DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is in response to Application filed on May 12, 2025 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-16 of prior U.S. Patent No.12,295,815. This is a statutory double patenting rejection. See table below.
Present Application
Patent No. 12,295,815
1. A method of manufacturing zoned webs, the method comprising:
providing a substrate;
transferring the substrate in a machine direction;
modifying the substrate to include a plurality of lanes to provide a modified substrate,
the plurality of lanes comprising a first lane and a second lane,
the first lane comprising a first zone and a second zone, the first zone comprising an open area greater than an open area of the second zone,
the second lane comprising a third zone and a fourth zone, the third zone comprising an open area greater than an open area of the fourth zone,
the first lane and the second lane being formed such that the first zone in the first lane is staggered in the machine direction from the third zone in the second lane;
transferring the modified substrate; and
slitting the modified substrate between adjacent lanes in the plurality of lanes to provide zoned webs,
the zoned webs comprising a first zoned web comprising the first lane and a second zoned web comprising the second lane.
3. wherein the first lane comprises a plurality of first zones and a plurality of second zones, the plurality of first zones and the plurality of second zones being configured in an alternating fashion such that each first zone is adjacent to two second zones and each second zone is adjacent to two first zones.
4. wherein the second lane comprises a plurality of third zones and a plurality of fourth zones, the plurality of third zones and the plurality of fourth zones being configured in an alternating fashion such that each third zone is adjacent to two fourth zones and each fourth zone is adjacent to two third zones.
6. wherein a distance in the machine direction between successive third zones in the second lane provides a repeating length, and wherein each first zone in the first lane is staggered in the machine direction from nearest adjacent third zones in the second lane such that a cross-directional centerline of each first zone in the first lane is disposed at a machine direction off-set to the cross-directional centerlines of the nearest adjacent third zones in the second lane such by being between 20% - 80% of the repeating length of the third zones.
1. A method of manufacturing zoned webs, the method comprising:
providing a substrate;
transferring the substrate in a machine direction;
modifying the substrate to include a plurality of lanes to provide a modified substrate,
the plurality of lanes comprising a first lane and a second lane,
the first lane comprising a first zone and a second zone, the first zone comprising an open area greater than an open area of the second zone,
the second lane comprising a third zone and a fourth zone, the third zone comprising an open area greater than an open area of the fourth zone,
the first lane and the second lane being formed such that the first zone in the first lane is staggered in the machine direction from the third zone in the second lane,
wherein the first lane comprises a plurality of first zones and a plurality of second zones, the plurality of first zones and the plurality of second zones being configured in an alternating fashion such that each first zone is adjacent to two second zones and each second zone is adjacent to two first zones;
wherein the second lane comprises a plurality of third zones and a plurality of fourth zones, the plurality of third zones and the plurality of fourth zones being configured in an alternating fashion such that each third zone is adjacent to two fourth zones and each fourth zone is adjacent to two third zones;
wherein a distance in the machine direction between successive third zones in the second lane provides a repeating length, and wherein each first zone in the first lane is staggered in the machine direction from nearest adjacent third zones in the second lane such that a cross-directional centerline of each first zone in the first lane is disposed at a machine direction off-set to the cross-directional centerlines of the nearest adjacent third zones in the second lane such by being between 20%-80% of the repeating length of the third zones;
transferring the modified substrate; and
slitting the modified substrate between adjacent lanes in the plurality of lanes to provide zoned webs,
the zoned webs comprising a first zoned web comprising the first lane and a second zoned web comprising the second lane.
2. wherein the first zone in the first lane is configured the same as the third zone in the second lane and wherein the second zone in the first lane is configured the same as the fourth zone in the second lane.
2. wherein the first zone in the first lane is configured the same as the third zone in the second lane and wherein the second zone in the first lane is configured the same as the fourth zone in the second lane.
5. wherein the plurality of first zones in the first lane are staggered in the machine direction from the plurality of third zones in the second lane.
3. wherein the plurality of first zones in the first lane are staggered in the machine direction from the plurality of third zones in the second lane.
