DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks and amendments, filed 10/21/2025, with respect to the rejections under section 112 for claims 1-8, 10-15, 17-19 and 21-23 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The prior rejections under section 112 of claims 1-8, 10-15, 17-19 and 21-23 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the Samant reference does not disclose “measuring a degradation temperature of the polymer”. However, the full limitation is disclose: “(c) characterizing a second material, wherein the second material is a polymer used for creating a part, and wherein the characterization of the second material includes:(i) measuring a degradation temperature of the polymer; and(ii) measuring a melting point/critical flow temperature of the polymer;”. Additionally claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification during examination. See MPEP 2111.
During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005) expressly recognized that the USPTO employs the "broadest reasonable interpretation" standard:
The Patent and Trademark Office ("PTO") determines the scope of claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction "in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art." In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364[, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1830] (Fed. Cir. 2004). Indeed, the rules of the PTO require that application claims must "conform to the invention as set forth in the remainder of the specification and the terms and phrases used in the claims must find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description." 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1).
See also In re Suitco Surface, Inc., 603 F.3d 1255, 1259, 94 USPQ2d 1640, 1643 (Fed. Cir. 2010); In re Hyatt, 211 F.3d 1367, 1372, 54 USPQ2d 1664, 1667 (Fed. Cir. 2000).
In this case, Samant does disclose “(c) characterizing a second material, wherein the second material is a polymer used for creating a part, and wherein the characterization of the second material includes:(i) measuring a degradation temperature of the polymer; and(ii) measuring a melting point/critical flow temperature of the polymer;” under the broadest reasonable interpretation, because Samant discloses characterizing a material with these measurements, and previously taken measurements of the rubber state, the glass transition temperature, the crystallization temperature and the melting temperature would read on the measuring limitations that characterize the material under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Additionally, applicant argues that the Samant reference does not achieve a hermetic seal; however, the Samant reference applies parallel lines and is capable of achieving the hermetic seal. Additionally, the “oriented perpendicular” portion of the limitation appears to be an intended use of the final product and not an actual method step. See also MPEP 2114 and 2115.
Additionally, the Yamaguchi reference, which is applied as a secondary reference to other claims, supports this conclusion. The Yamaguchi reference teaches in paragraph 0062 that “As for the physical properties of the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s), the melting point and the thermal decomposition temperature are both 400° C. or higher, and the melting point and the thermal decomposition temperature are close or identical to each other.” Thus, for many plastics, measuring the melting and crystallization temperatures would serve as measurement for measuring the thermal degradation (or decomposition) temperature and therefore Samant reads on the claim language.
Applicant arguments as to the 103 rejections of claims 3, 4, 22, and 24 are based on substantially the same argument as above and unpersuasive for the same reason.
With respect to claims 5, 13, 17, applicant separately argues that Yamaguchi “has nothing to do with method for joining dissimilar materials such as polymer and metal to one another”. This argument is unpersuasive because paragraphs 0108-114 of Yamaguchi are directed to polyimide to metal bonding. See especially paragraph 0109 of Yamaguchi, reproduced below, which draws the connection between polyimide to polyimide bonding with polyimide to metal bonding.
[0109] As described above, thermal bonding of the difficult-to-melt polyimide was considered impossible. However, the present inventors have succeeded in bonding polyimide films to each other in First Embodiment above. Further, instead of bonding the polyimide films to each other, the present inventors have found it possible to bond a difficult-to-melt polyimide film directly to a metal by heating the polyimide film while a contact pressure is applied such that the polyimide film is tightly attached to a surface of the metal.
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find Yamaguchi’s teachings are extendible to polymer to metal bonding, including the use of thermogravimetric analysis and differential scanning calorimetry.
With respect to claims 4, 17-19 and 21-23, the new reference of Zhao has been applied to alternatively address the limitations addressed to “nanoparticles of tungsten carbide”. As claims 4 and 17-19 are substantially unamended (except to address 112 rejections), these claims include rejections that are new rejections and following action is non-final.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: Reference is made to “the metallic nanoparticles” in line 14. This is the first instance of this limitation and appears to be a reference back to “nanoparticles of tungsten carbide” as used in line 12, and the examiner suggests that applicant use consistent language and either amend line 14 to recite “the nanoparticles of tungsten carbide” or alternatively amend line 12 to recite “metallic nanoparticles” or otherwise amend the language for consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 22, and 23 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samant (US 20240208164 A1), Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1) and Rau (UA 5093403 A).
As to claim 21, Samant discloses a method for joining dissimilar materials (see paragraph 0006, disclosing “Disclosed is a system and method for joining dissimilar materials”), comprising:
(a) etching (paragraph 0028, disclosing “A texture 14 is applied to a surface of the base material 1. Embodiments disclosed herein also describe methods to imprint the texture into the base material via squeezing, machining, pressing, forming, knurling, stamping, etching, forging, cutting, rolling, or other imprinting processes as known in the art.”) a predetermined micropattern into a surface of a first material, wherein the first material is a metal used for creating a part (paragraph 0021, disclosing “The base material can be metal, polymer, ceramic or any other material on which a texture could be applied”), and wherein the micropattern includes various microfeatures;
(b) characterizing the physical properties of the microfeatures (see paragraph 0030, disclosing “the texture may be provided with an average roughness depth that is capable of providing sufficient volume for the matrix material from the FRP to flow into the texture.”);
(c) characterizing a second material (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “FIG. 4 is a representation of a processing curve for a synthetic resin polymer which is usually chosen as the matrix material for the FRP.”), wherein the second material is a polymer used for creating a part (see paragraph 0022, disclosing “The resin can be polypropylene (PP), polyamide6 (PA6), polycarbonate (PC), polyetheretherketone (PEEK), polyaryletherketone (PAEK), or any other polymer material that meets the requirements of a matrix material.”), and wherein the characterization of the second material includes:
(i) measuring a degradation temperature of the polymer (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “glass transition temperature 24” and “a rubber state 25”. Figure 4 shows that these measurements have been obtained beforehand.); and
(ii) measuring a curing temperature of the polymer (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “the melting temperature 26”. Figure 4 shows that these measurements have been obtained beforehand. See also paragraph 0032, which discloses “After flowing into the textures, the matrix (in liquid form) is cooled back to room temperature 22 where it attains the final ordered or crystalline structure 29 due to solidification.”);
(e) flowing the polymer into the microfeatures to form a polymer-metal combination (paragraph 0028, disclosing “A texture 14 is applied to a surface of the base material 1. Embodiments disclosed herein also describe methods to imprint the texture into the base material via squeezing, machining, pressing, forming, knurling, stamping, etching, forging, cutting, rolling, or other imprinting processes as known in the art. The FRP 3 is then placed on top of the base material 14 and heated at a certain temperature for a specific amount of time to cause the polymer matrix to melt and flow into the textures.”); and
(e) applying gravitational or compressive force to the polymer-metal combination until the interface between the polymer and the metal has solidified and the materials have been joined (see paragraph 0025, disclosing “Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.” See paragraph 0031,disclosing “After flowing into the textures, the matrix (in liquid form) is cooled back to room temperature 22 where it attains the final ordered or crystalline structure 29 due to solidification. At the end of the process, a laminate is created that has the FRP joined to the base material. The final ordered or crystalline structure 29 provides the strength to the laminate 16.”).
Samant does not disclose (d) applying nanoparticles of tungsten carbide to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material.
Furukawa discloses the use of metallic nanoparticles to improve bond strength and therefore makes obvious (d) applying metallic nanoparticles to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material. See especially paragraph 0010-11 and 0032, disclosing:
[0010] The present inventors have found, after studying hard, that by the use of aggregates of metal nanoparticles, members can be joined with high strength. When a metal paste containing aggregates of metal nanoparticles is coated on a member, dried and burned, a plurality of aggregates gather and form voids between the aggregates. Since the solvent of the metal paste can evaporate through the formed voids, the remaining rate of the solvent in the joined part decreases and high joining strength can be achieved.
[0011] Such formation of the voids can be represented also as a shrinkage rate of the metal paste during drying and burning the metal paste. That is, when the metal paste is dried and burned, the metal paste shrinks since the solvent contained in the metal paste is removed. However, when voids are formed in the inside of the metal paste during drying and burning, the metal paste is apparently suppressed from shrinking. Therefore, when the metal paste having, small shrinkage rate during drying and burning is used, the remaining solvent becomes scarce, and the members can be joined with high strength.\
…
[0032] The aggregate of the metal nanoparticles is a secondary particle in which primary particles of the metal nanoparticles aggregated. An average particle size of the aggregates is 1 μm or more, preferably 1 to 5 μm, more preferably 1 to 3 μm and particularly preferably 1 to 2 μm. When the aggregates having such an average particle size are used, the joining strength of the member can further be improved.
Furukawa discloses that the materials to be joined can include metal and plastic. See paragraph 0062:
[0062] A kind of the members to be joined is not limited to particular one, and a metal material, a plastic material, and a ceramic material can be used. As the metal material, for example, a copper substrate, a gold substrate, and an aluminum substrate can be used. As the plastic material, for example, polyimide, polyethylene, polypropylene, polyethylene terephthalate, polycarbonate, and polyethylene naphthalate can be used. As the ceramic material, for example, glass and silicon can be used. Further, an electronic element can be used as the member. In particular, when the metal paste contains a refractory metal component, power device elements such as silicon carbide and gallium nitride can be used as the member.
Rau address the problem of polymer to metal bonds. Samant and Furukawa do not disclose wherein the metallic nanoparticles include tungsten carbide. Rau makes obvious wherein the metallic nanoparticles include tungsten carbide. Rau is directed to inventions that “generally to the field of bonding polymeric materials to metal materials and particularly to bonding fluorinated polymers and polyether resins to metals, including ferrous-based metals.” See column 1, line 13. Rau teaches that carbides are preferred additives. See column 8, line 12, which discloses:
With respect to the ceramic powder of additive (D) above, this includes fine particle size, inorganic crystalline material A ceramic powder is characterized typically by its ability to be converted by sintering into a chemically inert material. Examples of ceramic powders that can be used as additive (D) above are: refractory carbides such as silicon carbide, tungsten carbide, molybdenum disilicide and boron nitride; metal oxides such as alumina, chromic oxide, powdered quartz, cerium oxide, silicon oxide, beryllia and zirconium oxide; silicon nitride, titanium diboride and aluminum diboride.
The ceramic powder can be in various forms, for example, in the form of regularly or irregularly shaped crystals, whisker fibers, long fibers, and platelets.
Metal carbide powders are a preferred additive for use in the present invention. The preferred carbides include silicon carbide, zirconium carbide, tungsten carbide and boron carbide, silicon carbide being most preferred.
A consideration in selecting the type of ceramic powder to be used is its resistance to the corrosive effects of the chemical material with which the resin composite material is to be used. It is believed that alpha silicon carbide is the most corrosive resistant type of ceramic powder available in respect to corrosive attack by a very broad range of chemical materials. Thus, it is highly preferred. In addition, silicon carbide is a low-cost material. However, for a variety of reasons, such as cost factors, etc., another type of ceramic powder may be selected.
Rau discloses the benefits of these ceramic powders, teaching in column 9 that:
In general, it has been observed, most notably in the use of ceramic powders, particularly with fluorocarbon resins, that bond strength between the coating and an underlying metal substrate increases with increased quantities of ceramic powder in the composition. On the other hand, resistance to corrosion by chemical attack is observed to be highest where relatively small amounts of ceramic powder are added to the resin, corrosion resistance being observed to decrease as amounts of ceramic powder in the resin are further increased.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized (d) applying nanoparticles of tungsten carbide to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material as suggested by Furukawa and Rau so that the joining strength of the member can further be improved and because bond strength between the coating and an underlying metal substrate increases with increased quantities of ceramic powder in the composition and resistance to corrosion by chemical attack is observed to be highest where relatively small amounts of ceramic powder are added.
As to claim 22, Samant discloses wherein the predetermined micropattern includes a crosshatch pattern (“cross-hatches”), a herringbone pattern, a pattern of squares, a pattern of concentric squares, a pattern of circles (see Figure 6B, and “holes”), or a pattern of concentric circles (paragraph 0029, disclosing “concentric or non-concentric”). See paragraph 0029 and 0033, disclosing:
[0029] The texture 14 may have various configurations, and may be applied to base materials of any dimensions on either or both surfaces of the base material. For example, the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations.
…
[0033] FIGS. 6A, 6B, and 6C represent a few different types of texture that can be applied on the base material. The texture 30 includes a plurality of protruding or depressed pyramids, texture 31 includes a number of holes while texture 32 includes a series of parallel channels of a certain depth and width. However, the texture may be differently configured. For example, the texture may be symmetrical or asymmetrical. Moreover, the texture may be non-randomly distributed on the base material 1 or may instead be randomly distributed on the base material 1. As will be appreciated, the textured surface may be formed via various processes without departing from the present disclosure. For example, the textured surface may be formed via squeezing, machining, pressing, forming, knurling, stamping, etching, forging, cutting, rolling, or other imprinting processes as known in the art.
In any event, Samant, while disclosing a cross-hatch pattern as well as circle “hole” patterns and concentric shapes, does not explicitly disclose every pattern. However, Samant does disclose “the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations,” and additionally, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilize each and every claimed pattern of wherein the predetermined micropattern includes a crosshatch pattern, a herringbone pattern, a pattern of squares, a pattern of concentric squares, a pattern of circles, or a pattern of concentric circles as an changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts and because Samant discloses that “the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations”.
As to claim 23, Samant discloses wherein the predetermined micropattern includes parallel lines (“parallel lines”) oriented perpendicular to any pressure gradient present in the part for achieving a hermetic seal between the metal and the polymer. See paragraph 0029 and 0033, disclosing:
[0029] The texture 14 may have various configurations, and may be applied to base materials of any dimensions on either or both surfaces of the base material. For example, the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations.
…
[0033] FIGS. 6A, 6B, and 6C represent a few different types of texture that can be applied on the base material. The texture 30 includes a plurality of protruding or depressed pyramids, texture 31 includes a number of holes while texture 32 includes a series of parallel channels of a certain depth and width. However, the texture may be differently configured. For example, the texture may be symmetrical or asymmetrical. Moreover, the texture may be non-randomly distributed on the base material 1 or may instead be randomly distributed on the base material 1. As will be appreciated, the textured surface may be formed via various processes without departing from the present disclosure. For example, the textured surface may be formed via squeezing, machining, pressing, forming, knurling, stamping, etching, forging, cutting, rolling, or other imprinting processes as known in the art.
These perpendicular lines would be capable of achieving the hermetic seal property.
In any event, Samant, while disclosing parallel lines, does not explicitly disclose that the lines appear capable of being oriented perpendicular to any pressure gradient present in the part for achieving a hermetic seal between the metal and the polymer,. However, Samant does disclose “the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations,” and additionally, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have oriented perpendicular to any pressure gradient present in the part for achieving a hermetic seal between the metal and the polymer as an changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts and because Samant discloses that “the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations”.
Claim(s) 21, 22, and 23 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samant (US 20240208164 A1), Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1) and Zhao (US 20160136928 A1).
As to claim 21, Samant discloses a method for joining dissimilar materials (see paragraph 0006, disclosing “Disclosed is a system and method for joining dissimilar materials”), comprising:
(a) etching (paragraph 0028, disclosing “A texture 14 is applied to a surface of the base material 1. Embodiments disclosed herein also describe methods to imprint the texture into the base material via squeezing, machining, pressing, forming, knurling, stamping, etching, forging, cutting, rolling, or other imprinting processes as known in the art.”) a predetermined micropattern into a surface of a first material, wherein the first material is a metal used for creating a part (paragraph 0021, disclosing “The base material can be metal, polymer, ceramic or any other material on which a texture could be applied”), and wherein the micropattern includes various microfeatures;
(b) characterizing the physical properties of the microfeatures (see paragraph 0030, disclosing “the texture may be provided with an average roughness depth that is capable of providing sufficient volume for the matrix material from the FRP to flow into the texture.”);
(c) characterizing a second material (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “FIG. 4 is a representation of a processing curve for a synthetic resin polymer which is usually chosen as the matrix material for the FRP.”), wherein the second material is a polymer used for creating a part (see paragraph 0022, disclosing “The resin can be polypropylene (PP), polyamide6 (PA6), polycarbonate (PC), polyetheretherketone (PEEK), polyaryletherketone (PAEK), or any other polymer material that meets the requirements of a matrix material.”), and wherein the characterization of the second material includes:
(i) measuring a degradation temperature of the polymer (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “glass transition temperature 24” and “a rubber state 25”. Figure 4 shows that these measurements have been obtained beforehand.); and
(ii) measuring a curing temperature of the polymer (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “the melting temperature 26”. Figure 4 shows that these measurements have been obtained beforehand. See also paragraph 0032, which discloses “After flowing into the textures, the matrix (in liquid form) is cooled back to room temperature 22 where it attains the final ordered or crystalline structure 29 due to solidification.”);
(e) flowing the polymer into the microfeatures to form a polymer-metal combination (paragraph 0028, disclosing “A texture 14 is applied to a surface of the base material 1. Embodiments disclosed herein also describe methods to imprint the texture into the base material via squeezing, machining, pressing, forming, knurling, stamping, etching, forging, cutting, rolling, or other imprinting processes as known in the art. The FRP 3 is then placed on top of the base material 14 and heated at a certain temperature for a specific amount of time to cause the polymer matrix to melt and flow into the textures.”); and
(e) applying gravitational or compressive force to the polymer-metal combination until the interface between the polymer and the metal has solidified and the materials have been joined (see paragraph 0025, disclosing “Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.” See paragraph 0031,disclosing “After flowing into the textures, the matrix (in liquid form) is cooled back to room temperature 22 where it attains the final ordered or crystalline structure 29 due to solidification. At the end of the process, a laminate is created that has the FRP joined to the base material. The final ordered or crystalline structure 29 provides the strength to the laminate 16.”).
Samant does not disclose (d) applying nanoparticles of tungsten carbide to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material.
Furukawa discloses the use of metallic nanoparticles to improve bond strength and therefore makes obvious (d) applying metallic nanoparticles to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material. See especially paragraph 0010-11 and 0032, disclosing:
[0010] The present inventors have found, after studying hard, that by the use of aggregates of metal nanoparticles, members can be joined with high strength. When a metal paste containing aggregates of metal nanoparticles is coated on a member, dried and burned, a plurality of aggregates gather and form voids between the aggregates. Since the solvent of the metal paste can evaporate through the formed voids, the remaining rate of the solvent in the joined part decreases and high joining strength can be achieved.
[0011] Such formation of the voids can be represented also as a shrinkage rate of the metal paste during drying and burning the metal paste. That is, when the metal paste is dried and burned, the metal paste shrinks since the solvent contained in the metal paste is removed. However, when voids are formed in the inside of the metal paste during drying and burning, the metal paste is apparently suppressed from shrinking. Therefore, when the metal paste having, small shrinkage rate during drying and burning is used, the remaining solvent becomes scarce, and the members can be joined with high strength.\
…
[0032] The aggregate of the metal nanoparticles is a secondary particle in which primary particles of the metal nanoparticles aggregated. An average particle size of the aggregates is 1 μm or more, preferably 1 to 5 μm, more preferably 1 to 3 μm and particularly preferably 1 to 2 μm. When the aggregates having such an average particle size are used, the joining strength of the member can further be improved.
