DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to the original application filed on 05/09/2025.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statements received 05/09/2025 and 06/03/2026 has been reviewed and considered.
Priority
This patent Application is a continuation of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982, which claims priority from Provisional 63/085,284 filed 09/30/2020. This benefit has been received and acknowledged and therefore, the instant claims receive the effective filing date of 09/30/2020.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 19, and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 19, and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982 contain all of the limitations recited in claim 1 of the current application as follows:
Claim 1 of Current Application
Claims 1, 19, and 6 of Parent Application 12,321,982
causing, one or more computing devices that each include a processor and memory, display of a first user interface of a portal, the first user interface including one or more user interface elements to capture product information corresponding to a product offered for purchase by an entity;
determining, by at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a classification that corresponds to the product;
determining, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices and based on the classification that corresponds to the product, an augmented reality content item template;
determining, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, first information included in the product information that corresponds to a first region of the augmented reality content item template and second information included in the product information that corresponds to a second region of the augmented reality content item template; and
causing, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, display of a second user interface including a preview of an augmented reality content item that includes the first region populated by the first information and the second region populated by the second information, wherein the preview is accessible to a computing device of the entity offering the product for purchase
generating, by one or more computing devices that each include a processor and memory, an augmented reality content item template that corresponds to a classification of products offered for purchase by a group of entities, the augmented reality content item template corresponding to an arrangement of a number of regions to display a set of information related to the products;
…
responsive to obtaining the information about the product, analyzing, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, the information about the product to determine that the classification corresponds to the product;
responsive to determining that the classification corresponds to the product, causing, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, display of a second user interface that includes one or more additional user interface elements that corresponds to a selection of the augmented reality content item template from among a plurality of content item templates that correspond to the classification;
determining, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, information included in the set of information related to the product that corresponds to a first region and a second region of the augmented reality content item template, wherein the first region corresponds to static content included in the set of information related to the product and the second region corresponds to animated content included in the set of information related to the product;
…
sending, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, the data package to a client device executing an instance of the client application in response to selection of a second user interface element corresponding to the augmented reality content item.
19. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 18, further comprising additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors, cause the one or more hardware processors to perform additional operations comprising:
generating one or more user interfaces of a portal that is accessible to the group of entities, the one or more user interfaces including entity user interface elements to capture product information of one or more products offered for purchase by the group of entities and to capture information used to determine augmented reality content item templates that correspond to the one or more products,
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising generating, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a preview of the third user interface that includes the first region populated by the static content and the second region populated by the animated content, wherein the preview is accessible to a computing device of the entity offering the product for purchase
Claim 10 recites limitations directed towards a system. The limitations recited in claim 10 are parallel in nature to those addressed above for claim 1, and are therefore rejected for those same reasons set forth above in claim 1.
Claim 18 recites limitations directed towards one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media. The limitations recited in claim 18 are parallel in nature to those addressed above for claim 1, and are therefore rejected for those same reasons set forth above in claim 1.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982 in view of Wassmann et al. (US 2009/0222485 A1) hereinafter Wassmann as follows:
Claim 2 of Current Application
Claim 1 of Parent Application 12,321,982
wherein the augmented reality content item template indicates one or more first identifiers of a first type of content to be located in the first region of the augmented reality content item template and one or more second identifiers of a second type of content to be located in the second region of the augmented reality content item template
determining, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, information included in the set of information related to the product that corresponds to a first region and a second region of the augmented reality content item template, wherein the first region corresponds to static content included in the set of information related to the product and the second region corresponds to animated content included in the set of information related to the product
Patent No. 12,321,982 does not explicitly teach that the augmented reality content item template indicates one or more first identifiers of a first type of content to be located in the first region of the augmented reality content item template and one or more second identifiers of a second type of content to be located in the second region of the augmented reality content item template.
Wassmann, however, teaches classifying information for display to users (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of the content item template indicating one or more first identifiers of a first type of content to be located in the first region of the content item template and one or more second identifiers of a second type of content to be located in the second region of the content item template (Wassmann, see at least: “the module 204 captures and/or formats the content of the product information for identifying/defining and categorizing appropriate product definitions 107 (e.g. product advertisements) for storage in the database 110. For example, each advertisement is classified based on predefined classification categories 205 that match extracted data units from the content of the product information 108. Each of the data units (and corresponding classification 205) is stored a corresponding field of a record in the electronic database 110 that pertains to the product definition 107, which is labelled by the unique identifier 111. Further, the textual content and the layout and/or the position of the data in the product definition 107 (for display in the user interface 302 of the consumer's device--see FIG. 3) can be included in the database 110 [i.e. the content item template indicates one or more first identifiers of a first type of content to be located in the first region of the content item template and one or more second identifiers of a second type of content to be located in the second region of the content item template]” [0038]). This known technique is applicable to the method of Patent No. 12,321,982 as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to classifying information for display to users.
It would have been recognized that applying the known technique of the content item template indicating one or more first identifiers of a first type of content to be located in the first region of the content item template and one or more second identifiers of a second type of content to be located in the second region of the content item template, as taught by Wassmann, to the teachings of Patent No. 12,321,982 would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such references into similar methods. Further, adding the modification of the content item template indicating one or more first identifiers of a first type of content to be located in the first region of the content item template and one or more second identifiers of a second type of content to be located in the second region of the content item template, as taught by Wassmann, into the method of Patent No. 12,321,982 would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved method that would coordinate the generation of advertisements for electronic publication (Wassmann, [0002]).
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982 in view of Wassmann et al. (US 2009/0222485 A1) hereinafter Wassmann as follows:
Claim 3 of Current Application
Claim 1 of Parent Application 12,321,982
parsing, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, one or more databases based on the one or more first identifiers to extract the first information from the product information stored by the one or more databases; and
parsing, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, the one or more databases based on the one or more second identifiers to extract the second information from the product information stored by the one or more databases
parsing, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices and in response to receiving the template input, a product information data store to obtain information about the product;
…
generating, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a data package that includes (i) a storage location identifier to retrieve the static content and the animated content in conjunction with execution of the augmented reality content item and (ii) computer-readable instructions of the augmented reality content item causing display of a third user interface that includes at least one of image content or video content captured by a camera, the static content displayed in relation to the first region of the augmented reality content item template, and the animated content displayed in relation to the second region of the augmented reality content item template; and
Patent No. 12,321,982 does not explicitly teach parsing the one or more databases based on the one or more second identifiers to extract the second information.
Wassmann, however, teaches classifying information for display to users (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of parsing, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, the one or more databases based on the one or more second identifiers to extract the second information from the product information stored by the one or more databases (Wassmann, see at least: “The classification module 204 can also contain a product definition 107 generation engine 121 that parses product information 108 obtained directly from a vendor database 115 (e.g. a Dealer Management System containing vehicle descriptions and vehicle availability/inventory) and then using the predefined template 203 to extract the desired advertisement details from the vendor database 115 [i.e. parsing, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, the one or more databases based on the one or more second identifiers to extract the second information from the product information stored by the one or more databases] and then send the extracted product details to the Web portal (i.e. the aggregation module 200) for assignment of the unique identifier 111. This engine 121 provides for the vendor to tie into product inventory levels and to have product definitions 107 built directly for online display to the consumer 104 via the network interface module 202. The vendor database 115 could have indicators coupled to selected products, and/or product data subsets, which would direct the engine 121 on which products/data to use for creation of the product definitions 107” [0039] and “the module 204 captures and/or formats the content of the product information for identifying/defining and categorizing appropriate product definitions 107 (e.g. product advertisements) for storage in the database 110. For example, each advertisement is classified based on predefined classification categories 205 that match extracted data units from the content of the product information 108. Each of the data units (and corresponding classification 205) is stored a corresponding field of a record in the electronic database 110 that pertains to the product definition 107, which is labelled by the unique identifier 111. Further, the textual content and the layout and/or the position of the data in the product definition 107 [i.e. based on the one or more second identifiers] (for display in the user interface 302 of the consumer's device--see FIG. 3) can be included in the database 110” [0038]). This known technique is applicable to the method of Patent No. 12,321,982 as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to classifying information for display to users.
It would have been recognized that applying the known technique of parsing, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, the one or more databases based on the one or more second identifiers to extract the second information from the product information stored by the one or more databases, as taught by Wassmann, to the teachings of Patent No. 12,321,982 would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such references into similar methods. Further, adding the modification of parsing, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, the one or more databases based on the one or more second identifiers to extract the second information from the product information stored by the one or more databases, as taught by Wassmann, into the method of Patent No. 12,321,982 would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved method that would coordinate the generation of advertisements for electronic publication (Wassmann, [0002]).
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982 in view of Charlton et al. (US 9,980,100 B1) hereinafter Charlton as follows:
Claim 4 of Current Application
Claim 1 of Parent Application 12,321,982
generating, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a data package that includes (i) a first storage location identifier of the first information, (ii) a second storage location identifier of the second information, and (iii) computer-readable instructions of the augmented reality content item that are executable to:
retrieve the first information based on the first storage location identifier,
retrieve the second information based on the second storage location identifier; and
cause display of an additional user interface that includes the first information displayed in the first region of the augmented reality content item and the second information displayed in the second region of the augmented reality content item
generating, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a data package that includes (i) a storage location identifier to retrieve the static content and the animated content in conjunction with execution of the augmented reality content item and (ii) computer-readable instructions of the augmented reality content item causing display of a third user interface that includes at least one of image content or video content captured by a camera, the static content displayed in relation to the first region of the augmented reality content item template, and the animated content displayed in relation to the second region of the augmented reality content item template; and
sending, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, the data package to a client device executing an instance of the client application in response to selection of a second user interface element corresponding to the augmented reality content item
Patent No. 12,321,982 does not explicitly teach a second storage location identifier of the second information, retrieve the first information based on the first storage location identifier, and retrieve the second information based on the second storage location identifier.
Charlton, however, teaches select imagery for presentation (i.e. abstract) including the known technique of generating, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a data package that includes (i) a first storage location identifier of the first information, (ii) a second storage location identifier of the second information (Charlton, see at least: “FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram illustrating a structure of a message 400, according to some embodiments, generated by a messaging client application 104 [i.e. generating, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a data package] for communication to a further messaging client application 104 or the messaging server application 114. The content of a particular message 400 is used to populate the message table 314 stored within the database 120, accessible by the messaging server application 114. Similarly, the content of a message 400 is stored in memory as “in-transit” or “in-flight” data of the client device 102 or the application server 112. The message 400 is shown to include the following components: A message identifier 402 [i.e. (i) a first storage location identifier of the first information]: a unique identifier that identifies the message 400. A message text payload 404: text, to be generated by a user via a user interface of the client device 102 and that is included in the message 400. A message image payload 406: image data [i.e. (ii) a second storage location identifier of the second information] captured by a camera component of a client device 102 or retrieved from memory of a client device 102, and that is included in the message 400. A message video payload 408: video data captured by a camera component or retrieved from a memory component of the client device 102, and that is included in the message 400. A message audio payload 410: audio data captured by a microphone or retrieved from the memory component of the client device 102, and that is included in the message 400. Message annotations 412: annotation data (e.g., filters, stickers, or other enhancements) that represents annotations to be applied to the message image payload 406, message video payload 408, or message audio payload 410 of the message 400. A message duration parameter 414: a parameter value indicating, in seconds, the amount of time for which content of the message 400 (e.g., the message image payload 406, message video payload 408, and message audio payload 410) is to be presented or made accessible to a user via the messaging client application 104” Col. 9 Ln. 26-64 and Fig. 4), and (iii) computer-readable instructions of the augmented reality content item that are executable to:
the known technique of retrieving the first information based on the first storage location identifier (Charlton, see at least: “The contents (e.g., values) of the various components of the message 400 may be pointers to locations in tables within which content data values are stored [i.e. retrieve the first information based on the first storage location identifier]” Col. 10 Ln. 32-34), and
the known technique of retrieving the second information based on the second storage location identifier (Charlton, see at least: “The contents (e.g., values) of the various components of the message 400 may be pointers to locations in tables within which content data values are stored [i.e. retrieve the second information based on the second storage location identifier]” Col. 10 Ln. 32-34). These known techniques are applicable to the method of Patent No. 12,321,982 as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to select imagery for presentation.
