DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The applicant’s claim to priority of JP2024-103058 on 6/26/2024 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The applicant filed an IDS on 5/12/25 or 10/31/25. Each has been annotated and considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: switch portion, mode setting unit and operating disabling unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.Regarding claim 1, the limitation “external forces” lacks written description. The Specification only discloses these external forces are only manually applied by an operator. However, as the claim is written, these external forces can be provided by other external force generators known in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yokoyama (JP 7449441 hereinafter Yokoyama).
Regarding claim 1, Yokoyama teaches a robot system comprising:
a tool portion attached to a distal end of a robot arm of a cooperative robot (See at least: Figs. 1 and 2; “The teaching handle 40 is a member that, when held by an operator of the welding robot 1, teaches the robot body 10 an operation corresponding to the position to which the torch tip 21t moves by an external force applied by the operator to the tip of the robot body 10.”);
a switch portion that causes, when switched to an on state, the cooperative robot to be operable according to an external force (See at least: “An operation switch 46 is disposed on the end face 45b on the handle tip 40t side of the surface 45a of the raised portion 45. The operation switch 46 is a switch that allows the robot body 10, whose movement is restricted, to move due to an external force. Since the operation switch 46 is disposed on the end face on the handle tip 40t side of the surface of the raised portion 45, the operation switch 46 can be easily pressed with the index finger F2 of the operator while the operator places his/her fingers F3 through F5 on the raised portion 45….6. Manual welding and teaching The teaching of the welding robot in manual welding and automatic welding using the welding robot 1 will be described below together with its effects. For example, in the case of manual welding, (a) the operator (worker) sets the manual welding mode by using the function button 42. When the operator presses the operation switch 46 once, the mechanical or electrical lock of the first to sixth motors is released. This allows the operator to hold the teaching handle 40 and move the torch tip 21t of the torch body 21 along the welding line while changing the posture of the robot body 10 by the external force (operation force) from the teaching handle 40 in accordance with the welding operation. Specifically, the above-mentioned control device controls the driving of the first to sixth motors of the robot body 10 in response to a signal detected by the external force from the teaching handle 40 from the above-mentioned torque sensors of each axis attached to the robot body 10, or a force sensor (not shown) that measures each force in three-dimensional directions applied to the tip of the robot body 10.”);
a button to which a specific function is assigned (See at least: As shown in FIG. 3, a display panel 44, a function lever 43, and a number of function buttons 42 are arranged on the top surface 41f of the handle body 41, in that order from the handle tip 40t side. A stop button 48 is attached to the end face of the handle tip 40t.);
a mode setting unit that sets an operation mode for operating the cooperative robot (See at least: “An operation switch 46 is disposed on the end face 45b on the handle tip 40t side of the surface 45a of the raised portion 45. The operation switch 46 is a switch that allows the robot body 10, whose movement is restricted, to move due to an external force.); and
an operation disabling unit that disables an operation on the button while the operation mode is set to a direct operation mode in which an operator directly applies the external force to the cooperative robot by hand and operates the cooperative robot by moving the cooperative robot according to the external force, and the switch portion is maintained in the on state (See at least: “For example, when teaching, if the operator (worker) sets the function button 42 to the first teaching mode (b), the mechanical or electrical lock of the first to sixth motors is continuously released by continuing to press the operation switch 46. As a result, the operator holds the teaching handle 40 and continues to press the operation switch 46 in accordance with the welding operation, and moves the torch tip 21t of the welding torch 20 along the welding line while changing the posture of the robot body 10 due to the external force (operation force) from the teaching handle 40. Specifically, as described above, the above-mentioned control device controls the drive of the first to sixth motors of the robot body 10 in response to the signal detected from the above-mentioned torque sensor or force sensor due to the external force from the teaching handle 40. At this time, the rotational positions of the first to sixth motors are calculated based on the detection signal of the encoder (not shown) of the first to sixth motors. This allows the operator to teach the welding operation of the robot body 10. For example, when teaching, if the operator (worker) sets the function button 42 to the second teaching mode (c), the operator can perform teaching similar to that performed by a commonly known teaching pendant by operating the function lever 43, etc. Therefore, a detailed description will be omitted.”),
wherein the switch portion and the button are provided on any one of the robot arm or a member attached to the robot arm and attached at a position different from the tool portion (See at least: Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 2, Yokoyama teaches wherein the switch portion is maintained in the on state as the operator continues to press the switch portion (See at least: “Specifically, the first to sixth motors described above are attached to the robot body 10, and when the operation switch 46 is not pressed (OFF state), the first to sixth motors are mechanically or electrically locked. When the operation switch 46 is pressed (ON state), the mechanical or electrical lock of the first to sixth motors is released. Here, the lock may be set to continue by continuing to press the operation switch 46, or the lock may be set to switch between lock and unlock by pressing the operation switch 46 once. In this way, the restriction (lock) on the movement of the robot body 10 is released, and movement of the robot body 10 is permitted.”).
