DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 28, 30-32 and 37 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 28, line 5, the phrase “each seal section” should read “each of the plurality of seal sections” or similar language.
In claim 30, lines 2-3, the phrase “each seal section” should read “each of the plurality of seal sections” or similar language.
In claim 31, the phrase “define” should read “defines”.
In claim 32, the phrase “each seal section” should read “each of the plurality of seal sections” or similar language.
In claim 37, lines 12-13, the phrase “each seal section… adjacent seal section” should read “each of the plurality of seal sections… adjacent seal section of the plurality of seal sections” or similar language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 37, the claim recites “a plurality of seal sections rotatability secured with the support member”. It is unclear whether the phrase is reciting the plurality of seal sections rotatably secured with the support member, having the ability to rotate relative to the secure member, etc. Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the phrase is interpreted to refer to a plurality of seal sections rotated relative to the support member.
Claims 38-40 are indefinite due to their dependencies on indefinite base claim 37.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 24-26, 28-30, 32 and 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Voegele (US 2005/0077688 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Voegele discloses (see abstract; paras. [0040]-[0150]; figs. 1-25) a seal assembly (figs. 6-10) for use with an access assembly configured to receive a surgical instrument (para. [0042]; fig. 1), the seal assembly comprising:
a support member (includes rings 94 and 100, para. [0069]; fig. 6); and
a plurality of seal sections (seal segments 96, para. [0065]) coupled with the support member (para. [0069]), each seal section (fig. 8) of the plurality of seal sections including:
a body portion (body of 96) having a first lateral edge and a second lateral edge (see boxes in annotated fig. 8 depicting first and second lateral edges, each edge includes L-shaped portion within box of peripheral edge 108), and an inner edge (V-shaped portion extending inward across dotted line as depicted in annotated fig. 8) extending between the first lateral edge and the second lateral edge (annotated fig. 8);
wherein the inner edge has a V-shape (depicted in fig. 8) defining an angle of between about 180 degrees and about 270 degrees (para. [0066]),
wherein the first lateral edge and the second lateral edge each include at least one cutout arranged therein (annotated fig. 8, cutout considered to be formed as peripheral edge transitions into partial cone shape, in which peripheral edge is cut inward and therefore forms a cutout).
Annotated Figure 8 of Voegele
Annotated Figure 8 of Voegele
Regarding claim 24, Voegele discloses the seal assembly of claim 21. Voegele further discloses wherein each seal section of the plurality of seal sections overlaps an adjacent seal section of the plurality of seal sections in a clockwise direction (see fig. 10, considered to overlap at least one adjacent section in the clockwise direction, see dotted lines in fig. 10).
Regarding claim 25, Voegele discloses the seal assembly of claim 24. Voegele further discloses wherein each seal section of the plurality of seal sections overlaps an adjacent seal section of the plurality of seal sections in a counter-clockwise direction (considered to overlap at least one adjacent section in a counter-clockwise direction, due to woven manner of seal segments 96 which are shifted 90 degrees relative to each other, such that each seal segment 96 is considered to overlap an adjacent seal segment 96 in a counter-clockwise direction, see fig. 10).
Regarding claim 26, Voegele discloses the seal assembly of claim 25. Voegele further discloses wherein when the seal assembly is in a folded configuration (considered to be woven assembly of seal segments, para. [0068]), the plurality of seal sections and the support member form a non-continuous seal circumference (see figs. 6-10, considered to be non-continuous due to partial cone shape having multiple seal segments 96 form the opening for insertion of a surgical instrument, i.e. the circumference itself is formed by structures non-continuous with each other, para. [0069]).
Regarding claim 21, Voegele discloses (see abstract; paras. [0040]-[0150]; figs. 1-25), under an alternative interpretation with respect to the support member, a seal assembly (figs. 6-10) for use with an access assembly configured to receive a surgical instrument (para. [0042]; fig. 1), the seal assembly comprising:
a support member (includes at least two seal segments 96, fig. 6); and
a plurality of seal sections (at least two seal segments 96, para. [0065]) coupled with the support member (para. [0069]; figs. 6-10), each seal section (fig. 8) of the plurality of seal sections including:
a body portion (body of 96) having a first lateral edge and a second lateral edge (see boxes in annotated fig. 8 depicting first and second lateral edges, each edge includes L-shaped portion within box of peripheral edge 108), and an inner edge (V-shaped portion extending inward across dotted line as depicted in annotated fig. 8) extending between the first lateral edge and the second lateral edge (annotated fig. 8);
wherein the inner edge has a V-shape (depicted in fig. 8) defining an angle of between about 180 degrees and about 270 degrees (para. [0066]),
wherein the first lateral edge and the second lateral edge each include at least one cutout arranged therein (annotated fig. 8, cutout considered to be formed as peripheral edge transitions into partial cone shape, in which peripheral edge is cut inward and therefore forms a cutout).