7. wherein the plurality of lanes are configured to include a plurality of first lanes alternating with a plurality of second lanes.
4. wherein the plurality of lanes are configured to include a plurality of first lanes alternating with a plurality of second lanes.
8. wherein the open area of the first zone and the open area of the third zone each comprise openings in the modified substrate.
5. wherein the open area of the first zone and the open area of the third zone each comprise openings in the modified substrate.
9. wherein the first lane further comprises a first transition zone between the first zone and the second zone, the open area of the first zone being greater than an open area of the first transition zone, and wherein the second lane further comprises a second transition zone between the third zone and the fourth zone, the open area of the third zone being greater than an open area of the second transition zone.
6. wherein the first lane further comprises a first transition zone between the first zone and the second zone, the open area of the first zone being greater than an open area of the first transition zone, and wherein the second lane further comprises a second transition zone between the third zone and the fourth zone, the open area of the third zone being greater than an open area of the second transition zone.
10. wherein the open area of the first transition zone is less than an open area of the second zone.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the open area of the first transition zone is less than an open area of the second zone.
11. wherein modifying the substrate to include a plurality of lanes to provide a modified substrate comprises fluid entangling the substrate with fluid entanglement jets to form the first zone and the second zone in the first lane and the third zone and the fourth zone in the second lane.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein modifying the substrate to include a plurality of lanes to provide a modified substrate comprises fluid entangling the substrate with fluid entanglement jets to form the first zone and the second zone in the first lane and the third zone and the fourth zone in the second lane.
12. wherein the substrate is a nonwoven web.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the substrate is a nonwoven web.
13. A method of manufacturing zoned webs, the method comprising:
providing a nonwoven substrate; transferring the substrate in a machine direction to a fluid entanglement apparatus,
the fluid entanglement apparatus including a pattern surface and a plurality of fluid entanglements,
the pattern surface comprising:
a plurality of pattern lanes, the plurality of pattern lanes comprising a first pattern lane and a second pattern lane,
the first pattern lane comprising a first pattern zone and a second pattern zone, the first pattern zone comprising a first plurality of projections,
the second pattern lane comprising a third pattern zone and a fourth pattern zone, the third pattern zone comprising a third plurality of projections,
the third pattern zone and the fourth pattern zone being formed such that the first pattern zone in the first pattern lane is staggered in the machine direction from the third pattern zone in the second pattern lane;
fluid entangling the substrate with the fluid entanglement jets over the pattern surface to provide a modified substrate comprising a plurality of lanes comprising a first lane and a second lane;
transferring the modified substrate; and
slitting the modified substrate between adjacent lanes in the plurality of lanes to provide zoned webs,
the zoned webs comprising a first zoned web comprising the first lane and a second zoned web comprising the second lane.
10. A method of manufacturing zoned webs, the method comprising:
providing a nonwoven substrate; transferring the substrate in a machine direction to a fluid entanglement apparatus,
the fluid entanglement apparatus including a pattern surface and a plurality of fluid entanglement jets,
the pattern surface comprising:
a plurality of pattern lanes, the plurality of pattern lanes comprising a first pattern lane and a second pattern lane,
the first pattern lane comprising a first pattern zone and a second pattern zone, the first pattern zone comprising a first plurality of projections,
the second pattern lane comprising a third pattern zone and a fourth pattern zone, the third pattern zone comprising a third plurality of projections,
the third pattern zone and the fourth pattern zone being formed such that the first pattern zone in the first pattern lane is staggered in the machine direction from the third pattern zone in the second pattern lane;
fluid entangling the substrate with the fluid entanglement jets over the pattern surface to provide a modified substrate comprising a plurality of lanes comprising a first lane and a second lane;
transferring the modified substrate; and
slitting the modified substrate between adjacent lanes in the plurality of lanes to provide zoned webs,
the zoned webs comprising a first zoned web comprising the first lane and a second zoned web comprising the second lane.