Furukawa discloses that the materials to be joined can include metal and plastic. See paragraph 0062:
[0062] A kind of the members to be joined is not limited to particular one, and a metal material, a plastic material, and a ceramic material can be used. As the metal material, for example, a copper substrate, a gold substrate, and an aluminum substrate can be used. As the plastic material, for example, polyimide, polyethylene, polypropylene, polyethylene terephthalate, polycarbonate, and polyethylene naphthalate can be used. As the ceramic material, for example, glass and silicon can be used. Further, an electronic element can be used as the member. In particular, when the metal paste contains a refractory metal component, power device elements such as silicon carbide and gallium nitride can be used as the member.
Zhao address the problem of polymer to metal bonds. Zhao teaches in paragraph 0001 that “However, polymers normally do not form strong chemical bonds with metals.” Paragraphs 0025-28 suggest micro or nano size particles as well as using carbides such as tungsten carbide in order to serve as an interface for polymer-metal bonds. See paragraphs 0026-28, disclosing:
[0025] The binder used to make the carbon composites can be micro- or nano-sized. In an embodiment, the binder has an average particle size of about 0.05 to about 250 microns, about 0.05 to about 50 microns, about 1 micron to about 40 microns, specifically, about 0.5 to about 5 microns, more specifically about 0.1 to about 3 microns. Without wishing to be bound by theory, it is believed that when the binder has a size within these ranges, it disperses uniformly among the carbon microstructures.
[0026] When an interface layer is present, the binding phase comprises a binder layer comprising a binder and an interface layer bonding one of the at least two carbon microstructures to the binder layer. In an embodiment, the binding phase comprises a binder layer, a first interface layer bonding one of the carbon microstructures to the binder layer, and a second interface layer bonding the other of the microstructures to the binder layer. The first interface layer and the second interface layer can have the same or different compositions.
[0027] The interface layer comprises one or more of the following: a C-metal bond; a C—B bond; a C—Si bond; a C—O—Si bond; a C—O-metal bond; or a metal carbon solution. The bonds are formed from the carbon on the surface of the carbon microstructures and the binder.
[0028] In an embodiment, the interface layer comprises carbides of the binder. The carbides include one or more of the following: carbides of aluminum; carbides of titanium; carbides of nickel; carbides of tungsten; carbides of chromium; carbides of iron; carbides of manganese; carbides of zirconium; carbides of hafnium; carbides of vanadium; carbides of niobium; or carbides of molybdenum. These carbides are formed by reacting the corresponding metal or metal alloy binder with the carbon atoms of the carbon microstructures. The binding phase can also comprise SiC formed by reacting SiO.sub.2 or Si with the carbon of carbon microstructures, or B.sub.4C formed by reacting B or B.sub.2O.sub.3 with the carbon of the carbon microstructures. When a combination of binder materials is used, the interface layer can comprise a combination of these carbides. The carbides can be salt-like carbides such as aluminum carbide, covalent carbides such as SiC and B.sub.4C, interstitial carbides such as carbides of the group 4, 5, and 6 transition metals, or intermediate transition metal carbides, for example the carbides of Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, and Ni.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized (d) applying nanoparticles of tungsten carbide to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material as suggested by Furukawa and Zhao so that the joining strength of the member can further be improved and a polymer to metal bond can be achieved.
As to claim 22, Samant discloses wherein the predetermined micropattern includes a crosshatch pattern (“cross-hatches”), a herringbone pattern, a pattern of squares, a pattern of concentric squares, a pattern of circles (see Figure 6B, and “holes”), or a pattern of concentric circles (paragraph 0029, disclosing “concentric or non-concentric”). See paragraph 0029 and 0033, disclosing:
[0029] The texture 14 may have various configurations, and may be applied to base materials of any dimensions on either or both surfaces of the base material. For example, the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations.
…
[0033] FIGS. 6A, 6B, and 6C represent a few different types of texture that can be applied on the base material. The texture 30 includes a plurality of protruding or depressed pyramids, texture 31 includes a number of holes while texture 32 includes a series of parallel channels of a certain depth and width. However, the texture may be differently configured. For example, the texture may be symmetrical or asymmetrical. Moreover, the texture may be non-randomly distributed on the base material 1 or may instead be randomly distributed on the base material 1. As will be appreciated, the textured surface may be formed via various processes without departing from the present disclosure. For example, the textured surface may be formed via squeezing, machining, pressing, forming, knurling, stamping, etching, forging, cutting, rolling, or other imprinting processes as known in the art.
In any event, Samant, while disclosing a cross-hatch pattern as well as circle “hole” patterns and concentric shapes, does not explicitly disclose every pattern. However, Samant does disclose “the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations,” and additionally, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilize each and every claimed pattern of wherein the predetermined micropattern includes a crosshatch pattern, a herringbone pattern, a pattern of squares, a pattern of concentric squares, a pattern of circles, or a pattern of concentric circles as an changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts and because Samant discloses that “the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations”.
As to claim 23, Samant discloses wherein the predetermined micropattern includes parallel lines (“parallel lines”) oriented perpendicular to any pressure gradient present in the part for achieving a hermetic seal between the metal and the polymer. See paragraph 0029 and 0033, disclosing:
[0029] The texture 14 may have various configurations, and may be applied to base materials of any dimensions on either or both surfaces of the base material. For example, the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations.
…
[0033] FIGS. 6A, 6B, and 6C represent a few different types of texture that can be applied on the base material. The texture 30 includes a plurality of protruding or depressed pyramids, texture 31 includes a number of holes while texture 32 includes a series of parallel channels of a certain depth and width. However, the texture may be differently configured. For example, the texture may be symmetrical or asymmetrical. Moreover, the texture may be non-randomly distributed on the base material 1 or may instead be randomly distributed on the base material 1. As will be appreciated, the textured surface may be formed via various processes without departing from the present disclosure. For example, the textured surface may be formed via squeezing, machining, pressing, forming, knurling, stamping, etching, forging, cutting, rolling, or other imprinting processes as known in the art.
These perpendicular lines would be capable of achieving the hermetic seal property.
In any event, Samant, while disclosing parallel lines, does not explicitly disclose that the lines appear capable of being oriented perpendicular to any pressure gradient present in the part for achieving a hermetic seal between the metal and the polymer,. However, Samant does disclose “the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations,” and additionally, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have oriented perpendicular to any pressure gradient present in the part for achieving a hermetic seal between the metal and the polymer as an changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts and because Samant discloses that “the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations”.
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samant (US 20240208164 A1) and Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1)
As to claim 1, Samant discloses a method for joining dissimilar materials (see paragraph 0006, disclosing “Disclosed is a system and method for joining dissimilar materials”), comprising:
(a) etching (paragraph 0028, disclosing “A texture 14 is applied to a surface of the base material 1. Embodiments disclosed herein also describe methods to imprint the texture into the base material via squeezing, machining, pressing, forming, knurling, stamping, etching, forging, cutting, rolling, or other imprinting processes as known in the art.”) a predetermined micropattern (“texture”)into a surface of a first material, wherein the first material is a metal used for creating a part (paragraph 0021, disclosing “The base material can be metal, polymer, ceramic or any other material on which a texture could be applied”), and wherein the micropattern includes various microfeatures;
(b) characterizing the physical properties of the microfeatures (see paragraph 0030, disclosing “the texture may be provided with an average roughness depth that is capable of providing sufficient volume for the matrix material from the FRP to flow into the texture.”);
(c) characterizing a second material (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “FIG. 4 is a representation of a processing curve for a synthetic resin polymer which is usually chosen as the matrix material for the FRP.”), wherein the second material is a polymer used for creating a part (see paragraph 0022, disclosing “The resin can be polypropylene (PP), polyamide6 (PA6), polycarbonate (PC), polyetheretherketone (PEEK), polyaryletherketone (PAEK), or any other polymer material that meets the requirements of a matrix material.”), and wherein the characterization of the second material includes:
(i) measuring a degradation temperature of the polymer (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “glass transition temperature 24” and “a rubber state 25”. Figure 4 shows that these measurements have been obtained beforehand.); and
(ii) measuring a melting point/critical flow temperature of the polymer (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “the melting temperature 26”. Figure 4 shows that these measurements have been obtained beforehand.);
(e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures (“texture 14”) formed on the metal surface to form an interface between the polymer and the metal and to form a polymer-metal combination (paragraph 0028, disclosing “A texture 14 is applied to a surface of the base material 1. Embodiments disclosed herein also describe methods to imprint the texture into the base material via squeezing, machining, pressing, forming, knurling, stamping, etching, forging, cutting, rolling, or other imprinting processes as known in the art. The FRP 3 is then placed on top of the base material 14 and heated at a certain temperature for a specific amount of time to cause the polymer matrix to melt and flow into the textures.”);
(f) applying a predetermined amount of compressive force to the polymer-metal combination (see paragraph 0025, disclosing “Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.”);
(g) for a predetermined period of time, heating the interface (see paragraph 0025, disclosing “Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.”) to a temperature falling between the degradation temperature of the polymer and the melting point/critical flow temperature of the polymer (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “At room temperature 22, the matrix material is comprised of a combination of ordered or crystalline structure and disordered or amorphous structure (23). Once the temperature reaches glass transition temperature 24, the matrix turns into a rubber state 25. On further heating, the matrix reaches the melting temperature 26 and forms a low viscosity liquid 27 after it is held at the melting temperature for a certain period of time. At this stage of the process, the matrix material from the FRP in the liquid form flows into the texture applied on the surface of the base material.”);
(h) discontinuing heating the interface (see paragraph 0031,disclosing “After flowing into the textures, the matrix (in liquid form) is cooled back to room temperature 22 where it attains the final ordered or crystalline structure 29 due to solidification. At the end of the process, a laminate is created that has the FRP joined to the base material. The final ordered or crystalline structure 29 provides the strength to the laminate 16.” Additionally, see paragraph 0025, disclosing “Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.” The disclosure of the pressure and heat for a predetermined amount of time is a disclosure that the pressure and heat is ended after the predetermined amount of time expires); and
(i) continuing to apply compressive force to the polymer-metal combination until the interface between the polymer and the metal has solidified and the materials have been joined (see paragraph 0031,disclosing “After flowing into the textures, the matrix (in liquid form) is cooled back to room temperature 22 where it attains the final ordered or crystalline structure 29 due to solidification. At the end of the process, a laminate is created that has the FRP joined to the base material. The final ordered or crystalline structure 29 provides the strength to the laminate 16.”).
Samant does not disclose (d) applying metallic nanoparticles to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material, and therefore also does not disclose (e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures that include the metallic nanoparticle.
Furukawa discloses the use of metallic nanoparticles to improve bond strength and therefore makes obvious (d) applying metallic nanoparticles to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material, and therefore also does not disclose (e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures that include the metallic nanoparticle. See especially paragraph 0010-11 and 0032, disclosing:
[0010] The present inventors have found, after studying hard, that by the use of aggregates of metal nanoparticles, members can be joined with high strength. When a metal paste containing aggregates of metal nanoparticles is coated on a member, dried and burned, a plurality of aggregates gather and form voids between the aggregates. Since the solvent of the metal paste can evaporate through the formed voids, the remaining rate of the solvent in the joined part decreases and high joining strength can be achieved.
[0011] Such formation of the voids can be represented also as a shrinkage rate of the metal paste during drying and burning the metal paste. That is, when the metal paste is dried and burned, the metal paste shrinks since the solvent contained in the metal paste is removed. However, when voids are formed in the inside of the metal paste during drying and burning, the metal paste is apparently suppressed from shrinking. Therefore, when the metal paste having, small shrinkage rate during drying and burning is used, the remaining solvent becomes scarce, and the members can be joined with high strength.\
…
[0032] The aggregate of the metal nanoparticles is a secondary particle in which primary particles of the metal nanoparticles aggregated. An average particle size of the aggregates is 1 μm or more, preferably 1 to 5 μm, more preferably 1 to 3 μm and particularly preferably 1 to 2 μm. When the aggregates having such an average particle size are used, the joining strength of the member can further be improved.
Furukawa discloses that the materials to be joined can include metal and plastic. See paragraph 0062:
[0062] A kind of the members to be joined is not limited to particular one, and a metal material, a plastic material, and a ceramic material can be used. As the metal material, for example, a copper substrate, a gold substrate, and an aluminum substrate can be used. As the plastic material, for example, polyimide, polyethylene, polypropylene, polyethylene terephthalate, polycarbonate, and polyethylene naphthalate can be used. As the ceramic material, for example, glass and silicon can be used. Further, an electronic element can be used as the member. In particular, when the metal paste contains a refractory metal component, power device elements such as silicon carbide and gallium nitride can be used as the member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized (d) applying metallic nanoparticles to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material, and therefore also utilized (e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures that include the metallic nanoparticle as suggested by Furukawa so that the joining strength of the member can further be improved.
As to claim 3, Samant discloses wherein the predetermined micropattern includes a crosshatch pattern (“cross-hatches”), a herringbone pattern, a pattern of squares, a pattern of concentric squares, a pattern of circles (see Figure 6B), or a pattern of concentric circles (paragraph 0029, disclosing “concentric or non-concentric”). See paragraph 0029 and 0033, disclosing:
[0029] The texture 14 may have various configurations, and may be applied to base materials of any dimensions on either or both surfaces of the base material. For example, the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations.
…
[0033] FIGS. 6A, 6B, and 6C represent a few different types of texture that can be applied on the base material. The texture 30 includes a plurality of protruding or depressed pyramids, texture 31 includes a number of holes while texture 32 includes a series of parallel channels of a certain depth and width. However, the texture may be differently configured. For example, the texture may be symmetrical or asymmetrical. Moreover, the texture may be non-randomly distributed on the base material 1 or may instead be randomly distributed on the base material 1. As will be appreciated, the textured surface may be formed via various processes without departing from the present disclosure. For example, the textured surface may be formed via squeezing, machining, pressing, forming, knurling, stamping, etching, forging, cutting, rolling, or other imprinting processes as known in the art.
Further as to claim 3, Samant discloses wherein the predetermined micropattern includes parallel lines (“parallel lines”) oriented perpendicular to any pressure gradient present in the part. See paragraph 0029 and 0033, disclosing:
[0029] The texture 14 may have various configurations, and may be applied to base materials of any dimensions on either or both surfaces of the base material. For example, the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations.
…
[0033] FIGS. 6A, 6B, and 6C represent a few different types of texture that can be applied on the base material. The texture 30 includes a plurality of protruding or depressed pyramids, texture 31 includes a number of holes while texture 32 includes a series of parallel channels of a certain depth and width. However, the texture may be differently configured. For example, the texture may be symmetrical or asymmetrical. Moreover, the texture may be non-randomly distributed on the base material 1 or may instead be randomly distributed on the base material 1. As will be appreciated, the textured surface may be formed via various processes without departing from the present disclosure. For example, the textured surface may be formed via squeezing, machining, pressing, forming, knurling, stamping, etching, forging, cutting, rolling, or other imprinting processes as known in the art.
Samant, while disclosing a cross-hatch pattern as well as circle “hole” patterns and concentric shapes, does not explicitly disclose every pattern. However, Samant does disclose “the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations,” and additionally, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilize each and every claimed pattern of wherein the predetermined micropattern includes a crosshatch pattern, a herringbone pattern, a pattern of squares, a pattern of concentric squares, a pattern of circles, or a pattern of concentric circles; or wherein the predetermined micropattern includes parallel lines oriented perpendicular to any pressure gradient present in the part as an changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts and because Samant discloses that “the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations”.
As noted above, Samant discloses wherein the predetermined micropattern includes parallel lines (“parallel lines”) oriented perpendicular to any pressure gradient present in the part. See paragraph 0029 and 0033, disclosing:
[0029] The texture 14 may have various configurations, and may be applied to base materials of any dimensions on either or both surfaces of the base material. For example, the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations.
…
[0033] FIGS. 6A, 6B, and 6C represent a few different types of texture that can be applied on the base material. The texture 30 includes a plurality of protruding or depressed pyramids, texture 31 includes a number of holes while texture 32 includes a series of parallel channels of a certain depth and width. However, the texture may be differently configured. For example, the texture may be symmetrical or asymmetrical. Moreover, the texture may be non-randomly distributed on the base material 1 or may instead be randomly distributed on the base material 1. As will be appreciated, the textured surface may be formed via various processes without departing from the present disclosure. For example, the textured surface may be formed via squeezing, machining, pressing, forming, knurling, stamping, etching, forging, cutting, rolling, or other imprinting processes as known in the art.
Samant, while disclosing parallel lines, does not explicitly disclose that the lines appear capable of being oriented perpendicular to any pressure gradient present in the part. However, Samant does disclose “the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations,” and additionally, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have oriented perpendicular to any pressure gradient present in the part as an obvious changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts and because Samant discloses that “the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations”.
As to claim 8, Samant discloses further comprising using an induction coil to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal; or using direct thermal conduction (by use of a heated platen press); or using resistive, spin, vibration, or ultrasonic heating. See paragraph 0028, disclosing:
Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.
Claim(s) 2, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samant (US 20240208164 A1) and Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1) as applied to claims 1, 3, 8 above, and further in view of Jung (US 20200262173 A1).
As to claim 2, Samant does not disclose further comprising using a 100 W 1064 nm wavelength pulsed fiber laser to etch the predetermined micropattern into the surface of the first material.
Jung however discloses a method of joining different materials, similar to that in Samant, and also discloses further comprising using a 100 W 1064 nm wavelength pulsed fiber laser to etch the predetermined micropattern into the surface of the first material. See especially paragraph 0078 0087-88, disclosing:
[0078] According to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the first laser irradiated on the surface of the metal layer may form a pattern with a specific design on the surface of the metal, by being irradiated on the surface of the metal. According to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the first laser may be irradiated on the surface of the metal, so that the etching groove may be formed in a progress direction of the first laser.
…
[0087] According to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, a wavelength of the first laser may be 1,064 nm.
[0088] According to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, an output of the first layer may be 20 W or more and 200 W or less, 20 W or more and 100 W or less, 20 W or more and 50 W or less, or 20 W or more and 40 W or less.
…
[0099] Under the irradiation condition of the first laser, the ranges for a depth of the etching groove, a width of the entrance of the etching groove, a width of a center of the etching groove, a length of the burr, a height of the burr, and an angle range formed between the burr and the surface of the metal layer may be implemented, thereby increasing joining force between the metal layer and the resin layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising using a 100 W 1064 nm wavelength pulsed fiber laser to etch the predetermined micropattern into the surface of the first material as taught by Jung in order that under the irradiation condition of the first laser, the ranges for a depth of the etching groove, a width of the entrance of the etching groove, a width of a center of the etching groove, a length of the burr, a height of the burr, and an angle range formed between the burr and the surface of the metal layer may be implemented, thereby increasing joining force between the metal layer and the resin layer.
As to claim 6, Samant does not disclose further comprising using infrared heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal.
However, Jung however discloses a method of joining different materials, similar to that in Samant, and also discloses further comprising using infrared heating (see paragraph 0128, disclosing “the wavelength of the second laser may be one kind of wavelength selected from the group consisting of 808 nm, 830 nm, 880 nm, 915 nm, 940 nm, 915 nm, and 1,064 nm.”. The infrared range is from 700 nm and up) to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal. See especially paragraphs 0117-119 and 0125-131, disclosing:
[0117] FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating various forms in which the resin layer is joined to the surface of the etched metal layer by means of the irradiation of the second laser according to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention.
