DETAILED ACTION
1. This is a Non-Final Office Action Correspondence in response to U.S. Application No. 19/205479 filed on August 31, 2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. The Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Pg. 12 of remarks in regards to claim 101, relating to claim 1, Applicant argues the amended claims.
Examiner replies that an abstract idea still exists and the claim limitations do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a method.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one independent claim, 1, specifically claim 1 recites “determining, based comparing component identifiers in the first component manifest and the second component manifest, that a conflict exists wherein the first component manifest identifies a component modified at the computer device and the second component manifest identifies a different modified component of the digital asset” in the context of this claim encompasses the user mentally determining that manifest that represent two different storage locations contain different information that would represent a conflict. These limitations could be reasonably and practically performed by the human mind, for instance based on a human can view and read two documents that represent information located at two different data sources and recognize that a conflict exist.
Accordingly, the claim recites a mental process, which can be done utilizing pen and paper.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The independent claim of 1 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome:
For example, "maintaining, at a computing device, a first component manifest that maps components making up a digital asset, wherein the digital asset is represented by a packaged file and each of the components comprises content within a defined boundary of the digital asset and is stored as an individual file separately from other components of the digital asset”, is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example, “receiving, from a cloud synchronization system, a second component manifest for the digital asset”, is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example, “sending, based on determining that the conflict modified at the computing device and the updated first component manifest to the cloud synchronization system to resolve the conflict” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites "maintaining, at a computing device, a first component manifest that maps components making up a digital asset, wherein the digital asset is represented by a packaged file and each of the components comprises content within a defined boundary of the digital asset and is stored as an individual file separately from other components of the digital asset”, “receiving, from a cloud synchronization system, a second component manifest for the digital asset”, “sending, based on determining that the conflict modified at the computing device and the updated first component manifest to the cloud synchronization system to resolve the conflict”.
For example, “maintaining, at a computing device, a first component manifest that maps components making up a digital asset, wherein the digital asset is represented by a packaged file and each of the components comprises content within a defined boundary of the digital asset and is stored as an individual file separately from other components of the digital asset”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
For example, “receiving, from a cloud synchronization system, a second component manifest for the digital asset” do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
For example, “sending, based on determining that the conflict modified at the computing device and the updated first component manifest to the cloud synchronization system to resolve the conflict”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
On Pg. 19 of remarks in regards to 35 U.S.C. 103, relating to claim 1, Applicant argues the amended limitations.
Examiner replies that a new reference is provided below. For the same limitations the reasons are stated within the office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. §101
4. 35 U.S.C. §101 reads as follows:
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a method.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one independent claim, 1, specifically claim 1 recites “determining, based comparing component identifiers in the first component manifest and the second component manifest, that a conflict exists wherein the first component manifest identifies a component modified at the computer device and the second component manifest identifies a different modified component of the digital asset” in the context of this claim encompasses the user mentally determining that manifest that represent two different storage locations contain different information that would represent a conflict. These limitations could be reasonably and practically performed by the human mind, for instance based on a human can view and read two documents that represent information located at two different data sources and recognize that a conflict exist.
Accordingly, the claim recites a mental process, which can be done utilizing pen and paper.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The independent claim of 1 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome:
For example, "maintaining, at a computing device, a first component manifest that maps components making up a digital asset, wherein the digital asset is represented by a packaged file and each of the components comprises content within a defined boundary of the digital asset and is stored as an individual file separately from other components of the digital asset”, is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example, “receiving, from a cloud synchronization system, a second component manifest for the digital asset”, is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example, “sending, based on determining that the conflict modified at the computing device and the updated first component manifest to the cloud synchronization system to resolve the conflict” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites "maintaining, at a computing device, a first component manifest that maps components making up a digital asset, wherein the digital asset is represented by a packaged file and each of the components comprises content within a defined boundary of the digital asset and is stored as an individual file separately from other components of the digital asset”, “receiving, from a cloud synchronization system, a second component manifest for the digital asset”, “sending, based on determining that the conflict modified at the computing device and the updated first component manifest to the cloud synchronization system to resolve the conflict”.
For example, “maintaining, at a computing device, a first component manifest that maps components making up a digital asset, wherein the digital asset is represented by a packaged file and each of the components comprises content within a defined boundary of the digital asset and is stored as an individual file separately from other components of the digital asset”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
For example, “receiving, from a cloud synchronization system, a second component manifest for the digital asset” do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
For example, “sending, based on determining that the conflict modified at the computing device and the updated first component manifest to the cloud synchronization system to resolve the conflict”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a method.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one dependent claim, 2, specifically claim 2 recites no new abstract ideas
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The dependent claim of 2 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome that is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology:
For example “replace the second component manifest with the first component manifest” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example “and replace a corresponding component with the component modified at the computing device” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites “replace the second component manifest with the first component manifest”, “and replace a corresponding component with the component modified at the computing device”.
