DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/19/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
2. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In [0059], line 5, "again one more effects to that word" should read "again one or more effects to that word"
In [0060], line 7, "when and effect is removed" should read "when an effect is removed"
In [0073], line 6, "may by an where suggested effects" should read "may be anywhere suggested effects"
In [0077], line 6, "the word helps would establish that the word helps us selected." should read "the word "helps" would establish that the word "helps" is selected."
In [0107], line 7, "the next effect may have overlap" should read "the next effect may overlap"
In [0113], line 3, "can product an affine" should read "can produce an affine"
In [0142], line 1, "refers to microprocessor or multi-core" should read "refers to microprocessors or multi-core"
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee Byung Doo (KR-20190012464-A).
5. As per claim 1, Lee Byung Doo discloses: A device comprising: (Lee Byung Doo, [0027], “A user terminal (12) is a device that runs a messaging service capable of exchanging messages with one or more other user terminals (13) or sharing content such as photos, videos, and audio, and is a device available to the user.”)
a processor; and (Lee Byung Doo, [0029], “Referring to FIG. 2, the user terminal (12) is a computing device comprising a control unit (20), an input unit (21), a communication unit (22), a storage unit (23), and a display unit (24), and can be implemented in the form of a smartphone, tablet PC, personal computer, laptop computer, etc.” and [0034], “The control unit (20) can be implemented as an operating system, an application, and a processor that drives each component.”)
a computer-readable memory storing instructions which cause the processor to: (Lee Byung Doo, [0086], “The above computer-readable medium may include program instructions, data files, data structures, etc., either alone or in combination. The program instructions recorded on the above medium may be those specifically designed and configured for the present invention, or they may be those known and available to those skilled in the art of computer software.”)
receive, at an input element of a messaging application, a text input including a word; (Lee Byung Doo, Fig. 3; [0030], “In the present invention, the input unit (21) transmits user input related to the messaging service to the control unit (20). Specifically, user input related to a messaging service may include user input for selecting a conversation function, user input for composing a message, user input for selecting a message, user input for selecting an emotion to be reflected in a message, user input for selecting text to reflect an emotional effect, and user input for classifying emotions and defining text formats corresponding to each emotion.” and [0044], “In step S30, text to be sent as an instant message is received from the user through the input window.” and [0052], “As another method, instead of selecting the entire space unit at the location touched by the user, only nouns can be extracted from the part corresponding to the space unit and selected as targets to reflect emotional effects, or only parts corresponding to the roots of adverbs or adjectives can be selected.” and [0051], “Referring to Fig. 7… After entering the text message ', touch the text 'worst' and drag left or right to select it …”)
select the word from the text input for application of an effect; (Lee Byung Doo, Fig. 3; [0045]-[0046], “In step S31, all or part of the input text is selected as the target to reflect the emotional effect. Various methods can be used to select the target for emotional effect reflection from text entered by a user in the input window of a messenger application.” and [0048], “When a user touches a desired location within the entered text, a specific unit corresponding to that location can become the target for reflecting emotional effects. A specific unit can be a space unit.” and [0052], “As another method, instead of selecting the entire space unit at the location touched by the user, only nouns can be extracted from the part corresponding to the space unit and selected as targets to reflect emotional effects, or only parts corresponding to the roots of adverbs or adjectives can be selected.” and [0051], “Referring to Fig. 7… After entering the text message ', touch the text 'worst' and drag left or right to select it …”)
associate an effect to the word, the effect comprising a text effect, wherein executing the effect alters a display of the word according to the effect; (Lee Byung Doo, Fig. 3; [0058], “According to the method using gestures, multiple reflection targets can be selected from the input text, and different emotional effects can be reflected for each target. For example, in the example of Fig. 7, if you select 'Worst' as the target and input a downward swipe from above, and then select 'Sobbing' as the target and input a right swipe from above, an emotional effect corresponding to the emotion of 'sadness' will be applied to the text 'Worst' and an emotional effect corresponding to the emotion of 'anger' will be applied to the text 'Sobbing'.” and [0057], “In the embodiment of FIG. 7, the emotion is determined based on the user's gesture input for the selected target. To this end, emotions corresponding to multiple gestures will be defined in advance. For example, a downward swipe can be defined as corresponding to 'sadness', an upward swipe as corresponding to 'happy', a left swipe as corresponding to 'serious', a right swipe as corresponding to 'angry', and a circle gesture as corresponding to 'emphasis'. In the example of FIG. 7, since a downward swipe is input by the user, the user's emotion is determined to be 'sadness'.” and [0060], “For example, an emotional effect (text formatting) corresponding to each emotion can be predefined and stored, such that when the emotion is 'serious', it is Gungseo font, when it is 'angry', it is red, when it is 'emphasized', it is large font, when it is 'cautious', it is small font, when it is 'happy', it is large and bold font, and when it is 'sad', it is bold font with dots on top.” and [0062], “Here, text formatting is intended to visually change a text message and may include at least one of the elements that define the appearance of the text, such as font size, font type, color, shading, and boldness.”)
apply the effect to the word in the input element to execute the effect; (Lee Byung Doo, Fig. 3; [0059], “In step S33, a text format corresponding to an emotional effect that corresponds to the emotion determined above is determined, and the target to reflect the emotional effect in the text entered by the user is changed to the text format determined above.” and [0062], “Here, text formatting is intended to visually change a text message and may include at least one of the elements that define the appearance of the text, such as font size, font type, color, shading, and boldness.” and [0058], “According to the method using gestures, multiple reflection targets can be selected from the input text, and different emotional effects can be reflected for each target. For example, in the example of Fig. 7, if you select 'Worst' as the target and input a downward swipe from above, and then select 'Sobbing' as the target and input a right swipe from above, an emotional effect corresponding to the emotion of 'sadness' will be applied to the text 'Worst' and an emotional effect corresponding to the emotion of 'anger' will be applied to the text 'Sobbing'.”)
send a message to another device, the message including the word with the effect associated with the word; (Lee Byung Doo, Fig. 3, 5; [0061], “In step S34, text formatted by reflecting the emotional effect is sent to the messenger server (11).” and [0064], “The messenger server (11) sends the received text message to the terminals of users belonging to the conversation group, and accordingly, the text message (63) with an emotional effect is displayed in the receiving window of the user terminal (12) receiving the message.”)
move a display of the text input from the input element to a transcript element of the messaging application; and (Lee Byung Doo, Fig. 5-8, [0043], “The conversation screen of the messenger application (25) may include an input window and a reception window. The input window includes a user interface for the user to input instant messages, and the receiving window includes a user interface for displaying messages exchanged in the corresponding conversation group.” and [0080], “In step S50, when a user composes a text message and sends it to the messenger server (11), the terminals of other users in the conversation group with the user receive the message and display it in the messenger's reception window.” And [0064], “The messenger server (11) sends the received text message to the terminals of users belonging to the conversation group, and accordingly, the text message (63) with an emotional effect is displayed in the receiving window of the user terminal (12) receiving the message.” and [0006], “In addition, the present invention is intended to provide a method for providing a messaging service that can display emotions on a previously sent text message even after the text message has been sent.”)
apply the effect to the word in the transcript element. (Lee Byung Doo, Fig. 5-8; [0064]-[0066], “In the example of Fig. 6, among the text entered in the input window (61), the emotional effect corresponding to ‘good mood’ is reflected in ‘I enjoyed it’ (62), and as a result, the font type and font size of that part are changed, and it can be seen that the text message with the format changed as above is sent to the messenger server (11). The messenger server (11) sends the received text message to the terminals of users belonging to the conversation group, and accordingly, the text message (63) with an emotional effect is displayed in the receiving window of the user terminal (12) receiving the message. In the example of Fig. 7, it can be seen that among the text entered in the input window (70), the 'worst' (71) has an emotional effect corresponding to 'sadness' reflected, and the font type and weight have been changed. The text message with the changed format is sent to users belonging to a conversation group via the messenger server (11), and accordingly, the text message (72) with the emotional effect reflected is displayed in the receiving window of the user terminal (12) receiving the message. Other users in the conversation group will be able to intuitively recognize the sender's sentiment by looking at the formatting of the text included in the received message (63, 72).”
6. As per claim 4, Lee Byung Doo discloses: The device of claim 1, wherein the effect is a dynamic effect causing the word to be animated, a static effect altering a display characteristic of the word, or both a dynamic effect and a static effect. (Lee Byung Doo, Fig. 3; [0059], “In step S33, a text format corresponding to an emotional effect that corresponds to the emotion determined above is determined, and the target to reflect the emotional effect in the text entered by the user is changed to the text format determined above.” and [0062], “Here, text formatting is intended to visually change a text message and may include at least one of the elements that define the appearance of the text, such as font size, font type, color, shading, and boldness.” and [0058], “According to the method using gestures, multiple reflection targets can be selected from the input text, and different emotional effects can be reflected for each target. For example, in the example of Fig. 7, if you select 'Worst' as the target and input a downward swipe from above, and then select 'Sobbing' as the target and input a right swipe from above, an emotional effect corresponding to the emotion of 'sadness' will be applied to the text 'Worst' and an emotional effect corresponding to the emotion of 'anger' will be applied to the text 'Sobbing'.”)
