DETAILED ACTION
Applicant filed a preliminary amendment cancelling claim 1 and adding claims 2-21. Claims 2-21 are now pending.
35 USC § 101
The claims are directed to an improved interface for viewing product listings. The claims are therefore not directed to an abstract idea. Core Wireless Licensing S.A.R.L. v. LG Elecs., 125 USPQ2d 1436 (Fed. Cir. 2018). The claims are therefore directed to statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0209643 A1 (hereinafter “Manoharan”).
With respect to claim 2, Manoharan discloses
“A computer-implemented method comprising”: Manoharan, abstract;
“generating, for a product listing and by utilizing a generative AI model trained to generate digital content from product facts according to user engagement data, a first digital content tailored to a first user account based on user engagement data of the first user account”; Manoharan ¶¶ 0020, 0021, 0064 (digital content is generated by model for product listing based on user engagement data including user browsing data);
“generating, for the product listing and by utilizing the generative AI model, a second digital content tailored to a second user account based on user engagement data of the second user account, wherein second digital content is different from the first digital content”; Manoharan ¶¶ 0020, 0021, 0064 (separate digital content is generated for each user tailored to that specific user based on that user’s user engagement data); and
“providing the first digital content for display on a first client device associated with the first user account and the second digital content for display a second client device associated with the second user account, wherein the first client device and the second client device each present the product listing”. Manoharan ¶¶ 0020, 0021, 0064 (digital content is displayed by server for viewing on each user’s client device).
With respect to claims 3, 10, and 17, Manoharan discloses
“wherein: generating the first digital content comprises utilizing the generative AI model to generate digital content elements effective for engaging the first user account; and generating the second digital content comprises utilizing the generative AI model to generate digital content elements effective for engaging the second user account”. Manoharan ¶¶ 0020, 0021, 0064 (content is tailored based on user data, including account data).
With respect to claims 4, 11, and 18, Manoharan discloses
“wherein providing the first digital content for display and providing the second digital content for display comprises: providing a first visualization of the product listing for display on the first client device, wherein the first visualization depicts the first digital content; and providing a second visualization of the product listing for display on the second client device, wherein the second visualization depicts the second digital content different from the first digital content”. Manoharan ¶¶ 0020, 0021, 0064 (content is tailored for each user, which includes visual appearance of content because any tailoring of content will affect its appearance).
With respect to claims 5, 12, and 19, Manoharan discloses
“wherein: generating the first digital content comprises utilizing the generative AI model to process engagement data indicating interactions of the first user account within a digital platform; and generating the second digital content comprises utilizing the generative AI model to process engagement data indicating interactions of the second user account within a digital platform, wherein the interactions of the second user account are different than the interactions of the first user account”. Manoharan ¶¶ 0020, 0021, 0064 (model processes engagement data for each user; tailoring content to a particular user includes interactions that are in some way different from those relating to other users).
With respect to claims 8 and 15, Manoharan discloses
“wherein the generative AI model is trained, based on content descriptions, content images and interactions with digital content having the content descriptions and the content images, to determine elements of the content descriptions and the content images that impact the interactions by user accounts”. Manoharan ¶ 0034 (model is trained using user data and marketplace data, including product related data).
With respect to claim 9, Manoharan discloses
“one or more processors”; Manoharan ¶ 0024; and
“a memory coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the memory includes instructions executable by the one or more processors to”. Manoharan ¶ 0024.
Claim 9 is otherwise rejected on the same basis as claim 2.
With respect to claim 16, Manoharan discloses
“A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to”. Manoharan ¶ 0024.
Claim 16 is otherwise rejected on the same basis as claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manoharan in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0135212 A1 (hereinafter “Kennedy”).
With respect to claims 6, 13, and 20, Manoharan does not explicitly disclose a large language model. Kennedy discloses
" wherein the generative AI model comprises a large language model ". Kennedy " 0016, 0020, 0043, 0067, 0072 (large language model is used to generate content).
Both Manoharan and Kennedy relate to generating content. Manoharan, abstract; Kennedy, abstract. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the large language model feature as taught by Kennedy in the method of Manoharan with the motivation of creating content that is responsive to users. Kennedy ¶ 0004.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manoharan in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0228439 A1 (hereinafter “Anthony”).
With respect to claims 7 and 14, Manoharan discloses
“wherein: generating the first digital content is based on a first … [criterion] for displaying the first digital content on the first client device; and generating the second digital content is based on a second …[criterion] for displaying the second digital content on the second client device”. Manoharan ¶¶ 0020, 0021, 0064 (display of digital content can be based on any data relating to the particular user).
Manoharan does not explicitly disclose a time of day. Anthony discloses displaying content to a user based on the time of day. Anthony ¶ 0025.
Mahoharan in view of Anthony therefore suggests “wherein: generating the first digital content is based on a first time of day for displaying the first digital content on the first client device; and generating the second digital content is based on a second time of day for displaying the second digital content on the second client device”.
Both Manoharan and Anthony relate to displaying content tailored to particular users. Manoharan, abstract; Anthony, abstract. t would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the time of day feature as taught by Anthony in the method of Manoharan with the motivation of improving user engagement with tailored content. Anthony ¶ 0002.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0294796 A1 (hereinafter “Mitchell”) discloses filtering content based on the time of day. Mitchell ¶ 0079.
ETHAN D. CIVAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3688
/ETHAN D CIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3688