DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yagita 2002/0039183.
Claim 1
Yagita 2002/0039183 discloses an apparatus for inspecting flexible bags (Fig. 2, Ref. 1) containing a liquid or viscous product (Para. 0002: " integrated soft bag inspection system for performing various inspections such as checks for the inclusion of foreign matter and for external defects on a so-called 'soft bag', a flat, pliant container filled with an intravenous feed solution or the like'') comprising: a line (See Fig. 3: robot line with robots 20 arranged on stage 110, with a separate left (20L) and right robot line (20R)) for advancing the bags; first means (Fig. 2: gripping part, robot hand Ref. 20b) for gripping a first bag (Fig. 2, Ref. 1), said first bag (Fig. 2, Ref. 1) forming part of said bags (Fig. 2, Ref. 1); first means for (Fig. 2, Ref. 20a; robot arm lifting bag) lifting at least one part of the first gripping means (Fig. 2, Ref. 20b); said first lifting means (robot arm) allowing the inclination of the first gripping means (Fig. 2, Ref. 20b) to be changed with respect to a fictitious horizontal plane (Fig. 2; Para. 0044 "each of these robots 20 used as carrying means has at least an arm 20a which can bend and turn at joints thereof and a gripping part 20b for gripping a product to be inspected (in this example, a soft bag), and can grip a neck part 1b of a soft bag 1 with a top face part 1a uppermost by means of the robot hand 20b and carry the soft bag 1 to a specified inspection position of a respective inspection device by movement control using rotation and bending of the arm 20a. And because the robot 20 carries the work by the neck part like this, operations such as bringing the work to the vertical and tilting it can be carried out without damaging the bag.'') for lifting at least one part of the first gripping means (Fig. 2 Ref. 20b); said first lifting means (robot arm) allowing the inclination of the first gripping means (see e.g. Fig. 14; Para. 0069: "the respective robot 20 of step 3 carries the soft bag 1 in an upright attitude''); first rotatable means that places in rotation the first gripping means (Fig. 2, Ref. 20b) on themselves with respect to a first rotation axis, preferably said first rotation axis being transverse to the line for advancing the first bag along said apparatus (Fig. 2, 3: Para. 0047: "Between adjacent areas, the two robots 20 adjacent in the line respectively grip an upper side portion and a lower side portion of the neck part of the soft bag, and the soft bag is transferred while in mid-air." This means that the arm rotates around a vertical axis at the joint near the arrow 20a in fig. 2.); means (Fig. 7, Ref. 11; camera) for detecting defects of the bags (Fig. 1, Ref. 1) and/or their contents; said means (Fig. 7, Ref. 11) for detecting defects comprising first means for visual inspection of the first bag (Fig. 1, Ref. 1) and/or its contents (Para. 0049-0082; Fig. 4-11, 13, 14, 16); means (Para. 0050; fig. 4: rejected product pocket 113) for rejecting the bags (Fig. 1, Ref. 1) as a function of information coming from the means for detecting defects (Fig. 7, Ref. 11); characterized in that it is a linear machine (See Fig. 3, 4) (Para. 0050; Fig. 4: rejected product pocket 113), not a carousel rotatable around its own rotation axis.
Claim 2
Yagita 2002/0039183 discloses said line for advancing the bags is rectilinear (See Fig. 3, 4; bags rectilinear moving thought inspection).
Claim 3
Yagita 2002/0039183 discloses means for advancing the bags along the advancement line; said advancement means is step advancement means (the robots each transfer each bag to the next robot sequentially in step advancements; Fig. 3, 4).
Claim 4
Yagita 2002/0039183 discloses a system for overturning the bag between a first and a second position; said second position being rotated by 180 degrees around a vertical axis; second means for gripping the first bag; second lifting means that cause lifting of the second gripping means; said second lifting means changing the inclination of the second gripping means with respect to a fictitious horizontal plane; second rotatable means that places in rotation the second gripping means on themselves with respect to a second rotation axis transverse to a line for advancing the first bag along said apparatus; second means for visual inspection of the first bag and/or its contents; said second visual inspection means forming part of the means for detecting defects (Para. 0075: "markings indicating a scale of solution capacity are printed at both sides of the face... the printed side of the soft bag is shot with cameras to detect blurring"; Fig. 19; § 0080: ''As shown in FIG. 19, for step 7, the soft bag is carried upright to immediately in front of an optical filter 16 ...and an image G7 of the serial number and date printed by the /JP in step 5 is taken by a camera 11 from the side and compared with a master image (sum of signal levels at pixel level) of good letters to check whether or not the printed letters are within a readable range (clarity of letters).''). In order for both sides to be inspected, the bag has to be rotated 180° around a vertical axis using the robot hand 20b.).
