Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
2. The Amendment filed on 05/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 1- 3, 5-8, 10, 12-15, and 17-18 have been amended. Claims 1-19 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the new limitations “… based at least in part on the first touch input being interrupted before the completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion the recognition of the fingerprint input is completed, forgoing displaying the graphical effect via the first user interface …”, which are not supported by the original disclosure and therefore constitutes new matter (See also 37 C.F.R. 1.121(f), MPEP 608.04, 706.03(o)). According to original disclosure, [0096] of the specification discloses “According to an embodiment, upon failing in recognition of partial fingerprint related to touch, the electronic device may display an error message. For example, the electronic device may display a message indicating failure in partial fingerprint recognition based on termination of the touch before recognition of partial fingerprint related to the touch is complete. For example, the electronic device may display a message to instruct to maintain the touch for a longer time”. [0201] of the specification discloses “According to an embodiment, if the touch is released before partial fingerprint recognition is complete while the partial fingerprint is recognized as the touch is maintained, the electronic device may determine that an error occurs in the partial fingerprint recognition”. [0291] and [0317] of the specification disclose “According to an embodiment, the at least one processor may display a message (e.g., the message 710 of FIG. 7, the guide message 920 for fingerprint registration of FIG. 9A, or the guide message 940 leading to maintain the touch of FIG. 9B) indicating a failure in recognition of the fingerprint, based on termination of the first touch before recognition of the fingerprint related to the first touch is complete”. Therefore, nowhere in the specification support the above new limitations recited in claim 1. The above new limitations recited in claim 1 are interpreted in accordance with the specification. Claims 14 and 17 recite the same new limitations as claim 1 and therefore are rejected for the same reason above. Claims 1-3, 15-16, and 18-19 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-8, 12, 14-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over YI (CN 107690654 A) in view of CHIANG (US 20190114461 A1).
Regarding claim 1, YI (Figs. 1-24; Figs. 5 and 6 are reproduced for references) discloses an electronic device ([0011]; electronic device) comprising:
a display ([0011] and [0019]; display screen);
a fingerprint sensor disposed under a portion of the display ([0019]; under-screen fingerprint sensor);
at least one processor ([0011] and [0082]-[0084]; processor); and
memory ([0082]-[0084]; memory) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor ([0082]-[0084]; processor) individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
display a first user interface in a first display area of the display substantially corresponding to the portion ([0019]-[0020]; a first user interface UI1 corresponding to the fingerprint sensor), and a second user interface in a second display area of the display (a second user interface UI2), wherein the first user interface and the second user interface (first user interface UI1 and second user interface UI2) are provided for an enrollment of a fingerprint including at least two fingerprint portions (e.g., Figs. 5 and 6; a first portion representing 30% of a fingerprint and a second portion representing rest 70% of the fingerprint);
based at least in part on a first touch input being received in the first display area, display a graphical effect such that the graphical effect indicates a first progress of recognition of a first fingerprint portion corresponding to the first touch input (e.g., Figs. 5 and 6; in response to finger touches being received and detected, a graphic indicator Pr indicates a progress of recognition of a first fingerprint portion);
while the first touch input is maintained until the recognition of the first fingerprint portion is completed, change the graphical effect according to the first progress of recognition of the first fingerprint portion (e.g., Figs. 5 and 6; when the recognition of the first portion that representing 30% of the fingerprint is completed, graphic indicator Pr is changed in accordance with the progress of recognition);
based at least in part on a completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion, update the second user interface to indicate a second progress of the enrollment of the fingerprint (e.g., Figs. 5 and 6; the second user interface UI2 is updated to indicate a second progress of the enrollment of the fingerprint).
YI does not disclose based at least in part on the first touch input being interrupted before the completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion, forgo displaying the graphical effect, forgo updating the second user interface. However, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses a display device comprising a fingerprint sensor for an enrollment of a fingerprint. CHIANG (Figs. 5, 8, and 11) further discloses based at least in part on the first touch input being interrupted before the completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion, forgo displaying the graphical effect (e.g., Figs. 5B-5D, a graphical indication area 511 indicates the progress of fingerprint recognition and enrollment process, when the finger lifts and fingerprint input is interrupted, the graphical indication area 511 is stopped to further display the progress of fingerprint recognition and enrollment process; [0037], [0044], and [0051]). Since the graphical effect is displayed and the second user interface is updated in accordance with the fingerprint recognition and enrollment, interruption of fingerprint recognition and enrollment results in forgo displaying the graphical effect and forgo updating the second user interface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint recognition and enrollment of YI. The combination/motivation would allow the user to complete the enrollment of a fingerprint accurately and efficiently.
