DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 12-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2,735,277 A (Clark).
With respect to claim 1: Clark discloses a climate control door assembly comprising: a door panel (door member 17) configured to pivotably connect to a frame panel (hinges 18 connect door member 17 at the “access opening 15 in one wall of the body”); and a climate control unit mounted to the door panel (at least Fig. 1); wherein the climate control unit includes a cooling portion (at least evaporator 24) and a heating portion (at least condenser 35); wherein the cooling portion is located on a first side of the door panel (evaporator 24 is on the interior side of door member 17) and the heating portion is located on a second side of the door panel (condenser 35 is on the exterior side of door member 17).
With respect to claim 2: Clark discloses wherein the climate control unit includes an interior portion (Fig. 1: components on the interior side of door member 17) that includes the cooling portion (evaporator 24 is on the interior side of door member 17) and an exterior portion (Fig. 1: components on the exterior side of door member 17) that includes the heating portion (condenser 35 is on the exterior side of door member 17).
With respect to claim 3: Clark discloses wherein the interior portion is operably connected to the exterior portion via an opening (one of more of the openings through door member 17 for the conduits 49/50, the bearing 29, and/or the bolts 37) defined in the door panel (Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 4: Clark discloses wherein the interior portion is operably connected to the exterior portion via a conduit (one of both of conduits 49/50).
With respect to claim 5: Clark discloses wherein the interior portion includes an evaporator (evaporator 24) and the exterior portion includes a condenser (condenser 35).
With respect to claim 6: Clark discloses wherein the climate control unit is at least partially supported by a bracket (one or more of the housing 23, the two brackets 23a, housing 30, and/or the bracket member 36) mounted to the door panel.
With respect to claim 12: Clark discloses wherein the door panel is configured to pivotally connect to the frame panel (via hinges 18).
With respect to claim 13: Clark discloses wherein the door panel is configured to connect to the frame panel via hinges (hinges 18).
With respect to claim 14: Clark discloses wherein the hinges are separable (“separable hinge 18” @ col. 2, line 68 and/or “separable or demountable hinges 18” @ col. 3, lines 6-7).
With respect to claim 15: Clark discloses an enclosure panel comprising: a frame (body 10 and/or the wall forming access opening 15) defining an opening (access opening 15); and a climate control door assembly (door member 17 and the refrigeration components mounted thereto) connected to the frame to close the opening (as in Figs. 1-2), the climate control door assembly including: a door panel (door member 17), and a climate control unit mounted to the door panel (at least Fig. 1); wherein the climate control unit includes an interior portion (refrigeration components at inner wall 20 of door member 17) and an exterior portion (refrigeration components at outer wall 19 of door member 17); wherein the interior portion is located on a first side of the door panel and the exterior portion is located on a second side of the door panel (Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 16: Clark discloses wherein the climate control door assembly is removably connected to the frame (via the separable or demountable hinges 18).
With respect to claim 17: Clark discloses wherein the interior portion comprises a cooling portion of the climate control unit (at least evaporator 24) and the exterior portion comprises a heating portion of the climate control unit (at least condenser 35).
With respect to claim 18: Clark discloses wherein the interior portion is operably connected to the exterior portion via a passage (one of more of the passages through door member 17 for the conduits 49/50, the bearing 29, and/or the bolts 37) defined in the door panel (Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 20: Clark discloses a climate-controlled enclosure, the enclosure comprising: a first wall panel (the wall in body 10 forming access opening 15); an opening (access opening 15) defined through the first wall panel; a door panel (door member 17) pivotably mounted to the first wall panel (via hinges 18) and configured to cover the opening (as in Figs. 1-2); and a climate control unit mounted to the door panel (at least Fig. 1), the climate control unit including an interior portion (refrigeration components at inner wall 20 of door member 17) and an exterior portion (refrigeration components at outer wall 19 of door member 17); wherein the interior portion is located on a first side of the door panel facing an interior of the enclosure and the exterior portion is located on a second side of the door panel facing an exterior of the enclosure (Fig. 1); wherein the climate control unit is at least partially positioned within the enclosure when the door panel is positioned in a closed configuration (Fig. 1), and wherein the climate control unit is removed from the enclosure when the door panel is positioned in an open configuration (the “open configuration” of door member 17 being when door member 17 is removed from body 10 via the separable hinges 18, thereby removing the climate control unit on the door member 17 from body 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2,735,277 A (Clark) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of US 2,466,876 A (Brouse).
