DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 9-14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nohara et al. (US Publication 2017/0080721) in view of Fukano (JP2003155728).
With respect to claim 2, Nohara teaches a printer configured to be driven by a plurality of power sources, the printer comprising:
a first drive circuit (54) configured to drive a head (112) to perform printing on a medium (S);
a second drive circuit (51) configured to drive a conveyance motor (53) to generate motive power to convey the medium;
a first connector (34C) configured to connect a first power source (34);
a second connector (102) configured to connect a second power source (BT); and
a power supply circuit (Figure 3) configured to supply power to the first drive circuit (54) and to the second drive circuit (51),
wherein when the printer (1) is being driven by both the first power source (34) and the second power source (BT), the first power being a power of the first power source (34), and the second power being a power of the second power source (BT, Paragraphs 0032-0035, 0050, 0053-0055).
However, Nohara is silent with respect to wherein the power supply circuit supplies at least some of a first power to the first drive circuit and at least some of a second power to the second drive circuit. Fukano teaches the power supply circuit supplies at least some of a first power to the first drive circuit and at least some of a second power to the second drive circuit (Paragraphs 0049-0053, Figures 5 and 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the invention taught by Nohara et al. to provide the power supply circuit supplying at least some of a first power to the first drive circuit and at least some of a second power to the second drive circuit as taught by Fukano for the purpose of ensuring the power is properly regulated in the printing system.
With respect to claim 3, Nohara teaches a printer configured to be driven by a plurality of power sources, the printer comprising:
a first drive circuit (54) configured to drive a head (112) to perform printing on a medium (S);
a second drive circuit (51) configured to drive a conveyance motor (53) to generate motive power to convey the medium;
a first connector (34C) configured to connect a battery (BT);
a second connector (102) configured to connect a AC adaptor (34, Paragraph 0032); and
a power supply circuit (Figure 3) configured to supply power to the first drive circuit (54) and to the second drive circuit (51),
wherein when the printer (1) is being driven by both the battery (BT) and the AC adaptor (34) and the first power being a power of the battery (BT), and the second power being a power of the AC adaptor (34).
Nohara et al. does not explicitly disclose the power supply circuit supplies at least some of a first power to the first drive circuit and at least some of a second power to the second drive circuit. Fukano teaches the power supply circuit supplies at least some of a first power to the first drive circuit and at least some of a second power to the second drive circuit (Paragraphs 0049-0053, Figures 5 and 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the invention taught by Nohara et al. to provide the power supply circuit supplies at least some of a first power to the first drive circuit and at least some of a second power to the second drive circuit as taught by Fukano for the purpose of ensuring the power is properly regulated in the printing system.
With respect to claim 4, Nohara et al. teaches a first drive circuit (54) configured to drive a head (112) to perform printing on a medium (S);
a second drive circuit (51) configured to drive a conveyance motor (53) to generate motive power to convey the medium;
a first connector (34C) configured to connect a battery (BT);
a second connector (102); and
a power supply circuit (Figure 3) configured to supply power to the first drive circuit (54) and to the second drive circuit (51).
Nohara et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the printer is being driven by both the battery and the USB power supply, the power supply circuit supplies at least some of a first power to the first drive circuit and at least some of a second power to the second drive circuit, the first power being a power of the battery, and the second power being a power of the USB power supply.
Fukano teaches the printer is being driven by both the battery and the USB power supply, the power supply circuit supplies at least some of a first power to the first drive circuit and at least some of a second power to the second drive circuit, the first power being a power of the battery, and the second power being a power of the USB power supply (Paragraphs 0049-0053, Figures 5 and 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the invention taught by Nohara et al. to provide the printer is being driven by both the battery and the USB power supply, the power supply circuit supplies at least some of a first power to the first drive circuit and at least some of a second power to the second drive circuit, the first power being a power of the battery, and the second power being a power of the USB power supply as taught by Fukano for the purpose of ensuring the power is properly regulated in the printing system.
With respect to claim 9, Nohara et al. teaches
a processor (CPU, 52); and
a memory (EEPROM) storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, perform process (Paragraph 0033) comprising:
performing detection processing of detecting whether a usable power source is connected, by detecting a voltage of each of the plurality of the power sources (Paragraphs 0008, 0033, 0041, 0045, 0053 and many references throughout patent).
With respect to claim 10, Nohara et al. teaches
a processor (CPU, 52); and
a memory (EEPROM) storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, perform process (Paragraph 0033) comprising:
performing detection processing of detecting whether a usable power source is connected, by detecting a voltage of each of the plurality of the power sources (Paragraphs 0008, 0033, 0041, 0045, 0053 and many references throughout patent).
With respect to claim 11, Nohara et al. teaches
a processor (CPU, 52); and
a memory (EEPROM) storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, perform process (Paragraph 0033) comprising:
performing detection processing of detecting whether a usable power source is connected, by detecting a voltage of each of the plurality of the power sources (Paragraphs 0008, 0033, 0041, 0045, 0053 and many references throughout patent).
With respect to claim 12, Nohara et al. teaches a display portion configured to display information indicating which of the power sources (9), of the plurality of the power sources (9, Paragraphs 0033, 0051, 0053, 0072), is being used.
With respect to claim 13, Nohara et al. teaches a display portion configured to display information indicating which of the power sources (9), of the plurality of the power sources (9, Paragraphs 0033, 0051, 0053, 0072), is being used.
With respect to claim 14, Nohara et al. teaches a display portion configured to display information indicating which of the power sources (9), of the plurality of the power sources (9, Paragraphs 0033, 0051, 0053, 0072), is being used.
