DETAILED ACTION
Product by process limitations
Product by process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps.
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." (See MPEP § 2113)
Claim 1 recites: “… is inserted into…”, this limitations are subject to product by process analysis.
Claim 14 recites “..thermally fused…, this limitations are subject to product by process analysis.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“compression part” in claim 1 -- see Para 53 of the specification of the instant application - “…the compressing part is provided in the compression housing 14 and although not illustrated, may include an orbiting scroll coupled to the rotary shaft through an eccentric bush, and a fixed scroll forming a compression chamber in which the refrigerant is compressed together with the orbiting scroll…”; and
“motor part” in claim 1 -- see Para 52 of the specification of the instant application - “…motor part may include a rotor coupled to a rotary shaft rotatably installed at a center of the motor housing 12 and a stator fixed to the motor housing 12 and disposed radially outside the rotor. Also, the stator may include a stator core and coils wound around the stator core”.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because “to one side of the housing” in line 8 should be --to the one side of the housing--.
Claim 7 is objected to because “a plurality of pressing members” in line 2 should be --a plurality of the pressing members--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujimura et al. (U.S. 2012/0063935).
Re claim 1:
Fujimura discloses an electric compressor (1, inverter-integrated electric compressor - Para 32), comprising:
a housing (6, compressor housing - Para 32; );
a compression part (2, compression mechanism - Para 32) configured to compress a refrigerant introduced into the housing (6)(see Fig. 1 and Para 32);
a motor part (7, motor - Para 32) provided in the housing (6) and configured to drive the compression part (2)(see Fig. 1 and Para 32); and
an inverter part (Modified Fig. 1 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of inverter part; see Paras 33-34)) provided on one side (Modified Fig. 1 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of one side of element 6)) of the housing (6) and configured to control the motor part (7)(see Modified Fig. 1 above and Paras 33-34),
wherein the inverter part (Modified Fig. 1 above - A) further comprises:
an inverter cover (29, lid member - Para 34; 12, front housing - Para 33 (elements 29 and 12 are collectively a type of inverter cover as shown in Fig. 1)) coupled to one side of the housing (Modified Fig. 1 above - B)(see Modified Fig. 1 above);
an inverter body (36, board-fixing plate - Para 36; 37, frame member - Para 36 (elements 36 and 37 are collectively a type of inverter body as shown in Figs. 1-3)) fixed inside the inverter cover (29, 12)(see Modified Fig. 1 above and Para 36); and
a circuit board (26, control circuit board - Para 36) seated on the inverter body (36, 37) and allowing one or more elements (Modified Fig. 3 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of one or more elements)) to be disposed on a first surface thereof (Modified Fig. 3 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of first surface of element 26 facing element 6; element B corresponds to the “bottom side” of element 26 referenced in Para 38)) facing the housing (6)(see Fig. 1 and Modified Fig. 3 above),
wherein the inverter body (36, 37) further comprises:
one or more boss portions (39, 49 - vibration-isolation member - Para 36) protruding from a base surface (Modified Fig. 3 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of base surface)) toward the circuit board (26)(see Modified Fig. 3 above), and wherein a pressing member (42, 43, 50, neck parts - Para 38; 51 stopper part - Para 38) is inserted into at least one among the one or more boss portions (39, 49)(see Fig. 5) and the pressing member (42, 43, 50, 51) presses a second surface (Modified Fig. 3 above - D (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element D as a type of second surface of element 26 which is opposite element B; element D corresponds to the “top...side” of element 26 which is referenced in Para 38)) which is an opposite side of the first surface (Modified Fig. 3 above - B) of the circuit board (26)(see Figs. 1, 3, 5, and Para 38).
Re claim 3:
Fujimura discloses the electric compressor (1) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the pressing member (42, 43, 50, 51) is formed of a rubber material (Para 36), and is compressively deformed when inserted into the one or more boss portions (39, 49)(see Fig. 5 and Para 38 - “…stopper part 51 is elastically deformed…”).
Re claim 14:
Fujimura discloses the electric compressor (1) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the inverter body (36, 37) further comprises a seating portion (53, vibration-isolating member - Para 38) protruding from the base surface (Modified Fig. 3 above - C)(see Modified Fig. 3 above, Fig. 5, and Para 38) and allowing the circuit board (26) to be seated thereon (see Figs. 3 and 5 and Para 38) and a thermal fusion part (55) extending from the seating portion (53) and thermally fused after penetrating a thermal fusion hole (48, insertion hole - Para 38) of the circuit board (26)(see Figs. 3, 5, and Para 38).
Re claim 15:
Fujimura discloses the electric compressor (1) of claim 14 (as described above), wherein a height h1 of the one or more boss portions (39, 49) is lower than a height h2 of the seating portion (53)(see Fig. 5 (a height of 39,49 can be identified that is lower than a height of element 53)).
Re claim 16:
Fujimura discloses the electric compressor (1) of claim 15 (as described above), wherein before the circuit board (26) is seated on the seating portion (53), a sum of the height h1 of the one or more boss portions (39, 49) and a height h3 of the pressing member (42, 43, 50) disposed outside the one or more boss portions (39, 49) is greater than the height h2 of the seating portion (53)(see Fig. 5 (a height of 39,49 can be identified that is greater than a height of a height of element 53, and this limitation does not require a height of pressing member to be disposed outside of the one or more boss portions)).
