Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 7 recites the first sensors or second sensors include a plurality of different sensing principles. However, the parent claim 2 does not require plural sensors or both first and second sensors. Accordingly, it is unclear if more than one sensor is required by claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stiefenhofer (US 20160294188) in view of Swanson (US 5,293,115) in view of Lathrop et al. (US 7,683,603).
With respect to claim 1 Stiefenhofer a meter socket adapter (MSA see Fig. 1: see 10, paragraph 0013) for connecting a battery energy storage system (see 450 paragraph 0021, 41) to a household microgrid (see connection to panel 40) through a meter combo load center (see Fig. 1/3), comprising: a first side for receiving an electricity meter (see 20 and meter side 100); a second side (see panel side 200) opposite the first side (seen best in Fig. 1 and 2), wherein the second side is arranged to be inserted (see 220/120) in a meter socket disposed (see Fig. 1 and 3) at the meter combo load center, and the plurality of first conductors is exposed on the first side after the electricity meter is removed (see meter blades) from the MSA, and the plurality of second conductors is exposed after the MSA is removed from the meter socket (panel side blades).
Stiefenhofer teaches the removal at the MSA opens the connection (paragraph 0038-39) and further suggests a switch 300 (paragraph 39-43 see activation during grid below level) may be placed outside of the enclosure however does not determining insertion or removal of the electricity meter and insertion or removal of the MSA, respectively, wherein after it is detected the electricity meter is removed from the MSA de-energizing conductors.
Swanson teaches the known use of detection circuit (col. 2 lines 40-55) for determining a change (see multiple embodiments optical, voltage, plug detection, Fig. 2-6) for removal. Swanson teaches means to detect removal (col. 2 line 50), however does not teach the de-engerization of the conductors as a result. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Stiefenhofer to include the detection of the removal of the meter and MSA for the benefit of preventing and monitoring of tampering and incorrect installation (see col. 6 lines 5-25).
Lathrop similarly teaches a meter detection circuit (see col. 1 lines 55-65) for detecting the presence and absence of the meter. Lathrop further teaches the know use of controlling a plurality of conductors (conductors carrying power to loads/2nd power source) wherein after it is detected the electricity meter is removed (col. 4 lines 45-60) from the MSA, a plurality of first conductors on the first side is de-energized (see disconnect device from alternative source), after it is detected the MSA is removed from the meter socket, a plurality of second conductors at the meter socket is de-energized (see signal 38 to energize or de-energize automatic disconnect 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to apply the disconnection or de-energized conductor of Lathrop to the Stiefenhofer interface for the benefit of isolating the disconnected the sources to increase safety.
With respect to claim 2 Stiefenhofer teaches one first sensors (250) disposed on the first side to detect insertion or removal of the electricity meter.
With respect to claim 3 Stiefenhofer teaches the first sensors however does not teach a contact switch, and the contact switch is used to ascertain a state of being compressed for detecting the predetermined change. Swanson teaches a contact switch (Fig. 3), and the contact switch is used to ascertain a state of being compressed for detecting the predetermined change. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Stiefenhofer to include the known use of a contact switch as a known alternative of detection to the Stiefenhofer system to detection of the removal of the meter and MSA for the benefit of preventing and monitoring of tampering and incorrect installation (see col. 6 lines 5-25).
With respect to claim 4 Stiefenhofer teaches the first sensor however does not teach an optical sensor, and the optical sensor is used to sense ambient light for detecting the predetermined change. Swanson teaches an optical sensor, and the optical sensor (see Fig. 1) is used to sense ambient light for detecting the predetermined change. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Stiefenhofer to include the known use of an optical switch as a known alternative of detection to the Stiefenhofer system to detection of the removal of the meter and MSA for the benefit of preventing and monitoring of tampering and incorrect installation (see col. 6 lines 5-25).
With respect to claim 5 Stiefenhofer as modified above teaches the removal determination. Swanson teaches the change in orientation (col. 4 lines 40-45) may be detected rather than complete removal detection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Stiefenhofer to include the detection before complete exposure for the benefit of detecting small changes in orientation consistent with tampering or mis-installation.
With respect to claim 6 Stiefenhofer as modified above teaches the known use of a sensor however does not teach the use of a second sensor. It is well known to include duplicate switching elements for increased redundancy. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Stiefenhofer to include the use of a second switch for the benefit of increased reliability.
With respect to claim 7 Stiefenhofer as modified above teaches the first sensor however does the principles of different switches. Swanson teaches various principles of controlling and sensing the meter (see Fig. 2 – 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Stiefenhofer to try the different principles seen in Swanson for the benefit of preventing and monitoring of tampering and incorrect installation (see col. 6 lines 5-25).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL FIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/MICHAEL R. FIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836