With respect to claim 21, Nohara et al. teaches the first drive circuit (54) drives the head (112) and the second drive circuit (51) drive the conveyance motor (53), during a period when printing is performed (Paragraphs 0039.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 and 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 5, the prior art does not teach the power supply circuit includes a first wiring line electrically connected to the second connector and the first drive circuit, a first switch configured to switch the first wiring line to a conduction state and a non-conduction state, a second wiring line electrically connected to the second connector and the second drive circuit, a second switch configured to switch the second wiring line to a conduction state and to a non-conduction state, a third wiring line electrically connected to the first wiring line, between the first switch and the first drive circuit, and electrically connected to the second wiring line, between the second switch and the second drive circuit, a third switch configured to switch the third wiring line to a conduction state and to a non-conduction state, and a fourth wiring line electrically connected to the first connector and electrically connected to the first wiring line, between the first switch and the first drive circuit.
With respect to claim 6, the prior art does not teach or render obvious the power supply circuit includes a first wiring line electrically connected to the second connector and the first drive circuit, a first switch configured to switch the first wiring line to a conduction state and a non-conduction state, a second wiring line electrically connected to the second connector and the second drive circuit, a second switch configured to switch the second wiring line to a conduction state and to a non-conduction state, a third wiring line electrically connected to the first wiring line, between the first switch and the first drive circuit, and electrically connected to the second wiring line, between the second switch and the second drive circuit, a third switch configured to switch the third wiring line to a conduction state and to a non-conduction state, and a fourth wiring line electrically connected to the first connector and electrically connected to the first wiring line, between the first switch and the first drive circuit.
With respect to claim 7, the prior art does not teach or render obvious when the printer is being driven by both the battery and the USB power supply, the power supply circuit supplies at least some of the first power to the head and at least some of the second power to the conveyance motor.
With respect to claim 8, the prior art does not teach the power supply circuit includes a first wiring line electrically connected to the second connector and the first drive circuit, a first switch configured to switch the first wiring line to a conduction state and a non-conduction state, a second wiring line electrically connected to the second connector and the second drive circuit, a second switch configured to switch the second wiring line to a conduction state and to a non-conduction state, a third wiring line electrically connected to the first wiring line, between the first switch and the first drive circuit, and electrically connected to the second wiring line, between the second switch and the second drive circuit, a third switch configured to switch the third wiring line to a conduction state and to a non-conduction state, and a fourth wiring line electrically connected to the first connector and electrically connected to the first wiring line, between the first switch and the first drive circuit.
With respect to claim 15, the prior art does not teach or render obvious a processor; and a memory storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, perform processes comprising: performing acquisition processing of acquiring a temperature of the first power source; and performing decision processing of deciding a print speed based on the temperature of the first power source acquired by the acquisition processing, the print speed being a speed of performing the printing on the medium, wherein the decision processing decreasing the print speed in response to the temperature, acquired by the acquisition processing, of the first power source becoming low, and deciding the print speed to cause the print speed when the first power source is connected to the first connector and the second power source is connected to the second connector to be equal to or faster than the print speed when the first power source is connected to the first connector and the second power source, in a further operational arrangement, is not connected to the second connector.
With respect to claim 16, the prior art does not teach or render obvious a processor; and a memory storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, perform processes comprising: performing acquisition processing of acquiring a temperature of the battery; and performing decision processing of deciding a print speed based on the temperature of the battery acquired by the acquisition processing, the print speed being a speed of performing the printing on the medium, wherein the decision processing includes decreasing the print speed in response to the temperature, acquired by the acquisition processing, of the battery becoming low, and deciding the print speed to cause the print speed when the battery is connected to the first connector and the AC adaptor is connected to the second connector to be equal to or faster than the print speed when the battery is connected to the first connector and the AC adaptor, in a further operational arrangement, is not connected to the second connector.
With respect to claim 17, the prior art does not teach or render obvious a processor; and a memory storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, perform processes comprising: performing acquisition processing of acquiring a temperature of the battery; and performing decision processing of deciding a print speed based on the temperature of the battery acquired by the acquisition processing, the print speed being a speed of performing the printing on the medium, wherein the decision processing includes decreasing the print speed in response to the temperature, acquired by the acquisition processing, of the battery becoming low, and deciding the print speed to cause the print speed when the battery is connected to the first connector and the USB power supply is connected to the second connector to be equal to or faster than the print speed when the battery is connected to the first connector and the USB power supply, in a further operational arrangement, is not connected to the second connector.
With respect to claim 18, the prior art does not teach or render obvious a processor; and a memory storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, perform processes comprising: performing first determination processing of determining, when the first power source is connected to the first connector and the second power source is connected to the second connector, whether to execute a power suppression mode suppressing the at least some of the first power supplied by the first power source; and performing restriction processing of restricting a number of on dots, heated, among a plurality of heating elements of the head, when the first determination processing determines to execute the power suppression mode.
With respect to claim 19, the prior art does not teach or render obvious a processor; and a memory storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, perform processes comprising: performing first determination processing of determining, when the battery is connected to the first connector and the AC adaptor is connected to the second connector, whether to execute a power suppression mode suppressing the at least some of the first power supplied by the battery; and performing restriction processing of restricting a number of on dots, heated, among a plurality of heating elements of the head, when the first determination processing determines to execute the power suppression mode.
With respect to claim 20, the prior art does not teach or render obvious a processor; and a memory storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, perform processes comprising: performing first determination processing of determining, when the battery is connected to the first connector and the USB power supply is connected to the second connector, whether to execute a power suppression mode suppressing the at least some of the first power supplied by the battery; and performing restriction processing of restricting a number of on dots, heated, among a plurality of heating elements of the head, when the first determination processing determines to execute the power suppression mode.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2-21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Marissa Ferguson-Samreth/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/CHRISTOPHER E MAHONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852