It would have been recognized that applying the known techniques of generating, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a data package that includes (i) a first storage location identifier of the first information, (ii) a second storage location identifier of the second information, and (iii) computer-readable instructions of the augmented reality content item that are executable to: retrieving the first information based on the first storage location identifier, and retrieving the second information based on the second storage location identifier, as taught by Charlton, to the teachings of Patent No. 12,321,982 would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such references into similar methods. Further, adding the modifications of generating, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a data package that includes (i) a first storage location identifier of the first information, (ii) a second storage location identifier of the second information, and (iii) computer-readable instructions of the augmented reality content item that are executable to: retrieving the first information based on the first storage location identifier, and retrieving the second information based on the second storage location identifier, as taught by Charlton, into the method of Patent No. 12,321,982 would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved method that would leverage visual cues of the environment surrounding the client device to select content (Charlton, Col. 2 Ln. 54-55).
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982 contain all of the limitations recited in claim 5 of the current application as follows:
Claim 5 of Current Application
Claim 1 of Parent Application 12,321,982
wherein the augmented reality content item indicates a location of user content in relation to the first region of the augmented reality content item and the second region of the augmented reality content item
…
generating, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, an augmented reality content item based on the augmented reality content item template and based on the set of information related to the product, the augmented reality content item causing display of the set of information related to the product in the number of regions in relation to user content generated by a client application
…
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982 contain all of the limitations recited in claim 6 of the current application as follows:
Claim 6 of Current Application
Claim 2 of Parent Application 12,321,982
obtaining, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a product catalog including information corresponding to one or more products offered by the entity for purchase, the product catalog indicating one or more characteristics of individual products of the one or more products and the product being included in the one or more products; and
determining, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, that the product corresponds to the classification based on at least one characteristic of the product included in the product catalog
obtaining, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a product catalog including at least a portion of the information about the product, the product catalog corresponding to one or more products offered by the entity for purchase, the product catalog indicating one or more characteristics of individual products of the one or more products and the product being included in the one or more products; and
determining, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, that the product corresponds to the classification based on at least one characteristic of the product included in the product catalog
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982 contain all of the limitations recited in claim 7 of the current application as follows:
Claim 7 of Current Application
Claim 3 of Parent Application 12,321,982
the classification is one classification of a plurality of classifications of a classification system of products offered for purchase by one or more entities; and
individual classifications of the classification system correspond to a group of augmented reality content item templates to generate augmented reality content items for products included in the individual classifications
the classification is one classification of a plurality of classifications of a classification system of products offered for purchase by one or more entities of the group of entities; and
individual classifications of the classification system correspond to a group of augmented reality content item templates to generate augmented reality content items for products included in the individual classifications
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982 contain all of the limitations recited in claim 8 of the current application as follows:
Claim 8 of Current Application
Claim 5 of Parent Application 12,321,982
wherein the augmented reality content item is executed with respect to a message sent between users of a client application
wherein the augmented reality content item is executed with respect to a message sent between users of the client application
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982 contain all of the limitations recited in claim 9 of the current application as follows:
Claim 9 of Current Application
Claim 1 of Parent Application 12,321,982
causing, by at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, display of an additional user interface including an additional user interface element to capture input indicating an identifier of the product;
wherein the classification of the product is determined based on the identifier of the product
causing, by at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, display of a first user interface including a first user interface element to capture template input, the template input indicating an identifier of a product offered for purchase by an entity;
parsing, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices and in response to receiving the template input, a product information data store to obtain information about the product;
responsive to obtaining the information about the product, analyzing, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, the information about the product to determine that the classification corresponds to the product;
responsive to determining that the classification corresponds to the product, causing, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, display of a second user interface that includes one or more additional user interface elements that corresponds to a selection of the augmented reality content item template from among a plurality of content item templates that correspond to the classification;
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982 contain all of the limitations recited in claim 11 of the current application as follows:
Claim 11 of Current Application
Claim 10 of Parent Application 12,321,982
the classification is one classification of a plurality of classifications for products available for purchase by users of a client application; and
individual classifications of the plurality of classifications are associated with one or more respective augmented reality content item templates
the classification is one classification of a plurality of classifications for products available for purchase by users of the client application; and
individual classifications of the plurality of classifications are associated with one or more respective augmented reality content item templates
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982 contain all of the limitations recited in claim 12 of the current application as follows:
Claim 12 of Current Application
Claims 1 and 6 of Parent Application 12,321,982
a first number of augmented reality content item templates correspond to a first classification of the plurality of classifications, the first number of augmented reality content item templates including one or more first regions to be populated by first information of a plurality of first products having the first classification; and
a second number of augmented reality content item templates correspond to a second classification of the plurality of classifications, the second number of augmented reality content item templates including one or more second regions to be populated by second information of a plurality of second products having the second classification, the second information being different from the first information
responsive to determining that the classification corresponds to the product, causing, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, display of a second user interface that includes one or more additional user interface elements that corresponds to a selection of the augmented reality content item template from among a plurality of content item templates that correspond to the classification;
determining, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, information included in the set of information related to the product that corresponds to a first region and a second region of the augmented reality content item template, wherein the first region corresponds to static content included in the set of information related to the product and the second region corresponds to animated content included in the set of information related to the product;
generating, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, an augmented reality content item based on the augmented reality content item template and based on the set of information related to the product, the augmented reality content item causing display of the set of information related to the product in the number of regions in relation to user content generated by a client application;
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising generating, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a preview of the third user interface that includes the first region populated by the static content and the second region populated by the animated content, wherein the preview is accessible to a computing device of the entity offering the product for purchase.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982 in view of Wassmann et al. (US 2009/0222485 A1) hereinafter Wassmann as follows:
Claim 13 of Current Application
Claim 12 of Parent Application 12,321,982
obtaining product information corresponding to a plurality of products offered by a plurality of entities for purchase by users of the client application;
performing a first analysis of first product information of the plurality of first products to determine that the plurality of first products corresponds to the first classification; and
performing a second analysis of second product information of the plurality of second products to determine that the plurality of second products corresponds to the second classification
performing a first analysis of first product information of the plurality of products to determine that a first portion of the plurality of products corresponds to a first classification; and
performing a second analysis of second product information of the plurality of products to determine that a second portion of the plurality of products corresponds to the second classification
Patent No. 12,321,982 does not explicitly teach obtaining product information corresponding to a plurality of products offered by a plurality of entities for purchase by users of the client application.
Wassmann further teaches classifying information for display to users (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of obtaining product information corresponding to a plurality of products offered by a plurality of entities for purchase by users of the client application (Wassmann, see at least: “The classification module 204 can also contain a product definition 107 generation engine 121 that parses product information 108 obtained directly from a vendor database 115 (e.g. a Dealer Management System containing vehicle descriptions and vehicle availability/inventory) [i.e. obtaining product information corresponding to a plurality of products offered by a plurality of entities for purchase by users of the client application]” [0039]). This known technique is applicable to the method of Patent No. 12,321,982 as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to classifying information for display to users.
It would have been recognized that applying the known technique of obtaining product information corresponding to a plurality of products offered by a plurality of entities for purchase by users of the client application, as taught by Wassmann, to the teachings of Patent No. 12,321,982 would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such references into similar methods. Further, adding the modification of obtaining product information corresponding to a plurality of products offered by a plurality of entities for purchase by users of the client application, as taught by Wassmann, into the method of Patent No. 12,321,982 would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved method that would coordinate the generation of advertisements for electronic publication (Wassmann, [0002]).
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982 contain all of the limitations recited in claim 14 of the current application as follows:
Claim 14 of Current Application
Claim 13 of Parent Application 12,321,982
determining one or more first characteristics of a first product included in the plurality of products;
analyzing the one or more first characteristics with respect to one or more first features corresponding to the first classification to determine a first measure of similarity between the one or more first characteristics and the one or more first features; and
determining that the first product corresponds to the first classification based on the first measure of similarity being at least a threshold measure of similarity
determining one or more first characteristics of a first product included in the plurality of products;
analyzing the one or more first characteristics with respect to one or more first features corresponding to the first classification to determine a first measure of similarity between the one or more first characteristics and the one or more first features; and
determining that the first product corresponds to the first classification based on the first measure of similarity being at least a threshold measure of similarity
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982 contain all of the limitations recited in claim 15 of the current application as follows:
Claim 15 of Current Application
Claim 14 of Parent Application 12,321,982
determining one or more second characteristics of a second product included in the plurality of products;
analyzing the one or more second characteristics with respect to one or more second features corresponding to the second classification to determine a second measure of similarity between the one or more second characteristics and the one or more second features; and
determining that the second product corresponds to the second classification based on the second measure of similarity being at least the threshold measure of similarity
determining one or more second characteristics of a second product included in the plurality of products;
analyzing the one or more second characteristics with respect to one or more second features corresponding to the second classification to determine a second measure of similarity between the one or more second characteristics and the one or more second features; and
determining that the second product corresponds to the second classification based on the second measure of similarity being at least the threshold measure of similarity
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982 contain all of the limitations recited in claim 16 of the current application as follows:
Claim 16 of Current Application
Claim 1 of Parent Application 12,321,982
generating a first augmented reality content item based on a first augmented reality content item template included in the first number of augmented reality content item templates, the first augmented reality content item indicating the first information for the first product; and
generating a second augmented reality content item based on a second augmented reality content item template included in the second number of augmented reality content item templates, the second augmented reality content item indicating the second information for the second product
generating, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, an augmented reality content item based on the augmented reality content item template and based on the set of information related to the product, the augmented reality content item causing display of the set of information related to the product in the number of regions in relation to user content generated by a client application
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982 contain all of the limitations recited in claim 17 of the current application as follows:
Claim 17 of Current Application
Claims 1 and 16 of Parent Application 12,321,982
parsing a product information data store to identify the first information based on one or more criteria; and
extracting the first information from a product catalog of the entity offering the product for purchase and associating the first information with a region of the augmented reality content item template
generating, by one or more computing devices that each include a processor and memory, an augmented reality content item template that corresponds to a classification of products offered for purchase by a group of entities, the augmented reality content item template corresponding to an arrangement of a number of regions to display a set of information related to the products
16. The system of claim 8, wherein the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media including additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors, cause the one or more hardware processors to perform additional operations comprising:
parsing the product information data store to identify the set of information based on one or more criteria; and
extracting the set of information from a product catalog corresponding to the product and associating the set of information with a region of the augmented reality content item template
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982 contain all of the limitations recited in claim 19 of the current application as follows:
Claim 19 of Current Application
Claim 17 of Parent Application 12,321,982
wherein the first information includes animated content that includes images of the product revolving around an object included in a content item or images of the product moving along a border of an additional user interface
wherein the animated content includes images of the product revolving around an object included in a content item or images of the product moving along a border of the third user interface
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,982 contain all of the limitations recited in claim 20 of the current application as follows:
Claim 20 of Current Application
Claim 1 of Parent Application 12,321,982
responsive to determining that the classification corresponds to the product, causing display of a third user interface that includes a plurality of additional user interface elements that correspond to the augmented reality content item template,
wherein the plurality of additional user interface elements include a first additional user interface element that corresponds to first content of the first region of the augmented reality content item template and a second additional user interface element that corresponds to second content of the second region of the augmented reality content item template, the first content including static content and the second content including dynamic content
responsive to determining that the classification corresponds to the product, causing, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, display of a second user interface that includes one or more additional user interface elements that corresponds to a selection of the augmented reality content item template from among a plurality of content item templates that correspond to the classification;
determining, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, information included in the set of information related to the product that corresponds to a first region and a second region of the augmented reality content item template, wherein the first region corresponds to static content included in the set of information related to the product and the second region corresponds to animated content included in the set of information related to the product;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Under Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes, the claims must be directed to one of the four statutory categories (see MPEP 2106.03). All the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories (YES).