[0118] According to FIG. 3, FIG. 3A illustrates a state in which the resin layer is joined (laser transmission joining) to the metal layer by means of the irradiation of the second laser in the direction from the resin layer to the metal layer, so that the second laser penetrates the resin layer by focusing on the surface of the metal layer, which is in contact with the resin layer, and FIG. 3B illustrates a state in which the resin layer is joined (laser heat conduction joining) to the metal layer by means of the irradiation of the second laser, in the direction from the metal layer to the resin layer, by focusing on the opposite surface of the surface of the metal layer, which is in contact with the resin layer.
[0119] As described above, after the surface of the metal layer is etched by means of the irradiation of the first laser, the second laser needs to be emitted again so that the metal layer is joined to the resin layer, and an example of the method of the irradiation of the second laser may include the laser transmission joining and the laser heat conduction joining illustrated in FIG. 3.
…
[0125] Particularly, the method of melting the resin layer may be varied according to the irradiation direction of the second laser, and when the pulse laser is irradiated by the laser transmission joining (FIG. 3A), the second laser irradiated onto the resin layer penetrates the resin layer and the energy of the second laser is absorbed in the surface of the metal layer, the absorbed energy is converted to heat to melt the resin layer on an interface (a surface in which the metal layer is in contact with the resin layer), and then the melted resin layer is supplied to the surface of the metal layer, the etching groove, and the internal space of the burr shaped like a fence, so that the different materials are joined to each other.
[0126] Further, when the second laser is irradiated by the laser heat conduction joining (FIG. 3B), first, a laser beam emitted to the metal layer of which the surface is etched is absorbed in the metal layer, the absorbed energy is converted to heat to melt the resin layer on an interface (a surface in which the metal layer is in contact with the resin layer), and the melted resin layer is supplied to the surface of the metal layer, the etching groove, and the internal space of the burr shaped like a fence, so that the different materials are joined to each other.
[0127] As described above, when the different materials, such as the metal layer and the resin layer, are joined by any one method of the laser transmission joining method and the laser heat conduction joining method, joining strength is improved, and a local joining is available at a target position and a target area, so that efficiency is excellent.
[0128] According to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, a wavelength of the second laser may be a wavelength in a near-infrared ray region. Particularly, the wavelength of the second laser may be one kind of wavelength selected from the group consisting of 808 nm, 830 nm, 880 nm, 915 nm, 940 nm, 915 nm, and 1,064 nm.
…
[0134] When the method of joining the different materials according to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention is used, the resin layer on the interface between the metal layer and the resin layer is melted, so that the resin layer flows into the etching groove of the etched metal layer and the internal space of the burr shaped like the fence formed along the etching groove, as well as the surface of the metal layer, thereby achieving a more enhanced anchoring effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising using infrared heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal as taught by Jung so that the resin layer flows into the etching groove of the etched metal layer and the internal space of the burr shaped like the fence formed along the etching groove, as well as the surface of the metal layer, thereby achieving a more enhanced anchoring effect.
As to claim 7, Samant does not disclose further comprising using either direct laser heating or transmission laser heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal, wherein using transmission laser heating further includes shining a 1 µm wavelength continuous laser through the polymer to heat the metal surface at the interface between the polymer and the metal.
However, Jung however discloses a method of joining different materials, similar to that in Samant, and also discloses further comprising using either direct laser heating (“laser heat conduction joining”) or transmission laser heating (“laser transmission joining”) to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal, wherein using transmission laser heating further includes shining a 1 µm wavelength continuous laser (see paragraph 0128, disclosing “the wavelength of the second laser may be one kind of wavelength selected from the group consisting of 808 nm, 830 nm, 880 nm, 915 nm, 940 nm, 915 nm, and 1,064 nm.” 1000 nm is 1 µm, and therefore, Jung makes obvious shining a 1 µm wavelength continuous laser due to the disclosure of 808 nm, 830 nm, 880 nm, 915 nm, 940 nm, 915 nm, and 1,064 nm lasers) through the polymer to heat the metal surface at the interface between the polymer and the metal. See especially paragraphs 0117-119 and 0125-131, disclosing:
[0117] FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating various forms in which the resin layer is joined to the surface of the etched metal layer by means of the irradiation of the second laser according to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention.
[0118] According to FIG. 3, FIG. 3A illustrates a state in which the resin layer is joined (laser transmission joining) to the metal layer by means of the irradiation of the second laser in the direction from the resin layer to the metal layer, so that the second laser penetrates the resin layer by focusing on the surface of the metal layer, which is in contact with the resin layer, and FIG. 3B illustrates a state in which the resin layer is joined (laser heat conduction joining) to the metal layer by means of the irradiation of the second laser, in the direction from the metal layer to the resin layer, by focusing on the opposite surface of the surface of the metal layer, which is in contact with the resin layer.
[0119] As described above, after the surface of the metal layer is etched by means of the irradiation of the first laser, the second laser needs to be emitted again so that the metal layer is joined to the resin layer, and an example of the method of the irradiation of the second laser may include the laser transmission joining and the laser heat conduction joining illustrated in FIG. 3.
…
[0125] Particularly, the method of melting the resin layer may be varied according to the irradiation direction of the second laser, and when the pulse laser is irradiated by the laser transmission joining (FIG. 3A), the second laser irradiated onto the resin layer penetrates the resin layer and the energy of the second laser is absorbed in the surface of the metal layer, the absorbed energy is converted to heat to melt the resin layer on an interface (a surface in which the metal layer is in contact with the resin layer), and then the melted resin layer is supplied to the surface of the metal layer, the etching groove, and the internal space of the burr shaped like a fence, so that the different materials are joined to each other.
[0126] Further, when the second laser is irradiated by the laser heat conduction joining (FIG. 3B), first, a laser beam emitted to the metal layer of which the surface is etched is absorbed in the metal layer, the absorbed energy is converted to heat to melt the resin layer on an interface (a surface in which the metal layer is in contact with the resin layer), and the melted resin layer is supplied to the surface of the metal layer, the etching groove, and the internal space of the burr shaped like a fence, so that the different materials are joined to each other.
[0127] As described above, when the different materials, such as the metal layer and the resin layer, are joined by any one method of the laser transmission joining method and the laser heat conduction joining method, joining strength is improved, and a local joining is available at a target position and a target area, so that efficiency is excellent.
[0128] According to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, a wavelength of the second laser may be a wavelength in a near-infrared ray region. Particularly, the wavelength of the second laser may be one kind of wavelength selected from the group consisting of 808 nm, 830 nm, 880 nm, 915 nm, 940 nm, 915 nm, and 1,064 nm.
…
[0134] When the method of joining the different materials according to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention is used, the resin layer on the interface between the metal layer and the resin layer is melted, so that the resin layer flows into the etching groove of the etched metal layer and the internal space of the burr shaped like the fence formed along the etching groove, as well as the surface of the metal layer, thereby achieving a more enhanced anchoring effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising using either direct laser heating or transmission laser heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal, wherein using transmission laser heating further includes shining a 1 µm wavelength continuous laser through the polymer to heat the metal surface at the interface between the polymer and the metal as taught by Jung so that the resin layer flows into the etching groove of the etched metal layer and the internal space of the burr shaped like the fence formed along the etching groove, as well as the surface of the metal layer, thereby achieving a more enhanced anchoring effect.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samant (US 20240208164 A1) and Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1) as applied to claims 1, 3, 8 above, and further in view of Rau (US 5093403 A)
As to claim 4, Samant and Furukawa do not disclose wherein the metallic nanoparticles include tungsten carbide.
However, Rau makes obvious wherein the metallic nanoparticles include tungsten carbide. Rau is directed to inventions that “generally to the field of bonding polymeric materials to metal materials and particularly to bonding fluorinated polymers and polyether resins to metals, including ferrous-based metals.” See column 1, line 13. Rau teaches that carbides are preferred additives. See column 8, line 12, which discloses:
With respect to the ceramic powder of additive (D) above, this includes fine particle size, inorganic crystalline material A ceramic powder is characterized typically by its ability to be converted by sintering into a chemically inert material. Examples of ceramic powders that can be used as additive (D) above are: refractory carbides such as silicon carbide, tungsten carbide, molybdenum disilicide and boron nitride; metal oxides such as alumina, chromic oxide, powdered quartz, cerium oxide, silicon oxide, beryllia and zirconium oxide; silicon nitride, titanium diboride and aluminum diboride.
The ceramic powder can be in various forms, for example, in the form of regularly or irregularly shaped crystals, whisker fibers, long fibers, and platelets.
Metal carbide powders are a preferred additive for use in the present invention. The preferred carbides include silicon carbide, zirconium carbide, tungsten carbide and boron carbide, silicon carbide being most preferred.
A consideration in selecting the type of ceramic powder to be used is its resistance to the corrosive effects of the chemical material with which the resin composite material is to be used. It is believed that alpha silicon carbide is the most corrosive resistant type of ceramic powder available in respect to corrosive attack by a very broad range of chemical materials. Thus, it is highly preferred. In addition, silicon carbide is a low-cost material. However, for a variety of reasons, such as cost factors, etc., another type of ceramic powder may be selected.
Rau discloses the benefits of these ceramic powders, teaching in column 9 that:
In general, it has been observed, most notably in the use of ceramic powders, particularly with fluorocarbon resins, that bond strength between the coating and an underlying metal substrate increases with increased quantities of ceramic powder in the composition. On the other hand, resistance to corrosion by chemical attack is observed to be highest where relatively small amounts of ceramic powder are added to the resin, corrosion resistance being observed to decrease as amounts of ceramic powder in the resin are further increased.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the metallic nanoparticles include tungsten carbide as disclosed by Rau for the nanoparticles of Furukawa because bond strength between the coating and an underlying metal substrate increases with increased quantities of ceramic powder in the composition and resistance to corrosion by chemical attack is observed to be highest where relatively small amounts of ceramic powder are added.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samant (US 20240208164 A1) and Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1) as applied to claims 1, 3, 8 above, and further in view of Zhao (US 20160136928 A1)
As to claim 4, Samant and Furukawa do not disclose wherein the metallic nanoparticles include tungsten carbide.
Zhao address the problem of polymer to metal bonds. Zhao teaches in paragraph 0001 that “However, polymers normally do not form strong chemical bonds with metals.” Paragraphs 0025-28 suggest micro or nano size particles as well as using carbides such as tungsten carbide in order to serve as an interface for polymer-metal bonds. See paragraphs 0026-28, disclosing:
[0025] The binder used to make the carbon composites can be micro- or nano-sized. In an embodiment, the binder has an average particle size of about 0.05 to about 250 microns, about 0.05 to about 50 microns, about 1 micron to about 40 microns, specifically, about 0.5 to about 5 microns, more specifically about 0.1 to about 3 microns. Without wishing to be bound by theory, it is believed that when the binder has a size within these ranges, it disperses uniformly among the carbon microstructures.
[0026] When an interface layer is present, the binding phase comprises a binder layer comprising a binder and an interface layer bonding one of the at least two carbon microstructures to the binder layer. In an embodiment, the binding phase comprises a binder layer, a first interface layer bonding one of the carbon microstructures to the binder layer, and a second interface layer bonding the other of the microstructures to the binder layer. The first interface layer and the second interface layer can have the same or different compositions.
[0027] The interface layer comprises one or more of the following: a C-metal bond; a C—B bond; a C—Si bond; a C—O—Si bond; a C—O-metal bond; or a metal carbon solution. The bonds are formed from the carbon on the surface of the carbon microstructures and the binder.
[0028] In an embodiment, the interface layer comprises carbides of the binder. The carbides include one or more of the following: carbides of aluminum; carbides of titanium; carbides of nickel; carbides of tungsten; carbides of chromium; carbides of iron; carbides of manganese; carbides of zirconium; carbides of hafnium; carbides of vanadium; carbides of niobium; or carbides of molybdenum. These carbides are formed by reacting the corresponding metal or metal alloy binder with the carbon atoms of the carbon microstructures. The binding phase can also comprise SiC formed by reacting SiO.sub.2 or Si with the carbon of carbon microstructures, or B.sub.4C formed by reacting B or B.sub.2O.sub.3 with the carbon of the carbon microstructures. When a combination of binder materials is used, the interface layer can comprise a combination of these carbides. The carbides can be salt-like carbides such as aluminum carbide, covalent carbides such as SiC and B.sub.4C, interstitial carbides such as carbides of the group 4, 5, and 6 transition metals, or intermediate transition metal carbides, for example the carbides of Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, and Ni.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the metallic nanoparticles include tungsten carbide as disclosed by Zhao for the nanoparticles of Furukawa so that the joining strength of the member can further be improved and a polymer to metal bond can be achieved.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samant (US 20240208164 A1) and Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1) as applied to claims 1, 3, and 8 above, and further in view of Yamaguchi (WO 2023095869 A1, English equivalent available as US 20250033341 A1).
As to claim 5, Samant does not disclose further comprising using thermogravimetric analysis to measure the degradation temperature of the polymer and using differential scanning calorimetry to measure the melting point/critical flow temperature of the polymer.
However, Yamaguchi however discloses a method of joining different materials (paragraph 0017, disclosing “According to these inventions, difficult-to-melt polyimide films that have not undergone chemical modification such as introduction of thermoplastic segments can be directly bonded to each other, without using any adhesive agent, fixing metal part, or the like.”), similar to that in Samant, and also discloses further comprising using thermogravimetric analysis to measure the degradation temperature of the polymer and using differential scanning calorimetry to measure the melting point/critical flow temperature of the polymer.
See paragraphs 0019, 0026, and 0062-64, disclosing:
[0019] According to this film bonding device, polyimide films can be directly bonded to each other without using any adhesive agent, fixing metal part, or the like. In addition, difficult-to-melt polyimide films that have not undergone chemical modification such as introduction of thermoplastic segments can be directly bonded to each other.
…
[0026] The present invention can provide a bonding method and a bonding device that enable direct bonding of one or more difficult-to-melt polyimide films without using any adhesive agent, fixing metal part or the like, and also to provide a bonded structure having a polyimide film bonding part.
…
[0062] Although the bonding method according to the present invention may also be applied to polyimide films other than the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s), the bonding method according to the present invention is particularly applied to the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s). As for the physical properties of the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s), the melting point and the thermal decomposition temperature are both 400° C. or higher, and the melting point and the thermal decomposition temperature are close or identical to each other.
[0063] The bonding method according to the present invention is applied to the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s) each having a glass transition temperature of preferably from not lower than 200° C. to not higher than 450° C., more preferably from not lower than 220° C. to not higher than 450° C., and particularly preferably from not lower than 250° C. to not higher than 420° C. The glass transition temperature of the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s) is measured by differential scanning calorimetry (DSC).
[0064] The bonding method according to the present invention is applied to the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s) each having a thermal decomposition temperature of preferably 550° C. or higher, more preferably 580° C. or higher, and particularly preferably 600° C. or higher. To be more specific, the thermal decomposition temperature is preferably from not lower than 550° C. to not higher than 900° C., more preferably from not lower than 580° C. to not higher than 850° C., and particularly preferably from not lower than 600° C. to not higher than 800° C. The thermal decomposition temperature of the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s) is measured by thermogravimetric analysis (PGA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising using thermogravimetric analysis to measure the degradation temperature of the polymer and using differential scanning calorimetry to measure the melting point/critical flow temperature of the polymer as taught by Yamaguchi in order to enable direct bonding of one or more difficult-to-melt polyimide films without using any adhesive agent, fixing metal part or the like, and also to provide a bonded structure having a polyimide film bonding part.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samant (US 20240208164 A1) and Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1) as applied to claims 1, 3, and 8 above, and further in view of Weber (US 20060000812 A1).
As to claim 6, Samant does not disclose further comprising using infrared heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal.
However, Weber however discloses a method of joining different materials (paragraph 0047, disclosing “Additionally an aspect of the present invention may be used to bond polymeric materials to non-polymeric materials such as metals, for example, stainless steel as well as other non-polymeric materials such as ceramics and glasses.”), similar to that in Samant, and also discloses further comprising using infrared heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal. See paragraph 0056, disclosing “ND:YAG lasers having a wavelength of about 1 micron may be used.”; See paragraph 0057, disclosing “Preferably, laser energy having a wavelength in the far infrared range of about 10.6 microns is used. Generally, polymeric materials used for dilatation balloon catheters are highly absorptive of energy at this wavelength and most of the radiation is absorbed within a few millimeters from the surface.” See also paragraph 0060, disclosing “Also as described below, the fusion zone 26 emits infrared radiation 28 as illustrated in FIG. 1.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising using infrared heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal as taught by Weber in order bond polymeric materials that are highly absorptive of energy at this wavelength and most of the radiation is absorbed within a few millimeters from the surface.
Claim(s) 8 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samant (US 20240208164 A1) and Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1) as applied to claims 1, 3, 8, 9 above, and further in view of Racineux (US 20180050496 A1) and Wise (EP 0495655 A1).
As to claim 8, Samant discloses further comprising using an induction coil to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal; or using direct thermal conduction (by use of a heated platen press); or using resistive, spin, vibration, or ultrasonic heating. See paragraph 0028, disclosing:
Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.
Samant, however, does not suggest the alternative of using an induction coil to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal, or using resistive, spin, vibration, or ultrasonic heating.
However, Racineux discloses a method of joining different materials (paragraph 0002, disclosing “The present invention relates to the assembly of two parts, i.e. a part made of a metal material and a part made of an organic-matrix composite material.”), similar to that in Samant, and also discloses using an induction coil to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal. See paragraphs 0166-172, disclosing:
[0166] A welding cycle, conventional per se, may be summarized by the 6 following steps: [0167] a charger is power supplied by an electrical energy grid; [0168] the electric energy is then stored in condensers as an electrostatic energy, the stored energy being progressively increased via the charging voltage controlled by an energy control unit; [0169] when the defined threshold of the charging voltage is reached, a spark-gap (or discharger) discharges very rapidly the electrostatic energy of the condensers into an inductor 71 (during this discharge, whose duration is of the order of about one hundred of ρs, extremely high electrical currents of the order of a few hundreds of kA are generated); [0170] the circulation of this high current through the inductor 71 generates very abruptly a magnetic induction field in the coil; there is transformation of electrostatic energy into magnetic energy; the thus-created magnetic field may have a great amplitude (of the order of several tenths of tesla); it is highly variable over time, hence generates in the metal part 1 to be welded induced currents also called “Foucault currents”; [0171] the interaction between the primary magnetic field created by the coil and the currents induced in the metal part 1 generates significant forces of magnetic origin, forces acting mechanically on the metal part 1 in which circulate the Foucault currents; [0172] these magnetic forces transform very abruptly the magnetic energy into a mechanical energy acting radially on the portion to be projected 15 of the metal part 1 and/or on the exposed portion 51 of the metal insert 5, for the propulsion thereof onto the other part (the composite part 2 and the metal part 1, respectively), held fixed.