For example, “replace the second component manifest with the first component manifest”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as storing data (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
For example, “and replace a corresponding component with the component modified at the computing device”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as storing data (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a method.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one dependent claim, 3, specifically claim 3 recites no new abstract ideas
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The dependent claim of 3 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome that is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology:
For example “wherein sending the component modified at the computing device to the cloud synchronization system comprises sending the component modified at the computing device without sending other components making up the digital asset” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites “wherein sending that component modified at the computing device to the cloud synchronization system comprises sending the component modified at the computing device without sending other components making up the digital asset”.
For example, “wherein sending that component modified at the computing device to the cloud synchronization system comprises sending the component modified at the computing device without sending other components making up the digital asset”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a method.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one dependent claim, 4, specifically claim 4 recites no new abstract ideas
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The dependent claim of 4 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome that is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology:
For example, “receiving an updated component from the cloud synchronization system” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example, “and manifest the updated component to a conflicting component stored at the computing device” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites “receiving an updated component from the cloud synchronization system”, “and manifest the updated component to a conflicting component stored at the computing device”.
For example, “receiving an updated component from the cloud synchronization system”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
For example, “and manifest the updated component to a conflicting component stored at the computing device”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing data (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a method.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one dependent claim, 5, specifically claim 5 recites no new abstract ideas
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The dependent claim of 5 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome that is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology:
For example, “further comprising replacing the conflicting component with the updated component” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites “further comprising replacing the conflicting component with the updated component”.
For example, “further comprising replacing the conflicting component with the updated component”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing data (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a method.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one dependent claim, 6, specifically claim 6 recites no new abstract ideas
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The dependent claim of 6 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome that is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology:
For example, “adding the updated component and the conflicting component to the digital asset” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example, “and displaying the digital asset with both the updated component and the conflicting component” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites “adding the updated component and the conflicting component to the digital asset”, “and displaying the digital asset with both the updated component and the conflicting component”.
For example, “adding the updated component and the conflicting component to the digital asset”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing data (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
For example, “and displaying the digital asset with both the updated component and the conflicting component”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing data (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a method.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one dependent claim, 7, specifically claim 7 recites no new abstract ideas
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The dependent claim of 7 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome that is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology:
For example, “wherein: the digital asset comprises a digital image” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example, “and the components comprises image layers” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites “wherein: the digital asset comprises a digital image”, “and the components comprises image layers”.
For example, “wherein: the digital asset comprises a digital image”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing data (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
For example, “and the components comprises image layers”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing data (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
With respect to Step 2A Prong one dependent claim, 8, specifically claim 8 recites no new abstract ideas
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The dependent claim of 8 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome that is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology:
For example, “the digital asset comprises a Portable Document Format file” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example, “and the components comprises pages” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites “the digital asset comprises a Portable Document Format file”, “and the components comprises pages”.
For example, “the digital asset comprises a Portable Document Format file”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing data (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
For example, “and the components comprises pages”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing data (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one independent claim, 9, specifically claim 9 recites “determining, based on the first computing device modifying the first component and the second computing device modifying the second component, that a conflict exists for the digital asset” in the context of this claim encompasses the user using a pen and paper to generate a component that maps the first component and modified component to a digital object. These limitations could be reasonably and practically performed by the human mind, for instance based on a human can view and read two documents that represent information located at two different data sources and recognize that a conflict exist.
Accordingly, the claim recites a mental process, which can be done utilizing pen and paper.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The independent claim of 9 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome:
For example, "maintaining, at a computing device, a first component manifest that maps components making up a digital asset, wherein the digital asset is represented by a packaged file and each of the components comprises content within a defined boundary of the digital asset and is stored as an individual file separately from other components of the digital asset”, is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example, "providing, to a first computing device and a second computing device, simultaneous access to the digital asset”, is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example, “determining that the first computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying a first component of the digital asset”, is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example, “determining that the second computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying a second component of the digital asset” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example, “generating, based on determining that the conflict exists an updated component mapping that maps the modified first component and the modified second component to the digital asset” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example, "maintaining a component mapping that maps components making up a digital asset, wherein the digital asset is represented by a packaged file and each of the components comprises content within a defined boundary of the digital asset and is stored as an individual file separately from other components of the digital asset” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example, “synchronizing the digital asset for the first computing device by providing the updated component mapping to the first computing device and the modified second component” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example, “and synchronizing the digital asset for the second computing device by providing the updated component mapping to the second computing device and the modified first component” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites "maintaining a component mapping that maps components making up a digital asset, wherein the digital asset is represented by a packaged file and each of the components comprises content within a defined boundary of the digital asset and is stored as an individual file separately from other components of the digital asset”, “providing, to a first computing device and a second computing device, simultaneous access to the digital asset”, “determining that the first computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying a first component of the digital asset”, “determining that the second computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying a second component of the digital asset” , “generating, based on determining that the conflict exists an updated component mapping that maps the modified first component and the modified second component to the digital asset”, “synchronizing the digital asset for the first computing device by providing the updated component mapping to the first computing device and the modified second component”, “and synchronizing the digital asset for the second computing device by providing the updated component mapping to the second computing device and the modified first component”.