Under Step 2A of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test, it is determined whether the claims are directed to a judicially recognized exception (see MPEP 2106.04). Step 2A is a two-prong inquiry.
Under Prong 1, it is determined whether the claim recites a judicial exception (YES). Taking Claim 10 as representative, the claim recites limitations that fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity groupings of abstract ideas, including:
-one or more hardware processors; and
-one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media including computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors, cause the one or more hardware processors to perform operations comprising:
-causing display of a first user interface of a portal, the first user interface including one or more user interface elements to capture product information corresponding to a product offered for purchase by an entity;
-determining a classification that corresponds to the product;
-determining, and based on the classification that corresponds to the product, an augmented reality content item template;
-determining first information included in the product information that corresponds to a first region of the augmented reality content item template and second information included in the product information that corresponds to a second region of the augmented reality content item template; and
-causing display of a second user interface including a preview of an augmented reality content item that includes the first region populated by the first information and the second region populated by the second information, wherein the preview is accessible to a computing device of the entity offering the product for purchase
The above limitations recite the concept of classifying a product that is offered for purchase by an entity, determining a template and product information for the template, and providing a preview of the template that is accessible to the entity offering the product for purchase. The above limitations fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” groupings of abstract ideas, enumerated in MPEP 2106.04(a).
Certain methods of organizing human activity include:
fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, and mitigating risk)
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; and business relations)
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)
The limitation of determining a classification that corresponds to the product is a process that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover a commercial interaction. For example, “determining” in the context of this claim encompass advertising, and marketing or sales activities.
Similarly, the limitations of one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media including computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors, cause the one or more hardware processors to perform operations comprising: causing display of a first user interface of a portal, the first user interface including one or more user interface elements to capture product information corresponding to a product offered for purchase by an entity; determining, and based on the classification that corresponds to the product, an augmented reality content item template; determining first information included in the product information that corresponds to a first region of the augmented reality content item template and second information included in the product information that corresponds to a second region of the augmented reality content item template; and causing display of a second user interface including a preview of an augmented reality content item that includes the first region populated by the first information and the second region populated by the second information, wherein the preview is accessible to a computing device of the entity offering the product for purchase are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover a commercial interaction. That is, other than reciting that the operations are performed by one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media including computer-readable instructions that are executed by the one or more hardware processors, that the capturing is via one or more user interface elements included on a displayed first interface of a portal, that the content item template is an augmented reality content item template, that the preview is displayed on the second user interface, that the content item is an augmented reality content item, that the preview is accessible to a computing device of the entity, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed by people. For example, but for the “one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media including computer-readable instructions,” “the one or more hardware processors,” “a first user interface,” “a portal,” “one or more user interface elements,” “an augmented reality content item template,” “a second user interface,” “an augmented reality content item,” and “a computing device of the entity” language, “perform,” “capture,” “determining,” “determining,” and “causing display” in the context of this claim encompasses advertising, and marketing or sales activities.
Under Prong 2, it is determined whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (NO).
-one or more hardware processors; and
-one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media including computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors, cause the one or more hardware processors to perform operations comprising:
-causing display of a first user interface of a portal, the first user interface including one or more user interface elements to capture product information corresponding to a product offered for purchase by an entity;
-determining a classification that corresponds to the product;
-determining, and based on the classification that corresponds to the product, an augmented reality content item template;
-determining first information included in the product information that corresponds to a first region of the augmented reality content item template and second information included in the product information that corresponds to a second region of the augmented reality content item template; and
-causing display of a second user interface including a preview of an augmented reality content item that includes the first region populated by the first information and the second region populated by the second information, wherein the preview is accessible to a computing device of the entity offering the product for purchase
These limitations are not indicative of integration into a practical application because:
The additional elements of claim 10 are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as generic computing hardware) such that they amount to nothing more than mere instructions to implement or apply the abstract idea on a generic computing hardware (or, merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea) as supported by paragraph [0130] of Applicant’s specification – “Instructions 1002 may be transmitted or received over the network 114, 1034 using a transitory or non-transitory transmission medium via a network interface device and using any one of a number of well-known transfer protocols.” Specifically, the additional elements of one or more hardware processors, one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media including computer-readable instructions, a first user interface, a portal, one or more user interface elements, an augmented reality content item template, a second user interface, an augmented reality content item, and a computing device of the entity are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e. as a generic processor performing the generic computer functions of performing data, capturing data, determining data, and displaying data) such that they amount do no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Further, the additional elements do no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (such as computers or computing networks). Employing well-known computer functions to execute an abstract idea, even when limiting the use of the idea to one particular environment, does not integrate the exception into a practical application.
Additionally, the additional elements are insufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claim fails to i) reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, ii) apply the judicial exception with, or use the judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, iii) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or iv) apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Under Step 2B, it is determined whether the claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims of the present application do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (NO).
In the case of claim 10, taken individually or as a whole, the additional elements of claim 10 do not provide an inventive concept. As discussed above under step 2A (prong 2) with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements used to perform the claimed functions amount to no more than a general link to a technological environment.
Even considered as an ordered combination (as a whole), the additional elements do not add anything significantly more than when considered individually.
Claim 1 is method reciting similar functions as claim 10. Examiner notes that claim 1 recites the additional elements of one or more computing devices, a processor, a memory, at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a first user interface, a portal, one or more user interface elements, an augmented reality content item template, a second user interface, an augmented reality content item, and a computing device of the entity, however, claim 1 does not qualify as eligible subject matter for similar reasons as claim 10 indicated above.
Claim 18 is one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media reciting similar functions as claim 10. Examiner notes that claim 18 recites the additional elements of one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media including computer readable instructions, one or more hardware processors, a first user interface, a portal, one or more user interface elements, an augmented reality content item template, a second user interface, an augmented reality content item, and a computing device of the entity, however, claim 18 does not qualify as eligible subject matter for similar reasons as claim 10 indicated above.
Therefore, claims 1, 10, and 18 do not provide an inventive concept and do not qualify as eligible subject matter.
Dependent claims 2-9, 11-17, and 19-20, when analyzed as a whole, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because they do not add “significantly more” to the abstract idea. More specifically, dependent claims 2-9, 11-17, and 19-20 further fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas in that they recite commercial interactions. Dependent claims 2-9, 11-17, and 19-20 recite the additional elements of the augmented reality content item template, the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, one or more databases, a data package, computer-readable instructions, an additional user interface, the augmented reality content item, a group of augmented reality content item templates, a client application, an additional user interface, an additional user interface element, one or more respective augmented reality content item templates, a first number of augmented reality content item templates, a second number of augmented reality content item templates, one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media including additional computer-readable instructions, one or more hardware processors, a first augmented reality content item, a first augmented reality content item template, a second augmented reality content item, a second augmented reality content item template, animated content, an additional user interface, a third user interface, a plurality of additional user interface elements, a first additional user interface element, and a second additional user interface element but similar to the analysis under prong two of Step 2A these additional elements are used as a tool to perform the abstract idea. As such, under prong two of Step 2A, claims 2-9, 11-17, and 19-20 are not indicative of integration into a practical application for at least similar reasons as discussed above. Thus, dependent claims 2-9, 11-17, and 19-20 are “directed to” an abstract idea. Next, under Step 2B, similar to the analysis of claims 1, 10, and 18, dependent claims 2-9, 11-17, and 19-20 when analyzed individually and as an ordered combination, merely further define the commonplace business method (i.e. classifying a product that is offered for purchase by an entity, determining a template and product information for the template, and providing a preview of the template that is accessible to the entity offering the product for purchase) being applied on a general-purpose computer and, therefore, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, the Examiner concludes that there are no meaningful limitations in the claims that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. The analysis above applies to all statutory categories of invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charlton et al. (US 9,980,100 B1), hereinafter Charlton, in view of Badenhop et al. (US 2014/0188615 A1), hereinafter Badenhop, in further view of Wassmann et al. (US 2009/0222485 A1), hereinafter Wassmann.
Regarding claim 1, Charlton discloses a method comprising:
-determining, by at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a classification that corresponds to the product (Charlton, see at least: “At operation 730, the selection engine 625 [i.e. by at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices] selects one or more display objects based on the venue selected. The content selected may be pre-associated in a data structure with the venue categories and sub-categories [i.e. determining a classification that corresponds to the product]. At operation 735, the display engine 630 generates a presentation of the image with the selected display objects, according to some example embodiments” Col. 15 Ln. 31-37);
-determining, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices and based on the classification that corresponds to the product, an augmented reality content item overlay (Charlton, see at least: “the selection engine 625 selects one or more display objects based on the venue selected. The content selected may be pre-associated in a data structure with the venue categories and sub-categories [i.e. by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices and based on the classification that corresponds to the product]. At operation 735, the display engine 630 generates a presentation of the image with the selected display objects, according to some example embodiments” Col. 15 Ln. 31-37 and “At operation 935, the selection engine 625 determines whether any of the detected objects identified at operation 815 match tags of the remaining venues. If the objects to match a tag, the venues are output at operation 940 as selections. For example, if a coffee mug is detected and the coffee mug is a tag to a food category and a coffee shop sub-category, then any venues in the set that match food or coffee shop are selected at operation 940 [i.e. determining, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices and based on the classification that corresponds to the product, an augmented reality content item overlay] … For example, if three venues remain, the three venues can be displayed as options to the user and the user can select the correct venue” Col. 17 Ln. 6-19);
-determining, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, first information included in the product information that corresponds to a first region of the augmented reality content item overlay and second information included in the product information that corresponds to a second region of the augmented reality content item overlay (Charlton, see at least: “FIG. 12 shows an example presentation of an image 1200 of a wine bar with overlay content 1210A and 1210B, according to some example embodiments. In the example of FIG. 12, the client venue system 210 determined that the user (e.g., the human user taking a picture of the wine bar with client device 102) is in an indoor environment and has further detected wine glasses 1205 in the image 1200. The client venue system [i.e. by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices] selects then wine bar subcategory using the above methods 700-900 and data structure 1000. In response to the wine bar selection, associated UI content 1100 is retrieved and overlaid on the image 1200 [i.e. information included in the first set of information related to the product that corresponds to a first region and a second region of the first augmented reality content item overlay]. In particular, as illustrated, the female avatar 1210B of the user with the caption “Wine Time!” 1210A is overlaid on the wine bar image 1200 [i.e. first information included in the product information that corresponds to a first region of the augmented reality content item overlay and second information included in the product information that corresponds to a second region of the augmented reality content item overlay” Col. 18 Ln. 42-55 and “At operation 730, the selection engine 625 selects one or more display objects based on the venue selected. The content selected may be pre-associated in a data structure with the venue categories and sub-categories [i.e. determining first information and second information]” Col. 15 Ln. 31-34 Examiner notes that the user interface overlay associated with the wine bar includes multiple UI content items such as the female avatar 1210B of the user with the caption “Wine Time!” 1210A in regions of the overlay); and
-causing, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, display of a second user interface including an augmented reality content item that includes the first region populated by the first information and the second region populated by the second information (Charlton, see at least: “FIG. 12 shows an example presentation of an image 1200 of a wine bar with overlay content 1210A and 1210B [i.e. causing, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, display of a second user interface including an augmented reality content item], according to some example embodiments … In response to the wine bar selection, associated UI content 1100 is retrieved and overlaid on the image 1200. In particular, as illustrated, the female avatar 1210B of the user with the caption “Wine Time!” 1210A is overlaid on the wine bar image 1200 [i.e. that includes the first region populated by the first information and the second region populated by the second information]” Col. 18 Ln. 42-55).
