Detailed Action
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-2 and 5-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over XIE (CN 112395925 A) in view of CHIANG (US 20190114461 A1).
Regarding claim 1, XIE (Figs. 1-7) discloses an electronic device (electronic device 100) comprising:
a display (display 10; [0010]);
a fingerprint sensor disposed under a portion of the display (under-screen fingerprint sensor 20; [0011]);
at least one processor (processor 30; [0012]); and
memory (memory 40; [0012] and [0016]) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (processor 30) individually or collectively, cause the electronic device (electronic device 100) to:
receive a user input for an enrollment of a fingerprint, the enrollment including a reception of a plurality of fingerprint inputs corresponding to a plurality of touch inputs (Figs. 2-7; finger touches and fingerprint inputs for registration or enrollment of a fingerprint; [0014]-[0016] and [0019]-[0027]);
based at least in part on the user input, display a first user interface in a first display area of the display substantially corresponding to the portion (Figs. 3-7; a first display interface including graphic indicators 12, 15, 16, 17, and 18, corresponding to the fingerprint sensor 20), and a second user interface in a second display area of the display (Figs. 3-7; a second display interface corresponding to registration progress indicator 14);
based at least in part on a touch input of the plurality of touch inputs being received in the first display area, display a graphical effect via the first user interface such that the graphical effect indicates a first progress of recognition of a fingerprint input corresponding to the touch input (Figs. 3-7; in response to finger touches being received and detected, graphic indicators 12, 15, 16, 17, and 18 are displayed in sequence to indicate a progress of recognition of a fingerprint input; [0014]-[0016] and [0019]-[0027]);
based at least in part on the touch input being maintained until the recognition of the fingerprint input is completed, display the graphical effect, via the first user interface, indicating that the recognition of the fingerprint input is completed (Figs. 3-7 show a progress of recognition of a fingerprint input, Fig. 7 shows the graphic indicator 18 is displayed when the recognition of the fingerprint input is completed; [0014]-[0016] and [0019]-[0027]) and update the second user interface to indicate a second progress of the enrollment of the fingerprint (Figs. 3-7; progress bar 14 indicating a progress of the enrollment of the fingerprint; [0014]-[0016] and [0019]-[0027).
XIE does not disclose based at least in part on the touch input being interrupted before the recognition of the fingerprint input is completed, reset the graphical effect via the first user interface and forego updating the second user interface. However, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses a display device comprising a fingerprint sensor for an enrollment of a fingerprint. CHIANG (Figs. 5, 8, and 11) further discloses based at least in part on the touch input being interrupted before the recognition of the fingerprint input is completed, reset the graphical effect (e.g., Figs. 5B-5D, finger lifts and fingerprint input is interrupted, graphical indication area 511 is reset to the area where the fingerprint recognition and enrollment process was interrupted and resume the fingerprint recognition and enrollment process; [0037], [0044], and [0051]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the display device of XIE so that based at least in part on the touch input being interrupted before the recognition of the fingerprint input is completed, reset the graphical effect via the first user interface and forego updating the second user interface. The combination/motivation would allow the user to complete the enrollment of a fingerprint more quickly and efficiently.
Regarding claim 2, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 1, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses based at least in part on the touch input being received, adjust a size of the first user interface from the first size to a second size different than the first size (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; e.g., a size of the graphic indication area 511, 811, or 1111 is varied from a first size to a second size). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of XIE for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 5, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 2, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: perform the adjusting of the size of the first user interface further based on a size of a display area of the display, including at least part of the first display area, in contact with the touch input (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; graphic indication area 511, 811, or 1111 has a variable size based on a size of a display area 500, 800, or 1100 corresponding to fingerprint input area; [0026], [0036], [0041], and [0049]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of XIE for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 6, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 2, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: perform the displaying of the first user interface such that the first user interface is oriented in a first direction (e.g., Figs. 8A-8D and 11A-11E; first direction); and based at least in part on the touch input being received, tilt the first user interface from the first direction to a second direction different from the first direction (e.g., Figs. 8D-8E and 11E-11F; first direction to second direction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of XIE for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 7, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 6, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: determine the second direction based at least in part on a direction of the touch input (e.g., Figs. 8D-8E and 11E-11F; second direction is determined based on touch input). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of XIE for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 8, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 1, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based at least in part on a second touch input of the plurality of touch inputs being received in a third display area (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; display area 500, 800, or 1100) of the display at least partially different from the first display area (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; display area 510, 810, or 1110), provide the first user interface in the third display area to guide the second touch input (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; graphic indication area 511, 811, or 1111 in display area500, 800, or 1100). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of XIE for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 9, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 2, XIE (Figs. 1-7) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: during the enrollment, display a third user interface (Figs. 3-7; user input interface 20) in the first display area of the display as at least partially surrounded by the first user interface (Figs. 3-7; first user interface comprising graphic indicators 12, 15, 16, 17, and 18).
