession of development releases, akin to the practice of frequent releasing argued by Eric S. Raymond in his essay ‘The Cathedral and the Bazaar’ to be the key to the success of Linux and other open source projects. The positive and negative impact of this approach is discussed based on a survey involving 72 project participants. On the positive side, the data indicate that it creates a highly motivating ‘see bug, fix bug, see bug fixed in new release’ life cycle, and helps integrate bug fixing with new development. On the negative side, the data indicates that the highly incremental model does not support the development of complex new features
However, none of the prior art of record teach by themselves or in any combination nor would have anticipated nor render obvious by combination the claimed invention of the present invention at or before the time it was filed. The prior art of record is silent on "receiving an updated snapshot of a source code file that comprises a change to an existing snapshot of the source code file maintained at a code repository for a software project; obtaining feature data that comprises at least one of:(1) one or more code review features that characterize interactions between (a) a developer of the updated snapshot and (b) one or more reviewers of the updated snapshot;(2) one or more process tracking features that characterize historical changes to the source code file; or (3) one or more text mining features that characterize semantic similarities between (a) source code elements extracted by parsing the updated snapshot and (b) a predetermined set of source code elements; processing the feature data using a machine learning model to generate a classification output that classifies the updated snapshot into one of a plurality of categories; and performing, based on the classification output, an action with respect to the updated snapshot [claim 7] wherein the plurality of categories comprise:(1) a vulnerability inducing snapshot that adds a new vulnerability to the existing snapshot;(2) a vulnerability fixing snapshot that fixes an existing vulnerability of the existing snapshot; and (3) a likely normal snapshot that is unlikely to add a new vulnerability to the existing snapshot [claim 14] wherein performing, based on the classification output, the action with respect to the updated snapshot: when the updated snapshot is classified as a vulnerability inducing snapshot, blocking the updated snapshot from being incorporated into the software project.", in combination with all other claim limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See form PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
(1) Drissi et al. (US 2007/0168946 A1) teaches collaborative software development systems and methods providing automated programming assistance.
(2) Henrikensen et al. (US 2015/0324195 A1) teaches source code violation matching and attribution.
(3) Koshelev (US 2020/0104240 A1) teaches source code management systems and methods.
(4) Nidugala et al. (US 2023/0401144 A1) teaches context-based test suite generation as a service.
(5) Stelmar Netto et al. (US 2024/0053980 A1) teaches shortened narrative instruction generator for software code change.
(6) Panicker et al. (US 2024/0169069 A1) teaches method and system for identifying an optimizes det of code commits to perform vulnerability remediation.
/LIZBETH TORRES-DIAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408
/October 28, 2026/
/ltd/