DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it fails to comply with MPEP 608.01(b). Specifically, it is a copy of claim 1. Pursuant to MPEP 608.01(b), an abstract must be a narrative summary of the invention. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: “medial delivery session” should read “media delivery session”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3, 9-10, 16-17 are objected to because of the following informalities: “medial delivery session” should read “media delivery session”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biatek et al. (WO 2025201904), in view of Sodagar (US 20210352113), and in further view of Kwon et al. (US 20240121123).
With regards to claim 1, Biatek teaches a method for video decoding, the method performed by at least one processor and comprising:
creating a media player instance of a 5G Media Streaming (5GMS) Media Access Function (MAF), the media player instance being configured to deliver at least part of a video content to a user equipment (UE) comprising a 5GMSd-aware application and a 5GMSd client (shown at step 601, the 5GMSd session initialization (i.e., creating media player instance) procedure includes the 5GMSd-aware application 414 starts media playback. The media player 410 of the 5GMSd client (i.e., UE) 406 at step 602 requests a media player entry from the 5GMSd AS 404. The 5GMSd AS at step 603 notifies the 5GMSd AF 402 about a new request, and the 5GMSd AF (i.e., MAF) at step 604 acquires congestion information from an instantiated data collection AF 620; [0089], Biatek);
and streaming the content to the UE based on the media delivery session ID and decoding the content at the UE (…the client (i.e., UE) then starts its adaptive bit rate (ABR) logic and progressively downloads and decodes the segments, and plays back the media content; [0060], Biatek).
Biatek does not teach determining, when creating the media player instance, whether any of a media delivery session identifier (ID) and an external service ID is provided to the 5GMS MAF; controlling, based on determining that none of the media delivery session ID and the external service ID is provided to the 5GMS MAF, a Media Session Handler (MSH) to provide a media delivery session ID to the 5GMS MAF;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sodagar discloses controlling, based on determining that none of the media delivery session and the external service is provided to the 5GMS MAF, a Media Session Handler (MSH) to provide a media delivery session to the 5GMS MAF (Sodagar teaches …starts an instance of 5GMS AF (i.e., MAF) 306 and 5GMS AS 305, MSH 309 and 5GMS AF 306 and 5GMS AS 305 may set up the media session, and the media streaming may start. Sodagar further teaches 5GMS AA 302 requests MSH 309 to establish the session. MSH 309 establishes the session and acknowledges 5GMS AA. (i.e., controlling MSH to provide media delivery session to the 5GMS MAF. Providing media delivery session involves determining that media delivery session and the external service was not previously provided); [0147, 0204, 0205], Sodagar)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify teachings of Biatek to utilize the media session creation techniques of Sodagar by controlling a MSH to create a media session. Doing so would improve coordination of session establishment and facilitate subsequent media delivery.
Biatek in view of Sodagar does not teach the MSH providing a media delivery session ID to the 5GMS MAF based on determining that none of the media delivery session ID and the external service ID is provided to the 5GMS MAF.
However, in the same field of endeavor Kwon teaches media delivery session ID and the external service ID (Kwon teaches a unique presentation session identifier communicated and possibly generated... Kwon further teaches in order to continuously receive the multicast session received over network A, session information related to the service ID may be exchanged...; [0182, 0341], Kwon)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to augment Biatek and Sodagar’s creation of a media session by also providing Kwon’s session ID and service ID to ensure a unique presentation/media session.
The combination of Biatek, Sodagar, and Kwon reads on the limitation "determining that none of the media delivery session ID and the external service ID is provided to the 5GMS MAF" because Kwon's session ID or external service ID would only be provided if the MAF did not already have one, given that a session ID is used to ensure a presentation/media session.
With regards to claims 2, 9, 16, Biatek in view of Sodagar in further view of Kwon discloses the method of claim 1, wherein controlling the MSH to provide the media delivery session ID to the 5GMS MAF comprises controlling the MSH to check whether none of the external service ID of the media player instance (The combination of Biatek, Sodagar, and Kwon reads on the limitation "determining that none of the media delivery session ID and the external service ID is provided to the 5GMS MAF" because Kwon's session ID or external service ID would only be provided if the MAF did not already have one, given that a session ID is used to ensure a presentation/media session) already exists at a time of being controlled to provide the media delivery session ID to the 5GMS MAF (Sodagar teaches …starts an instance of 5GMS AF (i.e., MAF) 306 and 5GMS AS 305, MSH 309 and 5GMS AF 306 and 5GMS AS 305 may set up the media session, and the media streaming may start. Sodagar further teaches 5GMS AA 302 requests MSH 309 to establish the session. MSH 309 establishes the session and acknowledges 5GMS AA. (i.e., controlling MSH to provide media delivery session to the 5GMS MAF. Providing media delivery session involves determining that media delivery session and the external service was not previously provided); [0147, 0204, 0205], Sodagar).
Biatek does not teach an associated service access information of the media player instance.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sodagar teaches, an associated service access information of the media player instance (Sodagar teaches …Link M7 may be a UE Media Streamer API exposed by Media Streamer 310 to 5GMS Aware Application 302 and MSH 309 to make use of Media Streamer 310. Link M8 may be an Application API which is used for information exchange between 5GMS Aware Application 302 and 5GMS Application Provider 301, for example to provide service access information to the 5GMS Aware Application 302; [0062], Sodagar).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the teachings of Biatek to incorporate the service access information of Sodagar because such information enables the application and session handling functions to access and manage the requested media streaming service, thereby facilitating establishment and management of media streaming sessions.
