DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 11, 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 11, lines 1-2 recite “the control circuit board constitute” which is improper subject-verb agreement.
In claim 12, lines 9-10 recite “store a received factory calibration values as a correction values” which does not have proper indefinite article-noun agreement.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“light source module” in claims 1, 3-13.
Claim 2 is not subject to this claim interpretation as the claim gives structure to the module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “one or more reflection surfaces” then “at increasing angles to each other”, which requires at least three surfaces to form two angles (one larger than the other). The claim is indefinite because a choice of one or two surfaces makes the “increasing angles” limitation impossible. For purposes of examination, examiner reads the limitation as “three or more reflection surfaces”.
Claim 4 recites “reflection surfaces each arranged at increasing angles to each other adjacent surface on a plane” which is grammatically improper and indefinite because it is impossible to precisely determine the limits of the claim. The applicant’s specification page 11 lines 8-20 describe a curved reflection surface made up of increasingly-vertical segments, and for purposes of examination, examiner reads the limitation as ‘reflection surfaces each arranged at increasing angles to adjacent surfaces relative to the plane of the lower housing’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-10, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hur et al (KR 20200090316) in view of Wertz et al (United States Patent 4448534) in view of Niggl et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20160011048), the combination of which is hereafter referred to as “HWN”.
As to claim 1, Hur teaches a diagnostic device (paragraph 4 “Disclosed in the present invention is a cell counter”) for a cartridge with a well (4 “a cell chamber (30) of the cell cartridge (10)”) comprising:
a lower housing (Figure 7, elements 210 and below) including a light tunnel (Figure 5, paragraph 65 “first through hole 215”);
a light source module arranged on the one side of the lower housing (Figure 7, paragraph 72 “light source 281”);
an upper housing (Figure 5, paragraph 73 “photographing module 290”) coupled to an upper surface of the lower housing (Figure 7), including:
a cartridge insertion space (Figure 7, the space between elements 291 and 220) for the cartridge (Figure 7, element 10);
a hole which corresponds to the well (Figure 7, paragraph 118 “light transmission hole (293a)” corresponds to the cell chamber 30); and
an observation window which covers at least a portion of the sensing holes (Figure 5, paragraph 118 “lens accommodation part 291”); and
a two-dimensional image sensor arranged in the upper housing (Figure 5, paragraph 64 “photographing module 290”) to photograph at least the portion of the sensing holes through the observation window (Figure 7, paragraph 118 “The photographing module 290 is a module that photographs the cell chamber 30 by receiving light emitted from the light source module 280 and passing through the cell chamber 30.”).
Hur does not teach a cartridge with a plurality of wells. However, it is known in the art as taught by Wertz. Wertz teaches optical analysis of a cartridge with a plurality of wells (Abstract “Apparatus is provided for automatically scanning electronically each well of a multi-well tray containing many liquid samples.”, and Figure 1, column 13:36 “sample tray 14”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have a cartridge with a plurality of wells, in order to more quickly process many samples at once.
Hur as modified by Wentz above does not teach a light tunnel whose inner bottom surface has an arc shape rising upward from one side to another side. However, it is known in the art as taught by Niggl. Niggl teaches optical analysis of a cartridge containing a plurality of sample wells (Figure 5, Abstract “A spectrometer (1) equipped with a respective order sorting filter is used in a scanning method for detecting the absorption spectrum of samples examined in wells (14) of microplates (13).”), with a light source (Figure 5, elements 2 and fibre-optic conductor 15) comprising a light tunnel whose inner bottom surface has an arc shape rising upward from one side to another (Figure 5 shows light coming form the fiber through a space containing elliptical deflection mirror 18 (paragraph 0059), and there would obviously be some sort of wall or housing around this space in order to better guide the light and shield from background light, these walls forming the claimed tunnel and the curved mirror forming the arc shape). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have a light tunnel whose inner bottom surface has an arc shape rising upward from one side to another, in order to better guide the light to the sample in a desired manner while also blocking unwanted background light.
Hur as modified by Wentz and Niggl above does not teach a plurality of sensing holes each of which corresponds to each of the wells. However, it is known in the art as taught by Wertz. Wertz teaches a plurality of sensing holes each of which corresponds to each of the wells (Figure 2, column 13:58-59 “sample tray holder 29 having a matrix of openings 31”, and this element is between the sample and the detector, corresponding to instant Figure 2 element 600 with sensing holes 610, which is between the samples 31 and the sensor above it). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have a plurality of sensing holes each of which corresponds to each of the wells, in order to better insure that all light passing through the openings is from the specific well rather than through other areas of the translucent sample tray.
