DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/12/2025 and 11/17/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 13-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bouazizi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0407899, hereinafter “Bouazizi”).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 10, and 12 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bouazizi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0407899, hereinafter “Bouazizi”).
Claims 1 and 10:
Bouazizi discloses a first client device for communicating media data via a radio access network (RAN) (§ 0095, Lines 1-3; Client device 210 includes 5G/LTE communication unit 224), the first client device comprising:
a memory configured to store AR media data (§ 0096, Lines 1-2; Memory 228 may store retrieved media data); and
a processing system implemented in circuitry (§ 0095, Lines 3-4; Client device 210 includes processing units 226) and configured to:
send data to a network device of the RAN, the data indicating an amount of support for AR processing provided by the first client device (§ 0090, Lines 3-6; Client device 182 may request to initiate AR session 206. Client device 182 may send the request to initiate AR session 206 to DCS 192) (§ 0024, Lines 2-4 and 7-8; The MTSI client may trigger the AR application to provide an AR experience where the AR application may be responsible for rendering all AR-related media);
establish an AR communication session with a second client device (§ 0090, Lines 9-11; Client device 200 may further receive data to initiate AR session 206, such as a scene description); and
exchange AR media data with the second client device according to the amount of support for AR processing provided by the first client device (§ 0090, Lines 11-14; After initiating AR session 206, client device 182 and client device 200 may participate in AR session 206 along with participating in the original voice call, e.g., MTSI call).
The method of claim 1 is implemented by the device of claim 10 and is therefore rejected with the same rationale.
Claim 3:
Bouazizi further discloses wherein the data sent to the network device indicates that the first client device is fully capable of receiving and rendering the AR media data, and wherein exchanging the AR media data with the second client device comprises receiving, by the first client device, the AR media data from the second client device (§ 0090, Lines 11-14; After initiating AR session 206, client device 182 and client device 200 may participate in AR session 206 along with participating in the original voice call, e.g., MTSI call).
Claim 12:
Bouazizi further discloses wherein the data sent to the network device indicates that the first client device provides full support for AR processing, and wherein to exchange the AR media data with the second client device, the processing system is configured to receive the AR media data from the second client device (§ 0090, Lines 11-14; After initiating AR session 206, client device 182 and client device 200 may participate in AR session 206 along with participating in the original voice call, e.g., MTSI call).
Claim(s) 19, 21-22, 25, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sodagar (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0155013, hereinafter “Sodagar”).
Claims 19 and 25:
Sodagar discloses an augmented reality (AR) application server (AS) device for communicating media data (§ 0055, Lines 1-6; When an application and/or an application service provider decides to run the client media function in the split-rendering fashion, this functionality is replaced with two new modules: an edge-dependent light media service client and a media processing application running on 5GMS AS), the device comprising:
a memory configured to store AR media data (See citation above. Splitting rendering of AR media data infers a memory to store said AR media data); and
a processing system implemented in circuitry (See citation above. Splitting rendering of AR media data infers a processing system to perform rendering of AR media data) and configured to:
receive, from a first client device, data indicating an amount of support for AR processing provided by the first client device (§ 0077, Lines 1-2; The SRC 708 may request the SRF 710 for a split of the client media functions);
determine, based on the amount of support for AR processing indicated by the data, whether to invoke at least partial rendering of AR media data of an AR communication session on behalf of the first client device (§ 0079, Lines 1-3; The SRC 708 and SRF 710 negotiate on the acceptable capabilities for the device and agree on the split option); and
in response to determining to invoke the at least partial rendering of the AR media data, at least partially render the AR media data on behalf of the first client device (§ 0081, Lines 1-2; The SRF 710 acknowledges to the SRC 708 that the split-rendering on edge is running) and send the at least partially rendered AR media data to the first client device (§ 0084, Lines 1-4; The 5GMS client 704 connects to the split-rendering process on the 5GMS AS 712 using the split-rendering access information).
The method of claim 19 is implemented by the device of claim 25 and is therefore rejected with the same rationale.
Claims 21 and 27:
Sodagar further discloses wherein the data indicates that the first client device provides partial support for AR, and wherein determining comprises determining to invoke partial rendering of the AR media data (§ 0067, Lines 4-7; In a client-initiated split negotiation, the Application 502A may request the SRC 502B to initiate the split negotiation. The SRC 502B may negotiate with the SRF 504 to find the best or optimal split).
Claims 22 and 28:
Sodagar further discloses negotiating a rendering configuration with the first client device (§ 0079, Lines 1-3; The SRC 708 and SRF 710 negotiate on the acceptable capabilities for the device and agree on the split option).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouazizi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0407899, hereinafter “Bouazizi”) in view of Sodagar (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0155013, hereinafter “Sodagar”).