With regards to claims 3, 10, 17, Biatek in view of Sodagar in further view of Kwon further discloses wherein controlling the MSH to provide the medial delivery session ID to the 5GMS MAF further comprises:
determining, at the time, whether the associated service access information already exists but the media delivery session ID does not yet exist (Sodagar teaches …Link M7 may be a UE Media Streamer API exposed by Media Streamer 310 to 5GMS Aware Application 302 and MSH 309 to make use of Media Streamer 310. Link M8 may be an Application API which is used for information exchange between 5GMS Aware Application 302 and 5GMS Application Provider 301, for example to provide service access information to the 5GMS Aware Application 302; [0062], Sodagar. Sodagar further teaches …starts an instance of 5GMS AF (i.e., MAF) 306 and 5GMS AS 305, MSH 309 and 5GMS AF 306 and 5GMS AS 305 may set up the media session, and the media streaming may start. Sodagar further teaches 5GMS AA 302 requests MSH 309 to establish the session. MSH 309 establishes the session and acknowledges 5GMS AA. (i.e., controlling MSH to provide media delivery session to the 5GMS MAF. Providing media delivery session involves determining that media delivery session and the external service was not previously provided); [0147, 0204, 0205], Sodagar. Kwon teaches a unique presentation session identifier communicated and possibly generated... Kwon further teaches in order to continuously receive the multicast session received over network A, session information related to the service ID may be exchanged...; [0182, 0341], Kwon);
and any of:
providing the media delivery session ID to the 5GMS MAF as an existing ID, based on determining that, at the time, any of the external service ID and the media delivery session ID already exists,
And
generating and providing the media delivery session ID to the 5GMS MAF, based on determining that, at the time, the media delivery session ID does not yet exist (Sodagar teaches …starts an instance of 5GMS AF (i.e., MAF) 306 and 5GMS AS 305, MSH 309 and 5GMS AF 306 and 5GMS AS 305 may set up the media session, and the media streaming may start. Sodagar further teaches 5GMS AA 302 requests MSH 309 to establish the session. MSH 309 establishes the session and acknowledges 5GMS AA. (i.e., controlling MSH to provide media delivery session to the 5GMS MAF. Providing media delivery session involves determining that media delivery session and the external service was not previously provided); [0147, 0204, 0205], Sodagar. Kwon teaches a unique presentation session identifier communicated and possibly generated... Kwon further teaches in order to continuously receive the multicast session received over network A, session information related to the service ID may be exchanged...; [0182, 0341], Kwon).
With regards to claims 4, 11, 18, Biatek in view of Sodagar in further view of Kwon further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein creating the media player instance comprises enabling application programming interface (API) communication through any of an M7d API and an M1ld API (...The media player may interface with the media session handler and 5GMSd-aware application via the reference point M7d (UE media player APIs)...; [0058], Biatek).
With regards to claims 5, 12, 19, Biatek in view of Sodagar in further view of Kwon further discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein creating the media player instance comprises invoking an initialize() function of a dynamic adaptive streaming over hypertext protocol (HTTP) (DASH) streaming application programming interface (API) (Biatek teaches … at step 601, the 5GMSd session initialization procedure (i.e., invoking initialize() function) includes the 5GMSd-aware application 414 starts media playback. Biatek further teaches … the 5G Media Streaming (5GMS) architecture supports enhanced media streaming in the 5G system, such as for dynamic and adaptive streaming over HTTP (DASH); [0089, 0054], Biatek).
With regards to claims 6 and 13, Biatek in view of Sodagar in further view of Kwon further discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein input parameters of the an initialize() function comprise a serviceID parameter and a sessionID parameter (Biatek teaches … at step 601, the 5GMSd session initialization procedure (i.e., invoking initialize() function) includes the 5GMSd-aware application 414 starts media playback; [0089], Biatek. Kwon teaches a unique presentation session identifier communicated and possibly generated... Kwon further teaches in order to continuously receive the multicast session received over network A, session information related to the service ID may be exchanged...; [0182, 0341], Kwon).
With regards to claims 7 and 14, Biatek in view of Sodagar in further view of Kwon further discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the sessionID parameter is at least one of provided by the MSH at the M11d API and omitted at an M6d API (Biatek teaches that the M6d interface is between the MSH and the 5GMSd-aware application/media player. Because the application communicates with the MSH through the M6d API while the MSH is responsible establishing and controlling the media session, the M6d interface need not include a session identifier supplied by the application. Thus, the sessionID parameter is reasonably interpreted as being omitted from the M6d API; [0058], Biatek).
With regards to claim 8, all the claim limitations except for the last limitations are identical and/or equivalent in scope to claim 1, therefore, equivalent limitations of claim 8 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Biatek further teaches encoding the video content and streaming the video content to the UE based on the media delivery session ID (Biatek teaches a 5GMSd application server (AS) configured to deliver media content to a 5GMSd client during a media streaming session, where the media content is encoded in segments, and the client requests and receives the encoded segments from the 5GMSd AS; [0069], Biatek).
With regards to claim 15, all the claim limitations except for the last limitations are identical and/or equivalent in scope to claim 1, therefore, equivalent limitations of claim 8 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Biatek further teaches performing a conversion, between a visual media file of the video content and a bitstream of a visual media data of the video content according to a format rule, and at least one of streaming the video content to the UE and playing the video content by the UE based on the conversion (Biatek teaches that 5GMSd AS runs one or more processing tasks (i.e., conversion) including transcoding, transrating, adapting the format or coding profile (i.e., format rule), and producing a decodable bitstream (i.e., between a visual media file and a bitstream of a visual media data). Biatek further teaches the 5GMSd AS delivering the encoded media content to the 5GMSd client during a media streaming session; [0091, 0069], Biatek).
With regards to claim 20, the claim limitations are identical and/or equivalent in scope to claims 6 and 7, therefore, claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale as claims 6 and 7.
Conclusion
/S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2455
/EMMANUEL L MOISE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2455