The Application number 19/205,517 filed on 5/12/2025 has been considered. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/12/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 8, 11 and 15-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,299,089. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they basically claim the same claimed invention. The claims 1-3, 8, 11 and 15-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,299,089 contain every element of the claims of the instant application, and as such, anticipate the claims of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips et al. (US 10,318,957 hereinafter Phillips) in view of Shaffer et al. (US 2020/0259827 hereinafter Shaffer).
Regarding claim 1, Phillips discloses a first device, comprising:
one or more memories (FIG. 2-3); and
one or more processors (FIG. 2-3), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
generate an optical code for authentication (FIG. 1A-C, 45 & 6C, col. 3, lines 1-39, col. 6, lines 29-49, col. 7, lines 1-7, col. 8, lines 38-48; i.e. generating verification token for verifying the customer upon the customer requests a service);
receive a notification that a second device, associated with a service location, has authenticated based on processing the optical code (FIG. 1C, 4-5 & 6C, col. 3, lines 1-12, col. 4, lines 38-50, col. 6, lines 43-49, col. 14, lines 15-67; i.e. receiving a verification confirmation that the service agent or the provider user device has verified the requestor user device wherein the service agent accesses the service based on the requestor information in the verification token);
establish, based on the notification, an application session between the first device and the second device, wherein the application session is related to an application on the first device (FIG. 1C, 4-5 & 6C, col. 3, lines 1-12, col. 4, lines 38-50, col. 6, lines 43-49, col. 14, lines 15-67; i.e. enabling the peer-to-peer transactions, providing the requested service between the requestor device and the agent or provider device);
provide a plurality of functions, associated with the application (FIG. 1C, 4-5 & 6C, col. 3, lines 1-12, col. 4, lines 38-50, col. 6, lines 1-49; i.e. providing functions associated with the application including location-based transactions or facilitating transactions involving products and/or services that requested by the nearly users), that include locked functions and unlocked functions;
Phillips does not explicitly discloses said functions include locked functions and unlocked functions; unlock, based on receiving the notification and based on one or more services available at the service location, one or more locked functions of the plurality of functions, wherein an unlocked function of the plurality of functions requires a first input from the first device and a second input from the second device in order to perform a process related to the unlocked function; and provide, to the second device and via the application session, an instruction that causes an operation related to the unlocked function to be performed.
However, Shaffer discloses said functions include locked functions and unlocked functions; unlock, based on receiving the notification and based on one or more services available at the service location, one or more locked functions of the plurality of functions, wherein an unlocked function of the plurality of functions requires a first input from the first device and a second input from the second device in order to perform a process related to the unlocked function; and provide, to the second device and via the application session, an instruction that causes an operation related to the unlocked function to be performed (FIG. 6-12, 18-23, ¶ [0174]-[0177], [0191]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Phillips and Shaffer in order to prevent improper use or abuse of private information and also provide intelligent end-user verification without sacrificing the security of the private information (Shaffer, ¶ [0050]-[0057).
Regarding claim 2, Phillips in view of Shaffer discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the application session provides first information on the first device, wherein the application session provides second information on the second device, and wherein the second device includes masked portions of the first information (Phillips, col. 3, lines 13-49; Shaffer, ¶ [0099]-[0100]).
Regarding claim 3, Phillips in view of Shaffer discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the operation on the second device requires first information from the first device, and wherein the first information cannot be entered on the second device (Phillips, col. 4, lines 13-49; Shaffer, FIG. 15E-F).
Regarding claim 4, Phillips in view of Shaffer discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the application session is maintained based on at least one of a status associated with the first device or a location associated with the first device (Phillips, col. 4, lines 13-49; Shaffer, ¶ [0059]-[0066], [0226]).
Regarding claim 5, Phillips in view of Shaffer discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: encrypt first information; and provide the encrypted first information to the second device (Phillips, col. 3, lines 13-49; Shaffer, ¶ [0099]-[0100]).
Regarding claim 6, Phillips in view of Shaffer discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the unlocked function is related to financial services (Phillips, col. 2, lines 44-67; Shaffer, ¶ [0174]-[0177], [0191]).
Regarding claim 7, Phillips in view of Shaffer discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the application session is maintained based on monitoring the first device (Phillips, col. 12, lines 1-35; Shaffer, ¶ [0118]-0126]).