Hur does not teach the observation window is arranged near an upward position of the arc. However, the invention of Hur teaches an observation window that is near the light source (Figure 5, paragraph 118 “lens accommodation part 291”), and the applied teachings of Wentz have the light source comprise a light tunnel with an arc (see paragraph 15 above), therefore the invention of Hur as modified by Wentz above reads on the claimed an observation window which is arranged near an upward position of the arc.
As to claim 5, HWN teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition Niggl teaches the light tunnel of the lower housing has a shape which narrows from the one side to the another side when viewed in plan view (in Figure 5, element 18 is an elliptical mirror (paragraph 0059 “elliptical deflection mirror 18”) which would obviously get narrower as one approached the part of the curve near the focal point). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the light tunnel of the lower housing has a shape which narrows from the one side to the another side when viewed in plan view, in order to better guide the light to the sample in a desired manner.
As to claim 6, HWN teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition Wertz teaches the upper housing comprises: an optical diffuser element which forms a part of a bottom surface of the upper housing to fit tightly with the lower housing and evenly disperse light (Figure 4, column 13:52 “diffuser 28”, located between the reflector and the sample cells corresponding to applicant’s Figure 2 diffusion element 330 that is between the light from below and the samples 31, and while Wertz does not explicitly teach a tight fit, the elements of Hur Figure 7 are fit tightly together and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to that an additional element would also be tightly fit, in order to avoid background light from coming in). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the upper housing comprises: an optical diffuser element which forms a part of a bottom surface of the upper housing to fit tightly with the lower housing and evenly disperse light, in order to send light down through all the wells at the same intensity (see Wertz column 7:23-25).
As to claim 7, HWN teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition Wertz teaches a light hole arranged close to the plurality of sensing holes within the observation window, through which light from the light source module directly passes (Figure 4, column 14:66-68 “The reference photocell 32n is preferably outside the area of the tray, although it may be (as shown in FIG. 4) beneath a sterile or empty well 33n of the tray.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have a light hole arranged close to the plurality of sensing holes within the observation window, through which light from the light source module directly passes, in order to be able to calibrate the measurements (column 7:45-49).
As to claim 8, HWN teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition Hur teaches a control circuit board on which a memory, which stores program instructions and data, and at least one processor, which executes the program instructions stored in the memory, are mounted (Figure 2, paragraph 98 “The embedded computer 300 is an embedded computer and includes a support frame 310, a main board 320, and a display unit 330. The main board 320 is in charge of various operations and data transmission and reception related to the operation control and data processing of the cell counter 1.” and while Hur does not explicitly teach software or programs, it would be inherent to have programs for a computer to perform data processing).
As to claim 9, HWN teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 8, in addition Wertz teaches the program instructions are configured to sequentially execute a process of lighting at least some of the plurality of LEDs one by one and measuring an output of the two-dimensional image sensor in the order determined according to an individual measurement items (column 24:18-25 “ The apparatus of FIG. 8 includes a light source 221 and a reflector 222, directing light through a lens 223 toward a rotatable selector plate 224 driven by a stepper motor 225. The selector plate 224 has a single opening 226 (dashed lines) which sequentially directs light to different fiber optic fibers 228 of a fiber optic bundle 229. The stepper motor 225 is under the control of the microcomputer 41”, and column 11:54-12:9 indicates that data is taken for each light). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the program instructions be configured to sequentially execute a process of lighting at least some of the plurality of LEDs one by one and measuring an output of the two-dimensional image sensor in the order determined according to an individual measurement items, in order to speed data acquisition by automating the process.
As to claim 10, HWN teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 8, in addition Wertz teaches wherein the program instructions are configured to perform: a step of calculating a correction value based on an intensity of light reaching the two-dimensional area image sensor through the light hole; and a step of storing the calculated correction value as a correction value for a measurement value of the individual measurement item (column 22:3-29 “Second, to further reduce the possibility of error particularly due to flaws in the tray, and in view of the fact that each tray 14 is positively identified in the apparatus, as has already been described, a prior reading may be taken through the tray before the reading after bacterial culture; this prior reading is stored and is later compared with the sample reading. One way of taking the prior reading is to take a reading of the tray 14 in its empty state, before it is filled with fluid, to compare the reading through each empty well with the reading of the reference photocell, as above, and to store the resulting difference signal or ratio signal in the data storage portion of the microcomputer 41. Then the ratio signal (or difference signal) derived from the liquid at the time of the after culture reading is compared with the ratio signal (or difference signal) of the empty wells. Thereby, each well is compared with itself when full and when empty, and errors due to the wells are substantially eliminated. Another way of taking this prior reading is to take the prior reading, not of the empty tray but of the tray just after its wells have been filled with the solution and prior to the culture; in other words, at substantially zero time so far as growth or culture is concerned. This means that the reading is taken through the actual solution, and the ratio of that reading to the reference electrode is stored in the data storage bank for the later use.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the program instructions are configured to perform: a step of calculating a correction value based on an intensity of light reaching the two-dimensional area image sensor through the light hole; and a step of storing the calculated correction value as a correction value for a measurement value of the individual measurement item, in order to save all the data to aid future analysis.
