DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "wherein side and cross members of a respective front movable housing part or rear movable housing part are attached to one another to form a housing part frame” which is unclear. Claim 6 depends from claim 4 where the side and cross member elements are introduced. However, claim 4 only requires that one cross member or a side member for the front or rear housing part is provided. For purposes of examination, claim 6 has been examined as if written “wherein the cross member of the front movable housing part form part of a housing part frame”. Reference to the rejections of claim 4 and claim 6 can be made below.
Claim 19 is further rejected by virtue of its dependency from claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakuta (JP2006217814A) in view of Takeshi (JP4617230B2).
Regarding independent claim 1, Wakuta discloses an agricultural working machine (2) comprising:
a shaft (10) provided with at least one tool (11), the rotation axis of which extends in operation at an angle to a direction of travel and at least substantially parallel to the ground;
a housing (12) arranged on a frame of the working machine (as seen in Fig. 1), which housing is arranged at least in sections (17-19) above the shaft (10) and has an inner wall delimiting a channel between the shaft and the housing (See Fig. 1 where the face of sections 17-19 that respectively face the shaft correspond to the claimed inner wall, the claimed channel corresponds to the shown space between the tools 11 and inner walls of the housing sections 17-19);
wherein the housing (12) has a front movable housing part (19) and a rear movable housing part (18) with respect to the direction of travel, with respective inner wall parts which each extend along the shaft (i.e., the inner faces of housing sections circumferentially extend along the shaft; See para. [0010] where it discloses “the main cover 17 and the rear cover 18 are rotatable in the front-rear direction around the rotary tillage shaft 10”).
However, Wakuta fails to disclose wherein each front and rear housing part have at least two adjustable, different operating positions in which the respective inner wall parts of the housing parts are positioned differently to the shaft.
Takeshi, discloses a similar rotary tool for an agricultural working machine comprising a shaft (17) and housing (21) having a front movable housing part (23) and a rear movable housing part (24) wherein each housing part has an inner wall (See Fig. 1 where face of sections 23-24 that respectively face the shaft correspond to the inner walls). More specifically, Takeshi teaches that wherein the front (23) and rear housing parts (24) have at least two adjustable, different operating positions in which the respective inner wall parts of the housing parts are positioned differently to the shaft (See para. [0004]-[0006] for disclosure of fixing the individual housing parts at predetermined angles i.e., positions; further See Fig. 1 which corresponds to a first operating position for each the front and rear housing parts and See Fig. 5 which corresponds to a second operating position for each the front and rear housing parts).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first and second housing parts of Wakuta to include the independent and positionally selectable housing parts of Takeshi, with a reasonably expectation of success, in order to affect “the tilling work according to various tillage conditions and field conditions” thereby increasing the accuracy and efficacy of the working tools (See para. [0006]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination discloses the working machine according to claim 1. Wakuta fails to disclose the instantly claimed limitations. However, Takeshi further teaches at least one cross member (27) and/or at least one side member is provided to stiffen at least one of the front movable housing part (23) or the second movable housing part (See Fig. 2 where bracket 27 is depicted; note that Takeshi does not specifically disclose that the cross member is for stiffening the front housing part, however, since Takeshi discloses the claimed structure of the cross member, the discloses cross member will also be capable of the claimed functional limitation of stiffening the front housing part as it is made from a rigid material). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the front housing part of Wakuta, to provide the one cross member of Takeshi, as providing stiffening members for housing covers is well within the skill of one having ordinary skill in the art, and would result in a more robust cover more suitable for extreme tilling conditions.
Regarding claim 6, the combination discloses the working machine according to claim 4. Wakuta fails to disclose the instantly claimed limitations; however, in view of the modification made above with respect to claim 4, Takeshi, of the combination, also discloses wherein the cross member (27) of the front movable housing part (23) form part of a housing part frame (See Fig. 1 where the elements disposed above the housing and connected to the housing correspond to the housing part frame). Applicant should further reference the 112 rejection above for the current claim interpretation.
Regarding claim 7, the combination discloses the working machine according to claim 4. Wakuta fails to disclose the instantly claimed limitations; however, in view of the modification made above with respect to claim 1, Takeshi, of the combination, also discloses wherein at least one of the inner wall parts has different radii of curvature in at least two operating states (See Fig. 1 and Fig. 5 where each figure generally corresponds to one of the two operating states and the inner wall parts of the front and rear housing parts are shown with different radii of curvature, relative to the shaft 17, as a result of the movement of each housing part).
Regarding claim 10, the combination discloses the working machine according to claim 1. Wakuta, of the combination, also discloses wherein the shaft (10) is arranged (indirectly) on the frame of the working machine so as to be adjustable in height via a shaft actuating device (4; See para: [0007] where it discloses element 4 as a height adjustment rod).
Regarding claim 19, the combination discloses the working machine according to claim 6. Wakuta fails to disclose the instantly claimed limitations; however, in view of the modification made above with respect to claim 6, Takeshi, of the combination, also discloses at least one inner wall part is arranged to move relative to the housing part frame (See Figs 1-2 where at least the inner wall part of the rear housing part 18 is shown moved further away from the housing part frame).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakuta (JP2006217814A) in view of Takeshi (JP4617230B2) and further in view of Padros (EP1673968).