Claim 5
Yagita 2002/0039183 discloses a first inspection station that, in a same operating zone, comprises: the first means for gripping a first bag, the first means for lifting the first gripping means, the first rotatable means, the first inspection means; a second inspection station that, in a same operating zone, comprises: the second means for gripping a first bag, the second means for lifting the first gripping means, the second rotatable means, the second inspection means (each robot in the robot line is an inspection station with an operating zone with first means (20b) for gripping a bag, second means (joint of robot arm 20) for lifting the first gripping means, as well as rotatable means (further joint of robot arm 20) and inspection means (cameras 11)).
Claim 6
Yagita 2002/0039183 discloses said first inspection station comprises an inspection module comprising the set of the first means for gripping a first bag, of the first means for lifting the first gripping means, of the first rotatable means, of the first visual inspection means; said inspection module being repeated a plurality of times in said first inspection station, each being destined to inspect a corresponding bag (each robot in the robot line is an inspection station with an operating zone with first means (20b) for gripping a bag, second means (joint of robot arm 20) for lifting the first gripping means, as well as rotatable means (further joint of robot arm 20) and inspection means (cameras 11) according to claim 5. In addition, pairs or three robots can form an inspection station with multiple inspection module).
Claim 9
Yagita 2002/0039183 discloses the first gripping means (Fig. 2, Ref. 20b), the first rotatable means (robot arm being rotatable), the first visual inspection means (Fig. 5, Ref. 11; camera) are positioned in predetermined zones that are fixed with respect to the advancement line (See multiple inspection zones in Fig. 4).
Claim 10
Yagita 2002/0039183 discloses first gripping means (Fig. 2, Ref. 20b) does not move back and forth along the advancement line (Each robot in the plurality of inspection areas shown in Fig. 4 do not move back and forth along the advancement line).
Claim 11
Yagita 2002/0039183 discloses the first lifting means (Fig. 2, Robot arm) allow to rotate the first gripping means (Fig. 2, Ref. 20b) around a first substantially horizontal straight line (See line running through inspection areas in Fig. 4); the orientation of the first straight line remaining unchanged during operation of the apparatus (See Fig. 4, straight line running through inspection areas); the first straight line defining a rotation axis fixed in space (See Fig. 4); said first straight line being arranged parallel to the advancement line (line is parallel as the bag is advanced through the inspection areas).
Claim 12
Yagita 2002/0039183 discloses gripping (Fig. 2, Ref. 20b) a first bag (Fig. 2, Ref. 1) placed along an advancement line (Fig. 4) by means of first gripping means (Fig. 2, Ref. 20b); said first bag forming part of said flexible bags (Fig. 2, Ref. 2); lifting (Fig. 2, Ref. 20a; robot arm) at least one part of the first bag (Fig. 2, Ref. 1) gripped by the first gripping means (Fig. 2, Ref. 20b), changing the inclination of the first bag with respect to a fictitious horizontal plane and positioning a first end of the first bag higher up than a second end of the first bag Fig. 2; Para. 0044 "each of these robots 20 used as carrying means has at least an arm 20a which can bend and turn at joints thereof and a gripping part 20b for gripping a product to be inspected (in this example, a soft bag), and can grip a neck part 1b of a soft bag 1 with a top face part 1a uppermost by means of the robot hand 20b and carry the soft bag 1 to a specified inspection position of a respective inspection device by movement control using rotation and bending of the arm 20a. And because the robot 20 carries the work by the neck part like this, operations such as bringing the work to the vertical and tilting it can be carried out without damaging the bag.''); - placing in rotation the first bag on itself around a first rotation axis, preferably transverse to the line for advancing the bags; the step of placing in rotation the first bag occurring during and/or after the step of lifting the first bag (Fig. 2, 3: Para. 0047: "Between adjacent areas, the two robots 20 adjacent in the line respectively grip an upper side portion and a lower side portion of the neck part of the soft bag, and the soft bag is transferred while in mid-air." This means that the arm rotates around a vertical axis at the joint near the arrow 20a in fig. 2.); seeking defects in the first bag placed along the advancement line, said step of seeking the defects comprising in turn the step of performing an inspection by means of first visual inspection means (Para. 0049-0082; Fig. 4-11, 13, 14, 16); advancing the bags along the advancement line (See Fig. 4); rejecting the bags along the advancement line as a function of information coming from the step of seeking defects in the first bag; characterised in that the step of advancing the bags along the advancement line comprises the step of advancing the bags along a linear trajectory and not on a carousel rotatable around a rotation axis (Para. 0050; fig. 4: rejected product pocket 113).
Claim 13
Yagita 2002/0039183 discloses advances the bags along the advancement line in a discontinuous manner in steps (See Fig. 4, the different inspection areas).
