Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-8, 12-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over XIE (CN 112395925 A) in view of YI (CN 107690654 A) and further in view of CHIANG (US 20190114461 A1).
Regarding claim 1, XIE (Figs. 1-7; Figs. 4-5 are reproduced for reference) discloses an electronic device (electronic device 100) comprising:
a display (display 10; [0010]);
a fingerprint sensor disposed under a portion of the display (under-screen fingerprint sensor 20; [0011]);
at least one processor (processor 30; [0012]); and
memory (memory 40; [0012] and [0016]) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (processor 30) individually or collectively, cause the electronic device (electronic device 100) to:
display a first user interface in a first display area of the display substantially corresponding to the portion (1st display area including a first user interface corresponding to the fingerprint sensor 20), and a second user interface in a second display area of the display (2nd display area including a second user interface corresponding to enrollment progress indicator 14), wherein the first user interface and the second user interface are provided for an enrollment of a fingerprint including at least two fingerprint portions (e.g., Figs. 4 and 5 and [0039]-[0049]; the first user interface corresponding to the fingerprint sensor 20 and the second user interface corresponding to the enrollment progress indicator 14 are used for an enrollment of a fingerprint including at least two fingerprint portions);
based at least in part on a first touch input being received in the first display area (touch input is received the first user interface corresponding to the fingerprint sensor 20), display a graphical effect such that the graphical effect indicates a first progress of recognition of a first fingerprint portion corresponding to the first touch input (Figs. 3-7 and [0039]-[0049]; graphic indicators 15-18 indicate a progress of a fingerprint recognition, e.g., graphic indicator 15 indicates a recognition of a first fingerprint portion corresponding to the first touch input as shown in Fig. 4 is in progress, when the a recognition of the first fingerprint portion is complete, the graphic indicator 15 is turned off and is replaced by the graphic indicator 16 for a recognition and registration of a second fingerprint portion as shown in Fig. 5);
while the first touch input is maintained until the recognition of the first fingerprint portion is completed, change the graphical effect according to the first progress of recognition of the first fingerprint portion (Figs. 3-7 and [0039]-[0049]; e.g., when a recognition progress of a first fingerprint portion corresponding to the first touch input as shown in Fig. 4 is complete, the graphic effect indicator is changed from 15 to 16 for a recognition and registration of a second fingerprint portion as shown in Fig. 5);
based at least in part on a completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion, update the second user interface to indicate a second progress of the enrollment of the fingerprint and reset the first progress to an initial state (Figs. 3-7 and [0039]-[0049]; e.g., in Fig. 5, the enrollment progress indicator 14 is updated to indicate a progress of the enrollment of the fingerprint based on a completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion, and the graphic effect indicator 15 is replaced or reset by the graphic effect indicator 16, which represents an initial state for a recognition and registration progress of a second fingerprint portion as shown in Fig. 16).
XIE does not disclose based at least in part on the first touch input being interrupted before the completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion, reset the graphical effect and forgo updating the second user interface. However, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses a display device comprising a fingerprint sensor for enrollment of a fingerprint. CHIANG (Figs. 5, 8, and 11) further discloses based at least in part on the first touch input being interrupted before the completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion, reset the graphical effect (e.g., Figs. 5B-5D, a graphical indication area 511 indicates the progress of fingerprint recognition and enrollment process, whenfinger lifts and fingerprint input is interrupted, graphical indication area 511 is reset to the area where the fingerprint recognition and enrollment process was interrupted to resume the fingerprint recognition and enrollment process; [0037], [0044], and [0051]). Since the graphical effect is displayed and the second user interface is updated in accordance with the fingerprint recognition and enrollment, interruption of fingerprint recognition and enrollment results in forgo displaying the graphical effect and forgo updating the second user interface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint recognition and enrollment of XIE. The combination/motivation would allow the user to complete the enrollment of a fingerprint accurately and efficiently.
Regarding claim 2, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 1, XIE discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: perform the displaying of the first user interface such that the first user interface is displayed in a first size (e.g., Figs. 3-7; first user interface corresponding to the fingerprint sensor 20 is displayed in a first size); but does not disclose based at least in part on the first touch input being received, adjust a size of the first user interface from the first size to a second size different than the first size. However, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses a display device comprising a fingerprint sensor for an enrollment of a fingerprint. CHIANG (e.g., Figs. 5, 8, and 11) further discloses based at least in part on the first touch input being received, adjust a size of the first user interface from the first size to a second size different than the first size (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; e.g., a size of the graphic indication area 511, 811, or 1111 is varied from a first size to a second size). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of XIE. The combination/motivation would allow the user to complete the enrollment of a fingerprint accurately and efficiently.