For example, “maintaining a component mapping that maps components making up a digital asset, wherein the digital asset is represented by a packaged file and each of the components comprises content within a defined boundary of the digital asset and is stored as an individual file separately from other components of the digital asset”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing data (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
For example, “providing, to a first computing device and a second computing device, simultaneous access to the digital asset”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
For example, “determining that the first computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying a first component of the digital asset”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing data (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
For example, “determining that the second computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying a second component of the digital asset” do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
For example, “generating, based on determining that the conflict exists an updated component mapping that maps the modified first component and the modified second component to the digital asset”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
For example, “synchronizing the digital asset for the first computing device by providing the updated component mapping to the first computing device and the modified second component”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
For example, “and synchronizing the digital asset for the second computing device by providing the updated component mapping to the second computing device and the modified first component”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one dependent claim, 10, specifically claim 10 recites no new abstract ideas
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The dependent claim of 10 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome that is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology:
For example “wherein providing, the first computing device and the second computing device, simultaneous access to the digital asset comprises providing access to the digital asset via a cloud-based application hosted by the one or more servers” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites “wherein providing, the first computing device and the second computing device, simultaneous access to the digital asset comprises providing access to the digital asset via a cloud-based application hosted by the one or more servers”.
For example, “wherein providing, the first computing device and the second computing device, simultaneous access to the digital asset comprises providing access to the digital asset via a cloud-based application hosted by the one or more servers”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one dependent claim, 11, specifically claim 11 recites no new abstract ideas
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The dependent claim of 11 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome that is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology:
For example, “wherein synchronizing the digital asset for the first computing device causes the first computing device to display an updated version of the digital asset comprising the modified second component” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites “wherein synchronizing the digital asset for the first computing device causes the first computing device to display an updated version of the digital asset comprising the modified second component”.
For example, “wherein synchronizing the digital asset for the first computing device causes the first computing device to display an updated version of the digital asset comprising the modified second component”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one dependent claim, 12, specifically claim 12 recites no new abstract ideas
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The dependent claim of 12 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome that is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology:
For example, “determining that the first computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying the first component of the digital asset comprises receiving a first component mapping from the first computing device indicating that the first component has been modified” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example, “and determining that the second computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying the second component of the digital asset comprises receiving a second component mapping from the second computing device indicating that the second component has been modified” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites “determining that the first computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying the first component of the digital asset comprises receiving a first component mapping from the first computing device indicating that the first component has been modified”, “and determining that the second computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying the second component of the digital asset comprises receiving a second component mapping from the second computing device indicating that the second component has been modified”.
For example, “determining that the first computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying the first component of the digital asset comprises receiving a first component mapping from the first computing device indicating that the first component has been modified”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
For example, “and determining that the second computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying the second component of the digital asset comprises receiving a second component mapping from the second computing device indicating that the second component has been modified”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one independent claim, 13, specifically claim 13 recites “determining, that the conflict exists for the digital asset, that the conflict exists for the digital asset comprises comparing component identifiers in the first component mapping and the second component mapping to determine that the first component mapping identifies the modified first component and the second component mapping identifies the modified second component” in the context of this claim encompasses the user using a pen and paper to generate a component that maps the first component and modified component to a digital object. These limitations could be reasonably and practically performed by the human mind, for instance based on a human can view and read two documents that represent information located at two different data sources and recognize that a conflict exist.
Accordingly, the claim recites a mental process, which can be done utilizing pen and paper.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The independent claim of 13 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome:
For example, "and synchronizing the digital asset is performed in response to determining that the conflict exists”, is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites "and synchronizing the digital asset is performed in response to determining that the conflict exists”.
For example, “and synchronizing the digital asset is performed in response to determining that the conflict exists”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing data (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one dependent claim, 14, specifically claim 14 recites no new abstract ideas
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The dependent claim of 14 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome that is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology:
For example, “wherein the operations further comprise resolving the conflict by merging most recently updated versions of each component into a single version of the digital asset” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites “wherein the operations further comprise resolving the conflict by merging most recently updated versions of each component into a single version of the digital asset”.