7. As per claim 20, Lee Byung Doo discloses: A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions thereon, (Lee Byung Doo, [0086], “The above computer-readable medium may include program instructions, data files, data structures, etc., either alone or in combination. The program instructions recorded on the above medium may be those specifically designed and configured for the present invention, or they may be those known and available to those skilled in the art of computer software.”) which when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: (Lee Byung Doo, [0029], “Referring to FIG. 2, the user terminal (12) is a computing device comprising a control unit (20), an input unit (21), a communication unit (22), a storage unit (23), and a display unit (24), and can be implemented in the form of a smartphone, tablet PC, personal computer, laptop computer, etc.” and [0034], “The control unit (20) can be implemented as an operating system, an application, and a processor that drives each component.”)
obtain first information based on a user input to a messaging application; (Lee Byung Doo, [0030], “The input unit (21) is for receiving user input such as a touch screen, touch pad, keyboard, or mouse, and detects various information such as character and number information input by the user, various function settings, and signals related to function control of the user terminal (12), and transmits them to the control unit (20). Specifically, user input related to a messaging service may include user input for selecting a conversation function, user input for composing a message, user input for selecting a message, user input for selecting an emotion to be reflected in a message, user input for selecting text to reflect an emotional effect, and user input for classifying emotions and defining text formats corresponding to each emotion.” and [0044]-[0045], “In step S30, text to be sent as an instant message is received from the user through the input window. In step S31, all or part of the input text is selected as the target to reflect the emotional effect.”)
provide the first information based on the user input to the messaging application to an operating system; and (Lee Byung Doo, [0030], “The input unit (21) is for receiving user input such as a touch screen, touch pad, keyboard, or mouse, and detects various information such as character and number information input by the user, various function settings, and signals related to function control of the user terminal (12), and transmits them to the control unit (20). In the present invention, the input unit (21) transmits user input related to the messaging service to the control unit (20).” and [0034], “The control unit (20) performs overall control of the user terminal (12), for example, controls the flow of signals for power supply and function execution for each component constituting the user terminal (12). The control unit (20) can be implemented as an operating system, an application, and a processor that drives each component.”)
in response to providing the first information to the operating system, (Lee Byung Doo, [0030], “The input unit (21) is for receiving user input such as a touch screen, touch pad, keyboard, or mouse, and detects various information such as character and number information input by the user, various function settings, and signals related to function control of the user terminal (12), and transmits them to the control unit (20). In the present invention, the input unit (21) transmits user input related to the messaging service to the control unit (20).” and [0034], “The control unit (20) can be implemented as an operating system, an application, and a processor that drives each component.”) receive second information, wherein the second information is a suggested animation for an animated text effect, (Lee Byung Doo, [0056]-[0057], “In the embodiment of FIG. 6, the user can set an emotion mode that indicates their current emotion or an emotion that they wish to reflect in a text message. … In the embodiment of FIG. 7, the emotion is determined based on the user's gesture input for the selected target. … For example, a downward swipe can be defined as corresponding to 'sadness', an upward swipe as corresponding to 'happy', a left swipe as corresponding to 'serious', a right swipe as corresponding to 'angry', and a circle gesture as corresponding to 'emphasis'. In the example of FIG. 7, since a downward swipe is input by the user, the user's emotion is determined to be 'sadness'.”) wherein the first information is information based on a user selection or content of the user selection. (Lee Byung Doo, [0044]-[0045], “In step S30, text to be sent as an instant message is received from the user through the input window. In step S31, all or part of the input text is selected as the target to reflect the emotional effect.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 2, 9, 10, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee Byung Doo (KR-20190012464-A) in view of Schlemmer et al. (WO-2025/080248-A1, hereinafter "Schlemmer").
10. As per claim 2, Lee Byung Doo discloses: The device of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: (See rejection for claim 1.)
in response to receiving the text input including the word, [[analyze the text input by a pattern matching engine or a machine learning model, wherein the word is selected from the text input for association of the effect to the word based on the analysis; and]] (Lee Byung Doo, Fig. 3; [0030], “In the present invention, the input unit (21) transmits user input related to the messaging service to the control unit (20). Specifically, user input related to a messaging service may include user input for selecting a conversation function, user input for composing a message, user input for selecting a message, user input for selecting an emotion to be reflected in a message, user input for selecting text to reflect an emotional effect, and user input for classifying emotions and defining text formats corresponding to each emotion.” and [0044], “In step S30, text to be sent as an instant message is received from the user through the input window.” and [0052], “As another method, instead of selecting the entire space unit at the location touched by the user, only nouns can be extracted from the part corresponding to the space unit and selected as targets to reflect emotional effects, or only parts corresponding to the roots of adverbs or adjectives can be selected.” and [0051], “Referring to Fig. 7… After entering the text message ', touch the text 'worst' and drag left or right to select it …”)
[[display the word in an effects suggestion element of the messaging application while applying the effect to the word in the effects suggestion element,]] or apply the effect to the word in the input element. (Lee Byung Doo, [0053], “When a part of the input text to be affected by an emotional effect is selected, an emotional effect corresponding to the user's currently set emotion is automatically applied and displayed in the input window, thereby allowing real-time verification of how the user's input changes the text to be transmitted. In addition, multiple targets to reflect emotional effects may be selected within the input text.”)
11. Lee Byung Doo doesn't explicitly disclose but Schlemmer discloses: [[The device of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to:]]
[[in response to receiving the text input including the word,]] analyze the text input by a pattern matching engine or a machine learning model, wherein the word is selected from the text input for association of the effect to the word based on the analysis; and (Schlemmer, [0028], “Messaging application 108 may include one or more machine learning models or generative Al models and use the machine learning or generative Al models to process the text of a received message. Messaging application 108 may use the models to analyze the text and determine whether to generate an animation effect based on the text. For example, messaging application 108 receives a message that includes the text “Happy Birthday!” and processes the text through one or more of the models to determine a message effect. Messaging application 108 may cause effects module 110 to orchestrate an animation effect based on the determined message effect.” and [0052], “Effects module 210 may orchestrate message animations based on the text content of a message. In an example, messaging application 208 receives a. message that includes text. Effects module 210 identifies one or more predetermined words or phrases within the text (e,g.., words that have strong emotional connotations, particular phrases, etc. ). Responsive to identifying the one or more predetermined words or phrases within the text, effects module 210 selects one or more animation effects and orchestrates a message animation that includes the selected animation effects. In another example, messaging application 208 processes the received message using one or more machine learning models and determines an animation effect using the machine learning model. Messaging application 208 causes effects module 210 to orchestrate the animation effect.”)
display the word in an effects suggestion element of the messaging application while applying the effect to the word in the effects suggestion element, [[or apply the effect to the word in the input element.]] (Schlemmer, [0056], “Messaging application 208 may generate and cause computing device 200 to output GUIs that display one or more options for a user to select a message animation to send with the text for a message. In an example, messaging application 208 generates a GUI that displays multiple options for animation effects to send with a message that a user of computing device 200 is composing. Messaging application 208 receives a user input of a selection of one or more animation effects for different layers of the GUI that comprises an overarching message animation. Responsive to receiving user input consistent with a selection of one or more animation effects, messaging, application 208 causes computing device 200 to send the text of the message along with, an indication of the message animation that includes indications of the one or more animation effects to another computing device or to another user.” and [0057], “In another example, effects module 210, responsive to the selection of an animation effect that is to be sent to another computing device, generates the message animation. Messaging application 208 causes computing device 200 to display a GUI that includes the message animation that is to be sent.” and [0059], “In yet another example, messaging application 208 receives user input of typing text and selecting an animation.” and [0025], “In addition, effects module 110 may orchestrate message animations for messages drafted by the user of computing device 100 (e.g., draft messages, the user trying out different animations, etc.).”)
12. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of claim 1 of Lee Byung Doo to include the disclosure of analyzing the text input by a pattern matching engine or a machine learning model and displaying the word in an effects suggestion element of the messaging application while applying the effect to the word in the effects suggestion element, of Schlemmer. The motivation for this modification could have been to utilize a machine learning model to quickly determine an appropriate emotion or effect based on the input text. The machine learning model could generate effects automatically without user input. In addition, the displaying of a word in an effects suggestions element would provide a user with options of various text effects to apply depending on the input text.