Claim 2:
Bouazizi discloses the method as recited in claim 1.
Bouaziz does not appear to disclose wherein sending the data to the network device comprises sending the data to an AR application server (AR AS) of the RAN to cause the AR AS to determine whether to invoke transcoding or rendering of the AR media data on behalf of the first client device.
Sodagar discloses wherein sending the data to the network device comprises sending the data to an AR application server (AR AS) of the RAN to cause the AR AS to determine whether to invoke transcoding or rendering of the AR media data on behalf of the first client device (§ 0077, Lines 1-2; The SRC 708 may request the SRF 710 for a split of the client media functions).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bouazizi’s request to initiate an AR session by augmenting it with a request to split rendering, as taught by Sodagar, in order to split client media functions based on one or more client media capabilities (Sodagar, § 0004, Lines 8-10).
Claim 8:
Bouazizi discloses the method as recited in claim 1.
Bouazizi does not appear to disclose wherein the data sent to the network device indicates that the first client device provides no support for AR processing, and wherein exchanging the AR media data with the second client device comprises receiving rendered media data from an AR application server (AR AS) device of the RAN (§ 0070, Lines 3-10; In a dynamic split management, the performance of the client and 5GMS AS may be monitored during the media delivery session and a new split may be performed depending on the condition of the client and/or the 5GMS AS. In one or more examples, the performance of the client may be determined based on a workload of the client exceeding a workload threshold. High workload on the client may indicate no support for AR processing).
Sodagar discloses wherein the data sent to the network device indicates that the first client device provides no support for AR processing, and wherein exchanging the AR media data with the second client device comprises receiving rendered media data from an AR application server (AR AS) device of the RAN (§ 0070, Lines 3-10; In a dynamic split management, the performance of the client and 5GMS AS may be monitored during the media delivery session and a new split may be performed depending on the condition of the client and/or the 5GMS AS. In one or more examples, the performance of the client may be determined based on a workload of the client exceeding a workload threshold. High workload on the client may indicate no support for AR processing).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bouazizi’s request to initiate an AR session by augmenting it with a request to split rendering, as taught by Sodagar, in order to account for situations in which the client device’s workload is high.
Claim 11:
Bouazizi discloses the device as recited in claim 10.
Bouazizi does not appear to disclose wherein to send the data to the network device, the processing system is configured to send the data to an AR application server (AR AS) of the RAN to cause the AR AS to determine whether to invoke transcoding or rendering of the AR media data on behalf of the first client device.
Sodagar discloses wherein to send the data to the network device, the processing system is configured to send the data to an AR application server (AR AS) of the RAN to cause the AR AS to determine whether to invoke transcoding or rendering of the AR media data on behalf of the first client device (§ 0077, Lines 1-2; The SRC 708 may request the SRF 710 for a split of the client media functions).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bouazizi’s request to initiate an AR session by augmenting it with a request to split rendering, as taught by Sodagar, in order to split client media functions based on one or more client media capabilities (Sodagar, § 0004, Lines 8-10).
Claim(s) 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouazizi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0407899, hereinafter “Bouazizi”) in view of Postmus (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0047840, hereinafter “Postmus”).
Claim 9:
Bouazizi discloses the method as recited in claim 1.
Bouazizi does not appear to disclose wherein the data sent to the network device comprises a session initiation protocol (SIP) feature tag including a contact header field, the contact header field including a field having a value for a parameter representing the amount of support for AR processing provided by the first client device.
Postmus discloses advertising what capabilities are supported by a given UE to establish a SIP communication through the use of SIP feature tags included in the SIP message’s “Contact” header employed during the SIP registration process (§ 0015, Lines 1-6). To support feature tags, a new optional tag is introduced (§ 0040, Lines 15-16) in the format “<supported feature tag><value></supported feature tag>” (§ 0042).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bouazizi’s request to initiate an AR session (which indicates an amount of support for AR processing) by indicating the amount of support within Postmus’ SIP feature tag in order to have a method and extended SIP engine/container for selectively adding SIP endpoint capabilities (Postmus, § 0021, Lines 4-5).
Claim 18:
Bouaziz discloses the device as recited in claim 10.
Bouazizi does not appear to disclose wherein the data sent to the network device comprises a session initiation protocol (SIP) feature tag including a contact header field, the contact header field including a field having a value for a parameter representing the amount of support for AR processing provided by the first client device.
