DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is in response to the communication filed on 05/12/2025.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Examiner Notes
4. In light of the drawing (fig. 1) and the specification (para. 81, “an agent device 16 … a client device 18”), the limitations “service provider client device” and “agent device” (in claims 1 and 5) are hardware devices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, and 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mason (US 2017/0324719 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 1:
Mason discloses a computer-implemented system for distributed authorization, the system comprising:
a resource server which stores a protected resource of a resource owner and respects authorization server-issued authorization grants (see fig. 2 and paras. 23, 26, where a resource server stores a protected resource of a resource owner, and grants access to protected resources based on access tokens (i.e., authorization server-issued authorization grants) issued by an authorization server);
a service provider client device, the service provider client device configured to provide a service which uses the protected resource (see paras. 18-19, 22, 24 where a client device (i.e., service provider client device) is a computer that provides a service or an application to access/use the protected resource);
a federated privacy exchange system configured to provide an authorization service for allowing the service provider client device to access the protected resource according to permissions data (see fig. 2 for an authorization server), the federated privacy exchange system comprising:
a privacy-respecting authorization server configured to store a resource definition for the protected resource (see paras. 20, 23, 26, 32 where an authorization server includes an electronic computing device/processor (i.e., privacy-respecting authorization server) to process and to store data/information including access token(s), wherein an access token is issued to the client device for accessing the protected resource, wherein the access token includes a list of scopes (i.e., generic resource definition) defining/listing resource(s) granted at a resource server for accessing); and
an agent device configured to: provide an agent interface for managing credentials and controlling permissions and policies at the authorization server; and store protected data including any one or more of account identifier data, authenticator data, resource server relationship data, and permissions data (see paras. 18, 20, 23, 26 where the authorization server includes another electronic computing device/memory storing data and instructions processed by a processor for implementing the disclosed techniques, wherein an access token is issued based on checking the client credentials, the authorization of the client and the resource owner for a requested resource. In other words, the authorization server includes another electronic computing device or memory (i.e., agent device) which stores client credentials, the authorization of the client and the resource owner (i.e., authentication data and/or permission data), and that provides an interface/interaction to the other electronic computing device/processor for managing client credentials and controlling permissions and policies to issue an access token at the other electronic computing device/processor).
Regarding claim(s) 2:
Mason discloses:
wherein the authorization server is further configured to control any one or more of a governance registry, a registry of approved clients, resource servers, and agents, and a privacy-respecting ledger of resource owner data including account data and permissions data, wherein the permissions data records a resource owner-directed data authorization policy including client capability data and resource server capability data (see paras. 13-14, 22-23, 26 where the authorization server issues an access token for a number of client devices after checking the client credentials, the trust relationship with an identity provider, the authorization of the clients/client devices and the resource owner for a requested resource, wherein the resource owner authorizes a client device to access resource(s) without sharing the resource owner’s credentials, wherein a number of resource servers grant accesses to requested resources based on the access tokens).
Regarding claim(s) 4:
Mason discloses:
wherein the system enables an OAuth extension which allows a single call to connect to any number of protected resources stored in one or more resource servers, and wherein as part of a client authorization process, the service provider client device is given a token per granted resource, thereby allowing access to the one or more resource servers (see fig. 2 and paras. 23, 26).
Regarding claim(s) 5:
See the rejection to the federated privacy exchange system in claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 6:
Mason discloses:
wherein the authorization server is further configured to store a privacy-respecting ledger of resource owner data including account data and permissions data (see paras. 18, 20, where the authorization server includes a memory storing data and instructions processed by the authorization server’s processor for implementing the disclosed techniques; see fig. 2 and paras. 23, 26 where the authorization server checks the authorization of the resource owner to issue an access token for the client device to access resources with the approval of the resource owner).
Regarding claim(s) 7:
Mason discloses:
wherein the authorization server is further configured to control any one or more of a governance registry and a registry of approved clients, resources servers, and agents (see paras. 13-14, 22-23, 26 where the authorization server issues and stores access tokens for a number of client devices after checking/authenticating the client credentials, and the authorization of the clients/client devices, wherein a number of resource servers grant access to requested resources based on the access tokens).
Regarding claim(s) 8:
Mason discloses:
wherein the agent interface includes a user interface configured to perform any one or more of registering a new account, authenticating to an account, interacting with an authenticator, managing permissions, and handling client resource requests (see fig. 2 and paras. 14, 18, 20-23, 26, where the authorization server includes a memory storing data and instructions processed by the authorization server’s processor for implementing the disclosed techniques, wherein the authorization server, upon receiving requests from one or more client devices, authenticates the user at the client device bases on user credentials (i.e., user interface to receive and compares client credentials), then issues access tokens to provide to the one or more client devices to access the requested resources).
Regarding claim(s) 10:
Mason discloses:
wherein the authorization server is further configured to delegate permission gathering and authentication to the agent device upon receiving a request from the service provider client device (see paras. 18, 20, where the authorization server includes a memory storing data and instructions processed by the authorization server’s processor for implementing the disclosed techniques; see fig. 2 and paras. 23, 26 where the authorization server, upon receiving a request from a client device, checks the authorization of the resource owner, and issues an access token to provide to the client device a delegated access to a resource with the approval of the resource owner, and to be stored in the memory).
