DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group 1 claims 1-18 and 20 in the reply filed on 08/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the first to fourth coil units". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is noted that it appears that claim 13 should depend on claim 12 and not claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 9-11, 14, 15, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Enomoto (U.S. Pub. No. 20070058958).
Regarding claim 1, Enomoto discloses:
A camera module comprising:
a stationary part (all of stationary support side-member 29 within stage apparatus 20 fixed to the camera body, spacers 21 and 22, and recesses 25 and 26, where pair of spacers 21 and 22 are connected to each other by the stationary support side-member 29 and the pair of spacers 21 and 22 are provided on front surfaces thereof with a pair of front mounting recesses 25 and 26, all of which are stationary as they are directly connected, par. 50, 52, and Figs. 3-5) comprising a magnet (permanent magnet (first plate magnet) 63 on a rear surface of an X-axis direction plate portion 61 of the front yoke 60 that faces an X-axis direction plate portion 66 of the rear yoke 63, which is fixed to the rear surface of the X-axis direction plate portion 61, and permanent magnet (second plate magnet) 64 on a rear surface of a Y-axis direction plate portion 62 of the front yoke 60 that faces a Y-axis direction plate portion 67 of the rear yoke 65, which is fixed to the rear surface of the Y-axis direction plate portion 62, where Y-axis direction plate portion 62 of the front yoke 60 is engaged in the pair of front mounting recesses 25 and 26 of the stage apparatus 20 to be fixed thereto, par. 59, 61, and Figs. 3-5);
a movable part (movable portion 100 which includes mounting portion 37, the support enclosure 38 and the lower mounting portion 39, where camera shake correction apparatus 15 is provided in the support enclosure 38 and the camera shake correction apparatus 15 is provided immediately behind the support enclosure 38 with a coil substrate 50 where the image pickup device 11 and other components are connected to coil substrate 50, and which are supported by the stage apparatus 20 to be movable in the X-Y axis directions, par. 55, 56) comprising:
a first circuit board disposed so as to be spaced apart from the stationary part (coil substrate 50, with image pickup device 11 fixed to a central portion of the front surface of the coil substrate 50, is supported by the stage apparatus 20 to be movable in the X-Y axis directions, par. 56 and Figs. 3-5);
a holder disposed on the first circuit board (upper projection 52 and a right projection 53 project from an upper end and a right end of the coil substrate 50, respectively, par. 58 and Figs. 3-5);
a coil disposed on the holder so as to face the magnet (X-axis direction planar drive coil CX is, e.g., printed as a printed coil pattern on a front surface of the upper projection 52 and Y-axis direction planar drive coil CY is fixed to a front surface of the right projection 53 to surround the X-axis direction Hall element 54, where X-axis direction planar drive coil CX and the permanent magnet 64 are elongated in the Y-axis direction and the Y-axis direction planar drive coil CY and the permanent magnet 63 are elongated in the X-axis direction so that magnetic forces moving the coil substrate 50 parallel to itself in the X-Y axis directions act on the coil substrate 50, and as can be seen in Fig. 5 the X-axis direction planar drive coil CX faces permanent magnet 64 and the Y-axis direction planar drive coil CY faces permanent magnet 63, par. 58 and Figs. 3-5): and
a position sensor disposed on the first circuit board so as to face the magnet (X-axis direction Hall element (X-axis direction position sensor) 54 is fixed to a front surface of the upper projection 52, while a Y-axis direction Hall element (Y-axis direction position sensor) 55 is fixed to a front surface of the right projection 53, where X-axis direction Hall element 54 is adopted to detect variations in magnetic flux in the vicinity of the border between the N-pole and the S-pole of the permanent magnet 63 to obtain information on the position of the coil substrate 50 in the X-axis direction, and the Y-axis direction Hall element 55 is adopted to detect variations in magnetic flux in the vicinity of the border between the N-pole and the S-pole of the permanent magnet 64 to obtain information on the position of the coil substrate 50 in the Y-axis direction, and where in Fig. 5 is can be seen that X-axis direction Hall element (X-axis direction position sensor) 54 faces permanent magnet (first plate magnet) 63 and Y-axis direction Hall element (Y-axis direction position sensor) 55 faces permanent magnet (second plate magnet) 64, par. 58, 59, and Figs. 3-5); and