Charlton does not explicitly disclose causing, one or more computing devices that each include a processor and memory, display of a first user interface of a portal, the first user interface including one or more user interface elements to capture product information corresponding to a product offered for purchase by an entity; a second user interface including a preview of an augmented reality content item, wherein the preview is accessible to a computing device of the entity offering the product for purchase.
Badenhop, however, teaches providing product information associated with a merchant location (i.e. [0131]) including the known technique of causing, one or more computing devices that each include a processor and memory, display of a first user interface of a portal, the first user interface including one or more user interface elements to capture product information corresponding to a product offered for purchase by an entity (Badenhop, see at least: “FIG. 10 illustrates a screen snapshot layout of a merchant screen for creating an advertisement campaign, shown generally at 5000. In "Creating an Ad Campaign" only registered merchants can create ad campaigns [i.e. causing, one or more computing devices that each include a processor and memory, display of a first user interface of a portal]. To create an ad, the merchant clicks the "Create Campaign" link from the mobile billboard merchant web site. Throughout the web page fill-able form 5001 preferably visual indicators, such as a red asterisk *, to indicate fields that are mandatory are provided [i.e. the first user interface including one or more user interface elements to capture product information] … The Campaign Account to Use 5004 is provided wherein a merchant/advertiser may have multiple campaign accounts to allow them to define ads for specific items [i.e. capture product information corresponding to a product offered for purchase by an entity], scenarios, or clients. For example, if a merchant was advertising, such as Starbucks.RTM., they may create a Campaign Account for each of their branches, so that they can run ad campaigns on the branches level” [0131]); and
the known technique of a second user interface including a preview of a content item, wherein the preview is accessible to a computing device of the entity offering the product for purchase (Badenhop, see at least: “Merchant can click on the "Preview Ad" button anytime to let them see what the notification and the ad would look like on the phone [i.e. a second user interface including a preview of a content item, wherein the preview is accessible to a computing device of the entity offering the product for purchase]. Once the merchant completes the form, they click "Start Campaign". The merchant can verify that all mandatory fields are populated” [0150]). These known techniques are applicable to the method of Charlton as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to providing product information associated with a merchant location.
It would have been recognized that applying the known techniques of causing, one or more computing devices that each include a processor and memory, display of a first user interface of a portal, the first user interface including one or more user interface elements to capture product information corresponding to a product offered for purchase by an entity; and a second user interface including a preview of a content item, wherein the preview is accessible to a computing device of the entity offering the product for purchase, as taught by Badenhop, to the teachings of Charlton would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such references into similar methods. Further, adding the modifications of causing, one or more computing devices that each include a processor and memory, display of a first user interface of a portal, the first user interface including one or more user interface elements to capture product information corresponding to a product offered for purchase by an entity; and a second user interface including a preview of a content item, wherein the preview is accessible to a computing device of the entity offering the product for purchase, as taught by Badenhop, into the method of Charlton would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved method that would allow merchants to create ad campaigns for particular locations (Badenhop, [0131]).
Charlton in view of Badenhop does not explicitly teach the augmented reality content item overlay being an augmented reality content item template.
Wassmann, however, teaches classifying information for display to users (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of a content item template (Wassmann, see at least: “In the case of an advertisement order, details of the product are contained in the product information 108 and the module 204 from this information 108, according to a predefined product definition template 203 [i.e. a content item template], generates the corresponding product definition 107” [0036]). This known technique is applicable to the method of Charlton in view of Badenhop as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to classifying information for display to users.
It would have been recognized that applying the known technique of a content item template, as taught by Wassmann, to the teachings of Charlton in view of Badenhop would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such references into similar methods. Further, adding the modification of a content item template, as taught by Wassmann, into the method of Charlton in view of Badenhop would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved method that would coordinate the generation of advertisements for electronic publication (Wassmann, [0002]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann teaches the method of claim 1. Charlton further discloses:
-wherein the augmented reality content item overlay indicates a first type of content to be located in the first region of the augmented reality content item overlay and a second type of content to be located in the second region of the augmented reality content item overlay (Charlton, see at least: “FIG. 12 shows an example presentation of an image 1200 of a wine bar with overlay content 1210A and 1210B, according to some example embodiments … In response to the wine bar selection, associated UI content 1100 is retrieved and overlaid on the image 1200. In particular, as illustrated, the female avatar 1210B of the user with the caption “Wine Time!” 1210A is overlaid on the wine bar image 1200 [i.e. wherein the augmented reality content item overlay indicates a first type of content to be located in the first region of the augmented reality content item overlay and a second type of content to be located in the second region of the augmented reality content item overlay]” Col. 18 Ln. 42-55).
Charlton in view of Badenhop does not explicitly teach that the augmented reality content item template indicates one or more first identifiers of a first type of content to be located in the first region of the augmented reality content item template and one or more second identifiers of a second type of content to be located in the second region of the augmented reality content item template.
Wassmann further teaches classifying information for display to users (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of the content item template indicating one or more first identifiers of a first type of content to be located in the first region of the content item template and one or more second identifiers of a second type of content to be located in the second region of the content item template (Wassmann, see at least: “the module 204 captures and/or formats the content of the product information for identifying/defining and categorizing appropriate product definitions 107 (e.g. product advertisements) for storage in the database 110. For example, each advertisement is classified based on predefined classification categories 205 that match extracted data units from the content of the product information 108. Each of the data units (and corresponding classification 205) is stored a corresponding field of a record in the electronic database 110 that pertains to the product definition 107, which is labelled by the unique identifier 111. Further, the textual content and the layout and/or the position of the data in the product definition 107 (for display in the user interface 302 of the consumer's device--see FIG. 3) can be included in the database 110 [i.e. the content item template indicates one or more first identifiers of a first type of content to be located in the first region of the content item template and one or more second identifiers of a second type of content to be located in the second region of the content item template]” [0038]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Charlton in view of Badenhop with Wassmann for the reasons identified above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann teaches the method of claim 2. Charlton further discloses:
Charlton in view of Badenhop does not explicitly teach parsing, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, one or more databases based on the one or more first identifiers to extract the first information from the product information stored by the one or more databases; and parsing, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, the one or more databases based on the one or more second identifiers to extract the second information from the product information stored by the one or more databases
Wassmann further teaches classifying information for display to users (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of parsing, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, one or more databases based on the one or more first identifiers to extract the first information from the product information stored by the one or more databases (Wassmann, see at least: “The classification module 204 can also contain a product definition 107 generation engine 121 that parses product information 108 obtained directly from a vendor database 115 (e.g. a Dealer Management System containing vehicle descriptions and vehicle availability/inventory) and then using the predefined template 203 to extract the desired advertisement details from the vendor database 115 [i.e. parsing, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, one or more databases based on the one or more first identifiers to extract the first information from the product information stored by the one or more databases] and then send the extracted product details to the Web portal (i.e. the aggregation module 200) for assignment of the unique identifier 111. This engine 121 provides for the vendor to tie into product inventory levels and to have product definitions 107 built directly for online display to the consumer 104 via the network interface module 202. The vendor database 115 could have indicators coupled to selected products, and/or product data subsets, which would direct the engine 121 on which products/data to use for creation of the product definitions 107” [0039] and “the module 204 captures and/or formats the content of the product information for identifying/defining and categorizing appropriate product definitions 107 (e.g. product advertisements) for storage in the database 110. For example, each advertisement is classified based on predefined classification categories 205 that match extracted data units from the content of the product information 108. Each of the data units (and corresponding classification 205) is stored a corresponding field of a record in the electronic database 110 that pertains to the product definition 107, which is labelled by the unique identifier 111. Further, the textual content and the layout and/or the position of the data in the product definition 107 [i.e. based on the one or more first identifiers] (for display in the user interface 302 of the consumer's device--see FIG. 3) can be included in the database 110” [0038]); and
the known technique of parsing, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, the one or more databases based on the one or more second identifiers to extract the second information from the product information stored by the one or more databases (Wassmann, see at least: “The classification module 204 can also contain a product definition 107 generation engine 121 that parses product information 108 obtained directly from a vendor database 115 (e.g. a Dealer Management System containing vehicle descriptions and vehicle availability/inventory) and then using the predefined template 203 to extract the desired advertisement details from the vendor database 115 [i.e. parsing, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, the one or more databases based on the one or more second identifiers to extract the second information from the product information stored by the one or more databases] and then send the extracted product details to the Web portal (i.e. the aggregation module 200) for assignment of the unique identifier 111. This engine 121 provides for the vendor to tie into product inventory levels and to have product definitions 107 built directly for online display to the consumer 104 via the network interface module 202. The vendor database 115 could have indicators coupled to selected products, and/or product data subsets, which would direct the engine 121 on which products/data to use for creation of the product definitions 107” [0039] and “the module 204 captures and/or formats the content of the product information for identifying/defining and categorizing appropriate product definitions 107 (e.g. product advertisements) for storage in the database 110. For example, each advertisement is classified based on predefined classification categories 205 that match extracted data units from the content of the product information 108. Each of the data units (and corresponding classification 205) is stored a corresponding field of a record in the electronic database 110 that pertains to the product definition 107, which is labelled by the unique identifier 111. Further, the textual content and the layout and/or the position of the data in the product definition 107 [i.e. based on the one or more second identifiers] (for display in the user interface 302 of the consumer's device--see FIG. 3) can be included in the database 110” [0038]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Charlton in view of Badenhop with Wassmann for the reasons identified above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann teaches the method of claim 1. Charlton further discloses:
