The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Non-Final Office Action is in reply to communication filed on 05/11/2025. Claimed priority is granted from Foreign Application Number CN202410696922.4, filed on 05/31/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150341766 A1, NELSO et al., in view of US 20170171698 A1, LAN et al.
Regarding claim 1, NELSON teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Claim 1 discloses a control method, comprising: determining a device status (wakup indicator) of a first device; in response (broadcasting an iBeacon/BLE signal 0044-0047) to that the device status of the first device satisfies a first condition, controlling the first device to broadcast a scan signal, such that a second device receiving the scan signal starts a second application (application matches the UUID and launches the application 0048, and 0055) when a second condition is satisfied (0053, 0056, and 0064-0065); and establishing (communication link) a data connection between a first application of the first device and the second application of the second device (performing data transmission through the link, 0094-0100).
To the Extent Nelson does not expressly disclose the claimed data connection between a first application of the first device and the second application of the second device. Lan teaches establishing a communications link between first and second user devices associated with respective applications and performing data transmission through the established communications link (See Lan, 0089-0097 and 0154-0156).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lan’s application-associated communication-link and data-transmission technique into Nelson’s system because Nelson already launches the second-device application for communication with the first device. The modification would predictably permit the applications of the discovered devices to exchange data over the established communication link. “Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements performs the same functions as before.” See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decide Jan 16, 1963, Appl. No. 6857, U.S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals. By this rationale, claim 1 is rejected.
Regarding claims 2, 4-12 and 14-20, the combination Nelson-Lan teaches:
2. The method according to claim 1, wherein the device status of the first device satisfying the first condition includes at least one of following: a device attitude change of the first device matches a preset target attitude; object image-forming information collected by the first device indicates existence of the second device; an environmental change status of the first device matches a preset target environmental status; and a device application scenario of the first device matches a preset target application scenario (Nelson, , 0050-0052 and 0070).
4. The method according to claim 1, before establishing the data connection between the first application of the first device and the second application of the second device, further including: when feedback signals respectively from a plurality of receiving devices are received, selecting at least one second device satisfying a third condition from the plurality of receiving devices according to a device position of each receiving device; or when feedback signals respectively from a plurality of receiving devices are received, determining at least one second device from the plurality of receiving devices in response to device selection operations for the plurality of receiving devices; or when feedback signals respectively from a plurality of receiving devices are received, determining at least one second device from the plurality of receiving devices according to historical connection information of the first device (Lan, 0060-0063 and 0078-0079).
5. The method according to claim 1, after establishing the data connection between the first application of the first device and the second application of the second device, further including: Client Ref No.: 26613-CN9202302106-US-NP monitoring whether the first device or the second device satisfies a fourth condition; and when the first device or the second device satisfies the fourth condition, performing at least one of following processes: suspending data transmission between the first application and the second application through the data connection; adjusting a data transmission parameter of the data connection; and hibernating the first device and/or the second device (Nelson, 0065, 0069, and 0079).
6. The method according to claim 5, wherein the fourth condition includes: a relative position of the first device and the second device exceeds a preset position range; or the device application scenario of the first device or the second device does not match the preset target application scenario; or the first device and the second device do not receive any operation for a continuing target duration (Nelson, 0069, 0072, and 0079).
7. The method according to claim 1, wherein: the scan signal at least includes an identification code of the first device, wherein: the identification code is used by the second device to verify the first device; and when the first device passes verification, a device connection is established between the first device and the second device and configured to implement the data connection (Nelson, 0046-0048, and 0054; 0064, 0073-0074, and 0081-0084).
8. The method according to claim 1, further including: receiving the scan signal broadcasted by the first device, wherein the scan signal is broadcasted by the first device when the device status of the first device satisfies the first condition; in response to the scan signal, starting the second application when the second device satisfies the second condition; and establishing the data connection between the second application of the second device and the first application of the first device (Nelson, Nelson, 0055-0056, 0064, 0072-0073, and 0081-0085).
9. The method according to claim 8, wherein in response to the scan signal, starting the second application when the second device satisfies the second condition includes: according to the scan signal, obtaining a communication position of the first device relative to the second device; and when the communication position satisfies the second condition, starting the second application (Nelson, 0072, 0078-0079).