With respect to claim 7: Clark does not disclose “wherein the bracket extends beyond a lower edge of the door panel” as claimed.
Brouse Figs. 1-3 show exterior bracket structure (frame/casing 10) on the exterior of a closure member 3. Such bracket structure at least partially supports climate control means, and extends beyond a lower edge of the closure member 3. Brouse col. 1 describes setting the unitary structure (frame/casing 10 and the contents thereof) into an opening in the wall of a refrigerating compartment built into a building.
Clark col. 4, lines 14-34 describe the refrigeration unit being adaptable for use with a stationary space to be cooled, and that the refrigeration unit is easily removable as a unitary structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Clark’s housing 30 and/or bracket member 36 to extend beyond a lower edge of the door member 17, in order to adapt Clark’s door-mounted refrigeration system for setting into an opening in the wall of a refrigerating compartment built into a building.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2,735,277 A (Clark) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of US 5,522,216 A (Park).
With respect to claim 8: Clark discloses “a nonmetallic breaker strip 21a” on the door. Breaker strip 21a of Clark does not meet “wherein an elastomeric seal is mounted to the door panel” as claimed.
Park col. 7, lines 25-42 discloses various types of sealing means 106 such as elastomeric material used to prevent air flow and the resulting undesired transfer of thermal energy between the exterior of door assembly 22 to the interior of enclosed (refrigerated) structure 40.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Clark’s breaker strip 21a to have Park’s elastomeric sealing means 106 thereon, in order to predictably prevent air flow and undesired transfer of thermal energy between the exterior of Clark’s door member 17 to the interior of the refrigerated body 10.
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2,735,277 A (Clark) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2,007,854 A (Grill).
With respect to claim 9: Clark does not disclose “wherein a locking latch is mounted in the door panel” as claimed.
Grill discloses a lock for doors of refrigerated enclosures of appreciable size. The lock enables the door to be opened conventionally from the outside, but also from the inside. Opening from the inside prevents a person from becoming confined and locked within the refrigerated enclosure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Clark’s door member 17 to include Grill’s lock, in order to enable Clark’s refrigerated body 10 to be locked while preventing a person from being confined and locked within the body 10.
Grill’s lock, as added to Clark’s door member 17, meets the claimed “locking latch”. See Grill Fig. 1. In the modification, the passageway 35 and cable therein meet “mounted in the door panel” as claimed.
With respect to claim 10: Clark, as modified, meets wherein the locking latch is operable via a pull loop extending from an interior side of the door panel (Grill’s ring or other object 35 and cable attached thereto).
With respect to claim 11: Clark, as modified, meets wherein the locking latch is operable via a handle (Grill’s lever 17) mounted to an exterior side of the door panel.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2,735,277 A (Clark) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of US 2017/0363319 A1 (Long).
With respect to claim 19: Clark does not disclose “further comprising a cage interiorly mounted to the frame and blocking the opening” as claimed.
Clark Fig. 1 shows “a shroud-like casing or housing 23” surrounding the “interior portion” of the “climate control unit”.
Long discloses a cage 500, 600, 700 for an air conditioner unit. The cage protects the air conditioner (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Clark’s body 10 to include a cage like Long’s cage 500, 600, 700, as an obvious variation of or addition to the housing 23. Such structure(s) serve to enclose and protect the refrigeration equipment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ANDREW ROERSMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637