DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-27,29-35,37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (WO 2018174577 A1) “ refer to (US 20210112590 A1) for English translation” hereinafter referenced as Kim, in view of HUAWEI et al. (3GPP DRAFT; R2-1903411, FR, vol. RAN WG2), hereinafter referenced as Huawei.
Regarding claims 21, 29 and 37, Kim teaches a method for mobile terminated, MT, early data transmission, EDT, in a wireless communication system, (Para. [0104]-[0105]-Kim discloses a method for early transmission / reception of data a method of transmitting / receiving a message enables earlier for UL data and Msg4 for DL data. Or to enable transmission and reception before that. Para. [0111]-[0112]-Kim discloses a method for transmitting DL data or additionally transmitting UL data during a random access procedure. Para. [0003]-[0004]-Kim discloses a method and apparatus for performing a random access process for efficiently transmitting and receiving data in a wireless communication system. Fig. 1, Para. [0035]-[0036]-Kim discloses a control plane and a user plane structure of a radio interface protocol between a terminal and an E-UTRAN based on a 3GPP radio access network standard. Para. [0189]-[0190]-Kim discloses the computer readable medium may be located inside or outside the processor to exchange data with the processor), receiving, by a node of a radio access network, RAN, information indicative of downlink data for transmission to a user equipment, UE, served by the RAN; (Para. [0123]-[0124]-Kim discloses in the case of NB-IoT, specific non-anchor physical resource block (PRB) (s) may be allocated to an NPRACH transmission region for indicating early UL data transmission. Para. [0156]-[0157]-Kim discloses a reserved bit in (N) PDCCH DCI corresponding to (N) PDSCH that informs using a specific RNTI in Msg2 transmission or indicates an early DL data transmission to indicate early DL data transmission in the Msg2 phase); based at least in part on the information indicative of the downlink data, determining to initiate the MT EDT to transmit the downlink data to the UE; (Para. [0114]-[0115]-Kim discloses initiates the transmission of DL data for the early DL data transmission and reception)
generating a Radio Resource Control (RRC) paging message for sending to the UE (Para. [0114]-[0115]-Kim discloses a base station may use a paging occasion to transmit DL data or request UL data transmission to a terminal, and may transmit a paging message including UE identification information (or UE commit ID) of the corresponding UE in a paging occasion, thereby indicating an RRC connection to the UE a terminal receives a paging message including its UE identification information (or UE ID) at a paging opportunity. Fig. 11, Para. [0173]-[0174]- Kim discloses the eNB sets at least one paging opportunity PO for a specific paging period, and enables the UE to obtain a paging message at a paging opportunity set for the UE. The paging period may refer to a period during which the paging message is transmitted. The UE in the RRC-IDLE or RRC-SUSPENDED state may recover from the paging opportunity set up to the connected state and receive the paging message) the RRC paging message comprising:the MT EDT indication (Para. [0156]-[0157]-Kim discloses indicates an early DL data transmission to indicate early DL data transmission), an indication of a contention free (CF) physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble (CF preamble) (Para. [0114]-[0115]-Kim discloses a base station may use a paging occasion to transmit DL data or request UL data transmission to a terminal, and may transmit a paging message including UE identification information (or UE commit ID) of the corresponding UE in a paging occasion, thereby indicating an RRC connection to the UE. Figs. 1-10, Para. [0038]-Kim discloses If there is an RRC connected (RRC Connected) between the UE and the RRC layer of the network, the UE is in an RRC connected mode, otherwise it is in an RRC idle mode. The non-access stratum (NAS) layer above the RRC layer performs functions such as session management and mobility management. Figs. 1-10, Para. [0127]-[0128]-Kim discloses one bit is indicated depending on whether Opt1 is used for (N) PRACH transmission, and one bit is indicated depending on whether Opt2 is used for (N) PRACH transmission. Para. [0164-0166]-Kim discloses random access method (... contention-free) to support early data transmission during the random access process (more specifically, to perform early data transmission)), and an indication of an EDT-radio network temporary identifier (EDT-RNTI) (Para. [0157]-[0158]-Kim discloses early DL data transmission is indicated using a specific RNTI); and
transmitting the RRC paging message to the UE (Para. [0114]-[0115]-Kim discloses that when a terminal receives a paging message including its UE identification information (or UE ID) at a paging opportunity, the terminal may perform a random access procedure to establish an RRC connection and then transmit and receive DL / UL data).