14. wherein fluid entangling the substrate with the fluid entanglement jets over the pattern surface to provide a modified substrate comprising a plurality of lanes comprises forming the plurality of lanes such that the first lane of the modified substrate comprises a first zone and a second zone, the first zone comprising an open area greater than an open area of the second zone, and wherein the second lane of the modified substrate comprises a third zone and a fourth zone, the third zone comprising an open area greater than an open area of the fourth zone, the first lane and the second lane being formed on the modified substrate such that the first zone in the first lane is staggered in the machine direction from the third zone in the second lane.
11. wherein fluid entangling the substrate with the fluid entanglement jets over the pattern surface to provide a modified substrate comprising a plurality of lanes comprises forming the plurality of lanes such that the first lane of the modified substrate comprises a first zone and a second zone, the first zone comprising an open area greater than an open area of the second zone, and wherein the second lane of the modified substrate comprises a third zone and a fourth zone, the third zone comprising an open area greater than an open area of the fourth zone, the first lane and the second lane being formed on the modified substrate such that the first zone in the first lane is staggered in the machine direction from the third zone in the second lane.
15. wherein the second pattern zone and the fourth pattern zone of the pattern roll do not comprise any projections.
12. wherein the second pattern zone and the fourth pattern zone of the pattern roll do not comprise any projections.
16. wherein the second pattern zone comprises a second plurality of projections and the fourth pattern zone comprises a fourth plurality of projections.
13. wherein the second pattern zone comprises a second plurality of projections and the fourth pattern zone comprises a fourth plurality of projections.
17. wherein the first pattern zone in the first pattern lane is configured the same as the third pattern zone in the second pattern lane and wherein the second pattern zone in the first pattern lane is configured the same as the fourth pattern zone in the second pattern lane.
14. wherein the first pattern zone in the first pattern lane is configured the same as the third pattern zone in the second pattern lane and wherein the second pattern zone in the first pattern lane is configured the same as the fourth pattern zone in the second pattern lane.
18. wherein the first pattern lane comprises a plurality of first pattern zones and a plurality of second pattern zones, the plurality of first pattern zones and the plurality of second pattern zones being configured in an alternating fashion such that each first pattern zone is adjacent two second pattern zones and each second pattern zone is adjacent two first pattern zones, and wherein the second lane comprises a plurality of third zones and a plurality of fourth zones, the plurality of third zones and the plurality of fourth zones being configured in an alternating fashion such that each third zone is adjacent to two fourth zones and each fourth zone is adjacent to two third zones.
16. wherein the first pattern lane comprises a plurality of first pattern zones and a plurality of second pattern zones, the plurality of first pattern zones and the plurality of second pattern zones being configured in an alternating fashion such that each first pattern zone is adjacent two second pattern zones and each second pattern zone is adjacent two first pattern zones, and wherein the second lane comprises a plurality of third zones and a plurality of fourth zones, the plurality of third zones and the plurality of fourth zones being configured in an alternating fashion such that each third zone is adjacent to two fourth zones and each fourth zone is adjacent to two third zones.
19. wherein a distance in the machine direction between successive third pattern zones in the second pattern lane provides a repeating length, and wherein each first pattern zone in the first pattern lane is staggered in the machine direction from nearest adjacent third pattern zones in the second pattern lane such that a cross-directional centerline of each first pattern zone in the first pattern lane is located at a machine direction off-set to the cross-directional centerlines of the nearest adjacent third pattern zones in the second pattern lane by being between 20% - 80% of the repeating length of the third pattern zones.
15. wherein a distance in the machine direction between successive third pattern zones in the second pattern lane provides a repeating length, and wherein each first pattern zone in the first pattern lane is staggered in the machine direction from nearest adjacent third pattern zones in the second pattern lane such that a cross-directional centerline of each first pattern zone in the first pattern lane is located at a machine direction off-set to the cross-directional centerlines of the nearest adjacent third pattern zones in the second pattern lane by being between 20%-80% of the repeating length of the third pattern zones.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites “the first zone comprising a first substrate characteristic, the second zone comprising a second substrate characteristic, the first substrate characteristic and the second substrate characteristic providing different substrate handling characteristics between the first zone and the second zone; and a second lane comprising a third zone and a fourth zone, the third zone comprising a third substrate characteristic, the fourth zone comprising a fourth substrate characteristic, the third substrate characteristic and the fourth substrate characteristic providing different substrate handling characteristics between the third zone and the fourth zone”, which is indefinite since it is unclear as to what constitutes a “substrate handling characteristics”, what constitutes the “different substrate handling characteristics” that are claimed as being between the first zone and the second zone and being between the third zone and the fourth zone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stabelfeldt et al. (2017/0027768)[Stabelfeldt].