For example, “wherein the operations further comprise resolving the conflict by merging most recently updated versions of each component into a single version of the digital asset”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one dependent claim, 15, specifically claim 15 recites "wherein the operations further comprise identifying the most recently updated versions of each component from the component mapping, the first component mapping, and the second component mapping” in the context this claim a human person can mentally view a piece of paper that has updated versions of component from a component mapping. These limitations could be reasonably and practically performed by the human mind, for instance based on a human can view and read two documents that represent information located at two different data sources and recognize that a conflict exist. Accordingly, the claim recites a mental process, which can be done utilizing pen and paper.
For example, “performing a homomorphic encoding operation; and performing a heteromorphic encoding operation” in the context of this claim encompasses the user mentally mapping segments to different indexes or different definitions.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The dependent claim of 15 recites no new additional elements.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one dependent claim, 16, specifically claim 16 recites no new abstract ideas
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The dependent claim of 16 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome that is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology:
For example, “wherein the operations further comprise storing each of the components of the digital asset as separate files instead of storing the digital asset as a monolithic file” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites “wherein the operations further comprise storing each of the components of the digital asset as separate files instead of storing the digital asset as a monolithic file”.
For example, “wherein the operations further comprise storing each of the components of the digital asset as separate files instead of storing the digital asset as a monolithic file”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing data (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one independent claim, 17, specifically claim 17 recites “determining, based comparing component identifiers in the first component manifest and the second component manifest, that a conflict exists wherein the first component manifest identifies a component modified at the computer device and the second component manifest identifies a different modified component of the digital asset” in the context of this claim encompasses the user using a pen and paper to generate a component that maps the first component and modified component to a digital object.
“determining that the first computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying a first component of the digital asset”, in the context of this claim encompasses the user using a pen and paper to generate a component that maps the first component and modified component to a digital object,
“determining that the second computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying a second component of the digital asset”, in the context of this claim encompasses the user using a pen and paper to generate a component that maps the first component and modified component to a digital object.
These limitations could be reasonably and practically performed by the human mind, for instance based on a human can view and read two documents that represent information located at two different data sources and recognize that a conflict exist.
Accordingly, the claim recites a mental process, which can be done utilizing pen and paper.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The independent claim of 17 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome:
For example, "maintaining, at a computing device, a first component manifest that maps components making up a digital asset, wherein the digital asset is represented by a packaged file and each of the components comprises content within a defined boundary of the digital asset and is stored as an individual file separately from other components of the digital asset”, is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example, “providing, to a first computing device and a second computing device, simultaneous access to the digital asset”, is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example, “determining that the first computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying a first component of the digital asset”, is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example, “determining that the second computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying a second component of the digital asset” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example, “determining, based on the first computing device modifying the first component and the second computing device modifying the second component, that a conflict exists for the digital asset”
For example, “generating an updated component mapping that maps the modified first component and the modified second component to the digital asset” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example, "maintaining, at a computing device, a first component manifest that maps components making up a digital asset, wherein the components are stored in different locations on the computing device” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example, “synchronizing the digital asset for the first computing device by providing the updated component mapping to the first computing device and the modified second component” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
For example, “and synchronizing the digital asset for the second computing device by providing the updated component mapping to the second computing device and the modified first component” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites "maintaining, at a computing device, a first component manifest that maps components making up a digital asset, wherein the digital asset is represented by a packaged file and each of the components comprises content within a defined boundary of the digital asset and is stored as an individual file separately from other components of the digital asset”, “providing, to a first computing device and a second computing device, simultaneous access to the digital asset”, “determining that the first computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying a first component of the digital asset”, “determining that the second computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying a second component of the digital asset” , “determining, based on the first computing device modifying the first component and the second computing device modifying the second component, that a conflict exists for the digital asset”, “generating an updated component mapping that maps the modified first component and the modified second component to the digital asset”, “synchronizing the digital asset for the first computing device by providing the updated component mapping to the first computing device and the modified second component”, “and synchronizing the digital asset for the second computing device by providing the updated component mapping to the second computing device and the modified first component”.