Regarding claim 5, the combination discloses the working machine according to claim 4. The combination fails to disclose wherein the inner wall parts are at least formed from an elastomeric material. Padros, discloses a similar agricultural machine with a housing (3) that comprises inner wall parts (See Fig. 1 where the inner wall parts correspond to the face of the housing 3 facing the rotatably driven soil-working tools). More specifically, Padros, teaches that wherein the inner wall parts are at least formed from an elastomeric material (as disclosed in para. [0018]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the material of the inner wall parts of the combination, to be the elastomeric material disclosed by Padros, with a reasonable expectation of success, so that it is difficult for the kicked up earth to stick to the inner parts (as disclosed in para. [0018]).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakuta (JP2006217814A) in view of Takeshi (JP4617230B2) and further in view of Aizawa (JPH0898602).
Regarding claim 8, the combination discloses the working machine according to claim 4. The combination fails to specifically disclose the instantly claimed limitations. Aizawa, discloses a similar working machine (4) with a working tool (11) and a housing (12 and 16; See para. [0008] for general disclosure of these elements) wherein the housing has a front movable housing part (12) and a rear movable housing part (16).
More specifically, Aizawa teaches that at least one front actuator (22) is assigned to the front movable housing part (12), via which a front edge of the front movable housing part (12) is adjustable in height and/or along the direction of travel (See para. [0009] where it discloses the height of the upper cover is affected by the actuator 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination to include the one front actuator of Aizawa, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide for automatic control of the front movable housing part within the cockpit of the agricultural machine (See para. [0012]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination discloses the working machine according to claim 4. The combination fails to specifically disclose the instantly claimed limitations. Aizawa, discloses a similar working machine (4) with a working tool (11) and a housing (12 and 16; See para. [0008] for general disclosure of these elements) wherein the housing has a front movable housing part (12) and a rear movable housing part (16).
More specifically, Aizawa teaches that at least one rear actuator (19) is assigned to the rear movable housing part (16), via which a rear edge of the rear movable housing part (16) is adjustable in height and/or along the direction of travel (See para. [0008] where it discloses “the rear cover 16 is pushed down by the pressing device 19, so that the rear edge of the rear cover 16 is elastically pressed against the cultivated soil surface”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination to include the one rear actuator of Aizawa, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide for automatic control of the rear movable housing part within the cockpit of the agricultural machine (See para. [0010]).
Claims 11-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakuta (JP2006217814A) in view of Takeshi (JP4617230B2) and further in view of Hiroyoshi (JPH0638602A).
Regarding claim 11, the combination discloses the working machine according to claim 1. The combination fails to disclose the instantly claimed limitations. Hiroyoshi discloses a similar agricultural machine (a rotary tiller 14) comprising a housing (housing depicted in Fig. 2) for a soil working tool having a front part (2) and a rear part (22). More specifically, Hiroyoshi teaches at least one vibration generator (3 or 31) connected to at least one of the front movable housing part or the rear movable housing part for exciting a vibration thereof (See Fig. 2 where the vibration generators are connected to both the front part 2 and the rear part 22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the front or rear housing part of the combinations to include the vibration generator of Hiroyoshi, with a reasonable expectation of success, so that “it is difficult for the soil to adhere” to the inner walls of the housing (as disclosed in para. [0003]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination discloses the working machine according to claim 11. Hiroyoshi, of the combination, also discloses wherein the vibration generator (3 or 31) is arranged transversely to the direction of travel (at least across its width) and, with respect to the direction of travel, between a front and a rear end of one of the front movable housing part and the rear movable housing part (See Fig. 2 where vibration generator 31 is arranged between a front end and a rear end of the rear housing part 22).
Regarding claim 13, the combination discloses the working machine according to claim 11. Hiroyoshi, of the combination, also discloses wherein the vibration generator (3 or 31) is arranged at a front or rear end of one of the front movable housing part and the rear movable housing part with respect to the direction of travel when viewed transversely to the direction of travel (See Fig. 2 where the vibration generator 3 is arranged at a front end of the front housing part 2, note that Fig. 2 corresponds to the view transverse to the direction of travel).
Regarding claim 14, the combination discloses the working machine according to claim 11. Hiroyoshi, of the combination, also discloses wherein the vibration generator (3 or 31) comprises a vibration means (See para. [0004] where the vibration means creates an “oscillation output” which generally corresponds to the claimed vibration means) which bears against the housing part or is connected thereto (See Fig. 2 where the vibration means within the vibration generators 3 or 31 bear against the inner covers 4 and 29 of the first housing part 2 and the rear housing part 22 respectively) and wherein the vibration means is designed to exert a force on the housing part (as generally disclosed in para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination discloses the working machine according to claim 14. Hiroyoshi, of the combination, also discloses wherein the vibration means, which is designed, can be driven in rotation (See para. [0004] where the vibration means creates an “oscillation output” which generally corresponds to the claimed vibration means and such vibration means can be driven i.e., activated, in rotation of the soil working tools) and/or is longitudinally movable in the direction transverse to the planar extension of the housing part.
Regarding claim 20, the combination discloses the working machine according to claim 14. Hiroyoshi, of the combination, also discloses wherein vibration means is designed to exert the force on the housing part in a direction transverse to the planar extension of the housing part (i.e., the vibration means causes the housing part to vibrate up and down relative to the ground).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Smith et al. (Pat. No.: 3,892,278) discloses a rotary tiller mulcher with a vibrating chain coupled to the housing. Sanpei et al. (Pat. No.: 4,669,549) discloses a tiller cover assembly with a main and rear cover. Teitgen et al. (Pat. No.: 6,564,879) discloses a soil working machine with a movable back part. Van der Lely (Pat. No.: 3,995,570) discloses a cultivator with movable housing parts.
/A.L.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/JAMIE L MCGOWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671