Regarding claim(s) 11:
Mason discloses:
wherein a client capability is registered generically against the resource definition (see fig. 2 and paras. 23, 26, 32 where an access token, which is issued and stored for a client device to access a protected resource without sharing the resource owner’s credentials, includes a scope that defines which resource at the resource server shall be accessed by the client device).
Regarding claim(s) 12:
Mason discloses:
wherein capability of the service provider client device or the resource server is defined against the resource definition, the resource definition comprising a generic interface schema, and the protected resource is registered generically against the resource definition (see fig. 2 and paras. 23, 26, 32 where an access token, which is issued and stored for a client device to access a protected resource, includes a list of scope(s) (i.e., a list of scope(s) comprising a list) that defines/lists protected resource granted at the resource server to be accessed by the client device, wherein the resource server grants access to the requested resource based on the list of scope(s) assigned to the access token).
Regarding claim(s) 13:
Mason discloses:
wherein the protected resource is registered generically against the resource definition (see fig. 2 and paras. 23, 26, where an access token, which is issued and stored for a client device to access a protected resource, includes a scope that defines which resource at the resource server shall be accessed by the client device).
Regarding claim(s) 14:
Mason discloses:
wherein the system enables an OAuth extension which allows a single call to connect to any number of protected resources stored in one or more resource servers (see fig. 2 and paras. 23, 26).
Regarding claim(s) 15:
Mason discloses a method of authorizing access by a service provider client to a protected resource stored at a resource server using a resource definition, the method comprising:
defining client capabilities and resource server capabilities against a generic resource definition, the generic resource definition comprising a generic interface schema (see paras. 23, 26, 32 where an access token, which is issued for a client device (i.e., service provider client) to access a protected resource without sharing the resource owner’s credentials, includes a scope (i.e., interface schema) of a plurality of scopes that defines which resource at the resource server shall be accessed by the client device, wherein the resource server grants access to the requested resource based on the scope assigned to the access token);
storing the generic resource definition at an authorization server (see paras. 20, 23 where an authorization server comprises memory for storing access tokens; see para. 32 where an access token includes a scope); and
registering the protected resource generically against the generic resource definition (see paras. 23, 26, 32).
Regarding claim(s) 16:
Mason discloses:
defining policy conditions comprising authorization grant rules at the authorization server against the generic interface schema (see paras. 24-27, 30 where authentication/authorization is required at the authorization server to issue an access token including a list of scope(s) (i.e., a list of scope(s) comprising a list) that defines/lists protected resource granted at the resource server to be accessed by the client device).
Regarding claim(s) 17:
Mason discloses:
fulfilling the generic interface schema for a specific service provider client by a specific resource server that receives a generic request from the specific service provider client and resolves the generic request (see fig. 2 and paras. 24-27, 30).
Regarding claim(s) 18:
Mason discloses:
receiving, at the authorization server, user consent allowing a specific resource server to fulfill the generic interface schema for a specific client (see fig. 2 and paras. 24-27, 30).
Regarding claim(s) 19:
Mason discloses:
defining, via the generic resource definition, contents of a successful response from the resource server to the service provider client upon successful authorization of access to the protected resource (see fig. 2 and paras. 23, 26, 32).
Regarding claim(s) 20:
Mason discloses:
integrating directly from the service provider client to the generic resource definition at the authorization server; and providing access to one or more protected resources at one or more resource servers via a single authorization request issued by the service provider client (see fig. 2 and paras. 23, 26, 32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mason in view of Wang et al. (US 2019/0325129 A1, hereafter Wang).
Regarding claim(s) 3:
Mason discloses:
wherein the authorization server is further configured to [provide a resource owner interface which can be used by the agent device to] authenticate the resource owner and delegate permission gathering and authentication to the agent device upon receiving a request from the service provider client device (see paras. 18, 20, where the authorization server includes a memory storing data and instructions processed by the authorization server’s processor for implementing the disclosed techniques; see fig. 2 and paras. 23, 26 where the authorization server, upon receiving a request from a client device, checks the authorization of the resource owner, and issues an access token to provide to the client device a delegated access to a resource with the approval of the resource owner, and to be stored in the memory).
Mason does not, but Wang discloses:
provide a resource owner interface which can be used by the agent device to authenticate the resource owner (see Wang, fig. 2 and paras. 28-31, where an authorization system communicates/interacts with a resource owner to authenticate the resource owner).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Mason's invention by enhancing it to provide a resource owner interface which can be used by the agent device to authenticate the resource owner, as taught by Wang, in order for authenticating a resource owner and allowing the resource owner to select which resource to be delegate to a client device (Wang, paras. 29-30).
Regarding claim(s) 9:
Mason does not, but Wang discloses:
wherein the authorization server is further configured to provide a resource owner interface which can be used by the agent device to authenticate the resource owner (see Wang, fig. 2 and paras. 28-31, where an authorization system communicates/interacts with a resource owner to authenticate the resource owner).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Mason's invention by enhancing it for the authorization server is further configured to provide a resource owner interface which can be used by the agent device to authenticate the resource owner, as taught by Wang, in order for authenticating a resource owner and allowing the resource owner to select which resource to be delegate to a client device (Wang, paras. 29-30).
Conclusion
/HUAN V DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499