DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: VIDEO EDITING DEVICE AND METHOD FOR ASSOCIATING A VIDEO TAKE WITH A MUSIC TRACK SEGMENT.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shore (US 2014/0324557 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shore discloses
An electronic device for managing video shooting in accordance with a music track, the electronic device comprising:
a display (106; figs. 1, 5) that displays information;
an input interface (Screens 500, 600, 700; [0046-[0050]) that inputs a user operation; and
a controller (100; fig. 1) that generates management information (Information associating a video clip with a portion of an audio track shown in screens 500, 600, 700; figs. 507) managing a video associated with audio data indicating the music track, wherein
the controller
causes the display to display a time range (608; fig. 6; 0:00-8:00; fig. 7) within the music track indicated by the audio data and the input interface to receive the user operation setting a shooting unit (Cameras 1-5; fig. 5) for the management information (figs. 5-7), the shooting unit during which a video is shot for the time range within the music track ([0047]-[0048]), and
generates the management information by associating the time range within the music track with the shooting unit set by the user operation (Each video is associated with a segment of the audio track. This association information is the “management information”; [0047]-[0048]; figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 2, Shore discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Shore discloses, wherein
the controller receives, via the input interface, the user operation setting multiple shooting units to at least part of the time range within the music track (The user may be permitted to select portions of one audio track and assemble the custom track from the plurality of video tracks; [0044], [0047]-[0048]; figs. 6, 7).
Regarding claim 3, Shore discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2), in addition, Shore discloses, wherein
the controller receives, via the input interface, the user operation designating the time range within the music track corresponding to each shooting unit for each of the multiple shooting units (figs. 6-7; [0047]-[0050]; A user selects video clips from plurality of different cameras (1-5). The user adds the video clips to specific segments of an audio track.).
Regarding claim 4, Shore discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2), in addition, Shore discloses, wherein the controller
causes the display to display an editing screen (500, 600, 700; figs. 5-7) for editing the video associated with the audio data, and the input interface to receive a user operation dividing a video playback period into a plurality of sections (The video playback is divided into sections according to the different clips at different times within the audio track as shown in fig. 7), the video playback period being indicating a time period over which the video is played back with the music track (figs. 5-7; [0044], [0047]-[0050]);
assigns a first shot video to the plurality of sections divided in the video, to update the editing screen, the first shot video being an assigned shot video among a plurality of shot videos for each shooting unit of the multiple shooting units (As shown in fig. 7 the shot video 510 is assigned to the first section of the video.); and
receives, via the input interface, the user operation changing the assigned shot video for the plurality of sections to a second shot video, to update the editing screen according to the change of the assigned shot video, the second shot video being different from the first shot video among the plurality of shot videos (Any shot video may be assigned to any section of the video. The final music video is totally customizable, and the user interface shown in fig. 7 shows the user selections; [0048]).
Regarding claim 8, Shore discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Shore discloses, wherein
the management information includes at least one of a zoom magnification in video shooting in the shooting unit or a shooting direction with respect to a subject in the video shooting (As the management information includes the selected video clip and each clip is associated with a camera angle ([0044]), the management information therefore includes a “shooting direction” as claimed.).
Regarding claim 9, it discloses a method for implementing the apparatus of claim 1. Thus, claim 9 is an inherent variation of claim 1 and is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 1).
Regarding claim 10, Shore discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9), in addition, Shore discloses, A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program that causes the controller to execute the shooting management method according to claim 9 ([0069]).
Regarding claim 12, Shore discloses
An electronic device for managing video shooting in accordance with a music track, the electronic device comprising:
a display (106; figs. 1, 5) that displays information;
an input interface (Screens 500, 600, 700; [0046-[0050]) that inputs a user operation;
a controller (102; fig. 1) that controls the display and the input interface; and
a memory (104; fig. 1) that stores management information managing a video associated with audio data indicating the music track (This information must be stored in some way in order for it to be displayed as shown in figs. 5-7);
wherein the management information includes a time range (608; fig. 6; 0-8 minutes; fig. 7) within the music track in association with a shooting unit set to shoot a video for the time range within the music track indicated by the audio data, and
the controller causes the display to display a video shot in the shooting unit, based on the management information (The user may preview the customized video; [0048]), and the input interface to receive a user operation editing the video associated with the audio data (figs. 5-7; [0048]-[0050]; The user may select any video clip to be played at any segment of the audio track.).