13. As per claim 9, Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer discloses: A method comprising:
displaying a message transcript in a messaging application, the message transcript including one or more messages sent or received, the message transcript (Lee Byung Doo, Fig. 5-8, [0043], “The conversation screen of the messenger application (25) may include an input window and a reception window. The input window includes a user interface for the user to input instant messages, and the receiving window includes a user interface for displaying messages exchanged in the corresponding conversation group.” and Lee Byung Doo, [0080], “In step S50, when a user composes a text message and sends it to the messenger server (11), the terminals of other users in the conversation group with the user receive the message and display it in the messenger's reception window.”) including an indication of one or more effects that are respectively associated with one or more words of the message transcript; and (Lee Byung Doo, Fig. 5-8, [0064], “The messenger server (11) sends the received text message to the terminals of users belonging to the conversation group, and accordingly, the text message (63) with an emotional effect is displayed in the receiving window of the user terminal (12) receiving the message.” and Lee Byung Doo, [0006], “In addition, the present invention is intended to provide a method for providing a messaging service that can display emotions on a previously sent text message even after the text message has been sent.”)
applying the one or more effects to the respectively associated one or more words, wherein applying the one or more effects executes the one or more effects on the respectively associated one or more words, wherein executing an effect on a word includes altering a display of a corresponding word according to the effect, wherein altering the display of the word comprises (Lee Byung Doo, Fig. 3; [0058], “According to the method using gestures, multiple reflection targets can be selected from the input text, and different emotional effects can be reflected for each target. For example, in the example of Fig. 7, if you select 'Worst' as the target and input a downward swipe from above, and then select 'Sobbing' as the target and input a right swipe from above, an emotional effect corresponding to the emotion of 'sadness' will be applied to the text 'Worst' and an emotional effect corresponding to the emotion of 'anger' will be applied to the text 'Sobbing'.” and Lee Byung Doo, [0062], “Here, text formatting is intended to visually change a text message and may include at least one of the elements that define the appearance of the text, such as font size, font type, color, shading, and boldness.” and Lee Byung Doo, [0059], “In step S33, a text format corresponding to an emotional effect that corresponds to the emotion determined above is determined, and the target to reflect the emotional effect in the text entered by the user is changed to the text format determined above.”) applying a time sequence animation associated with the effect to the word. (Schlemmer, [0052], “Effects module 210 may orchestrate message animations based on the text content of a message. In an example, messaging application 208 receives a. message that includes text. Effects module 210 identifies one or more predetermined words or phrases within the text (e,g.., words that have strong emotional connotations, particular phrases, etc. ). Responsive to identifying the one or more predetermined words or phrases within the text, effects module 210 selects one or more animation effects and orchestrates a message animation that includes the selected animation effects.” and Schlemmer, [0053], “Effects module 210 may orchestrate message animations that include one or more time-based animation effects.”)
14. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Lee Byung Doo to include the disclosure of applying a time sequence animation associated with the effect to the word, of Schlemmer. The motivation for this modification could have been to provide a more dynamic and interesting text effect that animates over time. The animation not only might better represent the “feeling” of the text message but it may increase a user’s happiness seeing the animation.
15. As per claim 10, Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer discloses: The method of claim 9, further comprising: (See rejection for claim 9.)
receiving a new message at the messaging application, the new message including a text portion and an indication of one or more new effects respectively associated with one or more new words of the text portion; (Schlemmer, [0003], “In one example, a method includes receiving, using a messaging application executing at a computing device, a message that includes text; determining an animation effect based on the text wherein the animation effect includes a first animation effect and a second animation effect; …”)
cancelling a currently executing effect in the message transcript; (Schlemmer, [0067], “In the example of FIG. 3C, GUI 312C includes message thread 314C and graphical keyboard GUI 316C. In some examples, GUI 312C may display an end state of a message animation such as the message animation illustrated in FIG. 3B. Messaging application 208 may use effects module 210 to orchestrate the end state of the message animation illustrated in FIG. 3B.” and [0025], “As shown in the example of FIG. 1 messaging application 108 includes effects module 110, Effects module 110 may orchestrate animations responsive to receiving indications of animation effect, receiving text consistent of a common message associated with one or more common effects, or receiving an emoji associated with an animated emoji effect.” and [0053], “Effects module 210 orchestrates a message animation based at least in part on the indication of the third animation effect. ... Effects module 210, responsive to determining that the predetermined period of time has elapsed (e.g., after the third animation effect has finished playing, while the third animation effect is still playing, etc.) orchestrates, based at least in part on the fourth animation effect, a third message animation.”; Examiner’s note: As disclosed by Schlemmer in [0063], the messaging application may determine when to end an animation. In addition, as disclosed in [0053], the effects module is responsive to various events, such as a third animation event that has finished playing. One of these responsive events when orchestrating playback could be receiving a new message.)
adding the new message to the message transcript; and (Schlemmer, [0044]-[0045], “Messaging application 208 may generate a GUI that includes one or more visual elements. Messaging application 208 may generate a GUI that includes visual elements containing text such as prior messages between users of messaging application 208. For example, messaging application 208 may generate a GUI that includes text within visual elements that comprises a message thread between the user of computing, device 200 and users of two other computing devices. Messaging application 208 generates the GUI and causes one or more components of computing device 200 such as UI device 202 and output devices 226 to output the GUI for display. Messaging application 208, via. one or more components such as communication units 222, may receive a message that includes text and an indication of an animation effect.”)
applying each of the one or more new effects to the respectively associated one or more new words in the new message. (Schlemmer, [0003], “In one example, a method includes receiving, using a messaging application executing at a computing device, a message that includes text; determining an animation effect based on the text wherein the animation effect includes a first animation effect and a second animation effect; ... and outputting, by the computing device and for display, the message animation within the graphical user interface of the messaging application.” and [0045], “Messaging application 208, via. one or more components such as communication units 222, may receive a message that includes text and an indication of an animation effect. Messaging application 208 may receive an indication of animation effect that includes indications of one or more animation effects for one or more layers of the message.”)
16. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of claim 9 of Lee Byung Doo to include the disclosure of receiving a new message at the messaging application, cancelling a currently executing effect in the message transcript, adding the new message to the message transcript, and applying each of the one or more new effects to the respectively associated one or more new words in the new message, of Schlemmer. The motivation for this modification could have been to give animation priority to newer messages. If animations for prior messages occur for too long, it may become uninteresting to the user. By cancelling old animations in favor of animations in new messages, this keeps things more “lively” in a text messaging environment. Also, cancelling old effects might free up computing resources.
17. As per claim 14, Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer discloses: The method of claim 9, further comprising: (See rejection for claim 9.)
executing a first effect on a first word in the message transcript; and (Lee Byung Doo, Fig. 3, 5-8; [0058], “According to the method using gestures, multiple reflection targets can be selected from the input text, and different emotional effects can be reflected for each target. For example, in the example of Fig. 7, if you select 'Worst' as the target and input a downward swipe from above, and then select 'Sobbing' as the target and input a right swipe from above, an emotional effect corresponding to the emotion of 'sadness' will be applied to the text 'Worst' and an emotional effect corresponding to the emotion of 'anger' will be applied to the text 'Sobbing'.” and Lee Byung Doo, [0064], “The messenger server (11) sends the received text message to the terminals of users belonging to the conversation group, and accordingly, the text message (63) with an emotional effect is displayed in the receiving window of the user terminal (12) receiving the message.” and Lee Byung Doo, [0006], “In addition, the present invention is intended to provide a method for providing a messaging service that can display emotions on a previously sent text message even after the text message has been sent.”)
before completing the execution of the first effect on the first word, beginning execution of a second effect on a second word in the message transcript. (Schlemmer, [0053], “Effects module 210 may orchestrate message animations that include one or more time-based animation effects. ... Effects module 210 may orchestrate message animations in one or more ways such as staggering the animation effects (e.g., start playing an animation effect 500ms after a previous animation effect)., using a timer to determine when to play animation effects, .and/or using a. predetermined order of animation effects, among other ways of determining, when to play animation effects as part of a message animation. ... Effects module 210, responsive to determining that the predetermined period of time has elapsed (e.g., ... while the third animation effect is still playing, etc.) orchestrates, based at least in part on the fourth animation effect, a third message animation.” and Schlemmer, [0024], “Messaging application 108 may send and receive messages that include text for a message and an indication of animation effect that includes indications of animation effects for one or more layers of the message.” and Schlemmer, [0044], “Messaging application 208 may generate a GUI that includes visual elements containing text such as prior messages between users of messaging application 208.”)
18. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of claim 9 of Lee Byung Doo to include the disclosure of prior to completing the execution of the first effect on the first word, beginning execution of a second effect on a second word in the message transcript, of Schlemmer. The motivation for this modification could have been to make the text messaging environment more dynamic with more effects. Having all text effects executed at the same time may be distracting and draw attention away from certain effects. By delaying the start of additional animations, it allows earlier animations to be noticed and potentially reduces screen clutter of many animations executing at the same time.