For example, “maintaining a component mapping that maps components making up a digital asset”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing data (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
For example, “providing, to a first computing device and a second computing device, simultaneous access to the digital asset”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
For example, “determining that the first computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying a first component of the digital asset”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing data (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
For example, “determining that the second computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying a second component of the digital asset” do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
For example, “generating an updated component mapping that maps the modified first component and the modified second component to the digital asset”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
For example, “synchronizing the digital asset for the first computing device by providing the updated component mapping to the first computing device and the modified second component”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
For example, “and synchronizing the digital asset for the second computing device by providing the updated component mapping to the second computing device and the modified first component”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a system.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one dependent claim, 18, specifically claim 18 recites no new abstract ideas
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The dependent claim of 18 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome that is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology:
For example “wherein providing, the first computing device and the second computing device, simultaneous access to the digital asset comprises providing access to the digital asset via a cloud-based application hosted by the one or more servers” is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites “wherein providing, the first computing device and the second computing device, simultaneous access to the digital asset comprises providing access to the digital asset via a cloud-based application hosted by the one or more servers”.
For example, “wherein providing, the first computing device and the second computing device, simultaneous access to the digital asset comprises providing access to the digital asset via a cloud-based application hosted by the one or more servers”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a system.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one independent claim, 19, specifically claim 19 recites “determining, based on the first component mapping and the second component mapping, that a conflict exists for the digital asset” in the context of this claim encompasses the user using a pen and paper to generate a component that maps the first component and modified component to a digital object. These limitations could be reasonably and practically performed by the human mind, for instance based on a human can view and read two documents that represent information located at two different data sources and recognize that a conflict exist.
Accordingly, the claim recites a mental process, which can be done utilizing pen and paper.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The independent claim of 19 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome:
For example, "and synchronizing the digital asset is performed in response to determining that the conflict exists”, is seen as additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activities.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites "and synchronizing the digital asset is performed in response to determining that the conflict exists”.
For example, “and synchronizing the digital asset is performed in response to determining that the conflict exists”, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing data (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
With respect to Step 1, the claims are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium.
With respect to Step 2A Prong one dependent claim, 20, specifically claim 20 recites no new abstract ideas
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The dependent claim of 20 recites elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they recite no more than an idea of a solution or outcome that is not an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology:
For example, “receiving a first component mapping from the first computing device and a second component mapping from the second computing device, and wherein determining that the conflict exists for the digital asset comprises comparing component identifiers in the first component mapping and the second component mapping to determine that the first component mapping identifies the modified first component and the second component mapping identifies the modified second component” do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. At step 2B, the claim recites “For example, “receiving a first component mapping from the first computing device and a second component mapping from the second computing device, and wherein determining that the conflict exists for the digital asset comprises comparing component identifiers in the first component mapping and the second component mapping to determine that the first component mapping identifies the modified first component and the second component mapping identifies the modified second component” do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
For example, “receiving a first component mapping from the first computing device and a second component mapping from the second computing device, and wherein determining that the conflict exists for the digital asset comprises comparing component identifiers in the first component mapping and the second component mapping to determine that the first component mapping identifies the modified first component and the second component mapping identifies the modified second component” do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are a step of transmitting data, and is recognized as well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Bhargava et al. U.S. Patent No. 8,868,506 (herein as ‘Bhargava’) and further in view of Sharp et al. WO 2009/020837 (herein as ‘Sharp).
As to claim 1 Bhargava teaches a method comprising:
maintaining, at a computing device, a first component manifest that maps components making up a digital asset, wherein the digital asset is represented by a packaged file and each of the components comprises content within a defined boundary of the digital asset and is stored as an individual file separately from other components of the digital asset (Col. 17 Lines 27-32 Bhargava discloses the revisions contain deltas for the files. The deltas are seen as modifiable without affecting other components. Col. 19 Lines 27-32 Bhargava discloses files contain different versions. Col. 19 Lines 14-25 Bhargava discloses the manifest stores the information related to the stored asset);
receiving, from a cloud synchronization system, a second component manifest for the digital asset (Col. 19 Lines 14-20 and 29-35 Bhargava discloses receiving modifications to the working copy file. The modifications to the asset produce changes in the working copy manifest which are seen as the second component manifest);
determining, based comparing component identifiers in the first component manifest and the second component manifest, that a conflict exists (Col. 28 Lines 3-6 Bhargava discloses data conflicts occur when the target for an asset in the working copy and the repository both contain file data modifications);
Bhargava does not teach but Sharp teaches wherein the first component manifest identifies a component modified at the computer device and the second component manifest identifies a different modified component of the digital asset (Par. 0022 Sharp discloses the conflicts are resolved checking the cached manifest against the manifest on the server);
Bhargava and Sharp are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, digital asset processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the manifest and digital asset of Bhargava to include the data confliction of Sharp, to allow for improving an efficient comparison of data to determine what has changed quickly (Par. 0046 Sharp).