Regarding claim 28, Voegele discloses (see abstract; paras. [0040]-[0150]; figs. 1-25) a seal assembly (figs. 6-10) for use with an access assembly configured to receive a surgical instrument (para. [0042]; fig. 1), the seal assembly comprising:
a support member (bottom body 102, para. [0065]); and
a plurality of seal sections (at least two seal segments 96, para. [0065]) coupled with the support member (figs. 6-10), the plurality of seal sections having a folded configuration (considered to be woven assembly of seal segments 96, para. [0068]) defined by each seal section being folded onto the support member (considered to be folded/woven onto body 102, fig. 6), each seal section of the plurality of seal sections comprising:
a body portion (body of 96) having a connector (holes in peripheral edges 108) coupled to the support member (considered to couple to bottom body 102 at least indirectly by sitting within bottom body 102 via retaining rings 94 and 100, fig. 6), the body portion having a first lateral edge opposite a second lateral edge (see boxes in annotated fig. 8 depicting first and second lateral edges, each edge includes L-shaped portion within box of peripheral edge 108) and an inner edge (V-shaped portion extending inward across dotted line as depicted in annotated fig. 8) extending between the first lateral edge and the second lateral edge (annotated fig. 8), the inner edge defining a V-shape characterized by an angle (depicted in fig. 8),
wherein the V-shape of the inner edge facilitates sealed reception of the surgical instrument through the seal assembly into the access assembly (para. [0068]).
Regarding claim 29, Voegele discloses the seal assembly of claim 28. Voegele further discloses wherein the support member has a central opening configured for receiving the surgical instrument (para. [0069]; fig. 3).
Regarding claim 30, Voegele discloses the seal assembly of claim 28. Voegele further discloses wherein the first lateral edge and the second lateral edge of each seal section include at least one cutout (annotated fig. 8, cutout considered to be formed as peripheral edge transitions into partial cone shape, in which peripheral edge is cut inward and therefore forms a cutout), and wherein the at least one cutout facilitates flex in each seal section (considered to facilitate flexing in seal segments 96 to create an opening for the passage of instruments, para. [0069]).
Regarding claim 32, Voegele discloses the seal assembly of claim 28. Voegele further discloses wherein the angle characterizing the inner edge of each seal section is between about 180 degrees and about 270 degrees (para. [0066]).
Regarding claim 37, Voegele discloses (see abstract; paras. [0040]-[0150]; figs. 1-25) a seal assembly (figs. 6-10) for use with an access assembly configured to receive a surgical instrument (para. [0042]; fig. 1), the seal assembly comprising:
a support member (at least one seal segment 96, fig. 6) having a central opening (formed by partial cone shape) and a plurality of openings (holes formed inward of edge 108) circumferentially arranged around the support member (figs. 6-10); and
a plurality of seal sections (at least two seal segments 96, para. [0065]) rotatability secured with the support member (considered to be rotated relative to the at least one seal segment 96, see figs. 6-10), each seal section of the plurality of seal sections including:
a body (body of 96) having a connector (holes in seal segments 96) coupled with the support member (considered to be coupled via rings 94 and 100, fig. 6), and
a first lateral edge and a second lateral edge extending from the connector (see boxes in annotated fig. 8 depicting first and second lateral edges, each edge includes L-shaped portion within box of peripheral edge 108), the first lateral edge and the second lateral edge each having at least one cutout defined therein (annotated fig. 8, cutout considered to be formed as peripheral edge transitions into partial cone shape, in which peripheral edge is cut inward and therefore forms a cutout);
wherein the plurality of seal sections are arranged in a folded configuration defined by each seal section being folded onto the support member and at least partially overlapped with an adjacent seal section (woven configuration of seal segments 96, considered to be folded/woven onto each other and partially overlapping as depicted in fig. 10).
Regarding claim 38, Voegele discloses the seal assembly of claim 37. Voegele further discloses wherein the folded configuration is further defined by the plurality of seal sections forming a non-continuous seal circumference (see figs. 6-10, considered to be non-continuous due to partial cone shape having multiple seal segments 96 form the opening for insertion of a surgical instrument, i.e. the circumference itself is formed by structures non-continuous with each other, para. [0069]) configured to reduce tearing during one or more of insertion, manipulation, or withdrawal of the surgical instrument (considered to be capable of reducing tearing due to creating an opening for the passage of instruments, para. [0069]).
Regarding claim 39, Voegele discloses the seal assembly of claim 37. Voegele further discloses wherein each seal section of the plurality of seal sections overlaps an adjacent seal section of the plurality of seal sections in a clockwise direction (see fig. 10, considered to overlap at least one adjacent section in the clockwise direction, see dotted lines in fig. 10).
Regarding claim 40, Voegele discloses the seal assembly of claim 39. Voegele further discloses wherein each seal section of the plurality of seal sections overlaps an adjacent seal section of the plurality of seal sections in a counter-clockwise direction (considered to overlap at least one adjacent section in a counter-clockwise direction, due to woven manner of seal segments 96 which are shifted 90 degrees relative to each other, such that each seal segment 96 is considered to overlap an adjacent seal segment 96 in a counter-clockwise direction, see fig. 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voegele in view of Hart (US 2012/0310165 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Voegele discloses the seal assembly of claim 21.
However, Voegele fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of seal sections includes six seal sections coupled with the support member.