Regarding claim 10, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 9, XIE (Figs. 1-7) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: perform the displaying of the graphical effect (Figs. 3-7; graphic indicators 12, 15, 16, 17, and 18) further based on the touch input being received, at least partially, on the third user interface (e.g., Figs. 3-7; touch input user interface 20).
Regarding claim 11, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 9, JENSON (Figs. 1-2, 4, and 6-7) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: maintain a size or a location of the third user interface during the enrollment (e.g., Figs. 3-7; a size of the touch input user interface 20 is maintained during the enrollment).
Regarding claim 12, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 1, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based at least in part on the touch input being interrupted before the recognition of the fingerprint input is completed, change a shape of the first user interface (e.g., Figs. 5, 8, and 11, finger lifts and fingerprint input is interrupted, graphic indication area 511 is changed to the graphic indication area where the fingerprint recognition and enrollment process was interrupted; [0037], [0044], and [0051]).
Regarding claim 13, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 1, XIE (Figs. 3-7) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based at least in part on the touch input being maintained until the recognition of the fingerprint input is completed, enroll the fingerprint input as at least part of the fingerprint (Figs. 3-7; fingerprint input is maintained until recognition of fingerprint input and the enrollment of fingerprint are complete). CHIANG (e.g., Figs. 5, 8, and 11) discloses the same features as claimed.
Regarding claim 14, XIE (Figs. 1-7) discloses a method for controlling an electronic device (electronic device 100), the method comprising:
receiving a user input for an enrollment of a fingerprint, the enrollment including a reception of a plurality of fingerprint inputs corresponding to a plurality of touch inputs (Figs. 2-7; finger touches and fingerprint inputs for registration or enrollment of a fingerprint; [0014]-[0016] and [0019]-[0027]);
based at least in part on the user input, displaying a first user interface in a first display area of a display of the electronic device substantially corresponding to a portion of the display under which a fingerprint sensor of the electronic device is disposed (Figs. 3-7; a first display interface including graphic indicators 12, 15, 16, 17, and 18, corresponding to the fingerprint sensor 20), and a second user interface in a second display area of the display (Figs. 3-7; a second display interface corresponding to registration progress indicator 14);
based at least in part on a touch input of the plurality of touch inputs being received in the first display area, displaying a graphical effect via the first user interface such that the graphical effect indicates a first progress of recognition of a fingerprint input corresponding to the touch input (Figs. 3-7; in response to finger touches being received and detected, graphic indicators 12, 15, 16, 17, and 18 are displayed in sequence to indicate a progress of recognition of a fingerprint input; [0014]-[0016] and [0019]-[0027]);
based at least in part on the touch input being maintained until the recognition of the fingerprint input is completed, displaying the graphical effect, via the first user interface, indicating that the recognition of the fingerprint input is completed (Figs. 3-7 show a progress of recognition of a fingerprint input, Fig. 7 shows the graphic indicator 18 is displayed when the recognition of the fingerprint input is completed; [0014]-[0016] and [0019]-[0027]) and updating the second user interface to indicate a second progress of the enrollment of the fingerprint (Figs. 3-7; progress bar 14 indicating a progress of the enrollment of the fingerprint; [0014]-[0016] and [0019]-[0027).
XIE does not disclose based at least in part on the touch input being interrupted before the recognition of the fingerprint input is completed, resetting the graphical effect via the first user interface and foregoing updating the second user interface. However, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses a display device comprising a fingerprint sensor for an enrollment of a fingerprint. CHIANG (Figs. 5, 8, and 11) further discloses based at least in part on the touch input being interrupted before the recognition of the fingerprint input is completed, resetting the graphical effect via the first user interface and foregoing updating the second user interface (e.g., Figs. 5B-5D, finger lifts and fingerprint input is interrupted, graphical indication area 511 is reset to the area where the fingerprint recognition and enrollment process was interrupted and resume the fingerprint recognition and enrollment process; [0037], [0044], and [0051]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the display device of XIE so that based at least in part on the touch input being interrupted before the recognition of the fingerprint input is completed, reset the graphical effect via the first user interface and forego updating the second user interface. The combination/motivation would allow the user to complete the enrollment of a fingerprint more quickly and efficiently.
Regarding claim 15, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the method of claim 14, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses the method further comprising: performing the displaying of the first user interface such that the first user interface is displayed in a first size; and based at least in part on the touch input being received, adjusting a size of the first user interface from the first size to a second size different than the first size (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; e.g., a size of the graphic indication area 511, 811, or 1111 is varied from a first size to a second size). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of XIE for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 16, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the method of claim 14, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses the method further comprising: during the enrollment, displaying a third user interface (e.g., Figs. 3-7; touch input user interface 20) in the first display area of the display as at least partially surrounded by the first user interface (Figs. 3-7; first user interface comprising graphic indicators 12, 15, 16, 17, and 18).