-generating, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a data package that includes (i) a first storage location identifier of the first information, (ii) a second storage location identifier of the second information (Charlton, see at least: “FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram illustrating a structure of a message 400, according to some embodiments, generated by a messaging client application 104 [i.e. generating, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a data package] for communication to a further messaging client application 104 or the messaging server application 114. The content of a particular message 400 is used to populate the message table 314 stored within the database 120, accessible by the messaging server application 114. Similarly, the content of a message 400 is stored in memory as “in-transit” or “in-flight” data of the client device 102 or the application server 112. The message 400 is shown to include the following components: A message identifier 402 [i.e. (i) a first storage location identifier of the first information]: a unique identifier that identifies the message 400. A message text payload 404: text, to be generated by a user via a user interface of the client device 102 and that is included in the message 400. A message image payload 406: image data [i.e. (ii) a second storage location identifier of the second information] captured by a camera component of a client device 102 or retrieved from memory of a client device 102, and that is included in the message 400. A message video payload 408: video data captured by a camera component or retrieved from a memory component of the client device 102, and that is included in the message 400. A message audio payload 410: audio data captured by a microphone or retrieved from the memory component of the client device 102, and that is included in the message 400. Message annotations 412: annotation data (e.g., filters, stickers, or other enhancements) that represents annotations to be applied to the message image payload 406, message video payload 408, or message audio payload 410 of the message 400. A message duration parameter 414: a parameter value indicating, in seconds, the amount of time for which content of the message 400 (e.g., the message image payload 406, message video payload 408, and message audio payload 410) is to be presented or made accessible to a user via the messaging client application 104” Col. 9 Ln. 26-64 and Fig. 4), and (iii) computer-readable instructions of the augmented reality content item that are executable to:
-retrieve the first information based on the first storage location identifier (Charlton, see at least: “The contents (e.g., values) of the various components of the message 400 may be pointers to locations in tables within which content data values are stored [i.e. retrieve the first information based on the first storage location identifier]” Col. 10 Ln. 32-34),
-retrieve the second information based on the second storage location identifier (Charlton, see at least: “The contents (e.g., values) of the various components of the message 400 may be pointers to locations in tables within which content data values are stored [i.e. retrieve the second information based on the second storage location identifier]” Col. 10 Ln. 32-34); and
-cause display of an additional user interface that includes the first information displayed in the first region of the augmented reality content item and the second information displayed in the second region of the augmented reality content item (Charlton, see at least: “FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram illustrating a structure of a message 400, according to some embodiments, generated by a messaging client application 104 for communication to a further messaging client application 104 or the messaging server application 114. The content of a particular message 400 is used to populate the message table 314 stored within the database 120, accessible by the messaging server application 114. Similarly, the content of a message 400 is stored in memory as “in-transit” or “in-flight” data of the client device 102 or the application server 112. The message 400 is shown to include the following components: A message identifier 402: a unique identifier that identifies the message 400. A message text payload 404: text, to be generated by a user via a user interface of the client device 102 and that is included in the message 400 [i.e. that includes the first information displayed in the first region of the augmented reality content item]. A message image payload 406: image data [i.e. (ii) a second storage location identifier of the second information] … Message annotations 412: annotation data (e.g., filters, stickers, or other enhancements) [i.e. and the second information displayed in the second region of the augmented reality content item] that represents annotations to be applied to the message image payload 406, message video payload 408, or message audio payload 410 of the message 400. A message duration parameter 414: a parameter value indicating, in seconds, the amount of time for which content of the message 400 (e.g., the message image payload 406, message video payload 408, and message audio payload 410) is to be presented or made accessible to a user via the messaging client application 104 [i.e. cause display of an additional user interface that includes the first information]” Col. 9 Ln. 26-64, Fig. 4, and Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann teaches the method of claim 1. Charlton further discloses:
-wherein the augmented reality content item indicates a location of user content in relation to the first region of the augmented reality content item and the second region of the augmented reality content item (Charlton, see at least: “FIG. 12 shows an example presentation of an image 1200 of a wine bar with overlay content 1210A and 1210B, according to some example embodiments. In the example of FIG. 12, the client venue system 210 determined that the user (e.g., the human user taking a picture of the wine bar with client device 102) is in an indoor environment and has further detected wine glasses 1205 in the image 1200 [i.e. indicates a location of user content]. The client venue system selects then wine bar subcategory using the above methods 700-900 and data structure 1000. In response to the wine bar selection, associated UI content 1100 is retrieved and overlaid on the image 1200 [i.e. the augmented reality content item]. In particular, as illustrated, the female avatar 1210B of the user with the caption “Wine Time!” 1210A is overlaid on the wine bar image 1200 [i.e. in relation to the first region of the augmented reality content item and the second region of the augmented reality content item]” Col. 18 Ln. 42-55 and Fig. 12 displays the wine glasses from the image the user took being to the left of the overlay content).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann teaches the method of claim 1. Charlton further discloses:
-determining, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, that the product corresponds to the classification based on at least one characteristic of the product (Charlton, see at least: “FIG. 12 shows an example presentation of an image 1200 of a wine bar with overlay content 1210A and 1210B, according to some example embodiments. In the example of FIG. 12, the client venue system 210 determined that the user (e.g., the human user taking a picture of the wine bar with client device 102) is in an indoor environment and has further detected wine glasses 1205 [i.e. the product] in the image 1200. The client venue system [i.e. by at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices] selects then wine bar subcategory [i.e. that the product corresponds to the first classification] using the above methods 700-900 and data structure 1000. In response to the wine bar selection, associated UI content 1100 is retrieved and overlaid on the image 1200. In particular, as illustrated, the female avatar 1210B of the user with the caption “Wine Time!” 1210A is overlaid on the wine bar image 1200” Col. 18 Ln. 42-55 “FIG. 10 shows a data structure 1005 that can be used to filter or otherwise select venues and display content, according to some example embodiments. In some example embodiments, the data is stored in a relational database, graph database, and other forms of structured data. The example data structure 1005 comprises categories including a food category 1010 … Each of the categories may be associated or otherwise linked to subcategories that further refine a given category. For example, the food category 1010 is subdivided into subcategories including a Mexican restaurant food subcategory 1010A, a wine bar subcategory 1010B [i.e. determining that the product corresponds to the first classification], and a coffee shop subcategory 1010C” Col. 17 Ln. 38-52 and “In some example embodiments, the classifications output by the object classification engine 620 are output as numerical likelihood that a given image feature in an image is of a particular object [i.e. based on at least one characteristic of the product], as is appreciated by those of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., a wine glass image feature within a bounded region of interest (ROI) in a given image may have the following classification likelihoods: wine glass=0.93, frog=0.05, basketball=0.30, coffee mug=0.60)” Col. 13 Ln. 62-67 & Col. 14 Ln. 1-2).
Charlton in view of Badenhop does not explicitly teach obtaining, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a product catalog including information corresponding to one or more products offered by the entity for purchase, the product catalog indicating one or more characteristics of individual products of the one or more products and the product being included in the one or more products; and the product being included in the product catalog.
Wassmann further teaches classifying information for display to users (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of obtaining, by the at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a product catalog including information corresponding to one or more products offered by the entity for purchase, the product catalog indicating one or more characteristics of individual products of the one or more products and the product being included in the one or more products (Wassmann, see at least: “the framework 112 can have a classification module 204 for sorting the aggregated product information 108 according to predefined categories 205 (e.g. product type/make/model, product retailer/dealer, product price category, and/or product/retailer location) [i.e. the product catalog indicating one or more characteristics of individual products of the one or more products and the product being included in the one or more products] before the product information 108 is stored in the database 110” [0030] and “it is recognised that the aggregation module 200 can include a coordinated set of programs that can represent a spider that goes to every page or representative pages on every specified retailer Web site [i.e. obtaining, by at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a product catalog] of the network 11 that wants to be searchable and reads it, using hypertext links on each page to discover and read a site's other pages. The spider can be configured to automatically recognise product information 108 that would be suitable for storing in the database 110 [i.e. including information corresponding to one or more products offered by the entity for purchase] as the product definitions 107” [0035]); and
the known technique of the product included in the product catalog (Wassmann, see at least: “The classification module 204 is configured for sorting the aggregated product information 108 according to predefined categories 205 (e.g. product type/make/model, product retailer/dealer, product price category, and/or product/retailer location) [i.e. determining a classification of the product based on at least one characteristic of the product included in the product catalog] before the product information 108 is stored in the database 110” [0036]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Charlton in view of Badenhop with Wassmann for the reasons identified above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann teaches the method of claim 1. Charlton further discloses:
-the classification is one classification of a plurality of classifications of a classification system of products offered for purchase by one or more entities (Charlton, see at least: “FIG. 10 shows a data structure 1005 that can be used to filter or otherwise select venues and display content, according to some example embodiments. In some example embodiments, the data is stored in a relational database, graph database, and other forms of structured data. The example data structure 1005 comprises categories including a food category 1010, an arts and entertainment category 1015, a shops category 1020, an outdoors category 1025, a travel category 1030, and an education category 1035. Each of the categories may be associated or otherwise linked to subcategories that further refine a given category. For example, the food category 1010 is subdivided into subcategories including a Mexican restaurant food subcategory 1010A, a wine bar subcategory 1010B, and a coffee shop subcategory 1010C [i.e. the first classification is one classification of a plurality of classifications of a classification system of products offered for purchase by one or more entities]” Col. 17 Ln. 38-52 Examiner notes that a wine bar sells wine and a coffee shop sells coffee [i.e. a classification system of products offered for purchase by one or more entities]); and
-individual classifications of the classification system correspond to a group of augmented reality content item overlays to generate augmented reality content items for products included in the individual classifications (Charlton, see at least: “each of the categories and sub-categories [i.e. individual classifications of the classification system] may have associated or referenced UI content that indicates the category or sub-category venue type. For example, as illustrated, the wine bar sub-category 1010B is linked to UI content 1100 (e.g., avatars, captions) that correspond to the type of associated category or sub-category [i.e. correspond to a group of augmented reality content item overlays to generate augmented reality content items for products included in the individual classifications]” Col. 18 Ln. 35-40).
Charlton in view of Badenhop does not explicitly teach augmented reality content item overlays being augmented reality content item templates.