As to claim 13, HWN teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, in addition Hur the two-dimensional image sensor comprises: a top substrate (Figure 7, paragraph 118 “PCB substrate 296”); an image sensor mounted on a bottom surface of the top substrate (Figure 7, paragraph 118 “an image sensor 295 mounted on the bottom surface of the PCB substrate 296”); a barrel with at least one lens array which guides incident light to the image sensor (Figure 7, paragraph 118 “second lens 292 provided in the lens accommodation part 291”).
While Hur does not explicitly teach a bracket which connects to the upper housing and fixes an optical system which directs the incident light to the image sensor, Hur teaches an exploded view of the system components (Figure 5), an assembled view (Figure 4) and that the assembled system guides light from a source (Figure 7, element 281) to a sample (Figure 7, cell chamber 30) then to an sensor (Figure 7, element 295), and that the system is accurate (Abstract “a cell counter for providing improved accuracy”). As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the claimed brackets, in order to hold the system elements in place.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HWN, and further in view of Gwynn et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20130132006).
As to claim 2, HWN teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, with the exception of the light source module comprises: a plurality of LEDs having different wavelengths. However, it is known in the art as taught by Gwynn. Gwynn teaches analyzing cartridges of biological samples (Abstract “The system may process samples, such as biological fluids, using assay cartridges which can be processed at different processing locations.” and “During the analysis of samples … an appropriate optical detection system can be used to detect the presence or absence of certain nucleic acid sequences in the samples.”) in which the light source module comprises: a plurality of LEDs having different wavelengths (paragraph 0674 “Multiple single color LEDs may be used to provide excitation light at different frequencies.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the light source module comprises: a plurality of LEDs having different wavelengths, in order to induce fluorescence in different types of particles.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HWN, and further in view of Stumbo et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20010033381).
As to claim 3, HWN teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, with the exception of the arc of the lower housing has a substantially parabolic form having a vertex at a top of the another side and having a symmetry axis parallel to an outer bottom surface, with a focus under the plurality of sensing holes. However, it is known in the art as taught by Stumbo. Stumbo teaches analyzing a substrate with a plurality of wells (Figure 1, paragraph 0024 “Stage 101 may be used to support a substrate 108 having a plurality of sample sites 110, such as a microplate and associated microplate wells, and optics head 104 may be used to direct light 112 to and/or from a sensed volume 114 positioned in a sample site located in the examination region.”) that uses a parabolic reflector to focus light from a collimated source (Figure 1, “collimated light beam”) to a plurality of wells on a substrate (Figure 1, paragraph 0024 “substrate 108 having a plurality of sample sites 110”). While Stumbo does not explicitly teach the claimed positioning of the parabola (e.g. the vertex at the top of the another side), the claim language and instant Figure 4 indicate that the claimed position of the focal point is at the position of the sample, which is what the reflector of Stumbo does. As such, the invention of HWN as modified by Stumbo is deemed to read on the claimed limitation. The use of the parabolic mirror of Stumbo would be done in order to better focus collimated light to a point (Hur Figure 7 shows lens 284 creating collimated light, and the curved mirror taught by Niggl is ellipsoidal which is better for focusing point light sources, therefore it would be an improvement to replace the ellipsoidal mirror of Niggl with the parabolic mirror of Stumbo).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HWN, and further in view of Tsukagoshi et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20060158754).
As to claim 4, HWN teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 1, with the exception of the arc of the lower housing comprises: three [one] or more reflection surfaces each arranged at increasing angles to each other’s adjacent surface on a plane perpendicular to the one side of the lower housing. However, it is known in the art as taught by Tsukagoshi. Tsukagoshi teaches a mirror array to focus a collimated light beam to a point (Figure 1, Abstract “spatial light modulator “) where the reflective surface (which is the arc of the lower housing in the invention of Hur as modified by Wertz and Niggl above) comprises: three [one] or more reflection surfaces each arranged at increasing angles to each other’s adjacent surface on a plane perpendicular to the one side of the lower housing (Figure 1, paragraph 0034 “spatial light modulator 10 (hereinafter referred to as SLM) according to example 1 of the exemplary embodiment of the present invention is a device that is configured by arranging a plurality of micro mirrors 14A, 14B, 14C, - - - , 14I on a substrate 12”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the arc of the lower housing comprises: three [one] or more reflection surfaces each arranged at increasing angles to each other’s adjacent surface on a plane perpendicular to the one side of the lower housing, in order to more quickly switch & correct the focal length and light intensity distribution.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HWN, and further in view of Gwon et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20150031136).