Regarding claim 2, YI in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 1, YI discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: perform the displaying of the first user interface such that the first user interface is displayed in a first size (e.g., Figs. 5 and 6; first user interface UI1 is displayed in a first size); but does not disclose based at least in part on the first touch input being received, adjust a size of the first user interface from the first size to a second size different than the first size. However, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses a display device comprising a fingerprint sensor for an enrollment of a fingerprint. CHIANG (e.g., Figs. 5, 8, and 11) further discloses based at least in part on the first touch input being received, adjust a size of the first user interface from the first size to a second size different than the first size (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; e.g., a size of the graphic indication area 511, 811, or 1111 is varied from a first size to a second size). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of YI. The combination/motivation would allow the user to complete the enrollment of a fingerprint accurately and efficiently.
Regarding claim 3, YI in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 2, CHIANG (Figs. 5, 8, and 11) further discloses if the biometric enrollment is interrupted before the recognition of the biometric feature input is completed, the display device resets the visual graphic indicator via the biometric enrollment user interface (e.g., Figs. 5B-5D, finger lifts and fingerprint input is interrupted, graphical indication area 511 is reset to the area where the fingerprint recognition and enrollment process was interrupted and resume the fingerprint recognition and enrollment process; [0037], [0044], and [0051]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the display device of YI so that wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based at least in part on the first touch input being interrupted before the completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion, adjust the size of the first user interface from the second size to the first size. The combination/motivation would allow the user to complete the enrollment of a fingerprint more quickly and efficiently.
Regarding claim 4, YI in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 3, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: as at least part of the adjusting of the size, set the second size to be larger than the first size (e.g., (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; e.g., a size of the graphic indication area 511, 811, or 1111 is varied from a first size to a second size that is larger than the first size). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of YI for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 5, YI in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 2, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: perform the adjusting of the size of the first user interface further based on a size of a display area of the display, including at least part of the first display area, in contact with the first touch input (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; graphic indication area 511, 811, or 1111 has a variable size based on a size of a display area 500, 800, or 1100 corresponding to fingerprint input area; [0026], [0036], [0041], and [0049]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of YI for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 6, YI in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 2, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: perform the displaying of the first user interface such that the first user interface is oriented in a first direction (e.g., Figs. 8A-8D and 11A-11E; first direction); and based at least in part on the first touch input being received, tilt the first user interface from the first direction to a second direction different from the first direction (e.g., Figs. 8D-8E and 11E-11F; first direction to second direction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of YI for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 7, YI in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 6, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: determine the second direction based at least in part on a direction of the first touch input (e.g., Figs. 8D-8E and 11E-11F; second direction is determined based on touch input). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of YI for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 8, YI in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 1, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based at least in part on a second touch input being received in a third display area (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; display area 500, 800, or 1100) of the display at least partially different from the first display area (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; display area 510, 810, or 1110), provide the first user interface in the third display area to guide the second touch input (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; graphic indication area 511, 811, or 1111 in display area500, 800, or 1100). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of YI for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 12, YI in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 1, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based at least in part on the first touch input being interrupted before the recognition of the first fingerprint portion is completed, change a shape of the first user interface (e.g., Figs. 5, 8, and 11, finger lifts and fingerprint input is interrupted, graphic indication area 511 is changed to the graphic indication area where the fingerprint recognition and enrollment process was interrupted; [0037], [0044], and [0051]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of YI for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 14, YI (Figs. 1-24; Figs. 5 and 6 are reproduced for references) discloses a method for controlling an electronic device ([0011]; electronic device), the method comprising:
displaying a first user interface in a first display area of a display of the electronic device substantially corresponding to a portion of the display under which a fingerprint sensor of the electronic device is disposed ([0019], under-screen fingerprint sensor; [0019]-[0020], a first user interface UI1 corresponding to the fingerprint sensor)), and a second user interface in a second display area of the display (a second display interface UI2);
wherein the first user interface and the second user interface (first user interface UI1 and second user interface UI2) are provided for an enrollment of a fingerprint including at least two fingerprint portions (e.g., Figs. 5 and 6; a first portion representing 30% of a fingerprint and a second portion representing rest 70% of the fingerprint);
based at least in part on a first touch input being received in the first display area, displaying a graphical effect such that the graphical effect indicates a first progress of recognition of a first fingerprint portion corresponding to the first touch input (e.g., Figs. 5 and 6; in response to finger touches being received and detected, a graphic indicator Pr indicates a progress of recognition of a first fingerprint portion);
while the first touch input is maintained until the recognition of the first fingerprint portion is completed, changing the graphical effect according to the first progress of recognition of the first fingerprint portion (e.g., Figs. 5 and 6; when the recognition of the first portion that representing 30% of the fingerprint is completed, graphic indicator Pr is changed in accordance with the progress of recognition);
based at least in part on a completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion is completed, updating the second user interface to indicate a second progress of the enrollment of the fingerprint (e.g., Figs. 5 and 6; the second user interface UI2 is updated to indicate a second progress of the enrollment of the fingerprint).