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leiberman et al. (US 2018/0295427 A1) hereinafter referenced as Leiberman.
Regarding claim 1, Leiberman discloses
An electronic device for managing video shooting in accordance with a music track, the electronic device comprising:
a display (120; fig. 1) that displays information (fig. 6);
an input interface (figs. 2-6) that inputs a user operation; and
a controller (102, 108; fig. 1) that generates management information (Information associating a video clip with a portion of an audio track shown in screens fig. 6) managing a video associated with audio data indicating the music track, wherein
the controller
causes the display to display a time range (figs. 3B, 6) within the music track indicated by the audio data and the input interface to receive the user operation setting a shooting unit (Cameras 110; fig. 1; Any one of the plurality of cameras may be used for the video takes; [0113]) for the management information (figs. 6), the shooting unit during which a video is shot for the time range within the music track (fig. 6), and
generates the management information by associating the time range within the music track with the shooting unit set by the user operation (Each video is associated with a segment of the audio track. This association information is the “management information”; fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Shore discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition, Shore discloses, wherein
the controller controls video shooting in the shooting unit based on the management information (A video take begins at a time 628 of the audio track according to the management information; fig. 6B; [0064]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 6, Leiberman discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5), in addition, Leiberman discloses, further comprising an output interface that outputs a sound,
wherein the controller controls the output interface (122; fig. 1) to output, for the video shooting in the shooting unit, a sound (Audio track; [0084]) in a corresponding time range within the music track, based on the management information and the audio data, the corresponding time range including the time range associated with the shooting unit (The speakers 122 output the audio track while the one or more cameras 112 capture the video take. The time point of the audio track is governed by the management information as shown in fig. 6; [0084]).
Regarding claim 7, Leiberman discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6), in addition, Leiberman discloses, wherein the controller
receives, via the input interface, for the video shooting in the shooting unit, a user operation (Pressing capture button 602; fig. 6; [0063]) designating a start time at which the video shooting is started, and
controls the output interface (122; fig. 1) to output, for the video shooting in the shooting unit, a sound in a preliminary period in the audio data according to the designated start time, the preliminary period preceding the time range within the music track associated with the shooting unit in the management information (The audio in the preliminary period may be the portion of the audio track included in fig. 6A. This occurs before the take at fig. 6B and therefore reads on the claimed “sound in a preliminary period”).
Regarding claim 11, Leiberman discloses
An electronic device for managing video shooting in accordance with a music track, the electronic device comprising:
an image sensor (110; fig. 1) that captures a subject image to generate video data;
a memory (104; fig. 1) that stores management information managing a video associated with audio data indicating the music track (Management information must be stored in some way to generate the music video by adding a plurality of takes to an audio track as shown in figs. 6-7); and
a controller (102, 106, 108; fig. 1) that controls the video shooting by the image sensor,
wherein the management information includes a time range within the music track in association with a shooting unit set to shoot a video for the time range within the music track indicated by the audio data (As shown in fig. 6 a take is associated with a segment of a music track. Management information including this information must be stored in some way in order to display the interface as shown in fig. 6), and
the controller controls the video shooting in the shooting unit based on the management information (A video take begins at a time 628 of the audio track according to the management information; fig. 6B; [0064]-[0065]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Robert Jose et al. (US 2024/0038277 A1) teaches associating different video clips with segments of an audio track (fig. 1).
Haley et al. (US 2021/0312948 A1) teaches associating different video clips with segments of an audio track (figs. 7-8).
Harron et al. (US 2018/0286458 A1) teaches associating different video clips with segments of an audio track (fig. 4).
Wang et al. (US 2022/0223183 A1) teaches associating different video clips with segments of an audio track (figs. 1D, 2).
Beauregard et al. (US 2010/0183280 A1) teaches associating different video clips with segments of an audio track (figs. 2-5).
Oron (US 2011/0161348 A1) teaches associating different video clips with segments of an audio track (fig. 3; [0039]).
Su et al. (US 2023/0049135 A1) teaches associating different video clips with segments of an audio track (figs. 5).
PAUL M. BERARDESCA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/PAUL M BERARDESCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637 9/16/2026