Bhargava teaches and sending based on determining that the conflicts exists, a component modified at the computing device and the first component manifest to the cloud synchronization system to resolve the conflict (Col. 29 Lines 11-17 Bhargava discloses conflict resolution by auto-resolution and using a “mine” which refers to choosing the modifications made by the user in the local working copy).
As to claim 2 Bhargava in combination with Sharp teaches each and every limitation of claim 1.
In addition Bhargava teaches wherein sending the component modified at the computing device and the first component manifest to the cloud synchronization system to resolve the conflict causes the cloud synchronization system to:
replace the second component manifest with the first component manifest (Col. 29 Lines 11-17 Bhargava discloses conflict resolution by auto-resolution and using a “mine” which refers to choosing the modifications made by the user in the local working copy);
and replace a corresponding component with the component modified at the computing device (Col. 29 Lines 11-17 Bhargava discloses conflict resolution by auto-resolution and using a “theirs” which refers to choosing the modifications made by the server in the server storage working copy).
As to claim 3 Bhargava in combination with Sharp teaches each and every limitation of claim 1.
In addition Bhargava teaches wherein sending that component modified at the computing device to the cloud synchronization system comprises sending the component modified at the computing device without sending other components making up the digital asset (Col. 29 Lines 11-17 Bhargava discloses conflict resolution by auto-resolution and using a “mine” which refers to choosing the modifications made by the user in the local working copy).
As to claim 4 Bhargava in combination with Sharp teaches each and every limitation of claim 1.
In addition Bhargava teaches further comprising: receiving an updated component from the cloud synchronization system and manifest the updated component to a conflicting component stored at the computing device (Col. 19 Lines 14-20 and 29-35 Bhargava discloses receiving modifications to the working copy file. Col. 29 Lines 11-17 Bhargava discloses conflict resolution by auto-resolution and using a “theirs” which refers to choosing the modifications made by the server in the server storage working copy).
As to claim 5 Bhargava in combination with Sharp teaches each and every limitation of claim 4.
In addition Bhargava teaches further comprising replacing the conflicting component with the updated component (Col. 28 Lines 60-68 Bhargava discloses the existing file is replaced by the target file).
As to claim 6 Bhargava in combination with Sharp teaches each and every limitation of claim 4.
In addition Bhargava teaches further comprising: adding the updated component and the conflicting component to the digital asset (Col. 28 Lines 60-68 Bhargava discloses the existing file is replaced by the target file);
and displaying the digital asset with both the updated component and the conflicting component (Col. 8 Lines 48-51 Bhargava discloses the user is able to view a display of all revisions for a file. Col. 28 Lines 5-9 Bhargava discloses merging the file modifications. Displaying the merged file modifications is seen as displaying both the updated component and the conflicting component).
As to claim 9 Bhargava teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more servers, cause the one or more servers to perform operations comprising:
maintaining, at a computing device, a first component manifest that maps components making up a digital asset, wherein the digital asset is represented by a packaged file and each of the components comprises content within a defined boundary of the digital asset and is stored as an individual file separately from other components of the digital asset (Col. 19 Lines 14-25 Bhargava discloses the manifest stores the information related to the stored asset);
providing, to a first computing device and a second computing device, simultaneous access to the digital asset (Col. 25 Lines 65-67 Bhargava discloses simultaneous changes in two versions of the asset. Col. 3 Lines 50-55 Bhargava discloses two transactions arriving simultaneously at the database server. Col. 4 Bhargava discloses two computers having the file);
Bhargava does not teach but Sharp teaches wherein the first component manifest identifies a component modified at the computer device and the second component manifest identifies a different modified component of the digital asset (Par. 0022 Sharp discloses the conflicts are resolved checking the cached manifest against the manifest on the server);
Bhargava and Sharp are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, digital asset processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the manifest and digital asset of Bhargava to include the data confliction of Sharp, to allow for improving an efficient comparison of data to determine what has changed quickly (Par. 0046 Sharp).
Bhargava teaches determining that the first computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying a first component of the digital asset (Col. 6 Lines 2-5 Bhargava discloses a modification is made from a first user);
determining that the second computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying a second component of the digital asset (Col. 6 Lines 2-5 Bhargava discloses a modification is made from a second user);
generating, based on determining that the first computing device and the second computing device have modified the digital asset, an updated component mapping that maps the modified first component and the modified second component to the digital asset (Col. 17 Lines 27-32 Bhargava discloses the revisions contain deltas for the files. The deltas are seen as modifiable without affecting other components. Col. 28 Lines 5-9 Bhargava discloses merging the data changes);
synchronizing the digital asset for the first computing device by providing the updated component mapping to the first computing device and the modified second component (Col. 29 Lines 11-17 Bhargava discloses conflict resolution by auto-resolution and using a “mine” which refers to choosing the modifications made by the server in the server storage working copy);
and synchronizing the digital asset for the second computing device by providing the updated component mapping to the second computing device and the modified first component (Col. 29 Lines 11-17 Bhargava discloses conflict resolution by auto-resolution and using a “theirs” which refers to choosing the modifications made by the server in the server storage working copy).