As to claim 11, HWN teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 8, in addition Hur teaches the control circuit board constitute at least a part of an upper surface of the cartridge insertion space (Figure 2, main board 320 is part of upper casing 120, which is just above the cartridge insertion slot (the notches in casings 110 & 120)).
Hur does not teach a heater arranged along the cartridge insertion space and a temperature sensor arranged adjacent to the cartridge are additionally mounted on the control circuit board. However, it is known in the art as taught by Gwon. Gwon teaches testing a cartridge with multiple sample wells (Figure 2, paragraph 0009 “a test apparatus including: a detector configured to irradiate light to a plurality of chambers of a reaction device and detect a detection target”) including a heater arranged along the cartridge insertion space and a temperature sensor arranged adjacent to the cartridge are additionally mounted on the control circuit board (Figure 6a shows cartridge 100 with chambers 121 on test device 120, paragraph 0054 “The support 50 may therefore include a component configured to maintain the test device 120 at a specific temperature as needed.”, where “maintain” indicates the existence of a sensor, heater & cooler, and a controller to use them to keep the system at a desired temperature, and Hur Figure 2 shows the circuit board adjacent to the cartridge). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have a heater arranged along the cartridge insertion space and a temperature sensor arranged adjacent to the cartridge are additionally mounted on the control circuit board, in order to have the biochemical reactions properly perform (paragraph 0054).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HWN, and further in view of Gunstream (United States Patent Application Publication 20080182263).
As to claim 12, HWN teaches everything claimed, as applied above in claim 8, with the exception of the control circuit board further comprises: an EEPROM configured to factory calibration values; and an interface (I/F) configured to exchange data with external devices; and wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the program instructions to: perform factory calibration according to control from an external calibration device through the interface; and store a received factory calibration values as a correction values in the EEPROM.
However, it is known in the art as taught by Gunstream. Gunstream teaches detecting light emitted from a multi-well plate (Figure 2, paragraph 0010 “receiving first emission data generated by the at least one reference material” and “It is to be understood that by "emission" the present teachings are referring to not only electromagnetic radiation but rather are also referring to any physical or chemical signal or other data that can be read, detected, imaged, or surmised from one or more area of interest, for example, a support region such as a well of a multi-well plate. "Emission" herein is intended to encompass electromagnetic radiation, optical signals, chemiluminescent signals, fluorescent signals, radiation transmission values, and radiation absorption values.”) with a control circuit board (Figure 2, paragraph 0017 “processor 186”) where the control circuit board further comprises:
an EEPROM (paragraph 0029 “This type of memory can comprise, for example … an electronically erasable programmable memory (EEPROM)”) configured to factory calibration values (paragraph 0025 “the calibration information or any part thereof derived from amplified dyes or other reference materials, can be stored, for example, to a local hard disk, network storage site, or other local or remote location or data store” and this is interpreted to include factory settings, see paragraph 0023 “In some embodiments, the set of calibrations, corrections, or adjustments based on dye or other reference material, can be carried out on a set of plates or other platforms, at the time of manufacture.”); and
an interface (I/F) configured to exchange data with external devices (paragraph 0023 “The calibration, correction, or other adjustment can be stored in electronic memory, such as in a read-only memory (ROM) embedded in an instrument, or in a database stored on a local or remote server or stored on another resource.”); and
wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the program instructions to:
perform factory calibration according to control from an external calibration device through the interface (paragraph 0027 “The present teachings can be implemented in one or more computer programs that are executable on a programmable system that can include at least one programmable processor coupled to receive and transmit data and instructions, to and from a data storage system or memory.” and calibration is the 3rd, 5th & 6th steps of the flowchart of Figure 4 making it an obvious thing to be done); and
store a received factory calibration values as a correction values in the EEPROM (Figure 4, step 414 “store calibration information”, and paragraph 0029 “memory or storage devices suitable for storing, encoding, or embodying computer program instructions or software and data can comprise, for example, any form of volatile and/or non-volatile memory. This type of memory can comprise, for example … an electronically erasable programmable memory (EEPROM),”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to have the control circuit board further comprise: an EEPROM configured to factory calibration values; and an interface (I/F) configured to exchange data with external devices; and wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the program instructions to: perform factory calibration according to control from an external calibration device through the interface; and store a received factory calibration values as a correction values in the EEPROM, in order to achieve better calibration accuracy over the entire detection & data analysis process.
Conclusion
/J.C.U/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 /MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877