Hart teaches (paras. [0038]-[0039]), in the same field of endeavor, a seal assembly (para. [0032]) comprising a plurality of seal sections (includes seals 10-40) including six seal sections (six seals, para. [0038]), for the purpose of varying the number of seals to accommodate different sealing, protection and/or friction properties (para. [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the seal segments of Voegele to include six seal segments coupled with the support member, in order to accommodate different sealing, protection and/or friction properties of the device when desired, based on the suggestions and teachings of Hart (para. [0038]).
Regarding claim 33, Voegele discloses the seal assembly of claim 28.
However, Voegele fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of seal sections includes six seal sections coupled with the support member.
Hart teaches (paras. [0038]-[0039]), in the same field of endeavor, a seal assembly (para. [0032]) comprising a plurality of seal sections (includes seals 10-40) including six seal sections (six seals, para. [0038]), for the purpose of varying the number of seals to accommodate different sealing, protection and/or friction properties (para. [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the seal segments of Voegele to include six seal segments coupled with the support member, in order to accommodate different sealing, protection and/or friction properties of the device when desired, based on the suggestions and teachings of Hart (para. [0038]).
Claim(s) 27, 34 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voegele in view of Bopurui (CN 108354638, translation attached).
Regarding claim 27, Voegele discloses, under the alternative interpretation, the seal assembly of claim 21.
Voegele further discloses wherein the support member includes a ring portion (portion of ring of edge 108) having a seal portion (partial cone shape of seal segment 96, para. [0066]).
However, Voegele fails to disclose wherein the support member includes the ring portion having a hexagonal shape.
Bopurui teaches (pgs. 3-5; figs. 1-6), in the same field of endeavor, a seal assembly (2) including a support member having a hexagonal shape (segment of edge portions 220 of sealing sheets 22 which present a hexagonal shape, pgs. 4-5), for the purpose of varying the number of sealing sheets and the shape of the edge portion based on needed design to facilitate passage of surgical instruments (pgs. 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ring portion of seal segments 96 to have a hexagonal shape, in order to provide flexibility in the shape of the edge portions based on needed design to facilitate passage of surgical instruments, based on the teachings and suggestions of Bopurui (pgs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 34, Voegele discloses the seal assembly of claim 28.
Voegele further discloses wherein the seal assembly further includes a ring portion (portion of ring of edge 108 of at least two seal segments 96, figs. 6-10) and a seal portion (includes partial cone shape of seal segment 96, para. [0066]) having a plurality of openings (holes formed inward of edge 108, figs. 6-10) arranged circumferentially around the seal portion (figs. 6-10).
However, Voegele fails to disclose the ring portion defining a hexagonal shape.
Bopurui teaches (pgs. 3-5; figs. 1-6), in the same field of endeavor, a seal assembly (2) including a support member having a hexagonal shape (segment of edge portions 220 of sealing sheets 22 which present a hexagonal shape, pgs. 4-5), for the purpose of varying the number of sealing sheets and the shape of the edge portion based on needed design to facilitate passage of surgical instruments (pgs. 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ring portion of seal segments 96 to have a hexagonal shape, in order to provide flexibility in the shape of the edge portions based on needed design to facilitate passage of surgical instruments, based on the teachings and suggestions of Bopurui (pgs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 36, Voegele (as modified) teaches the seal assembly of claim 34. Voegele further discloses wherein the surgical access assembly further includes a retainer assembly (includes rings 94 and 100, para. [0069]), the retainer assembly including an upper retainer member (94), a lower retainer member (100), and a plurality of pins extending from one of the upper retainer member or the lower retainer member (extend from 100, fig. 6), wherein each pin of the plurality of pins is received through an opening in three seal sections of the plurality of seal sections (figs. 6-10) and through a first opening of the plurality of openings of the seal portion (figs. 6-10).
Claim(s) 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voegele.
Regarding claim 31, Voegele discloses the seal assembly of claim 30.
However, Voegele fails to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one cutout of the first lateral edge and the second lateral edge define a semicircular shape.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the shape of the cutout would result in a difference in function of the device of Voegele. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the shape of the cutout of Voegele, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed shape. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed shape solves any stated problem (para. [0064] of the published application, which does not describe the shape of the cutout itself as having any criticality) and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the range as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the cutout to be semicircular as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23 and 35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 23 and 35, Voegele does not disclose wherein each seal section of the plurality of seal sections is coupled with the support member by a living hinge such that the plurality of seal sections are configured to fold onto the support member in a folded configuration, or wherein each seal section of the plurality of seal sections is connected to the ring portion by a living hinge. Voegele does not disclose seal segments connected to each other via a living hinge, and it would not be obvious to modify the device as claimed, because the seal segments are specifically stacked onto each other to create a woven configuration, as opposed to be hingedly attached to adjacent structures.
Ritchart (US 5209737) teaches a lever-actuated septum seal including a hinge arrangement (58a), but does not teach the remaining structural limitations of the claim, including the V-shape of the inner edge as claimed.
Conclusion
/BRIGID K BYRD/Examiner, Art Unit 3771