Regarding claim 1, Stabelfeldt teaches, A method of manufacturing zoned webs, the method comprising: providing a substrate (“a body facing liner 28 can be constructed of a non-woven bicomponent web. The non-woven bicomponent web can be a spunbonded bicomponent web, or a bonded-carded bicomponent web.”, [0064], therefore, a substrate is provided, figure 6, see also [0034]); transferring the substrate in a machine direction (“The creation of the embossing pattern 75 can be done off the machine line forming absorbent articles 10, or can be done in-line with the machine line forming absorbent articles 10.”, [0080], therefore, the substrate is transferred in a machine direction); modifying the substrate to include a plurality of lanes to provide a modified substrate, the plurality of lanes comprising a first lane and a second lane, the first lane comprising a first zone and a second zone, the first zone comprising an open area greater than an open area of the second zone, the second lane comprising a third zone and a fourth zone, the third zone comprising an open area greater than an open area of the fourth zone, the first lane and the second lane being formed such that the first zone in the first lane is staggered in the machine direction from the third zone in the second lane (“As illustrated in FIG. 6, the embossing roller 85 has a lateral axis 86 and a circumferential surface 88. The circumferential surface 88 is divided into at least first and second circumferential lanes 90, 92. Each circumferential lane 90, 92 has azimuthally-alternating target zone and channel zone embossing patterns. The second circumferential lane 92 can be azimuthally offset from the first circumferential lane 90. In other aspects, the embossing roller 85 can include third, fourth, or additional circumferential lanes. The target zone and channel zone embossing patterns of the first circumferential lane 90 can be identical to the target zone and channel zone embossing patterns of the second circumferential lane 92, or the target zone and channel zone embossing patterns of the first and second circumferential lanes 90, 92 can be different from each other. Multiple and varying embossing patterns in the lateral direction allows the deckle (web width) to be more completely filled Because each absorbent article size or type has a particular ratio of male to female users, the least amount of waste is produced by embossing in the correct ratio of male to female bonding patterns.”, [0084], therefore, modifying the substrate to include a plurality of lanes to provide a modified substrate, the plurality of lanes comprising 90 and 92, 90 comprising an annotated first zone and an annotated second zone, the annotated first zone comprising an open area greater than an open area of the annotated second zone (see annotated figure 6), 92 comprising an annotated third zone and an annotated fourth zone, the annotated third zone comprising an open area greater than an open area of the annotated fourth zone (see annotated figure 6), 90 and 92 being formed such that 90 in the first lane is staggered in the machine direction from the annotated third zone in 92, annotated figure 6); transferring the modified substrate ([0082], [0084],[0087]); and slitting the modified substrate between adjacent lanes in the plurality of lanes to provide zoned webs, the zoned webs comprising a first zoned web comprising the first lane and a second zoned web comprising the second lane (“As shown in the exemplary aspects of FIGS. 3 and 4, the target zone 78 is located primarily in the crotch region 16 for an absorbent article 10 intended for use by girls (FIG. 3) and primarily in the front waist region 12 for an absorbent article 10 intended for use by boys (FIG. 4).”, [0072]“Multiple and varying embossing patterns in the lateral direction allows the deckle (web width) to be more completely filled Because each absorbent article size or type has a particular ratio of male to female users, the least amount of waste is produced by embossing in the correct ratio of male to female bonding patterns.”, [0084], “After the combination web is embossed, the combined web can be cut or otherwise separated as known in the art into individual body facing liner 28/acquisition layer 70 combinations to be used in assembling an absorbent article 10. Each of these body facing liner 28/acquisition layer 70 combinations has a front waist region 12 and a crotch region 16. The cutter or other tool used for separation can be adjusted with respect to the alignment of the embossing roller 85 such that a portion of the body facing liner 28/acquisition layer 70 combinations has the target zone 78 in the front waist region 12 (e.g., FIG. 4), and another portion of the body facing liner 28/acquisition layer 70 combinations has the target zone 78 in the crotch region 16 (e.g., FIG. 3).”, [0087], therefore, the modified substrate is slit between adjacent lanes in the plurality of lanes to provide zoned webs, the zoned webs comprising a first zoned web comprising 90 and a second zoned web comprising 92, figure 6).