Wassmann further teaches classifying information for display to users (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of content item templates (Wassmann, see at least: “details of the product are contained in the product information 108 and the module 204 from this information 108, according to a predefined product definition template 203 [i.e. content item templates], generates the corresponding product definition 107” [0036] and “the module 204 captures and/or formats the content of the product information for identifying/defining and categorizing appropriate product definitions 107 (e.g. product advertisements) [i.e. content item templates] for storage in the database 110. For example, each advertisement is classified based on predefined classification categories 205 that match extracted data units from the content of the product information 108” [0038]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Charlton in view of Badenhop with Wassmann for the reasons identified above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann teaches the method of claim 1. Charlton further discloses:
-wherein the augmented reality content item is executed with respect to a message sent between users of a client application (Charlton, see at least: “Once the venue is selected, the venue system or other applications on the client device can use the selected venue to create location based user interface (UI) content. Continuing the example, once the coffee shop is determined, a cartoon avatar (e.g., bitmoji) of the user operating the client device can be overlaid on the image of the coffee shop. The image with the overlaid content can the be posted to a social media network, e.g., as an ephemeral message, [i.e. wherein the augmented reality content item is executed with respect to a message sent] discussed in further detail below” Col. 4 Ln. 37-45 and “each messaging client application 104 is able to communicate and exchange data with another messaging client application 104 and with the messaging server system 108 [i.e. between users of a client application] via the network 106” Col. 4 Ln. 62-65).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann teaches the method of claim 1. Charlton further discloses:
-causing, by at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, display of an additional user interface including an additional user interface element to capture input indicating an identifier of the product (Charlton, see at least: “At operation 805, the environment classification engine 610 receives an image an input and generates a numerical likelihood that the image of an outside environment and a numerical likelihood that the image is of an inside environment. At operation 810, the venue classification engine 615 receives the image as input [i.e. to capture input] and generates numerical likelihoods that the image is of different possible venues” Col. 15 Ln. 49-56 and “if a coffee mug is detected [i.e. indicating an identifier of the product] and the coffee mug is a tag to a food category and a coffee shop sub-category, then any venues in the set that match food or coffee shop are selected at operation 940” Col. 17 Ln. 11-19 and “Assume the client device is in a coffee shop and the user uses a smartphone to image the coffee shop, e.g., by taking a picture or video feed of the coffee shop [i.e. causing, by at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, display of an additional user interface including an additional user interface element to capture input]” Col. 3 Ln. 34-37);
-wherein the classification of the product is determined based on the identifier of the product (Charlton, see at least: “if a coffee mug is detected and the coffee mug is a tag to a food category and a coffee shop sub-category [i.e. wherein the classification of the product is determined based on the identifier of the product], then any venues in the set that match food or coffee shop are selected at operation 940” Col. 17 Ln. 11-19).
Claim 10 recites limitations directed towards a system (i.e. abstract) comprising: one or more hardware processors (Charlton, see at least: “The software architecture 1506 may execute on hardware such as a machine 1600 of FIG. 16 that includes, among other things, processors, memory, and I/O components” Col. 19 Ln. 28-30); and one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media including computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors, cause the one or more hardware processors to perform operations (Charlton, see at least: “FIG. 16 is a block diagram illustrating components of a machine 1600, according to some example embodiments, able to read instructions from a machine-readable medium (e.g., a machine-readable storage medium) and perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein” Col. 20 Ln. 66-67 & Col. 21 Ln. 1-3). The limitations recited in claim 10 are parallel in nature to those addressed above for claim 1, and are therefore rejected for those same reasons set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann teaches the system of claim 10. Charlton further discloses:
-the classification is one classification of a plurality of classifications for products available for purchase by users of a client application (Charlton, see at least: “The example data structure 1005 comprises categories including a food category 1010, an arts and entertainment category 1015, a shops category 1020, an outdoors category 1025, a travel category 1030, and an education category 1035. Each of the categories may be associated or otherwise linked to subcategories that further refine a given category. For example, the food category 1010 is subdivided into subcategories including a Mexican restaurant food subcategory 1010A, a wine bar subcategory 1010B, and a coffee shop subcategory 1010C [i.e. the classification is one classification of a plurality of classifications for products available for purchase by users of a client application]” Col. 17 Ln. 42-52); and
-individual classifications of the plurality of classifications are associated with one or more respective augmented reality content item overlays (Charlton, see at least: “each of the categories and sub-categories [i.e. individual classifications of the plurality of classifications] may have associated or referenced UI content that indicates the category or sub-category venue type. For example, as illustrated, the wine bar sub-category 1010B is linked to UI content 1100 (e.g., avatars, captions) that correspond to the type of associated category or sub-category [i.e. are associated with one or more respective augmented reality content item overlays]” Col. 18 Ln. 35-40).
Charlton in view of Badenhop does not explicitly teach one or more respective augmented reality content item overlays being one or more respective augmented reality content item templates.
Wassmann further teaches classifying information for display to users (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of one or more respective content item templates (Wassmann, see at least: “details of the product are contained in the product information 108 and the module 204 from this information 108, according to a predefined product definition template 203 [i.e. one or more respective content item templates], generates the corresponding product definition 107” [0036] and “the module 204 captures and/or formats the content of the product information for identifying/defining and categorizing appropriate product definitions 107 (e.g. product advertisements) [i.e. one or more respective content item templates] for storage in the database 110. For example, each advertisement is classified based on predefined classification categories 205 that match extracted data units from the content of the product information 108” [0038]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Charlton in view of Badenhop with Wassmann for the reasons identified above with respect to claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann teaches the system of claim 11. Charlton further discloses:
-a first number of augmented reality content item overlays correspond to a first classification of the plurality of classifications, the first number of augmented reality content item overlays including one or more first regions to be populated by first information of a plurality of first products having the first classification (Charlton, see at least: “the food category 1010 is displayed with its associated subcategories including a Mexican restaurant food subcategory 1010A, a wine bar subcategory 1010B, and a coffee shop subcategory 1010C [i.e. a first number of augmented reality content item overlays correspond to a first classification of the plurality of classifications]. Each of the categories and subcategories have metadata tags that describe the corresponding data object” Col. 18 Ln. 17-22 and “each of the categories and sub-categories may have associated or referenced UI content that indicates the category or sub-category venue type. For example, as illustrated, the wine bar sub-category 1010B is linked to UI content 1100 (e.g., avatars, captions) that correspond to the type of associated category or sub-category [i.e. the first number of augmented reality content item overlays including one or more first regions to be populated by first information of a plurality of first products having the first classification]. Examples of UI content are shown in FIGS. 12-14” Col. 18 Ln. 35-41 and “FIG. 12 shows an example presentation of an image 1200 of a wine bar with overlay content 1210A and 1210B [i.e. including one or more first regions to be populated by first information of a plurality of first products having the first classification], according to some example embodiments. In the example of FIG. 12, the client venue system 210 determined that the user (e.g., the human user taking a picture of the wine bar with client device 102) is in an indoor environment and has further detected wine glasses 1205 [i.e. first information of a plurality of first products having the first classification] in the image 1200. The client venue system selects then wine bar subcategory using the above methods 700-900 and data structure 1000. In response to the wine bar selection, associated UI content 1100 is retrieved and overlaid on the image 1200. In particular, as illustrated, the female avatar 1210B of the user with the caption “Wine Time!” 1210A is overlaid on the wine bar image 1200” Col. 18 Ln. 42-55 and “The sub-categories have additional tags that further describe characteristics or objects likely to be detected (e.g., by the object classification engine 620); e.g., the wine bar 1010B has a wine bottle tag and a wine glass tag [i.e. a plurality of first products having the first classification]” Col. 18 Ln. 28-32); and
-a second number of augmented reality content item overlays correspond to a second classification of the plurality of classifications, the second number of augmented reality content item overlays including one or more second regions to be populated by second information of a plurality of second products having the second classification, the second information being different from the first information (Charlton, see at least: “the food category 1010 is displayed with its associated subcategories including a Mexican restaurant food subcategory 1010A, a wine bar subcategory 1010B, and a coffee shop subcategory 1010C [i.e. a second number of augmented reality content item overlays correspond to a second classification of the plurality of classifications]. Each of the categories and subcategories have metadata tags that describe the corresponding data object” Col. 18 Ln. 17-22 and “each of the categories and sub-categories may have associated or referenced UI content that indicates the category or sub-category venue type. For example, as illustrated, the wine bar sub-category 1010B is linked to UI content 1100 (e.g., avatars, captions) that correspond to the type of associated category or sub-category [i.e. the second number of augmented reality content item overlays including one or more second regions to be populated by second information of a plurality of second products having the second classification, the second information being different from the first information]. Examples of UI content are shown in FIGS. 12-14” Col. 18 Ln. 35-41 and “FIG. 12 shows an example presentation of an image 1200 of a wine bar with overlay content 1210A and 1210B [i.e. including one or more second regions to be populated by second information of a plurality of second products having the second classification], according to some example embodiments. In the example of FIG. 12, the client venue system 210 determined that the user (e.g., the human user taking a picture of the wine bar with client device 102) is in an indoor environment and has further detected wine glasses 1205 [i.e. second information of a plurality of second products having the second classification] in the image 1200. The client venue system selects then wine bar subcategory using the above methods 700-900 and data structure 1000. In response to the wine bar selection, associated UI content 1100 is retrieved and overlaid on the image 1200. In particular, as illustrated, the female avatar 1210B of the user with the caption “Wine Time!” 1210A is overlaid on the wine bar image 1200” Col. 18 Ln. 42-55 and “The sub-categories have additional tags that further describe characteristics or objects likely to be detected (e.g., by the object classification engine 620); e.g., the wine bar 1010B has a wine bottle tag and a wine glass tag [i.e. a plurality of second products having the second classification]” Col. 18 Ln. 28-32 Examiner notes that the items associated with the wine bar are an example and the other classifications, such as the coffee shop, have their own associated items and data).
Charlton in view of Badenhop does not explicitly teach augmented reality content item overlays being augmented reality content item templates
Wassmann further teaches classifying information for display to users (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of content item templates (Wassmann, see at least: “details of the product are contained in the product information 108 and the module 204 from this information 108, according to a predefined product definition template 203 [i.e. content item templates], generates the corresponding product definition 107” [0036] and “the module 204 captures and/or formats the content of the product information for identifying/defining and categorizing appropriate product definitions 107 (e.g. product advertisements) [i.e. content item templates] for storage in the database 110. For example, each advertisement is classified based on predefined classification categories 205 that match extracted data units from the content of the product information 108” [0038]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Charlton in view of Badenhop with Wassmann for the reasons identified above with respect to claim 10.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann teaches the system of claim 12. Charlton further discloses:
Charlton in view of Badenhop does not explicitly teach wherein one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media including additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors, cause the one or more hardware processors to perform additional operations comprising: obtaining product information corresponding to a plurality of products offered by a plurality of entities for purchase by users of the client application; performing a first analysis of first product information of the plurality of first products to determine that the plurality of first products corresponds to the first classification; and performing a second analysis of second product information of the plurality of second products to determine that the plurality of second products corresponds to the second classification.
Wassmann further teaches classifying information for display to users (i.e. abstract), including wherein one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media including additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors (Wassmann, see at least: “it is recognized that the device infrastructure 304 can include a computer readable storage medium 312 coupled to the processor 308 for providing instructions to the processor 308 and/or to load/update client applications 307” [0054]), cause the one or more hardware processors to perform additional operations comprising:
obtaining product information corresponding to a plurality of products offered by a plurality of entities for purchase by users of the client application (Wassmann, see at least: “The classification module 204 can also contain a product definition 107 generation engine 121 that parses product information 108 obtained directly from a vendor database 115 (e.g. a Dealer Management System containing vehicle descriptions and vehicle availability/inventory) [i.e. obtaining product information corresponding to a plurality of products offered by a plurality of entities for purchase by users of the client application]” [0039]);
performing a first analysis of first product information of the plurality of first products to determine that the plurality of first products corresponds to the first classification (Wassmann, see at least: “The classification module 204 is configured for sorting the aggregated product information 108 according to predefined categories 205 (e.g. product type/make/model, product retailer/dealer, product price category, and/or product/retailer location) [i.e. performing a first analysis of first product information of the plurality of first products to determine that the plurality of first products corresponds to the first classification] before the product information 108 is stored in the database 110 as the product definitions 107 (e.g. product advertisements)” [0036]); and
performing a second analysis of second product information of the plurality of second products to determine that the plurality of second products corresponds to the second classification (Wassmann, see at least: “The classification module 204 is configured for sorting the aggregated product information 108 according to predefined categories 205 (e.g. product type/make/model, product retailer/dealer, product price category, and/or product/retailer location) [i.e. performing a second analysis of second product information of the plurality of second products to determine that the plurality of second products corresponds to the second classification] before the product information 108 is stored in the database 110 as the product definitions 107 (e.g. product advertisements)” [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system as taught by Charlton in view of Badenhop, wherein one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media including additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors, cause the one or more hardware processors to perform additional operations comprising: obtaining product information corresponding to a plurality of products offered by a plurality of entities for purchase by users of the client application; performing a first analysis of first product information of the plurality of first products to determine that the plurality of first products corresponds to the first classification; and performing a second analysis of second product information of the plurality of second products to determine that the plurality of second products corresponds to the second classification, as taught by Wassmann, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Charlton in view of Badenhop, to include the teachings of Wassmann in order to coordinate the generation of advertisements for electronic publication (Wassmann, [0002]).
