CTNF 19/205,697 CTNF 82715 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/2/2025 and 3/9/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (US 2021/0011845) . Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a data restoration method for a storage device, wherein the storage device stores data in append write mode [see paragraph 17; storage operates with out-of-place updates] , and the method comprises: determining first data in response to inaccessibility to target data, wherein the first data is data marked as invalid [see paragraphs 3 & 46; malicious attacks on data is detected (e.g. data is encrypted an inaccessible unless user pays a ransom to decrypt and access data), invalid data versions are retained and located on storage to be able to perform roll backs/restoration] , and is data associated with the target data; and restoring the first data [see paragraph 81; data recovery is performed if need arises] . Regarding claim 2, Huang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the target data is data obtained by illegally encrypting the first data or data obtained by modifying the first data [see paragraph 40; encryption ransomware destructively encrypts user files] . Regarding claim 3, Huang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: when a start condition is met, determining whether the storage device stores inaccessible data [see paragraph 41; user data has been encrypted or deleted by malware (start condition)] . Regarding claim 4, the method according to claim 3, wherein the start condition comprises at least one of the following: a preset moment is reached [see paragraph 41; user data, even after it has been encrypted or deleted by malware] ; a quantity of data marked as invalid is greater than or equal to a first threshold; or remaining storage space of the storage device is less than or equal to a second threshold [see paragraphs 37; GC process of recovering data beings when number of free blocks is below a threshold] . Regarding claim 13, Huang discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the method further comprises: when a start condition is met, determining whether the storage device stores inaccessible data [see paragraph 41; user data has been encrypted or deleted by malware (start condition)] . Regarding claim 14, Huang discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein the start condition comprises at least one of the following: a preset moment is reached [see paragraph 41; user data, even after it has been encrypted or deleted by malware] ; a quantity of data marked as invalid is greater than or equal to a first threshold; or remaining storage space of the storage device is less than or equal to a second threshold [see paragraphs 37; GC process of recovering data beings when number of free blocks is below a threshold] . Regarding claim 18, Huang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein target data is determined to be inaccessible when a storage device cannot access the target data during background inspection, when the storage device cannot access the target data based on an access request [see paragraph 41; user data, even after it has been encrypted or deleted by malware] , or when the storage device determines, during garbage collection, that there is inaccessible target data in the storage device [see paragraph 53; during garbage collection process, invalid data (which has been erased and is no longer accessible) may be identified] . Claims 5-12, 15-17 and 19-20 recite similar claim limitations to those of claims 1-4, 13-14 and 18 and are rejected using similar citations and interpretations . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Dar (US 2024/0134985) – Generally teaches a storage system for handling malicious encryption using remotely replicated data. Lee (US 2024/0330462) – Generally teaches using recovering invalid data to combat against encryption ransomware. Huang (US 2023/0119688) – Generally teaches a ransomware-aware solid state drive, recovering data using invalid pages. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN BERTRAM whose telephone number is (571)270-1377. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30-5MNT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Arpan Savla can be reached at 571-272-1077. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /RYAN BERTRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2137 Application/Control Number: 19/205,697 Page 2 Art Unit: 2137 Application/Control Number: 19/205,697 Page 3 Art Unit: 2137 Application/Control Number: 19/205,697 Page 4 Art Unit: 2137 Application/Control Number: 19/205,697 Page 5 Art Unit: 2137