Regarding claim 2, Stabelfeldt teaches, wherein the first zone in the first lane is configured the same as the third zone in the second lane and wherein the second zone in the first lane is configured the same as the fourth zone in the second lane (wherein the annotated first zone in 90 is configured the same as the annotated third zone in 92 and wherein the annotated second zone in 90 is configured the same as the annotated fourth zone in 92, annotated figure 6).
Regarding claim 3, Stabelfeldt teaches, wherein the first lane comprises a plurality of first zones and a plurality of second zones, the plurality of first zones and the plurality of second zones being configured in an alternating fashion such that each first zone is adjacent to two second zones and each second zone is adjacent to two first zones (“As illustrated in FIG. 6, the embossing roller 85 has a lateral axis 86 and a circumferential surface 88. The circumferential surface 88 is divided into at least first and second circumferential lanes 90, 92. Each circumferential lane 90, 92 has azimuthally-alternating target zone and channel zone embossing patterns. The second circumferential lane 92 can be azimuthally offset from the first circumferential lane 90. In other aspects, the embossing roller 85 can include third, fourth, or additional circumferential lanes… the target zone and channel zone embossing patterns of the first and second circumferential lanes 90, 92 can be different from each other. Multiple and varying embossing patterns in the lateral direction allows the deckle (web width) to be more completely filled Because each absorbent article size or type has a particular ratio of male to female users, the least amount of waste is produced by embossing in the correct ratio of male to female bonding patterns.”, [0084], therefore, wherein 90 comprises a plurality of 90 and a plurality of 92, the plurality of 90 and the plurality of 92 being configured in an alternating fashion such that each 90 is adjacent to two 92 and each 92 is adjacent to two 90, figure 6).
Regarding claim 4, Stabelfeldt teaches, wherein the second lane comprises a plurality of third zones and a plurality of fourth zones, the plurality of third zones and the plurality of fourth zones being configured in an alternating fashion such that each third zone is adjacent to two fourth zones and each fourth zone is adjacent to two third zones (“As illustrated in FIG. 6, the embossing roller 85 has a lateral axis 86 and a circumferential surface 88. The circumferential surface 88 is divided into at least first and second circumferential lanes 90, 92. Each circumferential lane 90, 92 has azimuthally-alternating target zone and channel zone embossing patterns. The second circumferential lane 92 can be azimuthally offset from the first circumferential lane 90. In other aspects, the embossing roller 85 can include third, fourth, or additional circumferential lanes. The target zone and channel zone embossing patterns of the first circumferential lane 90 can be identical to the target zone and channel zone embossing patterns of the second circumferential lane 92 or the target zone and channel zone embossing patterns of the first and second circumferential lanes 90, 92 can be different from each other. Multiple and varying embossing patterns in the lateral direction allows the deckle (web width) to be more completely filled Because each absorbent article size or type has a particular ratio of male to female users, the least amount of waste is produced by embossing in the correct ratio of male to female bonding patterns.”, [0084], therefore, wherein 92 comprises a plurality of annotated third zones and a plurality of annotated fourth zones, the plurality of annotated third zones and the annotated plurality of fourth zones being configured in an alternating fashion such that each annotated third zone is adjacent to two annotated fourth zones and each annotated fourth zone is adjacent to two annotated third zones, annotated figure 6).