10. The method according to claim 8, wherein when scan signals broadcasted by a plurality of first devices are received, establishing the data connection between the second application of the second device and the first application of the first device includes: according to the scan signals, obtaining a device position of each first device; according to the device position of each first device, determining at least one target device from the plurality of first devices; and establishing the data connection between the second application of the second device and the first application of a target device (Lan, 0078-0079, 0084-0086, and 0094-0097).
11. An electronic device, comprising: a memory, configured to store a computer program; and one or more processors, configured to, when the computer program is executed, perform: determining a device status (wakup indicator) of a first device; in response (broadcasting an iBeacon/BLE signal 0044-0047) to that the device status of the first device satisfies a first condition, controlling the first device to broadcast a scan signal, such that a second device receiving the scan signal starts a second application(application matches the UUID and launches the application 0048, and 0055) when a second condition is satisfied(0053, 0056, and 0064-0065); and establishing a data connection between a first application of the first device and the second application of the second device (performing data transmission through the link, 0094-0100 and See Lan, 0089-0097 and 0154-0156). The same motivation/reason to combine used for the rejection of claim 1 is also valid for this claim. By this rationale, claim 11 is rejected.
12. The electronic device according to claim 11, wherein the one or more processors are configured to perform at least one of following: a device attitude change of the first device matches a preset target attitude; object image-forming information collected by the first device indicates existence of the second device; an environmental change status of the first device matches a preset target environmental status; and a device application scenario of the first device matches a preset target application scenario (Nelson, , 0050-0052 and 0070).
14. The electronic device according to claim 11, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: when feedback signals respectively from a plurality of receiving devices are received, select at least one second device satisfying a third condition from the plurality of receiving devices according to a device position of each receiving device; or when feedback signals respectively from a plurality of receiving devices are received, determine at least one second device from the plurality of receiving devices in response to device selection operations for the plurality of receiving devices; or when feedback signals respectively from a plurality of receiving devices are received, determine at least one second device from the plurality of receiving devices according to historical connection information of the first device (Lan, 0060-0063 and 0078-0079).
15. The electronic device according to claim 11, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: monitor whether the first device or the second device satisfies a fourth condition; and when the first device or the second device satisfies the fourth condition, perform at least one of following processes: suspending data transmission between the first application and the second application through the data connection; adjusting a data transmission parameter of the data connection; and hibernating the first device and/or the second device (Nelson, 0065, 0069, and 0079).
16. The electronic device according to claim 15, wherein the fourth condition includes: a relative position of the first device and the second device exceeds a preset position range; or the device application scenario of the first device or the second device does not match the preset target application scenario; or the first device and the second device do not receive any operation for a continuing target duration (Nelson, 0069, 0072, and 0079).
17. The electronic device according to claim 11, wherein: the scan signal at least includes an identification code of the first device, wherein: the identification code is used by the second device to verify the first device; and when the first device passes verification, a device connection is established between the first device and the second device and configured to implement the data connection (Nelson, 0046-0048, and 0054; 0064, 0073-0074, and 0081-0084).
18. The electronic device according to claim 11, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive the scan signal broadcasted by the first device, wherein the scan signal is broadcasted by the first device when the device status of the first device satisfies the first condition; in response to the scan signal, start the second application when the second device satisfies the second condition; and establish the data connection between the second application of the second device and the first application of the first device (Nelson, Nelson, 0055-0056, 0064, 0072-0073, and 0081-0085).
19. The electronic device according to claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: according to the scan signal, obtain a communication position of the first device relative to the second device; and when the communication position satisfies the second condition, start the second application (Nelson, 0072, 0078-0079).
20. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium containing a computer program that when being executed, causes one or more processors to perform: determining a device status of a first device; in response(broadcasting an iBeacon/BLE signal 0044-0047) to that the device status(wakup indicator) of the first device satisfies a first condition, controlling the first device to broadcast a scan signal, such that a second device receiving the scan signal starts a second application(application matches the UUID and launches the application 0048, and 0055) when a second condition is satisfied; and establishing a data connection between a first application of the first device and the second application of the second device (performing data transmission through the link, 0094-0100 and See Lan, 0089-0097 and 0154-0156). The same motivation/reason to combine used for the rejection of claim 1 is also valid for this claim. By this rationale, claim 20 is rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
CONCLUSION
/JUDE JEAN GILLES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459
August 30, 2026