As to claim 10 Bhargava in combination with Sharp teaches each and every limitation of claim 9.
In addition Bhargava teaches wherein providing, the first computing device and the second computing device, simultaneous access to the digital asset comprises providing access to the digital asset via a cloud-based application hosted by the one or more servers (Col. 25 Lines 65-67 Bhargava discloses simultaneous changes in two versions of the asset. Col. 3 Lines 50-55 Bhargava discloses two transactions arriving simultaneously at the database server. Col. 4 Bhargava discloses two computers having the file).
As to claim 11 Bhargava in combination with Sharp teaches each and every limitation of claim 9.
In addition Bhargava teaches wherein synchronizing the digital asset for the first computing device causes the first computing device to display an updated version of the digital asset comprising the modified second component (Col. 8 Lines 48-51 Bhargava discloses the user is able to view a display of all revisions for a file. Col. 28 Lines 5-9 Bhargava discloses merging the file modifications. Displaying the merged file modifications is seen as displaying both the updated component and the conflicting component).
As to claim 12 Bhargava in combination with Sharp teaches each and every limitation of claim 9.
In addition Bhargava teaches wherein:
determining that the first computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying the first component of the digital asset comprises receiving a first component mapping from the first computing device indicating that the first component has been modified (Col. 6 Lines 2-5 Bhargava discloses a modification is made from a first user);
and determining that the second computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying the second component of the digital asset comprises receiving a second component mapping from the second computing device indicating that the second component has been modified (Col. 6 Lines 2-5 Bhargava discloses a modification is made from a second user).
As to claim 13 Bhargava in combination with Sharp teaches each and every limitation of claim 12.
In addition Bhargava teaches wherein the operations further comprise: determining, based on the first component mapping and the second component mapping, that a conflict exists for the digital asset (Col. 28 Lines 3-6 Bhargava discloses data conflicts occur when the target for an asset in the working copy and the repository both contain file data modifications);
and synchronizing the digital asset is performed in response to determining that the conflict exists (Col. 29 Lines 11-17 Bhargava discloses conflict resolution by auto-resolution and using a “mine” which refers to choosing the modifications made by the user in the local working copy).
As to claim 14 Bhargava in combination with Sharp teaches each and every limitation of claim 13.
In addition Bhargava teaches wherein the operations further comprise resolving the conflict by merging most recently updated versions of each component into a single version of the digital asset (Col. 19 Lines 35-37 Bhargava discloses the new changes or modifications are stored with the client. Col. 28 Lines 5-9 Bhargava discloses merging the file modifications).
As to claim 15 Bhargava in combination with Sharp teaches each and every limitation of claim 14.
In addition Bhargava teaches wherein the operations further comprise identifying the most recently updated versions of each component from the component mapping, the first component mapping, and the second component mapping (Col. 19 Lines 35-37 Bhargava discloses the new changes or modifications are stored with the client. Col. 28 Lines 5-9 Bhargava discloses merging the file modifications).
As to claim 16 Bhargava in combination with Sharp teaches each and every limitation of claim 9.
In addition Bhargava teaches wherein the operations further comprise storing each of the components of the digital asset as separate files instead of storing the digital asset as a monolithic file (Col. 20 Lines 15-20 Bhargava discloses storing the file separately.
As to claim 17 Bhargava teaches a system comprising:
one or more memory devices comprising a component mapping that maps components making up a digital asset (Col. 19 Lines 14-25 Bhargava discloses the manifest stores the information related to the stored asset);
and one or more servers coupled to the one or more memory devices, wherein the one or more servers are configured to cause the system to perform operations comprising (Col. 3 Lines 43-44 Bhargava discloses a database server):
maintaining, at a computing device, a first component manifest that maps components making up a digital asset, wherein the digital asset is represented by a packaged file and each of the components comprises content within a defined boundary of the digital asset and is stored as an individual file separately from other components of the digital asset (Col. 19 Lines 14-25 Bhargava discloses the manifest stores the information related to the stored asset);
Bhargava does not teach but Sharp teaches wherein the first component manifest identifies a component modified at the computer device and the second component manifest identifies a different modified component of the digital asset (Par. 0022 Sharp discloses the conflicts are resolved checking the cached manifest against the manifest on the server);
Bhargava and Sharp are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, digital asset processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the manifest and digital asset of Bhargava to include the data confliction of Sharp, to allow for improving an efficient comparison of data to determine what has changed quickly (Par. 0046 Sharp).