Claim 18 recites limitations directed towards one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media including computer readable instructions that, when executed by one or more hardware processors (Charlton, see at least: “FIG. 16 is a block diagram illustrating components of a machine 1600, according to some example embodiments, able to read instructions from a machine-readable medium (e.g., a machine-readable storage medium) and perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein” Col. 20 Ln. 66-67 & Col. 21 Ln. 1-3). The limitations recited in claim 18 are parallel in nature to those addressed above for claim 1, and are therefore rejected for those same reasons set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 18. Charlton further discloses:
-responsive to determining that the classification corresponds to the product, causing display of a third user interface that includes a plurality of additional user interface elements that correspond to the augmented reality content item overlay (Charlton, see at least: “the selection engine 625 selects one or more display objects based on the venue selected. The content selected may be pre-associated in a data structure with the venue categories and sub-categories [i.e. responsive to determining that the classification corresponds to the product]. At operation 735, the display engine 630 generates a presentation of the image with the selected display objects, according to some example embodiments” Col. 15 Ln. 31-37 and “FIG. 12 shows an example presentation of an image 1200 of a wine bar with overlay content 1210A and 1210B [i.e. causing display of a third user interface that includes a plurality of additional user interface elements that correspond to the augmented reality content item overlay], according to some example embodiments. In the example of FIG. 12, the client venue system 210 determined that the user (e.g., the human user taking a picture of the wine bar with client device 102) is in an indoor environment and has further detected wine glasses 1205 in the image 1200. The client venue system selects then wine bar subcategory using the above methods 700-900 and data structure 1000. In response to the wine bar selection [i.e. responsive to determining that the classification corresponds to the product], associated UI content 1100 is retrieved and overlaid on the image 1200. In particular, as illustrated, the female avatar 1210B of the user with the caption “Wine Time!” 1210A [i.e. that includes a plurality of additional user interface elements that correspond to the augmented reality content item overlay] is overlaid on the wine bar image 1200” Col. 18 Ln. 42-55),
-wherein the plurality of additional user interface elements include a first additional user interface element that corresponds to first content of the first region of the augmented reality content item overlay and a second additional user interface element that corresponds to second content of the second region of the augmented reality content item overlay, the first content including static content and the second content including dynamic content (Charlton, see at least: “FIG. 12 shows an example presentation of an image 1200 of a wine bar with overlay content 1210A and 1210B [i.e. wherein the plurality of additional user interface elements include a first additional user interface element that corresponds to first content of the first region of the augmented reality content item overlay and a second additional user interface element that corresponds to second content of the second region of the augmented reality content item overlay], according to some example embodiments. In the example of FIG. 12, the client venue system 210 determined that the user (e.g., the human user taking a picture of the wine bar with client device 102) is in an indoor environment and has further detected wine glasses 1205 in the image 1200. The client venue system selects then wine bar subcategory using the above methods 700-900 and data structure 1000. In response to the wine bar selection, associated UI content 1100 is retrieved and overlaid on the image 1200 [i.e. wherein the plurality of additional user interface elements include a first additional user interface element that corresponds to first content of the first region of the augmented reality content item overlay and a second additional user interface element that corresponds to second content of the second region of the augmented reality content item overlay]. In particular, as illustrated, the female avatar 1210B of the user [i.e. the second content including dynamic content] with the caption “Wine Time!” 1210A [i.e. the first content including static content] is overlaid on the wine bar image 1200” Col. 18 Ln. 42-55).
Charlton in view of Badenhop does not explicitly teach augmented reality content item overlays being augmented reality content item templates.
Wassmann further teaches classifying information for display to users (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of content item templates (Wassmann, see at least: “details of the product are contained in the product information 108 and the module 204 from this information 108, according to a predefined product definition template 203 [i.e. content item templates], generates the corresponding product definition 107” [0036] and “the module 204 captures and/or formats the content of the product information for identifying/defining and categorizing appropriate product definitions 107 (e.g. product advertisements) [i.e. content item templates] for storage in the database 110. For example, each advertisement is classified based on predefined classification categories 205 that match extracted data units from the content of the product information 108” [0038]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Charlton in view of Badenhop with Wassmann for the reasons identified above with respect to claim 18.
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charlton, in view of Badenhop, in further view of Wassmann, in further view of Chopra et al. (US 2021/0073267 A1), hereinafter Chopra.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann teaches the system of claim 13. Charlton further discloses:
The combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann does not explicitly teach the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media including additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors, cause the one or more hardware processors to perform additional operations comprising: determining one or more first characteristics of a first product included in the plurality of products; analyzing the one or more first characteristics with respect to one or more first features corresponding to the first classification to determine a first measure of similarity between the one or more first characteristics and the one or more first features; and determining that the first product corresponds to the first classification based on the first measure of similarity being at least a threshold measure of similarity.
Chopra, however, teaches classifying images (i.e. abstract), including the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media including additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors (Chopra, see at least: “Each of the components of the computing device 802 can include software, hardware, or both. For example, the components of the computing device 802 can include one or more instructions stored on a computer-readable storage medium and executable by processors of one or more computing devices, such as a client device or server device” [0097]), cause the one or more hardware processors to perform additional operations comprising:
determining one or more first characteristics of a first product included in the plurality of products (Chopra, see at least: “the cognitive attribute classification system 106 can receive a database of images (e.g., a product catalog from a retailer) [i.e. included in the plurality of products]” [0083] and “the base localization neural network 204 can localize properties/features of an object in a query image to generate attribute-specific information in a localization feature vector [i.e. determining one or more first characteristics of a first product]” [0067] and “the cognitive attribute classification system 106 can then cause the grid search network 505 to compare the query image grid-search vector 506 [i.e. determining one or more first characteristics of a first product] and the candidate matches grid-search vectors 508” [0080]);
analyzing the one or more first characteristics with respect to one or more first features corresponding to the first classification to determine a first measure of similarity between the one or more first characteristics and the one or more first features (Chopra, see at least: “the cognitive attribute classification system 106 can then cause the grid search network 505 to compare the query image grid-search vector 506 and the candidate matches grid-search vectors 508 [i.e. analyzing the one or more first characteristics with respect to one or more first features corresponding to the first classification] in similarity space [i.e. to determine a first measure of similarity between the one or more first characteristics and the one or more first features]. In particular, for those of the candidate matches grid-search vectors 508 that fail to satisfy a threshold distance to the query image grid-search vector 506 in similarity space” [0080]); and
determining that the first product corresponds to the first classification based on the first measure of similarity being at least a threshold measure of similarity (Chopra, see at least: “the cognitive attribute classification system 106 [i.e. determining that the first product corresponds to the first classification] can then cause the grid search network 505 to compare the query image grid-search vector 506 and the candidate matches grid-search vectors 508 in similarity space. In particular, for those of the candidate matches grid-search vectors 508 that fail to satisfy a threshold distance to the query image grid-search vector 506 in similarity space [i.e. based on the first measure of similarity being at least a threshold measure of similarity]” [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system as taught by the combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann, the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media including additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors, cause the one or more hardware processors to perform additional operations comprising: determining one or more first characteristics of a first product included in the plurality of products; analyzing the one or more first characteristics with respect to one or more first features corresponding to the first classification to determine a first measure of similarity between the one or more first characteristics and the one or more first features; and determining that the first product corresponds to the first classification based on the first measure of similarity being at least a threshold measure of similarity, as taught by Chopra, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann, to include the teachings of Chopra in order to efficiently and flexibly support a variety of systems for providing digital content to allow for powerful exploration of a digital image catalogue (Chopra, [0006]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann/Chopra teaches the system of claim 14. Charlton further discloses:
The combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media including additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors, cause the one or more hardware processors to perform additional operations comprising: determining one or more second characteristics of a second product included in the plurality of products; analyzing the one or more second characteristics with respect to one or more second features corresponding to the second classification to determine a second measure of similarity between the one or more second characteristics and the one or more second features; and determining that the second product corresponds to the second classification based on the second measure of similarity being at least the threshold measure of similarity.