Regarding claim 5, Stabelfeldt teaches, wherein the plurality of first zones in the first lane are staggered in the machine direction from the plurality of third zones in the second lane (“As illustrated in FIG. 6, the embossing roller 85 has a lateral axis 86 and a circumferential surface 88. The circumferential surface 88 is divided into at least first and second circumferential lanes 90, 92. Each circumferential lane 90, 92 has azimuthally-alternating target zone and channel zone embossing patterns. The second circumferential lane 92 can be azimuthally offset from the first circumferential lane 90. In other aspects, the embossing roller 85 can include third, fourth, or additional circumferential lanes. The target zone and channel zone embossing patterns of the first circumferential lane 90 can be identical to the target zone and channel zone embossing patterns of the second circumferential lane 92 or the target zone and channel zone embossing patterns of the first and second circumferential lanes 90, 92 can be different from each other. Multiple and varying embossing patterns in the lateral direction allows the deckle (web width) to be more completely filled Because each absorbent article size or type has a particular ratio of male to female users, the least amount of waste is produced by embossing in the correct ratio of male to female bonding patterns.”, [0084], therefore, wherein the plurality of annotated first zones in 90 are staggered in the machine direction from the plurality of annotated third zones in 90, annotated figure 6).
Regarding claim 7, Stabelfeldt teaches, wherein the plurality of lanes are configured to include a plurality of first lanes alternating with a plurality of second lanes (“As illustrated in FIG. 6, the embossing roller 85 has a lateral axis 86 and a circumferential surface 88. The circumferential surface 88 is divided into at least first and second circumferential lanes 90, 92. Each circumferential lane 90, 92 has azimuthally-alternating target zone and channel zone embossing patterns. The second circumferential lane 92 can be azimuthally offset from the first circumferential lane 90. In other aspects, the embossing roller 85 can include third, fourth, or additional circumferential lanes. The target zone and channel zone embossing patterns of the first circumferential lane 90 can be identical to the target zone and channel zone embossing patterns of the second circumferential lane 92 or the target zone and channel zone embossing patterns of the first and second circumferential lanes 90, 92 can be different from each other. Multiple and varying embossing patterns in the lateral direction allows the deckle (web width) to be more completely filled Because each absorbent article size or type has a particular ratio of male to female users, the least amount of waste is produced by embossing in the correct ratio of male to female bonding patterns.”, [0084], therefore, wherein the plurality of lanes are configured to include a plurality of 90 alternating with a plurality of 92, figure 6).
Regarding claim 8, Stabelfeldt teaches, wherein the open area of the first zone and the open area of the third zone each comprise openings in the modified substrate (“The embossing pattern 75 can be of various shapes and sizes, and some portions of the embossing pattern 75 can be different from the size and/or shape of other portions of the embossing pattern 75… Portions of the embossing pattern 75 can alternatively be straight lines, wavy lines (as shown in the exemplary aspect of FIGS. 5 and 6), parallel lines, or any other suitable lines, shapes, or combinations, generally referred to as open shapes.”, [0085], therefore, wherein the open area of the annotated first zone and the open area of the annotated third zone each comprise openings in the modified substrate, annotated figure 6).
Regarding claim 9, Stabelfeldt teaches, wherein the first lane further comprises a first transition zone between the first zone and the second zone, the open area of the first zone being greater than an open area of the first transition zone, and wherein the second lane further comprises a second transition zone between the third zone and the fourth zone, the open area of the third zone being greater than an open area of the second transition zone (wherein 90 further comprises a first transition zone between the annotated first zone and the annotated second zone, the open area of the annotated first zone being greater than an open area of the first transition zone, and 92 further comprises a second transition zone between the annotated third zone and the annotated fourth zone, the open area of the annotated third zone being greater than an open area of the second transition zone, annotated figure 6).
Regarding claim 10, Stabelfeldt teaches, wherein the open area of the first transition zone is less than an open area of the second zone (wherein the open area of the first transition zone is less than an open area of the annotated second zone, annotated figure 6).