Re claim 17:
Fujimura discloses the electric compressor (1) of claim 14 (as described above), wherein the base surface (Modified Fig. 3 above - C) includes a first base surface (Modified Fig. 3 above - G (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element G as a type of first base surface)) and a second base surface (Modified Fig. 3 above - F (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element F as a type of second base surface further from element 29, 12 than element G)) further from the inverter cover (29, 12) than the first base surface (Modified Fig. 3 above - G)(see Modified Fig. 3 above), and wherein each of the one or more boss portions (38, 49) and the seating portion (53) protrudes from the second base surface (Modified Fig. 3 above - F)(see Modified Fig. 3 above, Fig. 5, and Para 38).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimura et al. (U.S. 2012/0063935), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Park et al. (U.S. 2017/0214293).
Re claim 2:
Fujimura discloses the electric compressor (1) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the one or more elements (Modified Fig. 3 above - A) comprises a plurality of
Fujimura fails to disclose a plurality of switching elements.
Park teaches a plurality of switching elements (202, high power switching semiconductor - Para 45 (also see Para 37 where element 202 is described as a plurality)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the elements of Fujimura after those of Park, thereby making the plurality of elements of Fujimura a plurality of switching elements, in the way taught by Park, for the advantage of being able to precisely control operating conditions of the electric compressor (Park; Para 45).
Re claim 4:
Fujimura discloses the electric compressor (1) of claim 1 (as described above).
Fujimura fails to disclose wherein a heat exchange part protruding toward the circuit board is provided on a partition wall of the housing to allow the one or more elements to be in contact with the heat exchange part.
Park teaches an electric compressor (1, electric compressor - Para 37) wherein a heat exchange part (300, fastening unit - Para 51 (see Fig. 3 and Paras 51-55)) protruding toward a circuit board (200, printed circuit board - Para 37)(see Fig. 3) is provided on a partition wall (Modified Fig. 3(b) above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of partition wall of element 2)) of a housing (2, compressor housing - Para 37) to allow one or more elements (202, high power switching semiconductor - Para 45 (also see Para 37 where element 202 is described as a plurality)) to be in contact with the heat exchange part (300)(see Figs. 3-4 and Paras 51-56).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the electric compressor of Fujimura after that of Park, thereby providing a heat exchange part on a partition wall of the housing of Fujimura protruding toward the circuit board of Fujimura to allow the one or more elements of Fujimura to be in contact with the heat exchange part, as taught by Park, for the advantage of preventing occurrence of an error on the electrical compressor due to a malfunction (Park; Para 55).
Re claim 5:
Fujimura/Park teaches the electric compressor (Fujimura; 1) of claim 2 (as described above).
Fujimura further discloses wherein the pressing member (42, 43, 50, 51) is positioned within a region in which the plurality of
Fujimura fails to disclose a plurality of switching elements.
Park teaches a plurality of switching elements (202, high power switching semiconductor - Para 45 (also see Para 37 where element 202 is described as a plurality)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the elements of Fujimura after those of Park, thereby making the plurality of elements of Fujimura a plurality of switching elements, in the way taught by Park, for the advantage of being able to precisely control operating conditions of the electric compressor (Park; Para 45).
Re claim 6:
Fujimura/Park teaches the electric compressor (Fujimura; 1) of claim 5 (as described above).
Fujimura further discloses the electric compressor (1) further comprising a plurality of fastening members (Modified Fig. 2 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of plurality of fastening members; element A corresponds to the “bolts” referenced in Para 36)) penetrating the inverter cover (29, 12), the inverter body (36, 37) and the circuit board (26) to be fastened to the housing (6)(see Figs. 1-7 and Para 36), wherein the one or more boss portions (38, 39) are provided close to one (Modified Fig. 4 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as one of element A)) among a plurality of second fastening holes (Modified Fig. 4 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of plurality of second fastening holes)) of the inverter body (36, 37) allowing the plurality of fastening members (Modified Fig. 2 above - A) to penetrate (see Figs. 1-7 and Modified Figs. 2 and 4 above).
Re claims 7-8:
Fujimura/Park teaches the electric compressor (Fujimura; 1) of claim 5 (as described above).
Fujimura further discloses wherein every two of the plurality of
Fujimura fails to disclose a plurality of switching elements.
Park teaches a plurality of switching elements (202, high power switching semiconductor - Para 45 (also see Para 37 where element 202 is described as a plurality)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the elements of Fujimura after those of Park, thereby making the plurality of elements of Fujimura a plurality of switching elements, in the way taught by Park, for the advantage of being able to precisely control operating conditions of the electric compressor (Park; Para 45).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimura et al. (U.S. 2012/0063935), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Kinoshita et al. (U.S. 2018/0180061).
Re claim 13:
Fujimura discloses the electric compressor (1) of claim 1 (as described above).
Fujimura fails to disclose wherein a through hole is provided in the pressing member along a longitudinal direction.
Kinoshita teaches wherein a through hole (see Fig. 2 at element 37 and 31) is provided in a pressing member (37, collar member - Para 30) along a longitudinal direction (see Fig. 2 at 37 and 31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the pressing member of Fujimura after that of Kinoshita, thereby providing a through hole in the pressing member of Fujimura as taught by Kinoshita, for the advantage of weight reduction (Kinoshita; see Fig. 2 at element 37).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 9-12 would be allowed primarily because the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Additionally, the prior art of record does not teach “wherein the pressing member includes a body part contacting the second surface of the circuit board and a leg part extending from the body part and inserted into an inner groove of the one or more boss portions” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim(s) ***.
Therefore, the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by one or more references.
Conclusion
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 10/23/26