Chopra further teaches classifying images (i.e. abstract), including wherein the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media including additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors (Chopra, see at least: “Each of the components of the computing device 802 can include software, hardware, or both. For example, the components of the computing device 802 can include one or more instructions stored on a computer-readable storage medium and executable by processors of one or more computing devices, such as a client device or server device” [0097]), cause the one or more hardware processors to perform additional operations comprising:
determining one or more second characteristics of a second product included in the plurality of products (Chopra, see at least: “the cognitive attribute classification system 106 can receive a database of images (e.g., a product catalog from a retailer) [i.e. included in the plurality of products]” [0083] and “the base localization neural network 204 can localize properties/features of an object in a query image to generate attribute-specific information in a localization feature vector [i.e. determining one or more second characteristics of a second product]” [0067] and “the cognitive attribute classification system 106 can then cause the grid search network 505 to compare the query image grid-search vector 506 [i.e. determining one or more second characteristics of a second product] and the candidate matches grid-search vectors 508” [0080] and “a retailer can use the cognitive attribute classification system 106 to onboard a product database with product images [i.e. a second product included in the plurality of products] to include accurate, detailed tags” [0076]);
analyzing the one or more second characteristics with respect to one or more second features corresponding to the second classification to determine a second measure of similarity between the one or more second characteristics and the one or more second features (Chopra, see at least: “the cognitive attribute classification system 106 can then cause the grid search network 505 to compare the query image grid-search vector 506 and the candidate matches grid-search vectors 508 [i.e. analyzing the one or more second characteristics with respect to one or more second features corresponding to the second classification] in similarity space [i.e. to determine a second measure of similarity between the one or more second characteristics and the one or more second features]. In particular, for those of the candidate matches grid-search vectors 508 that fail to satisfy a threshold distance to the query image grid-search vector 506 in similarity space” [0080] and “a retailer can use the cognitive attribute classification system 106 to onboard a product database with product images [i.e. second] to include accurate, detailed tags” [0076]); and
determining that the second product corresponds to the second classification based on the second measure of similarity being at least the threshold measure of similarity (Chopra, see at least: “the cognitive attribute classification system 106 [i.e. determining that the second product corresponds to the second classification] can then cause the grid search network 505 to compare the query image grid-search vector 506 and the candidate matches grid-search vectors 508 in similarity space. In particular, for those of the candidate matches grid-search vectors 508 that fail to satisfy a threshold distance to the query image grid-search vector 506 in similarity space [i.e. based on the second measure of similarity being at least the threshold measure of similarity]” [0080] and “a retailer can use the cognitive attribute classification system 106 to onboard a product database with product images [i.e. second] to include accurate, detailed tags” [0076]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann with Chopra for the reasons identified above with respect to claim 14.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann/Chopra teaches the system of claim 15. Charlton further discloses:
-wherein the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media including additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors (Charlton, see at least:” FIG. 16 is a block diagram illustrating components of a machine 1600, according to some example embodiments, able to read instructions from a machine-readable medium (e.g., a machine-readable storage medium) and perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein” Col. 20 Ln. 66-67 & Col. 21 Ln. 1-3), cause the one or more hardware processors to perform additional operations comprising:
-generating a first augmented reality content item based on a first augmented reality content item overlay included in the first number of augmented reality content item overlays, the first augmented reality content item indicating the first information for the first product (Charlton, see at least: “FIG. 12 shows an example presentation of an image 1200 of a wine bar with overlay content 1210A and 1210B, according to some example embodiments. In the example of FIG. 12, the client venue system 210 determined that the user (e.g., the human user taking a picture of the wine bar with client device 102) is in an indoor environment and has further detected wine glasses 1205 in the image 1200. The client venue system selects then wine bar subcategory using the above methods 700-900 and data structure 1000. In response to the wine bar selection, associated UI content 1100 is retrieved and overlaid on the image 1200 [i.e. generating a first augmented reality content item based on a first augmented reality content item overlay included in the first number of augmented reality content item templates, the first augmented reality content item indicating the first information for the first product]. In particular, as illustrated, the female avatar 1210B of the user with the caption “Wine Time!” 1210A is overlaid on the wine bar image 1200” Col. 18 Ln. 42-55 and “Each of the categories and subcategories have metadata tags that describe the corresponding data object. The tags can be used for filtering and selecting venues as discussed in FIG. 9. As illustrated, the food category has both the indoor and outdoor tags because food venues can be outdoors, indoors, or both (indoor restaurant with an outdoor patio). Likewise, the subcategories also have environment tags indicating whether the venues are indoor, outdoor, or both. The sub-categories have additional tags that further describe characteristics or objects likely to be detected (e.g., by the object classification engine 620); e.g., the wine bar 1010B has a wine bottle tag and a wine glass tag [i.e. the first augmented reality content item indicating the first information for the first product]” Col. 18 Ln. 20-32 and “each of the categories and sub-categories may have associated or referenced UI content that indicates the category or sub-category venue type. For example, as illustrated, the wine bar sub-category 1010B is linked to UI content 1100 (e.g., avatars, captions) that correspond to the type of associated category or sub-category [i.e. included in the first number of augmented reality content item overlays]” Col. 18 Ln. 35-40); and
-generating a second augmented reality content item based on a second augmented reality content item overlay included in the second number of augmented reality content item overlays, the second augmented reality content item indicating the second information for the second product (Charlton, see at least: “FIG. 12 shows an example presentation of an image 1200 of a wine bar with overlay content 1210A and 1210B, according to some example embodiments. In the example of FIG. 12, the client venue system 210 determined that the user (e.g., the human user taking a picture of the wine bar with client device 102) is in an indoor environment and has further detected wine glasses 1205 in the image 1200. The client venue system selects then wine bar subcategory using the above methods 700-900 and data structure 1000. In response to the wine bar selection, associated UI content 1100 is retrieved and overlaid on the image 1200 [i.e. generating a second augmented reality content item based on a second augmented reality content item overlay included in the second number of augmented reality content item overlays, the second augmented reality content item indicating the second information for the second product]. In particular, as illustrated, the female avatar 1210B of the user with the caption “Wine Time!” 1210A is overlaid on the wine bar image 1200” Col. 18 Ln. 42-55 and “Each of the categories and subcategories have metadata tags that describe the corresponding data object [i.e. second] . The tags can be used for filtering and selecting venues as discussed in FIG. 9. As illustrated, the food category has both the indoor and outdoor tags because food venues can be outdoors, indoors, or both (indoor restaurant with an outdoor patio). Likewise, the subcategories also have environment tags indicating whether the venues are indoor, outdoor, or both. The sub-categories have additional tags that further describe characteristics or objects likely to be detected (e.g., by the object classification engine 620); e.g., the wine bar 1010B has a wine bottle tag and a wine glass tag [i.e. the second augmented reality content item indicating the second information for the second product]” Col. 18 Ln. 20-32 and “each of the categories and sub-categories may have associated or referenced UI content that indicates the category or sub-category venue type. For example, as illustrated, the wine bar sub-category 1010B is linked to UI content 1100 (e.g., avatars, captions) that correspond to the type of associated category or sub-category [i.e. included in the second number of augmented reality content item overlays]” Col. 18 Ln. 35-40).
Charlton in view of Badenhop does not explicitly teach the first augmented reality content item overlay being a first augmented reality content item template, the first number of augmented reality content item overlays being first number of augmented reality content item templates, the second augmented reality content item overlay being a second augmented reality content item template, and the second number of augmented reality content item overlays being second number of augmented reality content item templates.
Wassmann further teaches classifying information for display to users (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of a first content item template, a first number of content item templates, a second content item template, a second number of content item templates (Wassmann, see at least: “details of the product are contained in the product information 108 and the module 204 from this information 108, according to a predefined product definition template 203 [i.e. content item templates], generates the corresponding product definition 107” [0036] and “the module 204 captures and/or formats the content of the product information for identifying/defining and categorizing appropriate product definitions 107 (e.g. product advertisements) for storage in the database 110. For example, each advertisement is classified based on predefined classification categories 205 that match extracted data units from the content of the product information 108 [i.e. a first content item template, a first number of content item templates, a second content item template, a second number of content item templates]” [0038]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Charlton in view of Badenhop with Wassmann for the reasons identified above with respect to claim 10.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann/Chopra teaches the system of claim 16. Charlton further discloses:
-wherein the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media including additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors (Charlton, see at least:” FIG. 16 is a block diagram illustrating components of a machine 1600, according to some example embodiments, able to read instructions from a machine-readable medium (e.g., a machine-readable storage medium) and perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein” Col. 20 Ln. 66-67 & Col. 21 Ln. 1-3), cause the one or more hardware processors to perform additional operations comprising:
-the augmented reality content item overlay (Charlton, see at least: “At operation 730, the selection engine 625 selects one or more display objects based on the venue selected. The content selected may be pre-associated in a data structure with the venue categories and sub-categories. At operation 735, the display engine 630 generates a presentation of the image with the selected display objects [i.e. the augmented reality content item overlay]” Col. 15 Ln. 31-36 and “once the coffee shop is determined, a cartoon avatar (e.g., bitmoji) of the user operating the client device can be overlaid on the image of the coffee shop…Other examples of UI content include banners, captions (e.g., a caption outside the border of the image denoting where the image was taken), or augmented reality content [i.e. the augmented reality content item overlay], and so on” Col. 4 Ln. 40-48).
Charlton in view of Badenhop does not explicitly teach parsing a product information data store to identify the first information based on one or more criteria; and extracting the first information from a product catalog of the entity offering the product for purchase and associating the first information with a region of the content item template.
Wassmann further teaches classifying information for display to users (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of parsing a product information data store to identify the first information based on one or more criteria (Wassmann, see at least: “Each record comprises a plurality of fields for storing and structuring the various data components extracted/identified from each product information 108 set processed by the framework 112 [i.e. parsing a product information data store to identify the first information based on one or more criteria]. It is recognized that the product information 108 may already contain suitable product definitions 107 and therefore the module 204 would then classify the received product definitions 107 for subsequent retrieval from the database 110 according to their classification of the product details (e.g. vehicle make/model/year and/or dealership)” [0037]); and
the known technique of extracting the first information from a product catalog of the entity offering the product for purchase and associating the first information with a region of the content item template (Wassmann, see at least: “The classification module 204 can also contain a product definition 107 generation engine 121 that parses product information 108 obtained directly from a vendor database 115 (e.g. a Dealer Management System containing vehicle descriptions and vehicle availability/inventory) and then using the predefined template 203 [i.e. and associating the first set of information with a region of the first content item template] to extract the desired advertisement details from the vendor database 115 [i.e. extracting the first information from a product catalog of the entity offering the product for purchase] and then send the extracted product details to the Web portal (i.e. the aggregation module 200) for assignment of the unique identifier 111” [0039] and “Each of the data units (and corresponding classification 205) is stored a corresponding field of a record in the electronic database 110 that pertains to the product definition 107, which is labelled by the unique identifier 111. Further, the textual content and the layout and/or the position of the data in the product definition 107 (for display in the user interface 302 of the consumer's device—see FIG. 3) [i.e. associating the first information with a region of the content item template] can be included in the database 110” [0038]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Charlton in view of Badenhop with Wassmann for the reasons identified above with respect to claim 10.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charlton, in view of Badenhop, in further view of Wassmann, in further view of Charlton et al. (US 2020/0210703 A1), hereinafter Charlton703.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 18. Charlton further discloses:
The combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann does not explicitly teach the first information including animated content that includes images of the product revolving around an object included in a content item or images of the product moving along a border of an additional user interface.
Charlton703, however, teaches identifying an object category of the object in an image (i.e. abstract) including the known technique of the first information including animated content that includes images of the product revolving around an object included in a content item or images of the product moving along a border of an additional user interface (Charlton703, see at least: “as seen in FIG. 7, the object 720 is a bag of chips. The contextual filter system 124 identifies an object category of the object 720 (e.g., food, snacks, etc.), and retrieves the set of media content 735, wherein the set of media content 735 includes media content tagged or labeled with the object category of the object 720 [i.e. animated content that includes images of the product]” [0062] and “The positions of each media content among the set of media content 735 within the image frame depicted in the interface 705 may be determined based on a media template, as discussed in the methods 400, 500, and 600. A user of a client device 102 may thereby generate a message that includes the set of media content 735 to be distributed to one or more recipients identified by the user of the client device 102. In some embodiments, the message may include an ephemeral message” [0063] and “As seen in the interface 715, the presentation of the set of media content 735 may comprise a plurality of media items that include images and GIFs relevant to the object 720” [0061] and Fig. 7 displays a moving GIF of snacks moving upward along the vertical border in interface 715 [i.e. wherein the first information includes animated content that includes images of the product revolving around an object included in a content item or images of the product moving along a border of an additional user interface]). This known technique is applicable to the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of the combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to identifying an object category of the object in an image.
It would have been recognized that applying the known technique of the first information including animated content that includes images of the product revolving around an object included in a content item or images of the product moving along a border of an additional user interface, as taught by Charlton703, to the teachings of the combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such references into similar one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media. Further, adding the modification of the first information including animated content that includes images of the product revolving around an object included in a content item or images of the product moving along a border of an additional user interface, as taught by Charlton703, into the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of the combination of Charlton/Badenhop/Wassmann would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media that would allow the presentation of a plurality of media items that include images and GIFs relevant to a product (Charlton703, [0061]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Applefeld et al. (US 8,606,645 B1) teaches displaying an augmented-reality-enhanced view of an image including a retail product and an animation.
/ARIELLE E WEINER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3689