19. As per claim 15, Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer discloses: The method of claim 14, wherein execution of the second effect is begun (See rejection for claim 14.) when the execution of the first effect reaches a trigger point during the execution of the first effect. (Schlemmer, [0053], “Effects module 210 may orchestrate message animations that include one or more time-based animation effects. ... Effects module 210 orchestrates a message animation that includes the first animation effect playing, first and the second animation effect playing after the completion of the first animation. Effects module 210 may orchestrate message animations in one or more ways such as staggering the animation effects (e.g., start playing an animation effect 500ms after a previous animation effect)., using a timer to determine when to play animation effects, .and/or using a. predetermined order of animation effects, among other ways of determining, when to play animation effects as part of a message animation. In an example, messaging application 208 receives an indication of a message animation that includes an indication of a third animation effect an indication of a fourth animation effect, and an indication to generate the animation of the indication of the fourth animation effect after a predetermined period of time. Effects module 210 orchestrates a message animation based at least in part on the indication of the third animation effect. ... Effects module 210, responsive to determining that the predetermined period of time has elapsed (e.g., after the third animation effect has finished playing, while the third animation effect is still playing, etc.) orchestrates, based at least in part on the fourth animation effect, a third message animation.”; As disclosed by Schlemmer in [0053], a second animation effect may be triggered in a predetermined order after a predetermined period of time and indicates that an animation effect can start while a previous effect “is still paying.”)
20. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of claim 14 of Lee Byung Doo to include the disclosure of starting a second effect when the execution of the first effect reaches a trigger point during the execution, of Schlemmer. The motivation for this modification could have been to potentially sequence text effects so they build up an overall “themed” animation. Specifically timed events can create effects that are enhanced off each other, creating an overall bigger effect. For instance, a well-timed “Congratulations” text effect message with text fireworks could make for a compelling and fun combination.
21. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee Byung Doo (KR-20190012464-A) in view of Schlemmer et al. (WO-2025/080248-A1, hereinafter "Schlemmer"), and further in view of Stylish Fonts (NPL: Stylish Fonts Webpage Archive from Archive.org, https://web.archive.org/web/20210918190434/http://stylishfonts.app/, Archive Dated Sept. 18, 2021, hereinafter "Stylish Fonts").
22. As per claim 3, Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer discloses: The device of claim 2, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: (See rejection for claim 2.)
when the word is displayed in the effects suggestion element, [[display the word in multiple instances of the word]] in the effects suggestion element while applying a unique effect to each instance of the word in the effects suggestion element. (Schlemmer, [0056], “Messaging application 208 may generate and cause computing device 200 to output GUIs that display one or more options for a user to select a message animation to send with the text for a message. In an example, messaging application 208 generates a GUI that displays multiple options for animation effects to send with a message that a user of computing device 200 is composing. Messaging application 208 receives a user input of a selection of one or more animation effects for different layers of the GUI that comprises an overarching message animation. Responsive to receiving user input consistent with a selection of one or more animation effects, messaging, application 208 causes computing device 200 to send the text of the message along with, an indication of the message animation that includes indications of the one or more animation effects to another computing device or to another user.” and [0057], “In another example, effects module 210, responsive to the selection of an animation effect that is to be sent to another computing device, generates the message animation. Messaging application 208 causes computing device 200 to display a GUI that includes the message animation that is to be sent.” and [0059], “In yet another example, messaging application 208 receives user input of typing text and selecting an animation.” and [0025], “In addition, effects module 110 may orchestrate message animations for messages drafted by the user of computing device 100 (e.g., draft messages, the user trying out different animations, etc.).”)
23. Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer doesn't explicitly disclose but Stylish Fonts discloses: [[when the word is displayed in the effects suggestion element,]] display the word in multiple instances of the word [[in the effects suggestion element while applying a unique effect to each instance of the word in the effects suggestion element.]] (Stylish Fonts, See Figures 1 and 2 below; “Stylish Font is made with Motive to provide stylish look to Smart Phone with attractive Fonts.” and "Generate Stylish Fonts ... Enter your text" and “Stylish text generator Impress your friend by sending stylish and fancy messages”; Examiner’s note: The Stylish Fonts website provides a smartphone application download that generates multiple styles of the same word or phrase (See Figure 1). In addition, the website itself has a stylish text generator where upon entering text, it automatically displays multiple styles of the same word or phrase (See Figure 2).)
Figure 1: Stylish Fonts website showing screenshots of the smartphone app. The screenshot to the far right shows input text that has been automatically displayed in different visual styles.
Figure 2: Stylish Fonts website also provides different visual styles of text for an input word or text string. In this case, a user has typed the word “WORD” and different visual styles are displayed.
24. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of claim 2 of Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer to include the disclosure of display the word in multiple instances of the word, of Stylish Fonts. The motivation for this modification could have been to provide a user with a dynamic set of text effects to help them quickly determine which effect to use. Seeing all the instances of a word in different styles may even display options a user would not have previously considered.
25. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee Byung Doo (KR-20190012464-A) in view of Alonso Ruiz et al. (US-2016/0274686-A1, hereinafter "Alonso Ruiz").
26. As per claim 5, Lee Byung Doo discloses: The device of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: (See rejection for claim 1.)
receive a cursor input in the input element, the cursor input indicating a position of a cursor relative to the text input, wherein the word is selected from the text input for association of the effect based on the position of the cursor, (Lee Byung Doo, [0048], “First, let's look at a method for selecting a specific unit based on the location touched by the user. When a user touches a desired location within the entered text, a specific unit corresponding to that location can become the target for reflecting emotional effects. A specific unit can be a space unit.” and [0050]-[0051], “Next, regarding the method of selecting a reflection target by dragging, 1-2 characters to the left and right of the coordinates touched by the user can be selected, and then when the user drags left or right in this state, the target can be automatically changed along the coordinates of the moving touch point and the emotion effect can be automatically changed. Once the user selects the desired target, they can lift their finger to confirm the target. ... After entering the text message ', touch the text 'worst' and drag left or right to select it; that part will then be selected as the target to reflect the emotional effect.”) [[wherein the word following the cursor is selected when the cursor is positioned immediately before the word, wherein the word preceding the cursor is selected when the cursor is positioned immediately after the word, and wherein the word on either side of the cursor is selected when the cursor is positioned between a first symbol of the word and a last symbol of the word.]]
27. Lee Byung Doo doesn't explicitly disclose but Alonso Ruiz discloses: [[receive a cursor input in the input element, the cursor input indicating a position of a cursor relative to the text input, wherein the word is selected from the text input for association of the effect based on the position of the cursor,]] wherein the word following the cursor is selected when the cursor is positioned immediately before the word, wherein the word preceding the cursor is selected when the cursor is positioned immediately after the word, and wherein the word on either side of the cursor is selected when the cursor is positioned between a first symbol of the word and a last symbol of the word. (Alonso Ruiz, [0359], “In some embodiments, a word is selected if the cursor 522 is within the word (e.g., the word “score” in FIGS. 5J-5K), adjacent to the first letter of the word (e.g., the word “Four” in FIGS. 5L-5M), or adjacent to the last letter of the word (e.g., the word “forth” in FIGS. 5N-5O). In some embodiments, the closest word and any punctuation and/or spaces are selected if the cursor 522 is currently located after a sentence and not within a word or adjacent to the first or last letter of a word (e.g., “equal.” in FIGS. 5P-SQ).” and [0356], “After determining the type of the touch inputs is tap and the touch inputs that are not located on a selection, the device 100 selects the closest word to the cursor at 442.” and [0182], “The device supports a variety of applications, such as one or more of the following: ... an instant messaging application ...” and [0357], “In addition to displaying the content of the electronic document, the device 100 further displays a cursor 522 within the electronic document. In some embodiments, the cursor 522 is the same as an insertion point.”)
28. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of claim 1 of Lee Byung Doo to include the disclosure of when the cursor is positioned immediately before of preceding the word, the word immediately adjacent to the cursor is selected and a word on either side of the cursor is selected when the cursor is positioned between a first symbol of the word and a last symbol of the word, of Alonso Ruiz. The motivation for this modification could have been to help a user to quickly select a word using the cursor. This can be helpful for a user to select words or text to easily apply effects or animations to them.
29. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee Byung Doo (KR-20190012464-A) in view of MacMannis et al. (US-2013/0151257-A1, hereinafter "MacMannis").
30. As per claim 6, Lee Byung Doo discloses: The device of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: (See rejection for claim 1.)
receive an input indicating a selection of an effects menu; (Lee Byung Doo, [0056], “In the embodiment of FIG. 6, the user can set an emotion mode that indicates their current emotion or an emotion that they wish to reflect in a text message. Referring to FIG. 6, the user's emotion mode (60) is set to 'good mood' and can be modified through the interface.” and Lee Byung Doo, [0009], “The step of determining the emotion may include determining the emotion that the user intends to display based on the emotion mode selected by the user in the messenger or the gesture that the user inputs toward the selected target.” and Schlemmer, [0056], “Messaging application 208 may generate and cause computing device 200 to output GUIs that display one or more options for a user to select a message animation to send with the text for a message. In an example, messaging application 208 generates a GUI that displays multiple options for animation effects to send with a message that a user of computing device 200 is composing. Messaging application 208 receives a user input of a selection of one or more animation effects for different layers of the GUI that comprises an overarching message animation. Responsive to receiving user input consistent with a selection of one or more animation effects, messaging, application 208 causes computing device 200 to send the text of the message along with, an indication of the message animation that includes indications of the one or more animation effects to another computing device or to another user.” and Schlemmer, [0059], “In yet another example, messaging application 208 receives user input of typing text and selecting an animation.”)