Regarding claim 11, Stabelfeldt teaches, wherein modifying the substrate to include a plurality of lanes to provide a modified substrate comprises fluid entangling the substrate with fluid entanglement jets to form the first zone and the second zone in the first lane and the third zone and the fourth zone in the second lane (“The body facing liner 28 need not be a unitary layer structure, and thus, can include more than one layer of fabrics, films, and/or webs, as well as combinations thereof. For example, the body facing liner 28 can include a support layer and a projection layer that can be hydroentangled.”, [0062], “to bond the body facing liner 28 to the acquisition layer 70, a web of body facing liner material is provided in face-to-face relation with a web of acquisition layer material. The combined webs are then contacted by an embossing roller 85 having an embossing pattern 75. The embossing pattern 75 is thereby applied to the combined webs, causing them to be bonded with the embossing pattern 75.”, [0081], therefore, wherein modifying the substrate to include a plurality of lanes to provide a modified substrate comprises fluid entangling the substrate with fluid entanglement jets to form the annotated first zone and the annotated second zone in 90 and the annotated third zone and the annotated fourth zone in 92, annotated figure 6, see also [0020]).
Regarding claim 12, Stabelfeldt teaches, wherein the substrate is a nonwoven web (“Various…non-woven fabrics can be used for the body facing liner 28. The body facing liner 28 can include…a nonwoven fabric...Examples of a nonwoven fabric can include spunbond fabric, meltblown fabric, coform fabric, carded web, bonded-carded web, bicomponent spunbond fabric, spunlace, or the like, as well as combinations thereof. The body facing liner 28 need not be a unitary layer structure, and thus, can include more than one layer of fabrics, films, and/or webs, as well as combinations thereof. For example, the body facing liner 28 can include a support layer and a projection layer that can be hydroentangled.”, [0062], “a body facing liner 28 can be constructed of a non-woven bicomponent web. The non-woven bicomponent web can be a spunbonded bicomponent web, or a bonded-carded bicomponent web.”, [0064], therefore, therefore, wherein the substrate is a nonwoven web, see also, [0050] and [0064]).
Regarding claim 20, Stabelfeldt teaches, A method of manufacturing zoned webs, the method comprising: providing a substrate (“a body facing liner 28 can be constructed of a non-woven bicomponent web. The non-woven bicomponent web can be a spunbonded bicomponent web, or a bonded-carded bicomponent web.”, [0064], therefore, a substrate is provided, figure 6, see also [0034]); transferring the substrate in a machine direction (“The creation of the embossing pattern 75 can be done off the machine line forming absorbent articles 10, or can be done in-line with the machine line forming absorbent articles 10.”, [0080], therefore, the substrate is transferred in a machine direction); modifying the substrate to include a plurality of lanes to provide a modified substrate, the plurality of lanes comprising: a first lane comprising a first zone and a second zone, the first zone comprising a first substrate characteristic, the second zone comprising a second substrate characteristic, the first substrate characteristic and the second substrate characteristic providing different substrate handling characteristics between the first zone and the second zone; and a second lane comprising a third zone and a fourth zone, the third zone comprising a third substrate characteristic, the fourth zone comprising a fourth substrate characteristic, the third substrate characteristic and the fourth substrate characteristic providing different substrate handling characteristics between the third zone and the fourth zone; wherein the substrate is modified such that the first lane and the second lane are configured such that the first zone in the first lane is staggered in the machine direction from the third zone in the second lane (“As shown in the exemplary aspects of FIGS. 3 and 4, the embossing pattern 75 can be described as having a target zone 78 and having a channel zone 80. The target zone 78 has a bonding pattern different from the bonding pattern of the channel zone 80.”, [0072], “As illustrated in FIG. 6, the embossing roller 85 has a lateral axis 86 and a circumferential surface 88. The circumferential surface 88 is divided into at least first and second circumferential lanes 90, 92. Each circumferential lane 90, 92 has azimuthally-alternating target zone and channel zone embossing patterns. The second circumferential lane 92 can be azimuthally offset from the first circumferential lane 90. In other aspects, the embossing roller 85 can include third, fourth, or additional circumferential lanes. The target zone and channel zone embossing patterns of the first circumferential lane 90 can be identical to the target zone and channel zone embossing patterns of the second circumferential lane 92, or the target zone and channel