Regarding claim 17, XIE (Figs. 1-7) discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (memory 40; [0012] and [0016]) for storing instructions which, when executed by at least one processor (processor 30; [0012]) of an electronic device (electronic device 100) individually or collectively, control the electronic device to perform:
receiving a user input for an enrollment of a fingerprint, the enrollment including a reception of a plurality of fingerprint inputs corresponding to a plurality of touch inputs (Figs. 2-7; finger touches and fingerprint inputs for registration or enrollment of a fingerprint; [0014]-[0016] and [0019]-[0027]);
based at least in part on the user input, displaying a first user interface in a first display area of a display of the electronic device substantially corresponding to a portion of the display under which a fingerprint sensor of the electronic device is disposed (Figs. 3-7; a first display interface including graphic indicators 12, 15, 16, 17, and 18, corresponding to the fingerprint sensor 20), and a second user interface in a second display area of the display (Figs. 3-7; a second display interface corresponding to registration progress indicator 14);
based at least in part on a touch input of the plurality of touch inputs being received in the first display area, displaying a graphical effect via the first user interface such that the graphical effect indicates a first progress of recognition of a fingerprint input corresponding to the touch input (Figs. 3-7; in response to finger touches being received and detected, graphic indicators 12, 15, 16, 17, and 18 are displayed in sequence to indicate a progress of recognition of a fingerprint input; [0014]-[0016] and [0019]-[0027]);
based at least in part on the touch input being maintained until the recognition of the fingerprint input is completed, displaying the graphical effect, via the first user interface, indicating that the recognition of the fingerprint input is completed (Figs. 3-7 show a progress of recognition of a fingerprint input, Fig. 7 shows the graphic indicator 18 is displayed when the recognition of the fingerprint input is completed; [0014]-[0016] and [0019]-[0027]) and updating the second user interface to indicate a second progress of the enrollment of the fingerprint (Figs. 3-7; progress bar 14 indicating a progress of the enrollment of the fingerprint; [0014]-[0016] and [0019]-[0027).
XIE does not disclose based at least in part on the touch input being interrupted before the recognition of the fingerprint input is completed, resetting the graphical effect via the first user interface and foregoing updating the second user interface. However, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses a display device comprising a fingerprint sensor for an enrollment of a fingerprint. CHIANG (Figs. 5, 8, and 11) further discloses based at least in part on the touch input being interrupted before the recognition of the fingerprint input is completed, resetting the graphical effect via the first user interface and foregoing updating the second user interface (e.g., Figs. 5B-5D, finger lifts and fingerprint input is interrupted, graphical indication area 511 is reset to the area where the fingerprint recognition and enrollment process was interrupted and resume the fingerprint recognition and enrollment process; [0037], [0044], and [0051]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the display device of XIE so that based at least in part on the touch input being interrupted before the recognition of the fingerprint input is completed, reset the graphical effect via the first user interface and forego updating the second user interface. The combination/motivation would allow the user to complete the enrollment of a fingerprint more quickly and efficiently.
Regarding claim 18, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform: performing the displaying of the first user interface such that the first user interface is displayed in a first size; and based at least in part on the touch input being received, adjusting a size of the first user interface from the first size to a second size different than the first size (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; e.g., a size of the graphic indication area 511, 811, or 1111 is varied from a first size to a second size). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of XIE for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 19, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform: during the enrollment, displaying a third user interface (e.g., Figs. 3-7; touch input user interface 20) in the first display area of the display as at least partially surrounded by the first user interface (Figs. 3-7; first user interface comprising graphic indicators 12, 15, 16, 17, and 18).
5. Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over XIE (CN 112395925 A) in view of CHIANG (US 20190114461 A1) and further in view of OS (US 10395128 B2).
Regarding claim 3, XIE in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 2, but does not discloses based at least in part on the touch input being interrupted before the recognition of the fingerprint input is completed, adjust the size of the first user interface from the second size to the first size. However, OS (Figs. 8, 12 and 14 and col. 130, lines 48-52) discloses a display device comprising a biometric enrollment user interface for enrolling a biometric feature (e.g., user face, fingerprint, iris). OS further discloses if the biometric enrollment is interrupted before the recognition of the biometric feature input is completed, the display device resets the visual graphic indicator via the biometric enrollment user interface (col. 99, lines 27-41, e.g., Figs. 9S and 9X; visual graphic indicator 940 is reset to the indicator corresponding to the biometric enrollment starts). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate the teaching from OS to the display device of XIE so that wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based at least in part on the touch input being interrupted before the recognition of the fingerprint input is completed, adjust the size of the first user interface from the second size to the first size. The combination/motivation would allow the user to complete the enrollment of a fingerprint more quickly and efficiently.
Regarding claim 4, XIE in view of CHIANG and further in view of OS discloses the electronic device of claim 3, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: as at least part of the adjusting of the size, set the second size to be larger than the first size (e.g., (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; e.g., a size of the graphic indication area 511, 811, or 1111 is varied from a first size to a second size that is larger than the first size). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of XIE for the same reason above.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623