[[display the word in the effects menu, wherein the effects menu includes a demonstration of one or more available effects, the demonstration including each of the one or more available effects applied to the word in the effects menu; and]]
receive an input indicating a selection of a selected effect of the one or more available effects, wherein the effect comprises the selected effect and associating the effect to the word is performed in response to receiving the input indicating the selection. (Lee Byung Doo, Fig. 3; [0058], “According to the method using gestures, multiple reflection targets can be selected from the input text, and different emotional effects can be reflected for each target. For example, in the example of Fig. 7, if you select 'Worst' as the target and input a downward swipe from above, and then select 'Sobbing' as the target and input a right swipe from above, an emotional effect corresponding to the emotion of 'sadness' will be applied to the text 'Worst' and an emotional effect corresponding to the emotion of 'anger' will be applied to the text 'Sobbing'.” and Lee Byung Doo, [0057], “In the embodiment of FIG. 7, the emotion is determined based on the user's gesture input for the selected target. To this end, emotions corresponding to multiple gestures will be defined in advance. For example, a downward swipe can be defined as corresponding to 'sadness', an upward swipe as corresponding to 'happy', a left swipe as corresponding to 'serious', a right swipe as corresponding to 'angry', and a circle gesture as corresponding to 'emphasis'. In the example of FIG. 7, since a downward swipe is input by the user, the user's emotion is determined to be 'sadness'.” and Schlemmer, [0056], “Messaging application 208 may generate and cause computing device 200 to output GUIs that display one or more options for a user to select a message animation to send with the text for a message. In an example, messaging application 208 generates a GUI that displays multiple options for animation effects to send with a message that a user of computing device 200 is composing. Messaging application 208 receives a user input of a selection of one or more animation effects for different layers of the GUI that comprises an overarching message animation. Responsive to receiving user input consistent with a selection of one or more animation effects, messaging, application 208 causes computing device 200 to send the text of the message along with, an indication of the message animation that includes indications of the one or more animation effects to another computing device or to another user.” and Schlemmer, [0059], “In yet another example, messaging application 208 receives user input of typing text and selecting an animation.”)
31. Lee Byung Doo doesn't explicitly disclose but MacMannis discloses: display the word in the effects menu, wherein the effects menu includes a demonstration of one or more available effects, the demonstration including each of the one or more available effects applied to the word in the effects menu; and (MacMannis, [0013], “In one embodiment the apparatus features and drop down or pop-up menu activated by either an icon or similar conveniently located emotion indicator selector. The message originator may then manipulate the emotion indicator selector to identify a particular emotion to convey. Once selected, any text entered into the electronic communications device will be displayed in the unique visual appearance of the selected emotion indicator until the emotion indicator is unselected or another emotion indicator is selected.”)
32. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of claim 1 of Lee Byung Doo to include the disclosure of displaying the word in the effects menu, wherein the effects menu includes a demonstration of one or more available effects, the demonstration including each of the one or more available effects applied to the word in the effects menu, of MacMannis. The motivation for this modification could have been to show a user exactly how certain text effects or animations look when executed. This acts as a “what you see is what you get” (WYSIWYG) interface so that a user can see all the options available. This can help a user see what to expect from certain effects and may help the user’s decision making process.
33. Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee Byung Doo (KR-20190012464-A) in view of Schlemmer et al. (WO-2025/080248-A1, hereinafter "Schlemmer"), and further in view of Corsin et al. (US-2021/0096714-A1, hereinafter "Corsin").
34. As per claim 7, Lee Byung Doo discloses: The device of claim 1, wherein the effect (See rejection for claim 1.) [[includes an animation sequence applied to the display of the word, wherein sending the message occurs during the animation sequence being applied to the display of the word, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to:]]
[[pause the animation sequence prior to moving the display of the text input from the input element to the transcript element; and]]
[[resume the animation sequence after moving the display of the text input to the transcript element.]]
35. Lee Byung Doo doesn't explicitly disclose but Schlemmer discloses: [[The device of claim 1, wherein the effect]] includes an animation sequence applied to the display of the word, wherein sending the message occurs during the animation sequence being applied to the display of the word, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: (Schlemmer, [0025], “As shown in the example of FIG. 1 messaging application 108 includes effects module 110, Effects module 110 may orchestrate animations responsive to receiving indications of animation effect, ... In addition, effects module 110 may orchestrate message animations for messages drafted by the user of computing device 100 (e.g., draft messages, the user trying out different animations, etc.).” and [0024], “Messaging application 108 may send and receive messages that include text for a message and an indication of animation effect that includes indications of animation effects for one or more layers of the message.”)
[[pause the animation sequence prior to moving the display of the text input from the input element to the transcript element; and]]
[[resume the animation sequence after moving the display of the text input to the transcript element.]]
36. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of claim 1 of Lee Byung Doo to include the disclosure of an effect that includes an animation sequence applied to the display of the word, of Schlemmer. The motivation for this modification could have been to provide a more dynamic way to apply effects to text as animations are typically more interesting to look at than static text effects.
37. Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer doesn't explicitly disclose but Corsin discloses: [[The device of claim 1, wherein the effect includes an animation sequence applied to the display of the word, wherein sending the message occurs during the animation sequence being applied to the display of the word, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to:]]
pause the animation sequence prior to moving the display of the text input from the input element to the transcript element; and (Corsin, [0012], “The method may also include engaging a scroll animation for at least one of the interactive posts in response to detecting that at least one release speed corresponds to at least one of the second or third gestures being at or below the predefined threshold speed. The method may also include pausing the plurality of interactive posts according to the scroll animation.” and [0028], “In some implementations, the input can be used to trigger determination of a location in which to temporarily pause content items into view to ensure that the user is provided with a view of the content item depicting the beginning of the content in the content item.”)
resume the animation sequence after moving the display of the text input to the transcript element. (Corsin, [0035], “For example, the user can select location 186 (e.g., representing a point of contact) on the touchscreen and swipe upward to move content up and off the display area of the touchscreen while new content scrolls upward to replace the content moving off of the display area of the touchscreen.” and [0042], “In some implementations, the display anchor 196 may define a beginning portion for a content item 182 in the stream of content items in which to pause to allow the user to view the content from the beginning. ... The content can continue to be scrolled and the temporary pause can be un-paused, for example, if the user enters additional input.”)
38. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of claim 1 of Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer to include the disclosure of pausing the animation sequence prior to moving the display of the text input from the input element to the transcript element and resuming the animation sequence after moving the display of the text input to the transcript element, of Corsin. The motivation for this modification could have been to help provide a seamless animation transition between the text composing window and text transcript. This potentially creates a less jolting experience than if the animation were to restart from the beginning.
39. As per claim 16, Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer, and further in view of Corsin discloses: The method of claim 9, further comprising: (See rejection for claim 9.)
receiving, while executing a first effect of the one or more effects, an input indicating an instruction to scroll the message transcript; (Corsin, [0027], “User input can include, but is not limited to a touch, a swipe, a pinch, a scroll, a pressing motion, or other movement performable by a user using a controller, a detectable gesture, a finger, fingers, or hands or other body part or device capable of interacting with a computing device that is providing content. ... In some implementations, the input described herein may include a horizontal scroll gesture or a vertical scroll gesture. The user may scroll upward, downward, leftward, rightward, or other direction provided within an interface of an electronic device (e.g., a mobile computing device). In some implementations, the input described herein may be a hover gesture detectable by an electronic device to trigger scrolling of content.” and [0038], “For example, text content may be displayed in a smaller frame than image content. In some implementations, more text content items than image content items may be depicted in a device screen area at one given time.”)
pausing the execution of the first effect; (Corsin, [0012], “The method may also include engaging a scroll animation for at least one of the interactive posts in response to detecting that at least one release speed corresponds to at least one of the second or third gestures being at or below the predefined threshold speed. The method may also include pausing the plurality of interactive posts according to the scroll animation.” and [0028], “In some implementations, the input can be used to trigger determination of a location in which to temporarily pause content items into view to ensure that the user is provided with a view of the content item depicting the beginning of the content in the content item.”)
preserving a state of the execution of the first effect; (Corsin, [0028], “In some implementations, the input can be used to trigger determination of a location in which to temporarily pause content items into view to ensure that the user is provided with a view of the content item depicting the beginning of the content in the content item. The pause of the content may be temporary and can be provided as an animation that appears to magnetically snap the beginning of the content item into place within a display of a computing device.”; Examiner’s note: A temporary pause of content would mean that its state is preserved until it is “un-paused.”)