Claim 14
Yagita 2002/0039183 discloses the step of overturning the first bag by 180 degrees around a vertical rotation axis; in this way the first end and the second end of the first bag are inverted along the advancement line (Para. 0075: "markings indicating a scale of solution capacity are printed at both sides of the face... the printed side of the soft bag is shot with cameras to detect blurring"; Fig. 19; Para. 0080: ''As shown in FIG. 19, for step 7, the soft bag is carried upright to immediately in front of an optical filter 16 ...and an image G7 of the serial number and date printed by the /JP in step 5 is taken by a camera 11 from the side and compared with a master image (sum of signal levels at pixel level) of good letters to check whether or not the printed letters are within a readable range (clarity of letters).''). In order for both sides to be inspected, the bag has to be rotated 180° around a vertical axis using the robot hand 20b.).
Claim 15
Yagita 2002/0039183 discloses the step of lifting at least one part of the first bag (Fig. 2, Ref. 1) gripped by the first gripping means (Ref. 20b) is implemented by the first lifting means (Ref. 20a; robot arm); the step of placing in rotation the first bag (Fig. 2, Ref. 1) on itself around a first rotation axis transverse to the line for (See Fig. 4) advancing the bags (Fig. 2, Ref. 1) is implemented by first rotatable means (Ref. 20a; rotatable robot arm); the first means (Fig. 2, Ref. 20b) for gripping a first bag (Fig. 2, Ref. 1), the first means for lifting the first gripping means (Fig. 2; robot arm lifting bag), the first rotatable means (robot arm), the first inspection means (Fig. 5, Ref. 11; camera) defining a first inspection module (Fig. 4, Step 2) placed in a first inspection station which in turn comprises several inspection modules (See Fig. 4 multiple inspection station s steps 2-7) functionally the same as the first inspection module (See Fig. 4); the inspection modules being side by side in succession along the advancement line (See Fig. 4); all the inspection modules of the first station (Fig. 4, Step 2) performing their action on corresponding bags at least in part at the same time (All the inspection stations in Fig. 4 have a bag, therefore inspection at the same time).
Claim 16
Yagita 2002/0039183 gripping the first bag by means of second gripping means (second gripper would be another robot in one of the plurality of inspection stations shown in Fig. 4); lifting at least one part of the first bag gripped by the second gripping means (See Fig. 13, 14) by second lifting means (robot arm) changing the inclination of the first bag (Ref. 1) with respect to a fictitious horizontal plane and positioning a second end of the first bag higher up than a first end of the first bag (See Fig. 14); placing in rotation the first bag on itself around a second rotation axis transverse to the line for advancing the bags (See fig. 14); the step of placing in rotation the first bag (Ref. 1) gripped by the second gripping means (Ref. 20b) occurs during and/or after the step of lifting the first bag (Ref. 1) and being implemented by second rotatable means (one of multiple inspection, See Fig. 4 Steps 2-7); the step of seeking defects in the first bag (Ref. 1) thus comprising inspecting again the first bag by means of second inspection means (See Fig. 4, Step 2); repositioning the first bag on the advancement line (Ref. 1 is advanced down the inspection line shown in Fig. 4).
Claim 17
Yagita 2002/0039183 discloses the second means for gripping (Ref. 20b; one of multiple grippers on robot arms) a first bag (Ref. 1), the second means for lifting (Ref. 20a, multiple robot arms) the second gripping means (Ref. 20b), the second rotatable means (robot arm is rotatable), the second inspection means (Fig. 4, Ref. Step 2) define a second inspection module placed in a second inspection station (multiple inspection station shown in Fig. 4) which in turn comprises several inspection modules functionally equal to the second inspection module (See Fig. 4); the inspection modules (Fig. 4, Ref. Steps 2-7) of the second station being side by side along the advancement line (See Fig. 4); all the inspection modules (Fig. 4, Steps 2-7) of the second station performing their action on corresponding bags at least in part at the same time (Each inspection station Steps 2-7 have a bag for inspection therefore actions being done at the same time).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art fails to disclose or make obvious a plurality of pockets that advance in steps one together with the others; said step being equal to the distance between matching points of the first and of the last inspection module present in the first station; a reverse stroke of said pockets being positioned underneath the advancement line, and in combination with the other recited limitations of claims 1, 4.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art fails to disclose or make obvious an overturning robot; the robot supporting at least one overturning head; the robot allowing the overturning head to be moved parallel to a vertical plane parallel to the advancement line; the robot allowing a lifting/lowering and a forward/backward movement of the overturning head, and in combination with the other recited limitations of claims 1, 4.
/MICHAEL P STAFIRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877 October 22, 2026