YI does not disclose based at least in part on the first touch input being interrupted before the completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion, forgo displaying the graphical effect, forgo updating the second user interface. However, However, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses a display device comprising a fingerprint sensor for an enrollment of a fingerprint. CHIANG (Figs. 5, 8, and 11) further discloses based at least in part on the first touch input being interrupted before the completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion, forgo displaying the graphical effect (e.g., Figs. 5B-5D, a graphical indication area 511 indicates the progress of fingerprint recognition and enrollment process, when the finger lifts and fingerprint input is interrupted, the graphical indication area 511 is stopped to further display the progress of fingerprint recognition and enrollment process; [0037], [0044], and [0051]). Since the graphical effect is displayed and the second user interface is updated in accordance with the fingerprint recognition and enrollment, interruption of fingerprint recognition and enrollment results in forgo displaying the graphical effect and forgo updating the second user interface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint recognition and enrollment of YI. The combination/motivation would allow the user to complete the enrollment of a fingerprint accurately and efficiently.
Regarding claim 15, YI in view of CHIANG discloses the method of claim 14, YI discloses the method further comprising: performing the displaying of the first user interface such that the first user interface is displayed in a first size (e.g., Figs. 5 and 6; first user interface UI1 is displayed in a first size); but does not disclose based at least in part on the first touch input being received, adjusting a size of the first user interface from the first size to a second size different than the first size. However, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses a display device comprising a fingerprint sensor for an enrollment of a fingerprint. CHIANG (e.g., Figs. 5, 8, and 11) further discloses based at least in part on the first touch input being received, adjusting a size of the first user interface from the first size to a second size different than the first size (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; e.g., a size of the graphic indication area 511, 811, or 1111 is varied from a first size to a second size). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of YI for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 17, YI (Figs. 1-24; Figs. 5 and 6 are reproduced for references) discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium ([0082]-[0084]; memory) for storing instructions which, when executed by at least one processor ([0082]-[0084]; processor) of an electronic device ([0011]; electronic device) individually or collectively, control the electronic device to perform:
displaying a first user interface in a first display area of a display of the electronic device substantially corresponding to a portion of the display under which a fingerprint sensor of the electronic device is disposed ([0019], under-screen fingerprint sensor; [0019]-[0020], a first user interface UI1 corresponding to the fingerprint sensor)), and a second user interface in a second display area of the display (a second display interface UI2);
wherein the first user interface and the second user interface (first user interface UI1 and second user interface UI2) are provided for an enrollment of a fingerprint including at least two fingerprint portions (e.g., Figs. 5 and 6; a first portion representing 30% of a fingerprint and a second portion representing rest 70% of the fingerprint);
based at least in part on a first touch input being received in the first display area, displaying a graphical effect such that the graphical effect indicates a first progress of recognition of a first fingerprint portion corresponding to the first touch input (e.g., Figs. 5 and 6; in response to finger touches being received and detected, a graphic indicator Pr indicates a progress of recognition of a first fingerprint portion);
while the first touch input is maintained until the recognition of the first fingerprint portion is completed, changing the graphical effect according to the first progress of recognition of the first fingerprint portion (e.g., Figs. 5 and 6; when the recognition of the first portion that representing 30% of the fingerprint is completed, graphic indicator Pr is changed in accordance with the progress of recognition);
based at least in part on a completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion is completed, updating the second user interface to indicate a second progress of the enrollment of the fingerprint (e.g., Figs. 5 and 6; the second user interface UI2 is updated to indicate a second progress of the enrollment of the fingerprint).
YI does not disclose based at least in part on the first touch input being interrupted before the completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion, forgo displaying the graphical effect, forgo updating the second user interface. However, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses a display device comprising a fingerprint sensor for an enrollment of a fingerprint. CHIANG (Figs. 5, 8, and 11) further discloses based at least in part on the first touch input being interrupted before the completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion, forgo displaying the graphical effect (e.g., Figs. 5B-5D, a graphical indication area 511 indicates the progress of fingerprint recognition and enrollment process, when the finger lifts and fingerprint input is interrupted, the graphical indication area 511 is stopped to further display the progress of fingerprint recognition and enrollment process; [0037], [0044], and [0051]). Since the graphical effect is displayed and the second user interface is updated in accordance with the fingerprint recognition and enrollment, interruption of fingerprint recognition and enrollment results in forgo displaying the graphical effect and forgo updating the second user interface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint recognition and enrollment of YI. The combination/motivation would allow the user to complete the enrollment of a fingerprint accurately and efficiently.