scrolling the message transcript; and (Corsin, [0028], “In some implementations, the input can be used to trigger determination of a location in which to temporarily pause content items into view to ensure that the user is provided with a view of the content item depicting the beginning of the content in the content item. ... The one or more variables may include any or all of scroll speed, swipe speed, touchscreen display contact location, a direction of movement associated with a scroll gesture or input, a time between received inputs, and/or a release speed associated with a scroll gesture or input.”)
when a word corresponding to the paused execution of the first effect remains displayed after scrolling, resuming the execution of the first effect based on the preserved state of the execution of the first effect; and (Corsin, [0042], “In some implementations, the display anchor 196 may define a beginning portion for a content item 182 in the stream of content items in which to pause to allow the user to view the content from the beginning. ... The content can continue to be scrolled and the temporary pause can be un-paused, for example, if the user enters additional input.”)
when the word corresponding to the paused execution of the first effect is scrolled out of display view, executing a second effect of the one or more effects. (Corsin, [0066], “When the user swipes, a succession of content items move into and out of view as scrolling occurs.” and [0060], “If less than 50 percent of the content is visible in the screen, then the anchor to pause on is a prior anchor and the next content item after the partially visible content item is selected as the current anchor in which to pause content. In operation, a slow or short swipe input on a content item that is less than 50 percent visible may cause the content to scroll upward to snap two content items after the first visible item.” and [0042], “In some implementations, the display anchor 196 may define a beginning portion for a content item 182 in the stream of content items in which to pause to allow the user to view the content from the beginning. ... The content can continue to be scrolled and the temporary pause can be un-paused, for example, if the user enters additional input.”)
40. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of claim 9 of Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer to include the disclosure of receiving an input indicating an instruction to scroll the message transcript, pausing the execution of the first effect, preserving a state of the execution of the first effect, scrolling the message transcript, and resuming the execution of the first effect based on the preserved state, and when the word is scrolled out of display view, executing a second effect, of Corsin. The motivation for this modification could have been to allow for a smooth transition of text effects when scrolling. Rather than effects restart when a user scrolls, it is much more pleasing to have the animation pause and can be resumed. Also, for any effect that is scrolled out of view, there is no need to execute an animation so it would be desirable to change to a second animation that is in view.
41. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee Byung Doo (KR-20190012464-A) in view of Agarwal et al. (US-2021/0124869-A1, hereinafter "Agarwal").
42. As per claim 8, Lee Byung Doo discloses: The device of claim 1, (See rejection for claim 1.) [[wherein the word is written in a language or font utilizing a connected script, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to:]]
[[while executing the effect on the word, adjust grapheme clusters corresponding to the word so that consecutive grapheme clusters stay connected.]]
43. Lee Byung Doo doesn't explicitly disclose but Agarwal discloses: [[The device of claim 1,]] wherein the word is written in a language or font utilizing a connected script, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to: (Agarwal, [0019], “Based on the calculated improvement metric, the text modification module of the automated text layout system applies OpenType® ligatures to the initial text, to generate updated text. The updated text has replaced several glyphs with other glyphs, i.e., ligatures that combine multiple characters. This improves the layout by condensing font in particular regions of the text and creating a more visually pleasing appearance.” and [0050]-[0052], “Examples of Font Features FIG. 4 illustrates examples of several different font features 400, according to some embodiments. FIG. 4 depicts initial text 402A-412A, and corresponding updated 402B-412B, upon application of different font features 402-412. Font feature 402 is a ligature. Ligatures modify awkward combinations of letters, such as fi, ffi, and fb. When applied, font feature 402 replaces one or more glyphs (e.g., f and i) with another glyph (e.g., fi combined into a single glyph). This is shown by comparing the glyphs in initial text 402A with the glyphs in the updated text 402B, where fi; ffi; and fl have been combined into respective single glyphs.”; Examiner’s note: As disclosed by Agarwal in [0050]-[0052], the disclosed font features can have their effect applied to a text input. As an example, consider the word “first.” The font feature 402 can apply a ligature to the word “first.” This transforms the “fi” in “first” into a singular character “fi,” generating “fi-rst.” Thus, this creates a “word is written in a language or font utilizing a connected script.”)
while executing the effect on the word, adjust grapheme clusters corresponding to the word so that consecutive grapheme clusters stay connected. (Agarwal, Fig. 4, [0050]-[0057], “Examples of Font Features FIG. 4 illustrates examples of several different font features 400, according to some embodiments. FIG. 4 depicts initial text 402A-412A, and corresponding updated 402B-412B, upon application of different font features 402-412. Font feature 402 is a ligature. Ligatures modify awkward combinations of letters, such as fi, ffi, and fb. When applied, font feature 402 replaces one or more glyphs (e.g., f and i) with another glyph (e.g., fi combined into a single glyph). This is shown by comparing the glyphs in initial text 402A with the glyphs in the updated text 402B, where fi; ffi; and fl have been combined into respective single glyphs. Font feature 404 is a discretionary ligature. Discretionary ligatures are similar to the ligatures font feature 402, but include a different set of glyphs. When applied, font feature 404 replaces one or more glyphs (e.g., s and t) with another glyph (e.g., st combined into a single glyph). This is shown by comparing the glyphs in initial text 404A with the glyphs in the updated text 404B, where st and ct have been combined into respective single glyphs. Font feature 406 is a modified fraction. ... Font feature 408 is a swash. ... Font feature 410 is ordinals. ... Font feature 412 is a contextual ligature. ..."; Examiner’s note: As disclosed by Agarwal in [0050]-[0057], the disclosed font features can have their effect applied to a text input. Recalling the example of the word “first” from above, we have generated “fi-rst” as a “word … written in a language or font utilizing a connected script.” Then, continuing the example, a font feature 404 can apply a discretionary ligature to “fi-rst.” This transforms the “st” in “first” into a singular character “st.” Thus, an additional effect has been applied, generating “fi-r-st” from “first.” This preserves the connected script so that the consecutive graphemes stay connected while adding the additional effect. Example 404 in Fig. 4 is similar if the “ff” in “effect” is considered connected and then the discretionary ligature effect is applied, preserving the “ff” while transforming the “ct” into a ligature version of “ct.”)
44. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of claim 1 of Lee Byung Doo to include the disclosure of a word is written in a language or font utilizing a connected script and adjusting grapheme clusters corresponding to the word so that consecutive grapheme clusters stay connected, of Agarwal. The motivation for this modification could have been to keep a font or script that is connected from separating when a text effect or animation is applied. By keeping the font or script together, this provides for a more pleasing experience for the user than if the characters separated. In addition, it helps to keep the structure of the word more visible while the text effect is applied to it.
45. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee Byung Doo (KR-20190012464-A) in view of Schlemmer et al. (WO-2025/080248-A1, hereinafter "Schlemmer"), and further in view of (Raphael Cerqueira (NPL: Raphael Cerqueira YouTube Channel, "Bounce Effect Onboarding usando SwiftUI - Animation, matchedGeometryEffect e DragGesture," https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EG40fqrRvZ0, July 4, 2021, hereinafter " Raphael Cerqueira").
46. As per claim 11, Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer discloses: The method of claim 10, (See rejection for claim 10.) [[wherein cancelling the current execution of the effect comprises applying spring physics to the current execution of the effect to bring the current execution of the effect from a first state to a second state, the first state being mid-execution of the effect, the second state being post execution of the effect.]]
47. Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer doesn't explicitly disclose but Raphael Cerqueira discloses: [[The method of claim 10,]] wherein cancelling the current execution of the effect comprises applying spring physics to the current execution of the effect to bring the current execution of the effect from a first state to a second state, the first state being mid-execution of the effect, the second state being post execution of the effect. (Raphael Cerqueira: The YouTube video features the development of an onboarding smartphone app through an application called SwiftUI. The programming environment allows a user to customize text and images displayed and apply various effects to them. For instance, at timestamp 19:04 in the video, the user adds code to include “spring physics” when scrolling through the onboarding app slides. Toward the end of the video, around timestamps 36:40-36:45, we see some features that the user has added to the application. First, at timestamp 36:40, we see the user quickly scrolling through the slides manually. Due to the speed at which the user is scrolling through the slides, the execution of the application’s “spring physics” display of the next slide is interrupted and “cancelled” as the user inputs motion to go to the next slide. We continue to see this as the user scrolls back and forth through the slides. At timecode 36:42, the user then uses the “Next” button in the application for similar results. Lastly, at timecode 36:35, the user then uses the “Skip” button in the application. This cancels any current animation mid-execution and automatically scrolls the slides to the end and into a “post execution” state.)
48. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of claim 10 of Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer to include the disclosure of cancelling the current execution of the effect comprises applying spring physics to the current execution of the effect to bring the current execution of the effect from a first state to a second state, the first state being mid-execution of the effect, the second state being post execution of the effect, of Raphael Cerqueira. The motivation for this modification could have been to provide a “natural” representation of the text effects by using spring physics. This helps to smooth the animation so that there aren’t any sudden or abrupt stops or stutters. In addition, by adding that an effect can go from mid-execution to post execution means that the animation can be more responsive to user input, such as quickly scrolling past animated text.
49. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee Byung Doo (KR-20190012464-A) in view of Schlemmer et al. (WO-2025/080248-A1, hereinafter "Schlemmer"), and further in view of Zhou (CN-114372161-A).
50. As per claim 12, Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer discloses: The method of claim 9, wherein executing the one or more effects is performed in succession (Schlemmer, [0053], “Effects module 210 may orchestrate message animations that include one or more time-based animation effects. ... Effects module 210 may orchestrate message animations in one or more ways such as staggering the animation effects (e.g., start playing an animation effect 500ms after a previous animation effect)., using a timer to determine when to play animation effects, .and/or using a. predetermined order of animation effects, among other ways of determining, when to play animation effects as part of a message animation.” [[in an order displayed in the message transcript, wherein after executing a last effect in the message transcript, the executing the one or more effects is performed again, the method further comprising:]]
after executing a first effect of the one or more effects [[corresponding to a first message group,]] waiting a predetermined time before executing a next effect of the one or more effects [[corresponding to a second message group following the first message group.]] (Schlemmer, [0053], “Effects module 210 may orchestrate message animations that include one or more time-based animation effects. ... Effects module 210 may orchestrate message animations in one or more ways such as staggering the animation effects (e.g., start playing an animation effect 500ms after a previous animation effect)., using a timer to determine when to play animation effects, .and/or using a. predetermined order of animation effects, among other ways of determining, when to play animation effects as part of a message animation. ... Effects module 210, responsive to determining that the predetermined period of time has elapsed (e.g., ... while the third animation effect is still playing, etc.) orchestrates, based at least in part on the fourth animation effect, a third message animation.”)
51. Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer doesn't explicitly disclose but Zhou discloses: [[The method of claim 9, wherein executing the one or more effects is performed in succession]] in an order displayed in the message transcript, wherein after executing a last effect in the message transcript, the executing the one or more effects is performed again, the method further comprising: (Zhou, page 4, [0002], “The animations within each animation stage are displayed in the animation pane in the form of a timeline, making it easy for users to view the animation time design of each stage.” and page 5, [0010], “Preferably, determining the end time of each animation based on the animation data includes: obtaining the start time of the animation; determining whether the animation has an animation text attribute based on the animation data; if so, determining the first time based on the animation text attribute according to the delay attribute of letters or words, the number of characters in the element, and the duration of the animation; if not, using the duration of the animation as the first time; determining whether the animation has a flip attribute based on the animation data; if so, obtaining the second time, which is twice the first time; if not, using the first time as the second time; determining whether the animation has a repeat count attribute based on the animation data; if so, obtaining the third time, which is the product of the second time and the repeat count; if not, using the second time as the third time; and obtaining the end time, which is the sum of the start time and the third time.” and page 7, [0041], “S201: When the current mode is sequential mode, the start time of the animation is determined based on the animation data ...”)
[[after executing a first effect of the one or more effects]] corresponding to a first message group, [[waiting a predetermined time before executing a next effect of the one or more effects]] corresponding to a second message group following the first message group. (Zhou, page 6, [0031], “Animations are ordered according to the order in which they were added. After an animation is added, its order can be adjusted by dragging or other operations.” and page 5, [0016], “This application provides a method for previewing slide animations, which determines the time of all animation stages as a whole according to the set order.” and page 8, [0052], “S207: Determine whether the animation has a repeat count attribute based on the animation data. If it does, obtain the third duration, which is the product of the second duration and the repeat count.” and page 7, [0041], “S201: When the current mode is sequential mode, the start time of the animation is determined based on the animation data ...”; Examiner’s note: Each animation added could be considered its own group among the set of animations. The animations also have an attribute to determine if the animation repeats. Thus, Zhou discloses that text animation can be added individually and treated as groups and those animations can be repeated.)
52. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of claim 9 of Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer to include the disclosure of executing the one or more effects is performed in succession in an order displayed in the message transcript, wherein after executing a last effect in the message transcript, the executing the one or more effects is performed again and after executing a first effect corresponding to a first message group executing a next effect corresponding to a second message group following the first message group, of Zhou. The motivation for this modification could have been to allow for animations to be grouped together as animation sequences. By grouping the animations, the text messaging client can then execute these in animation blocks and these blocks can be repeated when previous animation blocks have finished.
53. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee Byung Doo (KR-20190012464-A) in view of Schlemmer et al. (WO-2025/080248-A1, hereinafter "Schlemmer"), and further in view of Agarwal et al. (US-2021/0124869-A1, hereinafter "Agarwal").
54. As per claim 13, Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer discloses: The method of claim 9, further comprising:
executing a first effect on a first word in the message transcript, (See rejection for claim 9.) [[the first word written in a language or font utilizing a connected script, wherein the executing the first effect is performed so that the connected script remains connected during the execution of the first effect on the first word.]]
55. Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer doesn't explicitly disclose but Agarwal discloses: [[The method of claim 9, further comprising:]]
[[executing a first effect on a first word in the message transcript,]] the first word written in a language or font utilizing a connected script, wherein the executing the first effect is performed so that the connected script remains connected during the execution of the first effect on the first word. (Agarwal, Fig. 4, [0050]-[0057], “Examples of Font Features FIG. 4 illustrates examples of several different font features 400, according to some embodiments. FIG. 4 depicts initial text 402A-412A, and corresponding updated 402B-412B, upon application of different font features 402-412. Font feature 402 is a ligature. Ligatures modify awkward combinations of letters, such as fi, ffi, and fb. When applied, font feature 402 replaces one or more glyphs (e.g., f and i) with another glyph (e.g., fi combined into a single glyph). This is shown by comparing the glyphs in initial text 402A with the glyphs in the updated text 402B, where fi; ffi; and fl have been combined into respective single glyphs. Font feature 404 is a discretionary ligature. Discretionary ligatures are similar to the ligatures font feature 402, but include a different set of glyphs. When applied, font feature 404 replaces one or more glyphs (e.g., s and t) with another glyph (e.g., st combined into a single glyph). This is shown by comparing the glyphs in initial text 404A with the glyphs in the updated text 404B, where st and ct have been combined into respective single glyphs. Font feature 406 is a modified fraction. ... Font feature 408 is a swash. ... Font feature 410 is ordinals. ... Font feature 412 is a contextual ligature. ..."; Examiner’s note: As disclosed by Agarwal in [0050]-[0057], the disclosed font features can have their effect applied to a text input. As an example, consider the word “first.” The font feature 402 can apply a ligature to the word “first.” This transforms the “fi” in “first” into a singular character “fi.” Now, the updated word “fi-rst” can be used as a “first word written in a language or font utilizing a connected script.” Then, the font feature 404 can apply a discretionary ligature to “fi-rst.” This transforms the “st” in “first” into a singular character “st.” Thus, an additional effect has been applied, generating “fi-r-st” from “first.” This preserves the connected script while adding the additional effect. Example 404 in Fig. 4 is similar if the “ff” in “effect” is considered connected and then the discretionary ligature effect is applied, preserving the “ff” while transforming the “ct” into a ligature version of “ct.”)
56. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of claim 9 of Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer to include the disclosure of a word written in a language or font utilizing a connected script, wherein the executing the first effect is performed so that the connected script remains connected during the execution, of Agarwal. The motivation for this modification could have been to keep a font or script that is connected from separating when a text effect or animation is applied. By keeping the font or script together, this provides for a more pleasing experience for the user than if the characters separated. In addition, it helps to keep the structure of the word more visible while the text effect is applied to it.
57. Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee Byung Doo (KR-20190012464-A) in view of Schlemmer et al. (WO-2025/080248-A1, hereinafter "Schlemmer"), and further in view of Milas (US-2017/0192939-A1).
58. As per claim 17, Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer discloses: The method of claim 9, wherein each of the one or more effects corresponds to (See rejection for claim 9.) [[a time sequenced transform per grapheme cluster of a corresponding word, wherein each of the time sequenced transforms comprises a combination of translation, scale, rotation, and stretch for each grapheme cluster.]]
59. Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer doesn't explicitly disclose but Milas discloses: [[The method of claim 9, wherein each of the one or more effects corresponds to]] a time sequenced transform per grapheme cluster of a corresponding word, wherein each of the time sequenced transforms comprises a combination of translation, scale, rotation, and stretch for each grapheme cluster. (Milas, Fig. 5; [0042], “In the event that the sender selects an emotional preset, such as happy, the text characters 72 can be modified based upon the attributers and the kinetics associated with that emotional preset. For example, the characters can be skewed as at 74, have increased boldness at 76 and have a selected word increased in scale at 78. Therefore the final message 78 can be transmitted to the recipient. In one embodiment, an intermediate state 80 can be created using the emotional preset or the effects. In the example shown, the word “Harvard!” is with letters increasing in scale. Additionally, the intermediate states can include display the term “Harvard!” one character at a time in an animated arrangement as shown in the table below relative to time period:
“
and [0051], “Referring to FIG. 10, a set of message text characters 128 that is to be sent from the sender to a recipient can be modified with the invention to include emotional preset 130 and kinetics 132. The emotional presets can include attributes such as linear scale 134, vertical scale 136, horizontal scale 138, skew 140, line spacing 142, character spacing 144, position 146, blur 147, stoke 148, path shape 150, and any combination thereof. Kinetics can include opacity 151, character motion 152, and word motion 153.” and [0053], “Examples of attributes and kinetics for emotional preset in one embodiment are shown below:
“;
Examiner’s note: As disclosed by Milas in [0053], the chart above shows position changes (translation), scale, rotation, and character spacing (stretch).)
60. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of claim 9 of Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer to include the disclosure of effects correspond to a time sequenced transform per grapheme cluster of a corresponding word, wherein each of the time sequenced transforms comprises a combination of translation, scale, rotation, and stretch for each grapheme cluster, of Milas. The motivation for this modification could have been to provide dynamic adjustments to individual characters in a word so that each character has a different effect. In particular, by transforming the characters via translation, scale, rotation, and stretch, this provides a lot of options for how the letters in a word are displayed.
61. As per claim 18, Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer, and further in view of Milas discloses: The method of claim 9, wherein at least one of the words associated with a first effect of the one or more effects comprises a combination of glyphs, wherein each of the glyphs comprises a combination of subcomponents, wherein a presentation of each subcomponent of the combination of subcomponents is separately altered during executing the first effect. (Milas, Fig. 5; [0042], “In the event that the sender selects an emotional preset, such as happy, the text characters 72 can be modified based upon the attributers and the kinetics associated with that emotional preset. For example, the characters can be skewed as at 74, have increased boldness at 76 and have a selected word increased in scale at 78. Therefore the final message 78 can be transmitted to the recipient. In one embodiment, an intermediate state 80 can be created using the emotional preset or the effects. In the example shown, the word “Harvard!” is with letters increasing in scale. Additionally, the intermediate states can include display the term “Harvard!” one character at a time in an animated arrangement as shown in the table below relative to time period:
“
and [0054], “Kinetics and animation can change over time and can be derived or similar the prosodic elements of speech (e.g. pitch, volume, and intonation). An effect from the set of effects that can be applied to a character, word or phrase and can be used to symbolize or communicate intonation and other non-verbal communications. The effects that are allowed for selection by the sender can be variability dependent on the emotional preset type.” and [0034], “For an effect, there can be a second set of attributes and kinetic values, intended for application on a characteristic word or short phrase.”; Examiner’s note: As disclosed by Milas in Fig. 5 and [0042], the word “Harvard!” demonstrates how the word can be broken apart into individual character components and are separately altered by changing the scale of each letter in the word. In addition, Milas also discloses in [0034] and [0054] that multiple sets of “kinetics and animation” effects can be applied to individual characters. Individual characters of a word can have one or more of its own effects applied and separately altered from the other characters in the word.)
62. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of claim 9 of Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer to include the disclosure of words associated with a first effect of the one or more effects comprises a combination of glyphs, wherein each of the glyphs comprises a combination of subcomponents, wherein a presentation of each subcomponent of the combination of subcomponents is separately altered during executing the first effect, of Milas. The motivation for this modification could have been to break up words and characters so that each subcomponent can have a dynamic and separate effect presentation. This provides additional flexibility for a word so that multiple text effects or animations can be applied to smaller parts of the word.
63. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee Byung Doo (KR-20190012464-A) in view of Schlemmer et al. (WO-2025/080248-A1, hereinafter "Schlemmer"), and further in view of Zhang et al. (CN-107066109-A, hereinafter "Zhang"). (Examiner’s note: Citations to Zhang use the original CN-107066109-A document locations.)
64. As per claim 19, Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer discloses: The method of claim 9, further comprising:
executing a first effect of the one or more effects on a first word in the message transcript, wherein during executing the first effect, (Lee Byung Doo, Fig. 3; [0059], “In step S33, a text format corresponding to an emotional effect that corresponds to the emotion determined above is determined, and the target to reflect the emotional effect in the text entered by the user is changed to the text format determined above.” and [0062], “Here, text formatting is intended to visually change a text message and may include at least one of the elements that define the appearance of the text, such as font size, font type, color, shading, and boldness.” and [0058], “According to the method using gestures, multiple reflection targets can be selected from the input text, and different emotional effects can be reflected for each target. For example, in the example of Fig. 7, if you select 'Worst' as the target and input a downward swipe from above, and then select 'Sobbing' as the target and input a right swipe from above, an emotional effect corresponding to the emotion of 'sadness' will be applied to the text 'Worst' and an emotional effect corresponding to the emotion of 'anger' will be applied to the text 'Sobbing'.”) [[adjusting a placement of a static word which is adjacent to the first word using a compositor to recomposite a display output during the executing of the first effect.]]
65. Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer doesn't explicitly disclose but Zhang discloses: [[The method of claim 9, further comprising:]]
[[executing a first effect of the one or more effects on a first word in the message transcript, wherein during executing the first effect,]] adjusting a placement of a static word which is adjacent to the first word (Zhang, Fig. 4a-d; page 5, [0024], “According to some embodiments, the dynamic text real-time input system 100 can be configured to extract a text character sequence based on the user's current input message encoding, adjust the static or motion parameters of the text character sequence according to the current dynamic text mode, form associated dynamic text, and input it in real-time into the text box of the currently active application. This allows the user to complete the real-time input of dynamic text in the mode they desire, without being restricted by whether the dynamic text is downloaded locally, or switching back and forth between the currently active application and other applications that create the dynamic text.” and page 7, [0034], “According to some embodiments, after the processing device 110 obtains the input message encoding, it extracts the text character sequence; then, according to the currently selected dynamic text mode, it obtains the static parameters or dynamic parameters or implementation code of the text character sequence. Next, by adjusting the static parameters of the text character sequence, a static image containing the text character sequence is formed, and based on the formed static image, an associated dynamic text file is further formed, or by adjusting the dynamic parameters of the text character sequence, dynamic text associated with the text character sequence is formed.” and page 7, [0033], “The input message encoding can be confirmed text, such as the Chinese character “晕” or the English characters “5th anniversary”, or it can be text to be confirmed, such as the letter sequence “yun” corresponding to the Chinese character “晕” (not shown in the figure).” and page 7-8, [0036], “For example, in Figure 4a, when the user inputs "5th anniversary" and selects the "BULLETSCREEN STYLE" (bullet screen mode) dynamic text mode, the text character sequence in the input message encoding is extracted to form dynamic text with bullet screen mode, and the dynamic text is sent to the current text editing box 220, as shown in Figures 4b-d, so that "5th anniversary" is presented to the user in a bullet screen dynamic mode that scrolls from right to left.”) using a compositor to recomposite a display output during the executing of the first effect. (Zhang, page 8, [0039], “Next, in the process of forming a static image 312 based on the text character sequence 310, the processing device 110 obtains and adjusts the static parameters of the text character sequence 310 according to the current dynamic text mode, such as color, font, font size, margin between the text character sequence and the image, background color of the image, etc., to form one or more static images 312 containing the text character sequence 310.” and page 8, [0041]-[0042], “In another specific embodiment, referring to FIG7, the processing device 110 adjusts different angles of the text character sequence 310 according to the current dynamic text mode, thereby forming multiple static images, such as a series of static images 318. Next, the processing device 110 combines the static images 318 formed according to the current dynamic text mode to form the dynamic text 320 to be output. For example, the processing device 110 combines static images at set time intervals and then plays them one by one in sequence according to the time progression to form dynamic text; or, for another example, the processing device 110 sets a set number of layers, places static images layer by layer, and displays the corresponding layers in sequence according to a set order to form dynamic text.”; Examiner’s note: The combination of images as disclosed by Zhang on page 8, [0042] is a form of compositing.)
66. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of claim 9 of Lee Byung Doo in view of Schlemmer to include the disclosure of adjusting a placement of a static word which is adjacent to the first word using a compositor to recomposite a display output during the executing of the first effect, of Zhang. The motivation for this modification could have been to dynamically adjust static words next to animated words so that the static words continue to remain visible. With dynamic text effects, it is important
that the effects don’t distract and keep the integrity of the text message intact so the message can still be read. By adjusting the static text, this helps to keep the message readable to the user.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW CLOTHIER/Examiner, Art Unit 2614
/KENT W CHANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2614