a support member coupled both to the stationary part and to the movable part (pair of X-axis direction leaf springs 30 and 31 and pair of Y-axis direction leaf springs (right and left resilient leaves) 34 and 35 between the movable portion 100 and stage apparatus 20 fixed to the camera body, par. 52-54, 61, 67, 71, 74, and Figs. 3-5),
wherein the movable part is configured to be moved in a direction perpendicular to an optical-axis direction by the interaction between the magnet and the coil (X-axis direction planar drive coil CX and the permanent magnet 64 are elongated in the Y-axis direction and the Y-axis direction planar drive coil CY and the permanent magnet 63 are elongated in the X-axis direction so that magnetic forces moving the coil substrate 50 parallel to itself in the X-Y axis directions act on the coil substrate 50, par. 60), and the coil does not overlap the position sensor in the direction perpendicular to the optical-axis direction (as seen in Fig. 4 the Y-axis direction planar drive coil CY does not overlap X-axis direction Hall element (X-axis direction position sensor) 54 in a left-right/optical axis O direction (similarly for X-axis direction planar drive coil CX and Y-axis direction Hall element (Y-axis direction position sensor) 55), and where X-axis direction planar drive coil CX is printed as a printed coil pattern on a front surface of the projection to surround the Y-axis direction Hall element 55 and Y-axis direction planar drive coil CY is printed as a printed coil pattern on a front surface of the projection to surround the X-axis direction Hall element 54, see par. 58 and Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 2, Enomoto further discloses:
position sensor is disposed on the first circuit board (upper projection 52 and a right projection 53 project from an upper end and a right end of the coil substrate 50, where X-axis direction Hall element (X-axis direction position sensor) 54 is fixed to a front surface of the upper projection 52, while a Y-axis direction Hall element (Y-axis direction position sensor) 55 is fixed to a front surface of the right projection 53, par. 58), and does not overlap the coil in the optical-axis direction (X-axis direction planar drive coil CX surrounds the Y-axis direction Hall element 55 and Y-axis direction planar drive coil CY surrounds the X-axis direction Hall element 54, where the X-axis direction planar drive coil CX does not overlap the Y-axis direction Hall element 55 in the optical axis O and Y-axis direction planar drive coil CY does not overlap the X-axis direction Hall element 54 in the optical axis O, par. 58 and Fig. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 5, Enomoto further discloses:
coil has a hole formed in a center thereof, and the position sensor is disposed under the hole of the coil, and overlaps the hole of the coil in the optical-axis direction (X-axis direction planar drive coil CX surrounds the Y-axis direction Hall element 55 where the Hall element 55 is under X-axis direction planar drive coil CX when the coil substrate 50 is considered to be above in the optical axis O direction, and Y-axis direction planar drive coil CY surrounds the X-axis direction Hall element 54 where the Hall element 54 is under Y-axis direction planar drive coil CY when the coil substate 50 is considered to be above in the optical axis O direction, par. 58 and Fig. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 9, Enomoto further discloses:
holder comprises a coupling protrusion projecting from an upper surface thereof, and the coil is coupled to the coupling protrusion (printing on upper projection 52 and printing on right projection 53, where X-axis direction planar drive coil CX is printed as a printed coil pattern and Y-axis direction planar drive coil CY is printed as a printed coil pattern, par. 58).
Regarding claim 10, Enomoto further discloses:
a lens module disposed above the first circuit board (light transmitted through the lenses L1 through L3 is converged onto the imaging surface 12 of the image pickup device 11 (on coil substrate 50) through the optical low-pass filter 45 to form an image on the imaging surface 12, par. 56 and 65); and
a filter disposed between the lens module and the image sensor (optical low-pass filter 45, where light transmitted through the lenses L1 through L3 is converged onto the imaging surface 12 of the image pickup device 11 through the optical low-pass filter 45 to form an image on the imaging surface 12, par. 65).