Kim fails to teach based on the information indicative of the downlink data, determining to initiate MT EDT to transmit the downlink data to the UE the EDT-RNTI is defined as EDT-RNTI = Paging-RNTI (P- RNTI) - constant * offset, and wherein the constant is a PRACH preamble index, the offset is an x-bit offset to the P-RNTI, wherein X is an integer
However, Huawei teaches based on the information indicative of the downlink data, determining to initiate MT EDT to transmit the downlink data to the UE (Figs. 2-3, Section 2.2, Page 4 - Huawei discloses the MME decides to use MT-EDT, the MME provides the MT-EDT indication and possibly the DL data size. Fig. 1, Section 2.1, Page 2 - Huawei discloses the MME decides to trigger MT-EDT based on the UE capability and some indication that the data are suitable for EDT the MME sends the S1 paging to eNB with additional MT-EDT information upon receiving the paging message with MT-EDT related information, the eNB allocates a contention free preamble and a dedicated RNTI for the UE);
generating a Radio Resource Control (RRC) paging message for sending to the UE (Figs. 1-3, Section 2.2, Page 4 - Huawei discloses the MME decides to use MT-EDT, the MME provides the MT-EDT indication and possibly the DL data size the UE restores the AS context, reactivates security and resumes SRB(s)/DRB(s) upon reception of the paging message with MT-EDT indication. Fig. 1, Section 2.1, Page 2 - Huawei discloses the MME decides to trigger MT-EDT based on the UE capability and some indication that the data are suitable for EDT the MME sends the S1 paging to eNB with additional MT-EDT information upon receiving the paging message with MT-EDT related information, the eNB allocates a contention free preamble and a dedicated RNTI for the UE The UE is paged with a paging message that contains a dedicated contention free preamble (CFRA) and a dedicated RNTI), the RRC paging message comprising:
(i) the MT EDT indication (Figs. 2-3, Section 2.2, Page 4 - Huawei discloses the MME decides to use MT-EDT, the MME provides the MT-EDT indication),
(ii) an indication of a contention free (CF) physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble (CF preamble) (Fig. 1, Section 2.1, Page 2 - Huawei discloses the MME decides to trigger MT-EDT based on the UE capability and some indication that the data are suitable for EDT the MME sends the S1 paging to eNB with additional MT-EDT information upon receiving the paging message with MT-EDT related information, the eNB allocates a contention free preamble and a dedicated RNTI for the UE The UE is paged with a paging message that contains a dedicated contention free preamble (CFRA) and a dedicated RNTI), and
(iii) an indication of an EDT- radio network temporary identifier (EDT-RNTI) (Fig. 1, Section 2.1, Page 2 - Huawei discloses the MME decides to trigger MT-EDT based on the UE capability and some indication that the data are suitable for EDT the MME sends the S1 paging to eNB with additional MT-EDT information upon receiving the paging message with MT-EDT related information, the eNB allocates a contention free preamble and a dedicated RNTI for the UE The UE is paged with a paging message that contains a dedicated contention free preamble (CFRA) and a dedicated RNTI),
the EDT-RNTI is defined as EDT-RNTI = Paging-RNTI (P- RNTI) - constant * offset, and wherein the constant is a PRACH preamble index (Figs. 1-3, Section 2.1, Page 2 - Huawei discloses the UE is paged with a paging message that contains a dedicated contention free preamble (CFRA) and a dedicated RNTI. Section 2.2, Page 4 - Huawei discloses CFRA preamble is included in the paging message for the UE paged for MT-EDT a dedicated RNTI is assigned to the UE in the paging message to be used for reception of the PDCCH scheduling DL data in the next step. Another option would be that the CFRA preamble is followed by a RAR providing a RNTI and a DL grant. For example, in eMTC, the RNTI is 16 bit long and the CFRA 12 bit long (preamble index, PRACH Mask index and CEL). This is 28 bits in addition to S-TMSI for a UE paged for MT-EDT, which will reduce the paging capacity by about 40% (assume paging TBS is 1000 