Regarding claim 3, Yokoyama teaches a torch mount disposed between the distal end of the robot arm and the tool portion, wherein the switch portion and the button are provided on the torch mount (See at least: Figs. 1-4 items 21 “torch body”, item 46 “operation switch”; “As shown in Figure 4, the torch body 21 and teaching handle 40 are viewed from the side with the teaching handle 40 supported by the handle support 35. In this side view, the teaching handle 40 extends in a direction away from the second portion 21b from the bent portion 21k to the torch tip 21t, sandwiching the first torch imaginary line T1 along the first portion 21a of the torch body 21 from the torch base end 21p to the bent portion 21k.”).
Regarding claim 4, Yokoyama teaches wherein the specific function is a function related to movement of the cooperative robot (See at least: The function button 42 is a switch for switching between (a) a manual welding mode by the operator (worker), (b) a first teaching mode in which the operator (worker) teaches the robot body 10 a welding operation by using an external force, and (c) a second teaching mode in which the operator (worker) sends an operation signal to the robot body 10 by operating the function lever 43, etc., and operates the robot body 10 to teach the robot body 10 a welding operation. The state of the robot body 10, including such modes, etc., is displayed on the display panel 44. Furthermore, the stop button 48 is a button for forcibly stopping the welding robot 1 in an emergency, etc. The signal output by the operator's operation of the function button 42 and the function lever 43 is transmitted to the above-mentioned control device via a cable 49 connected to the handle base end 40p of the teaching handle 40.).
Regarding claim 5, Yokoyama teaches wherein the specific function is a function related to a tool operation (See at least: The function button 42 is a switch for switching between (a) a manual welding mode by the operator (worker), (b) a first teaching mode in which the operator (worker) teaches the robot body 10 a welding operation by using an external force, and (c) a second teaching mode in which the operator (worker) sends an operation signal to the robot body 10 by operating the function lever 43, etc., and operates the robot body 10 to teach the robot body 10 a welding operation. The state of the robot body 10, including such modes, etc., is displayed on the display panel 44. Furthermore, the stop button 48 is a button for forcibly stopping the welding robot 1 in an emergency, etc. The signal output by the operator's operation of the function button 42 and the function lever 43 is transmitted to the above-mentioned control device via a cable 49 connected to the handle base end 40p of the teaching handle 40.).
Regarding claim 6, Yokoyama teaches wherein the specific function is a function of changing a pattern of a function to be assigned to the button (See at least: The function button 42 is a switch for switching between (a) a manual welding mode by the operator (worker), (b) a first teaching mode in which the operator (worker) teaches the robot body 10 a welding operation by using an external force, and (c) a second teaching mode in which the operator (worker) sends an operation signal to the robot body 10 by operating the function lever 43, etc., and operates the robot body 10 to teach the robot body 10 a welding operation. The state of the robot body 10, including such modes, etc., is displayed on the display panel 44. Furthermore, the stop button 48 is a button for forcibly stopping the welding robot 1 in an emergency, etc. The signal output by the operator's operation of the function button 42 and the function lever 43 is transmitted to the above-mentioned control device via a cable 49 connected to the handle base end 40p of the teaching handle 40.).
Conclusion
/HARRY Y OH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657