Additionally, Wise, which is also discloses “This invention relates to a method of joining members, particularly but not exclusively comprising dissimilar materials.”, further discloses that “The joining step may comprise any suitable plastics joining technique, for example, hot gas welding, vibration welding, ultrasonic welding, spin welding, microwave welding, resistance implant welding, dielectric welding, adhesive bonding, induction welding, extrusion welding or solvent welding.” Thus, Wise also discloses using induction to heat the interface, and further teaches that resistive, spin, vibration or ultrasonic as an alternative to induction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the alternative of using an induction coil to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal as taught by Racineux and Wise because these magnetic forces transform very abruptly the magnetic energy into a mechanical energy acting radially on the portion to be projected 15 of the metal part 1 and/or on the exposed portion 51 of the metal insert 5, for the propulsion thereof onto the other part (the composite part 2 and the metal part 1, respectively), held fixed and additionally using resistive, spin, vibration, or ultrasonic heating as an known substitution of induction.
Claim(s) 10, 11, 12, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samant (US 20240208164 A1), Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1) and Jung (US 20200262173 A1).
As to claim 10,Samant discloses a method for joining dissimilar materials (see paragraph 0006, disclosing “Disclosed is a system and method for joining dissimilar materials”), comprising:
(a) etching (paragraph 0028, disclosing “A texture 14 is applied to a surface of the base material 1. Embodiments disclosed herein also describe methods to imprint the texture into the base material via squeezing, machining, pressing, forming, knurling, stamping, etching, forging, cutting, rolling, or other imprinting processes as known in the art.”) a predetermined micropattern (“texture”)into a surface of a first material, wherein the first material is a metal used for creating a part (paragraph 0021, disclosing “The base material can be metal, polymer, ceramic or any other material on which a texture could be applied”), and wherein the micropattern includes various microfeatures;
(b) characterizing the physical properties of the microfeatures (see paragraph 0030, disclosing “the texture may be provided with an average roughness depth that is capable of providing sufficient volume for the matrix material from the FRP to flow into the texture.”);
(c) characterizing a second material (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “FIG. 4 is a representation of a processing curve for a synthetic resin polymer which is usually chosen as the matrix material for the FRP.”), wherein the second material is a polymer used for creating a part (see paragraph 0022, disclosing “The resin can be polypropylene (PP), polyamide6 (PA6), polycarbonate (PC), polyetheretherketone (PEEK), polyaryletherketone (PAEK), or any other polymer material that meets the requirements of a matrix material.”), and wherein the characterization of the second material includes:
(i) measuring a degradation temperature of the polymer (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “glass transition temperature 24” and “a rubber state 25”. Figure 4 shows that these measurements have been obtained beforehand.); and
(ii) measuring a melting point/critical flow temperature of the polymer (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “the melting temperature 26”. Figure 4 shows that these measurements have been obtained beforehand.);
(e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures (“texture 14”) formed on the metal surface to form an interface between the polymer and the metal and to form a polymer-metal combination (paragraph 0028, disclosing “A texture 14 is applied to a surface of the base material 1. Embodiments disclosed herein also describe methods to imprint the texture into the base material via squeezing, machining, pressing, forming, knurling, stamping, etching, forging, cutting, rolling, or other imprinting processes as known in the art. The FRP 3 is then placed on top of the base material 14 and heated at a certain temperature for a specific amount of time to cause the polymer matrix to melt and flow into the textures.”);
(f) applying a predetermined amount of compressive force to the polymer-metal combination (see paragraph 0025, disclosing “Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.”);
(g) for a predetermined period of time, heating the interface (see paragraph 0025, disclosing “Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.”) to a temperature falling between the degradation temperature of the polymer and the melting point/critical flow temperature of the polymer (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “At room temperature 22, the matrix material is comprised of a combination of ordered or crystalline structure and disordered or amorphous structure (23). Once the temperature reaches glass transition temperature 24, the matrix turns into a rubber state 25. On further heating, the matrix reaches the melting temperature 26 and forms a low viscosity liquid 27 after it is held at the melting temperature for a certain period of time. At this stage of the process, the matrix material from the FRP in the liquid form flows into the texture applied on the surface of the base material.”);
(h) discontinuing heating the interface (see paragraph 0031,disclosing “After flowing into the textures, the matrix (in liquid form) is cooled back to room temperature 22 where it attains the final ordered or crystalline structure 29 due to solidification. At the end of the process, a laminate is created that has the FRP joined to the base material. The final ordered or crystalline structure 29 provides the strength to the laminate 16.”; additionally, see paragraph 0025, disclosing “Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.” The disclosure of the pressure and heat for a predetermined amount of time is a disclosure that the pressure and heat is ended after the predetermined amount of time expires);
(i) continuing to apply compressive force to the polymer-metal combination until the interface between the polymer and the metal has solidified and the materials have been joined (see paragraph 0031,disclosing “After flowing into the textures, the matrix (in liquid form) is cooled back to room temperature 22 where it attains the final ordered or crystalline structure 29 due to solidification. At the end of the process, a laminate is created that has the FRP joined to the base material. The final ordered or crystalline structure 29 provides the strength to the laminate 16.”) and
(j) discontinuing application of the compressive force (see paragraph 0025, disclosing “Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.” The disclosure of the pressure and heat for a predetermined amount of time is a disclosure that the pressure and heat is ended after the predetermined amount of time expires).
Samant, however, does not disclose that etching a predetermined micropattern into a surface of a first material is laser etching a predetermined micropattern into a surface of a first material.
Jung however discloses a method of joining different materials, similar to that in Samant, and also discloses that etching a predetermined micropattern into a surface of a first material is laser etching a predetermined micropattern into a surface of a first material. See especially paragraph 0078 and 0099, disclosing:
[0078] According to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the first laser irradiated on the surface of the metal layer may form a pattern with a specific design on the surface of the metal, by being irradiated on the surface of the metal. According to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the first laser may be irradiated on the surface of the metal, so that the etching groove may be formed in a progress direction of the first laser.
…
[0099] Under the irradiation condition of the first laser, the ranges for a depth of the etching groove, a width of the entrance of the etching groove, a width of a center of the etching groove, a length of the burr, a height of the burr, and an angle range formed between the burr and the surface of the metal layer may be implemented, thereby increasing joining force between the metal layer and the resin layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized laser etching a predetermined micropattern into a surface of a first material as taught by Jung in order that under the irradiation condition of the first laser, the ranges for a depth of the etching groove, a width of the entrance of the etching groove, a width of a center of the etching groove, a length of the burr, a height of the burr, and an angle range formed between the burr and the surface of the metal layer may be implemented, thereby increasing joining force between the metal layer and the resin layer.
Samant does not disclose (d) applying metallic nanoparticles to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material, and therefore also does not disclose (e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures that include the metallic nanoparticle.
Furukawa discloses the use of metallic nanoparticles to improve bond strength and therefore makes obvious (d) applying metallic nanoparticles to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material, and therefore also does not disclose (e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures that include the metallic nanoparticle. See especially paragraph 0010-11 and 0032, disclosing:
[0010] The present inventors have found, after studying hard, that by the use of aggregates of metal nanoparticles, members can be joined with high strength. When a metal paste containing aggregates of metal nanoparticles is coated on a member, dried and burned, a plurality of aggregates gather and form voids between the aggregates. Since the solvent of the metal paste can evaporate through the formed voids, the remaining rate of the solvent in the joined part decreases and high joining strength can be achieved.
[0011] Such formation of the voids can be represented also as a shrinkage rate of the metal paste during drying and burning the metal paste. That is, when the metal paste is dried and burned, the metal paste shrinks since the solvent contained in the metal paste is removed. However, when voids are formed in the inside of the metal paste during drying and burning, the metal paste is apparently suppressed from shrinking. Therefore, when the metal paste having, small shrinkage rate during drying and burning is used, the remaining solvent becomes scarce, and the members can be joined with high strength.\
…
[0032] The aggregate of the metal nanoparticles is a secondary particle in which primary particles of the metal nanoparticles aggregated. An average particle size of the aggregates is 1 μm or more, preferably 1 to 5 μm, more preferably 1 to 3 μm and particularly preferably 1 to 2 μm. When the aggregates having such an average particle size are used, the joining strength of the member can further be improved.
Furukawa discloses that the materials to be joined can include metal and plastic. See paragraph 0062:
[0062] A kind of the members to be joined is not limited to particular one, and a metal material, a plastic material, and a ceramic material can be used. As the metal material, for example, a copper substrate, a gold substrate, and an aluminum substrate can be used. As the plastic material, for example, polyimide, polyethylene, polypropylene, polyethylene terephthalate, polycarbonate, and polyethylene naphthalate can be used. As the ceramic material, for example, glass and silicon can be used. Further, an electronic element can be used as the member. In particular, when the metal paste contains a refractory metal component, power device elements such as silicon carbide and gallium nitride can be used as the member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized (d) applying metallic nanoparticles to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material, and therefore also utilized (e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures that include the metallic nanoparticle as suggested by Furukawa so that the joining strength of the member can further be improved.
As to claim 11, Samant does not disclose further comprising using a 100 W 1064 nm wavelength pulsed fiber laser to etch the predetermined micropattern into the surface of the first material.
Jung however discloses a method of joining different materials, similar to that in Samant, and also discloses further comprising using a 100 W 1064 nm wavelength pulsed fiber laser to etch the predetermined micropattern into the surface of the first material. See especially paragraph 0078 and 0087-88 and 0099, disclosing:
[0078] According to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the first laser irradiated on the surface of the metal layer may form a pattern with a specific design on the surface of the metal, by being irradiated on the surface of the metal. According to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the first laser may be irradiated on the surface of the metal, so that the etching groove may be formed in a progress direction of the first laser.
…
[0087] According to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, a wavelength of the first laser may be 1,064 nm.
[0088] According to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, an output of the first layer may be 20 W or more and 200 W or less, 20 W or more and 100 W or less, 20 W or more and 50 W or less, or 20 W or more and 40 W or less.
…
[0099] Under the irradiation condition of the first laser, the ranges for a depth of the etching groove, a width of the entrance of the etching groove, a width of a center of the etching groove, a length of the burr, a height of the burr, and an angle range formed between the burr and the surface of the metal layer may be implemented, thereby increasing joining force between the metal layer and the resin layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising using a 100 W 1064 nm wavelength pulsed fiber laser to etch the predetermined micropattern into the surface of the first material as taught by Jung in order that under the irradiation condition of the first laser, the ranges for a depth of the etching groove, a width of the entrance of the etching groove, a width of a center of the etching groove, a length of the burr, a height of the burr, and an angle range formed between the burr and the surface of the metal layer may be implemented, thereby increasing joining force between the metal layer and the resin layer.
As to claim 12, Samant discloses wherein the predetermined micropattern includes a crosshatch pattern (“cross-hatches”), a herringbone pattern, a pattern of squares, a pattern of concentric squares, a pattern of circles (see Figure 6B), or a pattern of concentric circles (paragraph 0029, disclosing “concentric or non-concentric”); or parallel lines (“parallel or non-parallel lines) oriented perpendicular to any pressure gradient present in the part for achieving a hermetic seal between the metal and the polymer. See paragraph 0029 and 0033, disclosing:
[0029] The texture 14 may have various configurations, and may be applied to base materials of any dimensions on either or both surfaces of the base material. For example, the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations.
…
[0033] FIGS. 6A, 6B, and 6C represent a few different types of texture that can be applied on the base material. The texture 30 includes a plurality of protruding or depressed pyramids, texture 31 includes a number of holes while texture 32 includes a series of parallel channels of a certain depth and width. However, the texture may be differently configured. For example, the texture may be symmetrical or asymmetrical. Moreover, the texture may be non-randomly distributed on the base material 1 or may instead be randomly distributed on the base material 1. As will be appreciated, the textured surface may be formed via various processes without departing from the present disclosure. For example, the textured surface may be formed via squeezing, machining, pressing, forming, knurling, stamping, etching, forging, cutting, rolling, or other imprinting processes as known in the art.
These perpendicular lines would be capable of achieving the hermetic seal property.
Samant, while disclosing parallel lines, cross hatches, and circles, does not explicitly disclose each and every limitation of the alternatives of wherein the predetermined micropattern includes a crosshatch pattern, a herringbone pattern, a pattern of squares, a pattern of concentric squares, a pattern of circles, or a pattern of concentric circles; or parallel lines oriented perpendicular to any pressure gradient present in the part for achieving a hermetic seal between the metal and the polymer. However, Samant does disclose “the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations,” and additionally, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilizes wherein the predetermined micropattern includes a crosshatch pattern, a herringbone pattern, a pattern of squares, a pattern of concentric squares, a pattern of circles, or a pattern of concentric circles; or parallel lines oriented perpendicular to any pressure gradient present in the part for achieving a hermetic seal between the metal and the polymer as an changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts and because Samant discloses that “the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations”.
As to claim 14, Samant discloses one of the limitations of using either infrared heating or an induction coil to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal; or using direct thermal conduction (via a heated platen press); or using resistive, spin, vibration, or ultrasonic heating. See paragraph 0028, disclosing:
Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.
Samant does not disclose further comprising using infrared heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal.
However, Jung however discloses a method of joining different materials, similar to that in Samant, and also discloses further comprising using infrared heating (see paragraph 0128, disclosing “the wavelength of the second laser may be one kind of wavelength selected from the group consisting of 808 nm, 830 nm, 880 nm, 915 nm, 940 nm, 915 nm, and 1,064 nm.”. The infrared range is from 700 nm and up) to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal. See especially paragraphs 0117-119 and 0125-131, disclosing:
[0117] FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating various forms in which the resin layer is joined to the surface of the etched metal layer by means of the irradiation of the second laser according to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention.
[0118] According to FIG. 3, FIG. 3A illustrates a state in which the resin layer is joined (laser transmission joining) to the metal layer by means of the irradiation of the second laser in the direction from the resin layer to the metal layer, so that the second laser penetrates the resin layer by focusing on the surface of the metal layer, which is in contact with the resin layer, and FIG. 3B illustrates a state in which the resin layer is joined (laser heat conduction joining) to the metal layer by means of the irradiation of the second laser, in the direction from the metal layer to the resin layer, by focusing on the opposite surface of the surface of the metal layer, which is in contact with the resin layer.
[0119] As described above, after the surface of the metal layer is etched by means of the irradiation of the first laser, the second laser needs to be emitted again so that the metal layer is joined to the resin layer, and an example of the method of the irradiation of the second laser may include the laser transmission joining and the laser heat conduction joining illustrated in FIG. 3.
…
[0125] Particularly, the method of melting the resin layer may be varied according to the irradiation direction of the second laser, and when the pulse laser is irradiated by the laser transmission joining (FIG. 3A), the second laser irradiated onto the resin layer penetrates the resin layer and the energy of the second laser is absorbed in the surface of the metal layer, the absorbed energy is converted to heat to melt the resin layer on an interface (a surface in which the metal layer is in contact with the resin layer), and then the melted resin layer is supplied to the surface of the metal layer, the etching groove, and the internal space of the burr shaped like a fence, so that the different materials are joined to each other.
[0126] Further, when the second laser is irradiated by the laser heat conduction joining (FIG. 3B), first, a laser beam emitted to the metal layer of which the surface is etched is absorbed in the metal layer, the absorbed energy is converted to heat to melt the resin layer on an interface (a surface in which the metal layer is in contact with the resin layer), and the melted resin layer is supplied to the surface of the metal layer, the etching groove, and the internal space of the burr shaped like a fence, so that the different materials are joined to each other.
[0127] As described above, when the different materials, such as the metal layer and the resin layer, are joined by any one method of the laser transmission joining method and the laser heat conduction joining method, joining strength is improved, and a local joining is available at a target position and a target area, so that efficiency is excellent.
[0128] According to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, a wavelength of the second laser may be a wavelength in a near-infrared ray region. Particularly, the wavelength of the second laser may be one kind of wavelength selected from the group consisting of 808 nm, 830 nm, 880 nm, 915 nm, 940 nm, 915 nm, and 1,064 nm.
…
[0134] When the method of joining the different materials according to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention is used, the resin layer on the interface between the metal layer and the resin layer is melted, so that the resin layer flows into the etching groove of the etched metal layer and the internal space of the burr shaped like the fence formed along the etching groove, as well as the surface of the metal layer, thereby achieving a more enhanced anchoring effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising using infrared heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal as taught by Jung so that the resin layer flows into the etching groove of the etched metal layer and the internal space of the burr shaped like the fence formed along the etching groove, as well as the surface of the metal layer, thereby achieving a more enhanced anchoring effect.
As to claim 15, Samant does not disclose further comprising using either direct laser heating or transmission laser heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal, wherein using transmission laser heating further includes shining a 1 µm wavelength continuous laser through the polymer to heat the metal surface at the interface between the polymer and the metal.
However, Jung however discloses a method of joining different materials, similar to that in Samant, and also discloses further comprising using either direct laser heating (“laser heat conduction joining”) or transmission laser heating (“laser transmission joining”) to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal, wherein using transmission laser heating further includes shining a 1 µm wavelength continuous laser (“the wavelength of the second laser may be one kind of wavelength selected from the group consisting of 808 nm, 830 nm, 880 nm, 915 nm, 940 nm, 915 nm, and 1,064 nm.” 1004 nm is 1 µm, and therefore, Jung makes obvious shining a 1 µm wavelength continuous laser due to the disclosure of 808 nm, 830 nm, 880 nm, 915 nm, 940 nm, 915 nm, and 1,064 nm lasers) through the polymer to heat the metal surface at the interface between the polymer and the metal. See especially paragraphs 0117-119 and 0125-131, disclosing:
[0117] FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating various forms in which the resin layer is joined to the surface of the etched metal layer by means of the irradiation of the second laser according to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention.
[0118] According to FIG. 3, FIG. 3A illustrates a state in which the resin layer is joined (laser transmission joining) to the metal layer by means of the irradiation of the second laser in the direction from the resin layer to the metal layer, so that the second laser penetrates the resin layer by focusing on the surface of the metal layer, which is in contact with the resin layer, and FIG. 3B illustrates a state in which the resin layer is joined (laser heat conduction joining) to the metal layer by means of the irradiation of the second laser, in the direction from the metal layer to the resin layer, by focusing on the opposite surface of the surface of the metal layer, which is in contact with the resin layer.
[0119] As described above, after the surface of the metal layer is etched by means of the irradiation of the first laser, the second laser needs to be emitted again so that the metal layer is joined to the resin layer, and an example of the method of the irradiation of the second laser may include the laser transmission joining and the laser heat conduction joining illustrated in FIG. 3.
…
[0125] Particularly, the method of melting the resin layer may be varied according to the irradiation direction of the second laser, and when the pulse laser is irradiated by the laser transmission joining (FIG. 3A), the second laser irradiated onto the resin layer penetrates the resin layer and the energy of the second laser is absorbed in the surface of the metal layer, the absorbed energy is converted to heat to melt the resin layer on an interface (a surface in which the metal layer is in contact with the resin layer), and then the melted resin layer is supplied to the surface of the metal layer, the etching groove, and the internal space of the burr shaped like a fence, so that the different materials are joined to each other.
[0126] Further, when the second laser is irradiated by the laser heat conduction joining (FIG. 3B), first, a laser beam emitted to the metal layer of which the surface is etched is absorbed in the metal layer, the absorbed energy is converted to heat to melt the resin layer on an interface (a surface in which the metal layer is in contact with the resin layer), and the melted resin layer is supplied to the surface of the metal layer, the etching groove, and the internal space of the burr shaped like a fence, so that the different materials are joined to each other.
[0127] As described above, when the different materials, such as the metal layer and the resin layer, are joined by any one method of the laser transmission joining method and the laser heat conduction joining method, joining strength is improved, and a local joining is available at a target position and a target area, so that efficiency is excellent.