bits). Section 3, Pages 7-8 - Huawei discloses for the UP solution, a RRC message is multiplexed with DL data. Details FFS for the CP solution, the downlink data are included as a NAS PDU in a RRC message), the offset is an x-bit offset to the P-RNTI, wherein X is an integer(Section 2.2, Page 4 - Huawei discloses ..the RNTI is 16 bit long and the CFRA 12 bit long (preamble index, PRACH Mask index and CEL). This is 28 bits in addition to S-TMSI for a UE paged for MT-EDT, which will reduce the paging capacity by about 40% (assume paging TBS is 1000 bits). Section 3, Pages 7-8 - Huawei discloses for the UP solution, a RRC message is multiplexed with DL data. Details FFS for the CP solution)
Kim and Huawei are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication systems, dealing with method and apparatus for performing a random access procedure for efficiently transmitting and receiving data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim to incorporate the teachings of Huawei on receiving information indicative of downlink data, with a motivation for MT EDT, and ultimately guarantee MT EDT for user and control plane data, (Huawei, Conclusion-Pages 7-8).
Regarding claims 22,30,38 Kim in view of Huawei teaches wherein the information indicative of the downlink data comprises a size of the downlink data(Figs. 2-3, Section 2.2, Page 4 - Huawei discloses the MME decides to use MT-EDT, the MME provides the MT-EDT indication and possibly the DL data size).
Regarding claims 23,31 Kim in view of Huawei teaches receiving, from the UE, a preamble
for the MT EDT (Figs. 2-3, Section 2.2, Page 4 - Huawei discloses the MME decides to use MT-EDT, the MME provides the MT-EDT indication and possibly the DL data size)..
Regarding claims 24,32,39 Kim in view of Huawei teaches receiving, from the UE, an RRC response message to the RRC paging message, the RRC response message comprising the CF preamble (Para. [0114]-[0115]-Kim discloses the base station may use a paging opportunity to transmit DL data or request UL data transmission to the terminal, and instructs the terminal to RRC connection by transmitting a paging message including the UE identification information (or UE ID) of the terminal in the paging opportunity information (or UE ID) at a paging opportunity, the terminal may perform a random access procedure to establish an RRC connection and then transmit and receive DL / UL data);identifying the UE from the CF preamble in the RRC response message (Fig. 8, Para. [0135]-[0136]-Kim discloses in step S830 may include an RRC connection request message, and UE identification information (or UE ID) may be transmitted to the eNB through the RRC connection request message); sending to a mobility management entity (MME), via an S1 application protocol (S1-AP) initial message, a request for the downlink data (Fig. 1, Para. [0038]-[0039]-Kim discloses the non-access stratum (NAS) layer above the RRC layer performs functions such as session management and mobility management); and receiving, from the MME and via an S1-AP response message, a downlink non- access stratum (NAS) protocol data unit (PDU) (Fig. 7, Para. [0087-0094]-Kim discloses random access procedure Control plane EPS optimization RRC connection setup complete (NAS PDU with data)).
Regarding claims 25,33,40 Kim in view of Huawei teaches wherein the downlink data is transmitted using control plane cellular internet of things, CP CloT, optimization, (Fig. 1, Para. [0035]- [0036]-Kim discloses a user plane structure of a radio interface protocol between a terminal and an E-UTRAN based on a 3GPP radio access network standard the user plane refers to a path through which data generated at an application layer, for example, voice data or Internet packet data, is transmitted), and wherein the method further comprises: transmitting the downlink NAS PDU to the UE in a downlink RRC message(Fig. 1, Para. [0038]-[0039]-Kim discloses the non-access stratum (NAS) layer above the RRC layer performs functions such as session management and mobility management, Figs. 2-3, Section 2.3-3.0, Pages 6-8 . Huawei discloses the downlink data are included as a NAS PDU in a RRC message).