Postmus discloses advertising what capabilities are supported by a given UE to establish a SIP communication through the use of SIP feature tags included in the SIP message’s “Contact” header employed during the SIP registration process (§ 0015, Lines 1-6). To support feature tags, a new optional tag is introduced (§ 0040, Lines 15-16) in the format “<supported feature tag><value></supported feature tag>” (§ 0042).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bouazizi’s request to initiate an AR session (which indicates an amount of support for AR processing) by indicating the amount of support within Postmus’ SIP feature tag in order to have a method and extended SIP engine/container for selectively adding SIP endpoint capabilities (Postmus, § 0021, Lines 4-5).
Claim(s) 20 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sodagar (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0155013, hereinafter “Sodagar”) in view of Bouazizi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0407899, hereinafter “Bouazizi”).
Claims 20 and 26:
Sodagar discloses the method as recited in claim 19 and the device as recited in claim 25.
Sodagar does not appear to disclose wherein the data indicates that the first client device provides full support for AR, and wherein determining comprises determining not to perform any rendering of the AR media data on behalf of the first client device.
Bouazizi discloses wherein the data indicates that the first client device provides full support for AR, and wherein determining comprises determining not to perform any rendering of the AR media data on behalf of the first client device (§ 0090, Lines 11-14; After initiating AR session 206, client device 182 and client device 200 may participate in AR session 206 along with participating in the original voice call, e.g., MTSI call) (§ 0024, Lines 2-4 and 7-8; The MTSI client may trigger the AR application to provide an AR experience where the AR application may be responsible for rendering all AR-related media).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sodagar’s system by adding support for no split negotiation, as taught by Bouazizi, in order to reduce dependency on any other systems such as a 5GMS AS.
Claim(s) 23 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sodagar (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0155013, hereinafter “Sodagar”) in view of Yip et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0316583, hereinafter “Yip”).
Claims 23 and 29:
Sodagar discloses the method as recited in claim 19 and the device as recited in claim 25.
Sodagar does not appear to disclose receiving data representing a predicted pose of a user of the first client device, wherein at least partially rendering the AR media data comprises at least partially rendering the AR media data based on the predicted pose.
Yip discloses receiving data representing a predicted pose of a user of the first client device (§ 0075, Lines 1-7; The AR glasses 420 transmits to the UE 440 PP_dataset(t1) (pose prediction data set for time t1)), wherein at least partially rendering the AR media data comprises at least partially rendering the AR media data based on the predicted pose (§ 0077, Lines 3-5; The 3D renderer 444 of the UE 440 renders a plurality of 2D view video frames based on the pose information predicted) (§ 0071, Lines 1-3 and 6-7; Split rendering is performed between two devices 420 and 440 in a communication environment. Split rendering is performed on AR data between the devices 420 and 440).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sodagar’s data by including Yip’s pose prediction data set in order to effectively compensate for a rendering error caused due to latency occurring during split rendering (Yip, § 0064, Lines 11-14).
Claim(s) 24 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sodagar (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0155013, hereinafter “Sodagar”) in view of Postmus (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0047840, hereinafter “Postmus”).
Claims 24 and 30:
Sodagar discloses the method as recited in claim 19 and the device as recited in claim 25.
Sodagar does not appear to disclose wherein the data comprises a session initiation protocol (SIP) feature tag including a contact header field, the contact header field including a field having a value for a parameter representing the amount of support for AR processing provided by the first client device.
Postmus discloses advertising what capabilities are supported by a given UE to establish a SIP communication through the use of SIP feature tags included in the SIP message’s “Contact” header employed during the SIP registration process (§ 0015, Lines 1-6). To support feature tags, a new optional tag is introduced (§ 0040, Lines 15-16) in the format “<supported feature tag><value></supported feature tag>” (§ 0042).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sodagar’s device capabilities by placing them within Postmus’ SIP feature tag in order to have a method and extended SIP engine/container for selectively adding SIP endpoint capabilities (Postmus, § 0021, Lines 4-5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0196498 (Ranka et al.) – In order to solve rendering-pose latencies, pose prediction methods may be used to predict poses at the time when rendering begins.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0247488 (Bouazizi et al.) – A UE transmits an indication of one or more parameters for a split rendering configuration with a network node.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0275826 (Bouazizi et al.) – Use signaling to invoke split rendering for an AR call over IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0275834 (Sodagar) – Split-rendering of media delivery services where client media functions are split between the device and the network edge.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0348671 (Sodagar) – When a WebRTC application and/or session is eligible for a split-rendering session on the edge server, the WebRTC application requests a split of the client media functions from the split-render client (SRC).
/NAM T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455