Regarding claim 3, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 2, CHIANG (Figs. 5, 8, and 11) further discloses if the biometric enrollment is interrupted before the recognition of the biometric feature input is completed, the display device resets the visual graphic indicator via the biometric enrollment user interface (e.g., Figs. 5B-5D, finger lifts and fingerprint input is interrupted, graphical indication area 511 is reset to the area where the fingerprint recognition and enrollment process was interrupted and resume the fingerprint recognition and enrollment process; [0037], [0044], and [0051]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the display device of XIE so that wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based at least in part on the first touch input being interrupted before the completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion, adjust the size of the first user interface from the second size to the first size. The combination/motivation would allow the user to complete the enrollment of a fingerprint more quickly and efficiently.
Regarding claim 4, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 3, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: as at least part of the adjusting of the size, set the second size to be larger than the first size (e.g., (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; e.g., a size of the graphic indication area 511, 811, or 1111 is varied from a first size to a second size that is larger than the first size). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of XIE for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 5, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 2, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: perform the adjusting of the size of the first user interface further based on a size of a display area of the display, including at least part of the first display area, in contact with the first touch input (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; graphic indication area 511, 811, or 1111 has a variable size based on a size of a display area 500, 800, or 1100 corresponding to fingerprint input area; [0026], [0036], [0041], and [0049]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of XIE for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 6, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 2, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: perform the displaying of the first user interface such that the first user interface is oriented in a first direction (e.g., Figs. 8A-8D and 11A-11E; first direction); and based at least in part on the first touch input being received, tilt the first user interface from the first direction to a second direction different from the first direction (e.g., Figs. 8D-8E and 11E-11F; first direction to second direction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of XIE for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 7, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 6, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: determine the second direction based at least in part on a direction of the first touch input (e.g., Figs. 8D-8E and 11E-11F; second direction is determined based on touch input). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of XIE for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 8, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 1, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based at least in part on a second touch input being received in a third display area (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; display area 500, 800, or 1100) of the display at least partially different from the first display area (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; display area 510, 810, or 1110), provide the first user interface in the third display area to guide the second touch input (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; graphic indication area 511, 811, or 1111 in display area500, 800, or 1100). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of XIE for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 12, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 1, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based at least in part on the first touch input being interrupted before the recognition of the first fingerprint portion is completed, change a shape of the first user interface (e.g., Figs. 5, 8, and 11, finger lifts and fingerprint input is interrupted, graphic indication area 511 is changed to the graphic indication area where the fingerprint recognition and enrollment process was interrupted; [0037], [0044], and [0051]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of XIE for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 13, XIE in view of CHAING discloses the electronic device of claim 1, XIE (Figs. 3-7) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based at least in part on the first touch input being maintained until the recognition of the first fingerprint portion is completed, enroll the first fingerprint portion as at least part of the fingerprint (Figs. 3-7; fingerprint input is maintained until recognition of fingerprint input and the enrollment of fingerprint are complete).