Regarding claims 26,34 Kim in view of Huawei teaches wherein the received downlink NAS PDU is encrypted using NAS security (Para. [0072]-[0073]-Kim discloses the UE may receive and decode a random access response message from a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). Para. [0124]-Kim discloses orthogonal cover codes may be multiplied by the preamble symbol or the preamble symbol group unit. Fig. 1, Para. [0038]-Kim discloses the non-access stratum (NAS) layer above the RRC layer performs functions such as session management and mobility management. Fig. 7, Para. [0087-0094]-Kim discloses RRC connection setup complete (NAS PDU with data)).
Regarding claims 27,35 Kim in view of Huawei teaches wherein the information indicative of downlink data is received from a mobility management entity, MME, via an S1 application protocol, S1-AP,paging message (Figs. 2-3, Section 2.2, Page 4 - Huawei discloses the MME decides to use MT-EDT, the MME provides the MT-EDT indication and possibly the DL data size. Fig. 1, Section 2.1, Page 2 - Huawei discloses the MME decides to trigger MT-EDT based on the UE capability and some indication that the data are suitable for EDT the MME sends the S1 paging to eNB with additional MT-EDT information upon receiving the paging message with MT-EDT related information, the eNB allocates a contention free preamble and a dedicated RNTI for the UE).
Claims 28,36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (WO 2018174577 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kim, “ refer to (US 20210112590 A1) for English translation” in view of HUAWEI et al. (3GPP DRAFT; R2-1903411, FR, vol. RAN WG2), hereinafter referenced as Huawei, and further in view of PANI et al. (US 20110274040 A1), hereinafter referenced as Pani.
Regarding claims 28,36 Kim in view of Huawei does not explicitly teach wherein a CF preamble is generated using a modulo function of a UE identifier, ID, and a PRACH preamble index.
However, Pani teaches wherein a CF preamble is generated using a modulo
function of a UE identifier, ID, and a PRACH preamble index (Para. [0160]-Pani discloses to avoid having all WTRUs access the same PRACH resources at the same time, the methods described herein may be used. In addition, the network may indicate via the group PDCCH order that the WTRU perform certain actions. For example, the PDCCH order may indicate that the WTRU randomly select a preamble and PRACH mask index or, select a preamble and PRACH mask index depending on its individual identity, (for instance WTRU identity modulo MaxNumberOfPreambles). It may also indicate that the WTRU randomly select an odd or even preamble and PRACH mask index depending on its individual identity. In the event that the WRTU may select a preamble among a subset of preambles depending on its individual identity, it may use the individual identity for the PRACH mask index).
Pani is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with uplink random access channel transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kim in view of Huawei to incorporate the teachings of Pani on PRACH peamble, with a motivation for preamble generation using modulo function, and ultimately guarantee optimizing Random Access Channel (RACH) transmissions from wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs) for multiple simultaneous transmissions, (Pani, Para. [0004]).
Listed below is the prior art made of record and not relied upon but are considered
pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wong to WO 2020030707 A1 : discloses a method of operating a terminal device to receive user plane data from a network infrastructure equipment in a wireless telecommunications network when the terminal device is not in an active radio resource connected mode, the method comprising: receiving paging message signalling from the network infrastructure equipment, wherein the paging message signalling comprises an indication the network infrastructure equipment has user plane data for transmission to the terminal device while the terminal device is not in an active radio resource connected mode; determining from the paging message signalling a set of radio resources on which the user plane data is to be transmitted by the network infrastructure equipment to the terminal device; and receiving the user plane data from the network infrastructure equipment using the determined set of radio resources while the terminal device is not in an active radio resource connected mode.
Conclusion
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461