Regarding claim 11, Enomoto further discloses:
movable part comprises an image sensor disposed on the first circuit board (image pickup device 11 fixed to a central portion of the front surface of the coil substrate 50, par. 56 and Figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 14, Enomoto further discloses:
coil is disposed on an upper surface of the holder (X-axis direction planar drive coil CX is on a front surface of the upper projection 52 and Y-axis direction planar drive coil CY is fixed to a front surface of the right projection 53, par. 58 and Figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 15, Enomoto further discloses:
holder comprises a part which is overlapped with the coil in the optical-axis direction and contacts the coil (X-axis direction planar drive coil CX is on a front surface of the upper projection 52 and Y-axis direction planar drive coil CY is fixed to a front surface of the right projection 53, par. 58 and Figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 17, Enomoto further discloses:
coil is configured to have the form of a closed curve shape or a ring shape (X-axis direction planar drive coil CX and Y-axis direction planar drive coil CY are in the shape of a closed curve or ring shape, par. 58 and Figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 20, see the rejection of claim 1 and note that the limitations of claim 20 were shown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enomoto (U.S. Pub. No. 20070058958).
Regarding claim 3, Enomoto further discloses:
a second circuit board disposed so as to be spaced apart from the first circuit board (although not shown in the drawings, electric supply lines and signal lines which are respectively connected to a power supply and a control board of the digital camera 10 are connected to the coil substrate 50, par. 57).
Enomoto is silent with regards to stationary part comprises the second circuit board. Official Notice is taken that it was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention stationary part comprises the second circuit board in the form of a processor circuit board mounted to be stationary in a camera away from an image sensor and lens module. This is advantageous in that image sensor and lens module can be made compact within a camera body. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include stationary part comprises the second circuit board.
Regarding claim 4, while Enomoto discloses the leaf springs as a support member as shown Enomoto is silent with regards to one end of the support member is coupled to the second circuit board and the other end of the support member is coupled to the first circuit board. Official Notice is taken that it was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include using conductive leaf springs in a moveable image sensor apparatus, such as Enomoto, so that one end of the support member is coupled to the second circuit board and the other end of the support member is coupled to the first circuit board. This is advantageous in that a number of parts can be reduced as the conductive leaf springs double both as a spring and transmitter of electrical power/signals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include one end of the support member is coupled to the second circuit board and the other end of the support member is coupled to the first circuit board.
Note that the second circuit board was previously shown.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 12, 16, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, no prior art could be located that teaches or fairly suggests holder has a through hole corresponding to the position sensor in the optical-axis direction, and the position sensor is disposed in the through hole of the holder, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim and limitations of the parent claim.
Claims 7 and 8 depend on claim 6 and therefore are objected to.
Regarding claim 12, no prior art could be located that teaches or fairly suggests coil comprises first to fourth coil units which are respectively disposed at first to fourth corners of the holder, wherein the magnet comprises a first magnet corresponding to the first coil unit, a second magnet corresponding to the second coil unit, a third magnet corresponding to the third coil unit, and a fourth magnet corresponding to the fourth coil unit, and wherein the position sensor comprises a first sensor disposed under the first coil unit, a second sensor disposed under the second coil unit, and a third sensor disposed under the third coil unit, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim and limitations of the parent claim.
Regarding claim 16, no prior art could be located that teaches or fairly suggests coil is disposed under the magnet, and the holder is disposed under the coil, and the first circuit board is disposed under the holder, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim and parent claim.
Regarding claim 18, no prior art could be located that teaches or fairly suggests first circuit board is coupled to the holder, and wherein an upper surface of the first circuit board is coupled to a lower surface of the holder, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim and parent claim.
Conclusion
Regarding claim(s) 13, taking into consideration the indefiniteness described in the 35 USC 112 rejection(s) above and that it appears that claim 13 should depend on claim 12 and not claim 9, no prior art could be found and applied as a prior art rejection.
/NICHOLAS G GILES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639