Regarding claim 14, XIE (Figs. 1-7; Figs. 4-5 are reproduced for reference) discloses a method for controlling an electronic device (electronic device 100), the method comprising:
displaying a first user interface in a first display area of a display of the electronic device substantially corresponding to a portion of the display under which a fingerprint sensor of the electronic device is disposed (1st display area including a first user interface corresponding to the fingerprint sensor 20), and a second user interface in a second display area of the display (2nd display area including a second user interface corresponding to enrollment progress indicator 14);
wherein the first user interface and the second user interface are provided for an enrollment of a fingerprint including at least two fingerprint portions (e.g., Figs. 4 and 5 and [0039]-[0049]; the first user interface corresponding to the fingerprint sensor 20 and the second user interface corresponding to the enrollment progress indicator 14 are used for an enrollment of a fingerprint including at least two fingerprint portions);
based at least in part on a first touch input being received in the first display area (touch input is received the first user interface corresponding to the fingerprint sensor 20), displaying a graphical effect such that the graphical effect indicates a first progress of recognition of a first fingerprint portion corresponding to the first touch input (Figs. 3-7 and [0039]-[0049]; graphic indicators 15-18 indicate a progress of a fingerprint recognition, e.g., graphic indicator 15 indicates a recognition of a first fingerprint portion corresponding to the first touch input as shown in Fig. 4 is in progress, when the a recognition of the first fingerprint portion is complete, the graphic indicator 15 is turned off and is replaced by the graphic indicator 16 for a recognition and registration of a second fingerprint portion as shown in Fig. 5);
while the first touch input is maintained until the recognition of the first fingerprint portion is completed, changing the graphical effect according to the first progress of recognition of the first fingerprint portion (Figs. 3-7 and [0039]-[0049]; e.g., when a recognition progress of a first fingerprint portion corresponding to the first touch input as shown in Fig. 4 is complete, the graphic effect indicator is changed from 15 to 16 for a recognition and registration of a second fingerprint portion as shown in Fig. 5);
based at least in part on a completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion is completed, updating the second user interface to indicate a second progress of the enrollment of the fingerprint and resetting the first progress to an initial state (Figs. 3-7 and [0039]-[0049]; e.g., in Fig. 4, the enrollment progress indicator 14 is updated to indicate a progress of the enrollment of the fingerprint based on a completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion, and the graphic effect indicator 15 is replaced or reset by the graphic effect indicator 16, which represents an initial state for a recognition and registration progress of a second fingerprint portion as shown in Fig. 5).
XIE does not disclose based at least in part on the first touch input being interrupted before the completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion, resetting the graphical effect, forgo updating the second user interface. However, However, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses a display device comprising a fingerprint sensor for enrollment of a fingerprint. CHIANG (Figs. 5, 8, and 11) further discloses based at least in part on the first touch input being interrupted before the completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion and resetting the graphical effect (e.g., Figs. 5B-5D, a graphical indication area 511 indicates the progress of fingerprint recognition and enrollment process, when finger lifts and fingerprint input is interrupted, graphical indication area 511 is reset to the area where the fingerprint recognition and enrollment process was interrupted to resume the fingerprint recognition and enrollment process; [0037], [0044], and [0051]). Since the graphical effect is displayed and the second user interface is updated in accordance with the fingerprint recognition and enrollment, interruption of fingerprint recognition and enrollment results in forgo displaying the graphical effect and forgo updating the second user interface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint recognition and enrollment of XIE. The combination/motivation would allow the user to complete the enrollment of a fingerprint accurately and efficiently.
Regarding claim 15, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the method of claim 14, XIE discloses the method further comprising: performing the displaying of the first user interface such that the first user interface is displayed in a first size (e.g., Figs. 3-7; first user interface corresponding to the fingerprint sensor 20 is displayed in a first size); but does not disclose based at least in part on the first touch input being received, adjusting a size of the first user interface from the first size to a second size different than the first size. However, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses a display device comprising a fingerprint sensor for an enrollment of a fingerprint. CHIANG (e.g., Figs. 5, 8, and 11) further discloses based at least in part on the first touch input being received, adjusting a size of the first user interface from the first size to a second size different than the first size (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; e.g., a size of the graphic indication area 511, 811, or 1111 is varied from a first size to a second size). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of XIE for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 17, XIE (Figs. 1-7; Figs. 4-5 are reproduced for reference) discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (memory 40; [0012] and [0016]) for storing instructions which, when executed by at least one processor (processor 30; [0012]) of an electronic device (electronic device 100) individually or collectively, control the electronic device to perform:
displaying a first user interface in a first display area of a display of the electronic device substantially corresponding to a portion of the display under which a fingerprint sensor of the electronic device is disposed (1st display area including a first user interface corresponding to the fingerprint sensor 20), and a second user interface in a second display area of the display (2nd display area including a second user interface corresponding to enrollment progress indicator 14);
wherein the first user interface and the second user interface are provided for an enrollment of a fingerprint including at least two fingerprint portions (e.g., Figs. 4 and 5 and [0039]-[0049]; the first user interface corresponding to the fingerprint sensor 20 and the second user interface corresponding to the enrollment progress indicator 14 are used for an enrollment of a fingerprint including at least two fingerprint portions);
based at least in part on a first touch input being received in the first display area (touch input is received the first user interface corresponding to the fingerprint sensor 20), displaying a graphical effect such that the graphical effect indicates a first progress of recognition of a first fingerprint portion corresponding to the first touch input (Figs. 3-7 and [0039]-[0049]; graphic indicators 15-18 indicate a progress of a fingerprint recognition, e.g., graphic indicator 15 indicates a recognition of a first fingerprint portion corresponding to the first touch input as shown in Fig. 4 is in progress, when the a recognition of the first fingerprint portion is complete, the graphic indicator 15 is turned off and is replaced by the graphic indicator 16 for a recognition and registration of a second fingerprint portion as shown in Fig. 5);
while the first touch input is maintained until the recognition of the first fingerprint portion is completed, changing the graphical effect according to the first progress of recognition of the first fingerprint portion (Figs. 3-7 and [0039]-[0049]; e.g., when a recognition progress of a first fingerprint portion corresponding to the first touch input as shown in Fig. 4 is complete, the graphic effect indicator is changed from 15 to 16 for a recognition and registration of a second fingerprint portion as shown in Fig. 5);
based at least in part on a completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion is completed, updating the second user interface to indicate a second progress of the enrollment of the fingerprint and resetting the first progress to an initial state (Figs. 3-7 and [0039]-[0049]; e.g., in Fig. 4, the enrollment progress indicator 14 is updated to indicate a progress of the enrollment of the fingerprint based on a completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion, and the graphic effect indicator 15 is replaced or reset by the graphic effect indicator 16, which represents an initial state for a recognition and registration progress of a second fingerprint portion as shown in Fig. 5).