[0128] According to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, a wavelength of the second laser may be a wavelength in a near-infrared ray region. Particularly, the wavelength of the second laser may be one kind of wavelength selected from the group consisting of 808 nm, 830 nm, 880 nm, 915 nm, 940 nm, 915 nm, and 1,064 nm.
…
[0134] When the method of joining the different materials according to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention is used, the resin layer on the interface between the metal layer and the resin layer is melted, so that the resin layer flows into the etching groove of the etched metal layer and the internal space of the burr shaped like the fence formed along the etching groove, as well as the surface of the metal layer, thereby achieving a more enhanced anchoring effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising using either direct laser heating or transmission laser heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal, wherein using transmission laser heating further includes shining a 1 µm wavelength continuous laser through the polymer to heat the metal surface at the interface between the polymer and the metal as taught by Jung so that the resin layer flows into the etching groove of the etched metal layer and the internal space of the burr shaped like the fence formed along the etching groove, as well as the surface of the metal layer, thereby achieving a more enhanced anchoring effect.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samant (US 20240208164 A1) and Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1) and Jung (US 20200262173 A1) as applied to claims 10, 11, 12, 14, and 15 above, and further in view of Yamaguchi (WO 2023095869 A1, English equivalent available as US 20250033341 A1).
As to claim 13, Samant does not disclose further comprising using thermogravimetric analysis to measure the degradation temperature of the polymer and using differential scanning calorimetry to measure the melting point/critical flow temperature of the polymer.
However, Yamaguchi however discloses a method of joining different materials (paragraph 0017, disclosing “According to these inventions, difficult-to-melt polyimide films that have not undergone chemical modification such as introduction of thermoplastic segments can be directly bonded to each other, without using any adhesive agent, fixing metal part, or the like.”), similar to that in Samant, and also discloses further comprising using thermogravimetric analysis to measure the degradation temperature of the polymer and using differential scanning calorimetry to measure the melting point/critical flow temperature of the polymer.
See paragraphs 0019, 0026, and 0062-64, disclosing:
[0019] According to this film bonding device, polyimide films can be directly bonded to each other without using any adhesive agent, fixing metal part, or the like. In addition, difficult-to-melt polyimide films that have not undergone chemical modification such as introduction of thermoplastic segments can be directly bonded to each other.
…
[0026] The present invention can provide a bonding method and a bonding device that enable direct bonding of one or more difficult-to-melt polyimide films without using any adhesive agent, fixing metal part or the like, and also to provide a bonded structure having a polyimide film bonding part.
…
[0062] Although the bonding method according to the present invention may also be applied to polyimide films other than the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s), the bonding method according to the present invention is particularly applied to the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s). As for the physical properties of the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s), the melting point and the thermal decomposition temperature are both 400° C. or higher, and the melting point and the thermal decomposition temperature are close or identical to each other.
[0063] The bonding method according to the present invention is applied to the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s) each having a glass transition temperature of preferably from not lower than 200° C. to not higher than 450° C., more preferably from not lower than 220° C. to not higher than 450° C., and particularly preferably from not lower than 250° C. to not higher than 420° C. The glass transition temperature of the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s) is measured by differential scanning calorimetry (DSC).
[0064] The bonding method according to the present invention is applied to the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s) each having a thermal decomposition temperature of preferably 550° C. or higher, more preferably 580° C. or higher, and particularly preferably 600° C. or higher. To be more specific, the thermal decomposition temperature is preferably from not lower than 550° C. to not higher than 900° C., more preferably from not lower than 580° C. to not higher than 850° C., and particularly preferably from not lower than 600° C. to not higher than 800° C. The thermal decomposition temperature of the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s) is measured by thermogravimetric analysis (PGA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising using thermogravimetric analysis to measure the degradation temperature of the polymer and using differential scanning calorimetry to measure the melting point/critical flow temperature of the polymer as taught by Yamaguchi in order to enable direct bonding of one or more difficult-to-melt polyimide films without using any adhesive agent, fixing metal part or the like, and also to provide a bonded structure having a polyimide film bonding part.
Claim(s) 14 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samant (US 20240208164 A1) and Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1) and Jung (US 20200262173 A1) as applied to claims 10, 11, 12, 14, and 15 above, and further in view of and further in view of Weber (US 20060000812 A1).
As to claim 14, Samant does not disclose further comprising using infrared heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal. (Jung has been applied to disclose infrared heating)
However, Weber however discloses a method of joining different materials (paragraph 0047, disclosing “Additionally an aspect of the present invention may be used to bond polymeric materials to non-polymeric materials such as metals, for example, stainless steel as well as other non-polymeric materials such as ceramics and glasses.”), similar to that in Samant and Jung, and also discloses further comprising using infrared heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal over a broader infrared range. See paragraph 0056, disclosing “ND:YAG lasers having a wavelength of about 1 micron may be used.”; See paragraph 0057, disclosing “Preferably, laser energy having a wavelength in the far infrared range of about 10.6 microns is used. Generally, polymeric materials used for dilatation balloon catheters are highly absorptive of energy at this wavelength and most of the radiation is absorbed within a few millimeters from the surface.” See also paragraph 0060, disclosing “Also as described below, the fusion zone 26 emits infrared radiation 28 as illustrated in FIG. 1.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising using infrared heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal as taught by Weber in order bond polymeric materials that are highly absorptive of energy at this wavelength and most of the radiation is absorbed within a few millimeters from the surface.
Claim(s) 14 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samant (US 20240208164 A1) and Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1) and Jung (US 20200262173 A1) as applied to claims 10, 11, 12, 14, and 15 above, and further in view of Racineux (US 20180050496 A1) and Wise (EP 0495655 A1).
As to claim 14, as noted above, Samant discloses using direct thermal conduction (by use of a heated platen press).
See paragraph 0028, disclosing:
Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.
Samant, however, does not suggest the alternatives of using infrared heating or an induction coil to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal, or using resistive, spin, vibration, or ultrasonic heating. (Jung as applied above discloses and makes obvious infrared heating.)
However, Racineux discloses a method of joining different materials (paragraph 0002, disclosing “The present invention relates to the assembly of two parts, i.e. a part made of a metal material and a part made of an organic-matrix composite material.”), similar to that in Samant, and also discloses using an induction coil to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal. See paragraphs 0166-172, disclosing:
[0166] A welding cycle, conventional per se, may be summarized by the 6 following steps: [0167] a charger is power supplied by an electrical energy grid; [0168] the electric energy is then stored in condensers as an electrostatic energy, the stored energy being progressively increased via the charging voltage controlled by an energy control unit; [0169] when the defined threshold of the charging voltage is reached, a spark-gap (or discharger) discharges very rapidly the electrostatic energy of the condensers into an inductor 71 (during this discharge, whose duration is of the order of about one hundred of ρs, extremely high electrical currents of the order of a few hundreds of kA are generated); [0170] the circulation of this high current through the inductor 71 generates very abruptly a magnetic induction field in the coil; there is transformation of electrostatic energy into magnetic energy; the thus-created magnetic field may have a great amplitude (of the order of several tenths of tesla); it is highly variable over time, hence generates in the metal part 1 to be welded induced currents also called “Foucault currents”; [0171] the interaction between the primary magnetic field created by the coil and the currents induced in the metal part 1 generates significant forces of magnetic origin, forces acting mechanically on the metal part 1 in which circulate the Foucault currents; [0172] these magnetic forces transform very abruptly the magnetic energy into a mechanical energy acting radially on the portion to be projected 15 of the metal part 1 and/or on the exposed portion 51 of the metal insert 5, for the propulsion thereof onto the other part (the composite part 2 and the metal part 1, respectively), held fixed.
Additionally, Wise, which is also discloses “This invention relates to a method of joining members, particularly but not exclusively comprising dissimilar materials.”, further discloses that “The joining step may comprise any suitable plastics joining technique, for example, hot gas welding, vibration welding, ultrasonic welding, spin welding, microwave welding, resistance implant welding, dielectric welding, adhesive bonding, induction welding, extrusion welding or solvent welding.” Thus, Wise also discloses using induction to heat the interface, and further teaches that resistive, spin, vibration or ultrasonic as an alternative to induction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the alternative of using an induction coil to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal as taught by Racineux and Wise because these magnetic forces transform very abruptly the magnetic energy into a mechanical energy acting radially on the portion to be projected 15 of the metal part 1 and/or on the exposed portion 51 of the metal insert 5, for the propulsion thereof onto the other part (the composite part 2 and the metal part 1, respectively), held fixed and additionally using resistive, spin, vibration, or ultrasonic heating as an known substitution of induction.
Claim(s) 17, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samant (US 20240208164 A1), Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1), Rau (US 5093403 A), Jung (US 20200262173 A1) and Yamaguchi (WO 2023095869 A1, English equivalent available as US 20250033341 A1).
As to claim 17, Samant discloses a method for joining dissimilar materials (see paragraph 0006, disclosing “Disclosed is a system and method for joining dissimilar materials”), comprising:
(a) etching (paragraph 0028, disclosing “A texture 14 is applied to a surface of the base material 1. Embodiments disclosed herein also describe methods to imprint the texture into the base material via squeezing, machining, pressing, forming, knurling, stamping, etching, forging, cutting, rolling, or other imprinting processes as known in the art.”) a predetermined micropattern (“texture”) into a surface of a first material, wherein the first material is a metal used for creating a part (paragraph 0021, disclosing “The base material can be metal, polymer, ceramic or any other material on which a texture could be applied”), and wherein the micropattern includes various microfeatures;
(b) characterizing the physical properties of the microfeatures (see paragraph 0030, disclosing “the texture may be provided with an average roughness depth that is capable of providing sufficient volume for the matrix material from the FRP to flow into the texture.”);
(c) characterizing a second material (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “FIG. 4 is a representation of a processing curve for a synthetic resin polymer which is usually chosen as the matrix material for the FRP.”), wherein the second material is a polymer used for creating a part (see paragraph 0022, disclosing “The resin can be polypropylene (PP), polyamide6 (PA6), polycarbonate (PC), polyetheretherketone (PEEK), polyaryletherketone (PAEK), or any other polymer material that meets the requirements of a matrix material.”), and wherein the characterization of the second material includes:
(i) measuring a degradation temperature of the polymer (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “glass transition temperature 24” and “a rubber state 25”. Figure 4 shows that these measurements have been obtained beforehand.); and
(ii) measuring a melting point/critical flow temperature of the polymer (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “the melting temperature 26”. Figure 4 shows that these measurements have been obtained beforehand.);
(e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures (“texture 14”) formed on the metal surface to form an interface between the polymer and the metal and to form a polymer-metal combination (paragraph 0028, disclosing “A texture 14 is applied to a surface of the base material 1. Embodiments disclosed herein also describe methods to imprint the texture into the base material via squeezing, machining, pressing, forming, knurling, stamping, etching, forging, cutting, rolling, or other imprinting processes as known in the art. The FRP 3 is then placed on top of the base material 14 and heated at a certain temperature for a specific amount of time to cause the polymer matrix to melt and flow into the textures.”);
(f) applying a predetermined amount of compressive force to the polymer-metal combination (see paragraph 0025, disclosing “Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.”);
(g) for a predetermined period of time, heating the interface (see paragraph 0025, disclosing “Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.”) to a temperature falling between the degradation temperature of the polymer and the melting point/critical flow temperature of the polymer (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “At room temperature 22, the matrix material is comprised of a combination of ordered or crystalline structure and disordered or amorphous structure (23). Once the temperature reaches glass transition temperature 24, the matrix turns into a rubber state 25. On further heating, the matrix reaches the melting temperature 26 and forms a low viscosity liquid 27 after it is held at the melting temperature for a certain period of time. At this stage of the process, the matrix material from the FRP in the liquid form flows into the texture applied on the surface of the base material.”);
(h) discontinuing heating the interface (see paragraph 0031,disclosing “After flowing into the textures, the matrix (in liquid form) is cooled back to room temperature 22 where it attains the final ordered or crystalline structure 29 due to solidification. At the end of the process, a laminate is created that has the FRP joined to the base material. The final ordered or crystalline structure 29 provides the strength to the laminate 16.”; additionally, see paragraph 0025, disclosing “Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.” The disclosure of the pressure and heat for a predetermined amount of time is a disclosure that the pressure and heat is ended after the predetermined amount of time expires);
(i) continuing to apply compressive force to the polymer-metal combination until the interface between the polymer and the metal has solidified and the materials have been joined (see paragraph 0031,disclosing “After flowing into the textures, the matrix (in liquid form) is cooled back to room temperature 22 where it attains the final ordered or crystalline structure 29 due to solidification. At the end of the process, a laminate is created that has the FRP joined to the base material. The final ordered or crystalline structure 29 provides the strength to the laminate 16.”) and
(i) discontinuing application of the compressive force (see paragraph 0025, disclosing “Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.” The disclosure of the pressure and heat for a predetermined amount of time is a disclosure that the pressure and heat is ended after the predetermined amount of time expires).
Samant, however, does not disclose that etching a predetermined micropattern into a surface of a first material is laser etching a predetermined micropattern into a surface of a first material, and does not disclose the full limitation of wherein the characterization includes: (i) measuring a degradation temperature of the polymer using thermogravimetric analysis; and (ii) measuring a melting point/critical flow temperature of the polymer using differential scanning calorimetry;
Jung however discloses a method of joining different materials, similar to that in Samant, and also discloses that etching a predetermined micropattern into a surface of a first material is laser etching a predetermined micropattern into a surface of a first material. See especially paragraph 0078 and 0099, disclosing:
[0078] According to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the first laser irradiated on the surface of the metal layer may form a pattern with a specific design on the surface of the metal, by being irradiated on the surface of the metal. According to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the first laser may be irradiated on the surface of the metal, so that the etching groove may be formed in a progress direction of the first laser.
…
[0099] Under the irradiation condition of the first laser, the ranges for a depth of the etching groove, a width of the entrance of the etching groove, a width of a center of the etching groove, a length of the burr, a height of the burr, and an angle range formed between the burr and the surface of the metal layer may be implemented, thereby increasing joining force between the metal layer and the resin layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized laser etching a predetermined micropattern into a surface of a first material as taught by Jung in order that under the irradiation condition of the first laser, the ranges for a depth of the etching groove, a width of the entrance of the etching groove, a width of a center of the etching groove, a length of the burr, a height of the burr, and an angle range formed between the burr and the surface of the metal layer may be implemented, thereby increasing joining force between the metal layer and the resin layer.
Samant does not disclose (d) applying nanoparticles of tungsten carbide to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material, and therefore also does not disclose (e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures that include the metallic nanoparticle.
Furukawa discloses the use of metallic nanoparticles to improve bond strength and therefore makes obvious (d) applying metallic nanoparticles to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material, and therefore also does not disclose (e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures that include the metallic nanoparticle. See especially paragraph 0010-11 and 0032, disclosing:
[0010] The present inventors have found, after studying hard, that by the use of aggregates of metal nanoparticles, members can be joined with high strength. When a metal paste containing aggregates of metal nanoparticles is coated on a member, dried and burned, a plurality of aggregates gather and form voids between the aggregates. Since the solvent of the metal paste can evaporate through the formed voids, the remaining rate of the solvent in the joined part decreases and high joining strength can be achieved.
[0011] Such formation of the voids can be represented also as a shrinkage rate of the metal paste during drying and burning the metal paste. That is, when the metal paste is dried and burned, the metal paste shrinks since the solvent contained in the metal paste is removed. However, when voids are formed in the inside of the metal paste during drying and burning, the metal paste is apparently suppressed from shrinking. Therefore, when the metal paste having, small shrinkage rate during drying and burning is used, the remaining solvent becomes scarce, and the members can be joined with high strength.\
…
[0032] The aggregate of the metal nanoparticles is a secondary particle in which primary particles of the metal nanoparticles aggregated. An average particle size of the aggregates is 1 μm or more, preferably 1 to 5 μm, more preferably 1 to 3 μm and particularly preferably 1 to 2 μm. When the aggregates having such an average particle size are used, the joining strength of the member can further be improved.
Furukawa discloses that the materials to be joined can include metal and plastic. See paragraph 0062:
[0062] A kind of the members to be joined is not limited to particular one, and a metal material, a plastic material, and a ceramic material can be used. As the metal material, for example, a copper substrate, a gold substrate, and an aluminum substrate can be used. As the plastic material, for example, polyimide, polyethylene, polypropylene, polyethylene terephthalate, polycarbonate, and polyethylene naphthalate can be used. As the ceramic material, for example, glass and silicon can be used. Further, an electronic element can be used as the member. In particular, when the metal paste contains a refractory metal component, power device elements such as silicon carbide and gallium nitride can be used as the member.
Rau addresses the problem of polymer to metal bonds. Samant and Furukawa do not disclose wherein the metallic nanoparticles include tungsten carbide. Rau makes obvious wherein the metallic nanoparticles include tungsten carbide. Rau is directed to inventions that “generally to the field of bonding polymeric materials to metal materials and particularly to bonding fluorinated polymers and polyether resins to metals, including ferrous-based metals.” See column 1, line 13. Rau teaches that carbides are preferred additives. See column 8, line 12, which discloses:
With respect to the ceramic powder of additive (D) above, this includes fine particle size, inorganic crystalline material A ceramic powder is characterized typically by its ability to be converted by sintering into a chemically inert material. Examples of ceramic powders that can be used as additive (D) above are: refractory carbides such as silicon carbide, tungsten carbide, molybdenum disilicide and boron nitride; metal oxides such as alumina, chromic oxide, powdered quartz, cerium oxide, silicon oxide, beryllia and zirconium oxide; silicon nitride, titanium diboride and aluminum diboride.
The ceramic powder can be in various forms, for example, in the form of regularly or irregularly shaped crystals, whisker fibers, long fibers, and platelets.
Metal carbide powders are a preferred additive for use in the present invention. The preferred carbides include silicon carbide, zirconium carbide, tungsten carbide and boron carbide, silicon carbide being most preferred.
A consideration in selecting the type of ceramic powder to be used is its resistance to the corrosive effects of the chemical material with which the resin composite material is to be used. It is believed that alpha silicon carbide is the most corrosive resistant type of ceramic powder available in respect to corrosive attack by a very broad range of chemical materials. Thus, it is highly preferred. In addition, silicon carbide is a low-cost material. However, for a variety of reasons, such as cost factors, etc., another type of ceramic powder may be selected.
Rau discloses the benefits of these ceramic powders, teaching in column 9 that:
In general, it has been observed, most notably in the use of ceramic powders, particularly with fluorocarbon resins, that bond strength between the coating and an underlying metal substrate increases with increased quantities of ceramic powder in the composition. On the other hand, resistance to corrosion by chemical attack is observed to be highest where relatively small amounts of ceramic powder are added to the resin, corrosion resistance being observed to decrease as amounts of ceramic powder in the resin are further increased.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized (d) applying nanoparticles of tungsten carbide to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material, and therefore also utilized (e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures that include the metallic nanoparticle as suggested by Furukawa and Rau so that the joining strength of the member can further be improved and because bond strength between the coating and an underlying metal substrate increases with increased quantities of ceramic powder in the composition and resistance to corrosion by chemical attack is observed to be highest where relatively small amounts of ceramic powder are added.