Regarding claim 8, Phillips discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a first device, cause the first device to:
receive a notification that a second device, associated with a service location, has authenticated based on processing an optical code (FIG. 1C, 4-5 & 6C, col. 3, lines 1-12, col. 4, lines 38-50, col. 6, lines 43-49, col. 14, lines 15-67; i.e. receiving a verification confirmation that the service agent or the provider user device has verified the requestor user device wherein the service agent accesses the service based on the requestor information in the verification token);
establish, based on the notification, an application session between the first device and the second device, wherein the application session is related to an application on the first device (FIG. 1C, 4-5 & 6C, col. 3, lines 1-12, col. 4, lines 38-50, col. 6, lines 43-49, col. 14, lines 15-67; i.e. enabling the peer-to-peer transactions, providing the requested service between the requestor device and the agent or provider device);
provide a plurality of functions, associated with the application (FIG. 1C, 4-5 & 6C, col. 3, lines 1-12, col. 4, lines 38-50, col. 6, lines 1-49; i.e. providing functions associated with the application including location-based transactions or facilitating transactions involving products and/or services that requested by the nearly users), that include locked functions and unlocked functions,
Phillips does not explicitly discloses said functions include locked functions and unlocked functions; unlock, based on receiving the notification and based on one or more services available at the service location, one or more locked functions of the plurality of functions, wherein an unlocked function of the plurality of functions requires a first input from the first device and a second input from the second device in order to perform a process related to the unlocked function; and provide, to the second device and via the application session, an instruction that causes an operation related to the unlocked function to be performed.
However, Shaffer discloses said functions include locked functions and unlocked functions; unlock, based on receiving the notification and based on one or more services available at the service location, one or more locked functions of the plurality of functions, wherein an unlocked function of the plurality of functions requires a first input from the first device and a second input from the second device in order to perform a process related to the unlocked function; and provide, to the second device and via the application session, an instruction that causes an operation related to the unlocked function to be performed (FIG. 6-12, 18-23, ¶ [0174]-[0177], [0191]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Phillips and Shaffer in order to prevent improper use or abuse of private information and also provide intelligent end-user verification without sacrificing the security of the private information (Shaffer, ¶ [0050]-[0057).
Regarding claim 9, see claim 2 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 10, see claim 3 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 11, see claim 4 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 12, see claim 5 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 13, see claim 6 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 14, see claim 7 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 15, Phillips discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, by a first device, a notification that a second device, associated with a service location, has authenticated based on processing an optical code (FIG. 1C, 4-5 & 6C, col. 3, lines 1-12, col. 4, lines 38-50, col. 6, lines 43-49, col. 14, lines 15-67; i.e. receiving a verification confirmation that the service agent or the provider user device has verified the requestor user device wherein the service agent accesses the service based on the requestor information in the verification token);
establishing, based on the notification, an application session between the first device and the second device, wherein the application session is related to an application on the first device (FIG. 1C, 4-5 & 6C, col. 3, lines 1-12, col. 4, lines 38-50, col. 6, lines 43-49, col. 14, lines 15-67; i.e. enabling the peer-to-peer transactions, providing the requested service between the requestor device and the agent or provider device);
providing, by the first device, a plurality of functions, associated with the application (FIG. 1C, 4-5 & 6C, col. 3, lines 1-12, col. 4, lines 38-50, col. 6, lines 1-49; i.e. providing functions associated with the application including location-based transactions or facilitating transactions involving products and/or services that requested by the nearly users), that include locked functions and unlocked functions;
unlocking, based on receiving the notification and based on one or more services available at the service location, one or more locked functions of the plurality of functions, wherein an unlocked function of the plurality of functions requires a first input from the first device and a second input from the second device in order to perform a process related to the unlocked function; and
providing, by the first device, to the second device, and via the application session, an instruction that causes an operation related to the unlocked function to be performed.
Phillips does not explicitly discloses include locked functions and unlocked functions; unlocking, based on receiving the notification and based on one or more services available at the service location, one or more locked functions of the plurality of functions, wherein an unlocked function of the plurality of functions requires a first input from the first device and a second input from the second device in order to perform a process related to the unlocked function; and providing, by the first device, to the second device, and via the application session, an instruction that causes an operation related to the unlocked function to be performed.
However, Shaffer discloses that include locked functions and unlocked functions; unlocking, based on receiving the notification and based on one or more services available at the service location, one or more locked functions of the plurality of functions, wherein an unlocked function of the plurality of functions requires a first input from the first device and a second input from the second device in order to perform a process related to the unlocked function; and providing, by the first device, to the second device, and via the application session, an instruction that causes an operation related to the unlocked function to be performed (FIG. 6-12, 18-23, ¶ [0174]-[0177], [0191]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Phillips and Shaffer in order to prevent improper use or abuse of private information and also provide intelligent end-user verification without sacrificing the security of the private information (Shaffer, ¶ [0050]-[0057).
Regarding claim 16, see claim 2 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 17, see claim 3 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 18, see claim 4 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 19, see claim 5 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Regarding claim 20, see claim 6 above for the same reasons of rejections.
Conclusion
/C.D.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2435
/AMIR MEHRMANESH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2435