Regarding claim 18, YI in view of CHIANG discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, YI (Figs. 1-11) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform: performing the displaying of the first user interface such that the first user interface is displayed in a first size (e.g., Figs. 5 and 6; first user interface UI1 is displayed in a first size); but does not disclose based at least in part on the first touch input being received, adjusting a size of the first user interface from the first size to a second size different than the first size. However, CHIANG (Figs. 1-11) discloses a display device comprising a fingerprint sensor for an enrollment of a fingerprint. CHIANG (e.g., Figs. 5, 8, and 11) further discloses based at least in part on the first touch input being received, adjusting a size of the first user interface from the first size to a second size different than the first size (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; e.g., a size of the graphic indication area 511, 811, or 1111 is varied from a first size to a second size). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHIANG to the fingerprint enrollment of YI for the same reason above.
7. Claims 9-11, 13, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over YI (CN 107690654 A) in view of CHIANG (US 20190114461 A1) and further in view of XIE (CN 112395925 A).
Regarding claim 9, YI in view of CHIANG discloses the electronic device of claim 1, but does not disclose display a third user interface as claimed. However, XIE (Figs. 1-7) discloses a display device comprising a fingerprint sensor for an enrollment of a fingerprint, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: during the enrollment, display a third user interface (Figs. 3-7; user input interface 20) in the first display area of the display as at least partially surrounded by the first user interface (Figs. 3-7; first user interface comprising graphic indicators 12, 15, 16, 17, and 18). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate the teaching from XIE to the fingerprint sensor of YI in view of CHAING. The combination/motivation would allow the user to complete the enrollment of a fingerprint accurately and efficiently.
Regarding claim 10, YI in view of CHAING and further in view of XIE discloses the electronic device of claim 9, XIE (Figs. 1-7) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: perform the displaying of the graphical effect (Figs. 3-7; graphic indicators 12, 15, 16, 17, and 18) further based on the first touch input being received, at least partially, on the third user interface (e.g., Figs. 3-7; touch input user interface 20). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate the teaching from XIE to the fingerprint sensor of YI in view of CHAING for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 11, YI in view of CHAING and further in view of XIE discloses the electronic device of claim 9, XIE (Figs. 1-7) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: maintain a size or a location of the third user interface during the enrollment (e.g., Figs. 3-7; a size of the touch input user interface 20 is maintained during the enrollment). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate the teaching from XIE to the fingerprint sensor of YI in view of CHAING for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 13, YI in view of CHAING discloses the electronic device of claim 1, XIE (Figs. 3-7) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based at least in part on the first touch input being maintained until the recognition of the first fingerprint portion is completed, enroll the first fingerprint portion as at least part of the fingerprint (Figs. 3-7; fingerprint input is maintained until recognition of fingerprint input and the enrollment of fingerprint are complete). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate the teaching from XIE to the fingerprint sensor of YI in view of CHAING for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 16, YI in view of CHAING discloses the method of claim 14, but does not disclose a third user interface as claimed. However, XIE (Figs. 1-7) discloses the method further comprising: during the enrollment, displaying a third user interface (e.g., Figs. 3-7; touch input user interface 20) in the first display area of the display as at least partially surrounded by the first user interface (Figs. 3-7; first user interface comprising graphic indicators 12, 15, 16, 17, and 18). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate the teaching from XIE to the fingerprint sensor of YI in view of CHAING. The combination/motivation would allow the user to complete the enrollment of a fingerprint accurately and efficiently.
Regarding claim 19, YI in view of CHAING discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, but does not disclose a third user interface as claimed. However, XIE (Figs. 1-7) discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform: during the enrollment, displaying a third user interface (e.g., Figs. 3-7; touch input user interface 20) in the first display area of the display as at least partially surrounded by the first user interface (Figs. 3-7; first user interface comprising graphic indicators 12, 15, 16, 17, and 18). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate the teaching from XIE to the fingerprint sensor of YI in view of CHAING. The combination/motivation would allow the user to complete the enrollment of a fingerprint accurately and efficiently.
Response to Arguments
8. Regarding claims 1, 14, and 17, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. In view of amendments, the reference of YI (CN 107690654 A) has been used for new ground rejection.
Regarding the new limitations “… based at least in part on the first touch input being interrupted before the completion of the recognition of the first fingerprint portion, forgo displaying the graphical effect …” recited in claims 1, 14, and 17, first of all, the new limitations are not supported by the original disclosure and therefore constitutes new matter (See also 37 C.F.R. 1.121(f), MPEP 608.04, 706.03(o)). Furthermore, according to claim 1 and the specification, the graphical effect is defined as an indication of a progress of fingerprint recognition. CHIANG (Figs. 5, 8, and 11; [0037], [0044], and [0051]) discloses a graphical indication area 511 indicates the progress of fingerprint recognition and enrollment process, when the finger lifts and fingerprint input is interrupted, the graphical indication area 511 is stopped to further display the progress of fingerprint recognition and enrollment process.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623