Additionally, Yamaguchi however discloses a method of joining different materials (paragraph 0017, disclosing “According to these inventions, difficult-to-melt polyimide films that have not undergone chemical modification such as introduction of thermoplastic segments can be directly bonded to each other, without using any adhesive agent, fixing metal part, or the like.”), similar to that in Samant, and also discloses further comprising using thermogravimetric analysis to measure the degradation temperature of the polymer and using differential scanning calorimetry to measure the melting point/critical flow temperature of the polymer.
See paragraphs 0019, 0026, and 0062-64, disclosing:
[0019] According to this film bonding device, polyimide films can be directly bonded to each other without using any adhesive agent, fixing metal part, or the like. In addition, difficult-to-melt polyimide films that have not undergone chemical modification such as introduction of thermoplastic segments can be directly bonded to each other.
…
[0026] The present invention can provide a bonding method and a bonding device that enable direct bonding of one or more difficult-to-melt polyimide films without using any adhesive agent, fixing metal part or the like, and also to provide a bonded structure having a polyimide film bonding part.
…
[0062] Although the bonding method according to the present invention may also be applied to polyimide films other than the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s), the bonding method according to the present invention is particularly applied to the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s). As for the physical properties of the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s), the melting point and the thermal decomposition temperature are both 400° C. or higher, and the melting point and the thermal decomposition temperature are close or identical to each other.
[0063] The bonding method according to the present invention is applied to the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s) each having a glass transition temperature of preferably from not lower than 200° C. to not higher than 450° C., more preferably from not lower than 220° C. to not higher than 450° C., and particularly preferably from not lower than 250° C. to not higher than 420° C. The glass transition temperature of the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s) is measured by differential scanning calorimetry (DSC).
[0064] The bonding method according to the present invention is applied to the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s) each having a thermal decomposition temperature of preferably 550° C. or higher, more preferably 580° C. or higher, and particularly preferably 600° C. or higher. To be more specific, the thermal decomposition temperature is preferably from not lower than 550° C. to not higher than 900° C., more preferably from not lower than 580° C. to not higher than 850° C., and particularly preferably from not lower than 600° C. to not higher than 800° C. The thermal decomposition temperature of the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s) is measured by thermogravimetric analysis (PGA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising using thermogravimetric analysis to measure the degradation temperature of the polymer and using differential scanning calorimetry to measure the melting point/critical flow temperature of the polymer as taught by Yamaguchi in order to enable direct bonding of one or more difficult-to-melt polyimide films without using any adhesive agent, fixing metal part or the like, and also to provide a bonded structure having a polyimide film bonding part.
As to claim 18, Samant discloses wherein the predetermined micropattern includes a crosshatch pattern (“cross-hatches”), a herringbone pattern, a pattern of squares, a pattern of concentric squares, a pattern of circles (see Figure 6B), or a pattern of concentric circles (paragraph 0029, disclosing “concentric or non-concentric”); or parallel lines (“parallel or non-parallel lines) oriented perpendicular to any pressure gradient present in the part for achieving a hermetic seal between the metal and the polymer. See paragraph 0029 and 0033, disclosing:
[0029] The texture 14 may have various configurations, and may be applied to base materials of any dimensions on either or both surfaces of the base material. For example, the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations.
…
[0033] FIGS. 6A, 6B, and 6C represent a few different types of texture that can be applied on the base material. The texture 30 includes a plurality of protruding or depressed pyramids, texture 31 includes a number of holes while texture 32 includes a series of parallel channels of a certain depth and width. However, the texture may be differently configured. For example, the texture may be symmetrical or asymmetrical. Moreover, the texture may be non-randomly distributed on the base material 1 or may instead be randomly distributed on the base material 1. As will be appreciated, the textured surface may be formed via various processes without departing from the present disclosure. For example, the textured surface may be formed via squeezing, machining, pressing, forming, knurling, stamping, etching, forging, cutting, rolling, or other imprinting processes as known in the art.
These perpendicular lines would be capable of achieving the hermetic seal property.
Samant, while disclosing parallel lines, cross hatches, and circles, does not explicitly disclose each and every limitation of the alternatives of wherein the predetermined micropattern includes a crosshatch pattern, a herringbone pattern, a pattern of squares, a pattern of concentric squares, a pattern of circles, or a pattern of concentric circles; or parallel lines oriented perpendicular to any pressure gradient present in the part for achieving a hermetic seal between the metal and the polymer. However, Samant does disclose “the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations,” and additionally, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilizes wherein the predetermined micropattern includes a crosshatch pattern, a herringbone pattern, a pattern of squares, a pattern of concentric squares, a pattern of circles, or a pattern of concentric circles; or parallel lines oriented perpendicular to any pressure gradient present in the part for achieving a hermetic seal between the metal and the polymer as an changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts and because Samant discloses that “the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations”.
As to claim 19, Samant discloses further comprising using infrared heating, an induction coil to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal; or using direct thermal conduction (via a heated platen press); or using resistive, spin, vibration, or ultrasonic heating. See paragraph 0028, disclosing:
Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.
Samant does not disclose the alternatives in claim 19 of using infrared heating or either direct laser heating or transmission laser heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal.
However, Jung however discloses a method of joining different materials, similar to that in Samant, and also discloses further comprising using infrared heating (see paragraph 0128, disclosing “the wavelength of the second laser may be one kind of wavelength selected from the group consisting of 808 nm, 830 nm, 880 nm, 915 nm, 940 nm, 915 nm, and 1,064 nm.”. The infrared range is from 700 nm and up) to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal), and either direct laser heating (“laser heat conduction joining”) or transmission laser heating (“laser transmission joining”) to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal (“the wavelength of the second laser may be one kind of wavelength selected from the group consisting of 808 nm, 830 nm, 880 nm, 915 nm, 940 nm, 915 nm, and 1,064 nm.” 1004 nm is 1 µm, and therefore, Jung makes obvious shining a 1 µm wavelength continuous laser due to the disclosure of 808 nm, 830 nm, 880 nm, 915 nm, 940 nm, 915 nm, and 1,064 nm lasers). See especially paragraphs 0117-119 and 0125-131, disclosing:
[0117] FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating various forms in which the resin layer is joined to the surface of the etched metal layer by means of the irradiation of the second laser according to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention.
[0118] According to FIG. 3, FIG. 3A illustrates a state in which the resin layer is joined (laser transmission joining) to the metal layer by means of the irradiation of the second laser in the direction from the resin layer to the metal layer, so that the second laser penetrates the resin layer by focusing on the surface of the metal layer, which is in contact with the resin layer, and FIG. 3B illustrates a state in which the resin layer is joined (laser heat conduction joining) to the metal layer by means of the irradiation of the second laser, in the direction from the metal layer to the resin layer, by focusing on the opposite surface of the surface of the metal layer, which is in contact with the resin layer.
[0119] As described above, after the surface of the metal layer is etched by means of the irradiation of the first laser, the second laser needs to be emitted again so that the metal layer is joined to the resin layer, and an example of the method of the irradiation of the second laser may include the laser transmission joining and the laser heat conduction joining illustrated in FIG. 3.
…
[0125] Particularly, the method of melting the resin layer may be varied according to the irradiation direction of the second laser, and when the pulse laser is irradiated by the laser transmission joining (FIG. 3A), the second laser irradiated onto the resin layer penetrates the resin layer and the energy of the second laser is absorbed in the surface of the metal layer, the absorbed energy is converted to heat to melt the resin layer on an interface (a surface in which the metal layer is in contact with the resin layer), and then the melted resin layer is supplied to the surface of the metal layer, the etching groove, and the internal space of the burr shaped like a fence, so that the different materials are joined to each other.
[0126] Further, when the second laser is irradiated by the laser heat conduction joining (FIG. 3B), first, a laser beam emitted to the metal layer of which the surface is etched is absorbed in the metal layer, the absorbed energy is converted to heat to melt the resin layer on an interface (a surface in which the metal layer is in contact with the resin layer), and the melted resin layer is supplied to the surface of the metal layer, the etching groove, and the internal space of the burr shaped like a fence, so that the different materials are joined to each other.
[0127] As described above, when the different materials, such as the metal layer and the resin layer, are joined by any one method of the laser transmission joining method and the laser heat conduction joining method, joining strength is improved, and a local joining is available at a target position and a target area, so that efficiency is excellent.
[0128] According to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, a wavelength of the second laser may be a wavelength in a near-infrared ray region. Particularly, the wavelength of the second laser may be one kind of wavelength selected from the group consisting of 808 nm, 830 nm, 880 nm, 915 nm, 940 nm, 915 nm, and 1,064 nm.
…
[0134] When the method of joining the different materials according to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention is used, the resin layer on the interface between the metal layer and the resin layer is melted, so that the resin layer flows into the etching groove of the etched metal layer and the internal space of the burr shaped like the fence formed along the etching groove, as well as the surface of the metal layer, thereby achieving a more enhanced anchoring effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising using infrared heating and using either direct laser heating or transmission laser heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal as taught by Jung so that the resin layer flows into the etching groove of the etched metal layer and the internal space of the burr shaped like the fence formed along the etching groove, as well as the surface of the metal layer, thereby achieving a more enhanced anchoring effect.
Claim(s) 19 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samant (US 20240208164 A1), Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1), Rau (US 5093403 A), Jung (US 20200262173 A1) and Yamaguchi (WO 2023095869 A1, English equivalent available as US 20250033341 A1) as applied to claims 17, 18, and 19 above, and further in view of further in view of Weber (US 20060000812 A1).
As to claim 19, Samant does not disclose further comprising using infrared heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal. (Jung has been applied to disclose infrared heating)
However, Weber however discloses a method of joining different materials (paragraph 0047, disclosing “Additionally an aspect of the present invention may be used to bond polymeric materials to non-polymeric materials such as metals, for example, stainless steel as well as other non-polymeric materials such as ceramics and glasses.”), similar to that in Samant and Jung, and also discloses further comprising using infrared heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal over a broader infrared range. See paragraph 0056, disclosing “ND:YAG lasers having a wavelength of about 1 micron may be used.”; See paragraph 0057, disclosing “Preferably, laser energy having a wavelength in the far infrared range of about 10.6 microns is used. Generally, polymeric materials used for dilatation balloon catheters are highly absorptive of energy at this wavelength and most of the radiation is absorbed within a few millimeters from the surface.” See also paragraph 0060, disclosing “Also as described below, the fusion zone 26 emits infrared radiation 28 as illustrated in FIG. 1.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising using infrared heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal as taught by Weber in order bond polymeric materials that are highly absorptive of energy at this wavelength and most of the radiation is absorbed within a few millimeters from the surface.
Claim(s) 19 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samant (US 20240208164 A1), Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1), Rau (US 5093403 A), Jung (US 20200262173 A1) and Yamaguchi (WO 2023095869 A1, English equivalent available as US 20250033341 A1) as applied to claims 17, 18, 19, 20 above, and further in view of Racineux (US 20180050496 A1) and Wise (EP 0495655 A1).
As to claim 19, as noted above, Samant discloses using direct thermal conduction (by use of a heated platen press).
See paragraph 0028, disclosing:
Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.
Samant, however, does not suggest the alternatives of using an induction coil to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal, or using resistive, spin, vibration, or ultrasonic heating. (Jung as applied above discloses and makes obvious infrared heating as well as direct laser heating and transmission laser heating.)
However, Racineux discloses a method of joining different materials (paragraph 0002, disclosing “The present invention relates to the assembly of two parts, i.e. a part made of a metal material and a part made of an organic-matrix composite material.”), similar to that in Samant, and also discloses using an induction coil to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal. See paragraphs 0166-172, disclosing:
[0166] A welding cycle, conventional per se, may be summarized by the 6 following steps: [0167] a charger is power supplied by an electrical energy grid; [0168] the electric energy is then stored in condensers as an electrostatic energy, the stored energy being progressively increased via the charging voltage controlled by an energy control unit; [0169] when the defined threshold of the charging voltage is reached, a spark-gap (or discharger) discharges very rapidly the electrostatic energy of the condensers into an inductor 71 (during this discharge, whose duration is of the order of about one hundred of ρs, extremely high electrical currents of the order of a few hundreds of kA are generated); [0170] the circulation of this high current through the inductor 71 generates very abruptly a magnetic induction field in the coil; there is transformation of electrostatic energy into magnetic energy; the thus-created magnetic field may have a great amplitude (of the order of several tenths of tesla); it is highly variable over time, hence generates in the metal part 1 to be welded induced currents also called “Foucault currents”; [0171] the interaction between the primary magnetic field created by the coil and the currents induced in the metal part 1 generates significant forces of magnetic origin, forces acting mechanically on the metal part 1 in which circulate the Foucault currents; [0172] these magnetic forces transform very abruptly the magnetic energy into a mechanical energy acting radially on the portion to be projected 15 of the metal part 1 and/or on the exposed portion 51 of the metal insert 5, for the propulsion thereof onto the other part (the composite part 2 and the metal part 1, respectively), held fixed.
Additionally, Wise, which is also discloses “This invention relates to a method of joining members, particularly but not exclusively comprising dissimilar materials.”, further discloses that “The joining step may comprise any suitable plastics joining technique, for example, hot gas welding, vibration welding, ultrasonic welding, spin welding, microwave welding, resistance implant welding, dielectric welding, adhesive bonding, induction welding, extrusion welding or solvent welding.” Thus, Wise also discloses using induction to heat the interface, and further teaches that resistive, spin, vibration or ultrasonic as an alternative to induction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the alternative of using an induction coil to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal as taught by Racineux and Wise because these magnetic forces transform very abruptly the magnetic energy into a mechanical energy acting radially on the portion to be projected 15 of the metal part 1 and/or on the exposed portion 51 of the metal insert 5, for the propulsion thereof onto the other part (the composite part 2 and the metal part 1, respectively), held fixed and additionally using resistive, spin, vibration, or ultrasonic heating as an known substitution of induction.
Claim(s) 17, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samant (US 20240208164 A1), Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1), Zhao (US 20160136928 A1), Jung (US 20200262173 A1) and Yamaguchi (WO 2023095869 A1, English equivalent available as US 20250033341 A1).
As to claim 17, Samant discloses a method for joining dissimilar materials (see paragraph 0006, disclosing “Disclosed is a system and method for joining dissimilar materials”), comprising:
(a) etching (paragraph 0028, disclosing “A texture 14 is applied to a surface of the base material 1. Embodiments disclosed herein also describe methods to imprint the texture into the base material via squeezing, machining, pressing, forming, knurling, stamping, etching, forging, cutting, rolling, or other imprinting processes as known in the art.”) a predetermined micropattern (“texture”) into a surface of a first material, wherein the first material is a metal used for creating a part (paragraph 0021, disclosing “The base material can be metal, polymer, ceramic or any other material on which a texture could be applied”), and wherein the micropattern includes various microfeatures;
(b) characterizing the physical properties of the microfeatures (see paragraph 0030, disclosing “the texture may be provided with an average roughness depth that is capable of providing sufficient volume for the matrix material from the FRP to flow into the texture.”);
(c) characterizing a second material (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “FIG. 4 is a representation of a processing curve for a synthetic resin polymer which is usually chosen as the matrix material for the FRP.”), wherein the second material is a polymer used for creating a part (see paragraph 0022, disclosing “The resin can be polypropylene (PP), polyamide6 (PA6), polycarbonate (PC), polyetheretherketone (PEEK), polyaryletherketone (PAEK), or any other polymer material that meets the requirements of a matrix material.”), and wherein the characterization of the second material includes:
(i) measuring a degradation temperature of the polymer (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “glass transition temperature 24” and “a rubber state 25”. Figure 4 shows that these measurements have been obtained beforehand.); and
(ii) measuring a melting point/critical flow temperature of the polymer (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “the melting temperature 26”. Figure 4 shows that these measurements have been obtained beforehand.);
(e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures (“texture 14”) formed on the metal surface to form an interface between the polymer and the metal and to form a polymer-metal combination (paragraph 0028, disclosing “A texture 14 is applied to a surface of the base material 1. Embodiments disclosed herein also describe methods to imprint the texture into the base material via squeezing, machining, pressing, forming, knurling, stamping, etching, forging, cutting, rolling, or other imprinting processes as known in the art. The FRP 3 is then placed on top of the base material 14 and heated at a certain temperature for a specific amount of time to cause the polymer matrix to melt and flow into the textures.”);
(f) applying a predetermined amount of compressive force to the polymer-metal combination (see paragraph 0025, disclosing “Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.”);
(g) for a predetermined period of time, heating the interface (see paragraph 0025, disclosing “Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.”) to a temperature falling between the degradation temperature of the polymer and the melting point/critical flow temperature of the polymer (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “At room temperature 22, the matrix material is comprised of a combination of ordered or crystalline structure and disordered or amorphous structure (23). Once the temperature reaches glass transition temperature 24, the matrix turns into a rubber state 25. On further heating, the matrix reaches the melting temperature 26 and forms a low viscosity liquid 27 after it is held at the melting temperature for a certain period of time. At this stage of the process, the matrix material from the FRP in the liquid form flows into the texture applied on the surface of the base material.”);
(h) discontinuing heating the interface (see paragraph 0031,disclosing “After flowing into the textures, the matrix (in liquid form) is cooled back to room temperature 22 where it attains the final ordered or crystalline structure 29 due to solidification. At the end of the process, a laminate is created that has the FRP joined to the base material. The final ordered or crystalline structure 29 provides the strength to the laminate 16.”; additionally, see paragraph 0025, disclosing “Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.” The disclosure of the pressure and heat for a predetermined amount of time is a disclosure that the pressure and heat is ended after the predetermined amount of time expires);
(i) continuing to apply compressive force to the polymer-metal combination until the interface between the polymer and the metal has solidified and the materials have been joined (see paragraph 0031,disclosing “After flowing into the textures, the matrix (in liquid form) is cooled back to room temperature 22 where it attains the final ordered or crystalline structure 29 due to solidification. At the end of the process, a laminate is created that has the FRP joined to the base material. The final ordered or crystalline structure 29 provides the strength to the laminate 16.”) and
(i) discontinuing application of the compressive force (see paragraph 0025, disclosing “Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.” The disclosure of the pressure and heat for a predetermined amount of time is a disclosure that the pressure and heat is ended after the predetermined amount of time expires).
Samant, however, does not disclose that etching a predetermined micropattern into a surface of a first material is laser etching a predetermined micropattern into a surface of a first material, and does not disclose the full limitation of wherein the characterization includes: (i) measuring a degradation temperature of the polymer using thermogravimetric analysis; and (ii) measuring a melting point/critical flow temperature of the polymer using differential scanning calorimetry;
Jung however discloses a method of joining different materials, similar to that in Samant, and also discloses that etching a predetermined micropattern into a surface of a first material is laser etching a predetermined micropattern into a surface of a first material. See especially paragraph 0078 and 0099, disclosing:
[0078] According to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the first laser irradiated on the surface of the metal layer may form a pattern with a specific design on the surface of the metal, by being irradiated on the surface of the metal. According to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the first laser may be irradiated on the surface of the metal, so that the etching groove may be formed in a progress direction of the first laser.
…
[0099] Under the irradiation condition of the first laser, the ranges for a depth of the etching groove, a width of the entrance of the etching groove, a width of a center of the etching groove, a length of the burr, a height of the burr, and an angle range formed between the burr and the surface of the metal layer may be implemented, thereby increasing joining force between the metal layer and the resin layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized laser etching a predetermined micropattern into a surface of a first material as taught by Jung in order that under the irradiation condition of the first laser, the ranges for a depth of the etching groove, a width of the entrance of the etching groove, a width of a center of the etching groove, a length of the burr, a height of the burr, and an angle range formed between the burr and the surface of the metal layer may be implemented, thereby increasing joining force between the metal layer and the resin layer.
