DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hack et. al. [2022/0358877].
Regarding claim 1, Hack teaches:
An additive display device comprising: a first light source corresponding to a first color channel that represents a first color primary; a second light source corresponding to a second color channel that represents a second color primary [§0048, note RGB subpixels];
and a transparent display for displaying the first color channel and the second color channel [§0021, note transparent display];
herein at least one of the first color primary or the second color primary is selected for visibility of an image displayed on the transparent display when superimposed with light viewed through the transparent display [§0082, note color change in response to ambient light conditions].
Claims 2-11 and 17 pertain to specific colors or color ranges to be displayed on the screen. Such claim elements are statements of intended use to the device/method, and as such do not have patentable weight.
Regarding claim 12, Hack teaches:
a color selective filter configured to attenuate light corresponding to at least one of the first color primary or the second color primary [§0039, note “Hyperbolic metamaterials, on the other hand, are anisotropic media in which the permittivity or permeability are of different sign for different spatial directions”]
Regarding claim 13 and 18, Hack teaches:
wherein the color selective filter corresponds to at least one of: a fixed filter; a dynamic filter that changes an amount of light attenuation over time; a filter that produces substantially uniform light attenuation across space; a filter that varies light attenuation across space to create a spatial pattern of light attenuation [§0039, note “Hyperbolic metamaterials, on the other hand, are anisotropic media in which the permittivity or permeability are of different sign for different spatial directions”]; a spatial light modulator stacked with a static color filter; a spatial light modulator that attenuates a first wavelength of light more than a second wavelength of light; a reflective element that is reflective for at least one of the first color primary or the second color primary; or a polarization-selective filter.
Regarding claims 14 and 19, Hack teaches:
further comprising a third light source corresponding to a third color channel that represents a third color primary [§0048, note RGB subpixels];
Regarding claim 16, Hack teaches:
A system comprising: a first light source corresponding to a first color channel that represents a first color primary; a second light source corresponding to a second color channel that represents a second color primary [§0048, note RGB subpixels];
and a transparent display for displaying the first color channel and the second color channel [§0021, note transparent display];
wherein at least one of the first color primary or the second color primary is selected for visibility of an image displayed on the transparent display when superimposed with light viewed through the transparent display [§0082, note color change in response to ambient light conditions].
Regarding claim 20, Hack teaches:
A computer-implemented method comprising: receiving image data having an output color for a display unit element represented by a first color channel and a second color channel [§0048, note RGB subpixels];
displaying, on a transparent display medium for the display unit element, a first color primary light with a first intensity based on the first color channel of the image data; and displaying, on the transparent display medium for the display unit element, a second color primary light with a second intensity based on the second color channel of the image data [§0021, note transparent display].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Li et. al. [2020/0273413], Yu et. al. [10,217,392] and Masuyama [2018/0033395].
/ANDREW SASINOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625