providing, to a first computing device and a second computing device, simultaneous access to the digital asset (Col. 25 Lines 65-67 Bhargava discloses simultaneous changes in two versions of the asset. Col. 3 Lines 50-55 Bhargava discloses two transactions arriving simultaneously at the database server. Col. 4 Bhargava discloses two computers having the file);
determining that the first computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying a first component of the digital asset (Col. 6 Lines 2-5 Bhargava discloses a modification is made from a first user);
determining that the second computing device has modified the digital asset by modifying a second component of the digital asset (Col. 6 Lines 2-5 Bhargava discloses a modification is made from a second user);
Sharp teaches determining, based on the first computing device modifying the first component and the second computing device modifying the second component, that a conflict exists for the digital asset (Par. 0022 Sharp discloses the conflicts are resolved checking the cached manifest against the manifest on the server);
Bhargava and Sharp are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, digital asset processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the manifest and digital asset of Bhargava to include the data confliction of Sharp, to allow for improving an efficient comparison of data to determine what has changed quickly (Par. 0046 Sharp).
Bhargava teaches generating an updated component mapping that maps the modified first component and the modified second component to the digital asset (Col. 28 Lines 5-9 Bhargava discloses merging the data changes);
synchronizing the digital asset for the first computing device by providing the updated component mapping to the first computing device and the modified second component (Col. 29 Lines 11-17 Bhargava discloses conflict resolution by auto-resolution and using a “mine” which refers to choosing the modifications made by the server in the server storage working copy);
and synchronizing the digital asset for the second computing device by providing the updated component mapping to the second computing device and the modified first component (Col. 29 Lines 11-17 Bhargava discloses conflict resolution by auto-resolution and using a “theirs” which refers to choosing the modifications made by the server in the server storage working copy).
As to claim 18 Bhargava in combination with Sharp teaches each and every limitation of claim 17.
In addition Bhargava teaches wherein providing, the first computing device and the second computing device, simultaneous access to the digital asset comprises providing access to the digital asset via a cloud-based application hosted by the one or more servers (Col. 3 Lines 50-55 Bhargava discloses two transactions arriving simultaneously at the database server).
As to claim 19 Bhargava in combination with Sharp teaches each and every limitation of claim 17.
In addition Bhargava teaches wherein the operations further comprise: determining, based on the first component mapping and the second component mapping, that a conflict exists for the digital asset (Col. 28 Lines 3-6 Bhargava discloses data conflicts occur when the target for an asset in the working copy and the repository both contain file data modifications);
and synchronizing the digital asset is performed in response to determining that the conflict exists (Col. 29 Lines 11-17 Bhargava discloses conflict resolution by auto-resolution and using a “mine” which refers to choosing the modifications made by the user in the local working copy).
As to claim 20 Bhargava in combination with Sharp teaches each and every limitation of claim 19.
In addition Bhargava teaches receiving a first component mapping from the first computing device and a second component mapping from the second computing device, and wherein determining that the conflict exists for the digital asset comprises comparing component identifiers in the first component mapping and the second component mapping to determine that the first component mapping identifies the modified first component and the second component mapping identifies the modified second component (Col. 19 Lines 35-37 Bhargava discloses the new changes or modifications are stored with the client. Col. 28 Lines 5-9 Bhargava discloses merging the file modifications).
11. Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhargava et al. U.S. Patent No. 8,868,506 (herein as ‘Bhargava’), Sharp et al. WO 2009/020837 (herein as ‘Sharp’) and further in view of Nielsen et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0330849 (herein as ‘Nielsen’).
As to claim 7 Bhargava in combination with Sharp teaches each and every limitation of claim 1.
In addition Bhargava teaches wherein: the digital asset comprises a digital image (Col. 7 Lines 5 Bhargava discloses digital assets as images);
Bhargava does not teach but Nielsen teaches and the components comprises image layers (Par. 0033 Nielson discloses the image contain layers).
Bhargava and Nielsen are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, digital asset processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the manifest and digital asset of Bhargava to include the image layers of Nielsen, to allow for improving an installation process (Par. 0025 Nielsen).
As to claim 8 Bhargava in combination with Sharp teaches each and every limitation of claim 1.
Bhargava does not teach but Nielsen teaches wherein: the digital asset comprises a Portable Document Format file; and the components comprises pages (Par. 0117 Nielson discloses the data is PDF).
Bhargava and Nielsen are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, digital asset processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the manifest and digital asset of Bhargava to include the image layers of Nielsen, to allow for improving an installation process (Par. 0025 Nielsen).
Conclusion
/JERMAINE A MINCEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2159