Samant does not disclose (d) applying nanoparticles of tungsten carbide to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material, and therefore also does not disclose (e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures that include the metallic nanoparticle.
Furukawa discloses the use of metallic nanoparticles to improve bond strength and therefore makes obvious (d) applying metallic nanoparticles to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material, and therefore also does not disclose (e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures that include the metallic nanoparticle. See especially paragraph 0010-11 and 0032, disclosing:
[0010] The present inventors have found, after studying hard, that by the use of aggregates of metal nanoparticles, members can be joined with high strength. When a metal paste containing aggregates of metal nanoparticles is coated on a member, dried and burned, a plurality of aggregates gather and form voids between the aggregates. Since the solvent of the metal paste can evaporate through the formed voids, the remaining rate of the solvent in the joined part decreases and high joining strength can be achieved.
[0011] Such formation of the voids can be represented also as a shrinkage rate of the metal paste during drying and burning the metal paste. That is, when the metal paste is dried and burned, the metal paste shrinks since the solvent contained in the metal paste is removed. However, when voids are formed in the inside of the metal paste during drying and burning, the metal paste is apparently suppressed from shrinking. Therefore, when the metal paste having, small shrinkage rate during drying and burning is used, the remaining solvent becomes scarce, and the members can be joined with high strength.\
…
[0032] The aggregate of the metal nanoparticles is a secondary particle in which primary particles of the metal nanoparticles aggregated. An average particle size of the aggregates is 1 μm or more, preferably 1 to 5 μm, more preferably 1 to 3 μm and particularly preferably 1 to 2 μm. When the aggregates having such an average particle size are used, the joining strength of the member can further be improved.
Furukawa discloses that the materials to be joined can include metal and plastic. See paragraph 0062:
[0062] A kind of the members to be joined is not limited to particular one, and a metal material, a plastic material, and a ceramic material can be used. As the metal material, for example, a copper substrate, a gold substrate, and an aluminum substrate can be used. As the plastic material, for example, polyimide, polyethylene, polypropylene, polyethylene terephthalate, polycarbonate, and polyethylene naphthalate can be used. As the ceramic material, for example, glass and silicon can be used. Further, an electronic element can be used as the member. In particular, when the metal paste contains a refractory metal component, power device elements such as silicon carbide and gallium nitride can be used as the member.
Zhao address the problem of polymer to metal bonds. Zhao teaches in paragraph 0001 that “However, polymers normally do not form strong chemical bonds with metals.” Paragraphs 0025-28 suggest micro or nano size particles as well as using carbides such as tungsten carbide in order to serve as an interface for polymer-metal bonds. See paragraphs 0026-28, disclosing:
[0025] The binder used to make the carbon composites can be micro- or nano-sized. In an embodiment, the binder has an average particle size of about 0.05 to about 250 microns, about 0.05 to about 50 microns, about 1 micron to about 40 microns, specifically, about 0.5 to about 5 microns, more specifically about 0.1 to about 3 microns. Without wishing to be bound by theory, it is believed that when the binder has a size within these ranges, it disperses uniformly among the carbon microstructures.
[0026] When an interface layer is present, the binding phase comprises a binder layer comprising a binder and an interface layer bonding one of the at least two carbon microstructures to the binder layer. In an embodiment, the binding phase comprises a binder layer, a first interface layer bonding one of the carbon microstructures to the binder layer, and a second interface layer bonding the other of the microstructures to the binder layer. The first interface layer and the second interface layer can have the same or different compositions.
[0027] The interface layer comprises one or more of the following: a C-metal bond; a C—B bond; a C—Si bond; a C—O—Si bond; a C—O-metal bond; or a metal carbon solution. The bonds are formed from the carbon on the surface of the carbon microstructures and the binder.
[0028] In an embodiment, the interface layer comprises carbides of the binder. The carbides include one or more of the following: carbides of aluminum; carbides of titanium; carbides of nickel; carbides of tungsten; carbides of chromium; carbides of iron; carbides of manganese; carbides of zirconium; carbides of hafnium; carbides of vanadium; carbides of niobium; or carbides of molybdenum. These carbides are formed by reacting the corresponding metal or metal alloy binder with the carbon atoms of the carbon microstructures. The binding phase can also comprise SiC formed by reacting SiO.sub.2 or Si with the carbon of carbon microstructures, or B.sub.4C formed by reacting B or B.sub.2O.sub.3 with the carbon of the carbon microstructures. When a combination of binder materials is used, the interface layer can comprise a combination of these carbides. The carbides can be salt-like carbides such as aluminum carbide, covalent carbides such as SiC and B.sub.4C, interstitial carbides such as carbides of the group 4, 5, and 6 transition metals, or intermediate transition metal carbides, for example the carbides of Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, and Ni.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized (d) applying nanoparticles of tungsten carbide to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material, and therefore also utilized (e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures that include the metallic nanoparticle as suggested by Furukawa and Zhao so that the joining strength of the member can further be improved and a polymer to metal bond can be achieved.
Additionally, Yamaguchi however discloses a method of joining different materials (paragraph 0017, disclosing “According to these inventions, difficult-to-melt polyimide films that have not undergone chemical modification such as introduction of thermoplastic segments can be directly bonded to each other, without using any adhesive agent, fixing metal part, or the like.”), similar to that in Samant, and also discloses further comprising using thermogravimetric analysis to measure the degradation temperature of the polymer and using differential scanning calorimetry to measure the melting point/critical flow temperature of the polymer.
See paragraphs 0019, 0026, and 0062-64, disclosing:
[0019] According to this film bonding device, polyimide films can be directly bonded to each other without using any adhesive agent, fixing metal part, or the like. In addition, difficult-to-melt polyimide films that have not undergone chemical modification such as introduction of thermoplastic segments can be directly bonded to each other.
…
[0026] The present invention can provide a bonding method and a bonding device that enable direct bonding of one or more difficult-to-melt polyimide films without using any adhesive agent, fixing metal part or the like, and also to provide a bonded structure having a polyimide film bonding part.
…
[0062] Although the bonding method according to the present invention may also be applied to polyimide films other than the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s), the bonding method according to the present invention is particularly applied to the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s). As for the physical properties of the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s), the melting point and the thermal decomposition temperature are both 400° C. or higher, and the melting point and the thermal decomposition temperature are close or identical to each other.
[0063] The bonding method according to the present invention is applied to the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s) each having a glass transition temperature of preferably from not lower than 200° C. to not higher than 450° C., more preferably from not lower than 220° C. to not higher than 450° C., and particularly preferably from not lower than 250° C. to not higher than 420° C. The glass transition temperature of the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s) is measured by differential scanning calorimetry (DSC).
[0064] The bonding method according to the present invention is applied to the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s) each having a thermal decomposition temperature of preferably 550° C. or higher, more preferably 580° C. or higher, and particularly preferably 600° C. or higher. To be more specific, the thermal decomposition temperature is preferably from not lower than 550° C. to not higher than 900° C., more preferably from not lower than 580° C. to not higher than 850° C., and particularly preferably from not lower than 600° C. to not higher than 800° C. The thermal decomposition temperature of the difficult-to-melt polyimide film(s) is measured by thermogravimetric analysis (PGA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising using thermogravimetric analysis to measure the degradation temperature of the polymer and using differential scanning calorimetry to measure the melting point/critical flow temperature of the polymer as taught by Yamaguchi in order to enable direct bonding of one or more difficult-to-melt polyimide films without using any adhesive agent, fixing metal part or the like, and also to provide a bonded structure having a polyimide film bonding part.
As to claim 18, Samant discloses wherein the predetermined micropattern includes a crosshatch pattern (“cross-hatches”), a herringbone pattern, a pattern of squares, a pattern of concentric squares, a pattern of circles (see Figure 6B), or a pattern of concentric circles (paragraph 0029, disclosing “concentric or non-concentric”); or parallel lines (“parallel or non-parallel lines) oriented perpendicular to any pressure gradient present in the part for achieving a hermetic seal between the metal and the polymer. See paragraph 0029 and 0033, disclosing:
[0029] The texture 14 may have various configurations, and may be applied to base materials of any dimensions on either or both surfaces of the base material. For example, the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations.
…
[0033] FIGS. 6A, 6B, and 6C represent a few different types of texture that can be applied on the base material. The texture 30 includes a plurality of protruding or depressed pyramids, texture 31 includes a number of holes while texture 32 includes a series of parallel channels of a certain depth and width. However, the texture may be differently configured. For example, the texture may be symmetrical or asymmetrical. Moreover, the texture may be non-randomly distributed on the base material 1 or may instead be randomly distributed on the base material 1. As will be appreciated, the textured surface may be formed via various processes without departing from the present disclosure. For example, the textured surface may be formed via squeezing, machining, pressing, forming, knurling, stamping, etching, forging, cutting, rolling, or other imprinting processes as known in the art.
These perpendicular lines would be capable of achieving the hermetic seal property.
Samant, while disclosing parallel lines, cross hatches, and circles, does not explicitly disclose each and every limitation of the alternatives of wherein the predetermined micropattern includes a crosshatch pattern, a herringbone pattern, a pattern of squares, a pattern of concentric squares, a pattern of circles, or a pattern of concentric circles; or parallel lines oriented perpendicular to any pressure gradient present in the part for achieving a hermetic seal between the metal and the polymer. However, Samant does disclose “the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations,” and additionally, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilizes wherein the predetermined micropattern includes a crosshatch pattern, a herringbone pattern, a pattern of squares, a pattern of concentric squares, a pattern of circles, or a pattern of concentric circles; or parallel lines oriented perpendicular to any pressure gradient present in the part for achieving a hermetic seal between the metal and the polymer as an changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts and because Samant discloses that “the textured surface 14 may include a pattern of male (raised) or female (depressed) features, and the features may include without limitation, teeth, knurls, protrusions, depressions, ridges, asperities, “cross-hatches,” parallel or non-parallel lines, star shapes, triangles, hexagons, holes, channels, etc, or a combination of two or more thereof. Thus, the texture may include various features having lines and/or various geometric shapes, arranged in parallel or non-parallel, concentric or non-concentric, and/or overlapping or non-overlapping configurations”.
As to claim 19, Samant discloses further comprising using infrared heating, an induction coil to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal; or using direct thermal conduction (via a heated platen press); or using resistive, spin, vibration, or ultrasonic heating. See paragraph 0028, disclosing:
Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.
Samant does not disclose the alternatives in claim 19 of using infrared heating or either direct laser heating or transmission laser heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal.
However, Jung however discloses a method of joining different materials, similar to that in Samant, and also discloses further comprising using infrared heating (see paragraph 0128, disclosing “the wavelength of the second laser may be one kind of wavelength selected from the group consisting of 808 nm, 830 nm, 880 nm, 915 nm, 940 nm, 915 nm, and 1,064 nm.”. The infrared range is from 700 nm and up) to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal), and either direct laser heating (“laser heat conduction joining”) or transmission laser heating (“laser transmission joining”) to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal (“the wavelength of the second laser may be one kind of wavelength selected from the group consisting of 808 nm, 830 nm, 880 nm, 915 nm, 940 nm, 915 nm, and 1,064 nm.” 1004 nm is 1 µm, and therefore, Jung makes obvious shining a 1 µm wavelength continuous laser due to the disclosure of 808 nm, 830 nm, 880 nm, 915 nm, 940 nm, 915 nm, and 1,064 nm lasers). See especially paragraphs 0117-119 and 0125-131, disclosing:
[0117] FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating various forms in which the resin layer is joined to the surface of the etched metal layer by means of the irradiation of the second laser according to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention.
[0118] According to FIG. 3, FIG. 3A illustrates a state in which the resin layer is joined (laser transmission joining) to the metal layer by means of the irradiation of the second laser in the direction from the resin layer to the metal layer, so that the second laser penetrates the resin layer by focusing on the surface of the metal layer, which is in contact with the resin layer, and FIG. 3B illustrates a state in which the resin layer is joined (laser heat conduction joining) to the metal layer by means of the irradiation of the second laser, in the direction from the metal layer to the resin layer, by focusing on the opposite surface of the surface of the metal layer, which is in contact with the resin layer.
[0119] As described above, after the surface of the metal layer is etched by means of the irradiation of the first laser, the second laser needs to be emitted again so that the metal layer is joined to the resin layer, and an example of the method of the irradiation of the second laser may include the laser transmission joining and the laser heat conduction joining illustrated in FIG. 3.
…
[0125] Particularly, the method of melting the resin layer may be varied according to the irradiation direction of the second laser, and when the pulse laser is irradiated by the laser transmission joining (FIG. 3A), the second laser irradiated onto the resin layer penetrates the resin layer and the energy of the second laser is absorbed in the surface of the metal layer, the absorbed energy is converted to heat to melt the resin layer on an interface (a surface in which the metal layer is in contact with the resin layer), and then the melted resin layer is supplied to the surface of the metal layer, the etching groove, and the internal space of the burr shaped like a fence, so that the different materials are joined to each other.
[0126] Further, when the second laser is irradiated by the laser heat conduction joining (FIG. 3B), first, a laser beam emitted to the metal layer of which the surface is etched is absorbed in the metal layer, the absorbed energy is converted to heat to melt the resin layer on an interface (a surface in which the metal layer is in contact with the resin layer), and the melted resin layer is supplied to the surface of the metal layer, the etching groove, and the internal space of the burr shaped like a fence, so that the different materials are joined to each other.
[0127] As described above, when the different materials, such as the metal layer and the resin layer, are joined by any one method of the laser transmission joining method and the laser heat conduction joining method, joining strength is improved, and a local joining is available at a target position and a target area, so that efficiency is excellent.
[0128] According to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, a wavelength of the second laser may be a wavelength in a near-infrared ray region. Particularly, the wavelength of the second laser may be one kind of wavelength selected from the group consisting of 808 nm, 830 nm, 880 nm, 915 nm, 940 nm, 915 nm, and 1,064 nm.
…
[0134] When the method of joining the different materials according to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention is used, the resin layer on the interface between the metal layer and the resin layer is melted, so that the resin layer flows into the etching groove of the etched metal layer and the internal space of the burr shaped like the fence formed along the etching groove, as well as the surface of the metal layer, thereby achieving a more enhanced anchoring effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising using infrared heating and using either direct laser heating or transmission laser heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal as taught by Jung so that the resin layer flows into the etching groove of the etched metal layer and the internal space of the burr shaped like the fence formed along the etching groove, as well as the surface of the metal layer, thereby achieving a more enhanced anchoring effect.
Claim(s) 19 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samant (US 20240208164 A1), Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1), Zhao (US 20160136928 A1), Jung (US 20200262173 A1) and Yamaguchi (WO 2023095869 A1, English equivalent available as US 20250033341 A1) as applied to claims 17, 18, and 19 above, and further in view of further in view of Weber (US 20060000812 A1).
As to claim 19, Samant does not disclose further comprising using infrared heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal. (Jung has been applied to disclose infrared heating)
However, Weber however discloses a method of joining different materials (paragraph 0047, disclosing “Additionally an aspect of the present invention may be used to bond polymeric materials to non-polymeric materials such as metals, for example, stainless steel as well as other non-polymeric materials such as ceramics and glasses.”), similar to that in Samant and Jung, and also discloses further comprising using infrared heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal over a broader infrared range. See paragraph 0056, disclosing “ND:YAG lasers having a wavelength of about 1 micron may be used.”; See paragraph 0057, disclosing “Preferably, laser energy having a wavelength in the far infrared range of about 10.6 microns is used. Generally, polymeric materials used for dilatation balloon catheters are highly absorptive of energy at this wavelength and most of the radiation is absorbed within a few millimeters from the surface.” See also paragraph 0060, disclosing “Also as described below, the fusion zone 26 emits infrared radiation 28 as illustrated in FIG. 1.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising using infrared heating to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal as taught by Weber in order bond polymeric materials that are highly absorptive of energy at this wavelength and most of the radiation is absorbed within a few millimeters from the surface.
Claim(s) 19 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samant (US 20240208164 A1), Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1), Zhao (US 20160136928 A1), Jung (US 20200262173 A1) and Yamaguchi (WO 2023095869 A1, English equivalent available as US 20250033341 A1) as applied to claims 17, 18, 19, 20 above, and further in view of Racineux (US 20180050496 A1) and Wise (EP 0495655 A1).
As to claim 19, as noted above, Samant discloses using direct thermal conduction (by use of a heated platen press).
See paragraph 0028, disclosing:
Such methods may include using a heated platen press to deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure. The press may be mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc. Any other method that can deliver a predetermined amount of heat for a predetermined amount of time and at a predetermined pressure to the matrix polymer can also be used.
Samant, however, does not suggest the alternatives of using an induction coil to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal, or using resistive, spin, vibration, or ultrasonic heating. (Jung as applied above discloses and makes obvious infrared heating as well as direct laser heating and transmission laser heating.)
However, Racineux discloses a method of joining different materials (paragraph 0002, disclosing “The present invention relates to the assembly of two parts, i.e. a part made of a metal material and a part made of an organic-matrix composite material.”), similar to that in Samant, and also discloses using an induction coil to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal. See paragraphs 0166-172, disclosing:
[0166] A welding cycle, conventional per se, may be summarized by the 6 following steps: [0167] a charger is power supplied by an electrical energy grid; [0168] the electric energy is then stored in condensers as an electrostatic energy, the stored energy being progressively increased via the charging voltage controlled by an energy control unit; [0169] when the defined threshold of the charging voltage is reached, a spark-gap (or discharger) discharges very rapidly the electrostatic energy of the condensers into an inductor 71 (during this discharge, whose duration is of the order of about one hundred of ρs, extremely high electrical currents of the order of a few hundreds of kA are generated); [0170] the circulation of this high current through the inductor 71 generates very abruptly a magnetic induction field in the coil; there is transformation of electrostatic energy into magnetic energy; the thus-created magnetic field may have a great amplitude (of the order of several tenths of tesla); it is highly variable over time, hence generates in the metal part 1 to be welded induced currents also called “Foucault currents”; [0171] the interaction between the primary magnetic field created by the coil and the currents induced in the metal part 1 generates significant forces of magnetic origin, forces acting mechanically on the metal part 1 in which circulate the Foucault currents; [0172] these magnetic forces transform very abruptly the magnetic energy into a mechanical energy acting radially on the portion to be projected 15 of the metal part 1 and/or on the exposed portion 51 of the metal insert 5, for the propulsion thereof onto the other part (the composite part 2 and the metal part 1, respectively), held fixed.
Additionally, Wise, which is also discloses “This invention relates to a method of joining members, particularly but not exclusively comprising dissimilar materials.”, further discloses that “The joining step may comprise any suitable plastics joining technique, for example, hot gas welding, vibration welding, ultrasonic welding, spin welding, microwave welding, resistance implant welding, dielectric welding, adhesive bonding, induction welding, extrusion welding or solvent welding.” Thus, Wise also discloses using induction to heat the interface, and further teaches that resistive, spin, vibration or ultrasonic as an alternative to induction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the alternative of using an induction coil to heat the interface between the polymer and the metal as taught by Racineux and Wise because these magnetic forces transform very abruptly the magnetic energy into a mechanical energy acting radially on the portion to be projected 15 of the metal part 1 and/or on the exposed portion 51 of the metal insert 5, for the propulsion thereof onto the other part (the composite part 2 and the metal part 1, respectively), held fixed and additionally using resistive, spin, vibration, or ultrasonic heating as an known substitution of induction.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-8, and 10-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 10-15, 17-19 and 21-23 of copending Application No. 18/664881 in view of Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Application No. 19/205234 is a CIP of the application 18/664881. In claims 1, 10, and 17 of Application No. 19/205234, applicant appears to have copied instant claims 1, 10 and 17 of application 18/664881, and then added additional limitations directed to applying metallic nanoparticles
Therefore, Claims 1, 10 each does not recite (d) applying metallic nanoparticles to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material, and therefore also does not disclose (e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures that include the metallic nanoparticle.