XIE does not disclose based at least in part on the first touch input being interrupted before the completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion, resetting the graphical effect, forgo updating the second user interface. However, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses a display device comprising a fingerprint sensor for enrollment of a fingerprint. CHIANG (Figs. 5, 8, and 11) further discloses based at least in part on the first touch input being interrupted before the completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion and resetting displaying the graphical effect (e.g., Figs. 5B-5D, a graphical indication area 511 indicates the progress of fingerprint recognition and enrollment process, when finger lifts and fingerprint input is interrupted, graphical indication area 511 is reset to the area where the fingerprint recognition and enrollment process was interrupted to resume the fingerprint recognition and enrollment process; [0037], [0044], and [0051]). Since the graphical effect is displayed and the second user interface is updated in accordance with the fingerprint recognition and enrollment, interruption of fingerprint recognition and enrollment results in forgo displaying the graphical effect and forgo updating the second user interface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint recognition and enrollment of XIE. The combination/motivation would allow the user to complete the enrollment of a fingerprint accurately and efficiently.
Regarding claim 18, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, XIE (Figs. 1-11) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform: performing the displaying of the first user interface such that the first user interface is displayed in a first size (e.g., Figs. 3-7; first user interface corresponding to the fingerprint sensor 20 is displayed in a first size); but does not disclose based at least in part on the first touch input being received, adjusting a size of the first user interface from the first size to a second size different than the first size. However, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses a display device comprising a fingerprint sensor for enrollment of a fingerprint. CHIANG (e.g., Figs. 5, 8, and 11) further discloses based at least in part on the first touch input being received, adjusting a size of the first user interface from the first size to a second size different than the first size (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; e.g., a size of the graphic indication area 511, 811, or 1111 is varied from a first size to a second size). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of XIE for the same reason above.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 9-11, 16, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The present invention is directed an electronic device including a fingerprint sensor. The closet prior arts, YI (CN 107690654 A), CHIANG (US 20190114461 A1), and XIE (CN 112395925 A), individually or in combination, discloses An electronic device comprising: a display; a fingerprint sensor disposed under a portion of the display; at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: display a first user interface in a first display area of the display substantially corresponding to the portion, and a second user interface in a second display area of the display, wherein the first user interface and the second user interface are provided for an enrollment of a fingerprint including at least two fingerprint portions; based at least in part on a first touch input being received in the first display area, display a graphical effect such that the graphical effect indicates a first progress of recognition of a first fingerprint portion corresponding to the first touch input; while the first touch input is maintained until the recognition of the first fingerprint portion is completed, change the graphical effect according to the first progress of recognition of the first fingerprint portion; based at least in part on a completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion, update the second user interface to indicate a second progress of the enrollment of the fingerprint and reset the first progress to an initial state; and based at least in part on the first touch input being interrupted before the completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion, reset the graphical effect and forgo updating the second user interface, but fails to teach during the enrollment, displaying a third user interface in the first display area of the display as at least partially surrounded by the first user interface.
Response to Arguments
6. Regarding claims 1, 14, and 17, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. In view of amendments, the reference of XIE (CN 112395925 A) has been used for new ground rejection.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623