DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14, line 2: “a” (between “about” and “longitudinal”) should be changed to --the--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: output member in claims 6, 9, 13, 14, 15, 16 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the mass" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the first cam system" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bono et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2018/0168757.
Regarding claim 6, Bono et al. discloses a method of operating a surgical instrument, the surgical instrument including a housing (204), a first harmonic oscillator (206) contained in the housing, an output member (226) at least partially received in the housing, and a dissection head (38), the method comprising: activating the first harmonic oscillator so as to drive the output member and the dissection head to reversibly rotate about a longitudinal axis of the surgical instrument in alternating rotational directions (Figs. 16-18 and paragraphs [0057]-[0059]); and manipulating the surgical instrument to remove material from a target bone using the dissection head (paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 13, Bono et al. discloses a method of operating a surgical instrument, the surgical instrument including a housing (204), a motor (202) contained in the housing, an output member (226) at least partially received in the housing, and a dissection head (38), the method comprising: activating the motor so as to drive the output member and the dissection head to reversibly rotate about a longitudinal axis of the surgical instrument in alternating rotational directions (Figs. 16-18 and paragraphs [0057]-[0059]); and manipulating the surgical instrument to remove material from a target bone using the dissection head (paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 14, Bono et al. discloses wherein the output member (226) is configured to be driven by the motor (202) to reversibly rotate about the longitudinal axis in alternating directions by engaging with the motor via a first cam system (206) (Figs. 16-18 and paragraphs [0057]-[0059]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bono et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2018/0168757 in view of Collerais, U.S. PG-Pub 2019/0142439.
Regarding claim 9, Bono et al. discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for further including a clutch configured to selectively engage the harmonic oscillator with the output member.
Collerais discloses a surgical tool having a clutch such that a drill-head and a rotating member, in an engaged position, are engaged in rotation when the rotating member is put into rotation and, in an idle position, the drill-head and the rotation member are not linked when the rotation member is put into rotation (paragraph [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bono et al. to include a clutch configured to selectively engage the harmonic oscillator with the output member in view of Collerais to permit preventing the dissection head from inadvertently damaging tissue when not intended by a surgeon.
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bono et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2018/0168757 in view of Sartor et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2015/0018815.
Regarding claims 10-12, Bono et al. discloses wherein the dissection head (38) rotates clockwise in response to movement of the harmonic oscillator (206) in a first direction and rotates counterclockwise in response to movement of the harmonic oscillator in a second direction opposite the first direction (Figs. 16-18 and paragraphs [0057]-[0059]).
Bono et al. does not disclose the first harmonic oscillatory comprising a mass-spring system and activating the first harmonic oscillator comprises applying a magnetic field to the mass.
Sartor et al. discloses a surgical instrument having a harmonic oscillator (240) that is a mass-spring system (246) comprising a magnetic material (244) that is engaged by applying a magnetic field to the mass (Fig. 8 and paragraphs [0014], [0045]-[0046]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the first harmonic oscillator of Bono et al. with harmonic oscillator having a mass-spring system activated by applying a magnetic field to the mass in view of Sartor et al. to permit a functionally equivalent means for driving the output member and dissection head.
Double Patenting
Claims 6-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,957,361 in view of Bono et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2018/0168757.
Regarding claims 6-17, claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,957,361 recited all of the structure of the claims, but do not recite method steps of activating the first harmonic oscillator/motor and manipulating the surgical instrument to remove material from a target bone using the dissection head.
Bono et al. discloses a method of operating a surgical instrument that includes activating a first harmonic oscillator (206)/motor (202) and manipulating the surgical instrument to remove material from a target bone using a dissection head (38) (Fig. 16 and paragraphs [0048], [0057]-[0059]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,957,361 to be used in a method of operating the surgical instrument that includes steps of activating the first harmonic oscillator/motor and manipulating the surgical instrument to remove material from a target bone using the dissection head in view of Bono et al. as such is normal, ordinary operation for a surgical instrument meant for cutting bone.
Claims 6-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,295,594 in view of Bono et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2018/0168757.
Regarding claims 6-17, claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,295,594 recited all of the structure of the claims, but do not recite method steps of activating the first harmonic oscillator/motor and manipulating the surgical instrument to remove material from a target bone using the dissection head.
Bono et al. discloses a method of operating a surgical instrument that includes activating a first harmonic oscillator (206)/motor (202) and manipulating the surgical instrument to remove material from a target bone using a dissection head (38) (Fig. 16 and paragraphs [0048], [0057]-[0059]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,295,594 to be used in a method of operating the surgical instrument that includes steps of activating the first harmonic oscillator/motor and manipulating the surgical instrument to remove material from a target bone using the dissection head in view of Bono et al. as such is normal, ordinary operation for a surgical instrument meant for cutting bone.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 are allowed.
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and with the filing of a terminal disclaimer to overcome the non-statutory double patenting rejections set forth above.
Claims 15-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and with the filing of a terminal disclaimer to overcome the non-statutory double patenting rejections set forth above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 1, the prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not disclose a method with steps of determining a set of parameters associated with a procedure to be performed, determining an optimum frequency according the set of parameters and associated with a desired speed of operation of the bone drill, determining an optimum range of rotation according to the set of parameters and associated with a degree of rotation between reversals of the bone drill, and configuring the bone drill to operate at the optimum frequency and the optimum range of rotation as claimed.
Conclusion
/ERIC S GIBSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775