Furukawa discloses the use of metallic nanoparticles to improve bond strength and therefore makes obvious (d) applying metallic nanoparticles to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material, and therefore also does not disclose (e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures that include the metallic nanoparticle. See especially paragraph 0010-11 and 0032, disclosing:
[0010] The present inventors have found, after studying hard, that by the use of aggregates of metal nanoparticles, members can be joined with high strength. When a metal paste containing aggregates of metal nanoparticles is coated on a member, dried and burned, a plurality of aggregates gather and form voids between the aggregates. Since the solvent of the metal paste can evaporate through the formed voids, the remaining rate of the solvent in the joined part decreases and high joining strength can be achieved.
[0011] Such formation of the voids can be represented also as a shrinkage rate of the metal paste during drying and burning the metal paste. That is, when the metal paste is dried and burned, the metal paste shrinks since the solvent contained in the metal paste is removed. However, when voids are formed in the inside of the metal paste during drying and burning, the metal paste is apparently suppressed from shrinking. Therefore, when the metal paste having, small shrinkage rate during drying and burning is used, the remaining solvent becomes scarce, and the members can be joined with high strength.\
…
[0032] The aggregate of the metal nanoparticles is a secondary particle in which primary particles of the metal nanoparticles aggregated. An average particle size of the aggregates is 1 μm or more, preferably 1 to 5 μm, more preferably 1 to 3 μm and particularly preferably 1 to 2 μm. When the aggregates having such an average particle size are used, the joining strength of the member can further be improved.
Furukawa discloses that the materials to be joined can include metal and plastic. See paragraph 0062:
[0062] A kind of the members to be joined is not limited to particular one, and a metal material, a plastic material, and a ceramic material can be used. As the metal material, for example, a copper substrate, a gold substrate, and an aluminum substrate can be used. As the plastic material, for example, polyimide, polyethylene, polypropylene, polyethylene terephthalate, polycarbonate, and polyethylene naphthalate can be used. As the ceramic material, for example, glass and silicon can be used. Further, an electronic element can be used as the member. In particular, when the metal paste contains a refractory metal component, power device elements such as silicon carbide and gallium nitride can be used as the member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized (d) applying metallic nanoparticles to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material, and therefore also utilized (e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures that include the metallic nanoparticle as suggested by Furukawa so that the joining strength of the member can further be improved.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 4 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 10-15, 17-19 and 21-23 of copending Application No. 18/664881 in view of Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-20 above, and further in view of Rau (US 5093403 A).
As to claim 4, the claims of Application No. 18/664881 and Furukawa do not claim or disclose wherein the metallic nanoparticles include tungsten carbide.
However, Rau makes obvious wherein the metallic nanoparticles include tungsten carbide. Rau is directed to inventions that “generally to the field of bonding polymeric materials to metal materials and particularly to bonding fluorinated polymers and polyether resins to metals, including ferrous-based metals.” See column 1, line 13. Rau teaches that carbides are preferred additives. See column 8, line 12, which discloses:
With respect to the ceramic powder of additive (D) above, this includes fine particle size, inorganic crystalline material A ceramic powder is characterized typically by its ability to be converted by sintering into a chemically inert material. Examples of ceramic powders that can be used as additive (D) above are: refractory carbides such as silicon carbide, tungsten carbide, molybdenum disilicide and boron nitride; metal oxides such as alumina, chromic oxide, powdered quartz, cerium oxide, silicon oxide, beryllia and zirconium oxide; silicon nitride, titanium diboride and aluminum diboride.
The ceramic powder can be in various forms, for example, in the form of regularly or irregularly shaped crystals, whisker fibers, long fibers, and platelets.
Metal carbide powders are a preferred additive for use in the present invention. The preferred carbides include silicon carbide, zirconium carbide, tungsten carbide and boron carbide, silicon carbide being most preferred.
A consideration in selecting the type of ceramic powder to be used is its resistance to the corrosive effects of the chemical material with which the resin composite material is to be used. It is believed that alpha silicon carbide is the most corrosive resistant type of ceramic powder available in respect to corrosive attack by a very broad range of chemical materials. Thus, it is highly preferred. In addition, silicon carbide is a low-cost material. However, for a variety of reasons, such as cost factors, etc., another type of ceramic powder may be selected.
Rau discloses the benefits of these ceramic powders, teaching in column 9 that:
In general, it has been observed, most notably in the use of ceramic powders, particularly with fluorocarbon resins, that bond strength between the coating and an underlying metal substrate increases with increased quantities of ceramic powder in the composition. On the other hand, resistance to corrosion by chemical attack is observed to be highest where relatively small amounts of ceramic powder are added to the resin, corrosion resistance being observed to decrease as amounts of ceramic powder in the resin are further increased.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the metallic nanoparticles include tungsten carbide as disclosed by Rau for the nanoparticles of Furukawa because bond strength between the coating and an underlying metal substrate increases with increased quantities of ceramic powder in the composition and resistance to corrosion by chemical attack is observed to be highest where relatively small amounts of ceramic powder are added.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 4 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 10-15, 17-19 and 21-23 of copending Application No. 18/664881 in view of Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-20 above, and further in view of Zhao (US 20160136928 A1).
As to claim 4, the claims of Application No. 18/664881 and Furukawa do not claim or disclose wherein the metallic nanoparticles include tungsten carbide.
Zhao address the problem of polymer to metal bonds and makes obvious wherein the metallic nanoparticles include tungsten carbide.. Zhao teaches in paragraph 0001 that “However, polymers normally do not form strong chemical bonds with metals.” Paragraphs 0025-28 suggest micro or nano size particles as well as using carbides such as tungsten carbide in order to serve as an interface for polymer-metal bonds. See paragraphs 0026-28, disclosing:
[0025] The binder used to make the carbon composites can be micro- or nano-sized. In an embodiment, the binder has an average particle size of about 0.05 to about 250 microns, about 0.05 to about 50 microns, about 1 micron to about 40 microns, specifically, about 0.5 to about 5 microns, more specifically about 0.1 to about 3 microns. Without wishing to be bound by theory, it is believed that when the binder has a size within these ranges, it disperses uniformly among the carbon microstructures.
[0026] When an interface layer is present, the binding phase comprises a binder layer comprising a binder and an interface layer bonding one of the at least two carbon microstructures to the binder layer. In an embodiment, the binding phase comprises a binder layer, a first interface layer bonding one of the carbon microstructures to the binder layer, and a second interface layer bonding the other of the microstructures to the binder layer. The first interface layer and the second interface layer can have the same or different compositions.
[0027] The interface layer comprises one or more of the following: a C-metal bond; a C—B bond; a C—Si bond; a C—O—Si bond; a C—O-metal bond; or a metal carbon solution. The bonds are formed from the carbon on the surface of the carbon microstructures and the binder.
[0028] In an embodiment, the interface layer comprises carbides of the binder. The carbides include one or more of the following: carbides of aluminum; carbides of titanium; carbides of nickel; carbides of tungsten; carbides of chromium; carbides of iron; carbides of manganese; carbides of zirconium; carbides of hafnium; carbides of vanadium; carbides of niobium; or carbides of molybdenum. These carbides are formed by reacting the corresponding metal or metal alloy binder with the carbon atoms of the carbon microstructures. The binding phase can also comprise SiC formed by reacting SiO.sub.2 or Si with the carbon of carbon microstructures, or B.sub.4C formed by reacting B or B.sub.2O.sub.3 with the carbon of the carbon microstructures. When a combination of binder materials is used, the interface layer can comprise a combination of these carbides. The carbides can be salt-like carbides such as aluminum carbide, covalent carbides such as SiC and B.sub.4C, interstitial carbides such as carbides of the group 4, 5, and 6 transition metals, or intermediate transition metal carbides, for example the carbides of Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, and Ni.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the metallic nanoparticles include tungsten carbide as disclosed by Zhao for the nanoparticles of Furukawa so that the joining strength of the member can further be improved and a polymer to metal bond can be achieved.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 17-19 and 21-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-19 and 21-23 of copending Application No. 18/664881 in view of Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1) and Rau (US 5093403 A).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Application No. 19/205234 is a CIP of the application 18/664881. In claims 17 and 21 of Application No. 19/205234, applicant has substantially copied instant claims 17 and 21 of application 18/664881, and then added additional limitations directed to applying metallic nanoparticles and nanoparticles of tungsten carbide.
Therefore, Claims 17 and 21 each does not recite (d) applying nanoparticles of tungsten carbide to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material, and therefore also does not disclose (e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures that include the metallic nanoparticle.
Furukawa discloses the use of metallic nanoparticles to improve bond strength and therefore makes obvious (d) applying metallic nanoparticles to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material, and therefore also does not disclose (e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures that include the metallic nanoparticle. See especially paragraph 0010-11 and 0032, disclosing:
[0010] The present inventors have found, after studying hard, that by the use of aggregates of metal nanoparticles, members can be joined with high strength. When a metal paste containing aggregates of metal nanoparticles is coated on a member, dried and burned, a plurality of aggregates gather and form voids between the aggregates. Since the solvent of the metal paste can evaporate through the formed voids, the remaining rate of the solvent in the joined part decreases and high joining strength can be achieved.
[0011] Such formation of the voids can be represented also as a shrinkage rate of the metal paste during drying and burning the metal paste. That is, when the metal paste is dried and burned, the metal paste shrinks since the solvent contained in the metal paste is removed. However, when voids are formed in the inside of the metal paste during drying and burning, the metal paste is apparently suppressed from shrinking. Therefore, when the metal paste having, small shrinkage rate during drying and burning is used, the remaining solvent becomes scarce, and the members can be joined with high strength.\
…
[0032] The aggregate of the metal nanoparticles is a secondary particle in which primary particles of the metal nanoparticles aggregated. An average particle size of the aggregates is 1 μm or more, preferably 1 to 5 μm, more preferably 1 to 3 μm and particularly preferably 1 to 2 μm. When the aggregates having such an average particle size are used, the joining strength of the member can further be improved.
Furukawa discloses that the materials to be joined can include metal and plastic. See paragraph 0062:
[0062] A kind of the members to be joined is not limited to particular one, and a metal material, a plastic material, and a ceramic material can be used. As the metal material, for example, a copper substrate, a gold substrate, and an aluminum substrate can be used. As the plastic material, for example, polyimide, polyethylene, polypropylene, polyethylene terephthalate, polycarbonate, and polyethylene naphthalate can be used. As the ceramic material, for example, glass and silicon can be used. Further, an electronic element can be used as the member. In particular, when the metal paste contains a refractory metal component, power device elements such as silicon carbide and gallium nitride can be used as the member.
Samant and Furukawa do not disclose wherein the metallic nanoparticles include tungsten carbide.
Rau addresses the problem of polymer to metal bonds. Rau makes obvious wherein the metallic nanoparticles include tungsten carbide. Rau is directed to inventions that “generally to the field of bonding polymeric materials to metal materials and particularly to bonding fluorinated polymers and polyether resins to metals, including ferrous-based metals.” See column 1, line 13. Rau teaches that carbides are preferred additives. See column 8, line 12, which discloses:
With respect to the ceramic powder of additive (D) above, this includes fine particle size, inorganic crystalline material A ceramic powder is characterized typically by its ability to be converted by sintering into a chemically inert material. Examples of ceramic powders that can be used as additive (D) above are: refractory carbides such as silicon carbide, tungsten carbide, molybdenum disilicide and boron nitride; metal oxides such as alumina, chromic oxide, powdered quartz, cerium oxide, silicon oxide, beryllia and zirconium oxide; silicon nitride, titanium diboride and aluminum diboride.
The ceramic powder can be in various forms, for example, in the form of regularly or irregularly shaped crystals, whisker fibers, long fibers, and platelets.
Metal carbide powders are a preferred additive for use in the present invention. The preferred carbides include silicon carbide, zirconium carbide, tungsten carbide and boron carbide, silicon carbide being most preferred.
A consideration in selecting the type of ceramic powder to be used is its resistance to the corrosive effects of the chemical material with which the resin composite material is to be used. It is believed that alpha silicon carbide is the most corrosive resistant type of ceramic powder available in respect to corrosive attack by a very broad range of chemical materials. Thus, it is highly preferred. In addition, silicon carbide is a low-cost material. However, for a variety of reasons, such as cost factors, etc., another type of ceramic powder may be selected.
Rau discloses the benefits of these ceramic powders, teaching in column 9 that:
In general, it has been observed, most notably in the use of ceramic powders, particularly with fluorocarbon resins, that bond strength between the coating and an underlying metal substrate increases with increased quantities of ceramic powder in the composition. On the other hand, resistance to corrosion by chemical attack is observed to be highest where relatively small amounts of ceramic powder are added to the resin, corrosion resistance being observed to decrease as amounts of ceramic powder in the resin are further increased.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized (d) applying nanoparticles of tungsten carbide to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material, and therefore also utilized (e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures that include the metallic nanoparticle as suggested by Furukawa and Rau so that the joining strength of the member can further be improved and because bond strength between the coating and an underlying metal substrate increases with increased quantities of ceramic powder in the composition and resistance to corrosion by chemical attack is observed to be highest where relatively small amounts of ceramic powder are added.
For claims 18-19 and 22-23, see claims 18-19 and 22-23 of application 18/664881.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 17-19 and 21-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-19 and 21-23 of copending Application No. 18/664881 in view of Furukawa (US 20160121435 A1) and Zhao (US 20160136928 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Application No. 19/205234 is a CIP of the application 18/664881. In claims 17 and 21 of Application No. 19/205234, applicant has substantially copied instant claims 17 and 21 of application 18/664881, and then added additional limitations directed to applying metallic nanoparticles and nanoparticles of tungsten carbide.
Therefore, Claims 17 and 21 each does not recite (d) applying nanoparticles of tungsten carbide to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material, and therefore also does not disclose (e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures that include the metallic nanoparticle.
Furukawa discloses the use of metallic nanoparticles to improve bond strength and therefore makes obvious (d) applying metallic nanoparticles to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material, and therefore also does not disclose (e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures that include the metallic nanoparticle. See especially paragraph 0010-11 and 0032, disclosing:
[0010] The present inventors have found, after studying hard, that by the use of aggregates of metal nanoparticles, members can be joined with high strength. When a metal paste containing aggregates of metal nanoparticles is coated on a member, dried and burned, a plurality of aggregates gather and form voids between the aggregates. Since the solvent of the metal paste can evaporate through the formed voids, the remaining rate of the solvent in the joined part decreases and high joining strength can be achieved.
[0011] Such formation of the voids can be represented also as a shrinkage rate of the metal paste during drying and burning the metal paste. That is, when the metal paste is dried and burned, the metal paste shrinks since the solvent contained in the metal paste is removed. However, when voids are formed in the inside of the metal paste during drying and burning, the metal paste is apparently suppressed from shrinking. Therefore, when the metal paste having, small shrinkage rate during drying and burning is used, the remaining solvent becomes scarce, and the members can be joined with high strength.\
…
[0032] The aggregate of the metal nanoparticles is a secondary particle in which primary particles of the metal nanoparticles aggregated. An average particle size of the aggregates is 1 μm or more, preferably 1 to 5 μm, more preferably 1 to 3 μm and particularly preferably 1 to 2 μm. When the aggregates having such an average particle size are used, the joining strength of the member can further be improved.
Furukawa discloses that the materials to be joined can include metal and plastic. See paragraph 0062:
[0062] A kind of the members to be joined is not limited to particular one, and a metal material, a plastic material, and a ceramic material can be used. As the metal material, for example, a copper substrate, a gold substrate, and an aluminum substrate can be used. As the plastic material, for example, polyimide, polyethylene, polypropylene, polyethylene terephthalate, polycarbonate, and polyethylene naphthalate can be used. As the ceramic material, for example, glass and silicon can be used. Further, an electronic element can be used as the member. In particular, when the metal paste contains a refractory metal component, power device elements such as silicon carbide and gallium nitride can be used as the member.
Zhao also addresses the problem of polymer to metal bonds. Zhao teaches in paragraph 0001 that “However, polymers normally do not form strong chemical bonds with metals.” Paragraphs 0025-28 suggest micro or nano size particles as well as using carbides such as tungsten carbide in order to serve as an interface for polymer-metal bonds. See paragraphs 0026-28, disclosing:
[0025] The binder used to make the carbon composites can be micro- or nano-sized. In an embodiment, the binder has an average particle size of about 0.05 to about 250 microns, about 0.05 to about 50 microns, about 1 micron to about 40 microns, specifically, about 0.5 to about 5 microns, more specifically about 0.1 to about 3 microns. Without wishing to be bound by theory, it is believed that when the binder has a size within these ranges, it disperses uniformly among the carbon microstructures.
[0026] When an interface layer is present, the binding phase comprises a binder layer comprising a binder and an interface layer bonding one of the at least two carbon microstructures to the binder layer. In an embodiment, the binding phase comprises a binder layer, a first interface layer bonding one of the carbon microstructures to the binder layer, and a second interface layer bonding the other of the microstructures to the binder layer. The first interface layer and the second interface layer can have the same or different compositions.
[0027] The interface layer comprises one or more of the following: a C-metal bond; a C—B bond; a C—Si bond; a C—O—Si bond; a C—O-metal bond; or a metal carbon solution. The bonds are formed from the carbon on the surface of the carbon microstructures and the binder.
[0028] In an embodiment, the interface layer comprises carbides of the binder. The carbides include one or more of the following: carbides of aluminum; carbides of titanium; carbides of nickel; carbides of tungsten; carbides of chromium; carbides of iron; carbides of manganese; carbides of zirconium; carbides of hafnium; carbides of vanadium; carbides of niobium; or carbides of molybdenum. These carbides are formed by reacting the corresponding metal or metal alloy binder with the carbon atoms of the carbon microstructures. The binding phase can also comprise SiC formed by reacting SiO.sub.2 or Si with the carbon of carbon microstructures, or B.sub.4C formed by reacting B or B.sub.2O.sub.3 with the carbon of the carbon microstructures. When a combination of binder materials is used, the interface layer can comprise a combination of these carbides. The carbides can be salt-like carbides such as aluminum carbide, covalent carbides such as SiC and B.sub.4C, interstitial carbides such as carbides of the group 4, 5, and 6 transition metals, or intermediate transition metal carbides, for example the carbides of Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, and Ni.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized (d) applying nanoparticles of tungsten carbide to the microfeatures of the micropattern etched into the surface of the first material, and therefore also utilized (e) placing the polymer on the microfeatures that include the metallic nanoparticle as suggested by Furukawa and Zhao so that the joining strength of the member can further be improved and a polymer to metal bond can be achieved.
For claims 18-19 and 22-23, see claims 18-19 and 22-23 of application 18/664881.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK