DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The claims filed on 05/12/2025 is entered and acknowledged by the Examiner. Claims 1-8 are currently pending in the instant application.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 05/12/2025 have been considered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 7-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-7, and 10-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,322,769 B2 (hereinafter Wang). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Wang discloses a method for obtaining a cathode material using recycled battery electrode material (a lithium-ion battery recycling stream) comprises leaching a cathode material in an acidic solution of sulfuric acid having a pH within a pH range (See claims 1 and 3). Impurities are removed from the acidic solution (See claim 7). Wang discloses a step of adjusting the concentration of cathode metal salts with additional metal salts to obtain a selected ratio (See claim 1). Wang further discloses a step of precipitating cathode material precursor by raising the pH of the aqueous solution with a base (See claim 6). The method of Wang anticipates the claimed invention.
Claims 1-6 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-14 of copending Application No. 2023/0198040 A1 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application discloses a method comprising all the claimed steps. Specifically, the reference application discloses that the method comprises the steps of leaching in a solution containing sulfuric acid; adjusting concentration of metallic elements to a selected ratio; and adjusting pH to acidic levels to remove impurities and to basic levels to precipitate metallic elements for the cathode material (See claim 10).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KR 20110117024 A (hereinafter Soo).
Regarding claims 1-2, Soo discloses a method for recycling valuable metals of waste battery (See Abstract) comprises a step (S20) of leaching with sulfuric acid and a reducing agent in which valuable metals are dissolved (See middle of unlabeled page 2). Soo discloses (S30) that the leaching solution remove impurities at pH of about 5 to 10, preferred pH of 5.5 to 6.5 (See bottom of unlabeled page 2). It should be noted that pH of 5.5 to 6.5 is an acidic level pH; thus, the removal of impurities are performed at an acidic level pH as claimed. Soo discloses a step of adjusting the concentration of each metal component may be added after reduction leaching, after removing impurities and after obtaining a hydroxide to obtain a desired component ratio (See middle of unlabeled page 3). Soo further discloses a step (S40) of increasing pH to 10-13 to precipitate nickel, manganese and cobalt (a cathode material precursor) (See top of unlabeled page 3).
Regarding claim 3, Soo discloses that the adjusted concentration can be different (unequal) for each metal component (See middle of unlabeled page 3).
Regarding claims 4-5, Soo discloses that the valuable metal components are obtained from a waste battery pack (exhausted battery material) of EV or HEV including positive electrode structure (cathode material), a separator, an electrolyte, and a negative electrode structure (anode) (See middle of unlabeled page 2).
Regarding claim 6, the usage of recovered valuable metal components (refined additional quantities) to adjust the concentration of the metal components in the electrode material in order to avoid greenhouse effect and global environmental problem caused by waste battery would have been inherent because it is the objective of Soo (See top of unlabeled page 2).
Regarding claims 7-8, Soo discloses a step (S60) of mixing a cathode active material and a lithium carbonate (sintered compound) and heat treated at 900-1,000 degrees (See middle of unlabeled page 2).
The reference specifically or inherently meets each of the claimed limitations in their broadest interpretations. The reference is anticipatory.
In view of the foregoing, the above claims have failed to patentably distinguish over the applied art.
Conclusion
/KHANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761