zone embossing patterns of the first and second circumferential lanes 90, 92 can be different from each other. Multiple and varying embossing patterns in the lateral direction allows the deckle (web width) to be more completely filled Because each absorbent article size or type has a particular ratio of male to female users, the least amount of waste is produced by embossing in the correct ratio of male to female bonding patterns.”, [0084], “The embossing pattern 75 can be of various shapes and sizes, and some portions of the embossing pattern 75 can be different from the size and/or shape of other portions of the embossing pattern 75. For example, portions of the embossing pattern 75 can be circular in shape, as shown in the exemplary aspect in FIGS. 5 and 6. Portions of the embossing pattern 75 can alternatively be elliptical in shape or be of any other suitable shape, including shapes other than circular and elliptical, including, but not limited to, regular and irregular polygons (regular and irregular triangles, regular and irregular rectangles, regular and irregular pentagons, etc.), and irregular shapes. Such shapes are generally referred to as closed shapes. Portions of the embossing pattern 75 can alternatively be straight lines, wavy lines (as shown in the exemplary aspect of FIGS. 5 and 6), parallel lines, or any other suitable lines, shapes, or combinations, generally referred to as open shapes. As shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, the embossing pattern 75 can be a combination of different lines and shapes.”, [0085], therefore, modifying the substrate to include a plurality of lanes to provide a modified substrate, the plurality of lanes comprising: 90 comprising an annotated first zone and an annotated second zone, the annotated first zone comprising a first substrate characteristic, the annotated second zone comprising a second substrate characteristic, the first substrate characteristic and the second substrate characteristic providing different substrate handling characteristics between the annotated first zone and the annotated second zone; and 92 comprising an annotated third zone and an annotated fourth zone, the annotated third zone comprising a third substrate characteristic, the fourth zone comprising a fourth substrate characteristic, the third substrate characteristic and the fourth substrate characteristic providing different substrate handling characteristics between the annotated third zone and the annotated fourth zone; wherein the substrate is modified such that 90 and 92 are configured such that the annotated first zone in 90 is staggered in the machine direction from the annotated third zone in 92, annotated figure 6, see also [0071]); transferring the modified substrate ([0082], [0084],[0087]); and slitting the modified substrate between adjacent lanes in the plurality of lanes to provide zoned webs, the zoned webs comprising a first zoned web comprising the first lane and a second zoned web comprising the second lane (“As shown in the exemplary aspects of FIGS. 3 and 4, the target zone 78 is located primarily in the crotch region 16 for an absorbent article 10 intended for use by girls (FIG. 3) and primarily in the front waist region 12 for an absorbent article 10 intended for use by boys (FIG. 4).”, [0072], “Multiple and varying embossing patterns in the lateral direction allows the deckle (web width) to be more completely filled Because each absorbent article size or type has a particular ratio of male to female users, the least amount of waste is produced by embossing in the correct ratio of male to female bonding patterns.”, [0084], “After the combination web is embossed, the combined web can be cut or otherwise separated as known in the art into individual body facing liner 28/acquisition layer 70 combinations to be used in assembling an absorbent article 10. Each of these body facing liner 28/acquisition layer 70 combinations has a front waist region 12 and a crotch region 16. The cutter or other tool used for separation can be adjusted with respect to the alignment of the embossing roller 85 such that a portion of the body facing liner 28/acquisition layer 70 combinations has the target zone 78 in the front waist region 12 (e.g., FIG. 4), and another portion of the body facing liner 28/acquisition layer 70 combinations has the target zone 78 in the crotch region 16 (e.g., FIG. 3).”, [0087], therefore, the modified substrate is slit between adjacent lanes in the plurality of lanes to provide zoned webs, the zoned webs comprising a first zoned web comprising 90 and a second zoned web comprising 92, figure 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 13-18 are not rejected with prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1. 2018/0105965 by Pourdeyhimi discloses the hydroentanglement that entangles fibers to become entangled in a repeating pattern.
2. 2013/0101805 by Altshuler discloses the hydroentanglement that entangles fibers to become entangled in a repeating pattern.
/Jillian K Pierorazio/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732