DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: acquisition processing portion in claim 1; display processing portion in claims 1, 8; identification processing portion in claims 2, 3; alert processing portion in claim 4; selection processing portion in claim 5; edit processing portion in claims 6, 7. (Note that the structure associated with the limitation “image forming portion configured to form a target image on a sheet” is notoriously well known in the art, and therefore not subject to interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112 (f).)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Simpson et al. (US 2003/0084178; “Simpson”).
Regarding claim 1, Simpson discloses an image forming apparatus (web-based imaging service shown in Fig. 2A [0065]) comprising:
an image forming portion (not explicitly described, but inherent in a “printer”) configured to form a target image on a sheet (e.g., “printing more than one copy”) ([0076]);
an acquisition processing portion (part of destination service 34/hard disk 12; Fig. 2A [0065]) configured to acquire a sheet image obtained by reading the sheet 401/402 (via sensor 216 or scan mechanism at tray 215; Figs. 2A, 4A, 4C [0082, 0085-0086]); and
a display processing portion (part of destination service 34/hard disk 12; Fig. 2A [0065]) configured to superimpose the target image on the sheet image and display the target image and the sheet image as a preview screen ([0080, 0087]).
Regarding claim 5, Simpson discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a selection processing portion (part of destination service 34/hard disk 12; Fig. 2A [0065]) configured to select continuing or suspending formation of the target image in accordance with an operation of a user ([0088]: “After viewing the preview display at block 435, the user has the option to select print at block 436” exhibits both suspending formation while the user previews the image and continuing formation when the user selects print at block 436 in Fig. 4B).
Regarding claims 6-7, Simpson discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising an edit processing portion (part of destination service 34/hard disk 12; Fig. 2A [0065]) configured to edit a formation condition (“print options”, e.g., option of printing more than one copy) regarding formation of the target image, wherein the edit processing portion edits the formation condition in accordance with an operation of a user (see Fig. 2C [0076]).
Regarding claim 8, Simpson discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the display processing portion determines an attribute (particular specialized media) of the sheet from the sheet image and displays the preview screen (block 435 in Fig. 4B) in a case where the attribute satisfies a predetermined condition (YES in block 429 in Fig. 4B) ([0082-0087]).
The method steps of claim 9 are met by the operation of Simpson as applied to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simpson (US 2003/0084178) in view of Kobayashi (US 2008/0240753).
Regarding claim 2, Simpson discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to disclose an identification processing portion configured to identify, in the sheet image, a prohibition region in which the target image is prohibited from being formed.
Kobayashi teaches an image forming apparatus 10 (Fig. 1) comprising an identification processing portion (including recording section 24 and control unit 100; Figs. 2 & 4) configured to identify, in a sheet image, a prohibition region 65 (Figs. 8A-8D [0089]) in which a target image is prohibited from being formed (steps S7 -> S13 through S16 -> S20 through S27 in Figs. 10-11 [0044, 0065, 0089-0090, 0104-0114, 0126]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the image forming apparatus of Simpson to include an identification processing portion configured to identify, in the sheet image, a prohibition region in which the target image is prohibited from being formed, as taught by Kobayashi. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to prevent ink from passing through any perforations within printing media (Kobayashi [0090]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Simpson teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the identification processing portion identifies the prohibition region in accordance with an operation of a user (see Kobayashi Fig. 10 and [0036, 0102]; the prohibition region is identified after printing data is acquired in step S1, which is effected by a user).
Regarding claim 4, modified Simpson teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 2, further comprising (see Simpson) an alert processing portion (part of destination service 34/hard disk 12; Fig. 2A [0065]) configured to output an alert in a case where the target image overlaps with the prohibition region (the preview is an alert; [0087]).
Conclusion
/CARLA J THERRIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852